General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Who will be Treasurer? http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1368773637 Message started by Aussie on May 17th, 2013 at 4:53pm |
Title: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Aussie on May 17th, 2013 at 4:53pm
......if Abbott wins in September?
'Thoughts?' |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by TheGreenLight on May 17th, 2013 at 4:57pm
In the dreaded likelihood that it does happen, Malcolm Turnbull is the clear choice, and for that very reason, the Libs will never make him Treasurer.
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by adelcrow on May 17th, 2013 at 5:02pm
Angry Anderson ;D
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Aussie on May 17th, 2013 at 5:05pm
I reckon it will be Barnaby Joyce, if he wins against Windsor, but then again, why has Hockey been LNP shadow Treasurer unless he is The Man.
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by cods on May 17th, 2013 at 7:06pm
well Joyce does have credentials... but I go for Turnbull he is a business man self made millionaire.. nothing wrong with that..
and now the labs accept millionaires in parliament..???????? its ok to be one as treasurer I would think..in fact after this disaster anything would be better.. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Aussie on May 17th, 2013 at 7:12pm cods wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 7:06pm:
So....what of Hockey? He is the current Shadow Treasurer. Surely he was the author of, and thoroughly understood, all the comments he has been making inside and out of Parliament on matters financial etc. Or was he just mouthing the words written for him by someone else? Has Hockey actually got any credentials in this area? Please explain. :-? |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Greens_Win on May 17th, 2013 at 7:16pm
Gina ~ via strings
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by cods on May 17th, 2013 at 7:17pm Aussie wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 7:12pm:
I wish I could if only I had worked in treasury.. Joe is fine I like him and I think most do.. but there is a mountain there to be climbed..and it wont be pretty and it will be tough going.... so far Joe hasnt had to balance any books... I think the job could be way out of his league... but what do I know you guys tell me that over and over I am surprised you are interested in what I think. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by cods on May 17th, 2013 at 7:17pm ____ wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 7:16pm:
she aint elected. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Aussie on May 17th, 2013 at 7:18pm
We can take this a step further. If Abbott wins:
1. It is a given that he is known, and openly described thus, as a numbnuts on anything to do with the economy. 2. Hockey also has no economic credentials that I have am aware of. So, who will the LNP throw up to run the National Family Budget, matters of international financial significance, matters of corporate and personal taxation, matters of Federal/State financial relations etc etc? Gina does not need to be elected. She has the LNP is her back pocket. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Greens_Win on May 17th, 2013 at 7:18pm cods wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 7:17pm:
yet the conservatives owe her big time. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by cods on May 17th, 2013 at 7:23pm Aussie wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 7:18pm:
Abbott has a degree in economics../Law Joe a degree in Law. and art so he could be quite suitable.. ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by cods on May 17th, 2013 at 7:25pm ____ wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 7:18pm:
whats that got to do with anything... she has to run for election and if she wants to be in the liberal party she has to be a member to be selected which she isnt. you havent been following NSW ICAC Inc have you I think its the labor party that owe the miners b ig time..lots of lunches and dinners and prostitutes.. boy they are big on ,prossies arent they. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Aussie on May 17th, 2013 at 7:28pm cods wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 7:23pm:
Come on cods, you know as well as I do that the LNP know Abbott is an economic innumerate. Both Hewson and Costello have actually said so. In fact, when you look around the LNP mob, they have got bugger all on matters generally, but on economics, all they seem to have are Turnbull and Barnaby....and yet it is Hockey who has been Shadow Treasurer! As I said ^^^^ Gina does not need to be elected. She owns Abbott. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Peter Freedman on May 17th, 2013 at 7:34pm
Bob Katter
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Aussie on May 17th, 2013 at 7:38pm Peter Freedman wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 7:34pm:
This is an important electoral issue. After all, Abbott has told us all about the so called 'budget emergency,' etc etc, so surely we are entitled to know who will be at the head of the LNP's management of it. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Peter Freedman on May 17th, 2013 at 7:41pm Aussie wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 7:38pm:
It is very serious, I agree. They'll have to have a whip round to remain solvent and Bob's got the biggest hat. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by longweekend58 on May 17th, 2013 at 8:18pm Aussie wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 7:18pm:
only one treasurer has ever had economic qualifications - Labor's John Kerin and his single 1991 budget was a dud. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Aussie on May 17th, 2013 at 8:33pm longweekend58 wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 8:18pm:
So....who will be the LNP Government's (if they win) Treasurer? |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by John Smith on May 17th, 2013 at 9:52pm Aussie wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 8:33pm:
Maqqa ..... if any lib can make 2 + 2 = 6, it's maqqa! |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Karnal on May 17th, 2013 at 10:09pm
Our next treasurer may not even be in Australia right now. Has anyone thought of that?
