Member Run Boards >> Health and Welfare >> The Dole Is Too Low - A New Report Says.
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1346013407

Message started by imcrookonit on Aug 27th, 2012 at 6:36am

Title: The Dole Is Too Low - A New Report Says.
Post by imcrookonit on Aug 27th, 2012 at 6:36am
Dole's far too low: report

Date
    August 27, 2012

THE federal government has been urged to raise the dole amid warnings it is falling well behind other welfare payments.     :-?

A report prepared by the National Centre for Social and Economic Modelling for church welfare agencies says the government has been sitting on advice since 2009 that there were growing inequalities between the dole and other government allowances.     :(

''The unemployment benefit in Australia is particularly low, especially for singles,'' says the report, to be released today.

''The Newstart allowance and Youth Allowance job seeker payment rates are indexed to the Australian Bureau of Statistics Consumer Price Index which is consistently lower than average household incomes growth and ensures that these households continue to slide further behind the rest of the community in terms of economic resources and opportunities''.

The 2009 Henry Review recommended job seeker allowances be raised, also arguing there was growing inequality between the dole and other government pensions.     :(

Singles with no children who receive the Newstart allowance are eligible for $244 a week, plus a possible $60.10 a week in rental assistance. This compares with the average male weekly earning of $1298. After basics are paid for, Newstart recipients have an average of $22 a day discretionary money.

A Senate committee will this week hold public hearings on the adequacy of Newstart. The inquiry was sparked by Greens senator Rachel Siewert, who lived for a week on the equivalent of the dole.

''We know that over 60 per cent of people who receive Newstart are on the payment for more than 12 months,'' Senator Siewert said. ''Newstart remains more than $130 per week below the poverty line.''    

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/opinion/political-news/doles-far-too-low-report-20120826-24ulk.html#ixzz24gbRFpqI

Title: Re: The Dole Is Too Low - A New Report Says.
Post by Kat on Aug 27th, 2012 at 7:35am

Seen those Senate submissions yet, Imcrook?

There's a link in the 'sticky'....:-)

Overwhelming support for an increase and a better deal all-round.

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 27th, 2012 at 10:56am

Kat wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 7:35am:

"deals" imply that you're giving something in return.  A negotiation with mutual benefits, rather than rattling your cup.

You'll have to explain to me - how is giving more for nothing in return a better deal all round?

Post by muso on Aug 27th, 2012 at 4:44pm
OK, Let's put it to the vote.

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 27th, 2012 at 4:46pm

... wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 10:56am:

"deals" imply that you're giving something in return.  A negotiation with mutual benefits, rather than rattling your cup.

You'll have to explain to me - how is giving more for nothing in return a better deal all round?

so people not starving to death is not a positive?

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 27th, 2012 at 4:50pm

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 4:46pm:

Depends what people.   8-)

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 27th, 2012 at 4:51pm

''We know that over 60 per cent of people who receive Newstart are on the payment for more than 12 months,'' Senator Siewert said.

So much for bludgers being a "tiny minority" eh?

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 27th, 2012 at 4:52pm

... wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 4:50pm:

so you support eugenics?

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 27th, 2012 at 4:56pm

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 4:52pm:

so you support eugenics?

Eugenics suggests an outside entity consciously working to a specific goal.

I support non-intervention.  Ie water finding it's own level.  If a few deadshits should find the challenge of feeding themselves insurmountable, I say good riddance.  Survival of the fittest innit?

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:00pm

... wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 4:56pm:

so you support eugenics?

I support non-intervention.  Ie water finding it's own level.  If a few deadshits should find the challenge of feeding themselves insurmountable, I say good riddance.  Survival of the fittest innit?

unless its you of course

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:02pm

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:00pm:

so you support eugenics?

unless its you of course

Sure.  But seeing as how I'm way ahead of the curve by any metric you choose, it's not likely to be me.  I'm tired of being "scaled" down by my inferiors. 

