General Discussion >> Chat >> Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1291235817 Message started by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 6:36am |
Title: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 6:36am
Cringworthy sums it up.
Gillard omg, such an embarrasment isn't she. http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/hoges-and-cartoon-kangaroo-star-in-world-cup-bid/story-e6frf7jo-1225964268442 I don't beleive Australia will get the world cup for 2022 anyway. As Australia falls under the region of Asia, and China has already made an impressive bid for the 2026 cup. Further America seems to be in the front with Qatar. What can Australai offer? Looking at the video then it's not much. Why wasn't it hammered home that Australia has proved that it can host such world events. Refering to the 1958 Olympics (Friendly Games) and the 2000 Olympics (Best Games Ever). And that Melbourne always finishes in the top 3 of the World's Most Liveable Cities. The video excludes these attributes. As said at the start, cringworthy -yes? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ogzjfJtg3TA |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 7:12am
Will FIFA really be convinced by an animated kangaroo?
And what was Julia thinking? It looks like another waste of millions of dollars ($45). Who forked out this money, Julia? |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by pansi1951 on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 7:39am
We won't get it! and we don't deserve to. We showed more AFL highlights than football. We are not a football nation, we never should have wasted the $45m, besides we are in a bad time zone as far as tv airing goes.
Was it "This is your Life Frank Lowy"?.......and get rid of Paul Hogan and his botox face. We were trying to convince football people that we have a passion for the game. We couldn't do it because we don't rate football very high on our sports ladder. Maybe because they haven't raped anyone. Rugby League and AFL increase in popularity with every new rape claim. Anyway, I'm sort of glad that lots of people still say "where is Australia." |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by mellie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 7:54am Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 6:36am:
You wont get any argument out of me , Gillard is as embarrassing as it gets. Unprofessional just doesn't cut it I'm afraid, this woman should audition for a part on 'Home and Away', not be leading the country. She's a clown. :-[ |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 8:25am I haven't seen it. A blowup kangaroo, killrudd in her nasaly condescending tone, crocodile dundee ........... good, soccer is a poo game, I don't want it here. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Dnarever on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 8:45am
I thought that Australia and the USA were the only places where soccer is played.
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 11:17am Quote:
Maybe not, but they have their underage sex scandals. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by mellie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 11:59am
I can just hear Julia Gillard as Australia's latest refugee tourism ambassador....
" So, where the hell are'ya, move forward to Australia" The twit! ::) |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 12:18pm Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 6:36am:
China's not made any bid. At all. And there is far more to a bid than the video, including the bid papers which have outlined our ability to host world class events. This was also raised in a FIFA commissioned report, so there's not a great deal of use trying to force home a point that's already been 'sold'. Though it should be noted that there were numerous references relating to our ability to host major sporting events, including the tennis, F1 etc. While I wasn't entirely convinced about our bid video, it's not us that the FFA is trying to convince, but FIFA. Remember, much of the same was said about our bid for the 2000 Olympic games. Though I still think it will go elsewhere, probably Qatar. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 12:22pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 7:39am:
We aren't in THAT bad a time zone considering: a) games shown in the evening here will be broadcast in the morning in Europe and the USA (and not that early in the morning). b) by 2022, there will be far more viewers in Asia (in OUR time zone) than there will be in both Europe and the USA. I'm quiet certain this is already the case. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by aussiefree2ride on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 2:34pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 7:39am:
Who was raped? Are you saying that no one has ever been raped by a soccer player? Or that no skank ever falsely accused anyone of anything? |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by mellie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 2:45pm
Get over it Gillard and femmos, the only ones who care about our hosting the cup here in Australia, and enough to create some sort of commercial, (if this is what it was supposed to be) are either gay or femonazis who hate football.
