General Discussion >> General Board >> Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1366266865 Message started by imcrookonit on Apr 18th, 2013 at 4:34pm |
Title: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 18th, 2013 at 4:34pm
Mackenzie eyes $12.2m pay package. :o
Date April 18, 2013 New BHP boss Andrew Mackenzie stands to earn $US12.58 million ($12.2 million) per year should the mining giant outperform its peers and the incoming CEO meet all of his performance hurdles. That payment would include a base salary of $US1.7 million, a short-term bonus of $US4.08 million and a long-term bonus of $US6.8 million. :o Mr Mackenzie, who takes over from Marius Kloppers on May 10, also stands to collect an annual pension of 25 per cent of his base salary. In announcing the details, BHP Billiton chairman, Jac Nasser, said: “The Board and Remuneration Committee believe that the existing CEO remuneration package, endorsed by shareholders, has contributed to the consistent and substantial financial out performance of the Company over many years. However, we also believe that some downward rebasing at this time is appropriate; a view that is supported by Andrew. "The package announced today supports our evolving strategic priorities and does not compromise on our need to motivate a high level of performance and ensures alignment with our shareholders’ expectations. 72 per cent of the total package is “at-risk” which at BHP Billiton means it will only be earned where there is genuine outperformance.” Mr Mackenzie also stands to collect ''dividend equivalent payments'' on vested shares, which will be made in the form of shares. He will also be required to hold a minimum shareholding in BHP Billiton requirement of five times his base salary. Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/business/mackenzie-eyes-122m-pay-package-20130418-2i1fh.html#ixzz2QnGRC1Va |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 18th, 2013 at 4:36pm
Very hard to give the low income workers a $30 a week pay rise. Go figure. :(
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by longweekend58 on Apr 18th, 2013 at 4:59pm
maybe if you gave some consideration top the concepts of 'work and effort' instead of constantly harping on about remuneration then you too might be able to get a job and off the dole.
You are a caricature of the whinging third-generation welfare-dependent dole bludger. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:05pm
Who pulled your chain, Mr Greedy?. :-?
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by longweekend58 on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:21pm wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:05pm:
what i have i EARNED. google the concept. Im sure no one in your extended family has any concept of 'work' - it is exceedingly obvious. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:25pm
It is exceedingly obvious that you are a idiot. :P
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by longweekend58 on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:29pm wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:25pm:
employed. working. saving. living off my own means. educated. Im am sure none of the above concepts resonate with you at any level. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:30pm
Go away and play with your toys little boy. I will talk to you when you grow up. :)
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by longweekend58 on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:33pm wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:30pm:
Your refusal to argue the point is a defacto admission that you are unemployed, unemployable, unwilling to work and come from a large extended family of the same. your attitudes - which are nothing more than a sense of unearned entitlement - clearly identify you as such. The proof is overwhelming. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:39pm longweekend58 wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 4:59pm:
What a nasty piece of work you are - Longweekend - you are forgiven for you know not what you do. namaste |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:40pm
As usual you have proven nothing, and for that matter you are nothing. Good riddance. :)
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by John Smith on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:43pm longweekend58 wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 4:59pm:
Have you got a comment on the fact that they pay the top guy 12 million per year, and yet complain everytime someone wants a $'/hr pay rise? After BHP doesn't make money on the work of the CEO, it's the little guys working their buts off that make the real money. Sure, being a CEO has it's own stresses, and responsibilities, but don't you think 12 million a yr is overcompensating? |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:49pm John Smith wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:43pm:
Same in all companies - the boss takes huge money but retrenches the smallest people who receive the least pay - to save money. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by FriYAY on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:57pm wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 4:36pm:
I "get" why these people get so much, just like sports people, it's what the market thinks they're worth. But sometimes you just gotta wonder about their worth v's common good, extreme wealth v's abject poverty. Spread a bit of wealth i recon. :) |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by cods on Apr 18th, 2013 at 7:10pm
crook you may be able to help me.. off topic I know but a friend of mine has been off work on maternity leave. due to go back end of this month.. bub 12months old.she would like to return 3 days a week to start with.. company [transport] have told her NO its full time or no time..