He may be yet to return, leftards. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Aussie on May 17th, 2013 at 10:15pm
Oh sh1t, why did I not see that coming.
;D |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by TheGreenLight on May 17th, 2013 at 10:21pm Karnal wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 10:09pm:
Who?! |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Karnal on May 17th, 2013 at 10:33pm
I can’t say. It’s top secret Dunedin Liberal Party business.
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by cods on May 17th, 2013 at 11:22pm longweekend58 wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 8:18pm:
and he didnt know what GDP meant from memory??LOL....right in the middle of his TV speech. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Dnarever on May 17th, 2013 at 11:27pm
Abbott and Hockey - What a joke the whole world will be laughing at us.
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by cods on May 17th, 2013 at 11:37pm Dnarever wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 11:27pm:
its better than what they are doing right now... standing with their mouths wide open wondering what the hell did the worlds greatest do to bring the best economy in the world down to the level of Greece almost...one more year and thats where we would be but keep laughing lets see if you are still laughing in 6 years time..we gave your rubbish 6 years after all.well we didnt,the stupid who believed them did. whatsisname Oakeshott and the others... almost forgotten already. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Dnarever on May 17th, 2013 at 11:50pm cods wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 11:37pm:
standing with their mouths wide open wondering what the hell did the worlds greatest do to bring the best economy in the world down to the level of Greece almost In fact almost any country who may be looking would understand that they are all closer to that position than Australia is but don't let facts get in the way of your dogmatic beliefs. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Karnal on May 18th, 2013 at 12:48am
I agree, Cods. We should get Germany to bail out the banks.
Westpac’s on its knees. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by aquascoot on May 18th, 2013 at 7:29am
bah, treasurer schmeasurer, who cares.
heres all the tresurer needs to do. walk in to that army of public servants in the treasury dept and say," gooday fellas, please reduce government spending by 10 % in every department and reduce taxes by 7.5 %) remember we have to pay off labors debt.so we need a 2.5 % margin then just retire to the golf course. you see as you sit in gridlock traffic going to work every morning in the dark and getting home after dark, ask yourself if all this BIG GOVERNMENT is really working for YOU. big health care...but cant get an op done for frigging ages and 8 hour wait in cas big education...but each year OZ slipd further down the literacy and maths rankings big welfare...how much of that does joe the worker from the burbs get/ sweet f all. great if your a bludger with a bad back or a junkie who cant work coz he fried his brain or a queue jumper. i could go on but the answer is BIG GOV does nothing for the average citizen but enslave him to a horrible exhausting grind. in this age of technology and labor saving. he should only be working 4 hours a day but BIG GOV has to be fed. it truly is the beast. the gift that never gives and just keeps taking. there is only one sensible solution. just put it on a diet. thats why the tresusrers job is just so easy. just order the cutbacks and piss off. scrap NDIS (bureaucratic nightmare) scrap carbon tax (come on, that aint going to work, how many people here have sold their carsd to save the planet lol) scrap gonski (more money for a system that does not reward excellence.. in fact roposes propping up rubbish schools and penalising the cream) scrap NBN scrap ths baby bonus scrap assylum seeker aid, make em work or starve (this is what we do with the kiwis by the way..no benefits for them) scrap all the royal commisions and lawyers picnics with the saving . tax cuts for small business to employ people unemployment is going to be the big problem in the next 10 years and big gov with big deficits strangling the productive private sector is just shooting youself in the foot. so i'll just put a note in skippys pouch saying 10 % slash to everything , (20 % slash to the public servants numbers) and skippy can hop into parliament, deliver the note and declare "my work here is done" :) |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Dnarever on May 18th, 2013 at 7:48am
Who will be Treasurer?
