Member Run Boards >> Film, Television and Radio >> Q & A http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1302552215 Message started by Grey on Apr 12th, 2011 at 6:03am |
Title: Q & A Post by Grey on Apr 12th, 2011 at 6:03am
It's getting better and better I reckon. People really seem to love Penny Wong, but i think she's a bit over careful myself.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by dsmithy70 on Apr 12th, 2011 at 8:14pm
I thought this was the most insightful comment of last night programm
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Apr 13th, 2011 at 2:58am
;D Hmmm Yesss, unfortunate.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Apr 13th, 2011 at 10:21am
She's improving though. She used to be as boring as watching paint dry - like Wayne Swan, like Stephen Smith - like most of the front bench, actually. I think they've given them personality training.
Anarchy is looking better and better these days. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by dsmithy70 on Apr 13th, 2011 at 12:35pm
OK I'll say it bear the brunt of insults.
It was embarrassing to watch, she was clearly out of her depth, had little understanding of the questions & debate going on around her & did nothing for the aboriginal cause except give those who sympathize something to cry about & those that ridicule more ammunition. Total waste of a seat, then again so was that bias hack from the Australian. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Apr 13th, 2011 at 4:19pm Dsmithy70 wrote on Apr 13th, 2011 at 12:35pm:
Couldn't agree more. Given the depth of available aboriginal eloquence, borne out of the struggle to be heard, you have to wonder why she was selected. My guess is that it was out of a misplaced desire to be fair and let out the voice of the aboriginal right. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Parannoyed on Apr 14th, 2011 at 4:38pm Grey wrote on Apr 12th, 2011 at 6:03am:
Not this 'people' I really can't stand her. She's at ground level, just slightly above Garrett, on the totem pole in my estimate. Fancy putting her in charge of money! :o [smiley=vrolijk_26.gif] Hi Grey. 8-) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Apr 14th, 2011 at 4:45pm
G'day Parra :-) rather a nifty name change there ;D
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Parannoyed on Apr 14th, 2011 at 10:38pm Grey wrote on Apr 14th, 2011 at 4:45pm:
Why thankyee sirrr, seemed pretty apt at the time. ;) |
Title: Re: Q & A: Molan Jewell Cox James Wazefadost Post by Equitist on Apr 25th, 2011 at 9:38pm This week's edition is just starting... Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Apr 26th, 2011 at 5:43am
It was an odd mix, but I was left wanting more. Poor old gent getting booed for asking the most pertinent question of the night re: queue jumping. how are the fallacies ever going to be revealed if the questions are never asked? Eva Cox has long been a favourite of mine, I can't say she shined, getting a bit long in the tooth perhaps. Najeeba did well, most diplomatic, pronounciation needs work. Matina's story remains untold, show us your wounds girl.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on May 2nd, 2011 at 9:34pm Tonight's episode is about to start - on ABC1... Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on May 2nd, 2011 at 9:46pm Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on May 3rd, 2011 at 7:12am
An outstanding Q&A, real focus on the issues of localism and the necessity of local people to organise and push agendas rather than have them imposed from thousands, (or hundreds) of miles away.
And it must be said, what a great party political broadcast on behalf of the coalition government, the independent WA national Party and Simon Crean. Not the greatest public speaker in the world Simon, but a man of vision neverless. Watching Q & A is a civic duty! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on May 3rd, 2011 at 10:54am Grey wrote on May 3rd, 2011 at 7:12am:
Yes - Crean was fantastic - I never understood why they made him leader until last night. Windsor too. This was an excellent program with real depth of substance, passion and committment. It's also great to see politicians absorbing criticism so well and not biting back. Windsor did a masterful, humble job. The only other politician I've seen do as well on Q&A was Bob Brown. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by dsmithy70 on May 9th, 2011 at 9:37pm
Missed last week but tonight looks good with the last 2 real politicians left appearing in Turnbull and unfortunately retired Tanner
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on May 10th, 2011 at 7:18am
Didn't really live up to its promise IMO. Some lovely statements about motherhood, and any debate about Osama shut down with the standard,"you're saying it's our fault". If Lindsay doesn't want to reveal his personal opinions he shouldn't agree to go on public forums.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Time on May 24th, 2011 at 8:38am
Watched last nights episode. I was wondering what all the negative press Gale Dines got was about; now I understand.
Everything is men's fault, never the woman's. Men are to be made responsible for the harm that porn does, never women. She blames men for the porn actresses for getting throat infections from sucking on penises that have feces on it. She blames men for women's anuses falling out after too much anal sex. As distressing and as ugly as these things are, where is the self-responsibility? She wants to sue the porn comapnies for this sort of harm. Isn't that like, as one audience member said, suing McDonalds for being fat? It seems common knowledge that eating feces is harmful and inserting large things continually in one's anus is not good for you. It's like walking bare foot over broken glass then blaming the glass and the soft drink company for the cuts. I'd prefer to see Dines and other activists teach and encourage personal decision making and autonomy rather than blame others. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Wimmera on May 25th, 2011 at 10:52am
Yes, Dines is one of those easily flustered types. Annoying. I watched the show for Howard Jacobson - and he didn't disappoint. :)
Title: Re: Q & A Post by life_goes_on on May 25th, 2011 at 11:32am
I saw Dines on The Drum. She's found an angle that appeals to a certain market and she's running with it.
She's just rehashing Andrea Dworkin's angle and she's just as annoying. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Dogged on May 31st, 2011 at 7:14pm
I saw parts of it last night, lots of raised voices... I'm afraid my mind just got hooked on a word uttered by George Brandis I think it was - "disincentivise" and I couldn't cope with it after that :).
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jun 6th, 2011 at 9:36pm Just starting now... http://www.abc.net.au/tv/qanda/ Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by astro_surf on Jun 6th, 2011 at 9:46pm
Paul McGeogh - one of the last REAL journalist. One hard bitten SOB
Title: Re: Q & A Post by astro_surf on Jun 6th, 2011 at 9:48pm
And Pissy Pants Pyne, lol! ;D
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jun 6th, 2011 at 9:52pm There's not a lot of patience, respect or self-discipline on the panel so far tonight... |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by dsmithy70 on Jun 6th, 2011 at 10:28pm
waste of time tonight.
It sh!ts me how any critism of Israel suddenly becomes anti-semitism. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jun 6th, 2011 at 10:35pm Dsmithy70 wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 10:28pm:
Ditto, ditto! Austen Tayshus behaved like a juvenile shytehead throughout - and sabotaged any semblance of serious adult discussion! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Jun 6th, 2011 at 10:47pm Equitist wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 10:35pm:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jun 6th, 2011 at 10:58pm Grey wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 10:47pm:
LOL ;) Seriously, but...I reckon that this was hands-down the worst episode of Q&A ever - a shemozzle from beginning to end... I had thought that Austen Tayshus might offer some positive comedic dynamics to the panel but the opposite was true - he was grossly intrusive, abusive and counter-productive throughout... On the plus side, they showed a priceless video of Abbott's pro-Carbon Tax rant from 2009... |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Jun 7th, 2011 at 12:52am
Well next week will be interesting for me, Natallie Pa'apa. I'm a fan :-)
There's no doubting Natalies political commitment. As I recall her appearance on Spicks 'n Specks she's a reticent public speaker. Possibly ought to keep to the stage she excels at, but we'll see. http://www.bluekingbrown.com/promo/ |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Jun 7th, 2011 at 1:48am http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Zjy_dXIkzfM |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Jun 7th, 2011 at 1:52am
Anyway I think Roxsie did okay, it's not easy playing brag with no money, no trumps and no cards worth spit ;D
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jun 13th, 2011 at 7:57pm This week on Q&A...we might expect some and fireworks... Quote:
To borrow from an Oakeshott analogy, I think it could prove a tad ugly in an undignified and unkind way... |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jun 13th, 2011 at 9:40pm Just started... |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by dsmithy70 on Jun 13th, 2011 at 11:14pm
Loved the tweet to Katter
"Bob use your Inside voice" ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Jun 14th, 2011 at 12:38am
Not everything Bob Katter says is daft, including the voice he gives to farmers. But I'm afraid he might need an intervention himself before long.
Natalie did very well I thought, I don't agree with her when she bigs up 'Get Up!' because I think Get Up is a fraud. It is to true grass roots Democracy what Communism is to Socialism. We don't get anywhere by surrendering our sovereignty to a gang headed by Harvard Business School graduates and their self appointed coterie. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jun 20th, 2011 at 9:41pm Gen Y dominates the panel tonight... |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by jalane33 on Jun 20th, 2011 at 10:16pm
Watching it by chance for the first time ..........in ages. Gen Y edition.
Glad to see that some of these young folk have the capability to consider serious issues and provide intelligent answers. But the DH in the black t-shirt is a right dork. The man is a fool. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jun 20th, 2011 at 10:42pm Emma wrote on Jun 20th, 2011 at 10:16pm:
Agreed - he sounded like some of the more paradoxically ignorant but opinionated sheeple on here... Quite enjoyed the show - a much faster moving discussion than usual... Also: less petty divisiveness; far less preoccupied with monetary matters; more humanity and environmentally-centred; more focused on looking forward, and; far less partisan overall... |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Belgarion on Jun 20th, 2011 at 10:56pm Emma wrote on Jun 20th, 2011 at 10:16pm:
Why, because he questioned the unthinking ovine mantra of the global warmists? Just watching their little faces screw up and little feet start to stamp whenever he scored a point aginst their beloved warmist faith was the best thing about tonights show. ;D |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by jalane33 on Jun 20th, 2011 at 11:35pm
[quote ]Watching it by chance for the first time ..........in ages. Gen Y edition.
Glad to see that some of these young folk have the capability to consider serious issues and provide intelligent answers. But the DH in the black t-shirt is a right dork. The man is a fool.[/quote] Why, because he questioned the unthinking ovine mantra of the global warmists? Just watching their little faces screw up and little feet start to stamp whenever he scored a point aginst their beloved warmist faith was the best thing about tonights show. ;D[/quote] ;D ;D ;D Surely you jest. Actually I lost interest when the sme old sht started spewing - out of the fools mouth - mainly. BUT NOT ENTIRELY> That Petersen - now I know why I don't watch this program normally. Adds insult to injury. HE is another self-interested fool. WHY oh WHY do we have to suffer the spin of politicians AT ALL, on this show? I might watch it otherwise. Cos? its about politicians?? Guaranteed to raise your stress - because lets face it - and DENY IT if you can - ONE thing pollies DO NOT GIVE is ANSWERS. IF there is always a pollie ot two lurking in the panel ( I think thats customary no?) THEN the whole show is a SCAM. [smiley=thumbdown.gif] |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Jun 21st, 2011 at 1:16am
I found it interesting and heartening Jalane. Josh Thomas was a stand out contributor. I was amused that James Patterson's views were more in tune with Libertarian Anarchism than with Liberal/Conservatives than he seemed to think he represented. Surely you should not be surprised at politicians appearing on a political programme.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by jalane33 on Jun 21st, 2011 at 8:35pm
I think you are right , pretty much. I'm just so sick of ...................... u know @%^&$%6464$%$%!!!
Surely you should not be surprised at politicians appearing on a political programme. Pretty silly huh? ::) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Jun 24th, 2011 at 2:02am Q&A should be a 2 hour show. You'll never find a more level playing field to put the Politicians out of their party line safe zone and show them for what they really are. Some of the very little good television left. Who better to grill those the people elect then the people themselves. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Cliff Richard on Jun 24th, 2011 at 7:44am
it's a rubbish show
that girl in the burqa they had on this week was really dumb |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jun 24th, 2011 at 11:28am
It's a show by smug bastards for smug bastards. The white haired Welsh git is the smuggest bastard on TV. He probably reads Michelle Grattan's columns to his kids in bed.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jun 24th, 2011 at 5:42pm Soren wrote on Jun 24th, 2011 at 11:28am:
Smug bastards, eh, Soren? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Cliff Richard on Jun 24th, 2011 at 8:47pm
it's trash
they always need a token brownlord on the program even if the person in question has an iq sub 90 and has absolutely nothing interesting to say listening to that bess price character was a major cause of second hand embarrassment for me i felt bad for her so i turned off my tv everybody went all quiet and it was so awkward when she talked and mumured out an inarticulate and completely vapid and inane response to the simplest of questions i felt bad for her and she should be stacking shelves osmewhere that little bitch in the hijab from the wesern suburbs had a completely obnoxious and self-assured personality as well she's probably grown up her whole life being told by everybody how special she is when really shes just an above average girl but with a background that qualifies her for tv she even called herself an "alpha female" wtf yeah right all that means sh!t all when girls like that go down on you anyway just alpha c*ck them and see how confident and self-assured and in control they really are and that rat faced smug liberal gen y kid this is the best conservatives can come up with? (though he was still better than the resT) and yeah the host is a c*nt i hate this show |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by jalane33 on Jun 25th, 2011 at 12:04am
Well yep - you made that clear.
I agree Won't watch it again - it panders to all the fools who think they can make a difference - they can only try i guess. But Q + A doesn't cut it at all. Boring mindless fodder for people who want to hear their 'opinions' on air. [smiley=thumbdown.gif] |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Jun 25th, 2011 at 1:17am Emma wrote on Jun 25th, 2011 at 12:04am:
You would prefer your political discourse come from Australia's mass media instead of from the Pollys themselves? Good luck to you on that one. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jun 25th, 2011 at 6:50pm
Listen to Alan Jones. He'll tell you everything you need to know about politics and you get to hear about interesting products as well.
