General Discussion >> General Board >> First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1284253778 Message started by imcrookonit on Sep 12th, 2010 at 11:09am |
Title: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by imcrookonit on Sep 12th, 2010 at 11:09am First car crushed under 'unlicensed laws' The first vehicle confiscated under Western Australia's unlicensed driver laws was crushed today. Police and Road Safety Minister Rob Johnson said police had successfully applied to the courts to have the 1989 Mitsubishi Galant hatchback permanently confiscated after its owner was caught for unlicensed driving offences on three occasions in less than a year. Mr Johnson said he hoped today's crushing would send a clear message to anyone driving without a licence. "My message to unlicensed drivers is simple - if you get behind the wheel, you will be caught and you will lose your vehicle," he said. "While most drivers do the right thing and use our roads responsibly, there are some who continue to snub their nose at the law and at the safety of others. "About 20 per cent of unlicensed drivers are involved in serious crashes in WA, posing a serious threat to themselves and other road users. "Unlicensed motorists, along with hoon drivers, put lives at risk and do not deserve to be on our roads." Mr Johnson said the vehicle was crushed due to its low-value. The vehicle's engine and gearbox were donated to students to use in their mechanical studies at the Swan TAFE Carlisle Campus. In November 2009, the vehicle of a repeat reckless driver was the first car to be crushed under the state's hoon laws. Under the unlicensed driver laws, if a person is detected driving without a valid licence, police can impound the vehicle on-the-spot for 28 days. If a person is caught for their third offence, the Police Commissioner can apply to a court to have the offender's vehicle permanently confiscated. It is then crushed or sold, with proceeds going to road safety projects. From July 2009 to August 2010, police have impounded 10,333 vehicles under the legislation. |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by locutius on Sep 13th, 2010 at 9:44am
Great idea. Hope to see more of it. Especially some of the hooligan's $50 000 precious toys.
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by gizmo_2655 on Sep 13th, 2010 at 3:16pm locutius wrote on Sep 13th, 2010 at 9:44am:
Awesome.....Now they just need to bring the same legislation in across the rest of the country... |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by qikvtec on Sep 13th, 2010 at 3:25pm wrote on Sep 12th, 2010 at 11:09am:
This stat seems a little spurious to me, are they saying 1 in 5 serious road crashes are caused by unlicensed drivers? If they are then clearly it's licensed drivers who are the bigger problem. How on earth can an unlicensed driver put anyone at greater risk than a licensed driver? Hoons are a separate issue again, and whilst their actions are certainly unsafe, aren't responsible for the majority or even a significant majority of road fatalities. Why crush the car, aside from being symbolic it destroys it's value, which if going to road safety campaigning would be ideal to preserve. Just sell the damn thing as a whole or for parts. |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by gizmo_2655 on Sep 13th, 2010 at 3:29pm qikvtec wrote on Sep 13th, 2010 at 3:25pm:
No, not "1 in 5 crashes are caused BY unlicensed drivers" it actually says "1 in 5 unlicensed drivers will be involved in serious crashes".... |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by qikvtec on Sep 13th, 2010 at 3:33pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Sep 13th, 2010 at 3:29pm:
So how are they posing a serious threat then? 4 out of 5 drivers are licensed; why are they not the greater threat? Just for the record I am not in any way shape or form condoning unlicensed driving; just pointing out the ridiculous emotive unobjective claims that get bandied around on this and other subjects. |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by gizmo_2655 on Sep 13th, 2010 at 4:14pm
True, but you need to think about 'why' these people are unlicensed too....
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by qikvtec on Sep 13th, 2010 at 4:20pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Sep 13th, 2010 at 4:14pm:
In Queensland that could be for simply refusing to pay a parking fine. Not sure on the license cancellation laws in other states. A goodly portion of them could be for speeding; though an even greater portion is likely to be for drink driving which is a far more insidious charge. |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 13th, 2010 at 4:26pm
I'm not really sure where I stand on this.
On one hand, they're unlicensed for a reason (hopefully a reason related to driving, not non-payment of fines) so shouldn't be on the road, so if confiscation of the vehicle keeps them off the road, so be it. On the other hand, they will just go and buy another $500 rust bucket that may not even be roadworthy, thus posing even more of a risk. I'd also like to see working cars be sold, given away, used in some way rather than just being crushed. It seems more symbolic than useful. |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by Amadd on Sep 13th, 2010 at 4:53pm
In my book it's theft. They have absolutely no right to steal a person's property, beit unlicensed or hoon drivers.