Around 30 posts and the interesting fact is that not 1 single conservative has said that the current shadow treasurer is fit for the job or competent to do it. Not worried about a conservative government with the economy led by a Hockey Abbott team, crazy if your not. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Greens_Win on May 18th, 2013 at 8:55am
Joe Hockey
Just love the way he mixes up billions with millions. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by cods on May 18th, 2013 at 11:21am ____ wrote on May 18th, 2013 at 8:55am:
better than the other way round did you see swanny lost $14bn hell whats wrong with losing $14bn I hear you say???????????thats on top of the $18bn disaster and the black hole from hell. never mind he will go down in history for not getting one thing right.. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Socrates on May 18th, 2013 at 11:27am Dnarever wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 11:27pm:
I think "the whole world " has guffawed it's guts sore seeing what the disaster the present mob has created during their time in office. You can only laugh so much, then you start to pity, and they've been pitying Australia for quite some time now. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by adelcrow on May 18th, 2013 at 11:34am
Why not use the talents of their new members like Angry Anderson..he could teach kids to shoot up heroin in toilets ;D
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Socrates on May 18th, 2013 at 11:39am
A bit like Labor using the dishonest talents of Gillard......three easy lessons on loyalty. Then they can go through Brothels for Idiots by Craig Thompson, or the fraudulent use of credit cards..........
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by warrigal on May 18th, 2013 at 11:48am ____ wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 7:16pm:
Keep that FAT Cow as far away from Canberra as posible. Bury her with Lang One evil monster with another. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by warrigal on May 18th, 2013 at 11:52am
Ok Hockey then, But he would have to be available to be PM if Satans Labor Party discredits Abbott as the PM
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by cods on May 18th, 2013 at 12:33pm warrigal wrote on May 18th, 2013 at 11:48am:
shes one of the worlds richest women....must be money in evil.. what has she done to you?????????....for that matter what did either of them do to you? |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Dnarever on May 18th, 2013 at 12:57pm Socrates wrote on May 18th, 2013 at 11:27am:
has guffawed it's guts sore seeing what the disaster the present mob has created Considering that our position is a lot better than most of them you comment lacks substance and makes you look foolish. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by longweekend58 on May 18th, 2013 at 1:27pm Socrates wrote on May 18th, 2013 at 11:27am:
what an idiotic statement... the entire world would LOVE to have Australia's version of economic problems. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Dnarever on May 18th, 2013 at 2:46pm Aussie wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 8:33pm:
And the point of having a shadow treasurer is ???? We will have tweedle dumb and tweedle dumber in charger of the economy if the libs win - that is a known.. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by woody2013 on May 18th, 2013 at 2:50pm Dnarever wrote on May 18th, 2013 at 2:46pm:
;) Hey we already have that. So no change! |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Dnarever on May 18th, 2013 at 2:59pm woody2014 wrote on May 18th, 2013 at 2:50pm:
No we currently have guys who can justifiably call the next in line that. If you want to rate the current guys dumb and dumber then the next are dumbest and even dumber than that. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by warrigal on May 18th, 2013 at 3:46pm
Poll
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Aussie on May 18th, 2013 at 3:59pm warrigal wrote on May 18th, 2013 at 3:46pm:
G'day Warrigal. Could you modify the Poll you added to reflect what I asked in the OP, which was who will be Treasurer if Abbott wins in September? |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by John Smith on May 18th, 2013 at 5:23pm Socrates wrote on May 18th, 2013 at 11:27am:
you don't get out much do you? Talk to many people overseas? Or do you just start to laugh every time you look in the mirror? I have many relatives in various countries, and they have all at some point or other in the last 3 or 4 yrs, commented on how lucky we are in Australia with our government ... |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Dnarever on May 18th, 2013 at 5:46pm
If the Liberals win it will be Hockey - I know it sounds like a bad joke but that is what happens to shadow treasurers who form government.
