General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Why would anyone support Thommo? http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1374805406 Message started by adelcrow on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:23pm |
Title: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by adelcrow on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:23pm
Why would anyone go to this fundraiser?
Thommo is a sleaze, a crook and he ripped off HSU members...he should be put in jail for a very very long time. And anyone that supports him is just as bad as he is http://au.news.yahoo.com/election/a/-/article/18153711/low-fundraiser-turnout-for-craig-thomsons-legal-bills/ |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:31pm
This was posted in another Thread recently and provided a timely reminder:
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by adelcrow on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:35pm Aussie wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:31pm:
I should be very worried because Im all of the above :D |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Verge on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:37pm
Will there be hookers on tap at this fundraiser?
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by adelcrow on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:39pm Verge wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:37pm:
Not if Thommo has to pay for them out of his own pocket :D |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:55pm
Why would anyone support Thommo?
Maybe they think he is innocent ?? I could equally ask how anyone could support Abbott I don't understand that either. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:57pm adelcrow wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:23pm:
So, he's been convicted then? :-/ |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by adelcrow on Jul 26th, 2013 at 1:05pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:57pm:
When he's found innocent I'll send him $20 but I reckon my money is safe |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 26th, 2013 at 1:10pm adelcrow wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 1:05pm:
And if he's found not guilty, you'll accept that decision? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by adelcrow on Jul 26th, 2013 at 1:14pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 1:10pm:
Yep..and I'll send him the $20 to help pay for his legal bills but until then why would anyone help someone who may have ripped off lowly paid union members. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by salad in on Jul 26th, 2013 at 1:22pm Aussie wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:31pm:
G*d bless you Aussie and Mr Thomson. It's people like the brave Mr Thomson who are in there fighting for the down-trodden, the voiceless, the wretched, and others who lack the ability to articulate what it is they desire. I've even heard Mr Thomson has conducted several interviews with 'sex workers' to find out what it is they want and how he can assist them. Don't stop fighting Mr Thomson. May G*d give you strength. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by matty on Jul 26th, 2013 at 1:56pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:55pm:
1. He's more or less admitted that he did do it. 2. What has Abbott done on the same level? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by adelcrow on Jul 26th, 2013 at 1:59pm matty wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 1:56pm:
Threatening to punch a women...sexually assaulting another and having another one sent to prison all for daring to compete with him. Thats a sad list in anyones books. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by matty on Jul 26th, 2013 at 2:21pm adelcrow wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 1:59pm:
I thank you in advance for your forthcoming evidence and proof. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 26th, 2013 at 2:23pm matty wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 2:21pm:
So Matty, exactly how much were you charging Thomo when you used to work at the brothel? That $200 g wasn't union money was it? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by RightSadFred on Jul 26th, 2013 at 2:28pm Verge wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:37pm:
Yes indeed, and what about him handing out credit cards for anyone to use, that is his defence BTW. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by matty on Jul 26th, 2013 at 2:40pm John Smith wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 2:23pm:
He'd need over a thousand grand to have any part of me. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 26th, 2013 at 2:44pm matty wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 2:40pm:
but you would sell you ar$e for the right amount of money despite claiming you aren't gay? I can see why you like the liberal party so much. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by matty on Jul 26th, 2013 at 3:04pm John Smith wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 2:44pm:
Your interest in my sex life is really bordering on obsessive. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by alevine on Jul 26th, 2013 at 3:07pm matty wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 2:40pm:
that's pretty cheap, matty. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 26th, 2013 at 4:51pm matty wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 3:04pm:
as always you misunderstand ... it's not your sex life I find interesting, rather, it's your lack of a sex life that's funny |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 26th, 2013 at 5:12pm matty wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 1:56pm:
He has?? 'More or less', eh??? Do tell...... :) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 26th, 2013 at 5:25pm John Smith wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 2:44pm:
------------- John Smith to Matty: Would you sleep with me for a million dollars. Matty(indignantly): “Of course not, what kind of person do you think I am? John Smith: “Matty, we’ve already established what kind of person you are, now we’re just negotiating the price.” ;) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Karnal on Jul 26th, 2013 at 5:35pm matty wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 2:21pm:
Proof please, leftards. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 26th, 2013 at 5:38pm Lobo wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 5:25pm:
;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Karnal on Jul 26th, 2013 at 5:38pm matty wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 3:04pm:
These leftards want to have sex with you, Matty, it’s revoltimg. Name the time and place, leftards. And bring the credit card, thanks. No glove, no love. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Karnal on Jul 26th, 2013 at 5:40pm John Smith wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 4:51pm:
Proof please, leftards. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by salad in on Jul 26th, 2013 at 7:46pm
OP's Wild One bought all 20 tickets to the Thommo soiree. Wild One, his wife, 5 kids, and a few of his neighbours (who weren't quick enough to say they had some other engagement that night) spent a very entertaining evening with Thommo. At about 10 pm the night turned into an X-rated party so the kids had to leave.
Thommo was in there as usual rooting for the worker, the down-trodden, the marginalised, and those not confident in the company of women. Thommo the hero. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 26th, 2013 at 10:00pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:55pm:
this thread is about THOMO got nothing to do with Abbott.. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 26th, 2013 at 10:06pm salad in wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 7:46pm:
I reckon they have all bought tickets they secretly admire this guy and want to know how he got away with it so long... 8-) did you know he is now telling everyone he wasnt the only one to use the credit card... he has trouble remembering it was his phone it was he that had the hotel room.and it was his driving licence.and thats just the brothels.. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D 176 charges....what a busy lad.. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by matty on Jul 26th, 2013 at 11:59pm John Smith wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 4:51pm:
Sure. As if you'd know. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by matty on Jul 27th, 2013 at 12:00am Lobo wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 5:12pm:
He's pleading guilty to the charges. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by matty on Jul 27th, 2013 at 12:02am cods wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 10:00pm:
Come on cods, you shouls know by now that dna can't post any post without mentioning Abbott. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 27th, 2013 at 1:23am cods wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 10:00pm:
That is the reason that I addressed the question (on topic) before speculating about a similar proposition. By the way which part of your post was on topic?? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by RightSadFred on Jul 27th, 2013 at 9:20am
That Abbott Abbott Abbott disease seems to be just getting worse, do you really think you have any personal credibility to destroy by your own hands ? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Alinta on Jul 27th, 2013 at 10:01am matty wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 12:00am:
Not from what I've read...you have a link to substantiate your comment????? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 27th, 2013 at 10:17am RightSadFred wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 9:20am:
Comparison of Abbott in a political context is valid at almost any current topic in Australian politics. You may not realise this as inappropriate as his performance has been but he in fact is the other option. When was the last time that you came out being not critical of Rudd and do you feel that your anti Rudd position damages your credibility. I rather think that it is the whole package which does that for you. All I said here is in relation to the topic of Why would anyone support Thommo? is that I don't understand why anyone would support Abbott either ?? I would think that my lack of understanding of the incredible would be no big deal. I do not see how me not understanding people not seeing straight through Abbott would be considered as even being critical of him. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 27th, 2013 at 10:56am Dnarever wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 1:23am:
I pulled YOU up.. for a change.. when it suits you its ok... when I bring THOMO up on other thread.. when you are desperately finding Brough guilty before he is charged.....its not ok... so in future dont have a swipe at me..or do you just like bullying cods.. when the likes of aussie and john smith. get their hypocritical tails in a knot? little gang of 3. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 27th, 2013 at 10:58am matty wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 12:02am:
I know matty a real fetish..him and skip.. got real problems I am thinking..maybe we should mention psycho in every thread....see what happens.. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D did you see psycho in yesterdays paper dressed as Gilligan from Gilligans Island.. hilarious..its a shipwreck alright. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by philperth2010 on Jul 27th, 2013 at 11:09am adelcrow wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:23pm:
