General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1307231590 Message started by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Jun 5th, 2011 at 9:53am |
Title: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Jun 5th, 2011 at 9:53am
MAVERICK Queensland MP Bob Katter has made good on his threat to shake up national politics with a new party and is vowing to strip votes off the major parties.
Mr Katter officially registered Katter's Australian Party with the Australian Electoral Commission in Brisbane on Friday afternoon, promising the new force would support families and businesses. In an exclusive interview with The Sunday Mail, Mr Katter revealed his plan to "control" state politics through the crossbenches after the next election and immediately hit the campaign trail against Premier Anna Bligh and Liberal National Party leader Campbell Newman. He also unveiled the party's first policies - including breaking the duopoly of Woolworths and Coles and stopping free trade, the carbon tax and privatisation. It will also rally against "Big Brother" and restore personal freedoms, including fishing freely and boiling a billy without a permit. .."The people are crying out for something different," Mr Katter said. "There are 20 to 30 per cent who refuse to vote for mainstream parties." The party threatens to be the most significant new force since Pauline Hanson's One Nation won 11 seats at the 1998 poll and hurt the Nationals. It is today calling for candidates for Queensland state and federal electorates, but has no set number to contest and wants to impose quality controls on candidates. Mr Katter, a former Bjelke-Petersen cabinet minister, said a governing majority was the goal for later terms, with both Labor and LNP voters in his sights as he targets seats 10km outside Brisbane's CBD. In Canberra, the former Independent will now sit under his new party brand. Declaring the new paradigm under Independents a failure, the Kennedy MP said talks for federal candidates, including the Senate, were further progressed than his state plans. "There are three federal seats outside of Queensland staring us in the face," he said. As revealed by The Sunday Mail last month, Mr Katter has been plotting the party for months, including talking to several state MPs. Mr Katter yesterday described the discussions with "one or two" state MPs as formal, saying he was open to talks with Independents or The Queensland Party. He said his party was different to One Nation, but confessed worry about forces conspiring against him to put him in jail like Ms Hanson. "The last two people who tried this, they threw them both in jail," he said. Under the party's principles, members can speak and vote with their electorates, including on daylight saving, except for the narrow band of party policies. "If they don't vote against Coles and Woolies, they will get their bloody toes cut off with a rusty razor blade," he said. But the party has little financial support and wants smaller grassroots donors and help from recreational groups and the dairy and sugar industries. Mr Katter has linked with the Electrical Trades Union in Victoria and hoped to replicate that locally, where he claims Labor is planning to next sell state power companies. Based in Brisbane offices owned by his son-in-law and gun dealer Rob Nioa, the party includes former Nationals figure Rowell Walton as president and former Liberal general secretary Matthew Rowe.The Hat versus The Pineapple. Read the interview at Patrick Lion's Pineapple Politics Blog at thesundaymail.com.au MAKING A STAND: Katter's key policies Stop the stranglehold of Coles and Woolworths on groceries Cut individual chains' market share to 22.5 per cent each instead of current 80 per cent total share. This would ensure greater competition and push down prices. Supermarket fairness tribunal to prevent misuse of market share. No privatisation Prevent any further sell-offs of assets but also implement strategies to reverse some past and current assets. No carbon tax Stop the measure and focus on renewable energies such as ethanol. Stop free trade Protect Australian industries and jobs to revitalise industries such as agriculture and manufacturing. New laws to make Parliament approve treaties, not just the Government. All Government spending should be on Australian goods where practicable. eg cars |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by buzzanddidj on Jun 5th, 2011 at 10:09am BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 9:53am:
Not to mention ... 21st century National Broadband Network |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by cods on Jun 5th, 2011 at 10:16am
oh gawd here we go again......another frustrated. pollie just what we need.
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by freediver on Jun 5th, 2011 at 10:19am
Clever name. Otherwise people might think he is a NZ pollie.
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Jun 5th, 2011 at 10:33am
I'm glad to see it, its becoming a trend. I just hope all the politician supporting protectionism join together.
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by freediver on Jun 5th, 2011 at 10:35am
While I'm not a fan of Bob, I do agree that a bit more diversity in Australian politics is a good thing.
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Jun 5th, 2011 at 10:38am freediver wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 10:35am:
Its all about giving the choice back to voters. I go to the election both and forced too choose 'the lesser of two evils' because no one represents me and my views. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by cods on Jun 5th, 2011 at 11:31am
I like the bit where coles and woollies are the enemy... not our immigration policy..
