General Discussion >> General Board >> On the brink -Could you live on 35 dollars a day ?
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1372475996

Message started by thelastnail on Jun 29th, 2013 at 1:19pm

Title: On the brink -Could you live on 35 dollars a day ?
Post by thelastnail on Jun 29th, 2013 at 1:19pm
Life under a Tony Abort Government !!

Don't miss it !!

4 corners on Monday.

http://www.abc.net.au/4corners/stories/2013/06/27/3791178.htm

Could you live on $35 a day and pay for your food, clothing, transport and other bills? That's what single unemployed people are entitled to on the Federal Government's Newstart allowance.

Australia's economy - and unemployment rate - might be the envy of countries around the world, but it doesn't mean poverty and unemployment have been eradicated.

Welfare agencies say that many individuals and families are just one or two pay cheques away from financial disaster and homelessness. Worse still, with the mining boom coming off the boil, experts predict more people will find themselves out of work.

Next on Four Corners, reporter Geoff Thompson finds out what it's like to lose your job, your home and find yourself dependent on welfare. What he discovers is sobering. Ironically, while economic growth is generally good news, it's also pushed up the cost of living, making life for the unemployed even tougher. A Senate Inquiry report released this month concluded the current unemployment benefit is set too low. For many of the people Four Corners spoke to, accommodation absorbs most of their money, even with additional payments for rent assistance. Running a car and eating nutritious meals becomes close to an impossible dream. The result? Their world contracts and they can find themselves cut off from society.

Title: Re: On the brink -Could you live on 35 dollars a day ?
Post by Spot of Borg on Jun 29th, 2013 at 1:32pm
Nope. Dont know anyone who can because rent is about that.

Post by The Heartless Felon on Jun 29th, 2013 at 3:07pm

Life under a Rudd/Gillard/Rudd government too.

Or hadn't you noticed?

Post by pansi1951 on Jun 29th, 2013 at 3:21pm
Worse still, with the mining boom coming off the boil, experts predict more people will find themselves out of work.

Gee!!! experts say.........

really?

and anyone with half a brain

(not the neo cons though, they don't believe in mining busts)

I wouldn't like to live on $35 a day and I wouldn't expect anyone else to. If the government is unable to provide jobs then they should allow people to live in other less expensive countries, so they can maintain some dignity.....yes with their pultry dole money.

Who's fault is it that Australia has high unemployment? not the fault of the unemployed, surely.

No, we have never been in a more skilled society.....more people than ever graduating TAFE and uni, so don't put the blame back on the people, that's what governments like to do.

What's Tony's back up plan? he said he'd have the unemployed working with picks and shovels lol! down the mines.

Post by cods on Jun 29th, 2013 at 3:31pm
according to Mr swan when he was still treasurer.. he had created so many jobs.... there should be no need for anyone to be picking up unemployment..

I dont believe we have any unemployed I really dont.

Post by gizmo_2655 on Jun 29th, 2013 at 3:33pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jun 29th, 2013 at 1:19pm:

Don't miss it !!

4 corners on Monday.

Could you live on $35 a day and pay for your food, clothing, transport and other bills? That's what single unemployed people are entitled to on the Federal Government's Newstart allowance.

Australia's economy - and unemployment rate - might be the envy of countries around the world, but it doesn't mean poverty and unemployment have been eradicated.

Welfare agencies say that many individuals and families are just one or two pay cheques away from financial disaster and homelessness. Worse still, with the mining boom coming off the boil, experts predict more people will find themselves out of work.

Next on Four Corners, reporter Geoff Thompson finds out what it's like to lose your job, your home and find yourself dependent on welfare. What he discovers is sobering. Ironically, while economic growth is generally good news, it's also pushed up the cost of living, making life for the unemployed even tougher. A Senate Inquiry report released this month concluded the current unemployment benefit is set too low. For many of the people Four Corners spoke to, accommodation absorbs most of their money, even with additional payments for rent assistance. Running a car and eating nutritious meals becomes close to an impossible dream. The result? Their world contracts and they can find themselves cut off from society.

I already do..

