General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1357706022 Message started by Maqqa on Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:33pm |
Title: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by Maqqa on Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:33pm
http://au.news.yahoo.com/technology/news/article/-/15793263/labor-mp-sorry-for-abbott-firefighting-stunt-tweet/
A federal Labor frontbencher has apologised for describing Tony Abbott's work as a volunteer firefighter as a "stunt". The Opposition Leader has been a volunteer firefighter for more than a decade, and was this morning deployed to fight fires at Nowra on the NSW south coast with the Davidson Rural Fire Service. Mr Abbott yesterday said he would be on "standby" to help out given the fire emergency gripping large parts of the state. Federal Housing Minister Brendan O'Connor this afternoon responded to Mr Abbott's comment on Twitter, describing it as a "#standbystunt". Mr O'Connor later deleted the comment and said: "Apologies for any offence. I respect and acknowledge the critical work of all our volunteer firefighters including Tony Abbott." NSW Premier Barry O'Farrell took to Twitter to describe Mr O'Connor's initial comment as "unhelpful" during a fire crisis. He said Mr Abbott helped fight fires in the Lane Cove National Park in 2004 and the local community was grateful. Television news cameras and photographers were in Nowra this morning and filmed Mr Abbott driving one of the fire trucks. In a statement issued this morning, Mr Abbott said he had delayed his holidays to help fight the fires. Labor backbencher Graham Perrett has commended Mr Abbott and the other volunteer firefighters for their efforts, but added: "A lot of volunteers get up and do their work on behalf of the community everyday without putting out a press release." But Liberal MP Jamie Briggs says there is always a lot of media interest in what Australia's political leaders are doing, especially during a bushfire crisis. "People do like to see commitment to volunteering - not just from the community, but from their political leaders - and that's something Tony's done for a long time now," Mr Briggs told ABC News |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by Maqqa on Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:36pm
adel, phil, buzz
you are all disgusting for calling it a stunt no matter where you political compass points - volunteering should be appreciated by all Australians Abbott's been doing this since 2000 - this is in addition to his duties as a Minister and now Opposition leader Labor and Greens are dogs - worse than dogs for condemning Abbott |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by skippy. on Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:41pm Maqqa wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:36pm:
If the ankle was fair dinkum he'd have done the job without calling the press. Phony Tony's office put out a press release the ankle was doing this, what a low life scum to capitalise on people dying. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by progressiveslol on Jan 9th, 2013 at 3:27pm skippy. wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:41pm:
Pretty sure gillard called the press for her time on TV and the sexist biatch left it to the men to fight the fires whiles she just pranced and platituded around. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by Deathridesahorse on Jan 9th, 2013 at 3:30pm Maqqa wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:36pm:
But it is a stunt!! |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by buzzanddidj on Jan 9th, 2013 at 3:32pm Maqqa wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:36pm:
Heat got to you ? I said NO SUCH THING I'm sometimes a little sceptical about Abbott's action man, Putin like moves - but I keep my private thoughts to MYSELF O'Connor should have done the SAME ( ... though given his run of STUNTS, I wouldn't blame ANYONE for questioning his motivation, at times) He did the RIGHT THING - in apologising, post haste |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by KJT1981 on Jan 9th, 2013 at 3:35pm skippy. wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:41pm:
Do you have a link to people dying in these fires Skippy or is it just another one of your lies? |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by philperth2010 on Jan 9th, 2013 at 3:54pm
Poor Tony Abbott has his motives questioned and the feral right go into melt down.....If Tony Abbott wants to fight fires he can go ahead.....It does nothing to change my opinion of him what so ever.....Abbott is still a flake!!!
::) ::) ::) |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by philperth2010 on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:00pm Maqqa wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:36pm:
It is a stunt and a very poor one at that....Since Abbott has been exposed to scrutiny all we see from the Mad Monk is these photo opps and bullshit stunts.....Abbott is not above criticism and has shown time and time again he is an opportunist wanker.....Your hero is as pathetic as you Macca!!! :) :) :) |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by progressiveslol on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:10pm philperth2010 wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:00pm:
lol please dont cry. Abbott didnt mean to show up how pathetic gillard is. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by KJT1981 on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:13pm philperth2010 wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:00pm:
I guess that would that make you an non opportunist wanker. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by philperth2010 on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:13pm progressiveslol wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:10pm:
What a piss weak comment from a piss ant prick.....If you think Abbott stunt reflects badly on Julia Gillard for any reason you are too stupid for words.....Abbott is an opportunist much like your pathetic self!!! :) :) :) |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by KJT1981 on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:14pm philperth2010 wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 3:54pm:
Life must be a bitch being a leftie. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by KJT1981 on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:15pm philperth2010 wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:13pm:
Look losing his temper. Get ready to duck the handbag. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by cods on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:42pm
pity they dont ask the station he is attached too....before they condemn for a stunt..
