General Discussion >> General Board >> Australia - Is An Expensive Place To Live.
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1366670065

Message started by imcrookonit on Apr 23rd, 2013 at 8:34am

Title: Australia - Is An Expensive Place To Live.
Post by imcrookonit on Apr 23rd, 2013 at 8:34am
Australia: The costs are spiralling     :(

Date
    April 23, 2013

Adele Ferguson

In the past 11 years Australia has become one of the most expensive places to live, costlier than New York, London, Frankfurt and Singapore on everything from five-star hotels, car rentals, public transport, a pint of beer, cigarettes, jeans and an iPhone.     :(

The survey, compiled by Deutsche Bank on prices and price indices on a range of products collected largely from the internet, concludes the US is the cheapest developed country in the world and Australia and Japan two of the more expensive.

According to the survey, Sydney remains the most expensive place for a weekend away, almost double the cost of a weekend holiday in New York. To put it into perspective, New Zealand weekend getaways are 25 per cent cheaper than in New York.     :(

Singapore-based Deutsche Bank global strategist Sanjeev Sanyal said the survey is a survey of prices and deliberately does not try to explain the data. It is more a case that the price comparisons speak for themselves and in Australia's case it is massively more expensive on most goods and services. Like all surveys that compare prices, there will be some distortions but even if these are stripped out, a basic trend has been captured that is disturbing in a global context.

Australia is part of a global community operating in a competitive world. When prices are relatively higher than the rest of the world it raises questions about how we can compete and how do we become less expensive?

High wages, high input costs including energy and rental costs, the inflation bogey and the tyranny of distance all contribute to the country's lacklustre productivity and falling competitiveness. But it has reached a point where something has to give.

The strong Australian dollar, as many countries actively try to reduce their exchange rates, is crippling manufacturing, retail, tourism and agricultural exports.

While this is a problem, the country doesn't do itself any favours when surveys such as this show that a five-star hotel room in Sydney is more than double the cost of a comparable room in New York, London, Moscow and Paris.     :(

And for all the moaning about the strong currency hurting exports, on the flip side it should be helping keep a lid on inflation and reduce the price of imports. Not so when it comes to products such as cars and cigarettes. For instance, the price of a new Volkswagen Golf 2.0 TDI (or equivalent) with no extras is 44 per cent higher in Melbourne relative to New York's $US26,044 price tag and 51 per cent higher in Sydney. In Rio de Janeiro the car is 6 per cent cheaper and in Singapore the same car costs a whopping $US110,381.

The list of high prices goes on. The survey estimates that an iPhone costs $US819.33 in Australia, compared with $US649 in the US, $US802 in Britain and $US699 in Canada.   

It shows that Australians also pay relatively more for their Big Macs, beer and cigarettes. A Big Mac is 12 per cent more expensive relative to the US, making it one of the most expensive burgers in the world. In Greece, Egypt and China Big Macs are half the price and in India they are less than a third.     :(

Comparing the prices of a 25 pack of Marlboro cigarettes, Australia is the most expensive, with a price tag of $US17.22, compared with $US2.29 a pack in India, $US2.84 in China, $US3.51 in South Africa, $US1.10 in the Philippines and $US1.39 in Jakarta. In Australia's defence, most of the price difference can be attributed to taxes.    

Another product that captures high taxes is beer. Again, Australia ranks as one of the highest priced countries when it comes to beer, with an average pint costing $US8.20, compared with $US2.03 in Brazil, $US4.55 in Britain and $6 in the US.     :(

Petrol is also relatively expensive in Australia, with a litre 71 per cent more expensive in Australia than in the US and 41 per cent more expensive than in China.     :(

Whatever the reason for the higher cost of living, it raises questions about Australia and the cost of doing business.

Office space rentals in central business districts estimate that gross rent in Melbourne is 32 per cent higher than in New York in 2013, and more expensive than Berlin, Auckland, Shanghai and Toronto.

It is a big issue that state and federal governments and companies need to work out before Australia falls too far down the ranks of competitiveness.

It will make the consumer price index figures that are released on Wednesday all the more pertinent, particularly as the Reserve Bank waits to decide on what to do about interest rates next month.

The last set came in at lower than expectations but showed power and water were up by more than 14 per cent, while housing costs, health and education also rose.

Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/business/australia-the-costs-are-spiralling-20130422-2ianh.html#ixzz2REYPqgTn

Title: Re: Australia - Is An Expensive Place To Live.
Post by imcrookonit on Apr 23rd, 2013 at 8:44am
It shows that Australians also pay relatively more for their Big Macs, beer and cigarettes. A Big Mac is 12 per cent more expensive relative to the US, making it one of the most expensive burgers in the world. In Greece, Egypt and China Big Macs are half the price and in India they are less than a third.    I like A Big Mac, now and again.     :(

Post by Swagman on Apr 23rd, 2013 at 8:48am
Yes so why bring in a carbon tax that will do stuff all to save the world and increase everyone's living costs Crook man?

Post by imcrookonit on Apr 23rd, 2013 at 8:53am
Some people do care about the environment, Swag man.     :)

Post by Swagman on Apr 23rd, 2013 at 9:20am
Well then those that care for the environment should pay for it Crook man and stop trying to rob everyone else... :)

Post by dingo2 on Apr 23rd, 2013 at 5:01pm
Bloody Political parasits on here.

Post by Mnemonic on Apr 23rd, 2013 at 5:53pm

Swagman wrote on Apr 23rd, 2013 at 8:48am:
Yes so why bring in a carbon tax that will do stuff all to save the world and increase everyone's living costs Crook man?

Maybe living costs should be increasing. It makes people think about what they really need, in contrast to what they want. Back in the days before the GFC, life was easy because the banks and credit card companies were offering easy credit. Back then, people were spending more. Easy credit led to increased economic activity. Similarly, low living costs also lead to higher economic activity and therefore higher energy consumption, because people don't feel deterred from using too much energy.

So why do I think lower energy consumption is good? It's because with 7 billion people on this planet, one day we're going to have to get used to it. It has nothing to do with saving the world or being a do-gooder. It is inevitable that one day there are going to be too many people on this planet and not enough energy to maintain current living conditions. We might as well learn now to use less energy than figure it out later.

If we don't do this, our descendants won't do it. By the time they start conserving energy, it will be too late. By then, people in other parts of the world will probably be complaining that Australians have life so easy while they live in slums. One day in that dark, dark future where the rest of the world is filled with slums, some of them will be angry enough to send an invasion force over and overrun our island. We'd think of them as the bad guys, as thieves and robbers taking what isn't their's, but actually they'd be right. We either share what we have or learn to live with less.

Post by thelastnail on Apr 24th, 2013 at 12:16am

Swagman wrote on Apr 23rd, 2013 at 8:48am:

it's got nothing to do with the carbon tax you brain dead liberal parrot :(

libbos answer to everything is to get rid of the carbon tax :D LOL

Post by dingo2 on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:15am
This topic didn't get very far did it.

Post by pansi1951 on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:52am

Australia is overrated and overpriced, terrible value for money. That's why there are so many expats living in SE Asia..........and lovin' it.

Post by dingo2 on Apr 24th, 2013 at 8:09am
Provide for the people of Australia you IGNORANT Bastards and Bitchs in the Australian government.

Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 24th, 2013 at 9:42am

wrote on Apr 23rd, 2013 at 8:44am:
A Big Mac is 12 per cent more expensive relative to the US, making it one of the most expensive burgers in the world.

As a percentage of WAGES ?

Your burger may cost you about 12% more - but your income is up to DOUBLE

A Big Mac in the US is around an hour's income ( ... starting at US$5.15 per hour in Wyoming for adults) to the person behind the counter SELLING it to you

Post by dingo2 on Apr 24th, 2013 at 12:48pm
Australia: The costs are spiralling    

Post by Grey on Apr 24th, 2013 at 1:42pm

buzzanddidj wrote on Apr 24th, 2013 at 9:42am:

wrote on Apr 23rd, 2013 at 8:44am:
A Big Mac is 12 per cent more expensive relative to the US, making it one of the most expensive burgers in the world.