Plus, he's a Welsh smug bastard. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by jalane33 on Jun 25th, 2011 at 7:08pm
good one Karnal - [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
Now - I'm not talking the Welsh here - all respect - Just - the show is .....just a mindless sideshow. People are polarised about just about everything in society in Oz today. It cannot BE anything else, but an attempt at entertainment.! Think otherwise?? ;D ;) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jun 25th, 2011 at 8:28pm Emma wrote on Jun 25th, 2011 at 7:08pm:
Sure. But people can be other than polarised. This is just a political/media strategy used to sell advertising space and get useless people elected. It's the biggest con-game there is. Government doesn't function in a polarised fashion at all. If it did, it wouldn't work. People in the real world need to work alongside each other. Few of us know or care where the people we work with sit within the political spectrum. This is why it's nice to see independants making a go of things. For them, it's not about message, but policy. It would be a very interesting democracy if we didn't vote for caricatures of politicians, but policies. What if the media, for example, actually evaluated policies - rather than publishing dumb political gossip? Look at the situation now: you've got a government that passes legislation in a country with higher living standards, employment and real wages than the same time last year. But the electorate hate them. Why? Who really knows? Why NOT hate them? Let's all have a nice bit of hate. Unfortunately, however, things just don't get done this way. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by jalane33 on Jun 25th, 2011 at 10:01pm
This is just a political/media strategy used to sell advertising space and get useless people elected. It's the biggest con-game there is.
Exactement! [smiley=thumbsup.gif] Hmmm ...and government is s'posed to look at all issues and rule and act for the good of the people - not rich mining magnates, media barons, lobby groups, mining companies or multi-nationals with too much already . ...nor for quasi police and the promotion of a fear based society...............NO -.... FOR The GOOD of the people. This DOESN"T mean for the 'good' people - as I'm sure You'd all class urself!! - but for the good of ALL people. SURELY this is not , and never has been, a liberal agenda -[b] regardless of the jism Abbott, Bishop & Co want to make you swallow.[/b] In fact, its the opposite of liberal policy. Only the 'deserving' need be treated like a human being. As defined by their own interests. Sad, LOW and sinking............hopefully the emptiness of the lib position will be recognised by enough people to allow our country - AUSTRALIA - to move forward with positive steps, in to the future - Not the WHITE AUSTRALIA past. 'tis Very sad to read so much foulness from the rabids. We MAY well be doomed, unless DECENT CARING COMPASSIONATE people - the mostly unheard majority , on all this shite, IMO, actually vote the way they feel - unmoved by the foolishness dished up by the media everyday. I have to say The ABC . 10 Seven Nine - ALL the talking heads are spouting a line of crap that is so neg - AGAINST the Government of the day, thaT i CAN'T HELP but think , UNSEEN forces are at play. AND ........... Because Julia is the Strong True Person that she is - she will not meet with approval by ALL the clandestine organisations involved, externally, in Australian politics and Law. No - not a 'Team ' player is Julia - if the Team is not Australian. Unlike u fkwts! So - for all you fools who think the world works another way - pray to all your GODS that Julia remains - for her elected term -- AT LEAST. Because you are guaranteed to see a lot more shite being shoved Julia's way. Should be fine with ALL YOU MYSOGYNISTIC AUSTRALIAN MALES out there!!! Trouble is --- yikes!!! --- between you - all the MAM's out there couldn't put ONE policy together, let alone broker the sorts of effective deals between dissonate partners, Julia has already achieved.!!! :P |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jun 25th, 2011 at 10:07pm Karnal wrote on Jun 25th, 2011 at 8:28pm:
Because they are incompetent, lying, spinning idiots. NBN - the government is buying itself a monopoly in technology - how smacking insane is that? Economy - borrow a truckload of money and splash it around. That's it. Immigration - do something as long as it is not sensible - that could be interpreted as racist. Agriculture - saw something on tele? Do something to punish Australian farmers. Climate - say one thing, do it's opposite. ANd so on. They have the Indian Midas touch- anything they touch turns to sh!t. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jun 25th, 2011 at 10:46pm
Sure. But you know the other lying, spinning idiots are going to be just as bad. We all do.
Or much worse. You could always vote for Family First in 2013 if they run. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jun 25th, 2011 at 10:55pm Emma wrote on Jun 25th, 2011 at 10:01pm:
The current government functions. This is a little better than I thought would happen with a minority government in Australia. Check out Italy. You'll never make everybody happy. Those 8000 queue jumpers have stewed up more simmering rage in this country than anything the old boy above has mentioned. Come 2013, the pope-fancier will be running on a carbon tax and 8000 boat people. Progress! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jun 25th, 2011 at 11:19pm Karnal wrote on Jun 25th, 2011 at 10:55pm:
It is progress from fancying that piss-drinking old queer fakir, Gandhi. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jun 25th, 2011 at 11:52pm
I didn't know you were in the running, old boy - oh! Ghandi. Please excuse me, dear.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jun 27th, 2011 at 9:40pm Just started... Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Jun 27th, 2011 at 9:52pm They're discussing a very interesting topic: What power does the Coalition possibly hope to have with a Greens dominated Senate? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jun 27th, 2011 at 10:05pm GoddyofOz wrote on Jun 27th, 2011 at 9:52pm:
It will be the Labor/Green coalition's undoing. They will go too far. It will be a total wipeout for the Greens at the next election. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Jun 27th, 2011 at 10:07pm Soren wrote on Jun 27th, 2011 at 10:05pm:
The Senate is elected for 6 year intervals. This current new Senate that is coming in at the end of the month will be there after the next election whether we like it or not. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jun 27th, 2011 at 10:46pm Well, sloppy Joe Jockstrap totally blew it on Q&A tonight - he dispensed with the teddy bear facade and behaved like a greedy fat cat... When challenged over the impossibility of balancing all the investments, handouts and tax cuts being promised by the Libs, he got particularly narky about the Libs' now-infamous policy costings issue - and arrogantly proclaimed that Coalition policy is to cut jobs! When he said that the Coalition would cut 12,000 Public Service jobs in 2 years - did he mean that most of all of them would be cut from Canberra!? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Jun 27th, 2011 at 10:54pm Equitist wrote on Jun 27th, 2011 at 10:46pm:
Old Joe made a slip of the tongue. The cats out of the bag about the Coalitions attitude toward Public Service and I sincerely hope there were a lot of people watching tonight. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jun 28th, 2011 at 9:38am GoddyofOz wrote on Jun 27th, 2011 at 10:07pm:
The Senate, like the song, may remain the same but the lower house will change profoundly. Labor will be wiped out, almost as badly as in NSW recently. Labor will then know, if it doesn't now, that the loss was due in part to being too pally with the Greens. They will not maintain the matey relations in the Senate after the next election. Labor may need the Greens now. They won't after the next election. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by jalane33 on Jun 29th, 2011 at 1:05am
I've heard THAT before -- only it was AFTER the fact.
And NO GoddyofOz- it doesn't mean 12,000 jobs gone from Canberra. We could only wish!!!!! :) When Howard came to power with, among other things, a promise not to significantly reduce the public service through job cuts............I didn't believe it. Normal 'attrition' would be enough -they said. But I was proven correct in my doubt!. Within.. no time at all, ...upon coming to govern the Howard Government started to cut great swathes through the Public Service. I Should put that in Caps.!! THAT was the start of the current massive underfunding of public services, ..at least in MY memory. So you think its hard to get ANY answer from a fed Govt-run entity ??? Centrelink? ATO? .... good service ??? did you get it?? Did you get through AT ALL? Or get stuck in a circular 'phone loop. ? and then get cut-off, or u hang-up? And try again? And, when you do get thru ---- to these 'call centres' the govt thinks is sufficient for US - do you get a knowledgable helpful response that you can rely on?? I KNOW you don't - as a rule. THAT should be an exception. So - you rich folk want MORE of this ???? I'm advising you ---YOU DON'T. 8-) Even if you can pay for legal advice. There'll be 'anarchists' rioting in the streets here in good ol oz - like you never saw before - if the ethical bankruptcy of the Opposition is accorded any genuine support. The fools who see the sun shining out of the Abbotts A must not stand for Australian equity and Justice The prospects for Oz - should 'we' buy into and embrace this bunkum , lying as it does in our own hands, just gets darker and darker.! :( If you have any freedom of thought? if you don't just follow what your parents thought, or what your mates think, or what the telly tells you - (comfy as that may be for the weaker of us) - then SAY IT. SPEAK UP! I did NOT watch the show- I don't find it entertaining.! Your comments are more than enough. Don't let these swine ( which is hard on PIGS)...... win! - show you are not as stupid as it seems.!!!!!!! :o I would welcome the surprise.!! :) :) :) :) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jul 1st, 2011 at 12:24pm Soren wrote on Jun 28th, 2011 at 9:38am:
Exactly right. Labor and the Greens are hardly joined at the hip. After the next election, the Libs will need the Greens. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by jalane33 on Jul 1st, 2011 at 11:31pm
it could be interesting!!!
the next election, ..... as long as the current government runs its full term. Otherwise, the country may as well be run by popularity polls - with only the adminstrative side operating - as they see fit. Bit like the French Revolution only circa 2011. A strange comparison I know, but appropriate. Should such a thing occur IE. NO PM's or Ministers of Parliament / or the Senate, IT WOULDN'T LAST LONG.!!! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by boogieman on Jul 2nd, 2011 at 11:19am Grey wrote on Apr 12th, 2011 at 6:03am:
Yeah, it's a good show isn't it. And Penny IS very measured isn't she. I suspect a raging temper in there but she controls it well in public. She comes over rather robotic as I see it, no emotion. But highly intelligent and always says good things. RIght on the money things. Wouldn't want her as an enemy. Bad luck Tony. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by boogieman on Jul 2nd, 2011 at 11:22am GoddyofOz wrote on Jun 27th, 2011 at 9:52pm:
Ahhh! You ask a good question. Abbott and co hope to have LABOR voting with them to overturn Carbon legislation etc. Seriously, that's what they are demanding. You know, because if he happened to win he would have a mandate. Like Rudd had for the ETS but someone stopped him. That's right. Abbott, knocking down an overwhelming mandate that the majority wanted. Bob Brown has already stated nothing will be ripped down by Abbott so he's impotent, full of promises he can't keep. He'll rant and rave but no one will bat an eyelid. Just vote against him. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jul 3rd, 2011 at 11:22pm Karnal wrote on Jul 1st, 2011 at 12:24pm:
In your PB dreams. There will never be a Liberal/Green coalition. They would sooner form a national unity government with the Democratic Labour Party, or even with Labor, than with the loonies. Once Brown is gone, the Greens will also be gone, btw. Who will lead them? SHY? Rhiannon? Bat Boy of Melbourne? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jul 4th, 2011 at 10:02am Soren wrote on Jul 3rd, 2011 at 11:22pm:
My dear fellow, if you had watched Q&A, you would know the point of this discussion. From this month, the Green senators will be holding the balance of power for the next 6 years. When the Libs get in in 2013, they will have a majority in the lower house - we can be reasonably sure of this. But they will have no power in the senate - we can be completely sure of this. This means that they will have no power to rescind any big, new taxes or do anything the Greens don't really like. You're right - the Libs will not form a coalition with the Greens. And this means they will be powerless to keep their promises - like doing away with the carbon tax. Therefore, Abbott will be in a similar place to Jul-liar during his first term. Will he be forgiven for being powerless to act on his commitments? Abbott will get in - I have few doubts about this. But I think he will prove to be a dud before his first term is out. Unless he starts getting policies out soon - and acts on building his political brand BEFORE he gets in - we will witness another political failure. Still, at least the Libs won't kick him out in his first term. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jul 4th, 2011 at 10:11am
If the Coalition wins in a landslide and get a significant majority in the lower house but the Greens ignore it and frustrate them in the Senate - what do you think will happn? Abott will limp on lik Gillard? o.
A double dissolution to clean up the Senate of the eco-commie riff-raff of 2010. Abbott will destroy the Greens just as he destroyed One Nation. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Jul 4th, 2011 at 11:05am
A week's a long time in politics and I think the government is starting to get some traction. As long as the independents don't throw a wobbly too soon I think an Aboott government is far from a certainty.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jul 4th, 2011 at 2:32pm Soren wrote on Jul 4th, 2011 at 10:11am:
Abbott won't hold a double dissolution until the NEXT election. That leaves 3 years with the Greens holding the senate. Also, a lot of people are very happy with the Greens right now - much moreso than Labor. You'll find all those disgruntled Labor voters are going Green, and this leaves a big problem for Abbott. Much easier to have a big minority of Labor hacks than a small minority of Greens holding the balance of power. I don't think a double dissolution will change much, old boy. The Greens are not a mistake. People voted them in for a reason. They are going to give Abbott more than a headache. Just as climate change put Abbott in - it could very well be his undoing. Grey, Labor don't have a chance. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jul 4th, 2011 at 4:30pm Grey wrote on Jul 4th, 2011 at 11:05am:
Getting some traction??? Northern AUstralian cattle farmers are buggered until September - Indonesia declined to issue any permits for cattle export to Australians until then. SO the farmers are alienated. SO are the miners. The industrial workers are scared about the impact of the carbon tax on their jobs. 70% of the rest are worried about its impact on their household budgets. The population at large has stopped listening to Gillard some months ago. How exactly are they getting some traction? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jul 4th, 2011 at 9:41pm
Well, you must admit: Julia's hair has been looking pretty good of late.
You can't say the same of that awful Tony Abbott. Maybe he should shack up with a hairdresser. Barren. Unmarried. Agnostic. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jul 4th, 2011 at 10:01pm Tonight's show is about half way over - and the Climate Change debate has been hot already... Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jul 4th, 2011 at 10:02pm Karnal wrote on Jul 4th, 2011 at 9:41pm:
The opinion forming readership of Hair & Beauty must be very pleased with that. I see where you're coming from (always from behind, like a barber). |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jul 4th, 2011 at 10:06pm Yo Macca, Longy et al! Are you paying attention to the CEO of Xtian Schools Australia!? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jul 4th, 2011 at 10:10pm Equitist wrote on Jul 4th, 2011 at 10:01pm:
Being a devotee of this program is so you, yingy-yangy person. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jul 4th, 2011 at 10:19pm Indeed, lord soren, it is but one highlight of the political week - though I equally enjoy The Drum 4 days a week and Insiders on Sundays! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Jul 4th, 2011 at 10:22pm
Watching the show tonight and gauging the response of the audience to the question to Penny Wong about gay marriage, I think this issue could be a valuable public opinion policy for the party with the most balls to support it.