Post by cods on Jun 29th, 2013 at 3:33pm
there is still talk of LONG TERM UNEMPLOYED if its so tough on $35 a day... how come there are long term members?

Post by Kat on Jun 29th, 2013 at 3:39pm

cods wrote on Jun 29th, 2013 at 3:33pm:
there is still talk of LONG TERM UNEMPLOYED if its so tough on $35 a day... how come there are long term members?

Because the jobs are not there.

150,000 jobs.

650,000 unemployed.

You do the math.

Post by The Grappler on Jun 29th, 2013 at 6:13pm
I live on $67 a day including rent assistance - it's two days after pension day and I have $20, some silver and a $5 fighting reserve in the bank - just in case I need petrol or something....

In 1992 I would not leave my door for under $300 a day......

In 1983 I predicted a permanent underclass of permanently unemployed - this has come to pass in many ways, including the single motherhood by choice lifestyle (not all, you ninny!), some pensioners who opted out of work, and of course, our rising unemployed and retrenched.

I LOVE it when politicians rise up and stake a claim to their economic management 'creating' 500,000 jobs - but never the same when jobs uncreated are 650,000 over the same time......

I saw this coming - it is here - it is the government's absolute responsiblity...... poo or get off the pot, and make the dole liveable....

Post by Kat on Jun 29th, 2013 at 6:27pm

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Jun 29th, 2013 at 6:13pm:
I live on $67 a day including rent assistance - it's two days after pension day and I have $20, some silver and a $5 fighting reserve in the bank - just in case I need petrol or something....

In 1983 I predicted a permanent underclass of permanently unemployed - this has come to pass in many ways, including the single motherhood by choice lifestyle (not all, you ninny!), some pensioners who opted out of work, and of course, our rising unemployed and retrenched.

I LOVE it when politicians rise up and stake a claim to their economic management 'creating' 500,000 jobs - but never the same when jobs uncreated are 650,000 over the same time......

I saw this coming - it is here - it is the government's absolute responsiblity...... poo or get off the pot, and make the dole liveable....

+10.

Post by Honky on Jun 29th, 2013 at 7:34pm
Live?  yes, absolutely.  I could live on $0.00 a day if I had to.  I wouldn't have as many choices or as many luxuries as I would with more money, but I guess dems da breaks.

Post by The Grappler on Jun 29th, 2013 at 10:32pm
Hey - that reminds me - what happened to Swanney's '500,000 jobs will be created in the mining sector'?  Hmmm.....

I recall my figures there - each project employs about 1500-1700 - that's one hell of a lot of projects...... even times two for support troops (hmmmm).......

Post by thelastnail on Jun 30th, 2013 at 11:22pm

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Jun 29th, 2013 at 6:13pm:

"lentil as anything" have cheap healthy food if you are interested ;) You just offer them what you can for the meal. Some offer more and some less ;) They do a lot more than what some of these churches do and without the fake story and guilt trip ;)

Post by warrigal on Jul 1st, 2013 at 8:26am

Don't miss it !!

4 corners on Monday.

Could you live on $35 a day

Yeah, But we are not supposted to do this, by the elitists in the comunity, we are supossed to disapear of the face of the earth and not be seen.

And Not live on their tax payers money.

A Topic for the wealfare forum, but it's been taken down by the admins here.

Post by Herbert on Jul 1st, 2013 at 8:44am
I live on $61 a day.

No car. No drinking. No smoking. No club nights. No holidays away. Rarely eat steaks (which I love).

If I was a married pensioner I would have heaps more spare cash than I do now.

Post by Kat on Jul 1st, 2013 at 9:44am

warrigal wrote on Jul 1st, 2013 at 8:26am:

Don't miss it !!

4 corners on Monday.

Could you live on $35 a day

Yeah, But we are not supposted to do this, by the elitists in the comunity, we are supossed to disapear of the face of the earth and not be seen.

And Not live on their tax payers money.

A Topic for the wealfare forum, but it's been taken down by the admins here.

No, Health & Welfare is still up.

Just checked, it's working fine for me.

Post by freediver on Jul 1st, 2013 at 7:29pm
If life on the dole was easy everyone would be on it.