A vote for the conservative is a vote to put the two biggest economic num nuts into control of the economy that we have ever had, and that is a fact. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by longweekend58 on May 18th, 2013 at 5:49pm John Smith wrote on May 18th, 2013 at 5:23pm:
I think they are saying 'how lucky we are in Australia'. I doubt very much they add 'with our govt'. I cant imagine too many people would ever laud a govt |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Swagman on May 18th, 2013 at 6:05pm Quote:
This bloke would be better than Swan...... ;D |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Aussie on May 18th, 2013 at 6:07pm Swagman wrote on May 18th, 2013 at 6:05pm:
....and better than Abbott/Hockey. (See how easy, and stupid, that was?) :D |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Peter Freedman on May 18th, 2013 at 6:08pm longweekend58 wrote on May 18th, 2013 at 5:49pm:
Yeah, right. If the Libs win in September, there'll be so much lauding going on this forum will look like a Buck Palace garden party. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Dnarever on May 18th, 2013 at 9:45pm Swagman wrote on May 18th, 2013 at 6:05pm:
Maybe but how does that line up with the fact that Swan is probably twice as competant as Hockey? |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by buzzanddidj on May 18th, 2013 at 10:32pm cods wrote on May 17th, 2013 at 7:06pm:
FIRSTLY, which "disaster" ? Quote:
Malcolm Turnbull is "streets ahead" in credentials for the role of Federal Treasurer - than anyone else on the Abbott front bench ... but too big a threat to be breathing down Abbott's neck as the party leader He is less of a danger kept as communications spokesperson - pushing up-hill the blancmange they laughingly call their NBN model and policy Abbott knows Turnbull will never be taken seriously in ANY role - as long as he is straddled with THAT one |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by cods on May 18th, 2013 at 10:37pm buzzanddidj wrote on May 18th, 2013 at 10:32pm:
ONLY LEFTIES BELIEVE THE CRAP IN THE SMH.. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by buzzanddidj on May 19th, 2013 at 12:52am cods wrote on May 18th, 2013 at 10:37pm:
You could print former Prime Minister, John Howard's speech on the widely envied healthy state of the Australian economy in the SMH, The Australian - or on a used sanitory napkin The MESSAGE is still the same Trying to imply Howard talks BULLSH!T here - based on the source * - is a pretty LIMP-DICKED argument *( ... mind YOU, you won't find a Murdoch publication quoting Howard on THIS occasion) |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 19th, 2013 at 1:33am
Meanwhile, out in the real world, the economy is in nothing like the amazing shape that post would have you believe.
We are recruiting for a mid tier $180k role down there and I have been stunned at the amount of candidates made redundant in the last 6 months.... |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Mnemonic on May 19th, 2013 at 1:58am Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 1:33am:
If these candidates are applying for a $180k role it's no wonder so many have been made redundant. They're too expensive. It's time to give everyone a pay cut. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 19th, 2013 at 2:09am
That's market rate. It's for the head of finance position.
Most of those on the market have come out of $200k roles but are willing to drop down to get a role. The economy is not in an awesome shape that people would have you believe. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by buzzanddidj on May 19th, 2013 at 2:50am Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 2:09am:
We ALL know Howard had a bit of form in being less than forthcoming with the truth - but we doubt that this "talent" now extends to giving a Labor Government any tick of approval in economic management - where any tick of approval is not warranted Looking at the facts and figures ( ... not to mention a AAA credit rating consensus) he had no other options THERE HAS been a lot of misinformation around lately regarding the situation Australia currently finds itself in economically. The fact of the matter is you will struggle to find a country that is more envied for its financial position than Australia. The Global Financial Crisis that struck in September 2008 with the collapse of Lehman Brothers was the biggest financial shock the world has seen since the Great Depression. Global credit markets froze, global economic growth fell off a cliff, unemployment began to slide and people started losing their homes and the quality of life they were used to. Through it all Australia remained top of the heap on almost every count. The Government and the Treasurer have been talking about the attributes we should be proud of, when it comes to our economy, for years. They are right when they say we have: ■low debt; ■low unemployment; ■AAA credit rating from all three major ratings agencies; ■low inflation; and ■trend growth Australia’s debt is the second lowest in the OECD. Gross debt stands at 28.9% of GDP. This compares to Japan at 224%, Greece at 193.2%, Portugal at 133.1%, Italy at 129.6%, Ireland at 127.7%, United States at 113%, France at 108.2%, UK at 110.4%, Canada at 85.5%, Spain at 100.2% and Germany at 86.2%. We do not have high levels of debt. It is a red herring. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by warrigal on May 19th, 2013 at 4:06am
Amazing the vote poll actually suggests Hockey, un fortunate he my have to one day be PM, like Keating was with Hawke.