Clearly not the Coalition, judging by the Arnold Schwarzenegger on the panel. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jul 4th, 2011 at 10:32pm Equitist wrote on Jul 4th, 2011 at 10:19pm:
And you bear the hallmarks of each. No wonder you are perceptionally disorganised, yingy-yangy, sunny/mooney, upside down is downside uppey person, ducky. ;D |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jul 4th, 2011 at 10:34pm GoddyofOz wrote on Jul 4th, 2011 at 10:22pm:
Ditto! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Jul 5th, 2011 at 1:49am
Indeed, nice to see Penny Wong show some humanity and wit and stand for her 'community' a bit stronger than she has in the past.
How are the ALP gaining traction? Well they are emerging as doers, especially in contrast to Abbotts negativity. Maybe the change is in my own feelings accompanied by a bit of wishful thinking. I was and am very dark on the ALP for its policy on refugees and tonights 4CNR's did nothing to dispell those feelings. I'm mindful of the refusal to accept Tamil refugees, returning them to Sri Lanka is unconscionable. But the refugee policy is not the only policy and I have to agree that they are a far superior government than anything the opposition has to offer. I'm with the government on the NBN, climate change. I'm in general agreement with their attitude to the beef row, though I think it could've been handled better. I particularly would like to have seen more effort being put into finding alternative markets, (China and Russia) getting more abbatoirs and freezing facilities in the North and generally keepinhg the flow of beef production moving rather than just stagnating and haggling over compensation. What I think we really need is a parliment made up of Charles Waterstreets and not professional pollies. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Jul 5th, 2011 at 3:05am Grey wrote on Jul 5th, 2011 at 1:49am:
Sadly I think anyone who has the intelligence and attitude of Waterstreet really couldn't be buggered wasting their time with idiots like the ones currently filling our parliament. Also, for everyones information, Gillard herself will be on Q&A next Monday, the day following the Carbon Tax announcement on Sunday. Should make for some interesting T.V. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Jul 7th, 2011 at 12:16pm GoddyofOz wrote on Jul 5th, 2011 at 3:05am:
As should tonights Q&A special debate on the Tampa following 'Leaky boat'. ;D |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Jul 11th, 2011 at 7:07pm I fully expect a hostile audience tonight, unless Q&A organize it to be exactly 50/50 support. I also hope the Carbon Tax isn't the only issue covered. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jul 11th, 2011 at 7:47pm http://www.abc.net.au/tv/qanda/ Tonight's Panel * Julia Gillard - Prime Minister of Australia GoddyofOz wrote on Jul 11th, 2011 at 7:07pm:
Hmmnnn....I didn't see the previous episode on which she was the only panelist but... If some of Abbott's most rabid supporters have been sent out in force to heckle the PM tonight, then, we might expect that they would be so irrational, vicious and unruly that their antics might backfire - and that the audience members will become hostile towards each other... BTW, I'm wondering: has Abbott been invited to do the same next week - and, if so, has he accepted!? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Jul 11th, 2011 at 7:53pm
I wish the Christine Milne and the independents were on too. The Carbon Policy is the result of consensus politics.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jul 11th, 2011 at 9:40pm Just started... |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jul 11th, 2011 at 9:48pm Audience: 36% Lab, 47% Coalition, 10% Greens, 7% Others |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jul 12th, 2011 at 1:40pm
Gillard showed that she's got what it takes. I'm probably the only person in Australia who believes this.
I loved her summary: it's the science on one side and the Alan Jones on the other. This is the political choice in Australia today, and guess which side Tony's on. Julia is an ambitious, Labor careerist, but she's starting to show that she can get things done. That's all that's important in government. Politics, of course, is a completely different story. Julia should forget all the polls, minders and fusspots and just do what she can in the 2 years she's got. No one needs to love their PM. No one loved Howard for 11 years. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Jul 12th, 2011 at 3:11pm
She never explained why she needed to tax carbon, rather than say issue certificates to pollute.
I would think that if you run an atmosphere polluting business you should buy certificates to pollute to a certain value per ton. The government employs inspectors to assess companies and check that they've the appropriate certificate/s. If they don't they get fined. If certificates are issued for all the pollution currently being emitted then no new certificates should be produced. Then you have a polution trading scheme and there's no need to call it a carbon tax and get embroiled in that "You Lied' brooHaHA. Pollution is limited to current day levels from day one and reduced over time by the government buying back certificates each year. That to me seems the sensible and simple way. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jul 12th, 2011 at 8:53pm
Maybe, but you didn't put that question to her. Q&A is about the answers give to the questions asked.
Jul-liar did a very good job. She came across amazingly well. She didn't waver or deflate. That's one hour up late for someone who did breakfast radio today. She did very, very well. Did you see her address to the nation? She had that nursery school grin on her face the whole time. Embarassing. Gillard should do what she does well, and stop trying to please. She should just get on with the job. You never would have seen Thatcher selling a hard policy like a kindergarden teacher. Neither should Gillard. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Jul 12th, 2011 at 9:08pm
shut the f*ck up all of you
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Jul 12th, 2011 at 9:13pm barnaby joe wrote on Jul 12th, 2011 at 9:08pm:
Well there's no doubt 'they're' worried. ;D |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Jul 12th, 2011 at 9:13pm
karnal having a big wank over gillard
OOH DID SO WELL i bet she didnt |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Jul 12th, 2011 at 9:14pm Grey wrote on Jul 12th, 2011 at 9:13pm:
you run an ABC forum and also allege to be an anarchist die |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Jul 12th, 2011 at 9:57pm barnaby joe wrote on Jul 12th, 2011 at 9:14pm:
Have a heart, it's not Fox y'know :-) There's the world you'd like and the world you live in. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Jul 12th, 2011 at 10:41pm barnaby joe wrote on Jul 12th, 2011 at 9:08pm:
Someone's more then a little arse sore. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jul 13th, 2011 at 12:19pm barnaby joe wrote on Jul 12th, 2011 at 9:13pm:
This man is very smart! I wank so hard I nearly hit TV with my milk! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jul 13th, 2011 at 1:30pm GoddyofOz wrote on Jul 12th, 2011 at 10:41pm:
He don't use lube. Stupid! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jul 15th, 2011 at 10:27am barnaby joe wrote on Jul 12th, 2011 at 9:14pm:
spot smacking on!!! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Jul 20th, 2011 at 2:46pm Next weeks Q&A takes place live in Hobart. I expect to hear plenty of questions surrounding the NBN, which is almost fully complete down there. Looking forward to take up rates being mentioned to shut up those idiots who like to use the "only 7 households" line. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Jul 20th, 2011 at 3:07pm
GIVE ME FAST RURAL PORN OR GO TO HELL!!!!
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Jul 25th, 2011 at 9:36pm GoddyofOz wrote on Jul 20th, 2011 at 2:46pm:
Just starting... Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Jul 25th, 2011 at 9:43pm The first question couldn't have been better (see my Norway thread in PS). |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Aug 1st, 2011 at 9:57pm Great debating tonight! Currently considering the risks of free speech and media inciting violence... Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Aug 1st, 2011 at 10:04pm Dunno what he's usually like, but Brendan O'Neill is behaving like an arrogant prick tonight! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Aug 1st, 2011 at 10:33pm Great topics and fierce debate for a large panel tonight - it is a shame that discussions on all subjects were cut short due to time constraints... If only the show had been twice as long... |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Aug 2nd, 2011 at 12:34am
Yes debate was always going to be lively with that panel :-)
For me the standout comment, well there was a few :-) , but the one I really liked was Dutton saying that 'we've got the media balance about right". Because if Dutton says that, it's an admittal that the scales are really loaded over on the RIGHT. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Aug 2nd, 2011 at 1:47am Grey wrote on Aug 2nd, 2011 at 12:34am:
Pretty much this, and seeing the CEO of A.I.G telling Dutton to adopt an ETS policy was just gold. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Aug 2nd, 2011 at 4:30am
Steve Mayne defending Nixon was nice too. Because the whole issue of taking time off to eat was about the time taken on, and that never seemed to be reported. I like a fair go.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Aug 8th, 2011 at 10:11pm Two thirds of the way through - but reminding everyone anyway... Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Aug 8th, 2011 at 10:15pm That Kelly O'Dwyer makes me cringe! Like Tony Abbott, she is only appealing to yobbos... |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Aug 8th, 2011 at 11:06pm
That Tony Switzer didn't do much for the image of the Australian, that's for sure. The dickhead had a go at Noni over the "Go the bugger to sleep" video.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Aug 8th, 2011 at 11:36pm GoddyofOz wrote on Aug 8th, 2011 at 11:06pm:
Yer, Switzer was almost as cringeworthy as O'Dwyer and both of them behaved like bullies towards Noni - especially O'Dwyer, who continually interrupted and talked over Noni (and everyone else for that matter)... To her credit, however, O'Dwyer was fair in her comments about that video - but her example of babysitting simply showed her up to be 'barren' (a lowly female status which, several Lib pollies and their supporters have demonstrated have a problem with)... |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Aug 9th, 2011 at 1:05am
They should put more Right Wingers up, they come across as such awful people :-)
Noni was great, Richadson corrupt, fatcat, selfserving, can't stand him. Dreyfus was competent, he hasn't had a lot of exposure has he? Could be a real player once he gets used to the camera. Thanks for the regular contribution Equist:-) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Aug 9th, 2011 at 11:43am Grey wrote on Aug 9th, 2011 at 1:05am:
Richardson just told it like it is: Labor can't win the next election. This is brave truth for a rusted-on Labor stalwart like Richardson to admit. I respect and admire honesty like this, even if I hate the alternative: Abbott. Alas, I, and many other voters, have no say in this. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Aug 9th, 2011 at 11:50am Grey wrote on Aug 9th, 2011 at 1:05am:
Agreed! ;) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Time on Aug 9th, 2011 at 7:04pm
Perhaps you missed the point where the leftist Mungo Maccallum referred to John Howard as an "unflushable turd"?
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Aug 9th, 2011 at 7:29pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Aug 9th, 2011 at 7:04pm:
I think you might be right because I'm not sure what you're driving at Time. My opinion is that Mungo got more laughs than he deserved for stating the obvious. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by hawil on Aug 9th, 2011 at 7:44pm Grey wrote on Apr 12th, 2011 at 6:03am:
Q&A is just another ABC talk program, the same as Four Corners, they will never tackle any subject which is against govrnment polisy, because they are scared of losing government support. Penny Wong is also only just a cunning politician, who will never answer any pertinent questions, as are all the other politicians. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Aug 9th, 2011 at 7:58pm hawil wrote on Aug 9th, 2011 at 7:44pm:
Q & A goes out live and the subjects are chosen by the public, audience and panel, many of whom are RW floaters. Apart from that it's a lot like 4 corners, to whom the government is in debt for investigating the live cattle trade. With an attention span as long as your memory is short Hawl, I guess we shouldn't be surprised what side of politics you're on. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Yadda on Aug 10th, 2011 at 10:11am
Listen to the views about Q&A from our nearest neighbours in Indonesia.