My guess is he did what every other Union official has been doing for years by ripping off its members.....Thomson's problem is that he was a weak link in a minority Government and his opponents tried to use that to destabilize the ALP.....The Union movement has hired some very questionable people to run its affairs over the years and one can only guess that Thomson is the tip of the iceberg when it comes to ripping off members.....I agree with Tony Abbott that unions should be bound by the same rules as any other business with full disclosure.....Thomson is a crook IMO and I have never supported him.....He should have resigned in disgrace years ago!!! >:( >:( >:( |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 27th, 2013 at 1:17pm matty wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 12:00am:
Do you have a source for this new information? Or did red baron tell you? "Mr Thomson has vowed to vigorously defend the allegations." http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/law-order/craig-thomson-now-faces-173-fraud-related-charges-over-health-services-union-credit-cards/story-fni0fee2-1226648158213 "He has repeatedly denied using Health Services Union credit cards to pay for escorts." "Despite some media reports, I am not making any admissions." http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/in-depth/thomson-may-not-dispute-credit-card-use/story-fndsip4d-1226681895845 |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Alinta on Jul 27th, 2013 at 2:09pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 1:17pm:
Perhaps you'll have greater success than me in getting an answer.... |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 27th, 2013 at 2:18pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:57pm:
well he plans to not contest the charges so its kinda points to his guilt |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 27th, 2013 at 2:21pm philperth2010 wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 11:09am:
the AWU should be next.... what wilson got away with is another disgrace.. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 27th, 2013 at 2:25pm
Low turnout at fundraiser for Craig Thomson's legal bills
Updated Fri Jul 26, 2013 10:57am AEST Craig Thomson (up close, good generic) PHOTO: Craig Thomson says there is "money in the bank" to put towards his legal fees. (AAP: Lukas Coch) RELATED STORY: Thomson tries to stop case being moved to higher courtRELATED STORY: Thomson case to be heard by magistrate MAP: Sydney 2000 A fundraiser to help pay the legal bills of federal independent MP Craig Thomson attracted few supporters last night. Having already raised $50,000 in the lead up to the event, Thomson had high hopes for the fundraiser, which was held in the celebrity lounge of the City Tattersalls Club in Sydney. The venue had room for 200 guests, but fewer than 30 people attended. Among them was supporter Peter Wicks, who said Thomson was "innocent until proven guilty". Thomson's media advisor told the ABC that many people had donated prior to the event but were unable to attend. Money raised will go towards the independent MP's mounting legal bills as he defends 173 fraud charges arising from allegations during his time as secretary of the Health Services Union. He is accused of using his HSU credit card for prostitutes and hotels. The former Labor MP has previously said he plans to contest the federal election as an independent for the NSW seat of Dobe |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:09pm matty wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 12:00am:
He is?? "Embattled federal MP Craig Thomson has signalled for the first time he may be willing to make concessions over his alleged use of a union credit card to pay for porn and prostitutes, and his legal team has successfully argued for the case to be heard in a lower court." :) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:10pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 2:18pm:
More deliberate and blatant lies from melielongtime. Put up the link which establishes that he is not contesting the charges. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:11pm Lobo wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:09pm:
it is good to see you supporting labors criminals - people who take half a million dollars of union money and spend it on himself and hookers. Its bad enough that labor has these people in its ranks; it is worse that dopes like you support him. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:11pm Alinta wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 10:01am:
Beat me to it..... AGAIN, LOL.... ;) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:14pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 1:17pm:
Et tu, Greggery..... ;) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:19pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 2:18pm:
Can just see that in a court of law.... "Your Honour, he kinda looks guilty, so we should sorta hang him till he's kinda dead...." Good Grief!!! :D |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:23pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:11pm:
When was he convicted of taking union money and spending it on himself and hookers? Did this happen yesterday? :-/ |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:27pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:11pm:
NOT supporting anything but justice being allowed to run its course without outside interference. "Dopes", eh?? Time to get yourself out of the 'Kiddie fiction' section..... ;) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:46pm Lobo wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:19pm:
well if it is true that the plans to not contest the charges that DOES indicate the truth of the matter. Incredibly, his defence is going to be that he was authorised to spend all that money without any controls. he is going to argue that it was within union rules for him to spend money on hookers and to take cash advances of $100k etc... Either way, he is effectively admitting that he DID spend money on hookers which if parliament were still sitting could have him chucked out for lying to the house. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:50pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:23pm:
he was ARRESTED for the charges and has appeared in court more than once. You can keep making the 'he's innocent' claim all you like, but you are not standing up for 'innocent until proven guilty', but rather standing up for a labor politician. and maybe you can explain to me why a lot of people who are arrested are kept in prison BEFORE they are convicted. it's not just for community protection as most do not pose a threat. so the legal system has no problem with jailing an unconvicted person. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:51pm Lobo wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:27pm:
and if you were actually defending the principle of justice, you'd have a point. but since you are merely defending a labor politician for no other reason than he is a labor politican, there is no principle of justice involved. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:58pm Quote:
Oh, so now you misrepresent the principles concerning the granting of bail! Is their no limit of the depths of deceit to which you will plunge, melielongtime? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 4:00pm
Innocent until PROVEN guilty!!!
As opposed to.... Guilty 'because I say he is'; for political purposes... :) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 27th, 2013 at 4:11pm Aussie wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:58pm:
then explain to me how a person kept in jail PRIOR to his trial is not in jail without a conviction? Im not criticising the bail system; I am criticising the idiotic claims in a prior post. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 27th, 2013 at 4:12pm Lobo wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 4:00pm:
when I hear you say that about a Liberal charged with a serious crime, I will believe you. For now, you are merely trotting out a principle that supports your bias and therefor is not a principle at all. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 4:17pm Quote:
The only idiotic claims in prior posts are (a) Thomson is pleading guilty, (b) 'he's more or less admitted that he did do it,' (c) and that Thomson is not contesting the charges. Do you agree those are false claims? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 4:22pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 4:12pm:
Whatever floats your boat. I believe, contrary to what you would try to push as to my principles, that justice should be allowed to run its course WITHOUT any outside interference. As for YOU believing ME??? Do you really think I give a rat's ar$e?? :D |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 27th, 2013 at 5:21pm Lobo wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:09pm:
In his own words "I am not making any admissions" The Judge's words: Mr Rozencwajg said he did not regard the case as a complex one, with or without a concession that Mr Thomson had used the credit cards as alleged. Quote:
http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/in-depth/thomson-may-not-dispute-credit-card-use/story-fndsip4d-1226681895845 |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 27th, 2013 at 5:24pm Aussie wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 4:17pm:
Yes I do they are a obviously dishonest representation of the facts. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 5:31pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 5:24pm:
I'm waiting for melielongtime to answer. That'll be enlightening. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 27th, 2013 at 5:55pm Aussie wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 5:31pm:
Thomson unlikely to dispute facts of case Date July 19, 2013 Read later Joel Cresswell submit to redditEmail articlePrint Ads by Google Federal independent MP Craig Thomson is unlikely to dispute many of the facts of the fraud case against him, a court has heard. Thomson is accused of misusing credit cards on items including X-rated movies and female escorts, while he was national secretary of the Health Services Union (HSU) and a Labor MP. His lawyer Greg James QC said there was likely to be "very little" debate of the factual matters of the case. "There's not much by way of factual dispute at the moment," he told the Melbourne Magistrates Court on Friday. Advertisement But Mr James said questions would be raised over his authority to use the cards. Thomson said he was not admitting to the charges. "I am not making any admissions. But there is a threshold issue of who had authority to use the credit card, which must be heard first," he said in a statement after the court hearing. "If the Crown cannot prove its case on this issue, all other charges become null and void." |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:16pm Aussie wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 4:17pm:
I read them in an article. Their truth or not is not something any of us can really know until he actually makes his pleas. But the substance of the article was that he was going to stipulate to the facts and the charges but say that he was legally entitled to do what he did. Im not sure what is more reprehensible: that he stole the money or that it might possible be legal for him to do so under union rules. either way, stipulating to the facts does essentially mean that he admits what he is charged with is true. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:18pm Lobo wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 4:22pm:
I would not be using the Thomson case to make you point on that. The years and investigations that took place without criminal or civil actions do not make justice look good. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:20pm
We do know his plea to the charges. 'Not Guilty.'
