Member Run Boards >> Travel >> Favourite Australian car? http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1329463129 Message started by PoliticalPuppet on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:18pm |
Title: Favourite Australian car? Post by PoliticalPuppet on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:18pm
My three would have to be: (In no order)
Torana SLR5000 HK Premier HK Monaro |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:26pm
Those top two are basically copies of -
Ford Escort Ford Cortina |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by PoliticalPuppet on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:51pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:26pm:
The gm's were first almost every time |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Uncle Meat on Feb 17th, 2012 at 6:16pm |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by PoliticalPuppet on Feb 17th, 2012 at 8:06pm Uncle Meat wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 6:16pm: Nice, I might be a holden person but I still love an old ford |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Frances on Feb 18th, 2012 at 9:06pm
I wouldn't mind one of these - they're sort of cute:
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Sprintcyclist on Feb 18th, 2012 at 9:35pm EH Holden, I had one. Very good car. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Frances on Feb 18th, 2012 at 9:48pm
If I were to have an old Holden, something like this might do:
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by dickens-cyder on Sep 30th, 2012 at 5:12pm
One of Australia's ... Favourite cars from the 1970 - 1980's ....The Panel Van be cam a Aussie ;) cult of it's own ........
![]() |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Jasignature on Dec 9th, 2012 at 4:07am
Mine: its a very dirty car with a clean strip down the middle to make it go faster.
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by FriYAY on Dec 11th, 2012 at 11:20am
My 1st car was a HZ Kingswood, 253 T-bar Auto, leather bucket seats. :)
Got stolen when I moved to Melbourne in 1990. :'( :'( :'( Love the SLR 5000. :) |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Robert Paulson on Dec 11th, 2012 at 11:25am My favourite australian car* *Just because it was made overseas, doesn't mean it can't be australian, you racist arsehole. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Jasignature on Dec 12th, 2012 at 12:28pm
...I forgot to add that my left front door has the indentation of a Kangaroos tail and ball-sack upon it as well.
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Jasignature on Dec 12th, 2012 at 12:31pm
Frances likes the old Holden because she can lay back in back seat and relax with her legs up.
...try doing it in a 97 Nissen Pulsar :D |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Sprintcyclist on Dec 12th, 2012 at 1:15pm I had an EH holden. very good car |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Frances on Dec 12th, 2012 at 8:50pm It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Dec 12th, 2012 at 12:31pm:
Wouldn't the wagon be better for that though? |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Jasignature on Dec 13th, 2012 at 10:48am
True. But they were mostly enjoyed when 'watching' movies at the Drive In's.
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Jacob Hoppe on Oct 17th, 2013 at 5:40pm
My '88 TX5 Ghia had the oscillating vents.
Also, my '82 Trans Am was set up so when you turn the ignition off, the instrument needles held their position until the ignition was turned on again and they reset. It was the Knight Rider model, but wasn't black & didn't talk to me... Another one, the stupid alarm on my current model Hilux - starts beeping loudly when the door is opened while the keys are in the ignition. Really annoying!! |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Old Codger on Oct 18th, 2013 at 4:24am
Had a mate back in '64 who fell in love with the EH Holden.
saved his money for the deposit, went down and signed up for a 60 month contract. Drove it home, and that night his girlfriend told him she was pregnant! OUCH! OC |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by fractalign on May 1st, 2014 at 9:46pm
The one I own a 1973 LJ Torana Coupe with a 3.3 Litre 202. There is something very cool about a small car with a big engine. Next up would be a 1975 XB GT Falcon Hardtop, followed by a 1972 HQ Monaro coupe. They stopped making cool cars after 1978.
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Raven on Sep 12th, 2014 at 3:18pm
1988 VL Walkinshaw SS
every time Raven thinks of it he ends up nursing a semi |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Lionel Edriess on Oct 25th, 2014 at 9:06pm Owned an LC GTR in an earlier life. Never forgave my mum for selling her LE Monaro. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Fordy351 on Nov 11th, 2015 at 4:23pm
Had heaps of muscle cars and classics..
Cant beat the XY 351 for nostalgia and resale value. i loved my little LJ XU1. RX4 and a few Lemons along the way.. Most surprising a dam FIAT 132GLS . 160mph in the little worked twin OHC rust bucket. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by He Man on Nov 11th, 2015 at 4:48pm
I love the XB Ford Coupe 351 cubic inches of pure muscle. Was the Cobra 351 Coupe Aussie because if it is thats the one over the standard XB for me.
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by The Grappler on Nov 11th, 2015 at 10:28pm
Favourite Australian? A Corporal in 3 Cav.... mate of mine, but a man worthy of Oz Of The Year.