Rethinking Islam in the Australian Media On July 18, Australian television current affairs program Q&A presented a different topic than usual. On any other day, Q&A predominantly deals with politics and encourages audiences to interact and to take it up to the nation’s politicians and opinion makers. This particular show, though, discussed spirituality, faith and religion. One of the audiences members asked the following question: “Do you agree that [in Islam] covering the face creates a barrier to human relationships whether for identification or getting to know another person?” to the panelists, raising a discussion in which I would like to partake. Australian media, particularly national and local television news, tend to target and feed their viewers with misconceptions of the country’s Islamic communities. Mass media produce news that represents Muslims as opposing Western culture, which eventually creates moral panic in some communities. An underlying assumption exists that media is none other than a social institution of a major element of contemporary Western society. Often, mass media deliver one-sided stories where readers or viewers rely on them as primary sources of information about Islam and Muslims. The media most often demonstrate Muslims in the most stereotypical possible ways and focus on unusual and extreme actions. Such information eventually builds unfavorable responses toward Muslims in the community. In a way, the media encourages audiences to draw their own mistaken conclusions by not giving the full picture and manipulating audiences’ viewpoints. This ultimately leads to social segregation, and possibly ignites issues of racial violence (which are rampant in Australia) in the community. Hence, harmonious living conditions will not come into existence if Australians are being served with news that portrays Muslims as “the others.” http://www.thejakartaglobe.com/talkback/rethinking-islam-in-the-australian-media/455502 Yes you see, it is always the non-moslems who are causing us moslems to be viewed as "the others". /sarc off "If anyone desires a religion other than Islam (submission to Allah), never will it be accepted of him;...." Koran 3.85 "O ye who believe! Take not my enemies and yours as friends (or protectors),- offering them (your) love,..." Koran 60.1 "Muhammad is the messenger of Allah; and those who are with him are strong against Unbelievers, (but) compassionate amongst each other......" Koran 48.029 "....take not the Jews and the Christians for your friends.... ......he amongst you that turns to them (for friendship) is of them." Koran 5.51 Grey wrote on Aug 9th, 2011 at 7:58pm:
My own 'insensitive' and 'offensive' views made to the ABC Q&A online forum are not welcome. [I made many posts to the Q&A online forum, between 2008-2010] In my posts to that forum i tried to expose, that ISLAMIC doctrine clearly promoted violence against non-moslems, and asked why T Jones never broached this issue [ISLAMIC doctrine clearly promoting violence] with those of his guests who welcomed the moslem community to Australia ? I supported my argument with Koran and Hadith quotes, and supported my argument with comment on ISLAMIC doctrine by many 'outspoken' ISLAMIC clerics. All of my posts to the Q&A online forum were removed. +++ It is clear that Q&A / Tony Jones, only allows views to be expressed, which are PC. e.g. It is clear that all of the audience Q's on Q&A have been 'vetted', as you can frequently see Tony Jones referring to and quoting the 'unscripted' audience questions, from a sheet in front of him! 'Q&A - An adventure in democracy' Q&A - An adventure in presenting leftist, PC politics, is more like it. Yadda - RW sinker on the Q&A online forum |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Aug 11th, 2011 at 4:13pm hawil wrote on Aug 9th, 2011 at 7:44pm:
??? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Aug 11th, 2011 at 4:15pm Yadda wrote on Aug 10th, 2011 at 10:11am:
I'll take that as a comment. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Aug 15th, 2011 at 10:20pm As expected, Turnbull is making quite a statesmanlike impression... Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Aug 15th, 2011 at 10:28pm
Being the only guy with a tie in that bunch, it's hardly remarkable.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Aug 15th, 2011 at 10:51pm Soren wrote on Aug 15th, 2011 at 10:28pm:
LOL...Malcolm Turnbull's words over that one hour were infinitely more statesmanlike than Sandpit Tony Abbott has mustered throughout his entire political career! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Aug 16th, 2011 at 6:32am Equitist wrote on Aug 15th, 2011 at 10:51pm:
Makes it sound like a one man show Equist. I was left respecting that panel across the board, more so than any other. Of course I'd single out that Stella performance. Now that's True Grit. http://watchoutfor.com.au/in-the-spotlight-stella-young-so-are-you-one-of-those-thalidomide-babies/ |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Aug 16th, 2011 at 9:50am
it was funny when the stella girl last night was aiming for applause with her statement about farmers haivn a REAL TOUGH JOB and nobody went for it
if patronising tools like grey were in the audience im sure there'd have been one person clapping lol @ pretending that she was great |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:10am barnaby joe wrote on Aug 16th, 2011 at 9:50am:
Yes, perhaps these sorts of people should be aborted or euthanised at birth. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:11am Karnal wrote on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:10am:
this actually happens in like 90%+ of cases where the baby is discovered to have a congenital defect of severity like that the people choose eugenics 8-) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:14am barnaby joe wrote on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:11am:
What idiot allowed you to make the cut? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:15am Grey wrote on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:14am:
i'm handsome and athletic and smart though :) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:16am Equitist wrote on Aug 15th, 2011 at 10:51pm:
Turnbull actually comments on things he knows something about. And if he doesn't know something about something, he goes and reads about it. What a girly swat. Turnbull should learn that being a politician is not about implimenting appropriate policies. It's about "being yourself" - like contestants on Big Brother. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:18am barnaby joe wrote on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:11am:
What if the congenital defect is picked up after 3 months? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:18am
i thought turnbull was a wanker who dodged questions
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:19am Karnal wrote on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:18am:
you mean three months outside of the womb? :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:22am barnaby joe wrote on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:15am:
That'd be right, allowing for the fact you're a compulsive liar. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:23am barnaby joe wrote on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:18am:
No, he's back in the good books. He'd get my vote if he wasn't tied to that vile mob. Which question did he dodge - the one on the mining tax? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:27am Grey wrote on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:22am:
i'm not lying though i think im pretty good looking Quote:
i watched it last night and cant remembe rspecifically but he seemed slippery to me on certain things is it online so i can watch it again hes less of a blockhead than abbott though i mean that's obvious i have a new disability insurance scheme that requires a recipient of the DSP to undergo sterilisation for the period that they are recieving the payment |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Aug 16th, 2011 at 11:03am barnaby joe wrote on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:27am:
Well that's darn strange 'cos this is me. http://tinyurl.com/3zyu6f4 |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Aug 16th, 2011 at 11:04am barnaby joe wrote on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:27am:
I like the payos. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Aug 16th, 2011 at 12:39pm
You two could be twins. Imperium, I think you're handsome. Do you have a boyfriend? I think Soren is free at the moment.
Are you free, old boy? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Aug 16th, 2011 at 12:40pm
robert sheehan
got a hard on for this fella grey |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Aug 16th, 2011 at 2:23pm "Tony Abbott is not a leader, he's a follower". |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Aug 16th, 2011 at 3:03pm GoddyofOz wrote on Aug 16th, 2011 at 2:23pm:
Yes. This was one of the best quotes of the show: why Tony Abbott is so happy to agree with whichever audience he's talking with. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Aug 16th, 2011 at 3:04pm
gosh what a profound quote im going to put that in my signature its just so thought provoking and insightful
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Aug 16th, 2011 at 3:04pm barnaby joe wrote on Aug 16th, 2011 at 12:40pm:
Well there's no point telling me about it, write him a nice letter. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Aug 16th, 2011 at 10:26pm Karnal wrote on Aug 16th, 2011 at 12:39pm:
You have ALL the frightening diseases of the mind, PB. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xlv3B1078PA&feature=related |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Aug 17th, 2011 at 4:20am
karnal is a homo
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Aug 17th, 2011 at 10:04am
Not that there's anything wrong with it.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Aug 17th, 2011 at 10:39am
my fathers gay
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Aug 17th, 2011 at 10:47am barnaby joe wrote on Aug 17th, 2011 at 10:39am:
Congratulations, Imp! You too, Karnal!? ;) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Aug 17th, 2011 at 11:57am
No, my father's straight.
Not that there's anything wrong with that. |
Title: Re: Q & A - Minchin Deen Pipes Cameron Dreyfus Post by Equitist on Aug 22nd, 2011 at 9:58pm It's on - nearly half way through... Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Aug 22nd, 2011 at 10:09pm Dunno about anyone else, but that Daniel Pipes gives me the creeps! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Aug 22nd, 2011 at 10:29pm
Thanks Equist, couple of hours to the off for me :-) Damned if I know why we in the West can't have Q&A on in real time and have Australian story late. ;D
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Time on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 10:06am
Pipes kicked arse.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 10:17am Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 10:06am:
Yes mainly his own :-) Minchin was quite good. At least he recognises that manufacturing needs support and that Wall Street, 'Is a crazy circus, completely insane, responsible for the mad maths of derivative trades that are responsible for the GFC.' Deen, Dreyfus and Cameron were a joy. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Time on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 12:35pm Grey wrote on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 10:17am:
Cameron was rude. He tried to speak over the top of and ridicule Pipes evertime he spoke. And Deen is an idiot. When Pipes named all the advancements the Jews had done in economics, engineering, and philosophy she claimed it was "myth". Anyone who has done any research into these fields know the Jews are highly represented. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 5:06pm barnaby joe wrote on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 12:25pm:
I'd normally be flattered by having an attention seeking puppy follow me around, but in your case Imp... I'd really like to engage, but even by the standards of virtual reality beings you lack substance. The best I can do for you is recommend you go and play among the botts in a chat room somwhere and find your own level. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 6:36pm Grey wrote on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 5:06pm:
go rage against the machine (the machine being a bulldozer) and have it drive over you fool |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 9:20pm barnaby joe wrote on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 6:36pm:
Test your intelligence, put a condom, (probably a loose fit) over your head and see if you can get it off again. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 10:49pm Grey wrote on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 9:20pm:
you are a lamentable contemptible sackless sh!tcvnt who doesn't know anything about anything but has deluded himself into thinking otherwise |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Aug 24th, 2011 at 4:30am barnaby joe wrote on Aug 23rd, 2011 at 10:49pm:
You lost. Get over it. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Aug 24th, 2011 at 7:07am GoddyofOz wrote on Aug 24th, 2011 at 4:30am:
;D Yeah but he foams up good huh? ;) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6L_PMUmZdJk |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Aug 29th, 2011 at 9:31pm This week, I decided to start a Q&A thread over here: - http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1314617368/0#0 Equitist wrote on Aug 29th, 2011 at 9:29pm:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Aug 29th, 2011 at 10:12pm
Q&A is soo you, soo yingy-yangy, 'yeah-but, no-but', spinning, silly, preening nonsense.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Aug 30th, 2011 at 12:50am Soren wrote on Aug 29th, 2011 at 10:12pm:
yep - gotta watch q&a gotta be up to date and informed on the issues listening to the opinions of the finest intellectual specimens of the contemporary period, intellectuals such as 'malaysian-australian' rapper and 'poet' omar musa |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Sprintcyclist on Aug 30th, 2011 at 12:55am smacking hell, you must be joking. what more a bunch of has-been, leftwad, illegals can you have together ?? Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Aug 30th, 2011 at 1:04am Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 30th, 2011 at 12:55am:
Lately there's been far too many right wingers. Anna Funder was enough to take tonight. I didn't much agree with Malalai Joya but I admired her courage. Musa was surprisingly eloquent especially in performance. An enjoyable talk fest, as you'd expect from a writers festival. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Gimme Gimme on Sep 5th, 2011 at 9:38pm
Just starting..looks very interesting tonight.
Paul looks very impressed wedged between Sophie and BIG Clive. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D Just watched media watch..what bloody tea party fools that Bolt and Milne are. Hysterical whining corporate right wing puppies! >:( |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Sep 5th, 2011 at 9:42pm
Media watch already? I'm halfway through the 7.30 report ;D
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Sep 5th, 2011 at 9:45pm Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Sep 5th, 2011 at 9:46pm Greg Combet - Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency Sophie Mirabella - Shadow Minister for Innovation, Industry and Science Clive Palmer - mining magnate Paul Howes - National Secretary of the Australian Workers' Union Jessica Irvine - economics journalist |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Sep 5th, 2011 at 10:10pm This could be Qanda comment of the night - to Sophie Mirabella (who was trying to criticise the Gillard Govt for "fighting on"): - "If the problem is too much fighting, then, can somebody please tell Tony Abbott that!?" |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Sep 6th, 2011 at 1:25am Equitist wrote on Sep 5th, 2011 at 10:10pm:
Absolute win by that audience member. Left Mirabella very embarrassed. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Sprintcyclist on Sep 6th, 2011 at 1:33am does Q and A stand for Queers and Arseholes? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Sep 6th, 2011 at 1:52am Sprintcyclist wrote on Sep 6th, 2011 at 1:33am:
Your precious Coalition MPs choose to go on it, so maybe it does. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Sep 6th, 2011 at 10:27am
Roll on next week - I love Germaine Greer :D She's not always right and I don't think she even trys to be; but she always makes you think. "Everything that is, could be otherwise" - GG
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Sep 6th, 2011 at 10:48am
It's sad if one needs GG to start thinking... Forgivable in adolescence - every idea is a new idea then - but after you turn 30, it's a bad sign.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Sep 6th, 2011 at 11:59am
grey is like an eternal adolescent
has anybody else noticed this |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Gimme Gimme on Sep 6th, 2011 at 12:15pm
Paul was his brilliant self..stuck between sophie and clive it was good value seeing him laugh at their foolish replies and excuses. I loved it when he lent into that blubbering neocon racist sophie and called what she was saying just 'rhetoric'.. JUST RHETORIC?? You can say that again..All she does is repeat the same old mindless tea party style sound bites of negativity..often 'personal'..she's a true sexist female..she spreads such ugly lies about our female PM..she's a real bitchy syle of a woman. NOT good for our country..She's too extreme and her preduces seem to be always just simmering under her thin skin.
Combet was brilliant as always..But he had a dry mouth..probably from having to EXPLAIN policies all day long in parliament to an opposition who has NO FOOKING IDEA other that being WRECKERS!! As our Julia would put it!! yuk yuk yuk ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) ;) Tony Abbott - the WRECKER on speed. :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o :o |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Sep 6th, 2011 at 12:29pm
deathridesahorse found a girl
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Sep 10th, 2011 at 5:00pm barnaby joe wrote on Sep 6th, 2011 at 12:29pm:
More than you're ever likely to do toilet boy. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Sep 10th, 2011 at 5:52pm Grey wrote on Sep 10th, 2011 at 5:00pm:
whats with you defending this loon you scum c*nt is he giving you some under the desk favours in return for your services |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Dnarever on Sep 10th, 2011 at 6:03pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Sep 6th, 2011 at 1:33am:
Would you be a fan on both counts or only one? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Sep 11th, 2011 at 12:15am Dnarever wrote on Sep 10th, 2011 at 6:03pm:
Cyclist proves that Queers really do bugger with Arseholes. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Sep 11th, 2011 at 2:47pm barnaby joe wrote on Sep 10th, 2011 at 5:52pm:
The Imperium11 for the discerning lavatory buyer. Shyte in shyte out with monotonous regularity. If you don't actually feel like a bowel movement this toilet will soon bring one on. Be sure to clean thoroughly and regularly with hospital strength bleach, it likes to be kept white. An industrial strength extraction fan is standard for this model, it tends to stink. ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Sep 11th, 2011 at 2:55pm Prof. Germaine Greer, Barnaby Joyce, Paul Barry, Melinda Tankard Reist, Joe Hildebrand. http://www.abc.net.au/tv/qanda/coming_up.htm So bit of an 'A' team this week, sure to see some sparks . ;D |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Time on Sep 11th, 2011 at 11:25pm
Greer and Tankard Reist?!
Surely they've got to put two right-wing extremists on the board just to balance it up? Prepare to hear nothing but how 'evil' and ugly every aspect of our society is whenever these two open their mouths. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Time on Sep 12th, 2011 at 12:13pm
Barnaby Joyce is going to get caned by these two - Greer and Tankard Reist - because he can't articulate his position as eloquently as they can.
Watch Greer especially to subvert the debate and put words into the mouth of Joyce. Joyce will be caught out through highly articulate rhetoric and will be made to look like an ocker with no idea on the subject matter. I dare Qanda to put Greer up against Pipes. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Deborahmac09 on Sep 12th, 2011 at 9:39pm
Wow, I hate Greer, but what she said about Julia Gillard is spot on.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Deborahmac09 on Sep 12th, 2011 at 10:28pm Deborahmac09 wrote on Sep 12th, 2011 at 9:39pm:
Didn't take her long to show her true colours though ::) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Sep 13th, 2011 at 1:29pm Deborahmac09 wrote on Sep 12th, 2011 at 10:28pm:
How can you not love the inimitable GG :-) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Deborahmac09 on Sep 13th, 2011 at 1:50pm Grey wrote on Sep 13th, 2011 at 1:29pm:
It looks like she has mallowed though. :o |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Imperium II on Sep 13th, 2011 at 2:07pm Quote:
not exactly hard |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Sep 13th, 2011 at 2:24pm
12 Sept 2011:
Audience: ALP 30%, COALITION 44%, GREENS 13% And that's on the ABC. At home with Julia = Kath & Kim meets the West Wing. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Sep 19th, 2011 at 8:55pm Tonight's panel... Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Sep 19th, 2011 at 11:38pm
Good on yer Equist just starting now for me. ;D
Title: Re: Q & A Post by nairbe on Sep 21st, 2011 at 7:57am
Jim Wallace made the most interesting comment, that he though the separation of church and state was put there to keep the government out of the church. Odd i thought it was to finally rid the people of the corrupt and self serving church out of the interests of the people.