No wonder Gillard jumped at the chance...hahaha Pity no one else gives a stuff what you want Gillard... ;D |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by mellie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 2:47pm aussiefree2ride wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 2:34pm:
Oh because only football players have rape penises you see, well according to Pansys logic. eeerm, well, a lack there of. ::) |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 2:49pm mellie wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 2:45pm:
Frank Lowly is a gay femonazi? |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by mellie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 3:05pm Jaykaye_09 wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 2:49pm:
Look, football is Australia's iconic national sport, thus there's been an increasing demand to not only alter the culture of our nations people, but our politics and sports also. See, Asians cant beat us at our own game, so the ALP does it's best to improvise. Sport is and always has been heavily politicised...leftys, femonazis and gays notoriously prefer soccer to football, this is why there's been such a push for soccer in recent years here in Australia, this and an overall smearing of football players and the game itself. See, even the tiny Chinese can play Soccer, without the risk of sustaining a brain injury for at least half the game. ;D...I think Gillard and China see it as a way of de-manning our national sport. I can just see them now...having pedicures and burning bras on the oval half time with little pink ribbons pinned to their chests drinking pink lemonades out of their sippy-cups.. Look, I don't mind soccer as a game, but really don't think Australians on the whole give a damn about the cup, and or if it should come to Australia. I think Australians prefer their PM's to lead the country, this opposed to bog themselves down in diversional and inconsequential tabloid BS like this for a little ALP PR. ::) "Ok, the economy's f*cked, and the costs of living have sky rocketed but we have the cup here in Australia"- Gillrud inc Australians cant even afford to throw a prawn on the barby this Xmas, much less buy tickets to see a pack of punces kicking a ball around a soccer field. Sounds like Gillard needs to get her priorities in order...FAST! ::) |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 3:19pm mellie wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 3:05pm:
There's probably a fair few in NSW and QLD who would argue against 'football' being the national sport (though football here can refer to any of the three codes, so I'm not exactly sure what you're on about). And you know Abbott was supportive of the bid as well, right? Football (soccer) enjoyed quiet a bit of success in Australia before it fell on it's own sword, mostly through poor administration. There was a report commissioned by the HOWARD government (the Crawford Report), which attempted to address the problems which had arisen, and to some extent, did so. Seriously Mellie, try to distance yourself from the cultural stereotypes that are so very far from the reality. You really know nothing about sport in this country. Certainly not football (soccer). It's very, very lame. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 3:33pm
Lets face it - Oz doesn't have enough interest in the sport to warrant a bid. Sure, we like a spectacle, and they don't come much bigger than the soccer world cup, but I don't think the 'big event fever' would be enough to sustain interest for a whole month, especially not during NRL/AFL season.
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by mellie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 3:33pm
It's one thing to be supportive of something, but to make an idiot of yourself on national television in a stupid commercial with a kangaroo is an entirely different ball game, not to mention a waste of time and money.
::) |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by mellie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 3:35pm ... wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 3:33pm:
Agreed, and whilst I think Soccer is indeed starting to catch on, we are far from world-cup status, I mean, how well did we fare in the world cup last time? Last wasn't it. ;D |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by mellie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 3:43pm
Speaking of cultural stereotypes, Jayk, I didn't see you agree/disagree with pansy when he/she claimed that footballers score points in accordance with how many woman they have raped, so I guess this brand of stigmata is acceptable then?
Face it, no one really gives a damn about soccer, we prefer footy here in Australia. Or were empty stadiums the look you were going for next season? Never mind, we could always offer school kids free passes to put bums on seats I guess like they did during the Olympics in India recently when local people weren't keen on some events over there also. Personally, I cant wait for the World Cup ping-pong challenge...hehehe ;D Why stop at just Soccer... |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by mellie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 3:47pm Soccer is just so incredibly..... GAY!!!! |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by mellie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:12pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5xLn-X8YJRg
I actually prefer watching soccer to football, though just cant see a bunch of guys getting it on in stadium full of people in Australia. :) Better luck next year. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by mellie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:16pm
I really liked this...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IjynbUNlvWU&feature=related ;D |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Aussie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:22pm
I watched that Kangaroo thaing for the first time. If that was the sole basis for selling the bid, then it would not would succeed. However, I am quite sure it was just a small and final component of a long campaign on the part of the Australian Committee headed by Lowey.
