General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Dramatic fall in food prices http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1357509914 Message started by adelcrow on Jan 7th, 2013 at 8:05am |
Title: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by adelcrow on Jan 7th, 2013 at 8:05am
Australia has had one of the largest falls in food prices amongst developed countries..so much for the price on carbon driving up food prices...
Yep..Libbos are dumber than dirt ;D |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by skippy. on Jan 7th, 2013 at 8:09am adelcrow wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 8:05am:
Lol, I just read that story too, the funniest thing about it was it was in a NEWS LMD paper, the same mob that claimed a few months ago food prices would spiral out of control, and the dumb conga line bought the bullsh it hook line and sinker. I bet a hundred bucks cods and co will be along any minute claiming THIS story is wrong and food prices ARE out of control. ;D ;D :D |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by skippy. on Jan 7th, 2013 at 8:12am
Funny hey, the conga line screeching the bullsh it the country is in ruins, yet we have amongst the lowest unemployment, inflation,food prices in the world, mixed with low interest rates and a still growing economy, the conga line are so dumb.
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by adelcrow on Jan 7th, 2013 at 8:16am
I cant figure out if its a Python Squeeze or a Cobra Strike ;D
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by the wise one on Jan 7th, 2013 at 8:56am skippy. wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 8:09am:
skippy don't forget the price of tomatoes are out of control. They are going up in price every day that cods goes to the supermarket |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by adelcrow on Jan 7th, 2013 at 9:01am John S wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 8:56am:
If Cods wants tomatoes my backyard is friggin full of them at the moment. We're bottling and preserving vegies like theres no tomorrow at the moment so theres another way to save on vegie prices..grow ya own :D |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by skippy. on Jan 7th, 2013 at 9:44am adelcrow wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 9:01am:
Good idea, and with cods being in Canberra I'm pretty sure she can have up to five plants and its a misdemeanour. :) |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by skippy. on Jan 7th, 2013 at 9:52am
Funny, the conga line don't seem too interested in discussing this topic, I wonder why???? ;D ;D ;D
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by cods on Jan 7th, 2013 at 9:53am
schools still out I see? :(
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by cods on Jan 7th, 2013 at 9:54am skippy. wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 9:52am:
perhaps the childish behavior puts them off.. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by skippy. on Jan 7th, 2013 at 10:41am cods wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 9:54am:
Perhaps they hate cold hard facts opposed to fiction, you mean. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 11:25am
I think News Ltd is obviously quite biased towards the carbon tax. Have they not noticed the PRICE OF TOMATOES?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! DAMN THIS CARBON TAX!!! DAMN DAMN DAMN!! PEOPLE CAN'T EVEN AFFORD A HAMBURGER WITH THE LOT ANYMORE. OR BREAD. OR MEAT.
Get rid of News Ltd and it's clearly lefty reporting >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by John Smith on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:11pm
what happened to all those theories the righties had about how the carbon tax was going to make it too expensive to run cool rooms and fridges and food would skyrocket ? Could the righties be that wrong?