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:06pm

... wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:02pm:

so you support eugenics?

unless its you of course

Sure.  But seeing as how I'm way ahead of the curve by any metric you choose, it's not likely to be me.  I'm tired of being "scaled" down by my inferiors. 

the financial system is an easy game and people should have the choice not to play without starving to death

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:16pm

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:06pm:

so you support eugenics?

unless its you of course

the financial system is an easy game and people should have the choice not to play without starving to death

Yep, well rattling your tin cup isn't helping.

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:17pm

... wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:16pm:

so you support eugenics?

unless its you of course

paying tax aint helping

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:21pm

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:17pm:

so you support eugenics?

unless its you of course

paying tax aint helping

Sure isn't helping me, I know.
I didn't ask to pay to support your worthless hide.  Unfortunately, if I don't, I get thrown in prison, leaving my own dependants in need.  Consider yourself fortunate. 

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:25pm

:'(

Unfortunately, if I don't, I get thrown in prison
better than starving to death i suppose

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:36pm
What is it with you clowns and "starving to death" as though that's the only possible outcome? 

Take a leaf out of Hnery Fords book:

If money is your hope for independence you will never have it. The only real security that a man will have in this world is a reserve of knowledge, experience, and ability.

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:40pm

... wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:36pm:
What is it with you clowns and "starving to death" as though that's the only possible outcome? 

Take a leaf out of Hnery Fords book:

If money is your hope for independence you will never have it. The only real security that a man will have in this world is a reserve of knowledge, experience, and ability.

people without knowledge have the same right to not to starve to death

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:42pm
Do they?  Where is this "right" enshrined?

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:48pm

... wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:42pm:

so you are saying its legal for a private system to starve innocent people ?

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:49pm

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:48pm:

How about you answer a question for once? 

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 27th, 2012 at 6:13pm

... wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:49pm:

it is a right that another may not impede your life

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 27th, 2012 at 6:21pm

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 6:13pm:

I see.  And how/where is that "right" enshrined?

And wouldn't it be more fitting that bludgers are impeding me, by requring me to work to support them

There you have it - welfare violates my human rights.

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 27th, 2012 at 6:26pm

... wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 6:21pm:

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 6:13pm:

I see.  And how/where is that "right" enshrined?

And wouldn't it be more fitting that bludgers are impeding me, by requring me to work to support them

There you have it - welfare violates my human rights.

it is a right because it is illegal too do so.the system is the one that has impeded on them first.. you have the right to reject the system too you know

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 27th, 2012 at 6:27pm
I don't know why I waste my time with you.

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 27th, 2012 at 6:28pm

... wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 6:27pm:
I don't know why I waste my time with you.

if i was wrong you wouldn't have a problem addressing the point at hand would you

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 27th, 2012 at 7:02pm
Well here's your first test as moderator Kat.

Do you think you can get discussion - any discussion - with this idiot taking it off on these nonsensical tangents?

A dilemma.  What do you do?  What DO you DO?

Post by Spot of Borg on Aug 28th, 2012 at 5:57am

... wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:21pm:

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 27th, 2012 at 5:17pm:

so you support eugenics?

unless its you of course

paying tax aint helping

I didn't ask to pay to support your worthless hide.  Unfortunately, if I don't, I get thrown in prison, leaving my own dependants in need.  Consider yourself fortunate. 

Do you know how much of your tax goes towards the dole? Hmmm?

Post by pansi1951 on Aug 28th, 2012 at 8:24am
Shorten says no dole increase.

He also said "I'm finding it tough on $330,000"

(no wonder he wouldn't pay $4.80 for a sloshy microwave pie)

The unemployed must feel such empathy towards him, maybe they should put collection boxes at Centrelink.

Post by Kat on Aug 28th, 2012 at 9:25am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Aug 28th, 2012 at 8:24am:
Shorten says no dole increase.

He also said "I'm finding it tough on $330,000"

(no wonder he wouldn't pay $4.80 for a sloshy microwave pie)

The unemployed must feel such empathy towards him, maybe they should put collection boxes at Centrelink.

My heart bleeds for him, Pansi....(not!).

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 28th, 2012 at 10:22am
How about a compromise.

Raise the dole by $50 a week, but apply a time limit of 12 months.  No long term bludgers extracting welfare from cradle to the grave.