Simple question ~~ answer it. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:20pm cods wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 5:55pm:
interesting highlighted bit. Even his lawyer said that the facts are not really in dispute. So the claims about the hookers are... TRUE. after all the years of denying them. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:25pm Quote:
None of us know what facts the QC was referring to. You have stupidly leapt to the conclusion that every thing adverse to Thomson which you've read in an 'article' has been agreed to, when in fact, you have no idea what has been (to use your TV Americanism) 'stipulated.' |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:34pm Aussie wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:25pm:
but you do of course.. ::) THOMO says he is still going to run as an independent he is still convinced he has done nothing wrong... hasnt he spent quite a bit of time trying to blame others????..yeah I think he even did that in Parliament. now they are not even going near some of the charges..so if he had a $5 coffee he will admit that.... on top of that he is begging for money.... can anyone do that?? or only pollies? I am a bit over this guy he should do the decent thing and plead guilty.. and stop this act.. I get the feeling he thinks he is entitled to preferential treatment. if he doesnt go to court before the election can he still run as a candidate? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:47pm Aussie wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:25pm:
nor do you. lawyer or not, you have no more knowledge of the facts than I do. All any of us have is these reports from which it is more than fair to conclude that Thomson does not plan in denying many if any of the facts but rather constructing a defence against them. And I don't care if 'stipulate' is a legal term here or not. In this non-legal forum it still means precisely what he is saying (or reported as saying). |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Alinta on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:47pm Aussie wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:25pm:
Exactly........though I'd be inclined to think the reference would be the fact of the credit card expenditure subject of the allegations per se would not be in dispute. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:49pm cods wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:34pm:
Im unsure about the constitutional argument re criminal convictions. I do know that if you are convicted while in office you are kicked out. but I am not sure if a person can be and MP with a criminal record from the past. Does anyone know this for sure other than opinion? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:50pm Alinta wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:47pm:
but he has denied using the card for much of the time. his credibility is in shreds as it is. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Alinta on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:58pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:50pm:
yes.......and he may well continue to do so depending on how the "authority" issue unfolds. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 7:09pm Alinta wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:47pm:
No point speculating. Fact is, we do not know, and we will not know until the Trial begins. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 7:09pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:47pm:
Then why are you getting so bombastic? Why are you trying to hang the man out to dry?? Why are you giving the impression that you think the man is as guilty as sin??? Why is everyone who disagrees with you a 'dope', or worse?? :D :D |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Alinta on Jul 27th, 2013 at 7:17pm Aussie wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 7:09pm:
Yep........hopefully I can squeeze into what I expect will be a tightly packed courtroom.... |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 7:22pm Quote:
Let's hope you can. You can report directly on the Trial! Great! |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 7:24pm Alinta wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 7:17pm:
Hope you give us 'all the goss' here first.... :) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by muso on Jul 27th, 2013 at 7:43pm
Commonwealth Crime Act Section 12. If it's a "Serious Coomnwealth Offense" or Serious State Offence that has a Federal aspect" then a person can be disqualified from holding office.
Section 15 (subsection 2 ) includes theft: Quote:
and; Quote:
Of course if found guilty (which seems unlikely given the facts) he would most likely be asked to resign or would not be considered for the seat. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 8:19pm muso wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 7:43pm:
Of course if found guilty (which seems unlikely given the facts) he would most likely be asked to resign or would not be considered for the seat. [/quote] Do you know, Muso, if someone convicted, say, 10 years ago, of a crime carrying this penalty would be eligible to be elected today? Or is the ban permanent? :) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 27th, 2013 at 8:30pm Lobo wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 7:09pm:
I hope I cleared that up for you |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 27th, 2013 at 8:54pm John Smith wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 8:30pm:
;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 27th, 2013 at 10:01pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 6:20pm:
Even his lawyer said that the facts are not really in dispute No he said that they didn't intend to dispute the facts at the moment. They have specifically stated that it does not mean that they do not dispute the other claims just that if he was entitled to use the card then the other claims are irrelevant. I don't see him winning the point but the likely results do not make it OK for people to be telling lies about what has been said. With the level of your comprehension skills I have to wonder if English is your first language? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by muso on Jul 27th, 2013 at 10:42pm Lobo wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 8:19pm:
If there was a conviction, then it would still apply. I doubt if these proceedings will result in a prosecution, however I also doubt if he will be given a chance to stand for parliament. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Sprintcyclist on Jul 27th, 2013 at 11:59pm the left would support thommo for his vote |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by RightSadFred on Jul 28th, 2013 at 7:53am muso wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 10:42pm:
muso As far as I understand the guy is bankrupt, he needs to act or be really embarrassed as his legal bill will start mounting. To win a election in what would be a marginal seat you need a credible candidate (he is far from that now) and you need a few 100k to campaign (he definitely does not have that) the guy is finished as far as I can tell unless some bleeding heart sugar daddy wants to rescue this grub. Regardless of any criminal convictions which is more about evidence, the guys defence is a sergeant Schultz defence which no one believes. It is likely that he was set up but that suggests he was incompetent at his job. For the HSU members I think they need this guy to be convicted, having more than a 100K cash being rorted through his credit card without reporting it to the police suggests he knew about it ..... that to be is clear evidence of fraud which he must of known about ..... it was his credit card with his name on it. All a corporate card means is the company is also responsible for the card. The whole idea of a corporate credit card (which I have one for my own company) is all about transparency..... mine is actually blocked from taking cash out of. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 28th, 2013 at 8:38am Sprintcyclist wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 11:59pm:
Just as the right organised this whole episode specifically to prevent his vote. It has never been about if he has done anything wrong or not at any level. The same way that the Liberals covered up for slipper for over a decade even when they didn't even need his vote. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 28th, 2013 at 8:44am
Making it Left v Right is a tad absurd DNA given your stance on this issue (and many others) seems to be based upon your dislike of the Liberal party?
