General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1373166774 Message started by the wise one on Jul 7th, 2013 at 1:12pm |
Title: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by the wise one on Jul 7th, 2013 at 1:12pm Quote:
Dept of Finance letter to Mr Tony Abbott – 19 August 2010 Peta Credlin letter to Dept of Finance – 29 October 2010 Gary Gray Special Minister of State letter to Mr Abbott – 10 January 2011 Read More: The Minchin Protocol, Peter Slipper and Tony Abbot The Peter Reith Telecard Affair Questions for Mr Abbott on the Ashby Affair Social Media Reaction: |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by the wise one on Jul 7th, 2013 at 1:17pm Quote:
http://theaimn.com/2013/07/07/tony-abbott-i-want-money-i-want-lots-of-money-just-give-me-money-battlerort/ |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Karnal on Jul 7th, 2013 at 1:23pm
Yes, but only Mr Abbott will STOP THE BOATS.
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by chicken_lipsforme on Jul 7th, 2013 at 1:28pm Karnal wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 1:23pm:
Now that's a fact. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:09pm chicken_lipsforme wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 1:28pm:
When, and how? |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Karnal on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:13pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:09pm:
It just is. Who cares if he helps himself to a few perks? They all do it. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:27pm
$9k.
Now this is a major news story.... |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Karnal on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:31pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:27pm:
Exactly. You spend more than that on spare change to homeless veterans. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Aussie on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:31pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:27pm:
Why not? What does it matter if the Leader of the Opposition 'steals' $10.00 or $100.00? It is still 'theft.' |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:32pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:27pm:
The sum is not the issue here. ::) |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by chicken_lipsforme on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:32pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:09pm:
After he's elected and not before. And by competently introducing his border protection policies taking the sugar off the smugglers table. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:38pm chicken_lipsforme wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:32pm:
How long after he's elected, and what are his policies? |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:41pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:32pm:
Yes it is. The economy is tanking, the country is in disarray and we're thinking this issue of less than the cost of my flight yesterday is a major issue? Load of bollocks. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:43pm Karnal wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:31pm:
My generosity to US Vietnam veterans is not relevant. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by froggie on Jul 7th, 2013 at 3:36pm
Would be front page, in the Murdoch Press, if it was, say, Anthony Albanese.....
:D :D |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 7th, 2013 at 3:43pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:41pm:
The money isn't the issue here. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Socrates on Jul 7th, 2013 at 3:47pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 3:43pm:
And PECCAHEAD as usual clutches at straws! |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 7th, 2013 at 4:31pm Socrates wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 3:47pm:
$9k is not the issue. I do recall Gregg saying he worked for a union. Kinda makes sense on his view then. They've never been ones for caring about what an amount is. Recent candidate I interviewed coming out of a union finance dept told me they have little control of credit card spend by higher up union staff. As Gregg says "The amounts are not the issue" - shows he has picked up their views. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 7th, 2013 at 5:48pm Socrates wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 3:47pm:
The amount of money isn't the issue here. Only a moron would focus on that aspect of the story. No surprises then. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 7th, 2013 at 5:51pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 4:31pm:
I provide services for Unions: I'm not employed by a Union. I do work for many not-for-profit organisations. In fact, I only do work for not-for-profits. Life is good. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by adelcrow on Jul 7th, 2013 at 7:09pm
Given the fuss the Coalition made about Kevins crappy old ute nine grand of taxpayers money is a big deal.
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Verge on Jul 7th, 2013 at 7:34pm
Boring topic dealt with years ago.
Move on. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Karnal on Jul 7th, 2013 at 8:04pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:43pm:
Yeah, but if your respect for Australian Vietnam veterans is anything to go on, you’re talking sh!t. More than $9000 on your last airfare, eh? How much does that bloke out the front of Starbucks get? |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Karnal on Jul 7th, 2013 at 8:06pm adelcrow wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 7:09pm:
And if I’m not mistaken, that little episode was known as" Utegate." |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by life_goes_on on Jul 7th, 2013 at 8:09pm
Yes. He really is a front bottom.
