General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1374457886 Message started by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 11:51am |
Title: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 11:51am
"The announcement of the Australian Government to no longer process displaced asylum seekers in its own territory and to send them to Papua New Guinea is an incredibly disappointing turn of events.
Amnesty has at its disposal numerous recent reports from PNG and we continue to note poor treatment of human rights particularly women and vulnerable people, which the Government is unable to prevent. Australia - a first world country - choosing to literally dump thousands of desperate and vulnerable people onto a country, which despite being a signatory to the UN Human Rights Convention, has chosen to opt out of signficant articles on freedom of movement, social housing provision, employment rights and paths to permanent residence - is one which has all the hallmarks of pandering to short term domestic public opinion. This new policy of Australia shows scant regard for the plight of some of the most desperate people in this part of the world and complete contempt for its international obligations both legally and morally. This day should be regarded as the one in which Australia decided to turn its back on desperate people, closed the door and threw away with the key. Amnesty International unreservedly condemns this decision." Statement - Amnesty International - Australia |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Karnal on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 11:57am
Rubbish people, Andrei. Shoeshiners. Goatherders. People you'd rather see drown than come to Australia. Remember? "These are not our people".
Which is strange because you don't have anything to do with Australia. You live in the US, you vote in the UK, and you identify yourself as a Boer. Too true. Are you going to take my bet that the boats stop by Friday, or are you going to continue to play the good Samaritan? |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Spot of Borg on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 11:57am
Yeah well . . . . amnesty international . . . .
SOB |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by MOTR on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 11:58am
We went past this point years ago, Andrei.
Pity you didn't speak up earlier. Quote:
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 11:58am
MOTR - With what part of Amnesty's statement do you disagree?
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:01pm Karnal wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 11:57am:
All smoke and mirrors there my friend. I share the concern about dumping thousands of people on a country which is already impoverished and has its own human rights issues as it is. How is that "playing" the good samaritan? |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by pansi1951 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:02pm
Amnesty International already marked us as shameful when they popped over and inspected our Aboriginal settlements. Shameful they said. The UN said it too. Freaking Hilary Clinton condemned our attitude toward boat people and she's the most evil woman on earth.
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by MOTR on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:04pm Quote:
This point, Andrei. We will continue to accept refugees into Australia. If this plan works Rudd has promised to increase the number of refugees we accept into Australia. We have closed the door to asylum seekers who arrive by boat. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by miketrees on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:04pm
Everybody apart from the terminally Labor realise that this is a sham move by Rudd.
If he can get the election over with before it all turns to sh1t, he wins the election and he can backflip or pay out later. If he loses the election its somebody else's problem. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by MOTR on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:05pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:01pm:
This is unlikely to happen, Andrei. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:07pm MOTR wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:05pm:
That is EXACTLY what the plan suggests will happen. Those who arrive by boat, who are found to be refugees, will be resettled in PNG. A country which Amnesty says has significant human rights abuses, has opted out on significant provisions of treatment of refugees and is a third world nation. If you dont see this as a short term electioneering stunt then you are blind as a bat. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by FriYAY on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:15pm
AI and the UN.
As usual laying shame everywhere but the countries of origin of the refugees. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by MOTR on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:16pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:07pm:
Which refugees, Andrei? As Aussie has asked elsewhere. Which refugees are going to "pay Achmed about $8000 per head to jump on his leaky unseaworthy pile of junk to risk drowning themself and their kids on the high seas to resettle in beautiful downtown equatorial tropical Manus Paradus?" |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Spot of Borg on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:18pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:07pm:
How is it any different from abbotts plan? SOB |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Aussie on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:19pm Quote:
Yeah, 'cause they say so, it must be disappointing. Got it. Quote:
Now, there's a revelation! Quote:
Thousands hey. What thousands, Andrei? Lucky if there will be a handful. Quote:
Now there, right there is the greatest piece of sanctimonious garbage ever to come out of this Mob. Would they rather see these 'desperate' people get onto Achmed's boat to drown at sea and have their skulls crushed on the cliffs of Christmas Island? Quote:
Emotive clap trap! It stops Achmed in his tracks and you'd reckon this Mob would be applauding that. It says a great deal that they have totally ignored the fact that the sole intent of this solution is to put Achmed out of business. Instead, they play violins. Quote:
Heck, if they had not unreservedly condemned it, I'd never sleep again, Gee, I'm so glad of their vigilance. ::) |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Karnal on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:36pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:01pm:
So you're prepared to take them into your house? Funny how we've switched sides, isn't it? |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by buzzanddidj on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:45pm Karnal wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 11:57am:
Well ! THAT hit quite a FEW "nails on head" - to the epitome of chameleon and hypocrite One is NEVER sure if Andrei's "we" is British, Australian, American - or just a tiresome "BOAR" |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:11pm Karnal wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:36pm:
My views are no different to what they have always been. Funny though how "humanitarians" like our mate Buzz now support the placing of refugees on a third world nation with human rights issues. This is about electioneering and it stinks to high hell. I agree with Amnesty's disappointment,. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:13pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:45pm:
I'm an Australian Buzz. Always have been. Always will be. Born in Melbourne and an Aussie. Fact. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:14pm
It's time we unsigned the refugee convention.
