General Discussion >> Chat >> Cousins to return in 2009 http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1215074732 Message started by ocean_b on Jul 3rd, 2008 at 6:45pm |
Title: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by ocean_b on Jul 3rd, 2008 at 6:45pm
It has been decided that Cousins would be able to play VFL in the lead up to his return to AFL next yr.
How the haters will choke on that one ;) THE VFL has approved Ben Cousins' application to play with Port Melbourne. The league received the official documentation from the Port Melbourne Football Club to register the disgraced former Eagles captain as a VFL player today. As revealed in the Herald Sun last week, Cousins plans to training with the club as the next step in his recovery from drug addiction. He hopes to play for an AFL club again in the future. Cousins is currently living in Perth where he will train with two WAFL clubs before moving to Melbourne. AFL Victoria Operations Manager John Hook said the VFL had approved the application and Cousins was now eligible to play for Port Melbourne in the VFL competition. Cousins was deregistered by the AFL for 12 months last November, preventing him from playing at the elite level, following revelations about his drug addiction. The AFL Commission, when announcing the deregistration, said Cousins would be free to play in other competitions this year, subject to state league constitutions. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Acid Monkey on Jul 3rd, 2008 at 8:57pm
Nevertheless, I think his career at the elite level is over.
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by ocean_b on Jul 3rd, 2008 at 9:30pm Acid Monkey wrote on Jul 3rd, 2008 at 8:57pm:
Have a sneaking suspicion you could be correct Acidmonkey..I doubt he can gel as well as he did with West Coast.. A foreign state and a foreign club --will be difficult for him to get back to his best form . But then we are talking about Ben Cousins and I expect he still has a lot left in him. The man is fit and committed and loves his game. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Acid Monkey on Jul 3rd, 2008 at 11:07pm
True, but will the elite clubs want him? I doubt the recruiters will have anything to do with him. He's too publicly stained and is high maintenance. He had to resort to playing in the VFL because no WAFL clubs would accept him.
:) |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by mozzaok on Jul 4th, 2008 at 1:31am
The AFL is full of drug addicts, most are alcohol, rather than illegal, drug addicts, and if they can play well enough, they get a free pass on their problems, just like Fevola.
Personally, I think any club who does not want him are idiots, they could even have weekly, or bi-weekly urinalysis if they were truly concerned about him using drugs again. He is a true superstar of the sport, I would like to see him at carlton, playing with judd again. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by ocean_b on Jul 4th, 2008 at 11:01am mozzaok wrote on Jul 4th, 2008 at 1:31am:
I totally agreee with that Mozz. @ Acid Monkey apparently Collingwood and another Vic club (I think the Demons or Bulldogs )are after him. If they aren't interested Mcguire and or the other club would have made it known by now. Lucky club who gets him. The man wins Premierships and is an inspiring leader on the field. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Acid Monkey on Jul 4th, 2008 at 2:38pm oceanz wrote on Jul 4th, 2008 at 11:01am:
Yes, Collingwood VFL wants him not Collingwood AFL. He is 30 years old and has a 12 month suspension to complete. That'll take him to 2009 where he will be 31 years old. Then he'll go into a VFL club (most likely Collingwood) for say at least 1 maybe 2 years. He'll be at least 32 years old before being even be considered for elite AFL. This is a sport where 30 is considered the peak and the beginnings of a fast downhill slide. He'll have at least 1 year of non-elite playing with 2 years worth of countless young guys passing him by. All this, and providing that he doesn't get himself in the limelight for the wrong reasons again between now and then. By 2010/11 will any club consider him? Will he be fit enough at his age when most would be considering retirement? There will be many younger, faster, cheaper, fresher players to select and mould into the club coporate image and doctrine instead of trying to mould a has-been. Don't get me wrong. He's a great player and a pleasure to watch in action. I'm being realistic on his chances. I'll be surprise if any AFL team picks him. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by ocean_b on Jul 4th, 2008 at 3:10pm
Acid monkey..my understanding is that he will be playing AFL in 2009..the VFL stint was being played out for the remainder of this year?