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by astro_surf on Jun 5th, 2011 at 11:36am cods wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 11:31am:
Too many chinks, sand black people and jigaboos getting through for you, eh? ::) You always whimnge about cost of living pressures, and Coles and Woolies are taking abigger cut than teh dreaded carbon tax will, but you only whinge on cue when the dog whisltes get blown. You hypocritical old slag. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by matty on Jun 5th, 2011 at 11:43am
Good on him. It's ironic, seeing that he was the only true independent in the House of Reps, but he is fair dinkum, true to his constituents and actually seems to care about Australia and its people. Come next election, there will be NO independents in the House of Reps.
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Equitist on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:00pm matty wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 11:43am:
What makes you so sure of that!? Is it not equally likely that many local communities will be excited by the opportunity for greater self-empowerment and political influence at the national level - including focus on addressing local issues of infrastructure deficits and socio-economic disadvantage - as has been delivered by the example of those Independents who enabled the formation of the current minority federal govt!? Heck, there's even a fairly good chance that the existing independents will be returned to office! |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Equitist on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:06pm As for Katter, he is a larger-than-life character but he's not a young man (being only months younger than Greens Leader Bob Brown) - and he would need to have a succession plan in place before he could even fully establish his party... Who would be his deputy - and could they carry the newly-formed party forward in the absence of the 'founding father' Katter!? Meantime, methinks that the Libs and Nats might be wishing that he had backed the Minority Lab Govt rather than fracturing right wing politics along this particularly-divisive tangent... Bob Katter was a Conservative hero for declining to partake in the Minority Gillard Govt - the Libs and Nats were smiling like Cheshire Cats at one stage - so how will they deal with this political kick in the teeth!? |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by matty on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:08pm Equitist wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:00pm:
There were only four "independents", Tony Windsor, Andrew Wilkie, Rob Oakeshott and Bob Katter. Now there are three. Tony Crook is a WA National, and Adam Bandt a Green. They won't be re-elected. IMO, Wilson Tuckey or a new Lib wll win back the seat. The Libs won't give preferences to Badnt next election. Tony Windsor and Rob Oakeshott have betrayed their electorates, and will not be re-elected. The voters demonstrated that in Port Macquarie and Tamworth. Both independents (who lose their seats) received hndreds of calls saying that people who voted for the independents at the Federal election felt betrayed, and from now on, would only ever vote for the Nats, in the state and federally. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by matty on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:11pm Equitist wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:06pm:
We're going to hear more details later today. Pauline is also forming a new party. I think that both will be really good for those of us who are not really keen on either major party, or the greens. If someone held a gun to my head and forced me to vote for the ALP/Greens, I would just let them shoot. I am not that keen on the Coalition, but they are okay. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Equitist on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:14pm matty wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:08pm:
I admire your confidence, if not your 'logic'! ::) |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by creep on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:15pm
Won't matter anyway, Katter's a dead pollie walking. He knows that, and he knows he is only there until the next election anyway.
