General Discussion >> Thinking Globally >> China Angered By Racist Attack http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1335264327 Message started by falah on Apr 24th, 2012 at 8:45pm |
Title: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by falah on Apr 24th, 2012 at 8:45pm
'This city is so dangerous': outrage in China over Sydney train assault
A terrifying gang assault on Sydney train passengers has left two international students seriously injured and caused a media storm in China. The alleged robbery, including racist taunts, drew a social media pledge from former foreign affairs minister Kevin Rudd and led to emergency talks at Sydney's Chinese consulate general. Police said six people, aged 14 to 18, robbed passengers on a train between Central and Rockdale about 12.30am yesterday. Officers were called to Rockdale station about 15 minutes later, where they arrested three men, two aged 18 and one 19, a 14-year-old boy and two girls, aged 16 and 17. They were all charged with a number of robbery and assault offences. Yesterday's attack came just days after two safety warnings from the Chinese embassy in Canberra for citizens travelling in Australia. Many Chinese students studying in Australia have expressed their fear over growing violence directed against them. One of the victims of the attack, known as Xuan, suffered from a fractured nose and burns from a lit cigarette. The international student from China, seeking a master's degree at the University of Technology, Sydney, was travelling with a friend from Central to Rockdale when the attack happened. A translation from Xuan's blog on the Chinese social media site Weibo reads: “I really wish all of this is just a nightmare. However, the smell of blood in my mouth and body pains reminds me that this city is so dangerous. “A gang of hooligans attacked us. Our noses are fractured and our bodies are covered in blood. My friend's cheekbone was crushed. They attacked us with glass and burnt us with lit cigarettes. My face is burnt and totally disfigured! Worst of all, I really hated their racist comments. “They were calling us Asian dogs and pussies while they were beating us. When my friend tried to wipe blood from his nose, a teenaged girl stuffed my friend's mouth with her tampon removed from her pants.” Another woman passenger, who was also targeted by the thieves, allegedly told the attackers to “rob them, they are Asian and they have got money”. Xuan and his friend were treated at St George Hospital in Sydney's south-west. He said he would now take leave from study and return to China. The incident has caused outrage in the Chinese student community across the country and Xuan's initial post was re-tweeted more than 10,000 times. Thousands of Chinese students have expressed their disgust online. The incident has made headlines acrosss China, including on the popular news sites Sina News and the English language Shanghai Daily. Chinese consular officials have also publicly expressed their support for the students. Fairfax Media understands that officials met at the Consulate General in Sydney this morning to discuss the incident. Mr Rudd, a new Weibo user, told one of his online followers, writing in Chinese, that he “will try to approach the police and department of education"on behalf of the victims. This website has sought comment from Mr Rudd's office. One Sydney-based international student said: "Australia is known for its tolerance and multi-culturalism. Yet there is still a tiny minority who discriminate against the international students, especially the younger people." "You can accept people with different sexual orientations. But why can't you accept people from different cultural backgrounds?" Xuan also expressed his anger and disappointment at the lack of help from train staff and other passengers. “Though there were no police on the train, there were many other people and train staff. It even stopped once at Wolli Creek, but nobody helped us!” http://www.theage.com.au/national/this-city-is-so-dangerous-outrage-in-china-over-sydney-train-assault-20120424-1xiv4.html |
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by PZ547 on Apr 25th, 2012 at 5:12am
What's missing from this report is the nationality of the attackers
Guess that will be revealed online if it hasn't been already I'm going to scout around If the attackers were of 'middle eastern appearance' or of 'indigenous Australian appearance', or of 'Indian appearance' it needs to be told. Otherwise, 'Aussies' will be believed responsible for the attack It may be that Aussies were the attackers, in which case Chinese will recognise that not all Aussies are enamoured of the floods of foreigners within Australia, as is their right, of course and something prospective Asian students will need to take on board if they're considering coming to Oz After all, the Australian government issues warnings about travelling to other nations because of danger of assault or death Dozens of tourists to India are raped, attacked, murdered. Aussies are targets within other countries. Some return in caskets or are never recovered. Same in the US, in the UK, Israel and elsewhere What has to be remembered and noted especially by Chinese and other foreigners is the fact that while the Australian government issues invitations to foreigners, the same invitations are not necessarily supported by the majority of Australians, despite the Aussie government claims to represent Australians The Australian government is well aware of this, but attempts to suppress/silence Australians via means of the 'multiculturalism' and 'racism' ploys |