As a percentage of WAGES ?

Your burger may cost you about 12% more - but your income is up to DOUBLE

A Big Mac in the US is around an hour's income ( ... starting at US$5.15 per hour in Wyoming for adults) to the person behind the counter SELLING it to you

That's right, up to a point, but the inflationary spiral is largely due to the rise in real estate. It's utterly ludicrous for a house price in WA's latest declared 'city' Busselton, to be comparable to house prices in London and New York. One thing we do have in Australia is space.

And then there's the Australian capacity for being greedy sods. Buy Australian garlic for $35 a kl? Give over. Australians do like to buy Australian and that's a good principle; but a lot of Australian producers sure like to make them pay through the nose for the privilege. Garlic yields about 4,500 kilo per acre, (very average) = $135,000 an acre. Nice work if you can get it :-)

Post by dingo2 on Apr 24th, 2013 at 5:10pm
Small amount of shopping done today Woolworths Supermarket Stafford city Brisbane.
2 Lt Milk, Box of Ice Creams, One Micro wave meal, 2 Lt Cola, Box of Breafast cereal
Total $28.41 (from last $30 cash I had)

Post by Quantum on Apr 24th, 2013 at 5:16pm

dingo2 wrote on Apr 24th, 2013 at 5:10pm:
Small amount of shopping done today Woolworths Supermarket Stafford city Brisbane.
2 Lt Milk, Box of Ice Creams, One Micro wave meal, 2 Lt Cola, Box of Breafast cereal

Ice creams, microwave meals, and soft drink (not just LA ice, but the most expensive one as well). Good to see you spend the last bits of your government handout wisely.

Post by John Smith on Apr 24th, 2013 at 5:29pm

microwave meal? with your last $30 ... I kg of chiken wings $2.99, 1 kg pasta $5, 2 ltr milk $2, cordial $5, Cereal $5, Icecream $8 .... $28 and .. enough food and drink for at least 4 days compared to yours which serves as 1 dinner. What are you thinking?

Post by dingo2 on Apr 24th, 2013 at 5:34pm
No just trying to live like everyone else in the community

Like you and you.

You BASTARDS Think that this is funny do You.

IGNORANT BASTARDS

2 lt Milk no Not $2.00, $2.99

and No Money to buy Rent

Post by Quantum on Apr 24th, 2013 at 5:49pm

dingo2 wrote on Apr 24th, 2013 at 5:34pm:

Like you and you.

Living like the rest of us also requires getting up in the morning to go to work.

IGNORANT BASTARDS

and No Money to buy Rent

Funny? Someone complaining that they have no money left for rent after spending nearly $30 on mostly junk food. Not just funny, but priceless.

Post by dingo2 on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:05pm

Quantum wrote on Apr 24th, 2013 at 5:49pm:

Like you and you.

Living like the rest of us also requires getting up in the morning to go to work.

[quote]You BASTARDS Think that this is funny do You.

IGNORANT BASTARDS

and No Money to buy Rent

Well Then PROVIDE A JOB you IGNORANT bastard

Workers trained and qualified to do specific ocupations  and there kept unemployed, by uncaring bastards Ie Quantum and government department holding onto there jobs.

Post by John Smith on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:11pm

Like you and you.

IGNORANT BASTARDS

and No Money to buy Rent

woolies or coles homebrand milk 2ltr $2, 3 ltr $3 Aldi is even less  ..... unless you have a need for one of these milks that is not milk ..

Not having a go at you, I just think you need to explore other options .. pre packaged meals are the most expensive options.

How many burgers can you make yourself with 1kg mince? a loaf of bread a couple of tomatoes and some lettuce? If you feel like splurging throw in a can of beetroot ..  I get at least 6 burgers from 1kg mince.

Post by buzzanddidj on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:12pm

If ONLY you'd had enough for a few bottles of BEER, as WELL
You'd have all FOUR major food groups covered

Post by Quantum on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:16pm

dingo2 wrote on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:05pm:

Like you and you.

[quote]You BASTARDS Think that this is funny do You.

IGNORANT BASTARDS

and No Money to buy Rent

Workers trained and qualified to do specific ocupations  and there kept unemployed, by uncaring bastards Ie Quantum and government department holding onto there jobs.

So you are waiting for your dream job to come along and won't move until the government rings you up and says;

"we have got it here for you. Is $100,000 a year good enough for your amazing skills?"

If you are as skilled as you claim, start your own business. If not, go deliver pizzas or what ever job you can get. It is not as if there are not jobs out there. When the right job comes up, at least you can say "I have been working here for the last year" instead of "I have been living on government handouts for the last decade or so".

You are also batshit paranoid if you think the right job for you is out there and I am the one stopping you from getting it. Like I have a list of jobs that I should be providing for you but I am making sure you are overlooked. You're a total head case dingo. Put the ice creams down and get a job for yourself.

Post by dingo2 on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:22pm
They will Provide that Job as required.

There are only 2 option here,

1. I work in my trained skilled profession.

2. I get to RETIRE from my trained and skilled profession

in the mean time they pay.

UNEMPLOYMENT IS NOT A OPTION,
It has one purpose it Destroys peoples lives. Ie other people out there destroy other peoples lives.

Heartless IGNORANT Bastards the lot of you.

Post by Quantum on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:26pm

dingo2 wrote on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:22pm:
They will Provide that Job as required.

There are only 2 option here,

1. I work in my trained skilled profession.

2. I get to RETIRE from my trained and skilled profession

in the mean time they pay.

UNEMPLOYMENT IS NOT A OPTION,
It has one purpose it Destroys peoples lives. Ie other people out there destroy other peoples lives.

So you either get the exact job that you want, or the rest of us have to pay to keep you...

Hope you starve you selfish bastard.

Post by dingo2 on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:32pm
I will sit this out as long as it takes, even starve to death if I have to to make the point.

If someone is trained for the Job you give them a Job, you don't IGNORE them.

You Don't KEEP people unemployed, just so you can say we have a unemployment Problem in this country.

The Jobs are there, provide them to the People that need them not the asholes that don't need them.

Post by Robert Paulson on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:34pm

dingo2 wrote on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:32pm:
I will sit this out as long as it takes, even starve to death if I have to to make the point.

What if there is no job?  What if your "trained skilled profession" was a telegraph operator - not much market for them these days.

Post by Quantum on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:37pm

dingo2 wrote on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:32pm:

You Don't KEEP people unemployed, just so you can say we have a unemployment Problem in this country.

The Jobs are there, provide them to the People that need them not the asholes that don't need them.

You claim to be trained for a certain job.
You claim that particular job is available.

Go get yourself that job! No one is going to hold your hand or come looking for you.

Post by Spot of Borg on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:52am

Quantum wrote on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:16pm:

Like you and you.

IGNORANT BASTARDS

and No Money to buy Rent

So you are waiting for your dream job to come along and won't move until the government rings you up and says;

"we have got it here for you. Is $100,000 a year good enough for your amazing skills?"

If you are as skilled as you claim, start your own business. If not, go deliver pizzas or what ever job you can get. It is not as if there are not jobs out there. When the right job comes up, at least you can say "I have been working here for the last year" instead of "I have been living on government handouts for the last decade or so".

You are also batshit paranoid if you think the right job for you is out there and I am the one stopping you from getting it. Like I have a list of jobs that I should be providing for you but I am making sure you are overlooked. You're a total head case dingo. Put the ice creams down and get a job for yourself.