Post by Herbert on Jul 1st, 2013 at 8:31pm

freediver wrote on Jul 1st, 2013 at 7:29pm:

The ones who would be content with little more than a subsistence living are the same ones who today drag their heels in the workplace.

From personal experience I would far rather the bludgers remained on the dole than that they come and work in the same team as me.

Needless to say, there are 10 times more bludgers in the workplace than on the dole queue.

Post by The Grappler on Jul 1st, 2013 at 9:20pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 1st, 2013 at 8:31pm:

The ones who would be content with little more than a subsistence living are the same ones who today drag their heels in the workplace.

From personal experience I would far rather the bludgers remained on the dole than that they come and work in the same team as me.

Needless too say, there are 10 times more bludgers in the workplace than on the dole queue.

Good point - and many bosses encourage it since anyone too good is viewed as a threat to them and not under their control...

Man - where is this country going?

AuschtraliKonzentrationsLager I - NZ is II.

Post by Lionel Edriess on Jul 1st, 2013 at 9:26pm

;D ;D ;D ;D

If work was merely work and you got a fair day's pay for a fair day's work, and you got a guaranteed payout at service's end, everyone would be doing it!

When, and if, do we get our pensions now?

Post by warrigal on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 6:39am
Herbert you are the biggest most Ignorant person on this forum.

IF you expect people to work provide jobs to them.

Don't have a Job for a person, have a career for them.

There is a difference.

Have any of you Ignorants here actually watched the story from the link to th abc tv website, before you make any futher comment shere whatch the story,

It should be made compulsory for all centrelink staff, centrelink phycologists that make decession about people and all job network staff to watch.

The story talks about the assistance given by welfare support agencys, and in one case food vouchers given to the welfare recipient.

Then the go off with the welfare payment and there vouchers to buy food.

they come back and talk to the abc reporter about  what food they have got and what other neccessitys they have bought.

The reporter then asks how much money do you have left,and most of them only have $30 to $40 dollars left.

No one can continue to live on that for the remaining 2 weeks.

Here is the solution the Australian government needs to GET off its arse and provide Jobs to people, maybe these one year jobs in the Australian army jobs need to me made available to this age group of people rather then just the young, or those that haven't decided what there doing as yet, (those on the gap uni year after school or during there uni years.)

If you WANT PEOPLE TO WORK, MAKE JOBS AVAILABLE TO THEM, THEY SHOULDN'T HAVE TO WALK THE STREETS TO LOOK FOR THEM.

Post by Herbert on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 9:05am

warrigal wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 6:39am:

You're only saying that because I'm a black fella. I'm still waiting for the rent on my land, Warrigal. I accept Visa Card, PayPal, and American Express.

There's so much work available that the government is bringing in 200,000 migrants and refugees each year to fill these vacancies.

The story talks about the assistance given by welfare support agencys, and in one case food vouchers given to the welfare recipient.

they come back and talk to the abc reporter about  what food they have got and what other neccessitys they have bought.

The reporter then asks how much money do you have left,and most of them only have $30 to $40 dollars left.

In my local  town centre there's a taxi rank, and guess who are the ones you most see queuing up for an expensive ride home?

The local dole bludgers and Disability Support Pensioners. Cigarettes in their mouths, shopping trolleys loaded to the brim, small dirty-looking toddlers by the half-dozen, and the inevitable carton of VB stubbies.

They live better than the working people. All day they're carousing at the local cafes with their mates. Cigarettes. Grog. Babies. Taxis.

I genuinely don't know how the hell they get away with it.

What I think is absolutely NUTS is the government bringing asylum-seekers onto the Australian mainland and then setting them free to wander around without any apparent source of income. 

That is a recipe for crime, rape, gang-formation, people-bashing, etc.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 9:09am

Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 9:05am:
There's so much work available that the government is bringing in 200,000 migrants and refugees each year to fill these vacancies.

Refugees aren't brought in to fill job vacancies.

Post by warrigal on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 10:26am

Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 9:05am:

You're only saying that because I'm a black fella. I'm still waiting for the rent on my land, Warrigal. I accept Visa Card, PayPal, and American Express.