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by Mnemonic on Apr 27th, 2012 at 6:40pm PZ547 wrote on Apr 25th, 2012 at 5:12am:
Nationality doesn't really matter. What matters is that they're another bunch of reckless and insolent teenagers. If they were homeless, didn't have parents or social security, I could bribe them with charitable donations so they would not rob passengers. If they did have parents, then they're in pretty big trouble and whatever school they attend is going to have to teach them a hard lesson about bullying, decency and respect for other human beings. Schools need to teach their students not to harass people on the trains. The article didn't mention what school they attended, so maybe they're a bunch of truants. If this happened at night time, most teenagers would be out of uniform, but I doubt they'd be on trains causing trouble. They would more likely be at home doing homework or completing assignments and not fooling around on trains. Once again, these guys had to have been truants who didn't attend school. Yeah, their behaviour was racist, but "racism" isn't the underlying problem here because if these guys went to school, this would have been less likely to happen. It's truancy not racism. Teenagers need to be kept in school. If they're homeless and don't have parents, the government should have programs to provide them with a home. If they've got social security and Youth Allowance, they don't need to rob people on trains. PZ547 wrote on Apr 25th, 2012 at 5:12am:
It's pretty much the same everywhere. If you go to a foreign country, be prepared to face the dangers. I just read somewhere else in these forums that Australians who try to collect rent for property in America can expect to face the barrel of a gun. How are you going to get this naughty tenant to pay up? The trouble is you're all alone, stuck in a land of aliens and you've got no friends to help you. If you threaten legal action, the guy will kill you, you'll die and nobody will know. The naughty tenant will dump your body in a lake, nobody will ever get the rent and the world will just forget you even existed. Nobody will even notice that you're gone. :'( falah wrote on Apr 24th, 2012 at 8:45pm:
If people did nothing, then that's shameful. On Melbourne trains, we have surveillance cameras and all you have to do to activate them is press an emergency button. I hope that while the assault was taking place that someone was reporting this to security, and if Sydney trains don't have emergency buttons and surveillance cameras, then shame on Sydney. |
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by The tolerator on Apr 27th, 2012 at 7:16pm Quote:
Hmm... attackers between 14 and 18 Robbing with violence On public transport females joining in calling people "dogs" ...all the signs point to their nationality being australian. "First australians" as it were. But never mind that - since when have facts stood in the way of white guilt and overblown hand wringing about wacism? |
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by pansi1951 on Apr 28th, 2012 at 7:02am
The survival of our universities rely heavily on overseas students. We have already lost a big percentage of Indian students, if we lose Chinese students, we can all but close our universities down, or make them exclusively for external studies, that's what is keeping regional uni's afloat.
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by Rubadubadoobag on Apr 28th, 2012 at 11:58pm PZ547 wrote on Apr 25th, 2012 at 5:12am:
This post shows all the unthinking prejudice and territorial aggression that I would expect from a sub-human ape. So you're basically saying that because you and a few other apes dont like people with different coloured skin, its alright to beat and rob them and stuff used sanitary products in their mouths? You then go on to equate that with how Australians are targeted in some other countries, as if one barbarous act justified another (further underlining your ape-like, law-of-the-jungle 'reasoning'). Never mind that Australians are almost NEVER targeted on grounds of their race. In fact, in the few countries they are targeted (eg the Middle East) its because their government is invading said country. Or at most, they are assumed to be wealthy. Contrast this to the situation in Australia where people are targeted solely because of their race. That is evidently because there are a large number of unevolved ape-like criminal types like yourself that simply cannot live and let others of a different shade of skin do likewise. On a related point, the cowardice of your average white Australian is unbelievable and frankly makes me ashamed. I have seen no less than three incidents of racial abuse on public transport in the last two years and each time (as a relatively slightly built male) I was the only one who intervened while everyone just pretended not to see what was going on. Bet if they had been the ones being harrassed, they would have reacted just like the female passenger in this story ('no, go after them, they're black/Asian/whatever'). Just goes to show that what happened in Nazi Germany could easily happen here. In any case, what they should do, rather than post the race of these attackers (so that morons like that quoted above can bad mouth the Aborigines or whoever), is to post their names, like people accused of rape. I fancy that would be the last time they committed any racial attacks or robberies. |
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by chimera on Apr 29th, 2012 at 12:04am
So if non-Europeans did it, they should be identified and criticised.