1) There are not jobs out there

[quote]Australia had only 166,000 vacant jobs in November, down from 193,000 two years earlier. More than 600,000 Australians were looking for work.

http://www.smh.com.au/data-point/job-vacancies-plunge-as-confidence-slides-20130109-2cguy.html

2) Pizza delivery is done by teenagers for very low wages - not enough to pay rent or anything - and they wont hire anyone older.

Post by dingo2 on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:01am
The Australain Government will provide, If they run Wealfare to Work, then the emphasis has to be work not just saving wealfare money. You can't have sucess if a person life don't get Better, Therefore a pizza delivery job is not better.

I have listed my centrelink number on these forums before.

If you Don't like it IGNORANTS, Then make a complant to your local centelink, (human services office) and ask them how is it possible that a job seeker has no job network services available to them.
IE No Chance of getting Employment, because government departments are stopping this person, thus being Kept unemployed, and told to go on a Disability pension, before any help is given,

Make a complaint Ignorants, I have even taken this situation to the nine network A current affair program, and the won't cover it, they won't ask the questions of centrelink, and yet there real good at doing welfare dole bludger bashing storys on there program.

This is your Tax payers Money

Post by Quantum on Apr 25th, 2013 at 8:02am

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:52am:

Quantum wrote on Apr 24th, 2013 at 6:16pm:

Like you and you.

IGNORANT BASTARDS

and No Money to buy Rent

1) There are not jobs out there

Yet the very next thing you post is this;

[quote]Australia had only 166,000 vacant jobs in November, down from 193,000 two years earlier. More than 600,000 Australians were looking for work.

the jobs are there. There may not be enough for everyone at one time, but if you keep looking one will come up. No one can say they are looking for work yet be unemployed for year after year.

2) Pizza delivery is done by teenagers for very low wages - not enough to pay rent or anything - and they wont hire anyone older.

BS. Complete and utter BS. Almost all pizza delivery places pay per delivery, not per hour. Therefore they don't care what age you are as there is no advantage in hiring younger people to keep wages low.

In fact, a lot of pizza delivery places give preference to older people. They don't want young P plate drivers having accidents in their rush to make deliveries.

Your claim that it is done by teenagers is rubbish. Very few teenagers work in pizza delivery. Most are in their 20's and 30's.

Stop making shlt up spot. Every thread ends up with some bogus claim by you.

Post by dingo2 on Apr 25th, 2013 at 12:44pm
I didn't post that about 166000 jobs, BOAG did

If there are 166000 Jobs available , they can be filled and we might be able to drop the unemployment rate down to about 3%
INSTEAD OF KEEPING PEOPLE UNEMPLOYED. So others can lord it over them.

Post by Robert Paulson on Apr 25th, 2013 at 12:51pm
It's expensive for people who work too.  So expensive that we don't have enough money to spare to maintain the deadshits.  Find a job or a hustle, or slink off and die somewhere.

Post by Spot of Borg on Apr 25th, 2013 at 1:04pm

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 8:02am:
the jobs are there. There may not be enough for everyone at one time, but if you keep looking one will come up. No one can say they are looking for work yet be unemployed for year after year.

No they arent obviously. Since there are about 400k short 400k ppl are going to miss out.

BS. Complete and utter BS. Almost all pizza delivery places pay per delivery, not per hour. Therefore they don't care what age you are as there is no advantage in hiring younger people to keep wages low.

They are all kids around here - only kids can survive on about 30 bucks per shift. How many pizzas would they deliver? By "most" which ones do you mean? Not dominos . .. . .

Stop making shlt up spot. Every thread ends up with some bogus claim by you.

Having another lil temper tantrum trole?

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 1:17pm

BS. Complete and utter BS. Almost all pizza delivery places pay per delivery, not per hour.

No.

Employees on Agreements are paid a weekly wage (subject to junior rates), plus a small fee for each delivery (though not always).

Those on the Modern Award are paid a weekly wage which is also subject to junior rates.

If they need to use their own vehicle for deliveries, they're paid an allowance of 75 cents per kilometre on top of their normal hourly rate.

http://www.fwc.gov.au/documents/modern_awards/pdf/MA000003.pdf

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 1:33pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 1:04pm:
By "most" which ones do you mean? Not dominos . .. . .

No, certainly not Domino's: they have an Agreement for their delivery drivers and they are paid a minimum hourly rate (subject to junior percentages).

Any pizza delivery person working for a store that does not have an Agreement, is covered by the applicable Modern Award: Fast Food Industry Award 2010.

Schedule B describes the duties, including " ... delivery of meals"

Clause 17 shows the minimum weekly wages: $666.10 per week.

Clause 18 explains the junior rates.

The overall majority of pizza delivery drivers in Australia are paid a minimum hourly rate.  Moreover, those hourly rates are subject to junior rate percentages which is why pizza stores like to employ younger people to do the deliveries.

An adult delivery driver gets $666.10 per week.

A 17 year old doing the exact same job only gets $399.66.

Not too sure where Quantum is getting his information from, but it's wrong.

Post by Quantum on Apr 25th, 2013 at 2:31pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 1:17pm:

BS. Complete and utter BS. Almost all pizza delivery places pay per delivery, not per hour.

No.

Employees on Agreements are paid a weekly wage (subject to junior rates), plus a small fee for each delivery (though not always).

Those on the Modern Award are paid a weekly wage which is also subject to junior rates.

If they need to use their own vehicle for deliveries, they're paid an allowance of 75 cents per kilometre on top of their normal hourly rate.

and

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 1:33pm:

No, certainly not Domino's: they have an Agreement for their delivery drivers and they are paid a minimum hourly rate (subject to junior percentages).

Any pizza delivery person working for a store that does not have an Agreement, is covered by the applicable Modern Award: Fast Food Industry Award 2010.

The overall majority of pizza delivery drivers in Australia are paid a minimum hourly rate.  Moreover, those hourly rates are subject to junior rate percentages which is why pizza stores like to employ younger people to do the deliveries.

Typical of you. Thinking you know all the answers when you have no bloody idea of the real world.

This is right off Pizza Huts website; http://www.pizzahut.com.au/work-with-us/career-faqs

"Q. How are drivers paid?
You can be paid either per delivery or an hourly rate plus a per delivery fee. More specific information will be available at your interview."

Just one Pizza chain (and Pizza Hut is not a little unknown one) is all it takes to show that your 'but the Award says' is not so black and white.

Many Pizza drivers are not on an hourly rate, but get paid per delivery. Your quoting of award numbers for weekly wages is also a waste of time, because you would be pushing hard to find a Pizza shop that hires a full time delivery driver anyway. Almost all pizza drivers are casual, especially with the big chains.

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 2:47pm

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 2:31pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 1:17pm:

No.

and

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 1:33pm:

Typical of you. Thinking you know all the answers when you have no bloody idea of the real world.

This is right off Pizza Huts website; http://www.pizzahut.com.au/work-with-us/career-faqs

You can be paid either per delivery or an hourly rate plus a per delivery fee. More specific information will be available at your interview."

Just one Pizza chain (and Pizza Hut is not a little unknown one) is all it takes to show that your 'but the Award says' is not so black and white.

Many Pizza drivers are not on an hourly rate, but get paid per delivery. Your quoting of award numbers for weekly wages is also a waste of time, because you would be pushing hard to find a Pizza shop that hires a full time delivery driver anyway. Almost all pizza drivers are casual, especially with the big chains.

Don't like to admit when you're wrong, do you?

Your statement "Almost all pizza delivery places pay per delivery, not per hour." is incorrect.  Simple fact.

A small percentage of employees (on some Agreements) are paid in the way you described, however, the majority are on an hourly rate.

And regarding the "Almost all pizza drivers are casual" piece at the end of your post: yes, you are 100% correct.

Now, do you know how the hourly rate for a casual is determined?

I'll tell you.

The weekly rate for a full time employee (from the applicable Agreement or Award) is divided by 38, to give an hourly rate.