This was a real right night but i am sure they will still think it was a lefty show. For the love of it the only Atheist on the panel could not communicate adequately for the program. Cristina may blog well but was out of her depth. The rest were christians with one agnostic. Bit of a go nowhere chat really. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by astro_surf on Sep 26th, 2011 at 9:40pm
Who let Virginia Trioli host the show? How long has this been going on?
http://pigsarms.files.wordpress.com/2009/10/virginia-trioli.jpg?w=217&h=193 Plus Planet Janet, what a night! ::) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Oct 3rd, 2011 at 9:16pm Has anyone else been watching tonight's episode - I reckon it has been an absolute scream!? Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Oct 3rd, 2011 at 10:02pm
Australian Story is just this moment starting, I look forwards to tonights Q & A :-)
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Oct 3rd, 2011 at 10:14pm Grey wrote on Oct 3rd, 2011 at 10:02pm:
Unfortunately, I missed the first 25 mins - but the rest of it was so *action-packed that it seemed to go for a whole hour! Bizarre distractions and interruptions notwithstanding, it was good to see Greg Sheridan's misinformation get shot down a few times! Enjoy! (*Action - in terms of both drama and gesticulation! Some of the associated tweets were particularly apt.) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Oct 3rd, 2011 at 10:27pm astro_surf wrote on Sep 26th, 2011 at 9:40pm:
:-) To tell the truth I thought Tri. did a very good job |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Oct 3rd, 2011 at 10:46pm Grey wrote on Oct 3rd, 2011 at 10:27pm:
Sorry I missed it - was drugged-up on morphine last Monday nite... :( |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Oct 3rd, 2011 at 11:17pm
I do hope you're on the mend :( Equist
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Oct 3rd, 2011 at 11:18pm
4 cnrs was interesting tonight wasn't it/
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Oct 4th, 2011 at 1:34am Slavoj Zizek is a Firecracker. What a legend. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Oct 4th, 2011 at 8:32am
Sure is. And the questions were good too.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Time on Oct 4th, 2011 at 9:12am Equitist wrote on Oct 3rd, 2011 at 10:14pm:
What was Sheridan's misinformation, and how was it shot down? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Time on Oct 4th, 2011 at 9:29am
The show last night was okay, nothing brilliant. Mona Eltahawy struck me as the typical anti-everything candidate. I hope she wasn't flown out here on our taxes just to spend the night whingeing about how evil Australia and the Western world is.
Her own country, Eygpt, is far from a beacon of enlightenment. It's hilarious how non-Westerners take advantage of Western thought, i.e. classical liberalism, and then try and argue how evil the West is. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Oct 4th, 2011 at 10:22am Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Oct 4th, 2011 at 9:12am:
When Mona raised the point about there being a 'Christian brotherhood' and the fact that George W Bush claimed to have been told by god to invade Iraq, Sheridan vehmently denied it. Of course the rest of the panel, (including from the look on his face Tony Jones) knew that it was true. True to his beliefs Sheridan didn't allow anything as trivial as fact get in the way and continued to deny it. Incidentally Mona is an internationalist not an Islamist, and at no time portrayed Egypt as a shining example of the way to go. http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/americas/bush-god-told-me-to-invade-iraq-509925.html http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2005/oct/07/iraq.usa |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Oct 4th, 2011 at 10:30am
I found Zizek to big big on bluster and short on ability. As a matter of fact I consistently find that women represent the way I think better than the men. Katie Adie, that's my girl :D
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Time on Oct 4th, 2011 at 11:34am Grey wrote on Oct 4th, 2011 at 10:22am:
The whole religion argument for invading Iraq only comes after the fact. The Iraq invasion was based on revenge for 9/11 and is also wrapped up in the values espoused by The Project for a New American Century. Also, I am quite sure Ms Eltahawy is a Muslim. She's a member of the Progressive Muslim Union, also known as Muslims for Progressive Values. I wonder how she mixes her own brand of liberalism and feminism with Islam? Also, she's only as educated as she is by attending an American university in Egypt. So Islam and Egypt have given her nothing really. She owes all her credentials to Western values. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Oct 4th, 2011 at 11:40am Grey wrote on Oct 4th, 2011 at 10:22am:
Thanks for this. I must admit, I sided with Sheridan until reading these articles. I didn't think Bush would be stupid enough to say that he received divine revelations to invade Iraq. And to a Palestinian foreign minister of all people. Naive of me, I now know. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Oct 4th, 2011 at 11:42am Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Oct 4th, 2011 at 11:34am:
Maybe, but aren't you assuming there can be no crossover or exchange between Islamic and Western values? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Time on Oct 4th, 2011 at 12:31pm Karnal wrote on Oct 4th, 2011 at 11:42am:
By the sounds of it, she basically wanted Egypt to become a liberal democracy. Sounds like a full conversion rather than crossover or exchange. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Oct 4th, 2011 at 12:59pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Oct 4th, 2011 at 12:31pm:
Well, a liberal democracy run by an inevitable Muslim Brotherhood minority government with backing from the US if I heard her right. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Oct 4th, 2011 at 5:12pm The Muslim Brotherhood will not let Egypt become a Liberal Democracy. It just will not happen as long as they exist. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Oct 10th, 2011 at 8:38pm Just starting... Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Oct 10th, 2011 at 8:44pm How ironic, that Fascist Barbie is urging cautious diplomacy in relation to the boy in Bali - she who squawked loudly over the Stern Hu case!? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Oct 10th, 2011 at 8:45pm Equitist wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 8:38pm:
There is goddam clock at the bottom of every goddam computer screen, you know. And it tells the goddam time. SO you do not need to post every goddam Monday at 8.30 to tell us that a goddam program scheduled for 8.30 is just smacking starting. Mother. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Oct 10th, 2011 at 8:58pm Soren wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 8:45pm:
Suck it up, princess! Alternatively, skim over it. Your choice. Oh, and BTW: the clock at the bottom of my screen is apparently 1 hour ahead of yours! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Oct 11th, 2011 at 12:34am
And two hours ahead of mine and equist has served us very well with information on the panel. Soren your post is the most pointless gripe I've ever seen.
Not the best Q & A I've watched; strong on partisan rhetoric and short on good argument. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Time on Oct 11th, 2011 at 9:08am
One thing I learned from last night's show was to never listen or read anything by Richard Flanagan again.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by nairbe on Oct 11th, 2011 at 8:09pm
Yes every appearance confirms the last. Julie Bishop is dept. opposition leader because she is no threat to anyone. Not even a government on it's knees. She is so thick it really is hard to believe she was a lawyer.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Oct 17th, 2011 at 8:38pm Yo Soren! Look away and/or shut the frack up! Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Oct 18th, 2011 at 8:13am Equitist wrote on Oct 17th, 2011 at 8:38pm:
I bet you were dying to find out what these fabulous nobodies were thinking... ANd now that you know, you feel the wind under your wings. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Oct 18th, 2011 at 12:58pm
'Bloody ridiculous having to cover 1500klms at 130, carton of longnecks gets too darned hot by the time you get to the end.'
Gotta luv the territory ;D |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Oct 19th, 2011 at 2:12pm Equitist wrote on Oct 10th, 2011 at 8:58pm:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lQgzmqdYoaE |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Oct 19th, 2011 at 2:53pm
anything else on thats actually worth watching at this time
Title: Re: Q & A Post by gizmo_2655 on Oct 20th, 2011 at 1:47pm barnaby joe wrote on Oct 19th, 2011 at 2:53pm:
CSI:Miami on 9 and Law and Order SVU on 10... |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Oct 21st, 2011 at 4:10pm
watched this mondays ep yesterday
i was astounded at the retarded comments absolutely astounded SOUTHERN AUSTRALIANS THEY JUST DONT KNOPW WHERE THEIR FOOD COMES FROM THEY THINK THEIR MEAT JUST GROWS OUT OF THE SUPERMARKET NOT LIKE US NORTHERN TERRITORY PEOPLE WHO KILL OUR OWN MEAT what |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Oct 21st, 2011 at 4:11pm
these people are the best 'thinkers' this country has apparently
god help us all |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Oct 24th, 2011 at 8:38pm For everyone except lord Soren, this week's show is starting now... Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by matty on Oct 27th, 2011 at 11:34pm
I saw Q and A, and what an outstanding man Christoper Pyne is. Inteliigent, articulate, kind and caring. He's just like me.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Oct 28th, 2011 at 9:34am
I like Tanya Plibersek, I like her a lot.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Oct 30th, 2011 at 9:26pm
Hey, kids!!! Guess what??i
Well.....i Well..... Q & A is on tomorrow!!! YAY! One more sleep!! Can't wait!!! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Oct 30th, 2011 at 9:42pm
imagine if you were like the members on this forum
slashing the days off the calendar with a big red marker awaiting next week's episode of Q&A just imagine the kind of mindset that would require |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Oct 31st, 2011 at 5:30am barnaby joe wrote on Oct 30th, 2011 at 9:42pm:
One much more sophisticated then yours. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Oct 31st, 2011 at 6:00am GoddyofOz wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 5:30am:
yeah to eagerly anticipate a program where clownish northern territory politicians make inane and pandering statements such as "southern people in australia don't know where their meat comes from because they don't kill their own like us and 'intellectuals' like germaine greer and 'australian-malaysian' rap artists are featured, necessitates refined and discriminating taste |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Oct 31st, 2011 at 6:03am barnaby joe wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 6:00am:
Yes, and judging the whole series by one episode and a comment made by a LIBERAL MP is very much an indicator of superior intellect. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Oct 31st, 2011 at 6:09am GoddyofOz wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 6:03am:
given the moronic, vapid comments made by the panelists week after week after week i'm not actually doing that, the comment cited above just stood out as particularly egregious |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Oct 31st, 2011 at 6:14am barnaby joe wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 6:09am:
If you didn't find the episode at the Festival of Dangerous Ideas at least interesting, then the show is wasted on you anyway. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Oct 31st, 2011 at 6:19am GoddyofOz wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 6:14am:
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Oct 31st, 2011 at 9:02am barnaby joe wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 6:19am:
Gůůd wan!! ;D ;D ;D But seriously, kids! It's on TONIGHT!!! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 31st, 2011 at 11:56am
Does anyone else feel that having Soren around is like visiting with the Grinch every day?
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Oct 31st, 2011 at 12:04pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 11:56am:
Yer, but it's usually the Soren that visits moi! ::) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Oct 31st, 2011 at 12:04pm
festivals of dangerous ideas
here are some dangerous ideas -all men arent equal - all cultures arent equal -all races arent equal -men and women arent interchangable -some people are basically just sh!t and theres not much you can do about it were they on the show |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Oct 31st, 2011 at 12:24pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 11:56am:
Thank you for this. As long as PC groupies are miffed, I am validated. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 31st, 2011 at 12:29pm
"One man's toxic sludge is another man's potpourri."
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Oct 31st, 2011 at 12:34pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 12:29pm:
I didn't say you were toxic sludge, don't exaggerate. Just a PC groupie. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Oct 31st, 2011 at 12:35pm
PoMo PB
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 31st, 2011 at 12:52pm Soren wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 12:34pm:
I should have realised you were talking about me. Again. Are you saying I validate you? Aww. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Oct 31st, 2011 at 12:58pm
it's all he has...
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:02pm
Yeah, here I am, taking the mickey outa Q & A wiv me mates when a dozy, PC bint walks into the room and starts blabbing about lil ol' me as the Grinch. And she gets even more miffed than usual - miffed is the dozy bint demographic's' usual outlook on life - when she gets an answer. Dozy bints - aintcha sick of 'em? ( I know I am.)
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:11pm
Miffed? You flatter yourself.
It's cos you're green, isn't it? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:14pm
it ain't easy bein green
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:18pm Yer, speaking of Soren and green men - wasn't it Shrek who said something about compensating for something!? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:20pm |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:22pm
Lord Soren Farquaard.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:24pm Equitist wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:20pm:
It starts an hour later here, so QLDers don't get to tweet. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:28pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:22pm:
How very fitting, wot!? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:32pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:24pm:
As my sons would proclaim (in words): "Awww...sad face!" |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:39pm
Fascinating to see that your horizons extend all the way to children's fantasy stories. Not only Grinch but Shrek as well. Marvellous.
Run along now, there's a good girl. "Women are directly adapted to act as the nurses and educators of our early childhood, for the simple reason that they themselves are childish, foolish, and short-sighted—in a word, are big children all their lives. (Schopenhauer 1788-1860) (Thank you philperth for the quote) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:42pm :-* |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:46pm Quote:
Give your wife my sympathies. I really hope you don't have daughters. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Oct 31st, 2011 at 2:51pm Tonight's Panel Allan Asher - Outgoing Ombudsman Richard Gill - Music Director of the Victorian Opera Anne Summers - Author and feminist Tanveer Ahmed - Psychiatrist and commentator Rebecca Weisser - Opinion Editor for The Australian |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Bolshevik Destroyer on Oct 31st, 2011 at 4:23pm
I wonder if it would ever be okay to have a self-confessed "masculinist" on the panel?
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 31st, 2011 at 5:34pm
Aren't most men masculinists?