Post by BigOl64 on Aug 28th, 2012 at 10:29am

... wrote on Aug 28th, 2012 at 10:22am:
How about a compromise.

Raise the dole by $50 a week, but apply a time limit of 12 months.  No long term bludgers extracting welfare from cradle to the grave.

Since we have one of the few if not the only cradle to grave welfare systems in the world, probably a good idea.

Those scumbags bludging on the rest of us can either get a job or starve; the ones who use it as it was intended, a temporary assistance between jobs, will benefit for the increase.

Post by imcrookonit on Aug 29th, 2012 at 7:50am
Wrong way to go.  Hands up all the unemployed, that know how long they will be out of work?.  Unemployment can be anything from a few days, to a few years.  There may even be some people, that may never work again.  Yes raise the dole $50 a week, as it is far too low.  However putting a time limit on it should not come into it.     :(

Post by BigOl64 on Aug 29th, 2012 at 8:04am

Yes, something every Aussie taxpayer can be proud of, cradle to grave generational welfare.

How about, NO

You have a job or you are in education to get a job, you are not sitting around finding new and exiting excuses why you can't get a job.

Post by Kat on Aug 29th, 2012 at 8:07am
I don't have a link, but just heard on Sunrise that Rachel
Siewart (the Greens member who tried to live on the dole
and couldn't) has challenged members of the Govt to do
likewise.

Bet she doesn't get many takers....  >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 29th, 2012 at 9:48am

BigOl64 wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 8:04am:
Yes, something every Aussie taxpayer can be proud of, cradle to grave generational welfare.

How about, NO

You have a job or you are in education to get a job, you are not sitting around finding new and exiting excuses why you can't get a job.

What about for vets?

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 29th, 2012 at 9:55am

Kat wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 8:07am:
likewise.

Love it.  She went for ONE WEEK on $245, so now she thinks she's some kind of messiah. 

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 29th, 2012 at 9:58am

... wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 9:55am:

Kat wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 8:07am:
likewise.

Love it.  She went for ONE WEEK on $245, so now she thinks she's some kind of messiah. 

Well she is one part closer to being a messiah then any other politician isn't she.

Post by BigOl64 on Aug 29th, 2012 at 10:27am

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 9:48am:

How about, NO

What about for vets?

I presume you mean veterans?

Well my disability entitlement for injuries I sustained during my service is a total of $15 per fortnight and if it occurred in a civilian job i would have full DSP.

So don't get too excited by the 'benefits' of veterans; our entitlements makes the dole look like a pollies pension.

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 29th, 2012 at 10:45am

BigOl64 wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 10:27am:

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 9:48am:

How about, NO

What about for vets?

I presume you mean veterans?

Well my disability entitlement for injuries I sustained during my service is a total of $15 per fortnight and if it occurred in a civilian job i would have full DSP.

So don't get too excited by the 'benefits' of veterans; our entitlements makes the dole look like a pollies pension.

If you don't support welfare for others why should we support it for you?

Post by BigOl64 on Aug 29th, 2012 at 11:04am

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 10:45am:
If you don't support welfare for others why should we support it for you?

I couldn't care less if you did or didn't.

The one thing I learned very quickly when I left the RAAF, you better look after to yourself and not rely on anyone. If the government takes my measly $15 it's not like Im going to starve now is it?

BTW, i never said i don't support welfare for others; I said I don't support cradle to grave generational welfare. A small but very important difference.

Increase the dole by all means, remove cradle to grave welfare.

You have 12 months to get your sh1t together and then that's it. Extrinsic motivation does work for most people.

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 29th, 2012 at 11:13am
But shouldn't people have the right not to participate in the system without starving to death?
Just like you chose to participate in the system without starving to death.

Post by BigOl64 on Aug 29th, 2012 at 11:24am

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 11:13am:
But shouldn't people have the right not to participate in the system without starving to death?

Absolutely not; babies are spoon fed, adults feed themselves.

Behaving like a grubby little parasite is not a right; not in this country or anyone else's

If you want to sit on your arse all day, fine, but don't expect me to pay you for the privilege.