They really need to look at other measures which don't encroach upon our basic rights. Maybe the requirement of a license to purchase a vehicle might be an idea worth looking at, but stealing a person's property is just plain wrong. |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by gizmo_2655 on Sep 13th, 2010 at 4:54pm qikvtec wrote on Sep 13th, 2010 at 4:20pm:
I think here in NSW, non payment is usually rego cancellation...but I'm not sure Although there's a person around here who's a repeat offender.....In the last year he's been caught on PCA while unlicensed about 6 times.... License is suspended now, for about 35 yrs or something....but he won't stop doing it.....I reckon crushing the car would work though... |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by Imperium on Sep 13th, 2010 at 4:58pm
The state can take people's property if it wants, duh. It's called coercion.
Even if what Qitvec said was true, it would still be a staggering statistic regardless. How many people on the road are actually unlicenced drivers? I doubt very many. If a fractional proportion of the total number of drivers are responsible for 1 in 5 accidents on the road, that would imply a vastly larger per capita accident rate for unlicenced drivers than licenced drivers. I don't see why we have to waste the car either. Just confiscate it, sell it off, and subject the licenced driver to temporary slave labour for a period of time, or corporal punishment. |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by gizmo_2655 on Sep 13th, 2010 at 5:02pm Amadd wrote on Sep 13th, 2010 at 4:53pm:
I don't know Amadd...is it really any different to when the Sheriff impounds your good on a court order to be auctioned for debt??? And when you get right down to it.......to avoid having you're car crushed, all you'd really need to do is NOT drive while suspended..... It's really about taking responsibilty for your own actions... |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Sep 13th, 2010 at 5:12pm Amadd wrote on Sep 13th, 2010 at 4:53pm:
WA has all sorts of crazy laws allowing the state to steal your property. Hers one example: Quote:
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by life_goes_on on Sep 13th, 2010 at 5:16pm
If the road toll was actually increasing I could perhaps see a need for such returns to a bygone age of symbolic punishment, but as the road toll isn't increasing I think it's probably best we stop continuously bleating about it and simply accept that there will be a road toll and that any further legislation to reduce it only results in greater and greater inconveniences for the rest of us.
No to zero tolerance. Yes to an acceptable road toll. |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by qikvtec on Sep 13th, 2010 at 6:25pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Sep 13th, 2010 at 4:54pm:
At least until he acquires a new vehicle; clearly this guy has no intention of obeying these laws. |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by gizmo_2655 on Sep 13th, 2010 at 6:37pm qikvtec wrote on Sep 13th, 2010 at 6:25pm:
Granted....but the expense 'might' open his eyes a little....or at very least convince his 'friends/family' not to lend him their cars... Just personally, I'd opt for a gaol sentence until his license restriction runs out.....But that's just me... |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by life_goes_on on Sep 13th, 2010 at 6:47pm
[edit]Just personally, I'd opt for a gaol sentence until his license restriction runs out.....But that's just me... [/edit]
A local "pillar of society" in the town near here got done for driving with a suspended license three times (within a month) and received a min sentence of 18 months jail time and a loss of license for 5 years. The 18 months jail is probably appropriate, but to make it 5 years???? The impact of the 18 month sentence goes beyond him to his family and business. It's not like he's caused any injury or death - he hadn't even broken any other road rules apart driving with a suspended sentence. |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by gizmo_2655 on Sep 13th, 2010 at 6:52pm Life_goes_on wrote on Sep 13th, 2010 at 6:47pm:
Well maybe they were 'hinting' that driving while suspended incurs a further lose of license...and AFTER he does the 18 months.....it'd be a good idea NOT to drive during the suspension??? Once again....it seems that extreme action is needed to get the point across.... After all, most people understand that if you stick your ....finger....in a powerpoint, you get shocked....but very few people have the same understanding of legal penalties.... |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by life_goes_on on Sep 13th, 2010 at 7:02pm
I'm pretty certain that in NSW there's a mandatory 6 months jail if you get caught driving twice whilst under the same suspension (or an extension of it).
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by gizmo_2655 on Sep 13th, 2010 at 7:15pm Life_goes_on wrote on Sep 13th, 2010 at 7:02pm:
Not that I've seen...it 'might' be a maximum of 6 months gaol.... Cause it sure doesn't happen very often around here.... |
Title: Re: First Car Crushed Under Unlicenced Laws. Post by aussiefree2ride on Sep 13th, 2010 at 8:36pm
I`ve got a crush on the Harley down the road.