General Discussion >> General Board >> More jobs to go as food company closes down http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1344561592 Message started by thelastnail on Aug 10th, 2012 at 11:19am |
Title: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by thelastnail on Aug 10th, 2012 at 11:19am
More manufacturing jobs going offshore !! When will it end ?
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2012-08-09/more-jobs-to-go-as-food-company-closes-down/4188770 Quote:
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by imcrookonit on Aug 10th, 2012 at 11:29am
Yes nail, where will it end?. Now we have the liberal premiers, planing on sacking thousands of public servants. All well and good I hear the liberals say, in order to cut debt. Except where are these people supposed to go?. No one really thinks of that, do they?. :(
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by thelastnail on Aug 10th, 2012 at 12:13pm
According to the pollies we have a surprisingly strong jobs growth (in china) :D LOL
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by pansi1951 on Aug 10th, 2012 at 12:26pm wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 11:29am:
I daresay it crosses their minds at odd times, but they brush it aside because they don't really care. As soon as the general public wake up to the fact that the politicians are not there to give them any comforts, the better. In other words, they don't care! |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 10th, 2012 at 12:29pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 12:26pm:
So kinda like you and Asia's human rights violations? |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by thelastnail on Aug 10th, 2012 at 12:38pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 12:29pm:
Weren't you boasting about closing up factories here and shipping them off over to china where they have those human rights abuse ? |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 10th, 2012 at 12:42pm Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 12:38pm:
Nope not me mate. We re-engineering supply chain and moved preliminary manufacture of Pharma to India under a project I did. China was not considered - mainly because the Government basically told us how many people we had to employ and who! India was much more suitable. We didn't close plants - we moved divisions out that were more suited to be done elsewhere than Australia. Hope that clears it up. But just as a reminder - we saved over US$13m per year in OpEx. |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by Prevailing on Aug 10th, 2012 at 1:02pm
Hey lets all us Aussie citizens get together with these workers and target and sue sue Julia Gillard for destroying these jobs maliciously by failing to uphold their constitutional right to economic security and free customs... :) :)
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by Shane B on Aug 10th, 2012 at 1:20pm
Shame Gillard.
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by thelastnail on Aug 10th, 2012 at 1:25pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 12:42pm:
so what about those battlers jobs you scratched away ?? which hat do you have on today :( |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 10th, 2012 at 1:31pm
Those battlers received 2 weeks redundancy per year of service, plus their leave, plus their notice.
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by thelastnail on Aug 10th, 2012 at 1:36pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 1:31pm:
but how many lost their home because they couldn't make their payments ? Did you or your boss with the flashy lexus car and house in brighton consider that ? and what about a regular income ?? what do you expect them to do now ?? |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 10th, 2012 at 1:38pm
Mate they were looked after, thats all there is to it.
I am sure they are fine. |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by thelastnail on Aug 10th, 2012 at 1:49pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 1:38pm:
how can they be alright when you have taken away their job security ? |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 10th, 2012 at 1:57pm Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 1:49pm:
Jobs are re-structured, companies are re-structured. Its a fact of life. |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by Doctor Jolly on Aug 10th, 2012 at 2:09pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 1:38pm:
To Andrei, people are just another resource like a photo copier. You replace it, you forget about it. |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by thelastnail on Aug 10th, 2012 at 2:12pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 1:57pm:
so the jobs that are sent overseas are magically replaced by new jobs !! yeh right :( |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by Prevailing on Aug 10th, 2012 at 2:16pm
We can sue them for everything they have for using the Parliament to engineer the destruction of jobs - Gillard, Rudd, Abbott, Reith, Hawke, Keating, Howard - we can sue them all and get their pensions cancelled if we act and target them with lawsuits...
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by aquascoot on Aug 10th, 2012 at 2:19pm Doctor Jolly wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 2:09pm:
sad but true, aussies cant on the one hand demand cheaper goods from asia (when was the last tv set made in OZ) and on the other hand jump up and down when the world labour market is now globalized. you cant have the benefits without the pain. the ONLY way forward, short of matching asian labour rates is to BECOME A BETTER PHOTOCOPIER. these jobs will never come in manufacturing, sorry i lie, these jobs will come back to the manufacturing sector when asian wages (and standards of living ) are higher than ours. that is , if you want to compete on manufacturing an economic certainty. now go put on your indian made clothes, hop in your mazda 3 (now australias top selling car), get out your samsung phone, and drink your foreign owned coke or pepsi at your foreign owned fast food outlet OR wake up and start working together with employers (yes workchoices or happy workplaces or whatever) before you end up like spain with 60 % youth unemployment. and dont expect rio and bhp to save you. check out rio tinto's fleet of gps controlled trucks now operating in south africa with NO driver aboard to be honest prevailing endless suggestions are more likely to succeed than a fight between bosses and workers |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by Prevailing on Aug 10th, 2012 at 2:21pm
Lets sue the pollies for willful lawlessness.... :) :)
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by aquascoot on Aug 10th, 2012 at 2:24pm Prevailing wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 2:21pm:
prevailing, i'm hoping you never become my neighbour, especially if we have a fence dispute :) |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by thelastnail on Aug 10th, 2012 at 2:27pm aquascoot wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 2:19pm:
try telling that to the Germans which use a highly unionised work force and have their OWN car companies flogging premium quality cars all over the world !! The key point here is to innovate and stay ahead of the pack with innovation rather than compete on low labour cost commodity items with slim profit margins. It also doesn't help to keep throwing good money after bad at foreign car companies which are not the least bit interested in innovation :( |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by Prevailing on Aug 10th, 2012 at 2:31pm aquascoot wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 2:24pm:
Yes but you have to admit that the pollies sense of entitlement to wield summary legislative power is off the charts and citizens need to take legal action to defend themselves from other greedy malicious citizens abuse of power and dictatorship... :) :) |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by aquascoot on Aug 10th, 2012 at 3:30pm Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 2:27pm:
a reasonably good point but we have 2 major disadvantages 1 they are part of the euro and so their currency is held artificially low, allowing them to compete with the lazy mediterraneans. watch there industries come under pressure if the euro collapses. 2 we have natural resources. this creates the dutch effect (look it up in wickipedia) but basicly causes our dollar to rise with commodity production and ruin every other trading industry (including tourism i mite add. if you look at all the nations doing very well they often have no resources at all except their people, check out average annual incomes for singapore ( a bit of dirt) taiwan (a bit of rock) japan ( though they have stuffed thing up through government debt) switzerland ( some ice) finland and sweden (home of the nokia's ericksons, etc etc) anyway. take the mineral rent tax and put it all into creating the best universities you can. stop wasting money on assylum seekers ($200,000 each per year) if they're coming, mite as well use em, they could dig the nbn trenches. and stop all this negative useless garbage coming out of the board of directors of australia inc (ie the federal parliament :D) put a media ban on them or get prevailing to lock them all up |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by hawil on Aug 10th, 2012 at 3:46pm wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 11:29am:
Has Bill Bonner all the answers? Regards, Bill Bonner for The Daily Reckoning Australia That's what's nice about living in Argentina," said Rob, a colleague. "Everything is so obvious. They don't have these LTRO and the Twist programmes... They're much more blatant... and in-your-face about it. It's like a machine with the housing removed. You can see the gears turning. You can see how it really works. "They literally print money. They need money to pay government workers. So they print pieces of paper. That's why the inflation rate in Argentina is already about 35%... and it's why the country is headed for another crisis. You can't have inflation rates that high without destabilising the economy. It should start breaking down soon." Will this money printing by the Argentinians make their economy work better? Will the Argentinians be richer, happier, more prosperous as a result? You don't think so? What's the matter with you? You must not have studied economics! I reckon there would be a higher chance of success if a country did three or four things: 1. Slash government spending (eg reduce government payrolls by 20% over three to five years). 2. Cut personal and business taxes (and fund the short-term shortfall with debt). 3. Slash regulation that gets in the way of business and everyday life (employment law, licensing, reporting, tax reporting, health and safety etc etc). Give existing businesses more time to focus on making money. Make it easier for new entrepreneurs to get started. Improve the chances of private sector growth. 4. Keep interest rates low while the debt burden is worked off." Unfortunately steps 2 and 3 are mostly or completely non-existent or even going the other way. And step 1 is non-existent in the US, which gives the illusion of a stronger economy in the short term, but the debt continues to grow at a scary rate. The key to getting out of this global mess is private sector growth, not governments continuing to suck money out of the private domain. The biggest nonsense I,ve ever read, considering the youth unemployment in the world. |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by thelastnail on Aug 10th, 2012 at 11:09pm aquascoot wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 3:30pm:
"their currency is artificially low" ?? WTF !! have you seen the cost of Mercs and Beemas here lately ?? Even the entry level stuff is expensive and yet it still sells here :( Sorry that excuse just doesn't cut it !! |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by Prevailing on Aug 10th, 2012 at 11:20pm
They want us to eat GMO Monsanto - I wont eat corporate crap - they do stuff to that crap to feed the starving millions...I produce as much of my own organic food as I can... :) :)
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 10th, 2012 at 11:59pm
The only jobs we'll have left is for call girls to polish Chinese rockets.
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by Prevailing on Aug 11th, 2012 at 12:25am
Happy trails for them paying all those sacked workers their constitutional economic entitlements - we will sue their freakin 'rse off - oh and we wont be letting the corporate frankenstein in on our own little trading economies either - they can rot in hell, they are not lawful constitutional authority... :) :)
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by aquascoot on Aug 11th, 2012 at 6:28am Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 10th, 2012 at 11:09pm:
The German currency at the moment is the euro. This has taken a plunge due to the debts incurred in the Greece,Italy,Spain Portugal etc countries. If these countries were to leave the euro. The German would possibly end up back with a very high deutche Marc and their exports would plunge. They know that to keep their exports cheap they have to pour billions ,possibly trillions of euros into bailouts of their southern neighbors, thus they really are almost cheating Australian type countries which have a floating dollar. The Chinese also do not float their currency, it is pegged to whatever % of the US dollar their central authorities choose. With a plunging US dollar, again due to debt, their is no way we can compete with china, we are priced out of the market, Debt is the kicker, euro debt and US government debt. These countries are effectively bankrupt. They cannot turn to their own governments to stimulate and employ the youth as public servants, in fact they are sacking the public sector like there is no tomorrow, they cannot get investment except from their mortgagee in possession lenders, Thus Germany keeps lending to the south because they already owe them trillions. China and the oil states keep lending to the US because they already owe them trillions, The whole system will unravel soon and debt will be seen as the culprit. Australia if it is wise will keep it's head down, not waste money on silly things, work hard, educate ourselves and conserve our food water and to some extent manufacturing sectors thru moderate targeted subsidies. I think for example we do need a car industry But we will probably just waste this opportunity with cash splashes and electoral bribes like we usually do ;) ;) :D |
Title: Re: More jobs to go as food company closes down Post by Prevailing on Aug 11th, 2012 at 11:33am
Small local producers can sell their own goods directly to the market without an ABN & Tax free and there is nothing Monsanto, big farming, coles or woolworths can do about it-we will sue their freakin' fascist 'rses off... :) :)