Then, the casual loading (25%) is applied to arrive at the minimum hourly rate for a casual employee doing pizza deliveries.

For an adult, that's $21.91 per hour ($666.10 divided by 38 = $17.53, multiplied by 125% = $21.91).

For a 17 year old it's $13.15 per hour ($666.10 multiplied by 60% = $399.66, divided by 38 = $10.52, multiplied by 125% = $13.15.

Casuals, as well as permanent employees, are covered by the NES and Modern Awards.

All employees covered by Awards and Agreements have an hourly rate: it's just a matter of dividing the weekly figure by 38.  A difficult task for some, granted, but give it a go sometime and see how you go.

Overall, you seem to have very little understanding of industrial relations so, if you don't want to be made a fool of again I'd suggest not discussing such issues with me: you will always come off second best.  Just some friendly advice.

Post by John Smith on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:11pm
Australia - Is An Expensive Place To Live.

you always have the option of pissing off to somewhere cheaper.

Post by Quantum on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:23pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 2:47pm:
Don't like to admit when you're wrong, do you?

Pretty obvious that is your problem in this discussion, not mine. You said;

No.

No sign of anyone getting paid per delivery here. You simply said those on Agreements are paid a weekly wage and some get a per delivery payment on top of that. Others get an Award wage.

You then said;

Not too sure where Quantum is getting his information from, but it's wrong.

Again, no acknowledgement of per delivery here. Just a lot of legal quoting with no connection to reality. When you are shown to be wrong (by showing you how one of the biggest Pizza chains in the nation works) you went back to more law talk;

Your statement "Almost all pizza delivery places pay per delivery, not per hour." is incorrect.  Simple fact.

A small percentage of employees (on some Agreements) are paid in the way you described, however, the majority are on an hourly rate.

And regarding the "Almost all pizza drivers are casual" piece at the end of your post: yes, you are 100% correct.

Now, do you know how the hourly rate for a casual is determined?

I'll tell you.

The weekly rate for a full time employee (from the applicable Agreement or Award) is divided by 38, to give an hourly rate.

Then, the casual loading (25%) is applied to arrive at the minimum hourly rate for a casual employee doing pizza deliveries.

For an adult, that's $21.91 per hour.

For a 17 year old it's $13.14 per hour.

All employees covered by Awards and Agreements have an hourly rate: it's just a matter of diving the weekly figure by 38.  A difficult task for some, granted, but give it a go sometime and see how you go.

Overall, you seem to have very little understanding of industrial relations so, if you don't want to be made a fool of again I'd suggest not discussing such issues with me: you will always come off second best.  Just some friendly advice.

Let me explain how it works.

Pizza Hut have a Method A and Method B payment system.

Method A: Per Hour plus Per Delivery
Method B: Per Delivery

Each shop has to have 3 Method A drivers. All others are Method B (A new worker doesn't actually get a choice. If they have 3 Method A's already, too bad). A shop may have 30+ drivers on their roster. Only 3 of them will be Method A, all others will be on Method B.

When one of the largest Chains has the vast majority of their drivers on a per delivery system, it is obvious that many delivery drivers are now on a per delivery basis. That's because those shops they pay per hour do not hire anywhere near as many drivers, because they have to pay them whether they make a delivery or not.

Your "A small percentage of employees (on some Agreements) are paid in the way you described, however, the majority are on an hourly rate." is ridiculous when nearly ever Pizza Hut driver is on the method I described; a method that you refused to even acknowledged existed ("Not too sure where Quantum is getting his information from, but it's wrong.") until you were proven beyond doubt that per delivery does exist.

Stop being a wanker. You yet again tried to be a smart arse and you were proven wrong.

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:28pm

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:23pm:
Stop being a wanker. You yet again tried to be a smart arse and you were proven wrong.

"Almost all pizza delivery places pay per delivery, not per hour." is incorrect.  Simple fact.

I'm sorry if you are having trouble adjusting to the truth.

You'll just have to learn to deal with it I suppose.

Anyway, better luck next time.

Post by Spot of Borg on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:30pm
Thats pizza hut hardly "most". They most prolly still have a smaller amount for juniors to deliver but they wouldn't advertise that now would they. I doubt very many would opt for the per delivery rate anyway because it wouldn't pay very well considering how many drivers there and and how many pizzas you can actually deliver in a few hours.

The fact remains that dingo most likely wouldn't get a job there unless he is a very young lad.

Post by Robert Paulson on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:32pm
who dam cares how "most" pizza shops operate?  Last time I ordered a pizza, which was a few years ago, it was delivered by a dude in his late 30's at least.  I made a mental note of the contempt I found myself feeling  about this grown man doing a childs job.  That was pizza hut.

Post by Spot of Borg on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:35pm
You are right. Quantum yet again managed to distract us onto a strawman. The point i made was that there are not the jobs out there to accommodate the unemployed.

Post by Quantum on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:36pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:28pm:

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:23pm:

"Almost all pizza delivery places pay per delivery, not per hour." is incorrect.  Simple fact.

I'm sorry if you are having trouble adjusting to the truth.

You'll just have to learn to deal with it I suppose.

But you said;

"Employees on Agreements are paid a weekly wage (subject to junior rates), plus a small fee for each delivery (though not always).

Those on the Modern Award are paid a weekly wage which is also subject to junior rates."

But this is incorrect because;

Pizza Huts website; http://www.pizzahut.com.au/work-with-us/career-faqs

I accept your white flag.

Post by Robert Paulson on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:37pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:35pm:
The point i made was that there are not the jobs out there to accommodate the unemployed.

Not my problem, but if I had to solve it, I'd just cut the extra 200,000 we import into the job market from overseas each year.  It really is that simple.

Post by Spot of Borg on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:39pm

... wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:37pm:

The point i made was that there are not the jobs out there to accommodate the unemployed.

Not my problem, but if I had to solve it, I'd just cut the extra 200,000 we import into the job market from overseas each year.  It really is that simple.

That still leaves around 200,000

Post by Quantum on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:40pm

You are right. Quantum yet again managed to distract us onto a strawman. The point i made was that there are not the jobs out there to accommodate the unemployed.

More BS. All i said was this;

"If you are as skilled as you claim, start your own business. If not, go deliver pizzas or what ever job you can get."

That's it. You started all this teenage crap, and people being too old to get a job.

My comment was just saying get whatever job you can. They are out there if you look.

Post by Robert Paulson on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:40pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:39pm:

... wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:37pm:

That still leaves around 200,000

Then continue for 1 more year.

Post by Spot of Borg on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:43pm

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:40pm:

"If you are as skilled as you claim, start your own business. If not, go deliver pizzas or what ever job you can get."

That's it. You started all this teenage crap, and people being too old to get a job.

My comment was just saying get whatever job you can. They are out there if you look.

Dont quote mine "trole". Too old to get a job delivering pizzas.

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:44pm

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:36pm:
You can be paid either per delivery or an hourly rate plus a per delivery fee. More specific information will be available at your interview." [/i]

Well, when you get that "specific information", let us all know what it is.

We're all dying to hear.

Anyway, good luck with the interview.

Post by Quantum on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:47pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:43pm:

Dont quote mine "trole". Too old to get a job delivering pizzas.

You are so smacking dumb You should be banned just because of what a moronic retard you are.

All I said was;

You then started the whole Pizza shlt discussion by talking about about how they only hire teenagers. There was no Pizza discussion until you missed the point (yet again);

Take what ever job you can! If that means delivery Pizza's, do it.

How thick can someone be.

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:47pm

... wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:32pm:
who dam cares how "most" pizza shops operate?  Last time I ordered a pizza, which was a few years ago, it was delivered by a dude in his late 30's at least.  I made a mental note of the contempt I found myself feeling  about this grown man doing a childs job.  That was pizza hut.

Yeah, I suppose they aint gonna send out too many 17 year old girls delivering pizzas.

