Political Parties >> Australian Labor Party >> What will Gillard slash?
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1297053728

Message started by bogarde73 on Feb 7th, 2011 at 2:42pm

Title: What will Gillard slash?
Post by bogarde73 on Feb 7th, 2011 at 2:42pm
My very strong tip is the Health Insurance Rebate.
She & Mad-dog Roxon are ideologically opposed to this in the first place and have only lacked a plausible (to them) reason for acting.
Will the floods give them the excuse?
Quite possibly so. Watch the hospital queues grow if she does,

Title: Re: What will Gillard slash?
Post by alevine on Feb 7th, 2011 at 2:44pm

bogarde73 wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 2:42pm:
She & Mad-dog Roxon are ideologically opposed to this in the first place and have only lacked a plausible (to them) reason for acting.

I hope she slashes the toner cartridge fund.

;D ;D ;D

Post by Ernie on Feb 7th, 2011 at 2:46pm
I don't mind if she drops a few of Howard's little pet rorts - the health care rebate amongst them.

First home owners grant, baby bonus can go too.

Then she could start on pollies super and perks.

Post by sprintcyclist on Feb 7th, 2011 at 2:50pm

a lot of the green project money wasters will be binned

rudds endless 1st class flights ???? nah, the leaker has julia in his pocket.

her wrists ?

Post by buzzanddidj on Feb 7th, 2011 at 2:53pm

Please delete wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 2:46pm:
I don't mind if she drops a few of Howard's little pet rorts - the health care rebate amongst them.

Poor, poor Andrei

Post by skippy. on Feb 7th, 2011 at 2:57pm

Yep, I agree, I'm so over Howards waste pissing in the pocket of middle class welfare.

Post by nichy on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:05pm
This will go down well !!!!!!!

"Late last year, Ms Gillard flagged welfare reforms in the budget to maximise workforce participation and boost productivity. Yesterday, she alluded to incentives, training programs and carrot-and-stick measures to ensure ''that every Australian who can work, does work''.Of the 2 million she mentioned, about 800,000 worked part-time and wanted to work more, while another 800,000 were not even registered as unemployed, including discouraged job seekers.

''And there are many thousands of individuals on the disability support pension who may have some capacity to work,'' she said.

Ms Gillard also used the speech to advance her argument for the $1.8 billion flood levy which will help cover the flood repair bill in Queensland and Victoria and ensure the budget returns to surplus on 2012-13 as scheduled."

Post by Prevailing on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:12pm

nichy wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:05pm:

"Late last year, Ms Gillard flagged welfare reforms in the budget to maximise workforce participation and boost productivity. Yesterday, she alluded to incentives, training programs and carrot-and-stick measures to ensure ''that every Australian who can work, does work''.Of the 2 million she mentioned, about 800,000 worked part-time and wanted to work more, while another 800,000 were not even registered as unemployed, including discouraged job seekers.

''And there are many thousands of individuals on the disability support pension who may have some capacity to work,'' she said.

Ms Gillard also used the speech to advance her argument for the $1.8 billion flood levy which will help cover the flood repair bill in Queensland and Victoria and ensure the budget returns to surplus on 2012-13 as scheduled."

Ms Gillard is heading for serious trouble with an injunction if she does not wise up - why pick battles you cant win to support the same failed Nazi policies Australia has rejected?  End corporate welfare today. :)

Post by Verge on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:27pm

She should be starting at the bottom of your list first.

How many people here have said when companies were doing badly they critisied CEO's for not taking pay cuts, yet havent demanded the same of our pollies.

I would like to see her implement a system by where the PM makes $20 or $30mill a year, gets taxed on it like everyone else, then when they are out, they are gone, no more gravy train.

They are the only employees who cost you millions long long long after they are gone.

As for the health care rebate, at what point so you think the rebate should start to phase out?

Post by bogarde73 on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:28pm
Taking a contrary view to many of you, I see the health insurance rebate as very like c'wealth funding of private schools - very necessary & equitable.
People who choose not to avail themselves of the public hospital system, like those who choose not to use private schools, are still entitled to a share of the tax revenue which they contribute and which should not go exclusively to the public sector.