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:16pm John Smith wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:11pm:
WE CAN'T EVEN AFFORD A HAMBURGER WITH THE LOT ANYMORE!!! DAMN THIS CARBON TAX!!!! AND DAMN THIS LEFTY RUBBISH FROM NEWS LTD. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by cods on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:16pm skippy. wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 10:41am:
cold hard facts from New Ltd... well well well.. its you that always says its fiction from New Ltd...own goal.. own goal.. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:18pm cods wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:16pm:
THAT'S RIGHT CODS! NEWS LTD ARE LEFTY RUBBISH. OF COURSE FOOD HAS GONE THROUGH THE ROOF. LOOK AT THE TOMATO PRICES!!! HO HO HO THEY SAID IT WAS BECAUSE OF THE WEATHER CONDITIONS. HO HO HO, IT IS BECAUSE OF THE DAMN CARBON TAX! DAMN THIS CARBON TAX THAT I NOW HAVE TO PAY IN ORDER TO BUY FRESH AND JUICY TOMATOES. HO HO HO. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by aquascoot on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:19pm adelcrow wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 8:05am:
Yep , thanks to the duopoly of wololies and coles being allowed to kill off the farming sector. just wait 10 years and we'll see if you can crow then adel. average farmer age soon to hit 60. think those 70 year olds will still be milking their cows for 15 cents a litre in 10 years :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:20pm aquascoot wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:19pm:
all good, we'll just sell the land off to the chinese and they can do all the milking for us. :) |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:29pm skippy. wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 9:52am:
Probably becasue trusting a study over your own lying eyes is a stupid thing to do? We don't need studies, when we can just check our dam receipts. I'm sure you know that these studies use a bunch of stnadrad items to caluclate this cost - If you don't use those items, your experience will be very different. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:37pm ... wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:29pm:
yes, which is why you standardise the cost by using standard items - so that it's a fair study. Again you prove to have very little to no idea about how studies are conducted. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:58pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:37pm:
Actually, it shows that I know exactly how they are conducted. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:59pm ... wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:58pm:
Also it seems you don't know how to highlight. What do they teach you in WA? |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:02pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:59pm:
So even though we both said the same thing (see those highlighted sections?) you still say I'm wrong? How the bugger does that work? |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:05pm ... wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:02pm:
Because of the context. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:05pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:05pm:
Do they, or do they not use standard items? If so, does it mean the results will be the same for someone who purchases different items? |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:06pm ... wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:05pm:
Of course they do. How else can they possibly put together a study with minimal bias? But that's not the point. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:08pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:06pm:
So what is the point? |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:10pm ... wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:08pm:
The point is that of course we should rely on this study over a study based on what YOU decide to buy. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:13pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:10pm:
I'd have thought it'd be smarter not to rely on any study at all, but instead look at your receipts. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:15pm ... wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:13pm:
Only if you purchased the exact same thing at the exact same time a year after, from the exact same place. And also ignored any potential specials. But perhaps you're correct - last year I was buying Helgas Multigrain. This year I am buying Multigrain flour and making my own. Much cheaper. The survey holds true I suppose. But then again last year I was buying light milk and this year I'm buying soy milk - more expensive per litre... Maybe prices have gone up? |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:20pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:15pm:
Ahhh good thinking batman - You've exposed yet another inconcistewncy betwen these stduies and real life. Alevines wife: "geez the shopping was expensive this week darl" Alevine: "no it wasn't - look at this study which says otherwise" Alevines wife: "yeah but look at the receipt..." Alevine: "no buts - look at the study" Alevines wife: "you're a smacking idiot, and I want a divorce". |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by the wise one on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:48pm aquascoot wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 12:19pm:
15 years ago we didn't have Coles and Woolies buying all the small supermarkets companies to stamp out competition |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:53pm ... wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:20pm:
;D More like Alevine's wife: "Geez the shopping was expensive this week" Alevine: "Well next time don't buy enough food to feed 6 people". Alevine's Wife: "couch, go." I exposed exactly why we need a standardised study to give us a proper indication of food costs. You on the other hand are once again wrong. There goes that resolution, ey? ;) |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:55pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:53pm:
Just one question - which statement have I made that is "wrong?" |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:01pm ... wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 1:55pm:
Well, not any specific statement as much as the general thought. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:08pm
Australia still have an oppressively high cost of living compared to the rest of the developed world.