:-/

Post by Quantum on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:52pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:44pm:

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:36pm:
You can be paid either per delivery or an hourly rate plus a per delivery fee. More specific information will be available at your interview." [/i]

Well, when you get that "specific information", let us all know what it is.

We're all dying to hear.

Anyway, good luck with the interview.

Again, typical greg. Always trying to belittle people when you get proven wrong.

I already know what that "specific information" is. Only 3 drivers will be on Method A at anyone time. Everyone else is automatically put on Method B. Therefore there are two payment systems, but you don't actually get to chose what one you want. It is subject to availability.

How do I know all this? I used to work for YUM. That's why I know you are full of shlt.

Post by Robert Paulson on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:53pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:47pm:

Yeah, I suppose they aint gonna send out too many 17 year old girls delivering pizzas.

That sounds sexist. Or agist.  Or both.

Post by The Grappler on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:01pm
I was in hospital yesterday (minor heart scare, thank you) and  was chatting to the cleaner - an Indian Fijian lady.  She said that at home they might only make $80 a week but they could eat as well or better, and the community spirit was much, much stronger and people had more time for each other etc.

Here she and her (Australian) husband live in a frame house with corro walls - not much different from Fiji for many.

I also have a Chinese girlfriend, and she is about to get a 30% pay rise (don't tell my girlfriend here - I don't want to be seen as a gutter snake  :D ;D) - to cover the costs of living in China that I predicted would rise with industrialisation and then lead to the same social/economic malaises as the West is enduring now.  She is lucky to get that, and is still keen to come here.

We of the West are declining (instead of reclining) due to the costs of just living in our own country - while the ROTW thinks we are all rich.

ADDS:- Damn you Dual Income Family Demand!

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:06pm

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:52pm:

How do I know all this? I used to work for YUM. That's why I know you are full of shlt.

Well, that's quite funny actually: I deal with Yum (and other fast food companies), in a professional capacity, on a weekly basis.

And that's exactly how I know that Pizza Hut are certainly not "Almost all pizza delivery places".

All comes back to one thing:

Your statement - "Almost all pizza delivery places pay per delivery, not per hour" - is incorrect.

But, you knew that already.

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:10pm

... wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:53pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:47pm:

That sounds sexist. Or agist.  Or both.

Yep.

And us the dirty-old-man pizza lovers suffer as a result.

:'(

Post by Quantum on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:19pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:06pm:

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 3:52pm:

Well, that's quite funny actually: I deal with Yum (and other fast food companies), in a professional capacity, on a weekly basis.

And that's exactly how I know that Pizza Hut are certainly not "Almost all pizza delivery places".

All comes back to one thing:

Your statement - "Almost all pizza delivery places pay per delivery, not per hour" - is incorrect.

But, you knew that already.

Only on the assumption that Pizza Hut is the only place paying per delivery. You haven't proven they are the only ones doing it. For you to prove my statement incorrect, you will have to show that the vast majority of stores do not pay per delivery.

However, to prove you wrong, I don't need to find a list of places that pay only per delivery. I only needed to show one to prove you wrong;

"Employees on Agreements are paid a weekly wage (subject to junior rates), plus a small fee for each delivery (though not always).

Those on the Modern Award are paid a weekly wage which is also subject to junior rates."

I have now proven that to be incorrect.This is because;

Pizza Huts website; http://www.pizzahut.com.au/work-with-us/career-faqs

One pizza place (and a huge one at that) proves that you are wrong. Not all shops pay per hour. That does not mean they are the only shop operating on a per delivery system.

You are yet to show that they are the only ones paying per delivery and everyone else is paying per hour to prove my statement wrong.

Again, you are yet to prove me wrong on this. You just keep claiming victory even after your claims have been proven wrong.

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:24pm

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:19pm:
Again, you are yet to prove me wrong.

I've done it over and over again.

"Almost all pizza delivery places pay per delivery, not per hour" - is incorrect. Simple fact.

Now you're starting to behave like a child.

Anyway, as I said before, good luck with the interview.

Post by Quantum on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:32pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:24pm:

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:19pm:
Again, you are yet to prove me wrong.

I've done it over and over again.

"Almost all pizza delivery places pay per delivery, not per hour" - is incorrect. Simple fact.

Now you're starting to behave like a child.

Anyway, as I said before, good luck with the interview.

No it is not, and it is not a simple fact. You are yet to prove what I said to be incorrect. All you have said is;

Yet this is incorrect, as one of the biggest Pizza chains in the nation does not pay a weekly wage but instead pays per delivery.

Now you prove they are the only ones doing it, or show that the vast majority of Pizza places follow the system you stated above. Otherwise your comment; "incorrect. Simple fact" has no basis.

Post by dingo2 on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:49pm

Just in responce too you last comment, quantum ASS

I don't look for work, I expect work, just like any other Imigrant coming into these country.

There are jobs out there, provide them to the people that need them not the asholes taking two or more Jobs, just so they can lord it over others without.

Post by Robert Paulson on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:52pm
Who is dumber out of SOB or dingo?

Post by Quantum on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:52pm

dingo2 wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:49pm:

I don't look for work, I expect work, just like any other Imigrant coming into these country.

There are jobs out there, provide them to the people that need them not the asholes taking two or more Jobs, just so they can lord it over others without.

I think a lot of people on this forum are aware that this is the problem. Hence why many of us don't give a shlt about you crying poor.

Go get a job.

Post by dingo2 on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:56pm

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:01pm:
I was in hospital yesterday (minor heart scare, thank you) and  was chatting to the cleaner - an Indian Fijian lady.  She said that at home they might only make $80 a week but they could eat as well or better, and the community spirit was much, much stronger and people had more time for each other etc.

Good point Grappler, over in Fiji they don't have arsholes trying to Lord it over the Poor or those without jobs.

They support them

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:00pm

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:32pm:
Yet this is incorrect, as one of the biggest Pizza chains in the nation does not pay a weekly wage but instead pays per delivery.

Hard to imagine how you could have a worse day.

You quoted this yourself, from Pizza Hut:

"You can be paid either per delivery or an hourly rate plus a per delivery fee".

Each hour they work goes towards their ultimate weekly wage (divide the full-time weekly wage by 38 etc. - I've explained this to you).

Never mind.

Good luck with the job interview though.

Post by dingo2 on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:00pm

... wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:52pm:

I said it before if you don't like it make a complaint to centrelink, get off your arse.

Then something might be done to rectify my situation, a able bodied person, trained and qualified person , is being Ignored  by 5 different Job networks in the last 2 years.

I won't be taking a job as a pizza deliverer.

Post by John Smith on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:02pm

I still think progs takes the cake.

Post by cods on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:03pm

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:52pm:

I think a lot of people on this forum are aware that this is the problem. Hence why many of us don't give a shlt about you crying poor.

Go get a job.

good lord someone thinks we owe them....hilarious..

I dont look for work... I expect work...by dingo 2

havent I always said this generation is absolutely ruined....

lets hope dingo 2 isnt an English teacher by trade.. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by John Smith on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:04pm

dingo2 wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:00pm:

I said it before if you don't like make a complaint to centrelink, get off your arse.

Then something might be done to rectify my situation, a able bodied, trained and qualified person , is being Ignored  by 5 different Job networks in the last 2 years.
I won't be taking a job as a pizza deliverer.

I think I can guess why they ignore you.

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:04pm

John Smith wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:02pm:

Quantum is looking to take line honours today, although, it's hard to overlook woof woof on any given day.

Post by John Smith on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:05pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:04pm:

Quantum is looking to take line honours today, although, it's hard to overlook woof woof on any given day.

so many contenders ....

Post by dingo2 on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:10pm

cods wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:03pm:

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:52pm:

Go get a job.

good lord someone thinks we owe them....hilarious..