You know what I found to be cringe-worthy? The lousy mean spirited, perhaps even bigoted negative comments made just because the PM of Australia symbolically threw her support behind the bid by participating in the Film, which I thought was quite positive, and cheekily very Australian. If Abbott had appeared in his dick togs no doubt mellie would have had multiple orgasms about it. :) |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:27pm
The irony is that the promo claims that Australia is safe and secure, and yet Gillard cannot stop the invasion of boat people!
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:28pm mellie wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:16pm:
He just wants to be a player's jock strap. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:32pm
Just watching this makes you feel as if you have a hangover
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eVkFVgqhYlk&feature=fvw |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Aussie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:35pm Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:27pm:
Ferfuxsake, mellie, can you even just once be positive and support what is a multi million dollar bid being made by Australia to host the World Cup, and if that bid succeeds now, someone like Hayseed (my nick name for Howard) may be reaping the political rewards if the bid succeeds. Not only that, it will be a financial, cultural and international bonanza for Australia. But, nah, not you mellie. You'd rather take the cheap political shots and put poo on Australia's bid. Good onya. Yer a bugger wit. :) |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:36pm ... wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 3:33pm:
Viewing figures during prior World Cups involving Australia would seriously test that theory. There is no doubt whatsoever that it would maintain not only our interest, but the interest of those who will inevitably come to see the event. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:37pm mellie wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 3:43pm:
Because this isn't a thread about AFL or the NRL. However, for what it's worth, I find that suggestion to be equally stupid as your own. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:38pm mellie wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 3:35pm:
No Mellie. Check again you dolt. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:40pm
And after the US hosted it in 1998, FIFA wanted to have another go there.
So seems pretty well home & hosed that the USA will get it. They have the forecasted numbers that give the best return. Australia should get Wayne to submit his forecasted hypotheticals. They'd blow the US's out of the water! |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:44pm Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:40pm:
The US hosted it in 1994. Despite my doubts that Australia will get it (I'm guessing it will be Qatar or the United States), seriously, stop pretending you have any idea about football. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:55pm
Ok have added the actual video bid
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 5:01pm Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 4:40pm:
The US sees soccer as a girls sport. Goes to show they're not as stupid as people make out. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Aussie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 5:51pm Quote:
Which 'US' are you talking about, mellie? |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 6:02pm Aussie wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 5:51pm:
I'm mellie too now am I? Tell me, how long have you been having these hallucinations? |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 6:05pm ... wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 6:02pm:
He fantasisies about her and sees her everywhere. Plus he gets all his nicks confused, so he is bound to get their characters all muddled up. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Aussie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 6:12pm
Nah, it is easy for me. I have only one nick here.....'Aussie.'
8-) |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 6:13pm
Keep saying that as you may even convince yourself.
But nobody else. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 6:14pm Aussie wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 6:12pm:
Yeah me too mate - the one and only wesley pipes. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Aussie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 6:16pm Quote:
8-) |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Glorious Five Year Imperium on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 6:17pm
Aussie, calling everybody Mellie is getting old. Give it a rest. She may be a few accounts here but most of the time you're way off with your accusations.
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Aussie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 6:24pm JC Denton wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 6:17pm:
Nah. I am on the money every time. When I see some pro-active Mod intervention on this crappola, I'll desist. Okay? [Even you agree 'she may be a few accounts here.....which ones do you suspect?] |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Glorious Five Year Imperium on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 6:26pm
Codswal, Miss Anne (maybe), SandySquirrel. Those are my guesses. She isn't Longweekend or Wesley at all.
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Aussie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 7:31pm Quote:
Yes, she is. mellie is very clever at this deception, as you have confirmed. She knows how to hide them, and almost get away with it. She also knows I am an unpaid Bounty Hunter right up her clacker. I should not have to do the job for the Mods. :) |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by freediver on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 7:41pm
I'm actually really impressed out how quickly soccer has been been pushed to front in Australian sport. I have no doubt that the local interest will be there by 2022, if it isn't already. The guys at work go on about it so much I now feel uncomfortable calling it gay.