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Bolshevik Destroyer on Oct 31st, 2011 at 5:41pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 5:34pm:
Not really. Most men have succumbed to the catch-crys of "equality" and other slogans. Those who do display masculine traits either must apologise in advance for being masculine or must display them out of the way of the prying eyes of the morally indignant. It's morally superior to be feminist isn't it, but morally repugnant to be masculine? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 31st, 2011 at 5:53pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 5:41pm:
A feminist believes in rights for women equal to those of men. Do masculinists believe in equality or male superiority? Is there any such thing as a feminine masculinist? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Bolshevik Destroyer on Oct 31st, 2011 at 6:08pm
Masculinists believe in competition. Thus in any competition there will be an unequal outcome.
However, "equality" too is a kind of competition, one that tries to bring down the strong and successful. It plays by different rules, though. It tries to be the ultimate judge, jury, and executioner by winning outright and allowing for there to be no winners other than itself. It abides by an abstract ideal, masculine competition, on the other hand, allows for perpetual competition due to allowing men to forever challenge the alpha male. Each striving to become the alpha male leads to a strengthening of the self, physically and intellectually. Equality stunts both and leads to decadence. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Annie Anthrax on Oct 31st, 2011 at 6:20pm Quote:
Competition between the sexes or on an individual level? Quote:
Woman leading man down the path to decadence by fighting for equality? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Oct 31st, 2011 at 7:29pm
We live in a rule governed society. Whoever makes the rules has the power. Or vica versa, I forget.
http://lh4.ggpht.com/_BEz2tA7YEWg/SR18cltMAdI/AAAAAAAABLY/8Cm1v2mgDvE/506.jpg |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Oct 31st, 2011 at 8:38pm Time out - this week's program is about to begin with a new panel of protagonists.... |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Oct 31st, 2011 at 8:42pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:24pm:
FYI, live streaming available here: - http://www.abc.net.au/tv/qanda/txt/s3346934.htm |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Annie Anthrax on Nov 1st, 2011 at 10:31am
Thanks for that, Thy.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Nov 1st, 2011 at 10:37am Cheers, Annie! Oh, and how funny that our own Lord Farquaad managed to turn his tool to make this thread all about himself - despite the lively debate on an entertaining episode of Q&A last night, eh!? ;) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Bolshevik Destroyer on Nov 1st, 2011 at 4:34pm Quote:
Both, or between groups, tribes, nations, clans, communities, teams, etc. However, competition between the sexes is usually initiated by feminists. Men are now stuck between a rock and a hard place. They can compete against women, thus being perceived as c*nts in the process, or be passive and become a laughing stock for being a sissy. Either way men lose out. Quote:
There are many paths to decadence, equality is one of them. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Annie Anthrax on Nov 1st, 2011 at 7:20pm Quote:
Not at all. Feminists are just trying to establish a level playing field. Quote:
Would you believe I missed even the 9:30 episode? I'll catch one of the repeats. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Nov 1st, 2011 at 9:07pm Equitist wrote on Nov 1st, 2011 at 10:37am:
Exactly. I am a 300 pound militant separatist, supremacist lesbian trapped in a man's body. So watch it, lady. I have the right to make the rules as much as you. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Nov 1st, 2011 at 11:07pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Nov 1st, 2011 at 7:20pm:
A level playing field? I know of a lot of Feminists who want to be superior as a way of getting back at men. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Nov 2nd, 2011 at 3:03pm Equitist wrote on Oct 31st, 2011 at 1:28pm:
Sir N to you lot. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Annie Anthrax on Nov 2nd, 2011 at 4:33pm GoddyofOz wrote on Nov 1st, 2011 at 11:07pm:
Yes, a level playing field. Getting back at men for what? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Bolshevik Destroyer on Nov 2nd, 2011 at 5:06pm Quote:
Okay. Equality of oppotunity may be possible. But equality of outcome can never be possible. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on Nov 3rd, 2011 at 6:52pm Annie Anthrax wrote on Nov 2nd, 2011 at 4:33pm:
Years of Male domination in certain roles. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Nov 3rd, 2011 at 9:06pm
We should also do something about blacks dominating basketball. They are so racist.
Women in nursing? Sexist. Teaching? All mothers! Hairdressing? Say no more! And don't ask about maternity wards! Bloody closed shops, one and all, the feifdom of female domination! I want to see 300 pound tattooed, bearded blokes in maternity wards, classrooms, salons de beaute. NOW!!!! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Nov 3rd, 2011 at 9:19pm LOL...what ever floats Lord Farquaad's boat, wot!? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Nov 4th, 2011 at 1:45pm Soren wrote on Nov 1st, 2011 at 9:07pm:
Soren, I had no idea - how terrible it must be for you! I think you should have the surgery immediately, dear. Best just to have it all off in one go. There are some marvellous surgeons in Bangkok and Singapore who do excellent work. Just like the real thing, one might say, but we know how you despise realism! You have always been more of a cubist, haven't you, darling? I am certain the faculty will assist with leave and support you through what must be a very difficult time in your life. We fully believe in the individual's right to chose - sorry - to be her true self. You know, to own her own body - well, not hers, but the one she should have. Anyway, it's in the DSM IV, so we can't quibble with that. It's a genuine pathology - no - a disability - sorry, a unique quality. Something that makes you you, dear. Kindly take the leave and get yourself sorted out. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Equitist on Nov 4th, 2011 at 1:54pm LOL...Lord Farquaad goes cubist!? :o |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Nov 4th, 2011 at 2:32pm
in all fairness more male teachers would be a good thing.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Nov 4th, 2011 at 3:47pm barnaby joe wrote on Nov 4th, 2011 at 2:32pm:
I find this sort of sexism appalling. Soren? I would like to make this clear: we fully support transgender teachers - of any persuasion - at the Faculty of Pakistani Studies. Besides, some of our elder faculty ladies bring such wonderful cultural delicacies to our staff meetings. I have to say, the old dear brings along a marvellous Danish. Keep up the good work, old dear, and disregard such sexist remarks from the uneducated. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Nov 4th, 2011 at 7:51pm
you didn't hear it from me folks - charles sturt college, dubbo, in addition to its nursing school, has a transgendered faculty of pakistani studies now
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Nov 4th, 2011 at 8:01pm barnaby joe wrote on Nov 4th, 2011 at 7:51pm:
Awesome O week, no? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Nov 4th, 2011 at 9:19pm
it's awesome week every week with professor karnal around. he taught me everything i need to know about pakistan.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Nov 4th, 2011 at 9:23pm
Jesus, he turned you into a Paki Bvgger too, did he??
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jGQ-ISsDm8M |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Nov 4th, 2011 at 9:25pm Soren wrote on Nov 4th, 2011 at 9:23pm:
no, he just taught me the most important lesson about that country, though not directly. never ever to go there. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Nov 4th, 2011 at 9:27pm
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9OehR5S9zt4
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Nov 4th, 2011 at 9:36pm barnaby joe wrote on Nov 4th, 2011 at 9:25pm:
You needed him to tell you that?? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Nov 4th, 2011 at 9:38pm barnaby joe wrote on Nov 4th, 2011 at 9:25pm:
Just to make jihad, friend - not for the livings. This cuntry is much better. Lovey ladies! I love my teacher at Charles Sturt! I am hot for the teacher! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Google on Nov 4th, 2011 at 9:39pm Soren wrote on Nov 4th, 2011 at 9:36pm:
in my public school they only told us that pakistan was a great place with superior values to here. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Nov 4th, 2011 at 9:45pm
My friend, pubic school is not for education. You must go to universities for the education. I study MA in Development Studies at the Charles Sturt, Dubbo. I would like to help many peoples. I am hot for the teacher! I love her smell! She smells like soap and lovey cheese, friend.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Bolshevik Destroyer on Mar 15th, 2012 at 10:39pm
Monday night's episode was the worst ever. I switched off because all I heard for 20 minutes was "Bob Katter," "hate," "gays," "hate," "Bob Katter," "hate," "gays," "hate," "Bob Katter," "hate," "gays," "hate," "Bob Katter," "hate," "gays," "hate."
Never once was it explained why Katter's ad was hate. If it was hateful then every political ad is hateful. Because it was identical to every other political ad I've seen for the past 20 years. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Parannoyed on Mar 18th, 2012 at 4:29pm
The thing that annoyed me about the ad was that it was so clumsy. Hope they didn't pay too much for it. I didn't watch all of Q&A, as usual. It either bores into wandering off or disgusts me into surfing for something else to watch.
I'm sure I heard Jones voice telling us that there's some 'gay' author on the panel this week. I wonder how many authors are advertised and described in the promo as a 'heterosexual author'???? They're trotting old mate Germaine out again some imported anti-porn preacher so they must be hoping to sex the show up a bit to 'drag' some viewers in. They won't be getting this one. ;) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Uncle Meat on Apr 17th, 2012 at 11:02am
Good episode last night.
Geoffrey Robertson was brilliant, as usual :) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Uncle Meat on May 8th, 2012 at 10:53am
Dud episode last night.
Kate Miller-Heidke was a ridiculous choice: annoying singer, average songwriter, and ignorant (and apathetic) on most things political. ::) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Spot of Borg on May 8th, 2012 at 11:17am Uncle Meat wrote on May 8th, 2012 at 10:53am:
Well @ least we had some eye candy while they trashed labour. Did yuo see the looks she got on her face when they mentioned finance? lol. SOB |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Uncle Meat on May 8th, 2012 at 11:22am Sir Spot of Borg wrote on May 8th, 2012 at 11:17am:
I must admit, my eyes seemed to be focused on the chest area. And yes, the look on her face at times was hilarious. :) Some of her comments were ... well ... interesting: "Nursing homes are awful ... people sit in their own piss". A truly in-depth analysis. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by JohnWinstonHoward on May 8th, 2012 at 5:47pm
Kelly O'Dwyer was much more attractive then Kate.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by great one on May 8th, 2012 at 8:36pm Uncle Meat wrote on May 8th, 2012 at 11:22am:
Interesting? I've heard interviews with Paris Hilton that had more depth ... what a waste of time she was |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Uncle Meat on May 9th, 2012 at 10:26pm Johnsmith wrote on May 8th, 2012 at 8:36pm:
Yep, I don't have much time for Kate Miller-Heidke: questionable talent and thick as a brick. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by GoddyofOz on May 11th, 2012 at 10:35pm Absolute respect to Mark Bouris for bringing Kelly O'Dwyer back to Earth. A multi-millionare with a level head. I like it. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Uncle Meat on May 29th, 2012 at 10:51am
Barry Humphries last night. Brilliant!
Title: Re: Q & A Post by PoliticalPuppet on May 29th, 2012 at 10:55am Uncle Meat wrote on May 29th, 2012 at 10:51am:
I know he is old but they really should have prerecorded and put his speeches in fast forward so they were normal pace |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Spot of Borg on May 29th, 2012 at 10:58am
It was bloody great! I was laughing all the way through. Brilliant!
Seemed to get a bit out of control for a while there which just made it better. Meanwhile did you watch the Blair thing before and after? SOB |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Doctor Jolly on May 29th, 2012 at 11:27am
Excellent Q&A. So much better to not have current politicians on.
Barry Humphreys stole the show. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Uncle Meat on May 29th, 2012 at 12:10pm
Barry was in fine form.
"Gina's hole" ;D |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by nairbe on May 29th, 2012 at 7:36pm
They need to have a good look at last night and reflect on where the show has gone so wrong over the last year. Last night was fantastic and a good belly laugh too.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Morning Mist on May 29th, 2012 at 8:18pm
I thought it was very ordinary. Hardly any of them showed insight into the issues discussed.
If you have comedians on, then talk comedy. It's pointless throwing questions of politics at them if they know nothing about it. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Antonio Primo de Rivera on May 29th, 2012 at 8:34pm
i am convinced most of the posters here would be more interesting than the majority of the dreckheads they have featured on this rubbish program
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on May 29th, 2012 at 9:13pm JC Denton wrote on May 29th, 2012 at 8:34pm:
Mebbe the English satirist William Rushton got it right when he described Australians as ‘a stocky, brownish people with craggy features, their eyes screwed up against the constant glare of their TV sets.’ |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Spot of Borg on May 30th, 2012 at 8:19am Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on May 29th, 2012 at 8:18pm:
Thats true about the issues but it was a change and it was funny. Especially how they lost control of the show for a bit there. SOB |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on May 30th, 2012 at 1:05pm Soren wrote on May 29th, 2012 at 9:13pm:
Yes, old boy, but you will be pleased to know that Barry Humphries admitted to having once read Punch. He described a classic Punch cartoon where an Australian met an Englishman. The Australian said he was Australian. The Englishman replied, "oh, I just thought you were ordinary". Brilliant stuff. I can see why you subscribe. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Antonio Primo de Rivera on May 30th, 2012 at 4:17pm
that's funnier than ginger meggs
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on May 30th, 2012 at 4:32pm Karnal wrote on May 30th, 2012 at 1:05pm:
The Spectator, OPB. Punch shut down a couple of decades ago (but Paki Post must be still processing the last few issues. Why not be behind with everything, eh?) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by bobbythebat1 on May 30th, 2012 at 7:13pm Doctor Jolly wrote on May 29th, 2012 at 11:27am:
Yes I thought it was funny that Edna Everage would be able to use a lot of old material because Australia hasn't changed much. ;D Clive Palmer was then portrayed as a Sir Les Paterson character. ;D |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by bobbythebat1 on Jun 11th, 2012 at 9:31pm
JuLiar is on Q&A tonight.
11th June. 2012. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by John Smith on Jun 11th, 2012 at 10:47pm
just watched it ... I thought she did great .... we should see more of her answering questions like that ... now when is that coward Abbott going on ?.... he only likes things that are pre scripted, thats why he won't go on ... doesn't want people to know what he really thinks
Title: Re: Q & A Post by bobbythebat1 on Jun 11th, 2012 at 10:49pm
It was quite good - Julia spoke very well.
At the end Tony Jones told us that Abbott was offered a chance to also join Q & A any time - but declined. Abbott is a coward. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by jalane on Jun 11th, 2012 at 11:36pm
and this surprises you??
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Spot of Borg on Jun 12th, 2012 at 6:59am
Yeah she did okay. Didnt take every opportunity to trash libs (like they would have done to her). Even made a few jokes. She needs more media imo.