Post by Verge on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:29pm

Nice of her to go after the DSP receipients.  Attack those who actually cant work.  I have seen a few now DSP receipients off themselves because they couldnt live with the fact they couldnt work and lived in pain on a daily basis.
Of course Gillard knows more than what Doctors do.

Post by dsmithy70 on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:40pm

Verge wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:29pm:

Nice of her to go after the DSP receipients.  Attack those who actually cant work.  I have seen a few now DSP receipients off themselves because they couldnt live with the fact they couldnt work and lived in pain on a daily basis.
Of course Gillard knows more than what Doctors do.

Seriously why don't they just merge?????
This is a policy I'd expect Abbott to release, demonising the welfare reciepents as if they are the cause of budget defiecits.
As mentioned, Health rebate,baby bonus,FHB all should go.
Also this paid maternity crap for up to $150K, learn to budget, it should be a sliding scale cutting out totally at $120K.
Demonise the poor subsidise those able to fend for themselves.
And tell us it's a "Fair Go for Working Australian Families"
I hope they get flogged just as hard as NSW Labor in 2013(as long as Abbotts not leading or any Johnny puppet)

Post by Prevailing on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:48pm
How about we slash major events, and tax the use of corporate profits to sponsor to fund athletes - its racist anyway. :)

Post by Ernie on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:50pm

bogarde73 wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:28pm:
Taking a contrary view to many of you, I see the health insurance rebate as very like c'wealth funding of private schools - very necessary & equitable.
People who choose not to avail themselves of the public hospital system, like those who choose not to use private schools, are still entitled to a share of the tax revenue which they contribute and which should not go exclusively to the public sector.

There's another one - subsidies to the wealthy private schools, who simply don't need the money.

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:52pm

Please delete wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:50pm:

There's another one - subsidies to the wealthy private schools, who simply don't need the money.

Ooooooooh there's that streak again.....

"Private school kids"
"Rich People"

"Grrrrrr how dare they shaft us peasant folk! Grrrrrrrrr"

Post by buzzanddidj on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:56pm

I'm thinking of setting up my OWN private police force
NATURALLY, I will want THIS segment of my GST retuned as a rebate
The SAME for my taxes that pay for public transport - should I stop using the system
The Government should subsidise my motor scooter
i

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:57pm
It's called a moped and its incredibily homosexual mate.

Post by mellie on Feb 7th, 2011 at 4:03pm
She will slash welfare, education, and rethink the health deal with the states. Power will increase, food prises also.

Ask Julia Gillard what our Youth unemployment figure is right now.

Take a guess? 8-)

Post by Verge on Feb 7th, 2011 at 4:07pm

Why doesnt every parent deserve the right to have their school funded whether its private or public?  After all they are paying taxes like the rest of us.

Private schools take the burden of the public system, and per child receive far less than a public school.  If you would like we could cut it to zero and watch a bulging public system burst at the seams.

Post by bogarde73 on Feb 7th, 2011 at 4:25pm
Why do you find it necessary to shout at us hysterically in large print buzz?
Of course, if you are under some visual disability, recently acquired, please accept my apology.

Post by nichy on Feb 7th, 2011 at 4:28pm
I doubt that she will cut the health insurance rebate,  too many votes to be lost and it will increase the pressure on both the health system and the government where it is very much under scrutiny with  health reforms prior to COAG.

Incidentally,  many Labor voters have health insurance too.  

Post by alevine on Feb 7th, 2011 at 4:35pm

Verge wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 4:07pm:

Why doesnt every parent deserve the right to have their school funded whether its private or public?  After all they are paying taxes like the rest of us.

Private schools take the burden of the public system, and per child receive far less than a public school.  If you would like we could cut it to zero and watch a bulging public system burst at the seams.

No problems with private school funding.  can you please however not include into this theory that public school kids receive more from the federal government than private school kids?  It isn't true.  And as I've mentioned before, if we take Howard at his word for why private funding was increased, then introduce a different system that actually allows ALL kids the same financial support from the FEDERAL government.

Post by dsmithy70 on Feb 7th, 2011 at 4:57pm

nichy wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 4:28pm:
I doubt that she will cut the health insurance rebate,  too many votes to be lost and it will increase the pressure on both the health system and the government where it is very much under scrutiny with  health reforms prior to COAG.