And love the bit about 21st Century NBN LOL It's already outdated and there's still about 90 years to go!!! |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by BigOl64 on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:26pm creep wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:15pm:
Long term resident from the seat of Kennedy are we? The bloke holds a double digit swing in that seat and has done for at least a couple of decades. A rather stupid comment. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by progressiveslol on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:29pm matty wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 11:43am:
That would be hilarious to see Oakshot & Windsor try and form their own party. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Tony Bradshaw on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:29pm |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by matty on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:32pm Equitist wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:14pm:
It's not confidence, just knowledge that they will both be cast to he scrap heap come next election. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by progressiveslol on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:34pm Tony Bradshaw wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:29pm:
Looking good so far. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by matty on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:34pm creep wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:15pm:
creep, I think that you have Windsor confused with Katter Katter is the decent MP of Kennedy, who sided with the Coalition. Windsor is the traitor MP of New England, who betrayed his constituents and sided with Labor. He is also so concerned about our environment, that he sold his farm to a coal mining company. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by matty on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:35pm Tony Bradshaw wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:29pm:
I don't like the way that you continually speak down to me, but I have to agree with you on this. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by matty on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:37pm progressiveslol wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:29pm:
Lol, talk about EPIC FAIL. What would they call it? "Sell-outs united"? |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by creep on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:38pm BigOl64 wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:26pm:
Yes you have made rather a stupid comment. Katter was initially from the National Party for 10 years, you conveniently forgot to mention that. And you also conveniently forgot tomention the alliance that Katter took up with the GALP - something that his constituents did NOT want and wish to remind him of at the next opportunity. . |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by creep on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:41pm matty wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:34pm:
Ummm noooo the three independents (Katter, Oakeshott & Windsor) aligned with the GALP |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by progressiveslol on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:43pm creep wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:41pm:
Im not so sure you are correct. I think Katter knows that independants of all flavours will be a dead duck, so may have formed the party so as not to be an independant. I respect the man for saying no and having some choice words, to labor. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by matty on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:46pm creep wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:41pm:
No, he sided with the Coalition, and is 100% agains the carbon tax. I don't know why someone made that. http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2010/09/07/3004931.htm |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by creep on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:46pm progressiveslol wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:43pm:
The three independents aligned with the GALP. Their constituents did not want them to agree to GALP policies otherwise they'd have voted that way in the first place. You really think that they can hide and their constituents won't know? Hey we all know already! LOL |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by matty on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:49pm progressiveslol wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:43pm:
Unfortunately, Windsor and Oakeshott have tainted the independent 'brand'. In the recent NSW state election, 3/4 of the independent MPs in Windsor and Oakeshott's regons were thrashed by the Nationals. The only one who won, apparently made a point of not being aligned with Windsor. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by buzzanddidj on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:59pm
Katter's Australian Party will win ONE seat in the LOWER house, next Federal Election
KENNEDY It MAY get an Upper House seat, on preferences |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by buzzanddidj on Jun 5th, 2011 at 1:02pm BigOl64 wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:26pm:
As was the NONSENSE about the NBN being "outdated" |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jun 5th, 2011 at 1:05pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:59pm:
Puts him level with the "Poofters and Environmental Warriors" party of Bob Brown then doesn't it? ;D |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by creep on Jun 5th, 2011 at 1:11pm matty wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:49pm:
Katter says he would support the GALP even though he has told "officially" Abbott that he is supporting him. http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/201009/r634643_4351171.asx |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by creep on Jun 5th, 2011 at 1:14pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 1:02pm:
Gillard's NBN is outdated. It is 20th century technology. We are now in the 21st century and the NBN is already surpassed and will so even more within the next 90 years. So the NBN is NOT 21st century at all and to even suggest that it is was a stupid comment. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by creep on Jun 5th, 2011 at 1:18pm
Whilst Gillard is leading the ALP Katter "offically" says he will support Abbott but also support the GALP on certain issues.
BUT If Rudd takes back the leadership, Katter will support Rudd and forget the "official" support for Abbott. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by freediver on Jun 5th, 2011 at 1:27pm Tony Bradshaw wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:29pm:
Colour scheme makes me think Labor. Quote:
Oxymoron. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by buzzanddidj on Jun 5th, 2011 at 2:20pm creep wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 1:14pm:
"Surpassed" by WHAT ? |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by remember_when64 on Jun 5th, 2011 at 2:30pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 2:20pm:
Did you have to ask, now the thread will meander down an experiment in Germany path :( |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by creep on Jun 5th, 2011 at 2:49pm remember_when64 wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 2:30pm:
Yep, and so it should as the german "experiment" will pave the way for greater developement. For it to claim that the NBN is 21st century technology shows how out of date it is. Oh and don't forget that the 20th century technology used for the NBN was at one stage - merely an experiment! So, now that that has been put to rest, the NBN is already outdated and it hasn't even been rolled out! The NBN is just an $80 billion dollar white elephant, and then you have to add on the carbon dioxide tax! |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jun 5th, 2011 at 2:51pm
The NBN is a steaming pile - I shall not be signing up to anything like it.
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by buzzanddidj on Jun 5th, 2011 at 2:52pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jun 2nd, 2011 at 11:52pm:
End to "Nanny State" “Australian's all let us rejoice For we are young and free" … well kinda free as long as you don't upset noisy minority green groups and overly controlling governments. Are you sick and tired of being told what to do? States and Territories throughout Australia are increasingly becoming more and more restrictive, to the point they are often referred to as amongst the most litigious in the developed world. Laws exist constantly telling us where we can and can't go, what we can and can't do and when we can and can't do it. - Bob Katter http://www.ausparty.org.au/issues/end-to-nanny-state.html |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jun 5th, 2011 at 2:56pm
Strange eh Buzz?