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 29th, 2012 at 11:30am

BigOl64 wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 11:24am:

Behaving like a grubby little parasite is not a right; not in this country or anyone else's

If you want to sit on your arse all day, fine, but don't expect me to pay you for the privilege.

Most people wouldn't be 'parasites' if they didn't have too, why should people starve if they do not want to be a part of your system?
Would you be happy if you starved because of my system?

Post by BigOl64 on Aug 29th, 2012 at 11:37am

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 11:30am:

Most people wouldn't be 'parasites' if they didn't have too, why should people starve if they do not want to be a part of your system?

My system?  The one of mutual obligation and participation.

Yeah it's the worst.

Your system of requiring nothing of anyone, where a life of welfare is an acceptable existence is doomed to failure.

The world does not owe you or me anything; if you want or need something get it yourself, like a normal adult.

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 29th, 2012 at 11:41am

BigOl64 wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 11:37am:

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 11:30am:

My system?  The one of mutual obligation and participation.

Yeah it's the worst.

Your system of requiring nothing of anyone, where a life of welfare is an acceptable existence is doomed to failure.

The world does not owe you or me anything; if you want or need something get it yourself, like a normal adult.
Your system, the one where mutual obligation is forced on you by a financial system and participation for a world where you and your loved ones will get phuked over every step of the way so a minute few can benefit.

Yeah its the best.

That system is only doomed to failure because of your system which makes self efficiency impossible without large amounts of fiscal denominations.

The world owes me nothing but your system does.

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 29th, 2012 at 11:47am

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 11:41am:

And that attitude is why THIS - picking fights about nonsense on internet forums all day, every day - is the pinnacle of your existence. 

Nobody owes you poo - it's your life, do something with it, or STFU.

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 29th, 2012 at 11:52am

... wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 11:47am:

And that attitude is why THIS - picking fights about nonsense on internet forums all day, every day - is the pinnacle of your existence. 

Nobody owes you poo - it's your life, do something with it, or STFU.

You are the only one picking fights aren't you.

I am doing what I want with it and I do not care if it doesn't please you.

Go back to the other thread where you have been defeated if you have any balls.

Post by BigOl64 on Aug 29th, 2012 at 12:11pm

Your system, the one where mutual obligation is forced on you by a financial system and participation for a world where you and your loved ones will get phuked over every step of the way so a minute few can benefit.

Yeah its the best.

That system is only doomed to failure because of your system which makes self efficiency impossible without large amounts of fiscal denominations.

Looks like some one's Mangina is getting cramps.

Go buy a few cans of Selley's No More Tears and a 40 kg bag of Harden the bugger Up, you're not making any sense, it's all just whiny gibberish.

And after that get a friggen job ya loser

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 29th, 2012 at 12:18pm

BigOl64 wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 12:11pm:

Yeah its the best.

Looks like some one's Mangina is getting cramps.

Go buy a few cans of Selley's No More Tears and a 40 kg bag of Harden the bugger Up, you're not making any sense, it's all just whiny gibberish.

And after that get a friggen job ya loser
If you don't understand it then you shouldn't be making an argument about it.

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 29th, 2012 at 12:20pm
The financial system is not an organic being, it is a human creation, a private enterprise.. and in a democracy you should have the right not to participate without being starved to death.

Post by BigOl64 on Aug 29th, 2012 at 12:36pm

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 12:20pm:
The financial system is not an organic being, it is a human creation, a private enterprise.. and in a democracy you should have the right not to participate without being starved to death.

You do have the right to not participate.

You should not have the right to have everyone else participate to fund your bludging lifestyle.

If you don't want to starve to death then you best get some survival skills, then.

I am sick to death of friggen parasites who believe that making me work to fund their parasitic life is acceptable.

Well I say, bugger YOU! Look after yourself for a change.

BTW being a bludging parasite has nothing at all to do with a democracy.

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 29th, 2012 at 12:51pm

BigOl64 wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 12:36pm:

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 12:20pm:

You do have the right to not participate.

You should not have the right to have everyone else participate to fund your bludging lifestyle.

If you don't want to starve to death then you best get some survival skills, then.

I am sick to death of friggen parasites who believe that making me work to fund their parasitic life is acceptable.