can they do that??? I thought all this had changed but they are adamant.. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by longweekend58 on Apr 18th, 2013 at 7:41pm wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:40pm:
you have offered precisely nothing to refute the claim and since you do in fact act like the caricature of a 5th generation welfare dependant dole bludger then the fact is self-evident. see, you have NEVER posted about work. you have posted about conditions and pay. never once about the 'work' part of employment and probably because you have never worked yourself (in fact you admitted it) and none of your extended family to 5 generations has either. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by longweekend58 on Apr 18th, 2013 at 7:43pm cods wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 7:10pm:
I believe maternity leave is leave from your CURRENT conditions. I dont think a company is required to take someone back on different conditions. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 18th, 2013 at 9:38pm longweekend58 wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 7:41pm:
I know Crook & that is complete & utter rubbish. Apologize to Crook or come out to the car park for an attitude adjustment now. :) |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Dnarever on Apr 18th, 2013 at 10:02pm FriYAY wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 5:57pm:
Quoting the markets thoughts is probably the most bogus concept ever made up, its just the few at the top taking everything they can from an intrinsically corrupt system. The market is an inanimate object incapable of thought, it is just the words put in the markets mouth by those who control it. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 19th, 2013 at 6:35am
I am not sure Cods, maybe your friend should ring fair work Australia and get some advice. :-?
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by BigOl64 on Apr 19th, 2013 at 6:49am wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 4:36pm:
And who exactly are the 'low income earners' at BHP you are talking about crook? Or do you expect BHP to pay other 'low income earners' from other companies this $30 per week pay rise? This is yet another poorly thought out whinge by an intellectually limited leftard looking for another handout. well done crook. ;D |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by aquascoot on Apr 19th, 2013 at 6:57am longweekend58 wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 4:59pm:
i think longy's been a bit kind there. i'm far more judgemental :D :D truth be told, there's this stuff called money and its controlled by these people called business people and if you want these people called business people to hand some over to you, you have to show this attitude called "a smacking good work ethic" if you show such attitude, if you show grit determination, punctuality, the ability to go the extra mile, commitment and consistency, eventually said business people will become quite fond of you, they may even look upon you as family, they may even like you more then family, they may give you a seat at the table and you can stiop scrounging for crumbs on the floor with the dogs. in the end , each individual must make their own choice. life is short and death is certain. you will spend most of your life at work. put in the effort and reap the rewards. its just the same as your relationship with your partner. happy wife, happy life happy boss, happy life. whinge, whine and sook like a spoilt brat or a beligerent child and i assure you you will have one f'ed up working life. the positive people will not, under any circumstances, let the losers, whiners and negative people (ie most of the bludger socialists) within 10 miles of their business. these sooks have no idea what they are missing out on , in terms of life satisfaction. i truly feel sorry for people who have this sort of self pitying attitude. they harm only themselves. they will NEVER harm me, mine or my staff, because i wouldnt let these toxic, pathetic scumbags anywhere near the things i chersih. as they lie on their death beds with a life of complaint to reflect on, all i can say is "sionara suckers " ;) ;) |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 19th, 2013 at 7:57am
aqua,
How many staff Aqua? Sounds like you're big noting yourself & look down on other's while exploiting their Labor. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by John Smith on Apr 19th, 2013 at 7:59am
aqua just wants his staff to kiss his arse and tell him how wonderful he is.
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 19th, 2013 at 8:26am John Smith wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 7:59am:
Aqua is definitely a Libbo. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by aquascoot on Apr 19th, 2013 at 8:37am
AH, have about 35 all up,
and yep, they kiss my arse and i kiss theirs. we're all into rimming and all that stuff. nothing better than working with commited people . i cant understand how people wouldnt want to work in a mutually admiring, caring, hard working, achieving business. i cant wait for monday morning to get back to work and neither can they. cant remember a compo claim. ;) ;) now dont be disbelieving me, or i'll p[ost a pic of the small business trophy we won last year. small business rocks suckers. its like great sex. if you want to sit home and masturbate and be hating on us happy small business people, all i can say is. "you dont know what youre missing out on" ;) ;) |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Morning Mist on Apr 19th, 2013 at 9:01am aquascoot wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 6:57am:
Yes. This has been my experience and observation. Employers will go to great length to keep good employees. There were a few small businesses I worked for and they ended up treating me as family. I got invited over for bbqs, beers, dinners, they lent me stuff when I needed it, gave me a whole heap of stuff for free. When I moved into the public sector I got a shock at how laid back and care free so many "workers" were. I also came to understand why the public sector gets so much criticism. I am in the fortunate situation now were I am even sought after because they are familiar work my work ethic, and know that there are many lazy, care free fools who don't work up to the required standard. I owe this to working in the private sector for 13 years and also my father. The public sector just needs to be run by a few SS officers. They'll get it running efficiently. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by aquascoot on Apr 19th, 2013 at 9:33am
very true misty. and the really funny thing is that once people get used to the pace of a busy , well run , small business, they find it quite depressing to go to a comfortable slow job.