You want to sign us up to forcing a change on our lifestyle with a carbon tax to something that suits you? How about you live your way and I'll live mine. That is what you call 'freedom of choice'. Not something you seem to like or support. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by buzzanddidj on Jun 5th, 2011 at 3:05pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 2:56pm:
How about I put a pork fat rendering plant next to your house ? "How about you live your way and I'll live mine. That is what you call 'freedom of choice'" |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by cousincreep on Jun 5th, 2011 at 3:40pm
Web Surfing
Domain Name theaustralianparty dot Kom Dot A u Registrar ID Melbourne IT Registrar Name Melbourne IT Status ok Registrant NIOA TRADING Registrant ID ABN 11646964149 Eligibility Type Other Registrant Contact ID 82238O1175996 Registrant Contact Name NIOA TRADING Registrant Contact Email m.rowe@nioa.com.au Tech Contact ID 82239T1175996 Tech Contact Name Matthew Rowe Tech Contact Email m.rowe@nioa.com.au Name Server r Name Server IP 203.27.227.123 Name Server Name Server IP 203.27.227.124 ****************************** NIOA TRADING is showing as Australia's leading wholesale distributor of firearms, ammunition and related products, servicing the Commercial, Law Enforcement and Military markets. NIOA TRADING is Based in Brisbane and owned by Katter's son-in-law and gun dealer Rob Nioa, the party includes former Nationals figure Rowell Walton as president and former Liberal general secretary Matthew Rowe. All according to rajcairnsreport wordpress Blog Matthew Rowe Nats see off Lib staffers after merger Greg Roberts From: The Australian September 16, 2008 12:00AM THE former Queensland Nationals have tightened control of the state's new Liberal National Party by forcing the resignations of senior staff who were employed by the Liberals before the coalition partners merged. Only one of the seven people who were employed full-time by the Liberal Party continues to work for the LNP. The move will further alienate the Liberals, who fear the merger amounts to a Nationals takeover of their party. Ex-Nationals lead the LNP's parliamentary and organisational wings, and now control most of its key administrative posts. The Liberal staffers forced out of the LNP include deputy state director Peter Epstein, general secretary Matthew Rowe and membership officer Janet Killer. theaustralian newspaper link removed Search on Rob Nioa, this seemed sort of funny Hey Robert Nioa, CRY SOME MOAR!!! Dreamworld won't host a Christmas party for a gun company on its Tiger Island because the firm's website shows photos of exotic animals being killed for sport. The Gold Coast theme park is refusing to back down after angry correspondence from Nioa, one of Australia's largest firearm and ammunition suppliers. Dreamworld chief executive Noel Dempsey said Nioa had been offered an alternative site for its party, after it was decided Tiger Island was inappropriate. In a letter to Dreamworld demanding an apology, managing director Robert Nioa said the refusal was naive and offensive to himself, his staff and their family members, wildlife lovers and "those at the informed end of the wildlife management debate". Taken from zgeek website (link removed) Rowell Walton JACKPOT! Complete webposts from Rowell Walton on web discussion site justgroundsonline website (link removed) Here is an interesting comment: "...The National Party has let us down..." |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by buzzanddidj on Jun 5th, 2011 at 3:40pm creep wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 2:49pm:
... and that "German experiment used the SAME optic fibre |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Equitist on Jun 5th, 2011 at 4:07pm LOL..it isn't hard to imagine how this will devolve into The Mad Katters Tea Party... |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by remember_when64 on Jun 5th, 2011 at 4:14pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 3:40pm:
Shhhhhhhhhh, you'll spoil the story! |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Equitist on Jun 5th, 2011 at 4:17pm Heads http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/katters-recruitment-drive-for-new-party/story-e6freuy9-1226069605918 Queensland independent MP Bob Katter has formed a new political party. Picture: Megan Slade Source: The Courier-Mail Quote:
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by matty on Jun 5th, 2011 at 4:23pm creep wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 1:11pm:
Good point, and I don't like how long Bob took to announce his decision, but in the end, he did do the right thing. Listen to him here: http://www.skynews.com.au/topstories/article.aspx?id=621618&vId=2459818 He does seem to care about his fellow Australians, and he is sincere and fair dinkum. Lol at his comment about the Greens. I wonder how his and Pauline's party will coincide. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by matty on Jun 5th, 2011 at 4:24pm freediver wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 1:27pm:
Indeed. That's why I put in quotation marks. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Equitist on Jun 5th, 2011 at 4:36pm The web-site is a bit in-your-face - to the point of being uncomfortable for the eyes to look at... Oh, and there's stuff like this: - http://www.ausparty.org.au/issues/end-to-nanny-state.html Quote:
[/quote] |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by creep on Jun 5th, 2011 at 4:42pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 3:40pm:
Then you agree that the optic fibre's potential has yet to be fully realised!!! :D :D :D :D In fact it is no where near full potential! |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by BigOl64 on Jun 5th, 2011 at 4:44pm creep wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:38pm:
I didn't conveiniently forget anything, it wasn't stated because it is not relevant to your initial statement. Katter is an independant, and he did not alighn with the alp, in fact he stood alone on that matter you fool. Go back to the kids table, you're making a fool of yourself here with the adults. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by creep on Jun 5th, 2011 at 4:47pm BigOl64 wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 4:44pm:
Yes you did conveniently exclude that aspect of Katter. And as for Katter's alignment, youre wrong on that as well, which has already been posted but here you go again. Otherwise youre making a bigger embarrassment of yourself http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/201009/r634643_4351171.asx |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by matty on Jun 5th, 2011 at 4:52pm Equitist wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 4:36pm:
[/quote] I have to say that I don't understand the colour. Why red? |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Equitist on Jun 5th, 2011 at 4:53pm More from Katter's site: - http://www.ausparty.org.au/issues/keep-our-state-assets.html Quote:
[/quote] |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Equitist on Jun 5th, 2011 at 4:55pm Why the red!? NFI - other than that some colour blind people are unable to distinguish it from green!? Oh, and perhaps that Katter is looking to associate his party with Andrew Bolt!? |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Equitist on Jun 5th, 2011 at 5:06pm Meantime, back at Red Hatt Ranch: - http://www.ausparty.org.au/issues/free-trade.html Quote:
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by buzzanddidj on Jun 5th, 2011 at 5:12pm creep wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 4:42pm:
26Tbps Record Speed Proves NBN Fibre Longevity 26/05/2011 A 26 terabit per second fibre optic data transmission speed test which smashed the previous 10 terabit broadband speed record set back in 2010 essentially proves the decision was right to use fibre optic cable over other competing technologies for Australia’s national broadband network construction. Scientists at Germany’s Karlsruhe Institute of Technology have finally given the Gillard Government and NBN Co chief Mike Quigley something to smile about when they set a new data transmission speed record that could effectively send the equivalent of 200,000 high res images, 400 million phone calls or 700 DVDs across 50km in one second. This type of technology could perhaps one day transmit similar super fast speeds over distances of 50 to 100km, or even further if amplified, and would act as an excellent transmission method for bandwidth hungry cloud computing, 3D television and high quality teleconferencing services. This is not to mention yet to be invented future virtual reality applications and automation services that we’ll all be using in years to come. After hearing the news of the record breaking broadband speed test, NBN Co chief technology officer Gary McLaren was believed to have stated that the respective results indicate the decision to use fibre to 93% of Australia’s population was the right way to go and that we can now be confident the NBN Co are implementing the right technology to ensure longevity for a fibre optic broadband network for decades to come http://broadbandguide.com.au/blogs/2011/05/26tbps-record-speed-proves-nbn-fibre-longevity/ |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by creep on Jun 5th, 2011 at 5:38pm
Yes the 20th century NBN is outdated by the 21st century technology and is a waste of money.