Well I say, bugger YOU! Look after yourself for a change.

BTW being a bludging parasite has nothing at all to do with a democracy.
Except that if I don't participate, I starve to death.
They wouldn't need to if their lifestyle wasn't causing people to starve to death.

If you think its acceptable for your way of live to starve people then you are clearly a psychopath.

Your ignorance, hatred and lack of knowledge is outstanding but sadly not surprising as I have come to know that you are incapable of thinking for yourself.

Post by BigOl64 on Aug 29th, 2012 at 1:10pm

bobbythefap1 wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 12:51pm:
Except that if I don't participate, I starve to death.
They wouldn't need to if their lifestyle wasn't causing people to starve to death.

If you think its acceptable for your way of live to starve people then you are clearly a psychopath.

Your ignorance, hatred and lack of knowledge is outstanding but sadly not surprising as I have come to know that you are incapable of thinking for yourself.

You're becoming disengaged from reality here. So to end this inane conversation; don't panic Australia will continue to babysit the cradle to grave, dole parasites, regardless of what I think.

Just go through life with your hand out and some dumb schmuck (Australian Taxpayer) will put money in it for you.

Post by Kat on Aug 29th, 2012 at 3:33pm
Did you know that actual, school-leaver-to-pension 'dole-bludgers' such as
are so joyfully portrayed on tabloid TV are virtually non-existent in reality.

In over 35 years, I've only ever met ONE.

If governments and the media continue to push the 'dole-bludger' rhetoric,
they deserve to be brought to account over it, JUST as if they were pushing
racism or sexism.

In fact, more than a few Enquiry submissions address exactly that issue.

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 29th, 2012 at 3:48pm

Kat wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 3:33pm:
Did you know that actual, school-leaver-to-pension 'dole-bludgers' such as
are so joyfully portrayed on tabloid TV are virtually non-existent in reality.

In over 35 years, I've only ever met ONE.

If governments and the media continue to push the 'dole-bludger' rhetoric,
they deserve to be brought to account over it, JUST as if they were pushing
racism or sexism.

In fact, more than a few Enquiry submissions address exactly that issue.

I've met a few - and I've purposely avoided meeting 10x more. 

Thing is, we both agree they DO exist.  I understand the allure of a bit of bludge from time to time, and I don't begrudge people that - I have after all done it myself - But it can't go on forever, becasue it's a mindest that will be passed on to their 13 children as well.  I'm gonna have a hard enough time supporting all the baby boomers in a few years time,  so I won't appreciate having to carry able bodied deadshits as well.

Post by Dnarever on Aug 29th, 2012 at 6:15pm

If about ten of them showed up at your place and showed you about survival of the fittest it would be very funny.

Post by Baronvonrort on Aug 29th, 2012 at 6:30pm
The dole was never meant to be a lifestyle choice, if you want more money i suggest getting a job the minimum wage is over $15 p/h.

Post by Elvis Wesley on Aug 29th, 2012 at 6:32pm

Dnarever wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 6:15pm:

If about ten of them showed up at your place and showed you about survival of the fittest it would be very funny.

I wouldn't be all about 'survival of the fittest' if I wasn't one of the fittest now would I?

Post by Western Apologist on Aug 29th, 2012 at 6:54pm

... wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 6:32pm:

Dnarever wrote on Aug 29th, 2012 at 6:15pm:

I wouldn't be all about 'survival of the fittest' if I wasn't one of the fittest now would I?

survival for modern humans would be more luck than anything

Post by muso on Sep 1st, 2012 at 7:43pm
There is no such thing as "luck" - only probability. If somebody sits around all day whingeing, the probability that they will starve to death is high in most parts of the world.

Post by Shackdweller on Sep 3rd, 2012 at 5:22am
the dole is fine the way it is. a better solution would be to reform/get rid of the useless employment agencies.

Post by imcrookonit on Sep 3rd, 2012 at 9:43am
The dole is most certainly not fine the way it is.  It is far too low.  As far as the employment agencies are concerned, it would not be such a bad idea to get rid of them.  For what ( little use ) they are.     :(

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.