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Glorious Five Year Imperium on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 7:44pm
I haven't noticed that at all.
Soccer is a boring game for third world fags. There is something fishy about a sport that a lot of third worlders like. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Aussie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 7:50pm
Which parts of Europe, America, Australia, Asia, the Middle East are part of your 'third world?'
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Glorious Five Year Imperium on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 7:56pm
Asia- almost all of it
Middle East- filled with third world people, not third world on a national level by the virtue of the fact that it found black stuff in the ground America- South & Latin Ameica Europe is the exception. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Glorious Five Year Imperium on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 8:04pm
p.s in case you haven't figured it out i am trolling
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Aussie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 8:17pm Quote:
This too, was a troll? |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Glorious Five Year Imperium on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 8:22pm
The first bit (it is boring) was my opinion, but the second bit was.
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Soren on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 9:06pm
Yeah, that's what Australia is crying out for - another sport to take too seriously. There are only 3 - or 8?- so far. Gotta get nuts over another one, otherwise what will the rest of the world think of us???
Seriously, one of the great things about Australia - there are many more - is that it has not given a sh!t about a stupid thing like soccer. What next? Handball?? |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 9:33pm Soren wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 9:06pm:
And it cost Australia $45 million. More wasted money by the Rudd/Gillard govt! |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 9:34pm
How much has Julia paid to Oprah to turn up to Australia?
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Aussie on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 9:39pm Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 9:34pm:
And what the bugger does that have to do with this, your own Thead? 8-) |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 9:48pm
Give it a rest Aussie/Skippy/Ernie and your whole army of other names will you.
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 10:15pm Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 9:33pm:
I'm pretty sure you'll find the Liberal government to have been in support of the bid (and the financial contribution). |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 10:16pm Soren wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 9:06pm:
I reckon it has. No, wait a minute. It definitely has. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Soren on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 10:43pm
It's a game for Brit proles and continental proles-at-heart. ANyone else who tags along does so in the hope of appearing cosmopolitan. But they are just rubbing up against eurotrash (or worse).
Professional sport is a pretty moronic notion across the board. Falling for the slick marketing of it as the 'beautiful game' is doubly stupid. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FVKkUO8m4cs Soccer - complete prats. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=m3qpE8WZMt8&feature=related |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 11:12pm Soren wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 10:43pm:
Yeah, wacky concept that people could actually follow a professional sport, and the sports from which they are based. I mean, who in their right mind would enjoy that? And I'm sure all the people who watched the World Cup, or send their children off to play are one of those three things. I wonder Soren, did you find yourself falling over a lot as a child playing sport? Did the ball tend to get the better of you? I think so. Good call on the videos of cheating players though. I've never seen anybody else conduct themselves in such a manner, in any sport, or indeed, any sort of activity in life. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by gizmo_2655 on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 11:24pm
Some very interesting (if misguided) views on soccer.....
Considering that there are probably more soccer teams in NSW than NRL or AFL teams.... |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by sprintcyclist on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 11:37pm yes, 90 % in the under 10's |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 3:53am
Very hard to stomach, but not remotely unexpected.
Qatar hosting a World Cup is absolutely ridiculous though. People here talk about the perceived lack of interest in the game (incidentally, Australians bought the third most tickets for matches in the 2010 World Cup), but Australia has less than 2 million people FFS. And it's tiny, so who knows how they're going to manage. Adding to which, it's going to be a terribly sterile, dull event. Feel for England too, but absolutely astounded that Qatar has won (despite my saying they would). |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 6:28am
Well Australia did better than I anticipated, they got 1 vote- probably their own.
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:14am mellie wrote on Dec 2nd, 2010 at 3:35pm:
Think that Australia finished 21st, which wasn't bad, still beat New Zealand (22nd). The previous World Cup champs Italy finished 26th and also France (29th). |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by mellie on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:30am
Now to conclude Gillards enthusiasm re- her soccer world-cup bid I will leave you with the clip which embarrassed a nation.