In my local  town centre there's a taxi rank, and guess who are the ones you most see queuing up for an expensive ride home?

The local dole bludgers and Disability Support Pensioners. Cigarettes in their mouths, shopping trolleys loaded to the brim, small dirty-looking toddlers by the half-dozen, and the inevitable carton of VB stubbies.

They live better than the working people. All day they're carousing at the local cafes with their mates. Cigarettes. Grog. Babies. Taxis.

I genuinely don't know how the hell they get away with it.

What I think is absolutely NUTS is the government bringing asylum-seekers onto the Australian mainland and then setting them free to wander around without any apparent source of income. 

That is a recipe for crime, rape, gang-formation, people-bashing, etc.

I WOULD SAY THE SAME THING TOO YOU HERBERT IF YOU WERE A WHITE ANGLO EUROPEAN PERSON.

You are one of the I don't care about people brigade, that is why you think it is acceptable for migrants to be brought in by the government for what jobs are available.

Your right there are jobs available, Employers screaming for workers, there just not made available to the job seekers that need them. like the man with the fork lift licence in the abc four corners story, that has too walk the streets dropping off resumes. and then only having $40 left after he shops for food, and picks up his welfare food parcel.

its just complete IGNORANCE of other people out there.

Post by warrigal on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 10:33am
Here is the solution for the Australian government to act on.

KICK DOWN DOORS and make jobs available to the job seekers. A job seekers gets a Employment placement in their skilled and trained area of work, like we had in the CES years.

Employers don't get a choice they get a person that needs to Work.

SIMPLE and effective.

No unemployment

Post by Herbert on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 10:59am

warrigal wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 10:26am:
like the man with the fork lift licence in the abc four corners story, that has too walk the streets dropping off resumes. and then only having $40 left after he shops for food, and picks up his welfare food parcel.

This is something Tony Abbott will  be fixing.

No more remaining on the dole queue because you can't find the job that suits you.

Here you have someone bludging off the dole because he insists on a forklift drivers job. He won't take anything else. He doesn't want a job where he can't plant his lazy arse on a seat all day long.

Well, Abbott's got news for this type of wanker.

No more cherry-picking the job you want. You take the job you're given, and if that means you've got to be on your feet instead of on your fat arse all day ~ then that's too bad.

You look for the job you want on your own coin, not the taxpayers at Centrelink.

Post by Doctor Jolly on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 11:06am

Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 10:59am:

like the man with the fork lift licence in the abc four corners story, that has too walk the streets dropping off resumes. and then only having $40 left after he shops for food, and picks up his welfare food parcel.

No more remaining on the dole queue because you can't find the job that suits you.

Here you have someone bludging off the dole because he insists on a forklift drivers job. He won't take anything else. He doesn't want a job where he can't plant his lazy arse on a seat all day long.

No more cherry-picking the job you want. You take the job you're given, and if that means you've got to be on your feet instead of on your fat arse all day ~ then that's too bad.

You look for the job you want on your own coin, not the taxpayers at Centrelink.

Problem is, who would employ someone who will leave as soon as a forklift job comes up somewhere else.

In the end its a net drain on the economy to employ people outside their skill set.
Firstly it makes all their previous training costs a waste, and secondly the employer who takes them on will have to incur the expensive costs of re-hiring when they inevitably move on to their desired job.

Post by Herbert on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 11:14am
I've just received a FLASH NEWS REPORT from the Centrelink News Team that Warrigal has finally been dug out from his hiding place and is at this very moment being taken to a place of employment at a local factory in the city's Industrial Estate Complex.

Keep viewing for further news as updates come to hand.

The Rudd government has convened an Emergency Meeting in the wake of this tumultuous event.

The UN Secretary General is expected to make an announcement shortly as a result of these epic revelations. 

Post by Herbert on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 11:26am

Doctor Jolly wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 11:06am:

Problem is, who would employ someone who will leave as soon as a forklift job comes up somewhere else.