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by longweekend58 on Jun 5th, 2011 at 5:55pm creep wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:41pm:
Sometimes I think your info comes from a parallel universe. Katter sided with the coalition. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by longweekend58 on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:22pm
Katters party will fail miserably. they are opposed to free trade, want to re-regulate the dollar and impose tariffs.
might as well call it the ALp of the 1950s. the policies are the same. touble is it is the 21st century (except for FNQ) |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:28pm longweekend58 wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:22pm:
I thought he would of just joined The Protectionist Party |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by creep on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:29pm longweekend58 wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 5:55pm:
Katter likes to give that impression, even sitting on the fence would be an improvement, however when a push comes to a shove he admits he'll go with the GALP, just for peace, harmony and for the longetivity of a stable Gillard government http://www.abc.net.au/reslib/201009/r634643_4351171.asx |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by buzzanddidj on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:29pm creep wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 5:38pm:
And AGAIN, till it SINKS IN ! 26Tbps Record Speed Proves NBN Fibre Longevity 26/05/2011 A 26 terabit per second fibre optic data transmission speed test which smashed the previous 10 terabit broadband speed record set back in 2010 essentially proves the decision was right to use fibre optic cable over other competing technologies for Australia’s national broadband network construction. After hearing the news of the record breaking broadband speed test, NBN Co chief technology officer Gary McLaren was believed to have stated that the respective results indicate the decision to use fibre to 93% of Australia’s population was the right way to go and that we can now be confident the NBN Co are implementing the right technology to ensure longevity for a fibre optic broadband network for decades to come http://broadbandguide.com.au/blogs/2011/05/26tbps-record-speed-proves-nbn-fibre-longevity/ |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by longweekend58 on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:34pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:29pm:
while the speed is impressive, a comment from a vested interest is not. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by creep on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:38pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:29pm:
SO it still hasn't sunk in to you yet. Well this is the 21st century now. The NBN is from the 20th century. In the 21st century, the Germans have surpassed the 20th century technology. SO that makes the 20th century technology outdated, and a waste of money. And in the next 10 years even more development will have occurred and most likely even in the next 2-5 years. So maybe Australia should get the highly sophisticated windows 3.1 to fully appreciate how good the NBN is. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by buzzanddidj on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:43pm longweekend58 wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:34pm:
No DENYING the fact though, IS there ? |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by creep on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:46pm
IT is developing and improving all the time.
And that in itself renders the old NBN as outdated. Together with knowing that the NBN has been surpassed makes it a waste of money to spend upon. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by buzzanddidj on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:48pm Quote:
It invariabley WILL - utilising the SAME optic fibre |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by creep on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:55pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:48pm:
Beeep Nope Just like other IT technology changes, the present is quickly outdated. And the NBN is last century's, so it will be replaced in the short future. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Sprintcyclist on Jun 5th, 2011 at 7:06pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:48pm:
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by buzzanddidj on Jun 5th, 2011 at 7:21pm creep wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 6:55pm:
Three little words ... SAME OPTIC FIBRE It's never been bettered, in 50 years of research Based on YOUR logic (or LACK of it) - no one would ever buy a computer - as there will be a better one out next year |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by buzzanddidj on Jun 5th, 2011 at 7:34pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 7:06pm:
CRIKEY !! I've got LycraLad in a "tizz" |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by PlayersPlay on Jun 5th, 2011 at 11:59pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 2:20pm:
HE CAN'T DEAL WITH POINTED QUESTIONS! ;D |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by PlayersPlay on Jun 6th, 2011 at 12:13am
All we need is Bob to spruik the NBN and Julia will be laffing !!!!!!!!!! ;)
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by skippy. on Jun 6th, 2011 at 10:16am Quote:
Katter will hurt the National party vote, in fact that's all he's likely to hurt. His policies are protectionist policies, I actually agree with a couple of them, so it wont be hard for him to convince a few hicks in the bush to support him. The Nats will be afraid, and so they should be, they've neglected their core support base for far to long by being a lap dog to the Liberals. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by FRED. on Jun 6th, 2011 at 10:21am skippy. wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 10:16am:
Reads like he has convinced you TROOPER "I actually agree with a couple of them, so it wont be hard for him to convince a few hicks in the bush " ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Verge on Jun 6th, 2011 at 10:39am
I think it would be foolish of the Libs, Nats, ALP and Greens to underestimate a man like Katter.