China is not a part of it & they are a lot richer than us. They don't accept any boat people. I wonder what happens to them there? |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:17pm Bobby. wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:14pm:
They shoot praying buddist Monks in the back and run over democracy protestors in tanks Bobby. Sounds a bit like Kevin Rudd's thing these days doesn't it? Maybe you're right. Human rights is no longer a priority for ALP people it seems. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:20pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:17pm:
Why should we be the South pacific suckers when China takes no one? We have too many people here already: Unemployment is shocking, the roads are clogged, there is no room in our hospitals. This place is terrible. The last thing we want is more people to make it worse. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:22pm
Australia is one of the least densely populated countries in the world Bobby.
It's the same size as the continental United States with 6% of its population. Australia doesn't have a lot of things. Room isn't on that list. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:24pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:22pm:
But it's mostly desert & the new arrivals want to live in our clogged cities. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:26pm Bobby. wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:24pm:
There is A LOT of Room around Australia's coastline and for its cities to spread. I have just come from London and northern Europe - you can't possibly not think Australia has huge expansive spaces for people once you spend time there. China has 2 billion people Bobby. Whilst China is a wealthy country it is very limited to particular areas. The vast majority of Chinese cannot afford to see a GP and live on a pittance. It has first world cities and 3rd world countryside. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:28pm
Andrei,
they don't go to new cities - they come here to Melbourne or Sydney. China has 1.4 billion people. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Aussie on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:31pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:13pm:
There must be another Andrei Hicks posting on this Forum: Quote:
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:33pm
You might not have noticed Aussie - but your citizenship and nationality is not determined by the cricket side you support.....
I am both British and Australian. I can't cheer for both. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:33pm Bobby. wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:28pm:
And you think they should take more? |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Aussie on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:37pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:33pm:
What I did notice was your use of the first and third person....this indicating exactly what you regard yourself as, not that I give a rat's arse. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:41pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:33pm:
No - & we should be like them otherwise our sovereignty means nothing. In fact - I think we should start sending people back who are here now. It would free up our hospitals & roads. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Ubermensch on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:42pm
So Amnesty is angry; well, that must mean we are on the right track. Any time an international socialist is angry, then that's a good indication a sound policy has been implemented.
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by dsmithy70 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:43pm
If memory serves your response to Amnesty when they were critical of the pacific solution
http://www.amnesty.org/en/library/info/ASA12/009/2002/en Was a very eloquent 'bugger OFF" Why the change of heart now? |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:43pm Bobby. wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:41pm:
Under what law? How would you justify that and where would you send them? |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by alevine on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:46pm
The suggestions from amnesty only apply if people continue to come by boat. The aim is to deter, not actually resettle in png.
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:48pm Dsmithy70 wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:43pm:
No it wasn't. I havent changed my views at all. Now do you spot a change of heart from a lot of the alleged 'humanitarians' on here? One moment, up in arms about Howard's Pacific Solution as "inhumane" and the next supporting this. How about in 2010? Kevin Rudd the night he was deposed - "Now what isn't the answer, what isn't the answer, is for the Labor Party to lurch to the Right and pander to populism on the subject of asylum seekers" 2013 - He ships them off to PNG and slams the door shut on them ever resettling into Australia. Now where do you see the change of heart? |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:49pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:46pm:
So..... Are people who arrive by boat and deemed refugees going to be settled in PNG or not? |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by alevine on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:53pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:49pm:
If they aren't deterred then yes. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 2:00pm
You would regard though the organization Amnesty International as not giving a flying bugger about the election result of Australia and looking at it solely from a humanitarian and international obligation point of view.
I am not quite sure I could say the same for Tony Abbott and Kevin Rudd. Those people here quick to dispel the views of AI and listen to Rudd - well I am just not sure what to think.... Talk about skin in the game.... |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by dsmithy70 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 2:00pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:48pm:
Election year politics mate. Don't bitch, up until Howard there was bi-partisan support for not making them an election issue. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Innocent bystander on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 2:15pm
Upsetting amnesty is like upsetting the idiot Greens, if you've upset them you know you are on the right track.
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 2:22pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:43pm:
Hi Andrei, Make the law retrospective. Send them all to PNG. Put the: murderers, rapists, thieves, pedophiles & terrorists on the boat as well. This could be our: final solution to the question of refugees & criminals. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 2:24pm
Retrospective application of laws to kick people out of a country?