Food included. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:08pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:01pm:
ah. The vibe of it. Roight. Well, you carry on beliveing the latest release form the Ministry of truth, and I'll carry on beliving my own senses. Works for me. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by buzzanddidj on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:11pm John S wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 8:56am:
Maybe cods should pack her bags - and head back home with Andrei ? Families hit after supermarkets hike 'budget' food prices by as much as 110% in just a year 18 December 2012 Families relying on supermarket budget ranges to make ends meet are suffering some of the steepest food price hikes, research reveals. The big supermarket chains have increased the price of more than 40 per cent of their own-label budget lines in the past year. A host of Tesco’s cheapest Everyday Value products have seen inflation-busting increases. For example, an Everyday Value pack of apples is up from 71p to 82p, which is 15.5 per cent hike, while a cauliflower is up 20 per cent to 90p. An Everyday Value round lettuce is up 14 per cent to 57p, while there is a 15 per cent increase on tomatoes and a 25 per cent rise on a 200g pack of soft cheese. A 1kg bag of small potatoes from Asda’s budget range Smartprice is up by 17 per cent to 69p, while a 500g pack of tomatoes is up by 15 .4 per cent, to 90p. A Smartprice fresh chicken is up from £2.10 a kilo to £2.48, a rise of 18 per cent, while a pack of Smartprice bacon is up by 13.3 per cent to £1.70. A similar pattern is seen with Sainsbury’s Basics range. A 230g pack of blue cheese is up nearly 15 per cent to £1.48, while a cheese and tomato pizza is up 50 per cent to £1.50. The cost of Basics digestive biscuits has increased by an astonishing 110 per cent. According to retail analysts BrandView.co.uk, 153, or 43.3 per cent, of Tesco’s Everyday Value products cost more than the equivalent that was available a year ago. Meanwhile, 137, or 41 per cent, of Sainsbury’s Basics products were more expensive. http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-2249737/Families-hit-supermarkets-hike-budget-food-prices-110-just-year.html#ixzz2HG8gbbtx |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:12pm ... wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:08pm:
no probs :) Just remember, Wes: left foot, right foot. :) |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:14pm
We have a much better range and selection across the board in Sainsburys and Tescos than your sh*t.
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by buzzanddidj on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:19pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:08pm:
NOT when you take on board the FACT we have a MINIMUM wage - TWO to THREE times that of the USA, for example |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:21pm
And a tax system that would see me paying $10,000 more in tax than I do in the USA EVERY SINGLE YEAR.
No thanks. Rip off Australia? You can keep it. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by buzzanddidj on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:38pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:14pm:
... and let's not be shy on QUALITY ! |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by the wise one on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:44pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:21pm:
You rip off Australia as well by not paying the right amount of tax. Get back to South Africa where you belong goose |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by adelcrow on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:45pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:21pm:
I thought Budget deficits worried you? In which case the massive blowout in the US deficit should come before saving a few dollars in taxation. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by pansi1951 on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:56pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 2:38pm:
I dipped my faggots in my soup and I had cock flavoured faggots ;) |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Peter Freedman on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:03pm
Robert is particularly upset at the price of Stilton cheese and Beluga caviar and wants to know whether they are included in the standard list.
Can anybody help him? |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:15pm
I don't suppose it dawned on any of you boneheads to actually check how the findings were made. But if it returns the result you want, why bother eh?
::) |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:41pm ... wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:15pm:
Wes, staple food basket. That's how :) |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:44pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:41pm:
Staple for whom? |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by pansi1951 on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:45pm Peter Freedman wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:03pm:
Well! Robert, let's talk basics. Have you seen the food baskets side by side, one from Aldi and one from Coles, set up to compare prices. I expect this test to be very similar, with everyday products. Let's go with bread, milk, margarine, cereal, yoghurt, food spread, canned spaghetti, pasta, noodles, hygiene products, cleaning products, meat and some fruit and veg. Leave the smoked salmon and caviar out. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by pansi1951 on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:47pm ... wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:44pm:
Everyday items, don't kid us that you are so far removed from the norm that you can't recognise basic food items. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:48pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:45pm:
You can make up a list if you want, but it doesn't really help in finding out how they compiled the list that the study was based on. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:49pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:47pm:
Ah. So everyone eats the same stuff? Ng Nguyen has the same diet as Ngongo Ongabongo, who has the same diet as Bill Smith? Are you guys really this easy to fool? |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 4:04pm ... wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:44pm:
Beer & Chips. Who is that NOT a staple for? ;) |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 4:04pm ... wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:49pm:
you don't eat bread, eggs, milk, cheese? |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 4:08pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 4:04pm:
I eat cheese and eggs, though the eggs are laid by my chooks. But bread, eggs, milk and cheese don't make a complete diet, do they? |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by alevine on Jan 7th, 2013 at 4:14pm ... wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 4:08pm:
you don't eat flour? rice? meat? chicken? cereals? |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by corporate_whitey on Jan 7th, 2013 at 4:19pm
Yes but the Government has been making deep welfare cuts to the disadvantaged single mothers to fund these outcomes...they are forcing competitiveness onto disadvantaged people...and waging ideological warfare against pacifists... :)
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 4:21pm
I eat flour, rice and meat. But even when we add in the aforementioned milk, cheese, eggs and bread, we still don't have a complete diet. And so I reiterate - a study telling you "food is cheaper" has no worth.