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by froggie on Jul 7th, 2013 at 8:14pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 4:31pm:
And a recent Lib source I spoke to, who's name cannot be mentioned, told me that the party believes they have sadly misjudged the sentiment of the Australian public and feel they will lose the upcoming election. ;) |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 7th, 2013 at 8:19pm Karnal wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 8:04pm:
I don't set the airfare prices Karnal. Take the extortionate prices up with the airlines. I do set how much I can give to the veterans and its a sh*tload more than many do. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Karnal on Jul 7th, 2013 at 8:36pm
No airfare I ever heard of cost more than $9000. First class, eh?
How much do you set aside from your Starbucks change for the veterans, Andrei? |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 7th, 2013 at 8:38pm Karnal wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 8:36pm:
You need to get out more then Karnal, First class is a sh*tload more than that. SYDNEY-LONDON HEATHROW RETURN BUSINESS CLASS - 1 ADULT A$12,763 (Taxes Included) http://book.qantas.com.au/pl/QFOnline/wds/OverrideServlet |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 7th, 2013 at 8:41pm
FIRST CLASS RETURN
A$19,142 Mere middle managers like me can only dream of such luxury. However Wayne Swan upgraded his entire team into first class on this leg at Australian Taxpayers' expense. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Datalife on Jul 7th, 2013 at 8:48pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 2:41pm:
Not been here long, but long enough to see you spruiking yourself consistently. I am curious, what does this 9k airfare consist of that you so casually speak of? Hell that would give you a good go on a fabulously overpriced oz rail holiday, a US war tour, Indian, independence and civil or a good berth on a cruise liner. So what flight costs 9k? Not doubting you, details should be easy to provide, after all it sounds memorable. Or it should be unless possibly it fades into ordinariness in the face of all the usual 9k flights you take during the year? I am starting to like this forum, plenty of blowhards and debate by anecdote crowd. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Karnal on Jul 7th, 2013 at 9:00pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 8:41pm:
You didn’t say how much you dished out to those Septic Tank veterans. I’m thinking at least a grand, right? They’d be waiting for you at the Sandiego Conference Centre. It’d be like Elvis on a shopping spree. I’ll match you, Andrei. How much do you pay, boy? |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 7th, 2013 at 9:14pm
I don't count how much I give.
I give what can when I can. The airfare isn't relevant as I didn't pay for it. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Dnarever on Jul 7th, 2013 at 9:16pm
EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400
Interesting that Slipper was not given the opportunity to pay back $1,194 they charged him but they let Abbott off with paying back $9,400? How many of the conservatives here were making a big deal about a $1000 from Slipper but apparently $10,000 is not worth worrying about stealing if it is a conservative. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Karnal on Jul 7th, 2013 at 9:41pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 9:14pm:
You didn’t say that about Wayne Swan. How much do you give when you can? Are we talking things like cars, medical bills, artificial limbs, etc, or do you write cheques? Please explain. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by John Smith on Jul 7th, 2013 at 10:05pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 9:16pm:
wasn't there also something about $150 cabcharge? I know they didn't stop crying about it at the time .... funny how suddenly $9k is not worth worrying about |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by John Smith on Jul 7th, 2013 at 10:06pm Karnal wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 9:41pm:
the only thing he'd ever give them is a headache from telling them how great he is. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Karnal on Jul 8th, 2013 at 12:17am John Smith wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 10:06pm:
He could give them some free tax advice. That might help. He’s a qualified accountant. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by the wise one on Jul 8th, 2013 at 7:44am |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by the wise one on Jul 8th, 2013 at 7:47am John Smith wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 10:06pm:
It gives me the shyte on how andrei turns nearly every thread into what he or his family has or hasn't done. I wish he would PEE off back to South Africa and leave us alone |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by cods on Jul 8th, 2013 at 7:49am
ahhhh digging deep wo...you are desperate are you not?...almost $10grand.. whew thats a lot...