I can see that one working? Though in saying that - given the enthusiasm once precious humanitarians have for a policy of kicking desperate people over to a 3rd world island - maybe there wouldn't be too much reaction from the people. Gives us some insight into how Adolf Hitler achieved the mass deportation of displaced people to Poland doesnt it? |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by alevine on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 2:24pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 2:00pm:
Oh? And what is the solution offered by Amnesty INternational? |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 2:26pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 2:24pm:
Yes Adolf had an even more final solution - gas chambers. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by buzzanddidj on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 2:48pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:11pm:
From the "humanitarian" view - I don't "support" it in the SLIGHTEST But since the matter of refugees was so SHAMELESSLY turned into a LEFT vs RIGHT issue by John "we will decide who comes here" Howard - we aren't given too many options ... and I agree, it DOES "stink to high hell" Under THIS plan there will be REAL processing centres - that are not just a front for prisons, offering NO HOPE of anything but a life behind razor wire - such as the "Pacific Solution" A refugee, once processed as genuine - will be a FREE MAN, albeit, not in the best choice of country One FREE of car bombs, white vans - and the Taliban And an Australia - FREE of Tony Abbott ( ... and you don't think refugees are fleeing from FAR WORSE "human rights issues ?) |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 2:53pm
Sending refugees to PNG has some similarities to history:
Madagascar Plan http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Madagascar_Plan Quote:
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by skippy. on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 2:53pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 11:51am:
Smell the fear from this filthy hypocrite who says refugees are nothing but shoe shiners. Typical rightard, no wonder you are despised by most every day Australians. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by buzzanddidj on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:26pm Bobby. wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 2:53pm:
If only the UN had thought of this, in the creation of a "Jewish state" In retrospect, it makes for FAR more common sense ( ... and less M.E. conflict and wars) than to plonk it in the middle of the Islamic and Arab world ( ... can I expect a flood of anti-Semite screams, now - for mentioning Israeli political history ?) |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by froggie on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:29pm Karnal wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 11:57am:
Seem to recall andrei using every one of these at various times..... Good call, Karnal. ;) |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by adelcrow on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:30pm Lobo wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:29pm:
Andrei has taken a massive turn to the left so i can only assume that he's voting Green at the election |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by cods on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:32pm
what has the UN said????
not word I guess nothing to do with them is it? stand and watch.. :( |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by froggie on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:34pm adelcrow wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:30pm:
Only if he re-registers to vote in Aus and sends his blank postal vote to you to fill in.... :D |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by adelcrow on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:37pm Lobo wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:34pm:
Im always happy to fill in anyone's postal vote..I consider it a public service :D |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by froggie on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:38pm
It's times like this that I wish I had saved a lot of the posts from Yahoo to a hard drive.
;) |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by adelcrow on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:42pm
Im trying to forget my time on Yahoo...it all got just a tad dysfunctional ::)
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by pansi1951 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:42pm Lobo wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:38pm:
The second line of my signature thingy was copy and pasted from one of andrei's posts. andrei said: Great isn't it? Seeing boatloads of what is nothing more than human garbage turn up..... |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by longweekend58 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:54pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 1:33pm:
why not? your argument regarding CO2 emissions has always been about EVERYONE doing their bit and so China should do the same. After all there are hundres of millions of chinese living elsewhere so how about taking 50 million back? |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by longweekend58 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:58pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:26pm:
and all you would do is have the endless enmity between the original madagascarans and the Jews. Or did you not think of that? |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by froggie on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 7:02pm adelcrow wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:42pm:
Only a TAD???? :D :D |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by life_goes_on on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 7:06pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:58pm:
In the whole scheme of things and considering how well the creation of a European enclave in the middle east has worked out, who'd give a sh!t? Madagascar is an island. The Euro jews and the local inhabitants could biff it out for as long as they wanted. In fact, I'd hazard a guess that the Euro jews would crap all over the locals and have them eradicated before you could say "einsatzgruppen". |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by froggie on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 7:10pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:42pm:
But he is such a great humanitarian..... Or should that be hypocrite? They both start with 'H'...... :) |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by chicken_lipsforme on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 7:12pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 12:18pm:
It's different because Abbotts plan will work. All the difference in the world really. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by dsmithy70 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 7:15pm chicken_lipsforme wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 7:12pm:
I'll bite chook, how and what makes you so sure? |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by Kat on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 7:22pm Lobo wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:38pm:
That would lead to quite a few red faces, I'd warrant. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 7:32pm Life_goes_on wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 7:06pm:
Yes - a place for the Jews & - PNG for the refugees. |
Title: Re: Amnesty - Mark this day as one of Shame Post by bobbythebat1 on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 7:34pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Jul 22nd, 2013 at 6:42pm:
Good work Pansi, I was trying to find just that quote. |
Australian Politics Forum » Powered by YaBB 2.5.2! YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved. |