Satan's Labor party will discredit Abbott again and then we will have to find someone else. Human beings, It is in our nature to destroy ourselfs. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 19th, 2013 at 9:17am buzzanddidj wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 2:50am:
The debt inherited by Wayne Swan stood at 9.7% of GDP . In his six years of not once delivering a surplus, he has increased the debt of Australia by over 330%. Just worth pointing out he also has no formal education in finance and economics and holds a Bachelor of Arts degree. Probably goes to explain why he can't challenge Treasurys hilarious forecasts? Either way, he's done a shite job. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Aussie on May 19th, 2013 at 9:21am
Where does the gross debt of 28.9% of GDP come from? I am sure I heard Swann say in his Budget Speech that it was 10/11%
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Dnarever on May 19th, 2013 at 9:25am Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 9:17am:
While the wonderfull USA where everything is teriffic and they give you petrol for free has a debt to GDP ration of 105%. Just wonderfull performance there hey? |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by aquascoot on May 19th, 2013 at 9:29am Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 9:17am:
andrei, your assessment is too much of a complement to this man. he has been much worse than that. grocery watch, fuelwatch, and a tax that raises no money and a carbon tax where the government fully compensates most of the polluters. planet cuckoo land |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Dnarever on May 19th, 2013 at 9:30am Aussie wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 9:21am:
Debt to GDP is different from government debt. If you look at Andrei's full story he will tell you that Labor inherited a Debt to GDP of 9. something. You may recall that the conservatives claimed to have paid off the debt. Australias debt to GDP was never zero. The other conservatives want him to go away with this line as it does not really support the liberals view overall and in fact goes to display one of their real failures and broken promises. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by KJT1981 on May 19th, 2013 at 9:32am Dnarever wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 9:25am:
Do you live in the USA dna? |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Dnarever on May 19th, 2013 at 9:32am KJT1981 wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 9:32am:
Andrei does - the guy making the claim and it's his hypocricy. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 19th, 2013 at 9:37am
Where in my post have I referenced the United States?
I pointed out - Swan inherited a debt of 9.7% of GDP It is now 28% The gross debt has increased by over 330% He has not delivered 1 surplus His background is a BA (Hons) Any of those wrong? |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Dnarever on May 19th, 2013 at 9:44am Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 9:37am:
Every time you see an advantage you look to the good old USA. I believe that what you have stated is correct if a bit misleading to some who do not understand the difference between debt to GDP and the Australian government debt numbers most frequently quoted which is about 11% of GDP. Anyway I see in the bigger picture with the Liberals bringing a further 100 Billion of unfunded spending to the table with a Hockey Abbott economic team as a recipe for a much worse position with no real hope of improvement. On the other hand Labor have been progressively cutting back budget after budget and making real ground in the right direction in a really tough situation. Things could have clearly got a lot worse - just look at the rest of the world, the conservatives economic team look our best chance to get there too. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Socrates on May 19th, 2013 at 9:53am
Australia's saving grace during the WFC was the competent and astute way the government of John Howard with Peter Costello as Treasurer left the country in a very good position to weather the storm. Rudd, Gillard and Swan basically wasted the surplus because it was there, and created massive debt. So again I say, the rest of the world admires what the Howard government left and does NOT attribute any of Australia's enviable position to the Labor mob, they pity the average Australian for being subjected to the blatant incompetence of this government.
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Dnarever on May 19th, 2013 at 10:04am Socrates wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 9:53am:
Peter Costello as Treasurer left the country in a very good position to weather the storm. They in fact left the economy geared to fail in anything less than an ideal well above average world economic environment. Rudd, Gillard and Swan basically wasted the surplus I think you have used the wrong term. The surplus is the yearly budget position - its not government savings ? The surplus was at about 0.8% of GDP not spent on a yearly basis. The GFC was a downturn of over 3% of GDP. Neither Labor or the Liberals could have done anything about this the simple math is 3 - 0.8 = -2.2 Nothing to do with anyone doing anything - instant deficit. Basically when you have spending locked in and income goes away you end up in debt. All the reliable and reasonable economic analysis shows that the Liberals would have faired a lot worse. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 19th, 2013 at 10:14am
Handing out $1,000 cheques to some people but excluding those who paid in the most for the surplus is not both waste and political favouritism?