I dont look for work... I expect work...by dingo 2

havent I always said this generation is absolutely ruined....

lets hope dingo 2 isnt an English teacher by trade.. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

But I am not of generation alpha plus, I am generation X

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:12pm

John Smith wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:05pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:04pm:

so many contenders ....

True.

And I forgot cods.

Post by dingo2 on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:12pm
What a pack of arholes you all are.

Post by thelastnail on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:15pm
I have to agree with Tom Elliot on 3AW radio on this. Successive government policies have caused this problem. For example labor has pushed house prices up to stratospheric levels by medaling in it instead of allowing the free market to take its course and allowing it to collapse as it did in every other country. What we now have is something much worse than at the start of the GFC all because governments think they can do better by throwing tax payers money at things they shouldn't. The unsustainable car industry is another example of this as is privatisation of utilities.

Post by red baron on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:19pm
G'day Im Crook on it...happy Anzac Day...after 6 shooners at home after my march I wouldn't mind a Big Mac..mind you, you need a magnifying glass to see it these days. If has been downsized that much it would fit into a cigarette pack.

What a bunch of crap..now I go to the Pioneer Tavern and get an 8 bucks lunch and that is for a rump steak, chips and salad, they can shove McWankers where the sun don't shine! People are like sheep, pubs are now crapping on Maccas and the clubs for that matter.

Post by Aussie on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:22pm

red baron wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:19pm:
G'day Im Crook on it...happy Anzac Day...after 6 shooners at home after my march I wouldn't mind a Big Mac..mind you, you need a magnifying glass to see it these days. If has been downsized that much it would fit into a cigarette pack.

What a bunch of crap..now I go to the Pioneer Tavern and get an 8 bucks lunch and that is for a rump steak, chips and salad, they can shove McWankers where the sun don't shine! People are like sheep, pubs are now crapping on Maccas and the clubs for that matter.

Went to Bundaberg Sizzler last week.  $34.00 for a bit of cow, mashed potato and mushroom sauce!

:D

Post by Quantum on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:24pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:00pm:

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 4:32pm:

Hard to imagine how you could have a worse day.

You quoted this yourself, from Pizza Hut:

"You can be paid either per delivery or an hourly rate plus a per delivery fee".

Each hour they work goes towards their ultimate weekly wage (divide the full-time weekly wage by 38 etc. - I've explained this to you).

Never mind.

Good luck with the job interview though.

Let me explain how it works. (again)

Pizza Hut have a Method A and Method B payment system.

Method A: Per Hour plus Per Delivery
Method B: Per Delivery

Each shop has to have 3 Method A drivers. All others are Method B (A new worker doesn't actually get a choice. If they have 3 Method A's already, too bad). A shop may have 30+ drivers on their roster. Only 3 of them will be Method A, all others will be on Method B.

Your entire argument has been denying that Method B even exist. you said;

which can not be the case if almost all drivers for one of the biggest chains in the nation are paid per delivery.

Even your claim about how Method A is worked out is incorrect;

"(Each hour they work goes towards their ultimate weekly wage (divide the full-time weekly wage by 38 etc. - I've explained this to you)"

explained here;

For an adult, that's $21.91 per hour.

For a 17 year old it's $13.14 per hour.

as that is still not how Method A at Pizza hut works, as it is a set hour rate plus deliveries. Method A workers do not get $21.91 an hour plus the extra for deliveries.

You simply refuse to admit you are wrong on this. Your entire debating tactic it to belittle people and claim victory in the argument. That is all you have. You are simply unable to ever accept when you have been proven wrong. Only yourself and a couple of others find this debating style impressive.

Post by dingo2 on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:25pm
Back on topic then, No more talk about pizza delivery, good.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:26pm

red baron wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:19pm:

HI Baron,
I just ate a Hungry Jacks bacon deluxe burger & large fries.
The burger sat inside the palm of my hand - it was so small -
& there was just a tiny amount of fries in a little cardboard cup.
You used to get 2 or 3 times that much - & it's now very expensive.

what a rip-off

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:28pm

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:24pm:
Your entire argument has been denying that Method B even exist.

Nope, I know it exists.

My argument is that your statement - "Almost all pizza delivery places pay per delivery, not per hour" - is incorrect.

And I'm correct.

Good luck with the interview though.

Post by red baron on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:34pm
Hi Bobby...feeling no pain after my Anzac March. I was going to do a green Thai curry for dinner. My good lady has a fractured ankle but I'm am dab hand at the galley.
Anyhow..sad to say..just watching end of the Anzac Day League game...Easts are creaming St. George.

I have just downsized too...going for baked beans on toast..must have something to do with those six schooners I had after i got home ha! ha! Lucky baked beans are good for you!

Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:37pm

red baron wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:34pm:
Hi Bobby...feeling no pain after my Anzac March. I was going to do a green Thai curry for dinner. My good lady has a fractured ankle but I'm am dab hand at the galley.
Anyhow..sad to say..just watching end of the Anzac Day League game...Easts are creaming St. George.

I have just downsized too...going for baked beans on toast..must have something to do with those six schooners I had after i got home ha! ha! Lucky baked beans are good for you!

Hi Baron,
good for you.
I found Anzac day boring & a bit morbid.

Post by John Smith on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:39pm

dingo2 wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:12pm:

an arsehole is some pretentious prick who refuses to work unless he gets his ideal job .... full of sh1t.

Post by Quantum on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:39pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:28pm:

Your entire argument has been denying that Method B even exist.

Nope, I know it exists.

Doesn't look like it. Because neither of these fit Method B;

If you knew it existed, why quote these as the only two types?

My argument is that your statement - "Almost all pizza delivery places pay per delivery, not per hour" - is incorrect.

And I'm correct.

Yet you haven't proven my statement wrong. You have just claimed that it is incorrect with no facts to support it.

Nor was that your original argument. Your originally said;

No.

Which has been shown not to be true. You simply quoted  a document and pretended that was the end of it. Now that you have been shown that there is more to it than that in the real world, you are pretending that you knew of other payment types all the time.

Good luck with the interview though.

That is all you have. MM works at a Uni, so you pretend he is the janitor. I explain how pizza Delivery drivers work, you claim I am going for an interview. When you are shown to be wrong, you can only belittle people. You refuse to debate anyone.

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:45pm

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:39pm:
I explain how pizza Delivery drivers work, you claim I am going for an interview. When you are shown to be wrong, you can only belittle people. 

Woah! Back up the horse there buddy.

Are you suggesting that there's something wrong with being a pizza delivery person?

I've not said one disparaging word against pizza delivery drivers, and I've wished you good luck several times on your interview.

Where did you get "belittle" from?   :-/

Post by Quantum on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:47pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:45pm:

I explain how pizza Delivery drivers work, you claim I am going for an interview. When you are shown to be wrong, you can only belittle people. 

Are you suggesting that there's something wrong with being a pizza delivery person?

I've not said one disparaging word against pizza deliver drivers, and I've wished you good luck several times on your interview.

And another 20 pages on how you love janitors begins... this time it is Pizza delivery drivers.

Where did I say I was going for an interview? Why would you even say it unless to belittle?

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:52pm

Now that you have been shown that there is more to it than that in the real world, you are pretending that you knew of other payment types all the time.

Not "pretending" anything.

I know what's in the real world: I prepare backpay claims for these people on a regular basis.

You're now trying to deflect.

You know you were wrong, and are now trying to look for a way out.

Sorry buddy: there's no way out.  You were wrong.  Man up.

"Almost all pizza delivery places pay per delivery, not per hour" - is incorrect.

You know it, I know it, and everybody in this thread knows it.

You just don't have the testicular fortitude to admit when you're wrong.

Anyway, good luck with the interview.  Are you going for Method A, or Method B?

Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:55pm
Quantum,

I explain how pizza Delivery drivers work, you claim I am going for an interview.

Good luck with the interview Quantum.

I hope you get the job.