60% of unskilled and semi-skilled factory workers are employed on a day-to-day casual basis ~ so the question is irrelevant. Bosses are used to seeing their workers come and go. I myself did casual work for 6 years before my permanent retirement.

In the end its a net drain on the economy to employ people outside their skill set.

It's more of a nett cost if these cherry-pickers are warehoused indefinitely on Centrelink benefits while they wait for the job they want.

'Multi-skilling' became the catchcry at least 30 years ago. No more petulance at not being able to find exactly the job you originally trained for. Today's Australian taxi drivers and bus drivers almost all have skills certificates that have nothing to do with transporting people around the place.

Post by thelastnail on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 12:44pm

jees you're all heart freediver.

Hey I've got a great idea for the government !! Lets bring in more cashed up foreigners to buy up properties that the locals can no longer can afford and lets give them tax concessions so they can't lose on their investment. A lets encourage them to ripoff tenants who are on the dole so they can use them to pay off their investments for them. It's a win win for greed !!

Hey but aren't they already doing this ?

Post by Mnemonic on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 1:59pm
I could live on $35 a day if I didn't have to pay rent or pay back a home loan.

Post by Generation X on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 5:05pm
!st of all get rid of these slim employment agencies and reintroduce the job board at the dole office.

Post by Doctor Jolly on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 5:29pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 11:26am:

60% of unskilled and semi-skilled factory workers are employed on a day-to-day casual basis ~ so the question is irrelevant. Bosses are used to seeing their workers come and go. I myself did casual work for 6 years before my permanent retirement.

Not enough "factory workers" to accomodate anywhere near the unemployment level.

But nice use of selective data.  :)

It's more of a nett cost if these cherry-pickers are warehoused indefinitely on Centrelink benefits while they wait for the job they want.

'Multi-skilling' became the catchcry at least 30 years ago. No more petulance at not being able to find exactly the job you originally trained for. Today's Australian taxi drivers and bus drivers almost all have skills certificates that have nothing to do with transporting people around the place.

There is a cost to the economy if you train someone up in a skill and that skill is not utilized. Doesnt matter who pays for the training.

You've got to learn that slogans make poor policies.

Post by Herbert on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 5:45pm

Doctor Jolly wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 5:29pm:
But nice use of selective data.  :)

I try not to disappoint.  :)

Doctor Jolly wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 5:29pm:
You've got to learn that slogans make poor policies.

You mean like... "There's strength in Diversity".... ?

Post by red baron on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 6:06pm
Brought in particular to the single mothers who were ripped off the family benefits and thrown to the wolves with them having to go on New start as soon as the youngest turned 8.

It is a disgrace and Labor has blood all over their hands. To think a billion dollars a year goes to these illegals up north when  the money is so desperately needed by our own under privileged. Labor has their priorities all over the shop.

The 4 Corners last night was harrowing. I feel so sorry for those people. Rudd should hang his head in shame.

Post by John Smith on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 6:10pm

red baron wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 6:06pm:
Brought in particular to the single mothers who were ripped off the family benefits and thrown to the wolves with them having to go on New start as soon as the youngest turned 8.

It is a disgrace and Labor has blood all over their hands. To think a billion dollars a year goes to these illegals up north when  the money is so desperately needed by our own under privileged. Labor has their priorities all over the shop.

The 4 Corners last night was harrowing. I feel so sorry for those people. Rudd should hang his head in shame.

What illegals? for an ex copper you seem to struggle with reality.

Post by red baron on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 6:11pm
Mnemonic...therein lies the conundrum doesn't it..everyone has payments far and beyond food.

Mortgages, rents, medical bills, water bills, electricity, phone, gas..etc etc.

35 bucks a day is a disgrace.

Post by freediver on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 6:37pm
Herbert, taxis are actually a lot cheaper than cars, especially in a small town where you can get home for $5.

Post by Aussie on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 6:57pm

freediver wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 6:37pm:
Herbert, taxis are actually a lot cheaper than cars, especially in a small town where you can get home for $5.

Woorabinda? 

Meanwhile, out here in the real world of Taxi Land...........you would generally get home in an average suburban community for about $10.00.  And most of the people Herbert seeks to deride share that $10.00 as they will be heading for the same subsidised housing. 