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 28th, 2013 at 8:54am
the fact that this man has been under a cloud more or less as long as he has been an MP...I think makes this case different from most.
what he is accused of isnt related to his being in govt.. it was his Unions Job prior to his selection to run for the labor party.. in other words he had priors.... slipper yes not a nice piece of work I admit.. but the charges were regarding his Parliamentary ethics..and from what I know he repaid the amounts he was accused of taking.. THOMO has neither admitted or offered to repay anything..he claims he has done nothing wrong.... now I dont care if he paid for a haircut on the credit card.. he would know that is not its intention...he has by the look of this used this card over and over again for personal benefit.as if it was his own bank account.. now is he thoughtless.. or an idiot.. or just a plain old fashioned thief???? on top of that he is doin g his best to prove it was someone else that used it.. even though it had his name on it and it was his responsibility..loathsome. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 28th, 2013 at 8:56am Dnarever wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 8:38am:
I cant remember it being covered up.. slipper always was well known for dipping.. but didnt he have to pay it back???... so you cant really compare the two of them I dont think.. many in parliament have had to return funds they claimed... the thing with slipper it happened too often..lol |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 28th, 2013 at 9:00am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 8:44am:
Are you saying that it is silly for me to post a balanced opinion which happens to be true because I don't like or more specifically trust the Liberals ???? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by muso on Jul 28th, 2013 at 9:18am RightSadFred wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 7:53am:
First, there is no doubt in my mind that he's finished and lost all credibility. As for as corporate cards are concerned, it depends on the company. I have a corporate card today which is very tightly controlled. However, in a previous role back in the 90s, I had a company Amex that could be used for "entertainment". The guidelines stated that you could buy drinks "within reason", so the lines between personal use and company use were blurred. I used to travel overseas a lot and my schedule was quite hectic, so much so that I had two passports (that was an enormous rigmarole to organise), because at any given time, one passport was tied up with visa applications for a future trip. My manager told me that if I was held up in Paris for a few days, it was quite reasonable to put a few things like car hire, boat hire etc on the card, and he was the one who authorised it every month without a single complaint. Of course I never had the gall to use it for the Lido or worse :) although some did. So if Thommo was responsible for authorising his own card, I doubt very much if he'll be faced with any charges whatsoever. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 28th, 2013 at 9:21am cods wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 8:54am:
even though it had his name on it and it was his responsibility I rather think that the fact that his name impression on the slip used on the released documents was spelt wrong lends some credibility to the assertion of some type of fraud with the card may have occurred? slipper yes not a nice piece of work I admit.. but the charges were regarding his Parliamentary ethics..and from what I know he repaid the amounts he was accused of taking. No I was talking about a previous sexual abuse allegation that the Liberals had known about, covered up then went on to preselect him for a further 3 terms. Quote:
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 28th, 2013 at 9:24am muso wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 9:18am:
As an example I pay for the department Xmas night out with mine, I would get a wrap over the knuckles if it goes over $10,000 and they may take a bit out of my budget is the threat. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 28th, 2013 at 10:12am
Muso that's a really good point about corporate card expensing.
The problem for me lies in the structuring and attitude that exists in Unions and Public Sectors. I work for a listed entity which has specific, stringent ethical policies and expensing systems. I have a Corp Amex card which I use very often, mainly to refill my car and pay for flights, hotels etc. We use the Concur system of reporting - this is linked to the card itself and must be filled out every month. If a red alarm vendor appears it requires a specific and detailed reason as to why it has been used - a strip club or brothel being prime examples. Now I interviewed a guy back in May for a Controller role, he was coming out of a Union. He told me that the biggest headache for him is poor control of corporate expensing. He said they have the ability to withdraw cash on the card (the biggest no no in expense auditing given its impossible to trace how its spent) and that he has often veterans of 15 and 20 years in the Union telling him its none of his business how they spend money on their card. His union has a write off of $450,000 for unallocated expenses on their balance sheet. I can't imagine his union operates much different to the others. There is no way we as a listed entity with clear ethical guidelines could operate in that way. Until the Unions and the public sectors change their mindset of entitlement and by that nature changes its internal expensing audit systems, they will continue to attract and produce unethical corrupt people such as Mr Thomson. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 28th, 2013 at 10:12am
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 28th, 2013 at 10:32am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 10:12am:
It has been a long time since I was in the public sector but when I was there was no way you could get cash on a card and the financial control on spending was more than twice as tough as anything I have found in the private sector where abuse is rife and in a lot of areas expected with a wink. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by muso on Jul 28th, 2013 at 10:33am
What you said about Unions and corporate expenses doesn't surprise me in the least. The question is - how many other ex Union executives could be hauled over the coals for what they considered perks of the job?
Part of the problem lies with the Union culture itself, although using a Corporate Credit Card to pay for a hooker is indefensible and any normal person should know that it's wrong. That said, I'd be very surprised if this resulted in any criminal charges. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 28th, 2013 at 10:40am
The attitude is 90% of it.
Change management is the most difficult area of HRM as we are told when we are studying. I have experienced how hard that is. Seriously simple things like reorganizing the office spaces - think "How come I don't get a window desk when I have been here longer?" Etc - can cause grief to changing IT systems etc. When you add in a policy change to removing a "perk" that they've always got away with then it requires huge corporate and high level support. My issue is that they've hung Thomson out to dry - and the guy is clearly a grub - but not actually addressing any of the fundamental issues in their institutionalized expense routing of members money. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 28th, 2013 at 10:45am muso wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 10:33am:
We see a lot of pointing at unions and it is clearly wrong but any time you see a group of business people walk into a brothel do not make the mistake of thinking that they wont be using a corporate card. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 28th, 2013 at 10:55am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 10:40am:
If he is guilty which looks likely then I suspect that union management are not doing much more than emulating the business community. I have found that removing unjustifiable perks to be every easy as long as it isn't at the management level. I find that employees understand when they can not justify something but management believe they have the right to expect the unjustifiable. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by muso on Jul 28th, 2013 at 11:56am Dnarever wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 10:45am:
Standards vary, but that may be the case in some smaller businesses today. It doesn't change the fact that it's obviously wrong. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 28th, 2013 at 12:17pm
This is also very very unlikely to be the case with a listed entity.
If I spent money on a hooker on the Amex I would be dismissed immediately. And rightfully so. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 28th, 2013 at 12:25pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 10:55am:
thats what I mean about the FBT dna.. what about COMCAR.. they talked about it this morning but no mentioned comcar..why should not pollies be covered by it as well??????. management like polllies always have had special contracts...it goes with the job, thats if you want people that can do the job.. pollies..??? very questionable.. ;D ;D in most managerial positions if they stuff up and cost the company BILLIONS they get sacked there and then.. bang your gone.. unlike pollies who can hang on until some dill calls an election. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 28th, 2013 at 12:26pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 12:17pm:
likewise if you cost the company BILLIONs in waste you would also go and rightfully so! |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 28th, 2013 at 1:03pm cods wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 12:25pm:
in most managerial positions if they stuff up and cost the company BILLIONS they get sacked You would be surprised by just how rare that is, mostly they just blame someone else and then restructure to pretend it will fix the problem. They get away with it 90% of the time. Often they then base the bonus on how much of a success it really was. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 28th, 2013 at 1:30pm
You can do anything with a well timed we thought out restructure.