I beg to differ. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Dnarever on May 19th, 2013 at 10:29am Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 10:14am:
Giving money to people less likely to spend it was going to do nothing to help the economy. I got nothing and had I been given the payment it would have likely been invested or left in the account for a long time. Well in my case probably not if it was just money that would have been its fate but in this type of case I would have gone out of my way to spend it appropriately, most wouldn't though. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by KJT1981 on May 19th, 2013 at 10:36am Dnarever wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 10:29am:
Giving money to dead people and people living overseas...........brilliant idea. The clubs saw a rise in their takings also, pokies included. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by aquascoot on May 19th, 2013 at 10:55am Dnarever wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 10:29am:
borrowing money on world money markets (in direct competition with business and therefore disadvantaging business) and giving the money to the losers and wasters and bludgers to spend on cheap chinese made trinkets on ebay and in kmart. smacking REDICULOUS. give that money to small business and we'll grow that pie baby. freaking morons these lefties, dont have a clue about anything but bribing brain dead losers with wads of cash. it is lunacy (and deep down you know that DNA) as you seem a reasonably intelligent fellow most of the time ;) |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Socrates on May 19th, 2013 at 11:02am
Yes for the most part I'd agree with that. What do they say about buying your friends......not worth having and that's just what Labor has attempted to do. Sooner or later the truth shines through, unfortunately the consequences in this case is an Australia left by the rats deep in debt.
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Aussie on May 19th, 2013 at 6:14pm
So.....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xYquo--5tl0 Will it be Hockey, who is obviously out of his depth by far, or Robb...............or who? :D |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by longweekend58 on May 19th, 2013 at 8:04pm buzzanddidj wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 2:50am:
we DO have high levels of debt. in fact it is the largest in our history in dollar terms and very close to the largest in GDP terms. and what is worse is that only a mere 6 years ago we have NO DEBT at all. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by longweekend58 on May 19th, 2013 at 8:07pm Dnarever wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 9:30am:
NET DEBT... basically meaning there is more in the bank than there is in debt. At any single time the government is in debt for a whole host of things but in 2007 also had cash reserves in excess of the level of debt. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Aussie on May 19th, 2013 at 8:13pm
.....yet Andrei was talking about gross debt as a % of GDP. You now refer to nett debt.
I don't believe either of you, but it is telling concerning Mr. Hicks who claims to be an international guru of all things economic. :D |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by buzzanddidj on May 20th, 2013 at 8:54am longweekend58 wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 8:04pm:
Don't pretend to be STUPID It doesn't BECOME you Even John Howard is capable of coming clean with the TRUTH - occasionally - and giving credit, where credit is DUE Quote:
Australia’s GFC stimulus debt is the second lowest in the OECD. Gross debt stands at 28.9% of GDP. This compares to Japan at 224%, Greece at 193.2%, Portugal at 133.1%, Italy at 129.6%, Ireland at 127.7%, United States at 113%, France at 108.2%, UK at 110.4%, Canada at 85.5%, Spain at 100.2% Germany at 86.2%. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by longweekend58 on May 20th, 2013 at 9:01am Aussie wrote on May 19th, 2013 at 8:13pm:
you can find the figures in the treasury statements at each budget and THEY refer to net debt. it is the common methodology for expressing a company's debt position. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by longweekend58 on May 20th, 2013 at 9:03am buzzanddidj wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 8:54am:
you have a poor definition of 'good'. all you need to do to be good is to be better than the mob of scumbags you hang around with. If you hang around with murderers then simply being a rapist makes you look good. good performance is not RELATIVE, it is ABSOLUTE and BTW we were FIRST in debt position before this useless mob came to power. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by life_goes_on on May 20th, 2013 at 9:37am Quote:
Of course it's relative. Performance is a comparative measure. You need something to use as a yard stick. In your case, the only yard stick you find acceptable is the previous government's performance - that's not the only valid one. Actually, that's probably the least valid as it ignores changes to outside forces and requires speculation on how that Government would have continued to perform. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Andrei.Hicks on May 20th, 2013 at 9:44am
Australia Gross Debt 2007 - 2013
2007 $58,284,000,000 2008 $60,462,000,000 2009 $101,147,000,000 2010 $147,133,000,000 2011 $191,291,000,000 2012 $233,976,000,000 2013 $254,000,000,000 (projected) Increase in debt under ALP Government - $195,716,000,000 Increase of 335.8% Debt to GDP 2007 - 9.7% Debt to GDP 2013 - 28.9% |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by longweekend58 on May 20th, 2013 at 9:50am Life_goes_on wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 9:37am:
if you want to use relative measurement then you need to be consistent and use relative RATE OF CHANGE. How about you measure the rate of increase in debt rather than the absolute figures??? Then of course you will find that Australia fares very badly having increased its debt at a faster rate than most of the others. being a lap ahead in a race doesn't say much about you if you were 3 laps ahead earlier. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by life_goes_on on May 20th, 2013 at 10:08am longweekend58 wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 9:50am:
Consistent? How on earth is using relative rate of change being consistent? Consistent by who? Again, you're simply cherry picking a measurement which produces a result that fits your viewpoint. There isn't one simple yard stick you can use that gives an accurate indicator of the performance of a Government. You need to use more than just one. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by life_goes_on on May 20th, 2013 at 10:36am Quote:
In a race, the only thing that counts is who is first past the post on that last lap. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by longweekend58 on May 20th, 2013 at 1:03pm Life_goes_on wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 10:36am:
if you are the 4th person in a 4X100 race and you start your leg 50M in front and end it 10M in front you will be viewed by everyone as a loser. but in this case, swan started the last leg 50M in front of everyone and finished SECOND. a bad performance all round. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by longweekend58 on May 20th, 2013 at 1:04pm Life_goes_on wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 10:08am:
the only viable measurement of any govts performance is by comparing the starting position to the ending position. you'd find it near impossible to find a credible analyst who's say anything different. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by life_goes_on on May 20th, 2013 at 1:23pm longweekend58 wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 1:03pm:
As always, you think you know what everyone's opinion or thoughts are. I really doubt that once a the race is over, that many care or even remember anything other than who won it. And Swan has finished second to who exactly? I'm unaware that there was someone else doing the exact same job at the same time. Who exactly are you comparing his performance to? |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by buzzanddidj on May 20th, 2013 at 3:53pm longweekend58 wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 9:03am:
MY definition ? I just presented the FACTS The BIG ticks of APPROVAL come from ... Standard & Poor's Moody's Fitch's The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) EuroMoney (Finance Minister of the Year Honours) The International Monetary Fund (IMF) The Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA) The Australian Bureau of Statistics ( ... by stealth) The Butcher The Baker The Candlestick Maker ... and NOW - a few days back - the former member for Bennelong The ONLY talking down of the ecomomy and the Federal Treasurer is coming from the Opposition, NEWS Ltd - and Sydney shock-jocks I know who I trust |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by longweekend58 on May 20th, 2013 at 5:12pm Life_goes_on wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 1:23pm:
it gets harder and harder to get you to understand basic facts, nevermind metaphors. prior to Swan we had the LOWEST level of debt (ie zero) of the OECD. now we are the second lowest ergo we have fallen back one place. and you can be very sure that a coach would soon trho off the team a final leg runner who took a 50M lead and turned it into a 10M lead. he would be gone double-quick. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by longweekend58 on May 20th, 2013 at 5:14pm buzzanddidj wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 3:53pm:
RELATIVE DETERMINATION. you don't define yourself as sane by comparing yourself to absolute lunatics. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Aussie on May 20th, 2013 at 7:59pm |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by life_goes_on on May 20th, 2013 at 10:02pm Quote:
Second lowest to Estonia? Estonia who went from a comparable unemployment rate of around 4.2% in Jan 2008 through to 20% in Feb 2010 and is now currently sitting at around 10% unemployment? I guess it depends on what you're using as your yardstick and what you consider more important: debt or unemployment? Or just maybe a government's performance isn't based purely on debt, but rather a combination of factors. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by froggie on May 20th, 2013 at 10:26pm buzzanddidj wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 3:53pm:
Too bloody right!!! :) |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by Dnarever on May 20th, 2013 at 10:37pm longweekend58 wrote on May 20th, 2013 at 5:12pm:
prior to Swan we had the LOWEST level of debt (ie zero) Your friend Andrei keep putting the debt to GDP at about 10%. you can be very sure that a coach would soon trho off the team a final leg runner who took a 50M lead and turned it into a 10M lead. Runners get to run on the same track on the same day in the same conditions. All you are really comparing is the best economic period in over a century to about the worst and pretending it makes no difference. |
Title: Re: Who will be Treasurer? Post by warrigal on May 21st, 2013 at 8:01am
Why does the question, Who will be Treasurer after september, become a economics debate.
who has better gdp, and who survive the gfc better. We didn't survive the GFC. 17 billion dollar debt , we failed. |