Incidentally,  many Labor voters have health insurance too.  

Yes and why was it brought in?
Because Private health insurance was not a value for money, every year premiums increased yet gaps between insurance and actual cost made it a waste of money.You paid for both.
So instead of increaseing funding to public health as people deserted an uncompeditive farce we got 30% off,rebated and the costs continues to rise although somehow we believe we are now getting a good deal because the"government" picks up the tab for 30%?
Newsflash it's our money anyway, so we pay for a public system as well as proping up an uncompeditive private system.
No cut the rebate and force the market to set the price of private health, put our tax dollars into the public system instead of the pockets of shareholders.
If as we hear the market is the best mechanism why not use it, why does it need public money to hold onto customers?
We should let them sink or swim by their own merits i.e value for money.
Yes I've heard the argument the public system will be inundated but guess what we can put more of OUR money(tax) into it if need be we pay for 2 systems now so why not more into just 1, and besides unless it's elective non life threating surgury you will be in a public hospital anyway.
There are no emergency wards in private hospitals so in a car crash and unconcious, having a heart attack etc you'll wake up in a public ward.

Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 7th, 2011 at 5:01pm

bogarde73 wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 2:42pm:

You're trippin' if you think any votes are to be gained by pursuing this!

Abbott does not know how f&%$$d he is this year.

Thats, f*^$%-up-beyond-all-recognition for the too cracked up metros out there!

:-? :-? :o  ;D ;D ;D :D :D

It's a leadership thing if he can't get off this weak counterpunching game.... Countering would be good if he could land!

Even Colin Barnett gave him a serve. I suspect this is the only reason Oakes got the balls to change his tune aswell!

Oakes is a big sloppy joke!!

Go the big sloppy jokes of this country, GO!

No wonder the terrorists are all over us!!

WEAK WEAK WEAK !!!!

MY BET: ABBOTT WILL SUDDENLY GET DOWN WITH THE NBN IN HIS DESPERATION!

HE WILL HAVE TO!!!!!!  ;) ;)

:D :D :D :D WE LOVE YOU HEAVY KEVVY!  :D :D :D :D

Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 7th, 2011 at 5:04pm

wHAT WAS THAT

What: take the burden? Get knotted mate, you're a joke!  ;D

Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 7th, 2011 at 5:09pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:52pm:

Ooooooooh there's that streak again.....

"Private school kids"
"Rich People"

"Grrrrrr how dare they shaft us peasant folk! Grrrrrrrrr"

Oi, anyone who votes liberal looks after overseas investors and tries to shove trickle down theory down their neighbours thoats.

;D ;D :D ;D ;D :D

Yeh, hide behind that fence dood, HIDE!  :o :D :D  ;)  ;)  :) :)

Post by cods on Feb 7th, 2011 at 5:13pm

well nichy someones got to cover JOHN FAHEYs salary package..

Post by cods on Feb 7th, 2011 at 5:16pm

buzzanddidj wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 3:56pm:

The SAME for my taxes that pay for public transport - should I stop using the system

so apart from GST what taxes do you pay exactly.??.

I guess the answer then is for any rich person to send his child overseas for his/her education and whilst they are at it they may as well move the family overseas whilst their kids get educated..

dont need any of their money spent in this country do we.. who the hell needs rich people.

Post by cods on Feb 7th, 2011 at 5:18pm

bogarde73 wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 4:25pm:
Of course, if you are under some visual disability, recently acquired, please accept my apology.

at least he forgot to push the pink button....

yeah it could be an eyesight thing..he printed up some very very naughty pictures they even shocked a few of his lefty mates.

and we know how hard that is to do!

Post by buzzanddidj on Feb 7th, 2011 at 5:22pm

cods wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 5:16pm:

Much the same as YOU, I assume
I paid the FULL rate of income tax, as a FULL TIME worker, over almost 40 years
I am now a SELF FUNDED semi-retiree, who works part time

Post by cods on Feb 7th, 2011 at 5:23pm
No problems with private school funding.  can you please however not include into this theory that public school kids receive more from the federal government than private school kids?  It isn't true.  And as I've mentioned before, if we take Howard at his word for why private funding was increased, then introduce a different system that actually allows ALL kids the same financial support from the FEDERAL government

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

oh yes it is...

you see more kids go to public schools than private.and sadly people like on here who begrudge anyone earning over $50.000 a helping hand, even their children. more and more will be stretching the class rooms in public schools.as people are finding it harder and harder to just pay their utility bills.. this will become the case.