"June 25, 2008 - 6:50PM Ben Cousins' manager says an AFL comeback for the former Brownlow medallist is more unlikely than most think, with his long spell out of the game a significant hurdle. A host of AFL clubs have counted themselves out of offering the former West Coast skipper a second chance at the top level with most citing his age as the biggest negative. Cousins is soon expected to fill out the paperwork needed to play in either the VFL or WAFL this year, with next Monday - the midfielder's 30th birthday - also the deadline to sign on for the state leagues' 2008 seasons. Playing at the lower level is seen as a first step to a possible return to the AFL in 2009 after he completes a 12-month suspension for bringing the game into disrepute ......" http://news.smh.com.au/sport/afl-clubs-baulk-at-ben-cousins-age-20080625-2wcu.html |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by sprintcyclist on Jul 4th, 2008 at 8:33pm I hope he goes ok. Probably the AFL should run random drug tests on him. For his benefit, the games and the supporters. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 09- Collingwood? Post by oceanZ on Sep 29th, 2008 at 9:17pm
Looks like Cousins may go to Coillingwood.
He is also alllowed to nominate his preferred club rather than be forced into the national draft...so will he nominate Collingwood ? The Eagles coach and players want him back..they are petitioning to get him back. I doubt it will succeed tho'. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Phil. on Sep 30th, 2008 at 6:35pm
Tell ya what, he ought to be the spokesman for this company. :D (if they still had the original ingredients)
![]() |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by DonaldTrump on Sep 30th, 2008 at 6:44pm
::)
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by oceanZ on Sep 30th, 2008 at 8:30pm ex-member DonaldTrump wrote on Sep 30th, 2008 at 6:44pm:
Hi there donald.. Yes that pic deserves several of these ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) ::) |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by DonaldTrump on Oct 3rd, 2008 at 9:04pm oceanz wrote on Sep 30th, 2008 at 8:30pm:
2008 season end Ladder 1 Geelong 2 Hawthorn 3 Bulldogs 4 St Kilda 5 Adelaide 6 Sydney 7 Kangaroos 8 Collingwood 9 Richmond 10 Brisbane 11 Carlton 12 Essendon 13 Port Adelaide 14 Fremantle 15 West Coast 16 Melbourne |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by oceanZ on Oct 3rd, 2008 at 9:55pm
as opposed to Sydney being at the top..?
ha ha. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by DonaldTrump on Oct 3rd, 2008 at 10:33pm oceanz wrote on Oct 3rd, 2008 at 9:55pm:
Round 4 2008 Sydney Swans 16.11.107 West Coast 5.15. 45 Some highlights: [smiley=tekst-toppie.gif] |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by oceanZ on Oct 4th, 2008 at 4:08pm ex-member DonaldTrump wrote on Oct 3rd, 2008 at 10:33pm:
Barry Hall is a huge embarrasment and much more damaging than Cousins ever was as a role model to young fans Donald..its a shame you believe he is all the Swans have to offer. ::) |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by DonaldTrump on Oct 4th, 2008 at 4:19pm oceanz wrote on Oct 4th, 2008 at 4:08pm:
CRACK! CRACK! CRACK! There's nothing better than hearing the sound of Staker's jaw cracking. Ooooh yeah. Round 11 2008 Sydney 83 West Coast 78 |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by oceanZ on Oct 5th, 2008 at 6:23pm But the sound of this guys jaw cracking is the sweetest sound of all ha ha ha.. Ooohhh yeahhh! Barry Hall -1 Adolf Hitler -0 Quote:
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by DonaldTrump on Oct 6th, 2008 at 5:56pm
6 things come to mind upon viewing your post Oceanz...
1) Man o man... I had no idea my little edit on the multiculturalism board hurt you this deeply. Otherwise, why would you put in all the time and effort to make that stupid thing? 2) That doesn't really offend me. 3) So... what you're really saying is the West Coast eagles are nazis? 4) [smiley=thumbup.gif] 5) That's a poor paintshop job. 6) It's not funny nor witty. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by freediver on Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:01pm
I think it is an insightful juxtaposition of postmodernist re-evaluations of recent history.