SOB |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by John Smith on Jun 12th, 2012 at 10:01am Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jun 12th, 2012 at 6:59am:
A whole hour on TV and she didn't try to trash talk the libs once .... well done Julia... about time somebody bought some respectability back to politics |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by jalane on Jun 12th, 2012 at 9:06pm
I know it feels like being wee voices in the dark, but we should all pay more respect , by knowing more, about the hard yards Gillard has put in, and the despicable flaming hoops, that she's leapt through, to keep on running what remains, the best country in the world, no thanks to the 'others' ..you just need to look at the last 50 yrs of Oz politics to see, which political party is concerned with the Oz people.
WOW... perhaps my longest sentence ever.!! :) :P |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jun 13th, 2012 at 3:47pm
Julia did well because no one expected anything from her. Good on you, love.
In reality, Julia was cold and wooden. She was trying so hard to inject some warmth, trying so hard to connect - not to play the negative. She had a lot on her mind. She did all that, but you could see her trying so hard. The good thing about Julia is her ability to tell it how it is - to play tough, but to be frank as well. Her problem is that when she confronts the public, she gets defensive. Hard not to, given her polling. It must weigh on you. Some - and Turnbull is a good case - don't seem to give a damn. We know they do, of course - they're in the job to be loved - but he carries on whether we love him or hate him. In person and in meetings, Julia, by all accounts, is charismatic. She doesn't have the ability, however, to inject this into the camera. Gough did, Hawke did, Keating did. I think Costello did (but most disagreed - the smirk). These characters all had the film actor's skill of playing to the camera. Howard didn't. Howard was a plodder. He used his dullness to his advantage. "You might not like what I stand for, but at least you know what I stand for." I don't think Rudd did. Again, many disagreed. After all, he came to prominance on Sunrise. But his range was very limited: the subject of many Chaser jokes. Programic specificity. Julia has much more ability than Rudd (performance wise), but she holds herself back. Her monotone voice doesn't help. Her vocal range is certainly limited. But her spark - her ability to shine - her ego - she swaps it for a mask of patient, driving pragmatism. She seems to be trying so hard to be one of the boys when, in fact, people want to see her as a leader. Her moment came when she beat Rudd the second time around. In her subsequent speech, she had energy, commitment, and raw power of a real leader. This, I think, is the Julia people want to see, but it's hard to muster this day-in, day-out. All those meetings, functions, late nights, early mornings. Female politicians have the added pressure of having to look good. You have to let people see your weakness too. Hawke was a master at this - people do sympathise. They forgive you if you seem honest. The medium is the message. TV is the medium of the close-up. The news follows nice games show hosts and precedes Home and Away. If you can get it right, people will love you even when they hate you. The last thing people want to see is a dull automaton, but this is the leader Julia seems to be trying so hard to be. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jun 13th, 2012 at 3:55pm Karnal wrote on Jun 13th, 2012 at 3:47pm:
Each sentence a separate line. Are you a staff writer for the Telegraph, PB? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jun 13th, 2012 at 7:09pm
No dear, Punch. Looking for a job?
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Jun 13th, 2012 at 9:05pm
Better try somewhere else, old chap.
They're not too fond of Germans. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by jalane on Jun 13th, 2012 at 9:35pm
he's Danish, dear fellow.
Product of one of the oldest monarchies in the world, still extant. I think the PM Ms Gillard, is a tough cookie. Critics say she is wooden in her speech, ...from a teev point of view, but charismatic in person. So you'd prefer a show pony with all the glossy bits, a Teev whore. ? No wonder you are won over by Abbotts tactics. ::) Unlike her opposition , she is no media tart. She doesn't try to embellish, she says it like it is. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 26th, 2012 at 9:44pm
What did I learn from tonight's episode of Q&A?
I want to ATM Janet Albrechtsen. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Morning Mist on Nov 26th, 2012 at 10:26pm
Usual topics: Gay marriage and boat people. Will they get the trifecta? Will they mention climate change? There's 10 minutes to go, who knows!
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 26th, 2012 at 10:31pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Nov 26th, 2012 at 10:26pm:
?? The show's been finished for an hour. No climate change. Still, I'd like to ATM Janet Albrechtsen. Hard. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Emma Peel on Nov 26th, 2012 at 10:40pm
guess you don't live in Q .....GP :)
don't watch it as a rule either. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by JC Denton on Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:18am Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Nov 26th, 2012 at 10:26pm:
one of these days im going to tally up q&a topics in every episode by question. i think the boat people will be at the top, gay marriage probably second. it's quite amazing how much discussion in media/public discourse is centred around the boat people. i think its partially a form of controlled opposition. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Emma Peel on Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:24am JC Denton wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:18am:
Not really, if you are a bit of a cynic like me. "cos I think it is obviously all orchestrated.. we ( the aussie people) are played for the fools we are by those who hold the reins of the mass media wagon. which is why I rarely watch the popular 'current event ' teev shows. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 27th, 2012 at 5:32pm
Five ways we can make Q&A more watchable ...
http://www.thevine.com.au/entertainment/tv/five-ways-we-can-make-qanda-more-watchable/?utm_source=FD&utm_medium=entpuff&utm_campaign=qanda |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Morning Mist on Nov 27th, 2012 at 6:14pm JC Denton wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 12:18am:
It's hard to believe it's an unbiased forum when the same issues keep popping up in every episode. Additionally, whenever someone disagrees with gay marriage we hear the same boos and sneers from the crowd. Barnaby had his head bowed and voice lowered like some beaten dog when he stated he didn't agree with gay marriage. The audience is stacked. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by JC Denton on Nov 27th, 2012 at 6:25pm greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 5:32pm:
agree with a lot of these, esp the first one. it is obvious from the way many of the panelists frame teir answers to questions that they are applause fishing - you only have to regurgitate the most banal, trite platitude to get the audience fired up, and this undoubtably influences how the questions are answered. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Deathridesahorse on Nov 27th, 2012 at 6:30pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 6:14pm:
It's an act, geeeeeeeeeez luiize! Barnaby never fooled no one never! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 27th, 2012 at 6:32pm JC Denton wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 6:25pm:
Ditto. And Number 2: Kate Miller-Hiedke was a huge mistake. Number 3: the tweets are unbearable and so predictable. "Malcolm for PM!". ::) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Deathridesahorse on Nov 27th, 2012 at 6:38pm greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 6:32pm:
Oh, lol, bugger the tweets off for jeebus's sake! :-[ :-[ :'( They don't even spell check 'em!! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by JC Denton on Nov 27th, 2012 at 6:41pm greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 6:32pm:
yeah, the twitter feed is useless/impossible to get on unless you are saying something like what you described. it is more than useless in all honesty - it is distracting. the "malcolm for pm!!!" sh1t is the worst. not happening, ever. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Nov 28th, 2012 at 4:49pm JC Denton wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 6:25pm:
True. This is what audiences are like. It’s also called getting a cheap laugh. The best performers go against the grain of platitudes. There’s quite an art to it. Turnbull’s a master. Gillard’s not much chop, and this is one reason why she’s so unpopular. That monotonous voice. Rudd’s not a lot better. He wants to be seen as a policy geek, and usually over-explains things. Still, many like having a leader they can feel superior to - this is one reason why Howard stayed around for so long. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Deathridesahorse on Nov 28th, 2012 at 4:54pm
cyclone cyclone cyclone cyclone cyclone cyclone cyclone cyclone cyclone cyclone cyclone [colorcyclone cyclone cyclone cyclone=#ff00ff]cyclone[/color]
Title: Re: Q & A Post by JC Denton on Nov 28th, 2012 at 5:13pm
what about that disabled chick talking about how its demeaning to discuss the costs of NDIS and "where the money is coming from" as if its illegitmate to talk about that and anybody who doesn't think so is morally bad
Title: Re: Q & A Post by JC Denton on Nov 29th, 2012 at 2:05pm
"How about a 12-month moratorium on discussing asylum seekers, carbon tax, and same sex marriage. "
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 29th, 2012 at 2:25pm JC Denton wrote on Nov 29th, 2012 at 2:05pm:
Sounds good to me. And no tweets! |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Feb 19th, 2013 at 1:51pm JC Denton wrote on Nov 29th, 2012 at 2:05pm:
I think they only brought up the carbon tax last night. No asylum seekers or same sex marriage. :) |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Spot of Borg on Feb 19th, 2013 at 1:53pm
It was mostly about religion and science which is prolly why theres new thread on it today.
SOB |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Feb 19th, 2013 at 2:08pm JC Denton wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 6:25pm:
James Patterson: We move on to the mining tax, and a self-described lifetime Labor voter complains to Chris Evans that the Gillard government hasn’t hit the mining industry hard enough, to the delight of the studio audience. In his answer, Evans suggests that the applause is a good indication of changing community sentiment and perhaps the government should look at reforming the tax to collect more revenue. I can’t resist the opportunity, and point out that if the ALP really thinks a Q&A audience is a representative sample of the Australian community, no wonder they are in such bad shape. It wins me no friends in the audience, who loudly groan. But at least Sinclair Davidson at the excellent blog Catallaxy Files appreciates it — he writes that it was my best comment all night, and Andrew Bolt agrees on his blog. The audience seems determined to prove my point. At the end of the show, when Tony Jones announces next week’s line up, they again audibly groan when he says one guest will be from the Centre for Public Christianity. It’s as if having a Christian on the ABC is something to be outraged about. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by JC Denton on Feb 19th, 2013 at 3:23pm
sick of the host too. he's a smug tosser.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Morning Mist on Feb 19th, 2013 at 5:47pm
James Patterson again:
Lol. Some conservative policies should even be judged on how outraged the lefties get. The more outraged they get, the more it must be of benefit to the everyday Australian. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Morning Mist on Feb 19th, 2013 at 5:50pm
And again:
hehehehe |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Morning Mist on Mar 4th, 2013 at 9:52pm
I watched about 10 minutes of QandA tonight and switched off. Same topics, same garbage.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by John Smith on Mar 4th, 2013 at 11:13pm
So you didn't see Julie Bishop flapping around like a fish out of water trying to explain Morrisons comments ...
hehehhe hillarious. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Morning Mist on Mar 5th, 2013 at 12:25pm
They had 4 leftists and a conservative, and the audience was stacked with leftists.
There's no way you can say it's an unbiased forum. But there's nothing new to see here, it's the same ol' same ol', leftists spending tax-payer's money on their pet projects. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by John Smith on Mar 5th, 2013 at 12:56pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Mar 5th, 2013 at 12:25pm:
the guy on the left hand side was a lefty? I'm not so sure. ... he seemed to agree with Bishop a lot. I didn't see the split on the audience but if you can show me where the majority of the audience was left I'd be happy to give you that .... |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Spot of Borg on Mar 6th, 2013 at 6:10am Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Mar 5th, 2013 at 12:25pm:
How did they "stack the audience"? Did they make them fill in a questionnaire to get a ticket? SOB |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Morning Mist on Mar 6th, 2013 at 8:00am
How it is stacked I am not sure, but it's not an even audience.
But the panel is often stacked. Julie Bishop was the only one there the other night remotely close to anything conservative. And she received boos from the crowd everytime she spoke. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Yadda on Mar 6th, 2013 at 8:06am JC Denton wrote on Nov 27th, 2012 at 6:25pm:
Progressives and liberals today are not worthy of the definition, imo. We have lost our way. Melanie Phillips, on the movie Lincoln.... Quote:
http://www.melaniephillips.com/what-spiellberg-and-kushner-can-tell-republicans-and-conservatives |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Spot of Borg on Mar 6th, 2013 at 9:16am Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Mar 6th, 2013 at 8:00am:
Thats funny - i didnt hear any booing. What are you basing your idea that the audience is stacked on? That someone may have booed bishop? Anyone in their right mind would boo bishop. She even gave the impression she supported what gillard did to the single parents. BTW i thought you said you didnt watch it? SOB |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Morning Mist on Mar 6th, 2013 at 5:49pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 6th, 2013 at 9:16am:
I like food. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 6th, 2013 at 6:51pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Mar 6th, 2013 at 8:00am:
They provide figures at the beginning of each show. e.g. "Audience: ALP 30%, Coalition 44%, Greens 10%" "Audience: ALP 35%, Coalition 45%, Greens 10%" "Audience: ALP 38%, Coalition 44%, Greens 12%" "Audience: ALP 36%, Coalition 44%, Greens 10%" http://www.abc.net.au/tv/qanda/txt/s3680509.htm http://www.abc.net.au/tv/qanda/txt/s3695401.htm |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Spot of Borg on Mar 7th, 2013 at 5:11am greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 6th, 2013 at 6:51pm:
Thanks greggory however i doubt mist even knew that. so they must ask ppl on their way in. Doubt they turn anyone away because of the answers though or we would have heard about it. SOB |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Morning Mist on Mar 7th, 2013 at 7:59am
I know they put up those stats but I find them hard to believe. Unless the Liberal supporters are silent during the show. Then again, being a Liberal supporter doesn't automatically make you a conservative.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Quantum on Mar 7th, 2013 at 7:09pm
I know that those on the panel are permitted to invite people along, and that these guest are also permitted to ask questions. I have known two people now who were invites who did this. (In fact, for all I know everyone who asks question on the show is an invited guest by someone on the panel. After all, I have never known anyone other than an invite to ask a question ;))
Regarding the numbers, there are two concerns that I have. Firstly that the numbers seem very consistent for a group of people who just happen to be at the show that night. Every week it is about the same percentage between the three biggest parties. The Liberal audience always seems to be about equal to the Green and Labor numbers every week. The polls in the real world have bigger fluctuations than this show. The second issue is that we have no idea how these numbers are counted. Are the invited guest counted as ordinary members of the audience? Also, how many invited guest are there, and is each person on the panel permitted to invite the same amount of people? For all I know half the people in the audience are invited by people on the panel. These people may not be counted in the percentages at the start, and these invites may not be split an equal five ways (or however many people are on the panel that night). All of this would completely change the dynamic of the room even if the numbers at the start were 100% accurate. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Dnarever on Mar 7th, 2013 at 7:29pm
I think you do a survey when you apply for a ticket.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Quantum on Mar 7th, 2013 at 7:36pm Dnarever wrote on Mar 7th, 2013 at 7:29pm:
That's interesting. Then invited people of the panel may not be questioned as they wouldn't go through the normal application procedure. Depending on the amount of seats in relation to the amount of applicants may also explain the near clockwork percentages of the political leanings of the audience. ABC may intentionally aim for the 45% Liberal vs 35% Labor + 10% Greens each week by denying anyone of a particular political alignment once the quota has been reached for that week. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Spot of Borg on Mar 8th, 2013 at 6:06am
I expect the invited ppl still have to complete the survey. They want their statistics.