ive had several staff who say, they used to work for a dentist or a specialist and just took 3 phone calls an hour and then twiddled their thumbs. this work environment is quite mentally draining. a busy (but not too busy) private business is preferred by these people. if public servants are in jobs where there simply is not enough work for them, i would find this very detrimental to their health and job satisfaction. work, achievement and recognition for effort are key to a good workplace. even simple stores like mcdonalds understand this with a real commaraderie in many stores and socialisation at work. my daughters worked there at school and the social aspect was invaluable, even if they had been paid $0 a hour. long term unemployed would do well to do 40 hours of voluntary work a week in a place like an animal shelter where they could achieve something. it would improve their mental health. this is indisputable and a reason i am a strong supporter of work for the dole |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 19th, 2013 at 9:51am
They should get rid of work for the dole rubbish, for the very little use it is. Most unemployed if given a choice, would prefer to have nothing to do with it. :(
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Swagman on Apr 19th, 2013 at 9:58am wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 4:36pm:
For once I agree with you Crook :o |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:03am
Yes Swagman, some don't even want to give the low income workers any pay rise. It looks like greed incorperated is alive and well. :(
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Swagman on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:07am wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 9:51am:
Well if given the choice I'd rather go fishing or play golf than go to work as well...... |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Swagman on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:09am wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:03am:
It's the company's shareholders that decide to pay the guy so much money. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:10am
Yes except you get paid to go to work. The unemployed dont get paid, to do work for the dole rubbish. :(
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Swagman on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:12am wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:10am:
They get the dole. That's pay. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:14am
No, its not pay its saftey net allowance. ;)
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by aquascoot on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:22am wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 9:51am:
like children being told to eat your veges by a caring parent, a caring government would make work for the dole compulsory for everyone. i can see no negative consequences in doing so. can you?? |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Morning Mist on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:26am wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 9:51am:
Everyone I knew who done it came out the other side with a much healthier psyche. It's more about self-esteem and teaching the work ethic than anything else. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:31am
Well I heard that an Abbott government, will increase, work for the dole rubbish. I think he said it will be for all the unemployed, that are under 50 years of age. :(
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Morning Mist on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:34am wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:31am:
This is wrong because ...? |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:40am
I think if people want to do it fair enough, but I don't think it should be forced onto people. As I have said before, most unemployed ( If given a choice ) would prefer to have nothing to do, with work for the dole rubbish.
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:51am aquascoot wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 8:37am:
So Aqua has 35 employees & he has time to post nonsense all day on Ozpolitic. Aqua - you're sounding like another Walter Mitty character. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by aquascoot on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:58am
employ good staff and treat them well and you can assume a more supervisory (guru) role
now i have to go photograph my small business award ;) |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by longweekend58 on Apr 19th, 2013 at 11:04am Bobby. wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 9:38pm:
you met him during your 6 years at uni mowing lawns? what was he doing there? lying down? idiot(s). |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Swagman on Apr 19th, 2013 at 11:05am wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:14am:
It's money for nothing. wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:40am:
Everyone if given the choice would likely prefer to have nothing to do (be on holidays and do whatever you want do do) but shock horror they have to work to pay the bills. The hours of work for the dole should be restricted to the minimum wage per hour to the dole amount + any rent assistance rec'd.. If the minimum wage is (say) $15 / Hour and you receive (say) $248 PW then you should do 16.5 hours of work for the dole each week. What's that? 2 days work. Is this how it works Crook or do they have you 'working' a 40 hr week? Maybe the dole should be accrued like a HECS payment and repaid when you get back to work. That would be an incentive to find work..... :( |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by longweekend58 on Apr 19th, 2013 at 11:08am wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 9:51am:
how surprising... the likes of you want nothing to do with 'work' |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 19th, 2013 at 11:14am
No that's not how it works at all. People that are on the newstart ( no start ) get money every fortnight, so the poor buggers can survive, until they can find suitable paid employment. ;)
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Swagman on Apr 19th, 2013 at 11:25am wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 11:14am:
So why shouldn't they do a bit of work for their handout payment? |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 19th, 2013 at 11:28am
Why should they have to, if they dont want to. They dont get paid for it. :(
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by thelastnail on Apr 19th, 2013 at 11:41am longweekend58 wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 11:08am:
you call this a job ?? it's just another hair brained liberal idea design to help the scammer running it and not the unemployed :( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RK4cLN111HE |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by JC Denton on Apr 19th, 2013 at 11:46am
i dont get why the govt finds it so difficult to find dolies actual real jobs.