Honestly, my mouth dried up when I watched this, as much as I cant stand her, I felt embarrassed for her, on my own behalf. It's a shocker...*cringe* http://www.abc.net.au/news/video/2010/12/02/3082171.htm Can anyone tell me how long this short film cost to make? ::) |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by pansi1951 on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 8:49am Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 6:28am:
Please tell me you didn't say that.....LOL LOL LOL |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by pansi1951 on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 9:01am Jaykaye_09 wrote on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 3:53am:
Not to mention that it will be 45 degrees in the shade, and absolutely nothing else to see apart from the games. It really was a bad choice. It could be a risky place to go too, but who knows what will transpire in the next 12 years regarding the middle east. Suppose I'll have to go to Brazil, they love football and know how to party. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by pansi1951 on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 9:38am
We mustn't blame Qatar, we must look at ourselves. We really had nothing to offer. We can't expect the world to come here and offer them cricket ovals and AFL stadiums to watch the game in. Qatar are building stadiums in the shape of a boat and a shell....wow factor! and the stadiums will be dismantled and given to developing countries, well they were assured of some votes there.
The kangaroo video that had trouble mentioning football would have not gone down well. All the other countries talked about their passion for football, not us. Qatar also has a sustainable league that is not going broke. FIFA are big on legacy. Qatar's legacy was uniting the middle east and giving new stadiums to third world countries. Our legacy was giving new stadiums to AFL. That's hardly promoting football. We can't blame Qatar for getting it right. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by WESLEY.PIPES on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 10:46am
No great loss.
I'm sureit'd be good for business, but a pain in the ass for everyone else. Who really wants drunken poms shouting rubbish on the streets anyway? Barmy army, English rugby fans, they all grate on my nerves after about 2 minutes, and soccer fans would be as bad, probably worse. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 11:51am mellie wrote on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:30am:
It was part of Rudd's committment to his wasteful spending projects. And in total cost over $45 million. Look forward to Gillard creating a Minister for Wasteful Spending! |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 1:24pm mellie wrote on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:30am:
It was 6 minutes of a 25 minute presentation, made not for us, but for the voting committee (whose minds would have been made up well in advance). And the contribution made by the Federal Government had support from all sides of politics! |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 4:36pm Jaykaye_09 wrote on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 1:24pm:
Got anything to back that up ? |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Aussie on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 5:29pm |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 5:40pm
Indeed. There are plenty of articles where Abbot has voiced his support for the bid.
And like I said, it was the Howard Government who commissioned the Crawford Report which inevitably led to our governing body having the confidence to bid for the cup. Both the major parties have thrown their support behind football (soccer) in Australia, including during the build up to last night. http://au.fourfourtwo.com/news/189885,parliament-united-for-final-bid-push.aspx "AUSTRALIA Prime Minister Julia Gillard and opposition leader Tony Abbott do agree on something - that our nation has done a tremendous job in pushing its case to hold the World Cup and now they just want the right result to go with the effort. Member of Federal Parliament donned bid scarves this week and both the Prime Minister and Mr Abbott were full of praise for the Frank Lowy-led team. Like the rest of the country, they just want to hear FIFA bosses utter "Australia" in the early hours of December 3. Speaking to MPs this week, Ms Gillard told the house: " In Zurich our nation is privileged to be represented by our first citizen, Her Excellency the Governor-General, along with the Minister for Sport, Senator Arbib, and an impressive delegation led by the remarkable Australian Frank Lowy. "Frank’s passion has ensured a strong, compelling and unified bid. No nation could hope for a better case to be submitted on its behalf than that which Frank and his team have put for- ward. No-one could have prosecuted the case with more enthusiasm or zeal. It is a great bid and it de- serves a great result. Years of planning, years of striving all come down to the vote. "We hope that the name ‘Australia’ emerges just as the word ‘Sydney’ emerged in Monte Carlo 17 years ago. Like then, our nation is united in anticipation and bonded together by hope. I wish our bid team all the best, and I am confident every Australian does so. Mr Abbott also voiced his support for the Australian team's efforts so far. "I support the sentiments of the Prime Minister and point out to the House that Australia is the undisputed champion of the world at running sporting events. "We ran the world’s best Olympics, we ran the world’s best Commonwealth Games, we ran the world’s best Rugby World Cup, and we will run the world’s best soccer World Cup if we get the chance. Like the Prime Minister, I place on record my thanks to Frank Lowy, who has been the chairman of the bid, and I wish our delegation led by the Governor-General every success."" |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 6:04pm Jaykaye_09 wrote on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 5:40pm:
Nice try, but the ownership of this wasted $45 million belongs to Rudd and also Gillard. Because it wouldn't have mattered what the Libs felt, the ALP were always going to throw the money away. And if by some small miracle, Australia had have won the bid would anyone have applauded the Libs for the ALP spending? |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Amadd on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 6:12pm
I'm sure we would've done a great job of hosting it, but I couldn't care less.