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by oceanZ on Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:02pm ex-member DonaldTrump wrote on Oct 6th, 2008 at 5:56pm:
you make me laugh you DT..you manipulate my post because it has the word "Hitler" in it and im the Nazi?? It was also completely relevant to the topic. what are you afraid of? Hypocrisy is your middle name. It was not my aim to get a perfect result in my" paintshop job".. just make a point. I did. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by oceanZ on Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:03pm freediver wrote on Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:01pm:
:) thanks FD... couldnt agree more. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by DonaldTrump on Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:27pm oceanz wrote on Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:02pm:
1) I never called you a Nazi. 2) I'm calling the West Coast eagles 'Nazis' as a joke because it appears that Adolf Hitler's head is on Brent Stakers head, hence making him an eagles player. It's a joke, you know? A J-O-K-E. 3) How can it be possibly relevant to this topic? 4) I changed the word from 'Hitler' to 'Mugabe.' Both are dictators and both use race politics, right? Hence your point was still getting across. How is that 'manipulating' your post? Unless your 'real' intention was just a meaningless stab at Hitler and by taking out the word 'Hitler' the whole 'point' of your post was lost? I was actually upset that you deleted your entire post. But fair enough, you're entitled to do whatever you want. 5) How am I being hypocritical? Are you even sure how to use that word in the correct way? 6) It was a poor paintshop job, I'll stand by that. 7) If your 'point' was a protest about my edit on the multiculturalism, then it has been a success. But a PM would have been more than satisfactory. 8) You really need to get less touchy about my insults about West Coast and in particular, the editing. If I knew it meant that much to you that the word 'Hitler' was left in, then I might have left it alone. Anyway, this is my last post on this thread as I don't want to offend you anymore, Oceanz. Okey dokey? Toodles. -DT |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by oceanZ on Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:47pm ex-member DonaldTrump wrote on Oct 6th, 2008 at 6:27pm:
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Revenant on Oct 12th, 2008 at 11:38am
I'm not sure if I want the Pies to pick him up. He's potentially a good player but I don't think he's taking his recovery serious enough. Remember the Cuz went over to the USA for treatment and over there they’re very big on 12 step recovery like in AA and NA, which are programs of complete abstinence from all drugs including alcohol. Yet when the Cuz came back to Oz he went up to schoolies week in Queensland and was out drinking, which to me says he isn't following the advice of those who've treated him. So with that sort of attitude he's a huge chance of slipping back into full blown addiction, if he's the type of addict who needs to abstain.
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by oceanZ on Oct 12th, 2008 at 2:46pm Revenant wrote on Oct 12th, 2008 at 11:38am:
I think Revenant..that at that time his head was all over the place. The media hounded him out of the country quite literally..he never went to sign into rehab..it was obvious he went to escape the media and hatred in the public arena generated by witch hunt he was subjected too. He lost a good mate on top of it all. I think he veiws his condition now as a true addiction..whereas in the beginning he wouldn't have even really believed he had one..He wil go to the Collingwood I believe because Mcguire will take care of him..ie: keep an eye on him. He knows he needs that kind of management. And McGuire has been down that road. Cousins needs footy to help him recover. I believe he would go back to West Coast in a heart beat if they opened the door. But Nisbett says no. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Lestat on Oct 12th, 2008 at 3:44pm Revenant wrote on Oct 12th, 2008 at 11:38am:
Are you kidding..I would be rapt if we pick him up. He is exactly what we need...a bit of class in the midfield. And you can see that he is still in great shape. Of course it depends on what we have to give up to get him. A 3rd rounder would be ok, considering that we have now 2 3rd rounders after the Rhyce trade...and a 3rd round pick is pretty hit and miss anyway. If we can get him in the PSD even better but that is highly unlikely. Yes he is a risk...but with the amount of youth we have in our side, and the lack of experience , a hard running gun midfielder is exactly what we need...I think the risk is well and truly worth it. Yes it can come back to bite us...but not sure about you...but I'm sick of 'almost' being good enough...its time we made some hard decisions and took some risks to finally get that holy grail. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by oceanZ on Oct 12th, 2008 at 3:51pm
a decision as to wether he will be allowed to play AFL again is to be made tomorrow.