Post by dsmithy70 on Feb 7th, 2011 at 5:27pm

cods wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 5:18pm:

yeah it could be an eyesight thing..he printed up some very very naughty pictures they even shocked a few of his lefty mates.

Low cods very low, you didn't seem to mind as per your comments.
I had hoped you had left this cheap point scoring behind you.

Post by Equitist on Feb 7th, 2011 at 5:56pm

We hear a lot about 'queue jumpers' from right whingers...

But they don't seem to see much of a problem with the Federal Govt helping - subsidising even - the select few to jump queue when it comes to hospital waiting lists...

How can it be, that: -

* The degree of medical disability, pain and/or suffering doesn't determine health funding and over-ride all other considerations in treatment waiting time priorities!?

* Reverse-means-testing has crept in to fund WEALTHfare for the select few - over Welfare for the under-privileged majority!?

* That the Govt subsidises PRIVATE INSURANCE POLICIES for instant 'luxuries' such - as massages, homeopathy, exercise classes, non-essential dental services and plastic surgery - rather than boosting public hospital and dental funding to provide prompt basic medical care for the truly needy!?

As for Private School subsidies - where do the get off using CONSOLIDATED Federal TAX revenue, to DISproportionatel- fund the spoilt brats of divisive elitists, anti-public school ideologists and religious dogmatists!?

Post by vegitamite on Feb 7th, 2011 at 6:17pm

First to go on my list would be  the Baby Bonus and First Home Buyers Grant.

Post by imcrookonit on Feb 7th, 2011 at 6:44pm
ALP Left figure warns Julia Gillard against hitting families with welfare cuts

JULIA Gillard has been warned from within her own party against punishing families to make short-term budget savings, amid speculation welfare cuts are being considered.

Senior Labor Left figure Doug Cameron told The Australian Online this morning that there would be “significant interest” from the party's backbench about the impact of any welfare changes.

“One of the problems generally in Australian politics has been short-termism,” Senator Cameron said.

“I hope the party leadership don't take a short term view on welfare reform on the basis of balancing the budget.

“There has to be a long-term approach to welfare reform which is about looking after those who can't look after themselves.”

Speculation is mounting that the government is considering welfare cuts to pay for disaster reconstruction, including cuts to the education tax rebate and family tax benefits.

Senator Cameron said he was not opposed to reforms which “made things better”, but too often they had made things worse.

“Unfortunately reform in Australian politics has been about making things worse in the past,” he said.

“As long as it's about making things better, it's about reform. I'm particularly interested in making sure that we not only have a strong economy but a good society.”

The Gillard government is facing opposition to its $1.8 billion flood levy from the Tony Abbott-led Coalition, which argues reconstruction money should come entirely from savings measures.

Senator Cameron said Labor must not abandon those who needed help from the government.

“It's clear to me that we need to as a party continue to recognise that we live in a society, not just an economy.   ;)

“And that we need to build a good society and protect those who can't protect themselves is part of a good society,” he said.

The Australian Council of Social Services today warned against cuts to family payments to meet disaster reconstruction costs.

ACOSS chief executive Dr Cassandra Goldie said now was not the time to cut essential social services.

However, the rebuilding effort did provide an opportunity to remove poorly targeted expenditure.

“We do believe that there is wasteful spending in the budget and that this is an opportunity to remove some of the poorly targeted expenditure within the federal budget,” she said.

Dr Goldie nominated the scrapping of the education tax rebate as one possible measure.

She also called for an increase to the dole of $50, saying the Newstart allowance was nearly impossible to live off and worked out as a payment of about $33 a day.   ;)

The union movement has pushed for a lift to the unemployment benefit in its federal budget submission.   :)

Post by Verge on Feb 7th, 2011 at 9:16pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 4:35pm:

No problems with private school funding.  can you please however not include into this theory that public school kids receive more from the federal government than private school kids?  It isn't true.  And as I've mentioned before, if we take Howard at his word for why private funding was increased, then introduce a different system that actually allows ALL kids the same financial support from the FEDERAL government.