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:56pm

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:47pm:
Where did I say I was going for an interview? Why would you even say it unless to belittle?

Why is interviewing for a pizza delivery job "belittling"?

What do you have against these workers?

I love the fact that they deliver right to my door.  I'd never use the term "belittle" when talking about them.

Did a delivery driver do something bad to you once or something?

Post by Quantum on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:57pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:52pm:

Now that you have been shown that there is more to it than that in the real world, you are pretending that you knew of other payment types all the time.

I know what's in the real world: I prepare backpay claims for these people on a regular basis.

"Almost all pizza delivery places pay per delivery, not per hour" - is incorrect.

No ones falling for it peccas. You have played this game too many times.

* You refuse to admit when you are wrong.
* You belittle people instead.
* You then pretend not to have done that, claim that the other side won't admit they are wrong, then claim they have shown the white flag when they give up going around in circles.

Same game, over and over again. You clearly have way too much time on your hands because I am not the only one you try this shlt with. You do it in almost every thread when you are loosing the debate. It's old. Trying having an actually having a discussion for once.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:58pm

Bobby. wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:55pm:
Quantum,

I explain how pizza Delivery drivers work, you claim I am going for an interview.

I hope you get the job.

bump

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:58pm

Quantum,

I hope you get the job.

So do I, and I hope they pay him his correct hourly rate (or delivery fee, or combination of both).

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 6:00pm

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:57pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:52pm:

No ones falling for it peccas. You have played this game too many times.

* You refuse to admit when you are wrong.
* You belittle people instead.
* You then pretend not to have done that, claim that the other side won't admit they are wrong, then claim they have shown the white flag when they give up going around in circles.

Same game, over and over again. You clearly have way too much time on your hands because I am not the only one you try this shlt with. You do it in almost every thread when you are loosing the debate. It's old. Trying having an actually having a discussion for once.

Sorry.

(good luck with the interview though)

Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 25th, 2013 at 6:02pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:58pm:

Quantum,

I hope you get the job.

So do I, and I hope they pay him his correct hourly rate (or delivery fee, or combination of both).

Yes -  Quantum is such a nice person - he'll be great with customers.

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 6:14pm

Bobby. wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 6:02pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:58pm:

Quantum,

I hope you get the job.

True.  He should still be careful though:

"Pizza delivery man sexually harassed ...

"A 22-year-old delivery driver for a Narragansett pizza restaurant called police after a customer offered him a lot more than a tip. The delivery guy told police that when he delivered a pizza, the male customer paid the bill, plus a tip, and then offered to perform oral sex on the delivery guy — and even more, he offered to pay the delivery guy $100 for the privilege. The delivery guy declined and instead called the cops."

http://gregspages.com/discussion/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=1262

I wonder if Quantum would take the hundred bucks.   :-/

Is this Quantum:

http://p.bfram.es/pizza-delivery-did-someone-order-a-sausage-pizza.jpg

Post by Grey on Apr 25th, 2013 at 7:39pm
So... would that be illegal then?

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 7:44pm

Grey wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 7:39pm:
So... would that be illegal then?

Certainly unlawful, one would think.

Depends if Quantum takes the hundred bucks, I suppose.

I think he'd take it.

He could just say he was delivering special sauce.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Apr 25th, 2013 at 7:45pm

"A 22-year-old delivery driver for a Narragansett pizza restaurant called police after a customer offered him a lot more than a tip. The delivery guy told police that when he delivered a pizza, the male customer paid the bill, plus a tip, and then offered to perform oral sex on the delivery guy — and even more, he offered to pay the delivery guy $100 for the privilege. The delivery guy declined and instead called the cops."

Are you saying that this is Quantum?

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 25th, 2013 at 7:52pm

Bobby. wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 7:45pm:

Are you saying that this is Quantum?

He'll do anything for tips, that Quanty.

* Thick crust or thin?  :-/

Post by life_goes_on on Apr 25th, 2013 at 8:06pm
Quantum's delivered pizza and "extras" to me.

Meh... I've had better.

Post by Quantum on Apr 25th, 2013 at 9:47pm
A whole page of trolling just for me. How sweet.

I wonder how many of the fvckers on this page even read the discussion. Seems it just a case of following peccas lead and stuff the actual content of the posts.

Peccas as always can't make an actual argument so tries to avoid it by resulting to the same tied tactics he always uses. Transparent and boring.

Bobby, obviously doesn't have nail around tonight, therefore he has had to find someone else's dick to suck. Looks as if peccas is enjoying the company.

As for life_goes_on, no idea who this joker is. But judging by his avatar, he saw some cock being sucked and just had to have some.

Another typical day on ozpolitic I guess.

Post by Spot of Borg on Apr 26th, 2013 at 6:09am

Post by dingo2 on Apr 26th, 2013 at 6:10am
What a foul mouth prick you are Quantum.

ReaL bad reading for early in the morning, topic destroyed by Quantum.

This was Australia - Is An Expensive Place To Live. but now has become Quantum's, go work as a pizza deliverer, and I will Demean you for doing that Job.

Post by Spot of Borg on Apr 26th, 2013 at 6:11am

go away troll

Post by Spot of Borg on Apr 26th, 2013 at 6:15am

You are proving yourself wrong right there. "most" are not on per delivery. However it doesnt negate the fact that they are mostly juniors because juniors get lower wages. Also juniors can live on 30 bucks a shift.

Post by Spot of Borg on Apr 26th, 2013 at 6:17am

I've not said one disparaging word against pizza delivery drivers, and I've wished you good luck several times on your interview.

He
(and others like him) seem to think it is an insult to work certain jobs. Poor misty seems ashamed of his job somehow and now quantum.

They also like to declare victory when there is no victory to claim.

Post by dingo2 on Apr 26th, 2013 at 6:20am

John Smith wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:39pm:

an arsehole is some pretentious prick who refuses to work unless he gets his ideal job .... full of sh1t.

And you john are also A pretentious prick, just like your mate quantum.

This situation I have could be eaiserly resolved all centrelink ( dept of human resourses ) The Australian government have to do is get me off this stupid job capacity assement and give me a new job network , so I can go back to job search to get employment,

IE, Give me my fckn life back.

Post by Spot of Borg on Apr 26th, 2013 at 6:21am

Quantum wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 9:47pm:
A whole page of trolling just for me. How sweet.

I wonder how many of the fvckers on this page even read the discussion. Seems it just a case of following peccas lead and stuff the actual content of the posts.

Peccas as always can't make an actual argument so tries to avoid it by resulting to the same tied tactics he always uses. Transparent and boring.

Bobby, obviously doesn't have nail around tonight, therefore he has had to find someone else's dick to suck. Looks as if peccas is enjoying the company.

As for life_goes_on, no idea who this joker is. But judging by his avatar, he saw some cock being sucked and just had to have some.

Another typical day on ozpolitic I guess.

Aww you poor thing - were you wrong then?

Meanwhile did you get the job?

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 26th, 2013 at 8:48am

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Apr 26th, 2013 at 6:17am:

He
(and others like him) seem to think it is an insult to work certain jobs. Poor misty seems ashamed of his job somehow and now quantum.

It certainly is a strange situation.

Nobody on here has ever said a bad word against pizza delivery drivers or cleaners (not that I can remember, anyway).

Personally, I think both groups of workers do a fine job.  I wouldn't want to live in a world where either didn't exist.

I wonder if Quanty does deliveries to Misty's University   :-/

Post by Robert Paulson on Apr 26th, 2013 at 8:53am

greggerypeccary wrote on Apr 26th, 2013 at 8:48am:
Nobody on here has ever said a bad word against pizza delivery drivers

I did.  I said I felt contempt for the grown man doing a childs job...and I meant it too.  Sort of like when you go to the supermarket and the checkout chick is a leathery old hag instead of a lithe, nubile young vixen.