SOB |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 9th, 2013 at 2:07pm Quantum wrote on Mar 7th, 2013 at 7:36pm:
Yes, that seems to be how it works. "The questions below are to assist us in selecting a diverse and balanced audience." http://www2b.abc.net.au/AudienceBooking/Client/AudienceRegistration.aspx Why does that concern you? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 9th, 2013 at 2:42pm I missed last night's episode. Looking at the panel, I'm glad. http://www.abc.net.au/tv/qanda/txt/s3723150.htm |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Apr 9th, 2013 at 3:28pm
It was a very good discussion, there was evry possibility of a cat fight, but the women had more uniting them than dividing and made their points eloquently and intelligently
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Apr 9th, 2013 at 4:57pm
I loved Greer's defense of her previous Gillard comments. She's fearless, that woman.
She also proved that she's no flake, and has her head around all the issues they discussed. She never gives a glib answer or a pre-set response. Germaine Greer is a truly creative thinker. Big deal if she sometimes gets it wrong. When she does, it's always interesting. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Grey on Apr 20th, 2013 at 9:00am
yes she is :-) I don't think GG cares about getting it wrong as long as she gets people to think.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 1st, 2013 at 10:07pm Tonight's Q&A. Is there anything in the world more disgusting than Sophie Mirabella? Seriously? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Ubermensch on Jul 1st, 2013 at 10:23pm
She was the only Liberal on the panel. The rest were Labor and Green lovers.
Notice how Todd Sampson wanted to ban any discussion on asylum seekers for the election? Typical totalitarian Leftard. He can't have his way so he wants to ban discussion. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 1st, 2013 at 10:28pm Postmodern Trendoid wrote on Jul 1st, 2013 at 10:23pm:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by John Smith on Jul 1st, 2013 at 10:34pm
You can always rely on Sophie to make an ass of herself ..... seriously, what are the people in her electorate thinking?
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 1st, 2013 at 10:36pm John Smith wrote on Jul 1st, 2013 at 10:34pm:
They obviously aren't. She's a disgrace to the human race that ... "woman". |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jul 1st, 2013 at 10:55pm Grey wrote on Apr 12th, 2011 at 6:03am:
The OP - ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Q & A from Jakarta tonight Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 4th, 2013 at 9:17pm Q&A Jakarta 9.35pm - 10.34pm ABC1 Tonight Live from Indonesia. Host Tony Jones is joined by leading Indonesians in politics, journalism and human rights: Dewi Fortuna Anwar; Yuli Ismartono; Rafendi Djamin; and Meidyatama Suryodiningrat. |
Title: Re: Q & A from Jakarta tonight Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 4th, 2013 at 9:41pm Bobby. wrote on Jul 4th, 2013 at 9:17pm:
Watching it now bobby. While I totally disagree with you on the topic of capital punishment, those idiots who have their tweets displayed on the bottom of the screen ... |
Title: Re: Q & A from Jakarta tonight Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 4th, 2013 at 10:44pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 4th, 2013 at 9:41pm:
I didn't mind the comments. The show was interesting but nothing of any large news value. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by John Smith on Jul 4th, 2013 at 10:45pm
I have to say, seeing it from their point of view puts a different perspective on things (asylum seekers) .... I thought they were very honest about the short comings of their country.
Title: Re: Q & A from Jakarta tonight Post by John Smith on Jul 4th, 2013 at 10:46pm Bobby. wrote on Jul 4th, 2013 at 10:44pm:
Were you expecting them to declare war ? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jul 4th, 2013 at 10:50pm Grey wrote on Apr 20th, 2013 at 9:00am:
Yes. She makes people think of her gusset. Not pleasant, I am WARNING you. |
Title: Re: Q & A from Jakarta tonight Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 4th, 2013 at 10:52pm John Smith wrote on Jul 4th, 2013 at 10:46pm:
No - but they left out a few questions: They could have talked about their Muslim extremists. Also animal cruelty - what did they think about the way the animals were treated? What about Sharia law? What about their quite large army? How big & powerful is it? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by John Smith on Jul 4th, 2013 at 10:53pm Soren wrote on Jul 4th, 2013 at 10:50pm:
I blame you Soren ..... Now I need another drink . |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jul 4th, 2013 at 11:36pm John Smith wrote on Jul 4th, 2013 at 10:53pm:
You were warned - a bit like you have been warned about Rudd but you had to go and look and now you are reeling. Germ's gusset is a metaphor for the Rudd coup- you couldn't keep well away from the c vnt but now regret it. |
Title: Re: Q & A from Jakarta tonight Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 4th, 2013 at 11:49pm Bobby. wrote on Jul 4th, 2013 at 10:52pm:
Bump |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Spot of Borg on Jul 5th, 2013 at 6:37am
Hmmmm. So QandA is on twice a week? Argh!
*sets the recorder* SOB |
Title: Re: Q & A Tonight Mon. 8th July Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:26pm
Don't miss tonight
http://www.yourtv.com.au/guide/event.aspx?program_id=122356&event_id=53835262®ion_id=94 Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:39pm In Perth tonight. Stephen Smith and Julie Bishop on the panel. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Big Dave on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:42pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:39pm:
The usual gang of do-gooders are going to rip Julia Bishop apart. Instead of the name Q&A for the show, how about The Stacked Panel instead. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:44pm Big Dave wrote on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:42pm:
How is tonight's panel stacked? Labor, Liberal, Green, Lesbian Aboriginal, and CEO of The Minerals council. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Alinta on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:44pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:39pm:
You will be in the audience?????? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:48pm Alinta wrote on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:44pm:
Yep. At UWA. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Big Dave on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:49pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:44pm:
The channel is stacked, the show is stacked, the regulars are stacked, the guests usually are too. Even the damned audience is stacked. THE WHOLE DAMNED THING IS STACKED!!!! That skinny looking bloke from Chaser that looks the a rat is the worst. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:50pm Big Dave wrote on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:49pm:
Yes, you already said it's stacked. How, exactly? Do you have any examples? |
Title: Re: Q & A Tonight 15th July 2013 Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:55pm
http://www.yourtv.com.au/guide/event.aspx?program_id=122356&event_id=53942315®ion_id=94
Tony Abbott still hasn't turned up - neither has Kevy. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Big Dave on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:58pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:50pm:
You know when you go to some sort of club. It could be a pottery making club or a Russian Club or whatever. And you realise that everybody thinks the same . That's the deal with these ABC and SBS panel shows. Throw The Project in too. The opinions of the common man on the street are represented in the new Labor elite which infests the fringe media. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 15th, 2013 at 6:08pm Big Dave wrote on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:58pm:
Ah, yes. I attend a Russian pottery making club. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Big Dave on Jul 15th, 2013 at 6:18pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 15th, 2013 at 6:08pm:
Pottery the glows in the dark. Jokes aside greggorry, as soon as she manages a stuttering response to a baited question about towing boats back it'll be snarling , spitting , aggressive opinions and statements. Little text messages will be flying past the bottom of the screen -racist......., bigot........ blah blah blah. She'll have a look on her face like somebody has taken a dunk on her lap and they'll then go to a story about Latvian transvestites and how they are good for the ozone layer. Alas, we've seen it all before. BORING!!!! |
Title: Re: Q & A Tonight 15th July 2013 Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 15th, 2013 at 7:39pm Bobby. wrote on Jul 15th, 2013 at 5:55pm:
Bump. |
Title: Re: Q & A now tonight 22nd July Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 9:38pm
Q & A now .
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 10:00pm
Tony Jones - what a smug, detestable, arrogant pr!ck.
Pure ABC. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 10:18pm
Bill Shorter. Short indeed. Who the bugger thought that this bloke is PM material?
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Peter Freedman on Aug 5th, 2013 at 10:40pm
Best of Q&A tonight was how little we heard from that slimy slug Graham Morris.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Peter Freedman on Aug 5th, 2013 at 10:42pm
And next week its the skanky ho.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Peter Freedman on Aug 12th, 2013 at 10:53pm
Fancy punishing us by putting Pathetic Pyne and Angry Albrechtsen on the same program.
What did we do to deserve such torture? |
Title: Re: Q & A tonight Mon. 19th August Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:19pm
http://www.yourtv.com.au/guide/event.aspx?program_id=122356&event_id=54652461®ion_id=94
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:29pm Peter Freedman wrote on Aug 12th, 2013 at 10:53pm:
You are smug, Q&A watching bed-wetters. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 19th, 2013 at 8:12pm Peter Freedman wrote on Aug 12th, 2013 at 10:53pm:
One man, and one woman. But which is which? :-/ |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 19th, 2013 at 8:14pm Soren wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 10:00pm:
Hmmm, I want to disagree with you but ... >:( |
Title: Re: Q & A tonight 26th August 2013 Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 26th, 2013 at 7:12pm
Don't miss it:
http://www.yourtv.com.au/guide/event.aspx?program_id=122356&event_id=54858750®ion_id=94 Quote:
Title: Re: Q & A tonight 26th August 2013 Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 26th, 2013 at 9:19pm Bobby. wrote on Aug 26th, 2013 at 7:12pm:
14 minutes to go |
Title: Q & A tonight Kevin Rudd Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 2nd, 2013 at 3:07pm
Will Kevin be able to turn the polls around tonight?
This may be his last chance. He may talk about the Abbott Austerity Program. Don't miss it. Quote:
http://www.yourtv.com.au/guide/tonight/ |
Title: Re: Q & A tonight Kevin Rudd Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 2nd, 2013 at 8:16pm Bobby. wrote on Sep 2nd, 2013 at 3:07pm:
reminder |
Title: Q & A tonight Kevin Rudd Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 2nd, 2013 at 9:17pm
2nd reminder - it keeps jumping off the top 20 list.
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Soren on Sep 2nd, 2013 at 9:37pm
Don't tell me you have been looking forward to watching and listening to Kevni for an entire hour?!?!?!?!?
Title: Re: Q & A Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 2nd, 2013 at 10:50pm Soren wrote on Sep 2nd, 2013 at 9:37pm:
Yes & it was a great performance. He beats Abbott hands down when faced with tough questions. Tonight - Rudd was a winner. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Sep 2nd, 2013 at 11:46pm Bobby. wrote on Sep 2nd, 2013 at 10:50pm:
He gave it a go, but he wasn’t nearly as focused and on-brief as JuLiar. Actually, as hard as Rudd tried, he sounded distracted, tired and a little too forced. Alone on Q&A is a very tough gig. There’s nowhere to hide, and you’re bound to have a largely hostile audience, no matter who you are. If I was Abbott, I’d be tempted to avoid Q&A too. But you can’t. Rudd rose to the occasion and he’s stronger for it. He beat Abbott, but not where it counts. In the end, the audience seemed to sympathise with him - maybe even tacitly respect him for toughing it out. But they didn’t seem to trust Rudd or genuinely warm to him. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 3rd, 2013 at 12:13am Karnal wrote on Sep 2nd, 2013 at 11:46pm:
Hi Karnal, good on Rudd for showing up - unlike that coward Abbott. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Sep 3rd, 2013 at 12:30pm Bobby. wrote on Sep 3rd, 2013 at 12:13am:
Damn right. There was warm applause for Rudd at the end of the show that seemed like a coda to his government. We all know which way the election's going to go. This is the end of the road for Rudd. Rudd deserves respect for toughing it out and giving it a good bash. No one wants Abbott, but we're becoming resigned to an uncertain fate. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 3rd, 2013 at 12:36pm
Hi Karnal,
maybe it was time for a change anyway? Labor is carrying too much baggage. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Karnal on Sep 3rd, 2013 at 2:50pm Bobby. wrote on Sep 3rd, 2013 at 12:36pm:
True. I'd like to vote out Labor too. But who to vote in? That's the problem. I'm left with voting Labor to keep Abbott out, as hopeless as that is. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Peter Freedman on Oct 3rd, 2013 at 4:27am
Gawd, bloody Greg Sheridan on again next week. Last time he spoke up for the use of torture.
Wonder what he'll come up with this time? Tearing the wings off butterflies, perhaps? Rupert must be so proud of him, he's a true company man. AND WHEN IS BIG EARS GOING TO FRONT?????????? |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Postmodern Trendoid on Oct 3rd, 2013 at 6:25am Peter Freedman wrote on Oct 3rd, 2013 at 4:27am:
True. No one to the right of centre should ever be on QandA, or any tv or radio program for that matter. We progressive lovers of liberty must censor all opposition. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Dnarever on Oct 3rd, 2013 at 8:11am Postmodern Trendoid wrote on Oct 3rd, 2013 at 6:25am:
No one to the right of centre should ever be on QandA Considering something like 98% or guests are from the centre or right it would leave Tony talking to himself on most shows. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by Postmodern Trendoid on Oct 3rd, 2013 at 12:27pm Dnarever wrote on Oct 3rd, 2013 at 8:11am:
Brilliant. This agitprop writes itself. Will the people believe, though, that the feminists and socialists they have on there every week are actually right-wingers? Please submit a pamphlet to our Socialist Alliance meeting and we'll see if it's worth trying on campus next time. |
Title: Re: Q & A Post by greggerypeccary on Oct 3rd, 2013 at 12:29pm Postmodern Trendoid wrote on Oct 3rd, 2013 at 12:27pm:
I'm drafting it right now, Misty. Rest easy. |