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Revenant on Oct 13th, 2008 at 7:57am oceanz wrote on Oct 12th, 2008 at 2:46pm:
Even so, he eventually went into the rehab where they would've advised him to abstain from all drugs including alcohol. So if I was a club looking to recruit him I'd be asking him he's drinking at all and I'd also be asking what on going support he's receiving to help him stay clean. If he said he was having the occasional drink and not attending any counseling or support groups I wouldn't draft him. The last thing Collingwood needs is more off field BS like we had this year. It's too disruptive. Lestat, We wouldn't have to give up anything for him as he is no longer with a club. We'd just have to pick him up in the national draft if he’s still available when our turn comes. Just as an aside, I reckon Anthony Corrie was a great pick up for us. He's only 24 and he played 20 games for the Lions this year and all we gave them was pick 93. It should be good, we can have Corrie in one forward pocket and Medhurst in the other, which means Thomas, Didak and Davis will be able to spend more time rotating through the middle. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by oceanZ on Oct 13th, 2008 at 9:17am
well Revenant..the AFL hasnt given him the all clear yet anyway..that happens today someone said and he has been clean for the best part of the year.
Collingwood have had Private Investigators on his tail for 2 weeks and they interviewed Police and his friends in Perth .. apparently he got a good report. I dont think footy is worth the invasion he has had to endure..but thats his decision. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by oceanZ on Oct 13th, 2008 at 9:46am
why going back to WC would be distasterous for Cousins..too much pressure...
"BEN Cousins is a rock star. Unless you have lived in Perth it is probably difficult to understand just how big Cousins is in the west. Darren Lockyer is a big name in Queensland - but Cousins in Perth is on another level. Blokes want to be him and women want to be with him. Now, with the 2005 Brownlow medallist lodging an appeal to be allowed back into the AFL, the question being asked by administrators across the country is: "What would recruiting the recovering drug addict do to our club's brand?" Brisbane should be applauded for its willingness to discuss recruiting Cousins - because the answer isn't crystal clear. Just ask West Coast. The Eagles have about 45,000 members and a further 5000 sit on a waiting list. No one has done more in West Coast's history to make the club as powerful as Cousins. At the end of last year, at the height of the Eagles' drug scandals, the club posted a profit of more than $6.6 million. This year, with no Cousins and Chris Judd, crowds have fallen for the first time in a decade." |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Revenant on Oct 13th, 2008 at 9:18pm oceanz wrote on Oct 13th, 2008 at 9:46am:
Well, if he ends up at the Mighty Pies I'll be expecting you to come across too. As long as you both behave yourselves. ;) |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by oceanZ on Oct 13th, 2008 at 9:27pm Revenant wrote on Oct 13th, 2008 at 9:18pm:
Yes I will follow closely Reverance- I could be a bit of both..can I ?..WC have fallen apart since he and Judd departed..so Im not too fussed about WC anymore. Management of that club ( Nisbett and co) is the problem not one or 2 wayward players. Yes Ill be a Pies supporter if they get him. I think Ill be in good company. :-? |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Revenant on Oct 17th, 2008 at 12:47pm
Looks like the Pies don't want Cousins.
http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24508404-19742,00.html |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by oceanZ on Oct 17th, 2008 at 1:12pm
Thats a real shame Revenant.
If this keeps up he may find it tough to get a club. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Amadd on Oct 18th, 2008 at 6:13pm
It deosn't sound good for Benny boy.
You might've already heard this tape which was released a couple of days ago regarding his U.S. drug binge last year. http://wwos.ninemsn.com.au/article.aspx?id=649168 |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Saints on Oct 18th, 2008 at 9:25pm
So what
Its old news Expect the rubbish to come out of the woodwork again like they did last time. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Amadd on Oct 18th, 2008 at 11:00pm
It's old news, but the tape seems so much more damning.
If I was making the decision at the Bulldogs, I'd take him for a one year deal at a bargain basement price and on the proviso that if he screws up, he'll be out on his ear. But then again, we've already got champion midfielders. What we need is tall key position players, and the Saints shafted us into using our top pick for the father/son rule. Thanks Sainters, you bunch of pricks. Hope you fail dismally again. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Saints on Oct 18th, 2008 at 11:47pm
No worries at all amadd.