Post by Spot of Borg on Apr 26th, 2013 at 9:20am

He

Nobody on here has ever said a bad word against pizza delivery drivers or cleaners (not that I can remember, anyway).

Personally, I think both groups of workers do a fine job.  I wouldn't want to live in a world where either didn't exist.

Perhaps that is what they are trying to cover up . .. .  delivering and eating pizzas on the job . . .

Post by Spot of Borg on Apr 26th, 2013 at 9:21am

... wrote on Apr 26th, 2013 at 8:53am:

I did.  I said I felt contempt for the grown man doing a childs job...and I meant it too.  Sort of like when you go to the supermarket and the checkout chick is a leathery old hag instead of a lithe, nubile young vixen.

So pensioners shouldn't supplement their income?

Post by Morning Mist on Apr 26th, 2013 at 9:33am

He

Peccy, the only one you have fooled is the forum clown - SOB.
People can see the analogies you're making. It's not necessarily the analogies that are the problem; it is your dishonesty. You make analogies to demean others then say in the same breath you have respect for them. It's kind of like a joke with no punchline; in other words, your analogy falls flat because the comparison adds nothing to your position.

Anyway, cleaners and delivery boys are 50 steps up from a lefty lawyer. They provide essential services. Lefty lawyers have to invent problems to keep relevant. Kind of like the third wave of feminism that searches for "oppression" everywhere just to think it has a purpose. There's probably no more hated group than lawyers, and a leftist one at that. 

Post by Robert Paulson on Apr 26th, 2013 at 9:36am

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Apr 26th, 2013 at 9:21am:

Sure - just so long as they do it in a job where I don't have to look at them.  They're also robbing a lithe, nubile young woman of an opportunity. 

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 26th, 2013 at 9:56am

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Apr 26th, 2013 at 9:33am:
Anyway, cleaners and delivery boys are 50 steps up from a lefty lawyer. They provide essential services.

They certainly do.  I wouldn't want to live in a world without either group of workers.

Good to see we agree Misty.

So, does Quanty do deliveries in your area?

Post by greggerypeccary on Apr 26th, 2013 at 9:58am

True.

Although we can all agree that the service they provide is a good one.

Post by Grey on Apr 26th, 2013 at 1:31pm

Lesbian are you Paulson?

Post by Spot of Borg on Apr 27th, 2013 at 5:34am

... wrote on Apr 26th, 2013 at 9:36am:

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Apr 26th, 2013 at 9:21am:

Sure - just so long as they do it in a job where I don't have to look at them.  They're also robbing a lithe, nubile young woman of an opportunity. 

One day you will be old and the young ones will want you out of sight. (they may now for all i know)

Post by pansi1951 on Apr 27th, 2013 at 6:58am

You'd be better off sticking to the kiddy meals at McDonalds....... precious sensibilities protected and eyes not offended, but try not to dribble in your french fries when you're perving on the lithe, nubile young vixen.

If I was the boss of all idiots I would give you six months hard labour in the dementia ward, just for making such a pathetic statement.

Post by dingo2 on Apr 27th, 2013 at 7:09am
Pizza delivery wages to old bags working in supermakets, is that what this topic is about now?

Post by Grey on Apr 27th, 2013 at 3:01pm
well it's a more interesting topic dingo, quite frankly.

Australia - Is An Expensive Place To Live.

I mean...what's to say?

Now, in pra.... nah better a new topic in chat  ;D

Post by Robert Paulson on Apr 28th, 2013 at 8:56am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Apr 27th, 2013 at 6:58am:

You'd be better off sticking to the kiddy meals at McDonalds....... precious sensibilities protected and eyes not offended, but try not to dribble in your french fries when you're perving on the lithe, nubile young vixen.

If I was the boss of all idiots I would give you six months hard labour in the dementia ward, just for making such a pathetic statement.

yep, thought that might touch a nerve with the leathery old hags.  Doesn't it make you feel like poo to know that the sum of your lifes achievements has led you to a level equal to that of children?  Their best years are ahead of them. Yours are a distant, fading memory.

Post by pansi1951 on Apr 28th, 2013 at 11:09am

... wrote on Apr 28th, 2013 at 8:56am:

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Apr 27th, 2013 at 6:58am:

yep, thought that might touch a nerve with the leathery old hags.  Doesn't it make you feel like poo to know that the sum of your lifes achievements has led you to a level equal to that of children?  Their best years are ahead of them. Yours are a distant, fading memory.

Most people's children have their best years ahead of them, dimwit.

The sum of my life's achievements have led me to be right where I'm happy to be.......early retirement, self sufficient, a comfortable lifestyle with all my needs taken care of, a loving expanding family, pretty good health, and still able to follow my hobby/dream of traveling at least twice a year.

A leathery old hag maybe, but I don't see myself like that and that's all that matters.

Meanwhile, you stand at the check out squirming because an older person dares to serve you. Who's got the sad existence?

You, my wimpy little whipper stinker have to get there yet.

Post by Robert Paulson on Apr 28th, 2013 at 11:13am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Apr 28th, 2013 at 11:09am:
he sum of my life's achievements have led me to be right where I'm happy to be.......early retirement, self sufficient, a comfortable lifestyle with all my needs taken care of, a loving expanding family, pretty good health, and still able to follow my hobby/dream of traveling at least twice a year.

So why take umbrage at my remark about old ladies taking jobs normally meant for young people?  If it doesn't apply to you, you'd let it pass.  Or could it be that your fantasy life can't quite mask the bitterness at your real life?

Post by Morning Mist on Apr 28th, 2013 at 11:14am
Lol at Pansi saying she is happy.

She's most pessimistic person I've seen on here.

Post by pansi1951 on Apr 28th, 2013 at 11:42am

... wrote on Apr 28th, 2013 at 11:13am:

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Apr 28th, 2013 at 11:09am:
he sum of my life's achievements have led me to be right where I'm happy to be.......early retirement, self sufficient, a comfortable lifestyle with all my needs taken care of, a loving expanding family, pretty good health, and still able to follow my hobby/dream of traveling at least twice a year.

So why take umbrage at my remark about old ladies taking jobs normally meant for young people?  If it doesn't apply to you, you'd let it pass.  Or could it be that your fantasy life can't quite mask the bitterness at your real life?

I'm a realist MM, as opposed to a pessimist. I have high hopes that the next wet season won't be very wet, but in reality, it most likely will be.

I didn't really take it personally Paulson, I just thought it was a stupid comment. Who decides to categorise jobs into age brackets? You?

And your life mustn't be turning out the way you wished, if you take offense at the pizza delivery or the sales person's age.....like who gives a bugger.

I'd go easy on the pizza's too, if you want to get to be a leathery old goat.

Anyway boys, I'm out of this ridiculous 'discussion'. Play on without me.

Post by Robert Paulson on Apr 28th, 2013 at 11:52am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Apr 28th, 2013 at 11:42am:
Who decides to categorise jobs into age brackets? You?

Yes, but let's not pretend it's an uncommon perception.  Every wonder why marketing always features, young gorgeous women instead of leathery old goats?  Of course you haven't, because it's self evident.

Post by John Smith on Apr 28th, 2013 at 5:27pm

dingo2 wrote on Apr 26th, 2013 at 6:20am:

John Smith wrote on Apr 25th, 2013 at 5:39pm:

And you john are also A pretentious prick, just like your mate quantum.

This situation I have could be eaiserly resolved all centrelink ( dept of human resourses ) The Australian government have to do is get me off this stupid job capacity assement and give me a new job network , so I can go back to job search to get employment,

IE, Give me my fckn life back.

no, it's up to you to get off your arse ... those wankers at centrelink already have a job. I have no problem with unemployed people who are unemployed for reasosn beyond their control,  but when you admit that you refuse to work unless it's on your terms, sorry but it is you who is the pretentious prick. I hope they cut all your payments.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.