I wonder how much rudds PINKBATTS DEBACLE will cost us, that is apart from the 4 deaths which really should never have happened...cant bring them back can he? but I guess you dont want to talk about that.. or your mindless links either. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by cods on Jul 8th, 2013 at 7:52am John S wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 7:47am:
yeah the same goes for you and your endless threads on Abbott... talk about obsessive..there must be a place for the likes of you as well and those god awful.[alp] links you c&p. all bizarre all obsessive. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by the wise one on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:01am
So cods do you think it alright for The idiot who wants to be pm to paid back $9400 the he over claim to promote his book, but Slipper got charge over $900 that he claim that he shouldn't of.
So tell me cods why did they charge one and not the other. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by the wise one on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:06am cods wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 7:52am:
At least I live in Australia and vote in Australia and if you don't like what I copy and paste don't read them and don't comment on them. Weren't you going off a couple of months ago about how the government was trying to stop freedom of speech and what are you doing now? |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by John Smith on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:11am cods wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 7:52am:
it IS a politics forum, and Abbott is the leader most likely to be PM at the next election .... I wanted to talk about ELMO but figured this wasn't the forum for it .... for that I need to go to the liberal parties forum. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by cods on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:21am John S wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:01am:
well I dont know to be honest but how many MPs have had to pay back and I dont for one minute think the leader of the opposition puts his own claims in...I think they have staff to do that...of course he should pay it back.. how ever slipper I think you will find..that he used his cabcharge deliberately for his own personal use.. On one adventure in January 2010, Mr Slipper allegedly travelled from Parliament House to six wineries. He also allegedly travelled to wineries using government Cabcharges again in April and June 2010. Advertisement The documents suggest Mr Slipper holds a particular fondness for Poachers Pantry, which is famous in Canberra for its gourmet smoked meats. He visited the restaurant on all three journeys. ''Mr Slipper knew that he was not entitled to use the Cabcharge card to pay for the hire car fare, but he did so,'' the description of offences says. Illustration: Matt Golding. The rules state that MPs can travel at government expense only if they are undertaking ''parliamentary, electorate or official business''. If a federal MP is found guilty of a criminal offence that carries a jail term of a year or more, they are disqualified from Parliament. Mr Slipper could face up to five years' imprisonment but lawyers say this is unlikely. But a shorter sentence is a ''real possibility'', according to Canberra criminal lawyer Ben Aulich, who also read the allegations against Mr Slipper. ''These sorts of matters are very serious,'' said Mr Aulich, who owns a criminal law firm in Canberra. ''Anything to do with a fraud on the Commonwealth involving a breach of a position of trust in a systematic way, the first port of call is a jail term.'' When public figures are convicted of fraud the judge typically issues a severe punishment to deter others. The former Speaker, who resigned from the position last October, allegedly filled in false information about trip locations and fares. The Finance Department told Mr Slipper on three separate occasions between 2006 and 2007 that he should use electronic and not manual Cabcharge vouchers as they were more accountable and secure, the document alleges. Mr Slipper allegedly continued to use Cabcharge vouchers because he wanted to avoid being investigated. On Monday Mr Slipper was summonsed to face the ACT Magistrates Court on February 15 for ''three offences of dishonestly causing a risk of a loss to the Commonwealth''. I think even you would admit slipper is a serial offender.???.. who in the past has repaid a lot more than $10.000 if you want to see Abbott locked up dont stop there I am sure a lot more would be in jail as well.didnt rudd fail to put his tax return in??lol.. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by John Smith on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:23am cods wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:21am:
Every MP has staff that does that. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by cods on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:25am John S wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:06am:
true of course but dont you think you have a bad case of pot calling the kettle black.... andrei has as much right to be on here and comment as anyone else...you are just as boring if I may say so.. and in case you havent noticed I do avoid your threads..they are so predictable it isnt funny..like what you have advised me to do in your case.. then you should take your own advise regarding andrei.. he is Australian he has lived here he can comment..so take your own advice. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by John Smith on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:28am cods wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:25am:
certainly doesn't look like it .... it must have a different definition down in your part of the world. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by cods on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:31am John Smith wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:28am:
hey one swallow doesnt make a summer....I know you wont understand that... |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by John Smith on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:34am cods wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:31am:
in your case it's more a case of a goose than a swallow |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by cods on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:38am John Smith wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:34am:
hahahahah I knew you wouldnt understand...thats why I dont bother with you either..also very predictable..and maybe not the sharpest knife in the draw.. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by John Smith on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:43am cods wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:38am:
what makes you think I didn't understand? See, you really are a goose. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by the wise one on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:52am cods wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:21am:
just a little bit from what you have posted cods notice they can expense only if they are undertaking ''parliamentary, electorate or official business''. So are they going to look into the pollie pedal run from 1997 when it started to the present time, then refer it to the AFP if any politicians claim expense while doing the pollie pedal. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by the wise one on Jul 8th, 2013 at 9:00am cods wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:25am:
He is not Australian he hasn't denial being born in South Africa, even in on thread about a month ago he said that he was Afrikaans. He doesn't vote here he has no ties here at all. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Spot of Borg on Jul 8th, 2013 at 9:19am cods wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 8:38am:
Drawer SOB |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by cods on Jul 8th, 2013 at 10:46am John S wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 9:00am:
YOU ARE WRONG>. his parents come from Sth Africa.. he was born in melb.. or at least thats what he has told us.. get your facts right.. andrei has been on these boards longer than you I am thinking. and comes from yahoo...his children or at least one of them was born in Melb as well.. you are sounding almost racist???? or paranoid.what the hell does it matter anyway... you seem to make a HUGE thing out of nothing... gillard wasnt born here either or Abbott...or THOMO... get a life. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by cods on Jul 8th, 2013 at 10:47am Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 9:19am:
EXCUSE ME????????.. please explain. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Alinta on Jul 8th, 2013 at 11:01am cods wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 10:47am:
Expect SOB means the saying is "not the sharpest knife in the drawer" |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Karnal on Jul 8th, 2013 at 11:55am cods wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 10:47am:
PLEASE EXPLAIN, LEFTARDS. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 8th, 2013 at 11:56am
Tony Abbott plans to give the banks and corporations back the kind of free reign they had before the GFC...Abbott will destroy the Australian economy and plunge us into debt and austerity that we will never recover from...
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by corporate_whitey on Jul 8th, 2013 at 12:05pm
The state cannot afford to allow the anarchists within the coalition to seize the reigns of power to destroy Australia and its people...
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by salad in on Jul 8th, 2013 at 6:40pm Quote:
You expect too much from our pollies Wild One. I know of a Premier from WA who had to be given a gentle nudge by the police to repay money advanced to her for an overseas trip she canceled. The name Carmen comes to mind. I know of a federal treasurer who failed to lodge his tax return but wasn't fined. Paul was busy counting his T/A. What about the NP member who slept in his car at truck stops so he could claim T/A. He also lodged claims for the use of his car claiming a rate applying to a V8 yet he owned a 4 cylinder. We have the greatest collection of filth masquerading as politicians that far exceeds politicians in other countries. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Dnarever on Jul 8th, 2013 at 6:54pm
We have always known that Tony is not suitable to be the PM of Australia, The conservatives don't care they just want to win.
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Dnarever on Jul 8th, 2013 at 6:57pm cods wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 7:49am:
I seem to recall you going on and on about how dishonest Slipper was for his $1,000 on cab charge?? Have to wonder how often Abbott got away with it before he was caught??? |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by John Smith on Jul 8th, 2013 at 9:27pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 6:57pm:
it's wrong when lefties do it .... nothing wrong with it if righties do it haven't you figured it out yet? |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Aussie on Jul 10th, 2013 at 8:47am
Here is Tony Abbott failing to answer questions about his theft of about $9000.00.
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by John Smith on Jul 10th, 2013 at 8:59am
Abbott for PMi
of Siam |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Dnarever on Jul 10th, 2013 at 9:09am
QUESTION: Why did you use Comcars on your book tour? Surely you would have known when you were using the Comcars that you were on private business?