its a shame their mate brown couldnt also be out there...especially in Tasmania where the greens have systematically stopped burn backs. and closed down the Timber companies... who did do burnbacks..but whats the point of saying anything. I have never seen Tasmania burn like this before... has anyone else? |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by progressiveslol on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:57pm philperth2010 wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:13pm:
Ohh calling me a prick. Abbott saving Australians while the lazy sexist biatch gillard sits on her A watching it all unfold, letting the men do all the life saving work (het Abbott is a life saver in so many ways), must be making people a tad bit jealous and are starting to lash out. Dont worry, im pretty sure you will get your Abbott is bad angle to persuade a couple of the gang-greeners who were looking at Abbott with hero status. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by BigOl64 on Jan 9th, 2013 at 5:05pm skippy. wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:41pm:
Well that post achieved a level of insanity not seen outside of a corpulent whitely post. ;D I doubt very much you would quietly sit down if abbott 'had done the job without calling a press conference'. You pack of loons would have gone into prolonged mass hysteria demanding to know where the 'ankle' was and what he was doing in these dangerous times. Maybe you have a sane person read your posts before you hit the send button. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by philperth2010 on Jan 9th, 2013 at 5:07pm progressiveslol wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:57pm:
And that my deluded troll is why you cretins will lose the next election.....Continuously denigrating woman is what got you bugger wits in trouble in the first place.....Cannot help but be a misogynistic prick can you....Are you Tony Abbott mate.....Keep it up as it says it all about Tony Abbott and his supporters opinions on woman.....Comments that put woman down show how pathetic you really are....Your mother must be ashamed to have spawned a creep like you??? ;) ;) ;) |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by progressiveslol on Jan 9th, 2013 at 5:13pm philperth2010 wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 5:07pm:
Ohhh you poor darlin. You want to condemn Abbott in peace. No retribution for a guy who has done much for society with volunteering. Well you can shove that up your azz because if you want to bash Abbott for actually doing something, then that little sexist biatch of yours who lets the men do the life saving will be condemned. When gillard called Abbott a misogynist, she did it because she is a sexist biatch, so calling her one is not the issue. The issue is that gillard only like weak men. Hairdressers to be precise. Strong men who call out her weaknesses, cop an ear full of her sexist rhetoric and to the point where you cant even look at your watch for christ sake. Keep crying, it aint doing anything for you. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by philperth2010 on Jan 9th, 2013 at 5:18pm
Progs bleated......
Errrrr.....woman also volunteer for emergency work.....You are a friggin imbecile mate!!! ::) ::) ::) |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by progressiveslol on Jan 9th, 2013 at 5:22pm philperth2010 wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 5:18pm:
Just not the sexist gillard. It is beneath her hey. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jan 9th, 2013 at 5:24pm
You got this one wrong unfortunately Phil.
You weren't the only one. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by cods on Jan 9th, 2013 at 5:27pm philperth2010 wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 5:18pm:
phil I dont get why this is such a problem with the left...you all sound so spiteful.. I would guess he would not be allowed to do this if he was PM... so no one expects gillard to join the fire brigade.. I dont get whats the problem????? I am sure if this was Brown you would be praising him to high heaven... if you dont like someone..thats fine.. but when you see all this spite and meanness it comes across as hatred....and I think we have enough of that in this world.. dont like him dont vote for him.. I dont like gillard and I wouldnt vote for her.. but should she be out there fighting bushfires. I trust I could at least give her some credit.. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by Dnarever on Jan 9th, 2013 at 5:44pm
Abbott does some very good things in the community.