If Europeans did it, they are excused and within their rights, says PZ547. Sadly that's a 250 year old story of Oz. |
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by pansi1951 on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:20am
Good post Rubadubadoobag,
"further underlining your ape-like, law-of-the-jungle 'reasoning'" They haven't evolved sufficiently. They are the small minded crowd that haven't stepped out of their street for 50 odd years. I've never met a person who has done any travelling to have the racist gene, except for Hadley and Jones, but they have to say what they say for their radio contract, I doubt even they believe half the crap that comes out of their mouths. They've got a good following of narrow minded zombies. |
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by PZ547 on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:45am
Lol -- I've been in a real Aussie forum for the past few days, unlike the rest of you, apparently
As to the sanctimonious finger-wagging --- save it We've been subjected to Mick Mundine's mindless, divisive rants ever since 1% abo DNA grubs ran down two pedestrians in a stolen car whilst under the influence of numerous substances Next, we're subjected to a very phony sounding beat-up re: racism against Asians All running according to plan by those morons over in Tel Aviv who believe that because Australia is physically 'big' (their favourite number) they can fill it with rabble and profit from any number of their established squeezing stones dry tactics. And all aided by their whore media No. I do not accept that white Australians instigated the attack (which itself is under considerable doubt by majority Aussies in OTHER, far larger and far, far more well patronized fora) And how surprising that none of you here have commented about the involvement of Rudd in this hotly disputed 'racist attack' instead of the guy who is supposed to be our minister of foreign affairs -- Carr. Lol So for those of you who never venture further than this little forum (where you feel like big fish in a very small tank) ... be aware that the attack itself is looking very like fiction to the majority Aussies Fiction and media beatup to what purpose, you ask. Well, maybe (and the majority are of this opinion) it's media-whore Rudd's attempt to scrabble back into the limelight which is currently being monopolised by various Labor scumbags? Meanwhile, how selective is China's alleged 'outrage', huh ? Why aren't they outraged about the Chinese criminal gangs running protection rackets in Chinatown against their own ? Not as if the media hasn't publicised the attacks, murders, arsons, beatings, etc. And why aren't the Chinese 'outraged' about the protection rackets being run by gangs of cowardly Chinese against children and other members of the host nation, which is still named Australia, incidentally, although possibly subject to future change Why aren't the Chinese 'outraged' by the slave-prostitution rackets being run out of China and IN Australia by criminal scum Chinese ? And why aren't the Chinese guilty about the fact Chinese students buy their degrees from Australia's most prestigious universities and TAFEs, as revealed several times by the Sydney Morning Herald and tv documentaries featuring whistle-blowing university professors who discovered the scam is operating in Wollongong and other universities ? So much to be 'outraged' about, resulting in hand wringing and other phony sentiment by posters in this little forum about a far from established 'racist attack', lol No wonder you congregate here. You wouldn't stand a chance in hell anywhere else |
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by muso on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:46am
The little bastards need to be sent out to a cattle station (not all at the same one) to do some real work and to be taught some self-discipline. These little bogans are harming our reputation worldwide. It's difficult enough to attract overseas students, or their parents to part with their money as it is, with the high exchange rate of the Australian dollar. Overseas students are subsidising our universities in a way. They are important to our education system.
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by blackadder on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:50am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:20am:
When have you MEET Hadley and Jones pansi? You can't count as meeting them when they walked past when you were in the knuckle dragging enclosure at Alma Park Zoo....or was that you in the snake pit. |
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by PZ547 on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:51am muso wrote on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:46am:
Who, the Chinese Pay for Degree student contingent ? Or do you mean the Chinese criminals destroying this nation with their various violent protection rackets ? Perhaps you mean the burgeoning Chinese prostitution rackets involving sex-slaves ? No ? Maybe you mean the criminal Chinese gangs who extort money from Australian students at railway stations ? Whatever the case, I agree with you I've never seen why the Aussie public tolerate millions of Chinese forming non-English speaking ghettos in Australian cities It should be mandatory that not only are they fluent in English before applying to come to Australia but they should also be required to work for a minimum of five years in the rural sector, contributing and building our nation, prior to being allowed to move to Australian cities and towns |
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by pansi1951 on Apr 29th, 2012 at 8:32am blackadder wrote on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:50am:
I was in a cubicle at the public toilets and........you can guess the rest. And for God sake drag that grammar book out and do some revision. |
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by chimera on Apr 29th, 2012 at 8:33am
Now you're talking. The millions of Chinese seducing blue-eyed genes in Sydney opium dens need rounding up by blue-shirts and sent by rail cattle-wagons to pick cotton.