If we pick him up I'll be a very happy camper. He's got plenty in him yet, just what we need. I hope we don't cave like Collingwood, bunch of idiots. He's worth at least 2 very good seasons and getting us to at least the top 4. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Amadd on Oct 19th, 2008 at 12:14am
Well if you get him, then I hope he does well.
I also hope that Ray does well (he was a good pickup), as I hoped that Birss would do well. A club like Collingwood is in a position to be falsely leading the way on morals because they have the cash behind them. It's a pity that the struggling clubs need to resort to a dog eat dog attitude. The Saints and the Bulldogs have usually had a good connection, but they were thrown into the rivalry round to my dismay, and now lo and behold, there seems to be good reason to call you rivals. Go figure. |
Title: D-Day for Cousins Post by oceanZ on Nov 18th, 2008 at 1:17pm Give Cousins another go November 18, 2008 League must give the Brownlow medallist a chance to ply his trade again. NOTHING less than a late-breaking calamity, such as an arrest in broad daylight, can stop Ben Cousins from receiving the all-clear from the umpires known as the AFL Commission today. Cousins will surely be allowed to resume his career — what choice does the AFL have but to allow him to ply his trade? He's passed the drug tests he wants to play, and, whether it wants him running around or not, legally and morally, the AFL must give him the opportunity to play. But if the league won't be an impediment, he still has a significant hurdle to clear: the clubs and their innate conservatism. As it stands, only two clubs, St Kilda and the Brisbane Lions, are known to have maintained an interest in Cousins. While one can never discount a late, opportunistic bid by a club once the player is definitely available, it seems unlikely that there will be any other bidders. Collingwood, which made the early running and did undue diligence, got cold feet. Some at West Coast talked about it, but the Eagles were never going to accept Cousins back after the entire club had spent 12 months trying to repair the impression of a rampant drug culture. Cousins' difficulty lies in the fact that hiring him represents unchartered territory: no club has ever knowingly attempted to take on a recovering drug addict, and, as such, the decision is much more complicated than the simple need for a hard-running, gun midfielder. If it was merely about football and the ability to play the game, a dozen clubs would be jostling for him. But the decision to enlist Ben Cousins involves so much more than a judgement on his extraordinary prowess as a footballer. Clubs ask not just whether he can get a kick, but whether he can truly kick the habit. They have to satisfy their leadership groups (not so hard) and corporate sponsors (much trickier) — the latter having increased clout in the current financial meltdown (sponsors were a factor in Collingwood's withdrawal). Ultimately, their board has to approve. They need contingency plans in the event that he can't stay sober, and a strategy for dealing with the media circus and obsessive reporting of all that he does. They will ponder whether even a pristine Cousins would become an unwelcome distraction. The Saints and Lions have to negotiate these various obstacles, neither club's board having yet given the formal green light. St Kilda's board has told the football department to "continue due diligence". In practice, the clubs with an interest can't take it any further until the AFL has freed him to play. In the event that he is drafted — and we should not discount the possibility that he won't play again at the elite level — the club that picks him must downplay expectations, making it clear that, "Ben still has a long way to go" and that a relapse might occur. The last thing Cousins needs is the burden of unrealistic, Messianic expectations. One suspects that, whatever individual commissioners think — and there are bound to be different shades of opinion in the room today— collectively, the AFL wouldn't be distressed if Cousins didn't grace the field again. He doesn't present the wholesome image that the hierarchy wishes to portray, especially in Sydney, where the National Rugby League's media allies are quick to jump on anything that makes AFL players look as antisocial as rugby's hoons. That said, one can only hope that he gets back, not simply for his own health and well-being, but because of the inspiration he would provide. And finally, lest we forget the reason, besides the drugs, that we find Cousins so riveting: He's a great footballer." |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by sprintcyclist on Nov 27th, 2008 at 10:19am Looks his ego may count against him. A 90% pay drop is irrelevant. "BEN Cousins' bullet-proof pride has been punctured by rejection and he now faces a 90 per cent pay cut if he wants to resume his AFL career. So sure was the fallen Eagle he would be offered a start at St Kilda, he twice declined invitations to travel to