Does not reflect on how poor a politician he has been of what a terrible PM he would most likely make. Good on him for his efforts outside politics though. The comments about him in my view were out of line. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by Maqqa on Jan 9th, 2013 at 6:13pm Dnarever wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 5:44pm:
Kudos where kudos is due Kudos to DNA |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by Kat on Jan 9th, 2013 at 6:15pm Can I possibly be the only one who is thoroughly fed-up with this current fad of apologising for essentially nothing, and insisting that others do so? |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by Robert Paulson on Jan 9th, 2013 at 6:21pm Kat wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 6:15pm:
Impossible. It's gotten out of hand. Another one that made me shake my head in despair, that I saw today: Quote:
http://au.sports.yahoo.com/news/article/-/15790551/commentator-in-hot-water-for-ogling-players-girlfriend-during-broadcast/ That's right - he had to apologise for saying a beauty pagenat winner was beautiful. ::) |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by Maqqa on Jan 9th, 2013 at 6:22pm Kat wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 6:15pm:
whether you think the false accusation is "something" or "nothing" reflects the parenting you received When you make false accusations - you apologise. This is when good parenting happens When you make false accusations and don't apologise and/or have someone else say it's "essentially nothing" then that reflects terrible parenting |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by Annie Anthrax on Jan 9th, 2013 at 6:31pm Maqqa wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 6:22pm:
Oh. You're one of those. Is mindnumbing political stupidity a parental failure too? I'm not suggesting this is you, but thought I'd ask since you seem to have all the answers. While I'm at it, do you know anything about electrochemical action potential in neurons? Because I have to say, I'm struggling. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by buzzanddidj on Jan 9th, 2013 at 6:35pm cods wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:42pm:
THAT, is an oft perpetuated MYTH The Greens do NOT oppose controlled back burning Jim Reiher Mon, 16/02/2009 We need to set the record straight on this one. The Greens accept the need for controlled back burning. Of course we do! The Australian Greens policy states: Quote:
In their submission to the 2003 Victorian Bushfire Inquiry, the Australian Greens Victoria (North East Region), clearly and strongly called for fuel reduction burns: An effective strategic fuel-reduction burning strategy is required based on scientific fire ecology and fire behaviour information. It is critical that any revised approach to fuel-reduction burning is scientifically based, drawing on the expertise and further research of fire ecologists and fire behaviour scientists. The goal must be to produce a sustainable strategy for fuel-reduction management that will protect biodiversity and moderate the effects of wildfire to an acceptable level for protection of people and assets. The Tasmanian Greens call for: Ensuring that fuel reduction burning to protect property is carried out in the appropriate season to limit likelihood of higher intensity fires in dry periods.[3] The Greens are conscious that appropriate fuel reduction burning is extremely resource intensive. Proper management of national parks and reserves requires more funding from State and Federal Governments. That is what the Greens want. Cont ... http://jimreiher.com/?q=node/28 JIM REIHER is a member and cantidate for the Victorian Greens |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by salad in on Jan 9th, 2013 at 6:36pm
What about an apology from O'Connor because his leader is not part of a fire fighting crew.
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jan 9th, 2013 at 6:43pm
The Greens DID prevent back burning in Victoria which helped to cause the tragic deaths in Marysville.
They will forever be tarnished with that. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by buzzanddidj on Jan 9th, 2013 at 6:54pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 6:43pm:
That is totally UNTRUE REGARDLESS of what "a mate ( ... allegedly) told you" The Greens hold/held not ONE seat of representation in the Victorian house of government |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jan 9th, 2013 at 7:05pm
Happens to be a girl whose brother died in the fires and who knows a shitload more about it than some clown like you who just reads about it in the press releases of a Greens politician.
I know you're not exactly the smartest guy in the world but even you can spot the vested interest. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by buzzanddidj on Jan 9th, 2013 at 7:20pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 6:54pm:
Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 7:05pm:
See what I MEAN ? |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jan 9th, 2013 at 7:32pm
Yeah what would someone whose brother died in the fires and who attended every part if the inquest know?
Obviously some old Queen reading press releases would know much more eh? Goodness me you aren't half thick Buzz. Wasted that top notch education.. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by cods on Jan 9th, 2013 at 8:28pm
can we hope that the fires burning in Vic right now are nowhere near where they were in 2009..
I am sure those townships are now free from angst because of bushfires..we DO learn from all this dont we? |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by buzzanddidj on Jan 9th, 2013 at 8:33pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 7:32pm:
I channelled me ol' grandad HE told me it was Tony Abbott that put the kibosh on controlled burns |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jan 9th, 2013 at 9:05pm
Given your immoral lifestyle no doubt he died of shame.
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by alevine on Jan 9th, 2013 at 9:24pm Maqqa wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:33pm:
Well done to Tony for volunteering. However, doesn't mean he will be a great PM. Or a good PM at that. On a side note, and without getting people's panties into a twist, didn't he JUST get his truck driving license? Something suggests that his office did take the opportunity to showcase his volunteering. Shame if it is true, as volunteering should not politicised, but rather something you do out of your own goodwill as a human being - not a politician. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by alevine on Jan 9th, 2013 at 9:26pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 7:05pm:
Yes, there is a lot of beauracracy was in place for fire burning, as a result of green members on the council arguing against it and the process not being streamlined. However, while that's bad, lest we forget that the 2009 fires were the direct result of big business cutting corners. |
Title: Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 9th, 2013 at 10:12pm skippy. wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:41pm:
Juliar Gillard is a low life scum trying to score political points and further her carbon tax fight by attempting to capitalise on people dying by claiming that the bushfires are due to global warming. “As a result of climate change we are going to see more extreme weather events,” she said. |