work for the dole seems pretty demeaning to me. its like those make-work places for people with disabilities and the people with disabilities are aware/smart enough to know its a big joke. maybe people on the dole could work at employment agencies or in govt departments for a month like centrelink? couldnt do a worse job than the people already in them. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by FriYAY on Apr 19th, 2013 at 12:00pm Dnarever wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 10:02pm:
Is the sand in your vagina irritating you? Footballers get what they get because the market determines their wealth. If only 1000 people turned up to watch and the TV rights were only worth a few $100,00 and they struggled for sponsorship, they would not get as much as they do. Fairly simple concept….. Unfortunate that you had to take one little word and jump up and down and rant like a spastic over it. ::) |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by aquascoot on Apr 19th, 2013 at 12:21pm JC Denton wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 11:46am:
thats an awesome idea, crook could assess borgs work diary |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by JC Denton on Apr 19th, 2013 at 12:25pm
i doubt crooks unemployed. i bet he works for the unions.
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 19th, 2013 at 12:39pm
Why is it so many people are concerned with who is, and who is not unemployed?. Unemployment can happen to anyone young or old. Those that are working today, could be the ones that are unemployed tomorrow. :(
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Kat on Apr 19th, 2013 at 1:12pm wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 10:03am:
It always is, when conservatives are involved. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Kat on Apr 19th, 2013 at 1:17pm wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 12:39pm:
To give them someone to denigrate and discriminate against. There's no valid reason for their ignorance and vitriol. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by longweekend58 on Apr 19th, 2013 at 1:29pm wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 12:39pm:
conversely, todays unemployed are tomorrows EMPLOYED - unless they are a lazy bludging bugger like you! |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by longweekend58 on Apr 19th, 2013 at 1:30pm Kat wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 1:17pm:
probably because righties have both a work ethic and a job. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Swagman on Apr 19th, 2013 at 1:36pm wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 11:28am:
...but they do get paid, they get the dole. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by longweekend58 on Apr 19th, 2013 at 1:41pm Swagman wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 1:36pm:
IMFULLOFIT doesnt quite get the concept of money as a reward for work. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 19th, 2013 at 1:55pm longweekend58 wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 11:04am:
Dear Longweekend, your jealousy of someone with an education is noted. you are forgiven namaste |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by thelastnail on Apr 19th, 2013 at 1:58pm longweekend58 wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 1:41pm:
SO you believe that someone who gets a guaranteed division one lottery win for a salary each year work that much more harder do they ? :D LOL |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 19th, 2013 at 2:09pm
Nail,
Yes Nail, Longweekend would think it's ok that the boss sacks 10 employees to save money when if he cut his own salary in half he could save the jobs of 10 loyal workers who may have wives, kids & a mortgage. It's not about fairness. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by aquascoot on Apr 19th, 2013 at 2:24pm
for you bobby.