Brisbane to meet with the Lions in recent weeks. But with the Saints out of the race and Brisbane last night deciding Cousins was not worth a pick in Saturday's national draft, any bargaining power the 2005 Brownlow medallist enjoyed has completely evaporated. Having forced Lions coach Michael Voss and football manager Graeme Allan to fly to Perth for face-to-face talks at the weekend, Cousins was understood last night to be trying desperately to arrange a trip to Brisbane to press his case. But the Lions, never fully committed to the recovering drug addict in the first place, have made it clear any move on Cousins will be on their terms. It is understood there is room to move in Brisbane's salary cap but it is possible, if the club decides to take a punt on Cousins, he could be asked to play for a base wage with heavy incentives attached. The AFL's minimum wage is $62,700 a season and minimum match payments are $2700, so even if Cousins played every game and topped up his income with bonuses he could still be pocketing $500,000 a season less than in his heyday at West Coast when he commanded between $600,000 and $700,000. Brisbane's statement yesterday left the door ajar for Cousins in the pre-season draft, but it remains a matter that requires board approval. "Should the Lions retain a vacancy on their playing list for the Pre-Season Draft and should Ben Cousins be available for the Pre-Season Draft, then the club will continue its process of due diligence in assessing this player after the weekend," the statement said. The AFL confirmed Cousins lodged his nomination to enter the draft by yesterday's 1pm deadline, sparking industry speculation there was another club in the hunt that had yet to show its hand. In a statement, Cousins took steps to remove himself from the threat to walk away from the game. "As part of my ongoing rehabilitation it was my goal to nominate for the 2008 AFL National and Pre-Season Drafts," he said. "I wish to clarify that at no stage did I say that I would not play football again following the conditions set down by the AFL Commission. While they are onerous they are understandable and achievable. I hope to get the opportunity to return to the game that I love. "Playing football at the highest level again is an important part of my ongoing rehabilitation and I believe that I can be a valuable contributor at an AFL club." http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,24712245-10389,00.html |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by DonaldTrump on Nov 30th, 2008 at 6:07pm
Oh no! $62,000 a year. Whatever will he do? ::)
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Phil. on Nov 30th, 2008 at 6:17pm ex-member DonaldTrump wrote on Nov 30th, 2008 at 6:07pm:
What he does best buddy! |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by DonaldTrump on Nov 30th, 2008 at 6:21pm DILLIGAF wrote on Nov 30th, 2008 at 6:17pm:
It's a wonder he's still alive with $500,000 a year for ten years spent on drugs. |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Phil. on Nov 30th, 2008 at 6:26pm
Some kind of alien? :D
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by sprintcyclist on Nov 30th, 2008 at 9:49pm That's a pity. Either noone wants him, or they are really playing tough ball. Surely it would be best for cousins if he played ? In his position, I'ld offer drug test whenever they wanted. "BEN Cousins's hopes of reviving his AFL career now rest with the pre-season draft after he was left out of yesterday's national draft. Brisbane was the last club to publicly express interest in recruiting the 30-year-old, but on Friday pulled out of the hunt. "We thought it was best we didn't pursue that option," Lions coach Michael Voss said. "That's just a call we had to make and I thought it was important to make it as soon as we were clear on it. "That way, it doesn't leave the propaganda and people filling in the blanks for themselves." He added it was a "very tough call" but the Lions made it with conviction. AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou and Cousins's manager Ricky Nixon declined to comment. Cousins was also overlooked by St Kilda last week and it appears there is little hope left for the self-confessed drug addict to make a comeback. The AFL has imposed strict conditions on his return, including regular urine and hair sample tests. WAFL clubs East Fremantle and Perth are now set to engage in a tug-of-war for the services of the six-time All-Australian, premiership Eagle and Brownlow medallist." http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,24727047-5016169,00.html |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by Phil. on Dec 1st, 2008 at 7:23pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 30th, 2008 at 9:49pm:
Sure someone does! He can share his crack with oceanZ! |
Title: Re: Cousins to return in 2009 Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 1st, 2008 at 8:37pm
Phil !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
hahahahhha, what else can I give but ...... 10/10 :-) |