They are not the preferred fare, let's me tells ya.

Post by warrigal on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 7:00pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 10:59am:

We don't know that Herbert, just one of his many skills.

Skills that should be recognized.

A real nice arshole is Herbert isn't he.

A complete Ignorant Bastard you are.

Post by warrigal on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 7:02pm

red baron wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 6:11pm:
Mnemonic...therein lies the conundrum doesn't it..everyone has payments far and beyond food.

Mortgages, rents, medical bills, water bills, electricity, phone, gas..etc etc.

35 bucks a day is a disgrace.

Your forgetting one thing Red Barron real unemployed people don't have Mortgages, rents, medical bills, water bills, electricity, phone, gas..etc etc.

They can't afford it.

Post by imcrookonit on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 7:12pm
Well said red baron, the unemployed should get an immediate increase, of $50 a week.      :(

Post by warrigal on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 7:22pm

wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 7:12pm:
Well said red baron, the unemployed should get an immediate increase, of $50 a week.      :(

You actually beleive that, that will help people more.

Post by imcrookonit on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 7:26pm
Yes it will help people, the newstart ( no start ) benefit is far to low.     :(   

Post by The Grappler on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 10:53pm
Well - a pollie away from home in Sunny Canberra gets close to $300 a day sustenance money - damned hard to cope with but oh, well... someone has to take the hard knocks as Swan sang in his swansong.

All gotta share that load, bros - pull together as Swannie said....take the strain.....maintain an even strain for the man....

Footnote:-  I'm a good cook (for a man) - you'd be amazed at what I can turn a $10 chunk of beef into....

https://a55f9b4e-a-62cb3a1a-s-sites.googlegroups.com/site/grappleruniversitypublications/home/miscellaneous-rubbish/Pyramid.jpg?attachauth=ANoY7crA92DUazdq28QzmrXqDdKFgSPrGLXRmfTSFdRk6_8qYXrLUh-ve7KEsMxVUTUKnP-b65duOGlsQeSZN61oklZOsktuEMQwDhmvXaBGXj86pYDi7gGccEIe5fvPLR-EYJk6FlZmXozoPdpD_0F-zoLWo96ur5hshQSPYd2vnJcEX0Upi-6ZeML8VpgNGdcmvbVrLEbRdGYLIRhz5K0iy-ExkqzXh6V4J10TwxZYII-_-YQcg2M7zfo34V9lHOJK7YEg7VfHYlD1GVs3i3D6mZRpQBi4WA%3D%3D&attredirects=0

https://a55f9b4e-a-62cb3a1a-s-sites.googlegroups.com/site/grappleruniversitypublications/home/miscellaneous-rubbish/Pyramid%20II.jpg?attachauth=ANoY7cp5AZAZv31DzEOeFKq7gXiUV0I1twOfnkoVAnZGXqpf-2zOLL_amEVs1LjL_GDZCFqEuS70DS_VAp1GageyIP6vmg7vI3U0idQE9fFkFmMQu5jUp_3z2zlTRMwpbGfRHzeuXsG4QwCaIBSaWdPP7A9O-0hjbDbi1n0HW4aaG8l0D4AjIQk6Ja2ak9g0CgK4ZwTebhPFDX7GYpDzjXk6UeRoGTyo6OfV3_kEuaRIynRBDPODtw65x0w9y7BbaH4grSne3GfDWlFFvzsqmau8qOat1agd_g%3D%3D&attredirects=0

Post by The Grappler on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 11:12pm

De-registered User wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 5:05pm:
!st of all get rid of these slim employment agencies and reintroduce the job board at the dole office.

AND I clearly recall that those private employment agencies that took over from Colonel C'link were not supposed to charge applicants... when did that one sneak under my radar?  I applied for mining work (been there, done that) and they said 'FEE' - - I was of the beleif that this was illegal.... no way, Jose`.  I don't pay anyone to find me a job - you get paid by the person who wants me to fill it, bro!