TONY Fully dealt with last year. The Labor Minister at the time was perfectly satisfied that there had been nothing that was deliberately done wrong and the matter was closed. Those Comcars look just like a Taxi, (except for the size colour models lack of signage, driver uniform and method of payment) you can understand Tony being confused after all he isn't the sharpest tool in the shed. No Tony had no idea he had done anything wrong probably been doing it for so long that he expected to just get away with it or that it was really ok. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Dnarever on Jul 10th, 2013 at 9:25am
Abbott forced to repay $9,400,000,000
I can't imagine the outrage if this were a senior Labor figure, Macca would have 15 topics running all expecting a long prison term and resignation immediately while claiming it was actually many millions or more that had been embezzled and all well supported by longy cods and co who would be equally disgusted. There would be froth coming out of their posts. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by the wise one on Jul 10th, 2013 at 9:37am Quote:
http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/jul/09/tony-abbott-refusal-travel-expenses |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by the wise one on Jul 10th, 2013 at 9:50am cods wrote on Jul 8th, 2013 at 10:46am:
I joined this forum on the 15th June 2010 and andrei joined 7th August 2010 and I come from yahoo as well so get your facts right before you post your B/S it is not hard to do a bit of research. If andrei was born in Melbourne why does he think it is more important to vote in the British election then Australia elections and why did he let his Australia passport lapse, and have you notice that as soon as anyone says he was born in South Africa he goes missing from the thread. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by buzzanddidj on Jul 10th, 2013 at 11:22am Karnal wrote on Jul 7th, 2013 at 1:23pm:
Tony Abbott's new slogan: 'fully dealt with' Bridie Jabour Tuesday 9 July 2013 The opposition leader, Tony Abbott, has refused to take responsibility for incorrectly claiming more than $9,000 worth of travel expenses and will not explain in detail how the error occurred. On Monday, Abbott denied incorrectly claiming $9,397.42 in travel expenses while on his book tour, despite freedom of information (FOI) documents published by website No Fibs on the weekend revealing he repaid the money to the government in 2010. When further questioned by Guardian Australia at a press conference on Tuesday, Abbott did not explain how the incorrect claim occurred. “Look, this matter was "fully dealt with" last year and there’s nothing further to add,” he said. When asked to explain how the travel expenses for his book tour came to be claimed as official business expenses, Abbott repeated that the matter had been "fully dealt with". Asked again what the process was that led to $9,000 being incorrectly claimed, he said it had been an “oversight” in his office but it had been "fully dealt with". Abbott initially repaid $6,255.49 for flights during his tour but was later asked by the then special minister of state, Gary Gray, for a further $3,141.93 for other expenses including the use of commonwealth cars. When asked why he used Comcars - the company which provides the cars and drivers used by federal parliamentarians when they are on official business - while he was on his book tour, Abbott replied: “Fully dealt with last year. The Labor minister at the time was perfectly satisfied that there had been nothing that was deliberately done wrong and the matter was closed." “I think I have "fully dealt with" it and it’s time to move on,” he said, when asked if he took responsibility for the mistake. “I didn’t claim travel allowance, I never claimed travel allowance. My office inadvertently booked some travel as official and it shouldn’t have been booked that way,” he said. When it was pointed out there were expenses that had been claimed, as Gray had written to Abbott’s office asking for more expenses to be paid back, Abbott replied: “OK. Are there any other questions?” Abbott also tried to blame the prime minister, Kevin Rudd, for the issue surfacing, suggesting it was part of a smear campaign, despite the documents being published on an independent website. "Why is Kevin Rudd now trying to dish this sort of dirt?" he said."Kevin Rudd came into the prime ministership a few days ago and he said, 'Let's have a kinder, gentler polity'… and he called for positive politics. Now we've got the Labor Party spinning this kind of stuff. Now, let's move on." http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2013/jul/09/tony-abbott-refusal-travel-expenses |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Herbert on Jul 10th, 2013 at 11:30am
Wasn't it Tony Abbott who cynically used the matter of financial misappropriation of funds to put Pauline Hanson and David Ettridge in jail?