He will play into the hands of ex democrat voters with a bit of his keeping the bastards honest, regular households with wanting a fair go for the average punter against corporates and national voters for wanting agriculture protected. The greens need to be wary, as his policies in some are direct opposite to theirs. Only fools dismiss their competition without due consideration. I think people are fast becoming bored with lying pollies who dont connect with the people at all. Katter has the appeal to front a party where people can see a bit of themselves in him, even if its a little bit. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by chicken_lipsforme on Jun 6th, 2011 at 11:07am Equitist wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 12:14pm:
Unlike the other three so called 'Independants' who have not long been representatives and are not likely to be either beyond the next election, the seat of Kennedy has been voting Katter in every election since 1993. And they vote him in because he's a do'er, a go getter, totally non politically correct, and he actually gives a stuff about the people he represents. The media call him a 'maverick' because he speaks his mind and he's not concerned about who'd toes he steps on. Years ago a man would be called something else for doing just that. He also attends every single funeral of those farmers that find life on the land too tough and suicide which apparently in his electorate is not uncommon, and he doesn't mind telling the government how their poor policies are effecting his farming constituents each and every chance he gets. I would suggest he will continue to get support from people in the North. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Equitist on Jun 6th, 2011 at 11:54am Not sure why this was directed at me, since I basically agree with your conclusions on Katter (albeit not so much re the others mentioned)... chicken_lipsforme wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 11:07am:
I have never thought nor stated anything significantly different about Katter's relationship with his electorate... That said, it remains to be seen how far and wide his electoral appeal will spread - and whether such can be sustained and/or translated into bums on parliamentary seats... One thing's for certain, he's gonna give the Libs and Nats some hot and spicy curry - regardless of their individual culinary and political dispositions! (Some might say that Katter has a chronic case of verbal diarrhea - which is probably toxic enough to perpetually give any Lib/Nat the shytes!) |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by chicken_lipsforme on Jun 6th, 2011 at 11:58am
No equitist, it wasn't directed at anyone in particular.
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Equitist on Jun 6th, 2011 at 12:00pm Noted. All good! :-X |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by chicken_lipsforme on Jun 6th, 2011 at 12:02pm Equitist wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 11:54am:
I don't think he will get much support outside of Nth QLD, and the southern media have always portrayed him as a bit of a goose. And of course he will have no problem dishing up curry to both major parties. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by matty on Jun 6th, 2011 at 12:44pm creep wrote on Jun 5th, 2011 at 4:47pm:
creep, I agree with most of what you have to say. However, I disagree about Katter. I believe that he is (or was, he's an indie no more) a true independent. He is not an ALP lapdog, one of the main policies of the Australian Party is to get rid of the carbon tax. However, I disagree about this: http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/breaking-news/we-dont-need-to-go-back-to-polls-over-carbon-tax-says-bob-katter/story-e6frf7jx-1226070063669 |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by Kat on Jun 6th, 2011 at 12:52pm Well, ONLY going on what I've read so far, it would seem that they would be FAR AND AWAY more 'representative' of MY views, wants and wishes than ANY of the pig-swill that we are unlucky enough to have in Parliament at present. With the possible exception of Scott Ludlum. I'll be watching carefully to see how this unfolds....... |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by longweekend58 on Jun 6th, 2011 at 4:25pm
Katter will pick up some redneck votes in FNQ and his party will do little more. he doesnt have viable policies or even viable candidates. and he is called 'mad' because a lot of people think he is quite seriously 'not all there'. in almost every interview he starts by talking about the suicidal farmers he was on he phone to all night. almost EVERY interview.
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by progressiveslol on Jun 6th, 2011 at 4:29pm
If katter gave his preferences to the correct party, I might consider voting for him.
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Jun 6th, 2011 at 4:59pm progressiveslol wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 4:29pm:
I just wish all those out starting their own right wing parties would all join together. as one they would be a force mightier then the greens could ever hope for. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by BigOl64 on Jun 6th, 2011 at 6:19pm longweekend58 wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 4:25pm:
As a North Quenslander I say to you "get a dead dog up ya" it's not automatic the everyone up north is a lesser intellect and a racist and everyone down south is far superior by virtue of thier location alone. So bugger you longy >:( BTW Kater is a decent bloke who cares about his electorate, which something not many of you southern sh1theads can say about your scumbag pollie. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by buzzanddidj on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 12:25pm
Katter's party in trouble?