Footnote:-  Amazing how 'strong and overweening central government' so easily takes over what it wants (micro-managing your life for you and YOU with it) but then lets go anything that actually protects you from predatory actions of others....changes the rules to suit the old mates' club again... and again.....

I mean - how does a dole recipient find say $1500 to get a semi-rigid licence on the off chance he might get a job driving buses during the snow season?

Policy:-  Privatisation and 'user pays' are out..... time the government earned its own way....

Amazing - simply amazing.....

ADDS:-  Somebody stop me!  Bring back the criers of "make the dole bludgers and disability pensioners do clean-up work after the floods and fires and stuff!"

OK, bro (said I) as a disabled pensioner with 15 disabilities, I'll need transport to and from, accommodation, a car to get around and wages at the going rate since I'm happy to work - but not to be a slave.  Alternatively let's do a national lottery and whoever is chosen drops tools and work and home and family etc, and heads off to work for dole money on flood etc clean-up.....

Silence fell...

BRING 'EM ON!   ;D

Post by Herbert on Jul 3rd, 2013 at 7:48am

freediver wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 6:37pm:

.... OOOOOO .... Taxi rank with queue of unemployed bogans.... heavily tattooed ... heavily pregnant ... smoking ... shouting at their little squad of ankle-biters ... the inevitable carton of VB ... bling stuck in their face as bolts and rings ... husbands in jail ... around 30 years of age with no teeth ... swearing like drunken sailors ... look just like they've come off the First Fleet ...

..... OOOOOOO .... Bus Stop Station with queue of non-bogan locals.

Spot the difference ...  ::)

Post by adamant on Jul 3rd, 2013 at 7:07pm

Don't miss it !!

4 corners on Monday.

Let them eat cake then nail, or get a smacking job

Post by pansi1951 on Jul 4th, 2013 at 6:03am

Adamant wrote on Jul 3rd, 2013 at 7:07pm:

Look over here!!!

We've got a crier  :'( :'( :'(

Post by warrigal on Jul 4th, 2013 at 8:51am

Adamant wrote on Jul 3rd, 2013 at 7:07pm:

Don't miss it !!

4 corners on Monday.

Well then provide a Job you IGNORANT BASTARD.

There are Jobs Out there, their are employers Screaming for workers, why then do we still keep people unemployed.

Its a wrong attitude that needs to be changed.

unemployed person = skilled worker.

Post by warrigal on Jul 7th, 2013 at 7:11am
Another welfare reform topic that just dies because of the I don't care attitude of this forums members, you can't sovlve unemployment, and stop people living in poverty if you do nothing and think it will all just go away, it won't go way, it will get worse and worse, suck more people in and destroy more peoples lives.

Post by Herbert on Jul 7th, 2013 at 9:13am

warrigal wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 7:11am:
Another welfare reform topic that just dies because of the I don't care attitude of this forums members, you can't sovlve unemployment, and stop people living in poverty if you do nothing and think it will all just go away, it won't go way, it will get worse and worse, suck more people in and destroy more peoples lives.

Abbott is about to do what Hitler did in the 1930s to give employment to millions who were suffering from the Great Depression at that time.

Adolf set the unemployed to build the autobahn and many other magnificent projects across the country.

:)

Adolf Abbott, er, I mean, Tony Abbott is about to open up the northern part of Australia for massive development. At last we will have a PM with some visionary talent for an improved Australian fatherland.

Der Führer, er, I mean Tony ~ will soon have Warrigal digging irrigation ditches up there in the Cape York peninsula where the Salties are as common as dole bludgers in Sydney.  8-)

Post by pansi1951 on Jul 7th, 2013 at 10:13am

Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 9:13am:

warrigal wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 7:11am:

Abbott is about to do what Hitler did in the 1930s to give employment to millions who were suffering from the Great Depression at that time.

Adolf set the unemployed to build the autobahn and many other magnificent projects across the country.

:)

Adolf Abbott, er, I mean, Tony Abbott is about to open up the northern part of Australia for massive development. At last we will have a PM with some visionary talent for an improved Australian fatherland.