I really don't understand how you guys swallow this poo so readily. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by woof woof on Jan 7th, 2013 at 6:09pm
I haven't noticed any food item fall in price, Meat is still the same, chicken breast still $9.99Kg fruit all the same??
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by philperth2010 on Jan 7th, 2013 at 6:25pm ... wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 3:15pm:
Did you??? http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/news/national/food-prices-in-australia-go-down-across-the-board/story-fndo2j43-1226548530083 Quote:
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 6:28pm
No, I tried, but I can't find any actual data. They usually post the source...I wonder why they didn't on this occasion?
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by adelcrow on Jan 7th, 2013 at 6:31pm
We buy mainly organic and free range products from the Markets and the prices have stayed pretty much the same over the last 12 mths.
Which I reckon is as good as a price decrease. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by pansi1951 on Jan 7th, 2013 at 7:00pm OECD data (where the stats originated) Food Prices - Australia Q2- 2011........130.5 Q3- 2012........126.0 http://stats.oecd.org/Index.aspx?DatasetCode=MEI_PRICES |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 7th, 2013 at 7:16pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 7:00pm:
LOL. What is in the basket that used to cost $130.5 but now only costs 126.0? Isn't that what actually matters? |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by adelcrow on Jan 7th, 2013 at 7:34pm
So much for the Python Squeeze and Cobra Strike..they just turned out to be more of Phony Tonys lies.
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by progressiveslol on Jan 7th, 2013 at 7:55pm
Too bad it is short term relief being from a high dollar ect. Carbon tax and its mark II is forever if it were up to labor the debt and taxes party.
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Peter Freedman on Jan 7th, 2013 at 9:49pm
The only way to check food prices is to take a basket of staple foods, the sort of foodstuffs that would be found in the vast majority of Australian households.
It is not an exact science but is as close as you can get. Robert Paulson rubbishes these findings because he doesn't like them, he lives in the black and white world of the reactionary conservative, when Labor is in power prices go up. If Robert wants any credibility he needs to come up with a detailed and more accurate way of measuring food price movements. Your move Mr Paulson. |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by John Smith on Jan 7th, 2013 at 9:56pm ... wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 7:16pm:
It doesn't matter whats in the basket as long as it is the same thing year in and year out .... if you want ot compare a complete list of every single food item I suggest you log onto woolworths website and do your own homework |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by buzzanddidj on Jan 7th, 2013 at 10:04pm woof woof wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 6:09pm:
Chicken breast is $6.99 kg presently http://www.lenards.com.au/Location/Lenard-s-Stockland-Wendouree/Browse-Our-Products/Fresh-Cuts/Breast/Fresh-Chicken-Breast-Fillets-Skin-On.aspx Lamb is around 20% less than a year ago Stone fruit, about HALF These are MOSTLY due to drought recovery Queensland flood recovery Victorian bushfire and hail-storm recovery Imported foods ( ... canned, Italian tomatoes etc) are less due to strong Australian dollar |
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 8th, 2013 at 11:07am
Title: Re: Dramatic fall in food prices Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 8th, 2013 at 11:10am Peter Freedman wrote on Jan 7th, 2013 at 9:49pm:
Robert Paulson doesn't rubbish the findings. Robert Paulson merely thinks about it before believing it. Robert Paulson doesn't care if it's Liberal, labor or the friggin man in the moon that causes it. Robert Paulson sees clear parallels between this and similar studies, and the press releases from the Ministry of truth in 1984. RP also sees clear parallels between you and the unthinking party-supporting drones from the same book. |