love walter mitty, with one of my 35 staff ;) posing |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by thelastnail on Apr 19th, 2013 at 2:51pm aquascoot wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 2:24pm:
yeh I've got one of those too. I picked it up on the hard rubbish collection and now have it sitting on my wall :D LOL |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 19th, 2013 at 2:53pm
Hi Aqua -
didn't know you were a doctor - is that another Walter Mitty fantasy? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Walter_Mitty Quote:
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 19th, 2013 at 3:23pm
IMFULLOFIT doesnt quite get the concept of money as a reward for work. Work for the dole, and paid work are two different things. One you get paid for, the other one you don't. Although I would not expect you to know that. Yes people get their unemployment benefit, which is hardly enough to survive on. Those that do work for the dole, don't get any extra money. Except a allowance to help them with their transport, which works out to about $21 a fortnight. For those unfortunate enough that have to do work for the dole rubbish. :(
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 19th, 2013 at 3:56pm
Dear Crook,
you must learn to forgive Longweekend as I have - in fact - there is whole thread just about forgiving him & I have added the latest words of forgiveness to the quite long list: http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1356646946/120#131 |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by aquascoot on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:00pm
i am bobby, i could probably get quite a few people here on the disability pension. ;) ;)
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:01pm aquascoot wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:00pm:
Yes Aqua, Walter Mitty was an emergency-room surgeon in his fantasies. Tell me - are you taking any medication? |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:03pm
Hi bobby. Hang him, and hang him high. :)
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:05pm wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:03pm:
No Crook, we must forgive those who trespass against us. Did you click on the link? here again: http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1356646946/120#133 |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by imcrookonit on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:09pm
Well bobby, I suppose he cant help himself. To much of that water, must have done something to him. ;D
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:14pm wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:09pm:
Yes Crook, notice he repeated the 3rd charge on the list: Quote:
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Kat on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:18pm wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 3:23pm:
Doesn't even cover their fares and lunch, so they actually come out behind...great incentive to participate, eh? |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by thelastnail on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:21pm Bobby. wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:14pm:
I bet you he'd have a picture of maggie thatcher on his wall ;) |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Mnemonic on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:29pm Dnarever wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 10:02pm:
I support a market-driven economy, but only to a point. I am fine with the idea of factory equipment costing $12 million or a stealth fighter costing $200 million, but not people. I do not believe that concept should apply to people. I do not believe that one group of people are worth 100 times more than another group. For example, the lowest annual full-time income is something like $30,000. A $1 million salary is fine, but beyond that I would find it harder to justify. Dnarever wrote on Apr 18th, 2013 at 10:02pm:
Rational choice theory doesn't really live up to its claims. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Mnemonic on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:45pm aquascoot wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 6:57am:
This is understandable, except when the "fat cats" themselves start complaining. I am sure there are plenty of middle class people who can survive on a $40k-$80k annual full-time income. I am fine with someone receiving $12 million per year as long as they don't complain about an underclass that is angry about his lifestyle. You know why the underclass complains. If you get a big, fat salary, you shut up and don't complain about the underclass. You're luckier than most people. Even if you do work hard, if you earn $200k a year you are more fortunate than most people. If middle class people can survive on $40-$80k a year, you have a lot of "disposable income" which you don't really need. Again, I am fine for these people to keep their wealth as long as they don't complain about the underclass. If you have an annual income of $200k and you have to complain about the underclass, you can't be very good at saving money. If you want to buy an expensive house, fine, do that but don't complain about the underclass demanding more pay if the middle class can survive without your expensive house. If you want to send your kids to a private school, fine, do that, but again don't complain about the underclass. Not everyone needs a public education. When you deliberately choose to purchase more expensive goods and services, the reason why you still don't have enough money is your very own fault. You can blame the underclass for their lack of potential, but if you have to complain about them taking some of your "disposable income," you're to blame for not being very good at saving money. aquascoot wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 6:57am:
aquascoot wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 6:57am:
It's rather funny that you criticise socialism when what you're describing here is a form of socialism: a walled garden community of employees who pat each other on the back, support each other and defend themselves from external threats. Yet, with all this "community," I would think these employees could all afford to take a pay cut. It would make the business even more efficient and profitable. If one of your employees is in financial trouble as a result of a pay cut, the company as a whole could lend a helping hand. When you've got friends, you need even less money to survive. The sense of "community" has to be pretty artificial if you have to give people a high salary to create it. It sounds more like you're "bribing" them to be "friendly." |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Mnemonic on Apr 19th, 2013 at 5:02pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 9:01am:
That's socialism inside a corporate/company environment. The more employers do to make life easier for their employees, the less they will have to pay them. Happy employees are cheaper. People tend to think socialism is people begging for money when it's about collectivism. If you establish the right kind of collectivism, workers become cheaper because they are happier and more satisfied. If you have to pay your employees more to keep them happy, there has to be something wrong with the management of your company. Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 9:01am:
I thought the whole point of the "public sector" was that we could hold it "accountable." Something has obviously gone wrong. Maybe we should have a bunch of journalists entering their premises and analysing what they're doing. The public sector works for the common people and they shouldn't need any privacy. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Mnemonic on Apr 19th, 2013 at 5:33pm JC Denton wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 11:46am:
No, not those employment agencies. Send them to factories instead. Newstart is around $460/fortnight. That's 30.7 hours/fortnight on a $15/hour minimum wage. We could use these people to regain some of our manufacturing capacity. FriYAY wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 12:00pm:
The market pays some people too much money. The market goes up and down all the time, so it isn't really an objective measure of the worth of someone's work is it? The only reason why we have put up with this silly system is because nobody has come up with a reasonable alternative. Kat wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 1:17pm:
Oh I do think they have a somewhat "valid" reason, but not a very rational one, maybe even a little hypocritical. "Fat-cat" conservatives are worried about people taking away their "disposable income." If I define a "disposable income" as something beyond what middle class people can afford to spend on basic necessities, with incomes in the range of $40k-$80k, then people above say an income of $200k have more money than they need. These "fat-cat" conservatives have the irrational fear of their quality of life slipping away. It is irrational because of the basic needs of middle class people. Like I said, you can blame the underclass for lacking potential, but when the fat-cats complain, they are the ones to blame for being poor savers -- otherwise their complaints about the underclass taking their disposable income are completely unnecessary. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by The Heartless Felon on Apr 20th, 2013 at 7:25am Kat wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:18pm:
Lunch? |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by Kat on Apr 20th, 2013 at 8:49am The Heartless Felon wrote on Apr 20th, 2013 at 7:25am:
Yes, lunch. The unemployed eat too, you know. Or did you think lunches were supplied? They're not. |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by cods on Apr 20th, 2013 at 9:14am wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 6:35am:
thank you.will tell her........ seems discrimination if they dont allow her to return part time dont you think??? I wouldnt go along with that if it wasnt for all this paid maternity leave it kind of encourages people to increase their family only to have this dumped on them.... |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 20th, 2013 at 9:15am Bobby. wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:14pm:
bump |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by The Heartless Felon on Apr 20th, 2013 at 10:39am Kat wrote on Apr 20th, 2013 at 8:49am:
Why would lunch be supplied? In normal workplaces, fodder is not provided. Or are you saying that if one is not working for the dole, one doesnt eat lunch? Even on Newstart you can eat something... |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by thelastnail on Apr 20th, 2013 at 11:52am wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:09pm:
yeh to much Peckham Springs ;) longlosers latest venture. bottling up tap water ;) |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by aquascoot on Apr 22nd, 2013 at 7:12am Mnemonic wrote on Apr 19th, 2013 at 4:45pm:
some good points there mnemonic and i take them all. sure some people on $200k whinge and whine. i have no time for whingers or whiners be they rich or poor. why? well it simply is the wrong attitude to life and it it causes harm. life will deal everyone(and i do mean everyone) some poo cards at some stage. be it business problems, health problems, family problems. this is the very essence of life. now to complain or whine or feel self pity is simply foolish. how does it help? how can it possibly help? a simple analysis of the facts reveals that a second wasted on self pity is a second of your life totally wasted. why should you keep getting up off the floor and staying positive. because you have no choice ;) ;) seriously, people just dont seem to get IT. whatever the problem, whining and bitching can only make it worse and attempting to find a solution is the only course of action left to someone with any sense of logic. so yes, make it your mantra, write it in big letters on your fridge. NEVER GIVE UP. and when you ask yourself why. just remember that giving up gaurantees failure, being persistent is no gaurantee of success but the odds are better than submissive surrender. once people understand this basic piece of logic their lives are transformed overnite. and here is even better news. humans respond to someone who is trying to overcome adversity, they will WANT to help. they will clear the path for you. it is such a win/win , i cannot for the life of me see why crook and co dont get on board. as i say, they have absolutely nothing to lose. think about it ;) |
Title: Re: Starting A New Job, But How Much Does It pay. Post by longweekend58 on Apr 22nd, 2013 at 9:58am Kat wrote on Apr 20th, 2013 at 8:49am:
I think he was commenting that you eat lunch whether you are working or not and therefore is an irrelevancy. Or are we going to sya that it doesnt cover the cost of underwear and socks? |