I've removed 3 sh1t employees over my career with a restructure. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 28th, 2013 at 2:30pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 10:01pm:
I wouldn't discuss comprehension if I were you. His lawyer said that they were unlikely to dispute the facts of the case. How is then incorrect to ssy - as I said - 'ven his lawyer said that the facts are not really in dispute.' the statements are semanticly identical. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 28th, 2013 at 2:36pm muso wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 9:18am:
he is already facing 174 criminal charges. Authorising his own credit card expenses does not therefore entitle him to make up the rules as he goes along. Sure, as you mentioned, reasonable semi-personal expenses are at times authorised by some companies but it is always in the spirit of keeping it small and keeping it at least semi-defendable. How do you defend thousands on hookers or $100,000+ in cash?? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 28th, 2013 at 2:40pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 10:45am:
that is also wrong but at the same time, if it is a privately owned company then it is no body's business as long s they don't claim it as a tax deduction. what angers me most about the Thomson affair is not so much Thomson himself but his supporters. The fact that there are people defending not so much his innocence - as that is long gone - but the right of the man to do what he has done. That is the culture that needs to be removed and it is a labor/union culture. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 28th, 2013 at 3:37pm Quote:
I added the word 'allegedly,' so I can reply. Melielongtime, show me a post by anyone who has condoned, or defended what Thomson is alleged to have done. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 28th, 2013 at 3:48pm Aussie wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 3:37pm:
were have you been? thru multiple threads labor-supporters have said that firstly he didn't do anything wrong at all and then when they were up to their necks in evidence said that it was okay for Thomson to take money out in cash advances. There wasn't a lot of actual support for the use of hookers but at the same time, little in the way of condemnation either. and now that Thomson has virtually admitted the facts of the case, where are the labor supporters condemning his use of hookers and his refutigin of it in parliament of all places? I would refer you to phil-perth who while he may be a rabid labor supporter at least has the ethics to condemn Thomson as a grub. Most of the rest of you have made excuses for him. and that is why labor has been home to so many serial sex offenders, corrupt politicians and thieves. BECAUSE THE CULTURE MAKES ALLOWANCES FOR IT. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 28th, 2013 at 4:15pm Quote:
Right here, and I have read most of what has been posted about Thomson. Quote:
Goodo......post some links to these multiple occasions. Quote:
Was there any support, or not a lot of actual support. If there was some non actual support, show us where we can find it. Quote:
Here you go again. Blatant lie. None of us know what facts have been signalled as not in dispute, and we will not know until that becomes apparent at the Trial. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 28th, 2013 at 4:19pm Aussie wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 3:37pm:
be honest aussie.. some on here have given this man a lot of benefit of the doubt.. this case goes right back to 2007..he had the exPM support for a loooooog time. he had the support of the ALP paying his legal bills.he was even given his chance in Parliament. some on here have said it wasnt him it was Jackson in fact they have more than accused Jackson.they have c&p the vilest things about her...all to make this man look like butter wouldnt melt..... even the spelling of his name in a photocopy.. which as far as I am aware no one accept photo copies of anything as proof.. yet we have been bombarded with all that.as well you would know.. no one knows if he is innocent or guilty we can only go on what is in the public arena.. but after his appearance in Parliament I know what I believe.. and the test for him will be if he does run in Dobell and we shall how many people believe he is innocent.. wont we.. thats where it really counts.. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by scope on Jul 28th, 2013 at 7:17pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 2:30pm:
Once again LW you show poor form in regards to comprehension , you missed this part of the statement by the lawyer. "There's not much by way of factual dispute at the moment," he told the Melbourne Magistrates Court on Friday. Can you understand Aussies point now? "the statements are semanticly identical" Not when you consider all of the statement there not. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 28th, 2013 at 7:23pm scope wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 7:17pm:
]"There's not much by way of factual dispute at the moment," must mean something different to you than most others. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 28th, 2013 at 7:33pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 2:30pm:
as I said - 'ven his lawyer said that the facts are not really in dispute.' Thomson the Lawyer and the Judge have all acknowledged that there is no admission to the card usage, Misrepresenting part of the text is dishonest, I point to your comprehension which repeatedly shows a weakness partially in an attempt to defend your honesty. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 28th, 2013 at 7:37pm
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 28th, 2013 at 7:42pm cods wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 4:19pm:
some on here have said it wasnt him it was Jackson To my knowledge nobody said that it was Jackson though it looks like Jackson was doing the same type of things and has taken action to protect herself by throwing others into the shite. It is also known that Jackson was sleeping with the 2IC of the group doing the investigation that cleared her and found against Thomson and that she delivered a lot of the evidence to the investigation which took a long time in transit leaving the probability that not all the evidence against her made it to the investigation. She also had access to the progress of the investigation. All improper and all tainting the outcome. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 28th, 2013 at 7:49pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 7:33pm:
you are facing 174 charges. you say that you do not disagree with the facts but then say you don't admit to using the card which is the subject of all 174 charges??? exactly what facts is he agreeing with if he is not agreeing to the facts in the charges?? I find this to be a curiously circular argument. And so I ask you and aussie... wen he says he is not disputing the facts of the charges then what the hell is he no disputing? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 28th, 2013 at 7:51pm
There were people on here happy that Thomson would get away with it and stay in parliament just to stop Tony Abbott winning a no confidence vote.
There seems some very light morality these days. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 28th, 2013 at 7:55pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 7:23pm:
You could interpret this the way you have if it were not for the rest of the points made but when all parties have openly stated that your interpretation is incorrect and that there is in fact no admission I think you should accept the fact that you are wrong. The Judge said you are wrong, Thomson said you are wrong and the Lawyer said you are wrong - get it ??? On the Thomson side it means that there is no point starting by talking about or arguing on what the money was spent on if the right to spend it anyway existed. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 28th, 2013 at 7:57pm Quote:
I think you have made a break-through, by accident. As I have been trying to tell you, no-one (outside the parties) knows what facts have been agreed, and your problem is that you are over-reading what has been said by the Lawyer. He did not say "he is not disputing the facts of/in the charges," he said that (a) of some facts we (that's us) cannot identify, (b) there is likely to be little dispute. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 28th, 2013 at 8:03pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 7:51pm:
The only reason that Thomson was perused so relentlessly was for that same vote. Williamson was not perused with the same vigour and neither was Jackson etc. Whether Thomson is guilty or not the exercise has been a political witch hunt from the beginning. Had he been out in the community there would have been no real fuss at all, that is a fact while it may reflect poorly on the community it is still true. just to stop Tony Abbott Very important for Australia to stop the TAbbott danger. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:01am Dnarever wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 8:03pm:
I dispute that dna.. THOMO put himself out there to be voted in as an MP.... Williamson and Jackson did not.. dont you think we have every right to believe anyone that is an MP.. is at the least HONEST and above BEING DRAGGED THROUGH THE COURTS FOR STEALING. you seem to believe that being a member of parliament should give him or anyone I guess special treatment.. I dont happen to believe that in fact I expect Better if not MORE from our members and I dont care which side they are on.. maybe its time you started expecting more instead of always finding and excuse for their behavior... if he had been in the private sector... even a copper he would have been suspended from day one.... sorry if its a crime to expect more from our parliamentarians.. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:24am longweekend58 wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:50pm:
Being arrested, and subsequently appearing in court, is not the same as being convicted of a crime. Here, this may help you: http://www.dfat.gov.au/facts/legal_system.html |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:28am
You may want to explain that to the fools on here who continue to bring up the accusation on Tony Abbott.
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Verge on Jul 29th, 2013 at 10:44am
I think Thommo is a slime bag.