Really, because state schools enrol 68% of students and receive
75% of total public funding for schools, while Catholic and
Independent schools enrol 32% of students and receive 25% of
total public funding.

In 2007, NON-GOVERNMENT SCHOOL STUDENTS RECEIVE MUCH LESS
THAN GOVERNMENT SCHOOL STUDENTS
Australian Governments spend more than an average of $10 700 per
annum per government school student, and $6054 on average per
non-government school student.
EVERY CHILD IN A NON-GOVERNMENT SCHOOL SAVES THE TAXPAYER MONEY
The annual savings to governments in Australia from the education of students in non-government schools is approximately $5.1 billion.

So to deathhorse, go blow a goat, if thats not taking the burden off the system I dont know what is.

Post by cods on Feb 7th, 2011 at 9:39pm

buzzanddidj wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 5:22pm:

cods wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 5:16pm:

Much the same as YOU, I assume
I paid the FULL rate of income tax, as a FULL TIME worker, over almost 40 years
I am now a SELF FUNDED semi-retiree, who works part time

so why make stupid statements then.. so you have a medicare card?

Post by Equitist on Feb 7th, 2011 at 9:41pm

Verge wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 9:16pm:

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 4:35pm:

Really, because state schools enrol 68% of students and receive
75% of total public funding for schools, while Catholic and
Independent schools enrol 32% of students and receive 25% of
total public funding.

In 2007, NON-GOVERNMENT SCHOOL STUDENTS RECEIVE MUCH LESS
THAN GOVERNMENT SCHOOL STUDENTS
Australian Governments spend more than an average of $10 700 per
annum per government school student, and $6054 on average per
non-government school student.
EVERY CHILD IN A NON-GOVERNMENT SCHOOL SAVES THE TAXPAYER MONEY
The annual savings to governments in Australia from the education of students in non-government schools is approximately $5.1 billion.

So to deathhorse, go blow a goat, if thats not taking the burden off the system I dont know what is.

Bollox - that is just the usual pro-privatisation claptrap - it does not take into account the gross inefficiencies and waste associated with unnecessary duplication, by the so-called 'private' and 'independent' schools sector - of existing public school grounds, facilities, staff and equipment - for a relatively small national population over a vast land mass...

As a matter of interest, where is the evidence that the small shift of students out of the public sector throughout the Howardian Era led to a DISPROPORTIONATE drop in public school running costs - and associated funding!?

In particular, where are the economies of scale in those hundreds of tiny pseudo-private schools that popped up all around the country during Howard's period of wanton capital largess!?

Post by cods on Feb 7th, 2011 at 9:44pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 5:27pm:

smithy you are getting so sentistive leave it out love it doesnt become you!

cheap point scoring how come????

I wouldnt have said it if it wasnt true..how is that scoring points?

but then you probably didnt find the picture naughty.. a tad dirty perhaps.

Post by cods on Feb 7th, 2011 at 9:53pm

wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 6:17pm:

and paid maternity leave to the tune of basic weekly wages...

I dont get that I dont get anywhere near that..and neither do a lot of others..

stop babying this generation stop letting them think they are entitled to something for nothing..its a madness tell the union to shut up.

some want to see health benefits cut.. a good one I would say health is not in the least important is it..then they whinge about  private schools getting something... god forbid we should educate our kids in a diverse society lets all look and act the same for gods sake..a bit like Bunnings stores all the same.all reading the same book at the same time..

another good one.

dont lets stop ministers tripping round the globe doing basically nothing ... hasnt stopped any floods or fires or cyclones.. that I can see.. so what benefit there is from all those expensive trips I will never know..

stop buying votes.

Post by dsmithy70 on Feb 7th, 2011 at 10:00pm

cods wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 9:44pm:

Dsmithy70 wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 5:27pm:

smithy you are getting so sentistive leave it out love it doesnt become you!

cheap point scoring how come????

I wouldnt have said it if it wasnt true..how is that scoring points?

but then you probably didnt find the picture naughty.. a tad dirty perhaps.