From what I saw of the last world cup, it was almost as much of a pain to watch as it was to listen to. For such a big event, it seemed unprofessional and lacked highlights. I think the rules need a major overhaul to stop the refs having so much impact on a nation's chances. Our presentation was about on par with where the "beautiful game" is at right now. Maybe if the kangaroo was on a bike, we may have stood a better chance by raising the cringe-factor that extra notch. I'm not disappointed that we didn't get it, the waste of $45m is the big disappointment.i |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 6:53pm Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 6:04pm:
I couldn't give two runs about Labor or Liberal. You're the one going for cheap points scoring here, not anybody else - not even the parties themselves. They were all behind it. Sorry, better luck next time. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 6:57pm Jaykaye_09 wrote on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 6:53pm:
The ownership of the wasted $45 million goes to the ALP. Nobody else. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 6:58pm Amadd wrote on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 6:12pm:
You believe it should have been even more cringier? |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Amadd on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:19pm Quote:
Yeah, well the surfing kangaroo was a hard one top. Surely if we have such talented kangaroos, we'd be well worthy of hosting a lousy soccer competition? Too bad, we could've saved $44.99m by hiring 'coconuts the kangaroo' instead. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6rttaLMkwQci |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by pansi1951 on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:20pm Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 6:57pm:
Concede defeat. Just heard on SBS news, both sides of politics were in full support of the bid. Tony Abbott said he regrets that we didn't get the games. Now say sorry, I was wrong, go on. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Aussie on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:21pm Quote:
No, mellie, political ownership = The ALP, and the Libs. etc etc etc, and the Australian people. You are a bugger wit. 8-) |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:23pm
Nice try, but the ALP are in government and in control of the purse strings.
It was the ALP who wasted the $45 million. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Aussie on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:26pm
They spent the money with the support of the Libs, etc etc etc.
You are a bugger wit. :D |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Jaykaye_09 on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:26pm Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 6:57pm:
Of course. But Princess, you're the only one who seems to have a problem with it. Not even the Liberals agree with you here, and given the chance, it seems likely they would do the same. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:28pm Jaykaye_09 wrote on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:26pm:
If that were the case then you wouldn't be having Julia trying to defend the wasted $45 million now would you. Fact is, it was the ALP who wasted $45 million on a futile bid. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by pansi1951 on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:32pm Miss Anne Dryst wrote on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:28pm:
Tony Abbott came out and said he defends the bid and he's sorry we didn't win. Tony Abbott the opposition leader Tony Abbott, he said that. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Miss Anne Dryst on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:34pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:32pm:
The ALP wasted the $45 million on a futile bid. |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by Aussie on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:38pm Quote:
You are a bugger wit. This Thread must surely be sent to the Dementia Forum soon! |
Title: Re: Cringeworthy: Australia's World Cup Bid Post by pansi1951 on Dec 3rd, 2010 at 7:48pm
Dryst<<The ALP wasted the $45 million on a futile bid. >>
.......................................................... Do you know what the next move could be, so that the $45m might not be wasted? |