Karma. Poetic justice. Chickens coming home to roost. It's nice to see Abbott squirming uncomfortably over this little revelation. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Spot of Borg on Jul 10th, 2013 at 11:35am
Yeah he just tried to steal that line from gillard but couldn't get it right
SOB |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Socrates on Jul 10th, 2013 at 12:16pm Quote:
Note the selective targetting, given Climate Change Minister Tony Burke made 15 separate repayments involving family travel, totalling nearly $7000, and Labor Senator Trish Crossin repaid $3022 while her Queensland colleague, Kirstin Livermore, made 10 repayments totalling $3642. PRIME Minister Julia Gillard is among federal MPs who have been forced to repay almost $100,000 to taxpayers after wrongly claiming family travel perks. http://www.news.com.au/national-news/mps-including-prime-minister-julia-gillard-tripped-up-by-travel-perk-rules/story-e6frfkw9-1225993347272 Now what can we find out about KRUDD? No tax fiddles, no pole dancing, no drunken nights on the town, no bullying stewardesses, no crying for his hairdryer, etc......... |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Socrates on Jul 10th, 2013 at 12:47pm |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by iceyone on Jul 10th, 2013 at 12:54pm
Karma is a biatch!
Tony shouldn't have thrown stones - people in glass houses always get found out. While many politicians may have done it, he (Abbott) was calling for the government to step down "for the good of the parliament." For the good of the electorate/parliament Abbott should step down (what's good for the goose etc). If Abbott didn't make a big deal out of Slipper then it wouldn't have mattered - as it is, this shows him to be a hypocrite. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Socrates on Jul 10th, 2013 at 1:10pm
This happened well before Gillard's term and her claims on the public purse, and these claims were made without Tony Abbott's knowledge or approval by a member of his staff.
Slipper's case was not only for wrongful claims but also involved matters involving harassment of one of his staffers. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 10th, 2013 at 3:07pm Socrates wrote on Jul 10th, 2013 at 12:47pm:
An Andrew Bolt blog. Hmmm. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Dnarever on Jul 10th, 2013 at 3:17pm Socrates wrote on Jul 10th, 2013 at 1:10pm:
and these claims were made without Tony Abbott's knowledge or approval by a member of his staff. He really didn't know it was a Comcar then? |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Dnarever on Jul 10th, 2013 at 3:20pm Socrates wrote on Jul 10th, 2013 at 12:47pm:
Bolty didn't seem to have a problem with the Howard Family world farewell tour in 2007. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by True Colours on Jul 10th, 2013 at 4:12pm Socrates wrote on Jul 10th, 2013 at 1:10pm:
By whom, and why haven't they been charged? We need a police investigation to get to the bottom of who really defrauded the taxpayer. Socrates wrote on Jul 10th, 2013 at 1:10pm:
The harassment case was politically motivated and described by the judge as an abuse of process. The judge even ordered Ashby to pay Slippers legal costs. There is no need to confuse the two issues. Slipper has been exonerated over the harassment claims, but still faces trial over the travel expenses. If a trial is good for Slipper's $1000, then why not for Abbott's $9000? |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by True Colours on Jul 10th, 2013 at 4:20pm Socrates wrote on Jul 10th, 2013 at 12:47pm:
Bolt is overtly partisan. Why does Bolt make no mention of the Abbott rort? If I only read Murdoch News, I would probably come to the conclusion that all the travel rorts are done by Labor politicians only. This pseudo-journalism harms our democracy. If Bolt was genuine he would criticise all MPs abusing the system and call for all these travel rorts to be abolished. Free travel for official business only! |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Karnal on Jul 10th, 2013 at 4:41pm True Colours wrote on Jul 10th, 2013 at 4:12pm:
Exactly. Not only is this a clear case of fraud, but this man was a victim of the most heinous kind of sexual harassment. This sort of behaviour needs to be eradicated from the highest levels of government. It's thoroughly appalling. Typical. |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by buzzanddidj on Jul 10th, 2013 at 6:04pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 10th, 2013 at 3:07pm:
Spot the DIFFERENCE |
Title: Re: EXCLUSIVE: Abbott forced to repay $9,400 Post by Socrates on Jul 10th, 2013 at 7:18pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jul 10th, 2013 at 6:04pm:
Now Buz, you'd know much more than most about turd bandits.....you've no doubt experienced more stretch-trenches than most normal people. |
Australian Politics Forum » Powered by YaBB 2.5.2! YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved. |