Has anyone stopped and thought about what kind of deals may have been sealed because Thommo bought them a root? For all we know Thommo's drinks and hookers could have sealed a substantial amount of funding for the Union. Please dont carry on like this doesnt happen anywhere else. How many other big business deals have been settled over a lap dance? Try walking into a strippers on Friday or Saturday night in Pitt St Sydney, its full of suits and ties. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 29th, 2013 at 12:16pm Verge wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 10:44am:
thats right just ask rudd.. and Macdonald. and Obeid.. they all like hookers.and strip clubs. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 29th, 2013 at 12:37pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 3:50pm:
Are you saying that the poor bugger is on par with Tony Abbott ??? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 29th, 2013 at 12:39pm cods wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 12:16pm:
Why not ask the Guy who was renowned for organising the best Blue nights at Parlament house ??? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 29th, 2013 at 1:04pm cods wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:01am:
and there you have it Cods, albeit by accident, but you've finally gotten something right. Despite the fact that, from the looks of it, Thommo, Williamson And Jackson have all appeared to have been drinking from the same trough, the only one you care about is Thommo. Does the fact that Jackson and Williamson appear to have been guilty of the same thing not matter? Why? Is it because they can't help abbot win government. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 29th, 2013 at 1:13pm Verge wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 10:44am:
That proves what???? I don't think I have been in to Rhinos and Bar 20 not wearing a suit and I am yet to put a single thing on my corp card. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Verge on Jul 29th, 2013 at 1:20pm
You aren't far enough up the pecking order andre
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jul 29th, 2013 at 1:21pm
It's against corp policy.
I have been in there with a guy who sits on the SLT - and we're one of the 10 biggest companies in the world. That's pretty pecking order. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Verge on Jul 29th, 2013 at 2:03pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 1:21pm:
My brother was at a function last week attended by some big powerbrokers in the labor party. That doesnt make him the PM now does it? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 29th, 2013 at 2:46pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 10:12am:
Of course..... And if I said I had the same experience with someone from one of the large corporate associations you would be very quick to say I was having a lend of you. :) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Verge on Jul 29th, 2013 at 2:59pm Lobo wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 2:46pm:
Andre's comments about public service are rather amusing, considering their "sense of entitlement over spending" is overly stringent, to the point that it creates inefficiencies. Try booking up a hamburger you dont have approval for on a public servants account and see how quick you get a foot in the backside, and in regards to things like "kick backs", do that once and see how quickly they expose you as well. My wife worked in Local Government and found paper trails excessive and inefficient, abiet necessary for duty of disclosure. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 29th, 2013 at 3:10pm Quote:
Andi's comments on a lot of things are amusing.... Especially his moderty in relation to himself. :D |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by life_goes_on on Jul 29th, 2013 at 3:35pm
Thommo was just an ordinary man doing his best to live the dream. A dream of many ordinary men.
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Verge on Jul 29th, 2013 at 4:36pm Life_goes_on wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 3:35pm:
He was merely facilitating "tits out for the boys" |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 29th, 2013 at 5:22pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 12:39pm:
WAS THAT YOU!!!!!!??? HILARIOUS.it must have been NSWInc.. ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 29th, 2013 at 5:37pm Aussie wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 7:57pm:
except for the word 'some' which he didn't use. anyhow, you watch when he goes to trial and essentially admits the truth of the charges but claims that he was entitled to spend the money. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 29th, 2013 at 5:37pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 28th, 2013 at 8:03pm:
yeah... bugger that whole democracy thing! |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 29th, 2013 at 5:40pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:24am:
wow... I never knew that!!! the point was that he has been investigated several times and now facing both civil and criminal charges. That hardly amounts to the smell of innocence and integrity, does it. plenty of politicians and senior employees in large companies have stepped aside once charged with such things as a matter of honesty and integrity and come back once the charges were defeated. but no thommo. but always good to see you lot defending such behaviour. it explains so much. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 29th, 2013 at 5:50pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 5:37pm:
I was just thinking longy if the libs were in govt and mid stream they changed the leader so everyone had a new PM who was busy running round changing things and doing god only knows what in haste>??? without any mandate whatever.. do you think our friends from the left would be screaming by now for an election? or would that not be democracy labor style |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 29th, 2013 at 5:52pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 5:37pm:
What has the liberals doing anything they can to circumvent Democracy got to do with it ? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 29th, 2013 at 5:55pm cods wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 5:50pm:
You don't remember when Howard promised to hand over to Costello mid term? Think it would have been a sensible change? They should have done it and no problem from me at all. I would have liked to see how he would have been in the top job. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 29th, 2013 at 7:35pm John Smith wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 1:04pm:
there is a HIGHER standard for MPs. I don't know why you don't know that. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 29th, 2013 at 7:36pm Verge wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 2:03pm:
that makes him guilty by association of a number of things then! |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 29th, 2013 at 7:39pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 5:52pm:
you do know that politics is an ADVERSARIAL contest, right??? bringing down the government is quite fair since the constitution provides the capability to do so. Do you think for a moment that if The indies had sided with abbott that Gillard would hesitate to attempt to bring him down?? of course not. actually, that is the job of the opposition leader. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 29th, 2013 at 7:41pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 5:55pm:
I liked Costello too but howard's position was that if he was unwilling to fight for the job then he didn't have what it took to survive in it. and given that as soon as the Libs lost govt he turned around a quit pretty much proves the assertion. The job of leader was his on a plate and he knocked it back. good chance he would be PM now instead of Rudd and looking for his second term. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 29th, 2013 at 8:26pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 7:35pm:
what a pathetic excuse ...what sort of higher standard do you set for Abbott? not just an MP, but the leader of the liberals and the man most likely to be our next PM ..... do you hold his abusing the system and taxpayers of $9000 to a higher standard? Don't you think he should be held to the highest standard, second only to the PM? besides, Thommo wasn't a MP at the time of the alleged incidents. Admit it dopey, if Abbott was in govt. it would have barely got a mention |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Verge on Jul 29th, 2013 at 8:27pm
The job of an opposition is to hold the govermemt to account, represent their constituents and to provide a viable alternative.
It is not to dismantle a sitting government with sleaze and innuendo, nor miss represent the true position of the economy. How many times did they attempt to suspend standing orders? Abbots junk yard dog routine has gone on long enough and has done nothing to portray our leaders to a positive light. I hope we get another hung parliament to teach the barstards a lesson that if they want to play the man and not the ball we will elect neither of them again. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by life_goes_on on Jul 29th, 2013 at 8:31pm
Thommo: The archetypal loveable Aussie larrikin.