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by Morning Mist on Apr 29th, 2012 at 1:11pm Quote:
You start out stating that it's ape-like to judge others on skin colour then go onto make a whole heap of negative generalizations about white people. Only in lefty land can such hypocrisy exist. |
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by muso on Apr 29th, 2012 at 1:20pm PZ547 wrote on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:51am:
I don't know about Sydney, but lately in Brisbane the majority of OS students seem to come from Korea. Wherever they come from, their parents pay big dollars for the education, and it adds to the economy and improves the facilities our universities can offer. |
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by Mnemonic on Apr 29th, 2012 at 3:34pm PZ547 wrote on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:45am:
So what exactly makes a forum "real Aussie?" We may not be your kind of "Aussie," but still "Aussie" -- just the garden variety. I don't believe we all have to be the boisterous and flamboyant "Aussie, Aussie, Aussie, oi, oi, oi" flag-waving and "G'Day, mate" greeting kind. PZ547 wrote on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:45am:
What does Israel have to do with this? PZ547 wrote on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:45am:
White Australians are statistically more likely to have been involved in the attack because they're the majority, but like I said, ethnicity isn't even the problem here. Look at the age group of these people: 14 to 18. These kids should have been at home doing their homework and completing assignments, not mucking around and beating and robbing people on trains. For them to pick on Asians, they had to be an uneducated and unsophisticated group of people. PZ547 wrote on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:45am:
What Kevin Rudd did is really of little consequence but just the usual PR stuff. PZ547 wrote on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:45am:
Fiction? Really? You think this is all made up? It's really disturbing when someone starts denying that "bad stuff" happens in a society, like claiming that nobody steals, nobody lies, nobody cheats on their spouse and that everyone is a model citizen and could never do anything wrong. What kind of utopia do you live in? It's starting to sound like the movie, "The Invention of Lying" where everyone (except the protagonist) always tells the truth. To put it another way, it's like saying Christians don't cheat on their spouses, don't get divorced, don't fornicate or masturbate and don't abuse children (which of course isn't true). Having said that, I don't think you know any more than the rest of us what the majority of Australians really think. You sound like you're one of those people who think "my group is always right" or "my group never does anything wrong." It's always someone else, never your own. I think you've got an overly-idealised view of what an "Australian" is. Look what happened in 2008. The Chinese couldn't believe what was happening in Tibet. You're just like those guys. You must live in some ivory tower. PZ547 wrote on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:45am:
I was certainly thinking that those people over there have no idea how this country actually works. PZ547 wrote on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:45am:
What about the Melbourne gangland murders? Carl Williams? Jason Moran? The crimes that were explored in the TV series Underbelly? To think that the locals don't have any violent or criminal tendencies, you'd have to be underestimating them somehow. PZ547 wrote on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:45am:
I don't doubt that it happens, but let's not start thinking it's a distinctively Chinese trait. Otherwise, you're going to start sounding like Pauline Hanson. PZ547 wrote on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:45am:
Like I said, it's just another bunch of reckless and insolent teenagers who should be at home doing homework and not robbing people on trains. Who is to blame for this? Are these people homeless? Don't they have any social security? What are their parents doing? If you start denying that this is even happening, you stop society from solving the problem. Homelessness, unemployment, disenfranchisement, truancy, lack of education, dysfunctional families -- if it's not racism it's these things. That's the reason why people get robbed on trains. |
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by Mnemonic on Apr 29th, 2012 at 3:35pm PZ547 wrote on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:51am:
Most of the people who ever asked me for money on the public transport system were not Chinese. PZ547 wrote on Apr 29th, 2012 at 7:51am:
I don't want to see ghettos either, but it's not like they all live in ghettos. Millions? I don't think there's that many Chinese people in Australia. Look at this, it's only 3.37% of the population: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demographics_of_Australia#Ancestry_of_Australian_population It's more like 770,000. |
Title: Re: China Angered By Racist Attack Post by LifeMasque on Apr 30th, 2012 at 6:34pm
So we are supposed to have perfect control over our violent teens are we? News to me. Do they have this in China (without using tanks)?
DO I feel we should be publicly abasing ourselves on the world education market for the actions of some unruly and possibly drug affected teens? HELL NO! Two or three of the attacks on Indian students were by other Indians, but this was not widely reported here, and I dare say not at all in India. They can burn all the friggin effagies they like. |