June 17, 2011 SUPPORT for Bob Katter's new political party is losing ground with the Queensland MPs he wants to jump on his bandwagon. In early June, the maverick far north Queensland federal MP called for candidates for Katter's Australian Party, which will stand for agricultural issues at the next Queensland and federal elections. Independent MP Rob Messenger had been flirting with the idea of joining Mr Katter's new force, describing him as a "a living legend". But the Burnett MP says despite agreeing with "110 per cent" of the party's policy platform, he won't be joining. Mr Messenger referred to Mr Katter's anger and said "he is going about things the wrong way". "He's not behaving in a politically smart or astute way," he said. "I understand why he's got this anger; he's seen friends die because of deregulation, but he needs to put that anger aside and it's almost as though he wants revenge." He accused Mr Katter of tarring Queensland independents with the same brush as his federal counterparts Tony Windsor and Rob Oakeshott, who delivered government to Julia Gillard and the Labor Party. "He's confusing federal independent politics. I can understand the anger he has against Windsor and Oakshott," he said. "He's executing his policies in a very angry way." Mr Messenger said the "the game breaker" was a media report that Mr Katter was bullying a state independent MP and a Liberal National Party MP into signing up. Earlier this week, Mr Katter fired a warning at Maryborough MP Chris Foley and LNP Hervey Bay MP Ted Sorensen to ignore the opportunity to join his party at their peril. "Those of us who have walked out need to work together and we would plead with the independents to join us," Mr Katter told the Fraser Coast Chronicle this week. "If not, we're taking you out." Mr Messenger said his motto was to put "people before political parties". "Bob's first political act in Queensland state politics has been to threaten two people who I respect and admire," he said. Cont ... http://www.weeklytimesnow.com.au/article/2011/06/17/346515_latest-news.html |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by longweekend58 on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 12:34pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 12:25pm:
its no real surprise. Katter is a fruticake and a bully. this party will go nowhere because it is a throwback to the 1950s. The world has changed since then and while not always for the better, there is no going back. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by longweekend58 on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 12:36pm BigOl64 wrote on Jun 6th, 2011 at 6:19pm:
Katter is a retard, a racist and mentally unstable. These are his good points. and anyone who votes for him is suspect in my view. He might care for his electorate but caring and being of any use are two different things. like the rest of FNQ he hasnt yet moved his calendar on from 1950. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by matty on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 12:36pm
I hope that the party does go well, but I doubt that Bob could ever be the force that Pauline was. When she registers her new party, I predict that it will have more success than Bob's.
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by mozzaok on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 12:44pm
There seems to be a pretty hard core group of ultra nationalist types, that will swing their support behind any of the loony types who make the right noises about Orstraylya for Orstraylyans, despite the lack of substance to them, as evidenced by the One Nation phenomenon.
It amounts to simple people looking for simple solutions, to complicated problems, without the first idea how. I do not like Katter's politics, and I doubt I would like him as a man, there is that bully attitude that sometimes shows out when he is confronted on an issue, but I think he is probably a decent and well meaning person, but I cannot help but feel there is an element of personal aggrandisement happening here. With the amount of attention the Independents received after the last election, I think Bob sees a chance where if he can get a handful of seats, he may find himself holding disproportionate power, if another close election were to come. While those on the right bemoan the demands that the Greens have imposed on Labor, can you imagine what Katter would demand of the Libs?? It is interesting times indeed. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by longweekend58 on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 5:18pm mozzaok wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 12:44pm:
Katter wont go anywhere. He only remains in his seat courtesy of the QLDers who frankly would vote for Hitler if he spoke about farming. Have you noticed the numbr of times Katter starts his interviews talking about 'being up all night talking to suicide farmers and talking them down'. Almost every time. He loses credibility with me very quikcly and probably anyone else with a high school education and partner not directly related to them. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by BigOl64 on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 7:01pm longweekend58 wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 12:36pm:
Fuken horsesh1t ya ignorant pr1ck. ;D A holiday to noosa doesn't make you an expert in how 'north' Queenslanders think, behave or the reasons they vote, FFS. Try and keep your opinions to subjects you have some sort of evidence to back up your statements. |
Title: Re: MP Bob Katter registered Katter's Australian Party Post by longweekend58 on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 7:16pm BigOl64 wrote on Jun 23rd, 2011 at 7:01pm:
go up there and look at the busts of Joh on the mantelpeices. there is proof. listen to Bob katter and his moronic policies and 1950s economics and then ask how ANYONE with a brain votes for him. If katter stood for election in any other place of the country he'd get a handful of votes from out-of-state hilbillies. the rest of us are bemused (or embarrassed) by a man with ideas that made Pauline Hanson look sophisticated and up-to-date. Katter is a joke and frankly, anyone who supports him has questionable intelligence. |
Australian Politics Forum » Powered by YaBB 2.5.2! YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved. |