I'm putting him up for Oz of The Year.... |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by He Man on Nov 11th, 2015 at 10:31pm Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Nov 11th, 2015 at 10:28pm:
Not many cars get put up for Australian of the year I guess. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by The Grappler on Nov 11th, 2015 at 10:32pm He Man wrote on Nov 11th, 2015 at 4:48pm:
Like you - no good brakes and no class.. Officers drive Jaguars, Mk II etc. Mate of mine - ex LTC - was amazed that Grunts (Capital intended) could want loans to get mag wheels on their cars... but what would you know about that? ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by He Man on Nov 11th, 2015 at 10:38pm Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Nov 11th, 2015 at 10:32pm:
Cool story. Remember what I said about 1 out of 4 posts and self flagellating, and you said BS. The ratio is coming down isn't it. You clearly know nothing about great Australian Muscle Cars. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 12th, 2015 at 12:41am Fordy351 wrote on Nov 11th, 2015 at 4:23pm:
This is the correct answer. What's a genuine phase 3 shaker worth these days? |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Fordy351 on Nov 12th, 2015 at 5:44am
1.4 MILLION dollars for an unmolested survivor car..
Same car for sale 8 years ago for 1 Million but owner refused offers and kept it. Even a 6cyl Falcon 500 now selling for 20K. A 351 XY is 50K+ GT 225K+ GT Phase III ..from 850K+ I still have a cpl of them.. My 351 Wagon insurance value 85K+, plus I have a wreck for spares that just keeps going up in value.. NOS XY parts are triple that of a Ferrari. ie $1800 for a NOS Ashtray.(New Old Stock;;still 1971 made just never opened) |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Fordy351 on Nov 12th, 2015 at 5:45am
cant post pics as yet sorry..new member rule.
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Emma Peel on Nov 16th, 2015 at 12:22am He Man wrote on Nov 11th, 2015 at 4:48pm:
I used to have a gold XA GT Ford Coupe in my younger days and did quite a few miles.. 351 Cleveland motor .... Sadly it was an auto.. altho they do tend to be faster off the line, the auto sort of spoilt the fun. Mind you, I don't know if I would have had the leg strength to muscle the manual top-loader gearbox. Was a great car. :) Never had a chance at a Ford XY GT.. the mighty HO.. but later in life, I owned a Ford Fairlane.. the long job.. Straight six. an NA she was. had cruise control.. great air.. did over 100,000 klm's in her in long interstate drives.. magnificent old beast she was. Greatest Australian car..?? bit of a joke that. hey I had an EH 186 red motor sedan once, shared with 4 others :) we got more for it advertising the motor for sale than we paid for the whole car...... but the motor..?? excellent. Condition of sale..? take the car away. :) Has to be a Ford. BUT.. I also loved the old valiants.. The VC slant-6 .. the AP5 and AP6..had an old VC Valiant wagon for years. Toughest car I ever have driven. Solid steel.!!! Ah the memories.. :) :) |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 16th, 2015 at 8:18am
Did Australia ever make a decent car?
Drove a VE once, gearbox was rubbish, engine was noisy. FG Falcon a little bit better but interior was bleh |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Dnarever on Nov 16th, 2015 at 8:24am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:26pm:
Your age is your obvious excuse for having no idea about this. Not even similar. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 16th, 2015 at 8:27am Fordy351 wrote on Nov 11th, 2015 at 4:23pm:
I'm assuming you mean 160 kilometres an hour. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Dnarever on Nov 16th, 2015 at 8:29am Frances wrote on Feb 18th, 2012 at 9:48pm:
My uncle had one of these new in 1961 FB. One of the few things I remember from that young age, it was the last one of that shape. It would be a horror to drive today. It would feel like a truck with no power, column shift, no brakes, poor steering and it would corner like a boat. Notice that they have no aerial there is a reason for that. I would love to have one. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Dnarever on Nov 16th, 2015 at 8:47am bobbythefap1 wrote on Feb 17th, 2012 at 5:18pm:
HK Monaro Had a grey HK 327 like this one for about 12 months - great car. It was stolen which may have saved my life. I was booked twice in it travelling on an empty road in 3rd gear with my foot off the accelerator the car could not physically travel under the speed limit. Then it caught fire coming of the now F1 at mount white travelling at about 90 mph. that was exciting, the hydraulic clutch cable had fallen across the exhaust pipe and burned through - when I hit the clutch to change down slowing it squirted fluid over the exhaust and engine throwing a ball of fire out from under the hood. 90 MPH car on fire and no gears with brake lights in front of me. Lucky there was room on the inside must have scared a lot of drivers. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 16th, 2015 at 8:50am
L34 SLR 5000
A9X XC Cobra LS/GTS/LE two door Monaro E49 Charger |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 16th, 2015 at 8:52am |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Fordy351 on Nov 16th, 2015 at 3:36pm
NO Bojack 160 MPH..
little FIAT was worked to hell and back. 1.8 bored out to 2.2 ltr |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 16th, 2015 at 11:18pm
I call shenanigans.
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Fordy351 on Nov 17th, 2015 at 6:23am
So did every wanker in there SLR 5000s..