Your right Cods
Back to the arrogant lefty smartass as from now
;D ;D ;D

Post by dsmithy70 on Feb 7th, 2011 at 10:34pm

cods wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 9:53pm:

stop babying this generation stop letting them think they are entitled to something for nothing..its a madness tell the union to shut up.

some want to see health benefits cut.. a good one I would say health is not in the least important is it..then they whinge about  private schools getting something... god forbid we should educate our kids in a diverse society lets all look and act the same for gods sake..a bit like Bunnings stores all the same.all reading the same book at the same time..

another good one.

dont lets stop ministers tripping round the globe doing basically nothing ... hasnt stopped any floods or fires or cyclones.. that I can see.. so what benefit there is from all those expensive trips I will never know..

stop buying votes.

1st of all as the Liberals like to remind us union membership is stagnet or has fallen over the last decade or more.There is no genX/Y
union as far as I know.

But other than that I agree,but they are focusing on the wrong thing because the elephant is too big.
They keep throwing money at the "cost of living" Baby Bonus,FHB, Priv Med etc.
When the real cost of living is home mortgages.
If basically 1 persons income and 99% of the time it's the major income of the home is going out just to pay for the roof every week well of course everything else in life becomes harder to afford.Even if as Andrei says $150k is middle income (it's going to have to be rather than the reality of around 60K)
Quick example 400K loan 80K deposit over 25 years at the current interest rate(variable) = $581.35 p/week $2325.37 p/month.
Which would be an average loan from area it's a lot bigger loan the closer to the capitals.
We need to let the market right itself otherwise we are just running in the hamster wheel.Never getting anywhere
People say move to the outskirts but even the outskirts your looking at 350K for a reno or 379 for a SMALL house and postage stamp in the new suburb with no public transport links or other infrastructure.So there's a car loan at least, no 2 in all probability becuase both have to work on top of the roof lets be genorous and say another $150 p/week on top,
And those towns even further out in my area have housing shortages due to mines prices get just as expensive.
Keating should have stuck with getting rid of neg gearing
Howard should have abolished or left the FHB at 7 instead of doubling it.
Two painful but aceptable chances
Now to be fair maybe the problem has got to big and all we can do to prevent unacceptable hardship to the economy IS subsidise everything else.

Post by Verge on Feb 8th, 2011 at 7:51am

Dsmithy70 wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 10:34pm:

another good one.

stop buying votes.

1st of all as the Liberals like to remind us union membership is stagnet or has fallen over the last decade or more.There is no genX/Y
union as far as I know.

But other than that I agree,but they are focusing on the wrong thing because the elephant is too big.
If basically 1 persons income and 99% of the time it's the major income of the home is going out just to pay for the roof every week well of course everything else in life becomes harder to afford.Even if as Andrei says $150k is middle income (it's going to have to be rather than the reality of around 60K)
Quick example 400K loan 80K deposit over 25 years at the current interest rate(variable) = $581.35 p/week $2325.37 p/month.
Which would be an average loan from area it's a lot bigger loan the closer to the capitals.
We need to let the market right itself otherwise we are just running in the hamster wheel.Never getting anywhere
People say move to the outskirts but even the outskirts your looking at 350K for a reno or 379 for a SMALL house and postage stamp in the new suburb with no public transport links or other infrastructure.So there's a car loan at least, no 2 in all probability becuase both have to work on top of the roof lets be genorous and say another $150 p/week on top,
And those towns even further out in my area have housing shortages due to mines prices get just as expensive.
Now to be fair maybe the problem has got to big and all we can do to prevent unacceptable hardship to the economy IS subsidise everything else.

I thought it was the states who doubled it, or topped it up at least?

Plus Rudd did a triple for new homes and double for existing.

Post by dsmithy70 on Feb 8th, 2011 at 9:23am

Verge wrote on Feb 8th, 2011 at 7:51am:

Dsmithy70 wrote on Feb 7th, 2011 at 10:34pm:

another good one.

stop buying votes.

union as far as I know.

I thought it was the states who doubled it, or topped it up at least?

Plus Rudd did a triple for new homes and double for existing.

Well throw Rudd in there under Howard, it just proves the point of governments propping up the bubble to avoid the political fallout of house prices coming back to a reasonable level.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.