Der Führer, er, I mean Tony ~ will soon have Warrigal digging irrigation ditches up there in the Cape York peninsula where the Salties are as common as dole bludgers in Sydney.  8-)

Is what ve need! build de roads, bridges, railways, lotsa infrastructure means lotsa jobs.

It won't happen tho, the Libs never invest money back into the nation, they're too obsessed with a surplus.

Post by Herbert on Jul 7th, 2013 at 10:39am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 10:13am:
Is what ve need! build de roads, bridges, railways, lotsa infrastructure means lotsa jobs.

It won't happen tho, the Libs never invest money back into the nation, they're too obsessed with a surplus.

Well... I think you mean 'Budget Deficit' left over by Labor's years of mismanagement. Every time the Libs get into office they're handed the poisoned chalice of years of Labor Party abuse of the national budget.

It's like the Libs are always faced with the job of repairing the rental premises that the previous (Labor) tenants have trashed and vandalised before doing a runner without paying the rent or for the damage.

I think Abbott's vision for the north of Australia is the first genuinely exciting piece of news to come out of Canberra in a great many years.

On the subject of new developments, we here in Sydney have just witnessed billionaire James Packer being given the green light to develop a whopping gambling palace on a prime location next to the harbour.

Once up and running and doing its job of ripping off rich idiots by the plane-load, it will earn NSW sh*tloads of money.

But for myself ~ (and I'm no wowser) ~ I think it's awfully sad that this billion dollar enterprise will be all about parting (rich) fools from their money in order to beef-up the NSW government coffers.

It's on-track to be another Sodom and Gomorrah in our own backyard. I'm not religious, but there's something very depressing about that. Success will be measured in direct proportion to how much people will lose at the tables. 

Aren't we better than that as a people ~ and as a nation? The new building should be named The House of Ruin.

There used to be another House ... in New Orleans ... that was the ruin of many a poor boy ...

Ruin

Post by Mnemonic on Jul 7th, 2013 at 12:39pm

warrigal wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 7:02pm:
Your forgetting one thing Red Barron real unemployed people don't have Mortgages, rents, medical bills, water bills, electricity, phone, gas..etc etc.

They can't afford it.

That would be great ............. if people could live a comfortable life without mortgages, rent and medical bills. :o

Post by Herbert on Jul 7th, 2013 at 12:50pm

Mnemonic wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 12:39pm:

They can't afford it.

That would be great ............. if people could live a comfortable life without mortgages, rent and medical bills. :o

You can always join them by becoming a prisoner in one of our Correctional Institutions.  8-)

Post by warrigal on Jul 8th, 2013 at 7:33am

Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 12:50pm:

Mnemonic wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 12:39pm:

They can't afford it.

You can always join them by becoming a prisoner in one of our Correctional Institutions.  8-)

now there a solution by this high up korri here, gaol the unemployed for being unemployed.

doesn't really fix the situation does.

maybe you should go help your mob in your retirement korri.

Post by The Grappler on Jul 8th, 2013 at 7:51am
Hmm - tenants wrecking, no incentive to get out of Povertysville, public housing a ruin and a wasteland of no go areas for non-bogans....

What if we abolish rented public housing and instead said -

"Here!  You move in, you buy this place!  You take care of it and do the maintenance!  You wreck it - it's your problem!  You pay the Guv back at rental rate, and Colonel C'Link gives you Mortgage Assistance instead of Rental Assistance while you are finding work or if you are a pensioner.  You've got a stake in Australia and something to work towards that you can hand on to your brats!  You get a job, you can focus your extra money on improvements or repayments, and nothing provides incentive like home ownership!

Now go forth and don't mutliply too much!"

Just a thought - might improve some of the war zone suburbs..... better than the odd air strike anyway.... too much collateral damage to property in those... and bad publicity... ;D

Post by Herbert on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:35am

warrigal wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 7:33am:
now there a solution by this high up korri here, gaol the unemployed for being unemployed.

doesn't really fix the situation does.

maybe you should go help your mob in your retirement korri.

Prisons have a manufacturing section. You should go to your nearest police station and piss against one of the police cars. They'll take you to prison where you can make licence plates with all the other crims.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.