Twin 48mm side drafts..DOHC. Proper 5 speed with O/Drive not just extra gear.. Italian rust bucket but would pull 100MPH in 3rd and the twin OH cam engine just keep revving to 10,000rpm. did have a rust issue...Lost bootlid on F3 on way to Newcastle ..hinges just rusted away and bootlid just didnt make it . 2.2ltr 132GLS 1974.. Engine built by FIALLA race engines Wollongong.. Started as a hill climb motor but car smashed..so I grabbed a cheap scream machine.. Was booked for doing 245kms in 100.. Even the cop just said DAMN FIAT. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 18th, 2015 at 12:33pm
Proper FIAT
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hFJQGWz9AmM |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Fordy351 on Nov 24th, 2015 at 11:24am
1.5 million dollar Ford XY BABY..351.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fkHSm0gBZLc |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 24th, 2015 at 3:03pm
Why in the name of all thats holy would anyone pay 1.5 million for an Aussie ford.
But then again I also like spending money on useless crap, so who am I to judge. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Fordy351 on Nov 24th, 2015 at 4:09pm
Was listed for 1 million in 2008..Owner refused offers..Now same car re-listed at 1.5 and offers rolling in.
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Emma Peel on Nov 24th, 2015 at 11:14pm
Yes... no doubt in my mind, that the HO was THE greatest Australian Car ..never to be bettered.
As to fave..? never got to own one... so can only say what I feel. FIATS .. ALFAS ? when were they ever Australian cars..?? They seem irrelevant to me in this context. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Fordy351 on Nov 25th, 2015 at 10:09am
Love my XY 351..Never sell that one.
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 25th, 2015 at 10:52am Emma wrote on Nov 24th, 2015 at 11:14pm:
It was a lancia, but anyway, my point is that if I want to buy a unreliable lemon of a car, why buy Aussie? Instead get something with some style and buy Italian. All the problems, but far better looking. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Fordy351 on Nov 25th, 2015 at 12:18pm
A LANCIA is better looking than a XY FALCON?
:-X |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Marla on Nov 25th, 2015 at 12:32pm
Those are some uglieeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee automobiles.
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 25th, 2015 at 12:39pm Fordy351 wrote on Nov 25th, 2015 at 12:18pm:
Yes. Depends on the Lancia though. The Delta wasn't a great looking Lancia, but the Integrale version would put the XY into the sun, pace wise. Montecarlo, great coupe, even better rally car in the 037. Fulvia. Stratos, Flaminia. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 25th, 2015 at 12:46pm
https://www.google.com.au/search?q=xy+gtho&tbm=isch&imgil=IUcO2-cdykEDwM%253A%253BKTYbzyUYPSIrwM%253Bhttp%25253A%25252F%25252Fwww.shannons.com.au%25252Fauctions%25252F2008-melbourne-international-motorshow-auction%25252Fford-falcon-xy-gt-sedan-2%25252F&source=iu&pf=m&fir=IUcO2-cdykEDwM%253A%252CKTYbzyUYPSIrwM%252C_&biw=1920&bih=955&usg=__-Rxhrb8Q4kaawWwlcUxgwbHKB4o%3D&ved=0ahUKEwjJoNOdx6rJAhVC4qYKHfYlB7EQyjcIMQ&ei=zCBVVsmKEMLEmwX2y5yICw#imgrc=IUcO2-cdykEDwM%3A&usg=__-Rxhrb8Q4kaawWwlcUxgwbHKB4o%3D
looking at this I'm not sure how anyone could call it pretty or a looker. Functional, tough but not really decent looking. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Fordy351 on Nov 25th, 2015 at 1:15pm
1.5 MILLION dollars only gets you into the bidding war for the GT.
It cant be that ugly if you like the Lancia. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 25th, 2015 at 1:17pm Fordy351 wrote on Nov 25th, 2015 at 1:15pm:
Which one though, theres dozens of Lancias. If however you're referring to the picture I posted that is the Delta S4 stradale, the road going version of the Delta S4. AS I said the Delta was not the prettiest Lancia. However the Delta S4 would tear strips off the XY GTHO in a road battle |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Fordy351 on Nov 25th, 2015 at 2:27pm
Ok if you like UGLY.
Obviously you like that look. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 25th, 2015 at 2:29pm Fordy351 wrote on Nov 25th, 2015 at 2:27pm:
Didnt I just say it wasnt the prettiest Lancia. But regardless in actual driving, accleration etc it would murder the XY |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Fordy351 on Nov 25th, 2015 at 2:37pm
My new Falcon would beat a standard XY circa 1971 specs.
Hell even our new Mini Cooper would give a standard 230BHP Falcon a run thru the bends.. Then again my XY isnt standard unless in a NASCAR race..680HP now with mod cons (alloy heads,MSD electronic ign,etc) increasing HP by 450 ponies. But it not about performance with old cars ,it about Street Cred and longevity.. |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 25th, 2015 at 2:41pm Fordy351 wrote on Nov 25th, 2015 at 2:37pm:
The Delta S4 is not a modern car. Plus if Aussie racing history is anything to go by, the V8 bogans crack a poo when anyone outthinks them. Godzilla anyone? |
Title: Re: Favourite Australian car? Post by Fordy351 on Nov 25th, 2015 at 3:12pm
OK ..I think you made your point clear.
Not sure anyone would agree with you but hey no sense continuing trying to convince anyone. |