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 29th, 2013 at 8:49pm Verge wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 8:27pm:
Be an interesting scenario if we had a House full of Independents... Actually 'scarey' is more the word. Wonder if we could start a "Neither Liberal, Nor Labor Party"? ;) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by # on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:00pm Verge wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 8:27pm:
Agreed; another hung parliament is the most just outcome. The question is, will they ever learn? By electing Abbott as leader, the Liberals have shown that they've learned nothing from their time in opposition. Labor, I think, suffered from Gillard's success in negotiating government. Maybe political parties should be banned. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by muso on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:02pm Lobo wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 8:49pm:
Please Explain ;D |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:15pm muso wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:02pm:
The NLNL Party. Would pick up all those disenchanted voters from both sides. Could be a winner... :) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:32pm Lobo wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:15pm:
who would you preference? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:40pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 7:41pm:
howard's position was that if he was unwilling to fight for the job then he didn't have what it took to survive in it What a load of rubbish - Howard power hungry position was that if he could get and then keep the job then his word meant very little. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:42pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 7:35pm:
Yes if you are not an MP you are allowed to steal and the laws don't matter. But of course if you are a Liberal MP then the laws don't matter anyway. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:50pm John Smith wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:32pm:
Being a 'Neither/Nor' party we would "internalise" our preferences. We could call them Echo Preferences, as in bounce them back and forth. If we 'internalise' them enough, we could end up with more votes than voters.... As that meerkat says in the ads.... "Ssimple!" :) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by buzzanddidj on Jul 30th, 2013 at 8:41am adelcrow wrote on Jul 26th, 2013 at 12:23pm:
I would neither SUPPORT - nor CONDEMN - Craig Thomson, for the same reasons I neither SUPPORTED - nor CONDEMNED - Lindy Chamberlain SOMETIMES, I feel, I stand alone, in having less faith in POLITICS and the MEDIA - than I do in our JUSTICE SYSTEM |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 30th, 2013 at 8:56am longweekend58 wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 5:40pm:
Well, now you do know that. Also, being "investigated several times and now facing both civil and criminal charges" is not the same as being convicted of a crime. And finally, I'm not "defending such behaviour". Quite the opposite: if he's found guilty on these charges he should have the book thrown at him. No sympathy at all. So far though, no conviction. We'll all wait and see. Unless, of course, you'd rather just do away with our court system. ::) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:29am buzzanddidj wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 8:41am:
YOU ARE SUCH A VISIONARY ;D funny how you seemed to support the labor party through thick and thin not that long ago?????. all things Labor were A.OK even pinkbatts.. less fires in roofs remember?? when it comes to loss of faith.. for me the Justice system hits the top 10.. now an Anita Cobby murderer looks to being out on parole... whats with giving people found guilty of murder parole??????.. do they of all people deserve a reward????? >:( |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:39am Life_goes_on wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 8:31pm:
LABOR LARRIKIN if you dont mind.... THE 42 faceless men and women in charge of the disgraced NSW Labor Party will be sacked by the end of the year. All new officials on the ruling body will be limited to serving two years, in a bid to stamp out factional control of the party. A secret report to be handed to the Prime Minister and the ALP's national executive today has confirmed a new administrative committee will be elected to run the NSW branch in a bid to break union control. The findings of the controversial report are expected to be enforced by the national executive ahead of the damning report into NSW Labor corruption to be handed down by ICAC tomorrow. A copy of the report, obtained by The Daily Telegraph, confirms the NSW rules committee has adopted all recommendations demanded by Mr Rudd, including banning property developers becoming ALP MPs. hilarious.. too little too late I would think espec ially for those farmers that were robbed blind.. the enemy within! hope he is watching his back. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:42am Verge wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 8:27pm:
charming!!!.. maybe then you would see how frustrating it is to spend 6 year without once getting an answer from the govt in parliament.. if you watched QT you would b e well aware the only questions they ever answered were from their own side... so yes you may get your wish of a LESSON. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:44am cods wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:29am:
are you able to comment on ANY topic without going on a rant about the pink batts? Stick to topic ... Thommo has NOT being found guilty of anything yet, and until such a time he deserves the presumption of innocence. Start changing the rules to suit your political agenda and we risk destroying our whole way of life. The system may not be perfect, but it's the best one we've got. If you don't like it, come up with a better system. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:46am John Smith wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 8:26pm:
A) Thommo was still using his union credit card when he was an MP. I cant wait to see how you excuse that. B) Abbotts repayment was similar to many other MPs who have been asked to repay amounts that didn't fall within the guidelines. it is actually pretty common experience. There is a difference between missing a guideline and blatantly rorting a system. or have you not realised that even labor hasn't made a big issue out of it either?? perhaps because half the front bench has had similar experience? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:46am cods wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:42am:
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:48am Dnarever wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 5:55pm:
my memory tells me it was more just before an election announcement.. and yes I agree he should have done it..Peter may have been good we will never know. at least we know we can never have a worse PM. than what we have experienced...brutus would have been proud. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:48am longweekend58 wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:46am:
A) I don't excuse anything you fvcken moron. Do you believe in trial by media longy? B) It was Abbott who was pushing for slipper to be charged for falsely claiming $750 ..... don't move the goal posts just because your idiol has now been caught |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:49am John Smith wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:44am:
:P |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:49am Verge wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 8:27pm:
oh please... do you spend your days watching Play School? You are behaving as if every labor opposition has not done exactly the same thing and worse. When you talk about the Libs misrepresenting the state of the economy you fail to state that Labor - IN GOVT - has done just that and far worse. How can a budget go from small surplus to massive deficit in a couple months without deliberate misrepresentation? But mostly, I am amused and disappointed that you seme to understand little of the true nature of politics which is and has always been... A FIGHT. You must hate our legal system too. it is essentially the same thing. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:50am Lobo wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 8:49pm:
a group of independents is a party - a POLITICAL PARTY. that is the problem with the rather naďve suggestion that parties be banned. people gather into groups naturally and in politics do exactly the same thing. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:52am Dnarever wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:40pm:
and Hawke/Keating, Rudd/Gillard and Gillard/Rudd were what exactly?? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:53am Dnarever wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 9:42pm:
Why is it as soon as you start taking of HIGHER STANDARDS or PRINCIPLES labor supports suddenly seem unable to understand the argument. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:59am greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 8:56am:
If this were a court of law you would have a point. But last time I looked, it was an OPINION forum where people are permitted and encouraged to hold an opinion on the basis of what they have seen and heard. Thommo is scum. and just for a matter of philosophy. Thommos guilt or innocence is actually not determined by a court of law. he is one or the other regardless of what happens. The court merely makes its own determination and then proceeds to punishment or not based on that. it does not however mean that a court declaring a person innocent actually makes them innocent. That might be more philosophical rather than practical, but it is true nonetheless. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 30th, 2013 at 10:01am cods wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:29am:
You would do well to research what parole is actually for. it is in part a reward for good behaviour and in part a start of the process of reintegration into society. He has nearly paid the price for his crime. Unless we are willing to keep all criminals locked up permanently, then parole is going to be a big part of the justice system |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 30th, 2013 at 10:02am
longy some idiots on here think this is the media.. and by some quirk we have POWER on trials.. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
do you think they are up themselves? maybe they see themselves as being more important/ influential than they ever dreamed??? hilarious..shows how thick some are. I am still waiting for a lefty to come up with a plausible reason for him to found not guilty of 174 charges...or whatever amount he is contesting... instead of just banging on about.. innocent until as we keep pointing out the man is an MP we are still paying him.. we are entitled??? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 30th, 2013 at 10:04am John Smith wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:48am:
it would be easier to debate with you if you understood the substance of the argument. ask yourself the question as to why the police investigated and charged Slipper while they have not charged anyone of the dozens asked to make repayments in allowances in the last few years??? Could perhaps the reason be one of INTENT?? Try and think about it. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 30th, 2013 at 10:10am longweekend58 wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:59am:
Yes, I'm sure you form many opinions based on your observations of the Bolt Report and Channel 7 "News". Thankfully, that's where you and I differ. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 30th, 2013 at 10:12am Quote:
Melielongtime, the person who has no idea is you, and the biggest giggle is that it seems you have no idea that you have no idea. Slipper was charged and Abbott has not been charged, not because of intent, but because someone referred Slipper's matter by way of complaint to the AFP! *Click on the words 'someone referred Slipper's matter by way of complaint to the AFP.'* |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Verge on Jul 30th, 2013 at 10:12am longweekend58 wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:49am:
You see this is the difference between you and I. You accept the behaviour because you like to point at the other side and say "but they did it too". I was thinking you you might be a bit more visionary and expect our pollies to make themselves more accountable and to behaviour in a manner which they are elected to be - leaders. I dont accept poor form because the others guys did it too. It is never an excuse, and by condoning it you are giving them a green tick to be dishonest as long as the end justifies the means. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by buzzanddidj on Jul 30th, 2013 at 10:34am cods wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:29am:
Can't you ( ... or Tony Abbott) pronounce or SPELL ceil·ing in·su·la·tion ? ( ... though thank-you for your observations. I try my BEST to remain "JUST") buzzanddidj wrote on Jul 27th, 2013 at 8:55pm:
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 30th, 2013 at 11:26am greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 10:10am:
how about you tell us righties where we should get our information from??.. where do you get yours..??????..not the same webs as wiseone I trust?...hehehehehe.. people do have the right to form which ever opinion they like.. yours are just as prejudiced as anyone elses on here... forums are for swapping information..it isnt perfect and if you are looking for that I guess you have chosen the wrong place. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 30th, 2013 at 11:32am Aussie wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 10:12am:
slipper has been lodging false cabchgs and handing out blank cabchgs for a long time aussie..it is usually the same thing he has been done for in the past... just a different tacktic.. abbott I believe was a one off..as were other MPs who have had to return wrongly claimed exps...whether slipper was dobbed in or not is neither here nor there..he also had a petition from his constituents regarding his questionable travel.. when he was on our side only.. he was the worst of the worst..now all of a sudden.. he is St Peter... only for some dobber... who has no right to dob this poor man in.. you dont like being called the BUSH LAWYER how about you stop calling others names.. btw I think you will find slippper would have only ever been caught when someone dobbed him in,.the man is a sleaze just like THOMO....as long as someone else is paying they dont give a sh!t. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 30th, 2013 at 11:34am buzzanddidj wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 10:34am:
I WILL REMEMBER WHEN I AM NOT DEALING WITH AN UTTER PIG. in the meantime.>pINKBATTS PINKBATTS PINKBATTS PINKBATTS SHOVE IT.. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by buzzanddidj on Jul 30th, 2013 at 11:56am longweekend58 wrote on Jul 29th, 2013 at 5:37pm:
Where was that whole "democracy thing" in December, 2008 - when the allegations first went on the public record ? No-one had HEARD of him - prior to the current hung parliament |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 30th, 2013 at 12:34pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 10:04am:
chopping and changing longy, chopping and changing ... that's all you are doing ... when you don't like the argument at hand you look for another tangent. Police charged Slipper because of the political pressure on them. A parliamentary committee decided they wouldn't accept a refund and they wanted to prosecute. Why? Because of pressure from the libs. Gillard was coping so much flak because of Slipper that labor decided to give the libs their way. Why isn't the same pressure put on a parliamentary committee regarding Abbott? because there is no way any lib in the committee would ever agree to it. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 30th, 2013 at 12:38pm cods wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 11:26am:
As far as determining guilt or innocence there is only one place any information can come from .... a court of law. Bolt is not a substitute. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 30th, 2013 at 12:46pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 10:04am:
No they all have the same intent even Abbott - to not pay ?? Something for free ??? If you compare Abbott as an example then you clearly see that the intent is the same. Paying for a trip to the winery or paying for a book tour. Paying for taxi fares or paying to attend iron man or cycling events. They both knew what they were doing - the intent is the same. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 30th, 2013 at 12:51pm cods wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 11:32am:
abbott I believe was a one off Which one off would that be - the comm cars the air faires the expenses to attend surf and cycle events they checked? Looks probable that he was getting away with it for years or decades and yet he was in the front of the line throwing rocks at Slipper. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 30th, 2013 at 12:52pm John Smith wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 12:38pm:
Wash your mouth out with soap. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by buzzanddidj on Jul 30th, 2013 at 12:54pm cods wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 11:34am:
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 30th, 2013 at 1:01pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:53am:
There are hundreds of examples which show that you are only interested in applying higher standards to those you oppose. Mr Abbott can be accused of multiple assults and bullying, telling all sorts of lies, setting up slush funds involved in dubious political set ups etc and all is good, no need for any standards what so ever. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 30th, 2013 at 1:20pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 12:51pm:
can you link that up for dna.. I must admit I havent read it.. I thought the $9000 was a one off...but if it was decades then I think we should all be aware of it and not just the few dont you?.. I will give the benefit of the doubt to a first even a second but after that????.. so when did he start and has he stopped??.. thank you. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 30th, 2013 at 1:30pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 12:54pm:
HUMMM i HAVE ONLY BEEN GUESSING WHAT YOU LOOK LIKE... NOW i KNOW FOR SURE. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 30th, 2013 at 1:31pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 1:01pm:
AND YOU OF ALL PEOPLE DONT DO THE SAME...OMG pot calling kettle.. ::) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 30th, 2013 at 1:42pm cods wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 11:26am:
Calling someone a "criminal" when they haven't been convicted of a crime isn't an opinion: it's a lie. I wouldn't expect you, of all people, to understand that though. http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1374805406/47#47 |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 30th, 2013 at 1:58pm Quote:
Yet you have trouble coming to grips with 'innocent until proven guilty'. :D |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by buzzanddidj on Jul 30th, 2013 at 2:05pm cods wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 1:30pm:
... and BOTH adorable |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 30th, 2013 at 2:06pm Lobo wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 1:58pm:
His and cods' "opinion" is good enough, apparently. No need for courts, or juries, or magistrates, or judges. If you're investigated and arrested by the police, you're guilty. No questions asked. I wonder if they're happy with police officers doing the sentencing as well? :-/ |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 30th, 2013 at 2:12pm
Cods, a couple of days ago I posted that concerning you, 'I give up.' You never read, you never listen you just prattle your own rubbish and add...."LOL."
Amazingly, the link you seek is in a post of mine ^^^ which YOU quoted, but I'll post it again for......you. This time, please read the whole thing including the many links within the article, one of which details his rorts while doing his 'volunteer' work. Here is the link. *Click on the word in red ~ link* |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Verge on Jul 30th, 2013 at 2:22pm
While it is a noble concept of innocent before guilty, I also think that there needs to be certain things happen while the judicial process runs its course.
I think once a person is charged with a serious offence, they should set aside from their position, note step aside, not resign, while the process runs its course. After a verdict then the person may either return or resign depending on the outcome. If you are to maintain any amount of intergrity in our nations leaders we need to ensure that they carry on in a manner fitting of the position they hold, one being of trust, intergrity and being seen to do the right thing. We dont need pollies from opposite sides of the house throwing mud every chance they can because someone is determined to carry on in their positions after charges have been laid, nor is it a good look. I have no issue with people standing down on full pay while the process does what it needs to. This is the case in many other professions and one that should happen in our political system. I think the person should be granted an automatic pair during the leave of absence to prevent actions like that of the coalition getting grubby with Ashby to use it to unsettle a majority in the house. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 30th, 2013 at 2:31pm Verge wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 2:22pm:
How does an elected politician stand aside and still do his job as an elected representative? I disagree with your concept Verge. The Constitution sets out the circumstances in which a politician is disqualified, and the Ashby case demonstrates exactly why we ought follow the Constitution. People like Abbott will do anything to hunt down a political opponent (Pauline H.) and Ashby has shown us exactly how the judiciual process can be manipulated/abused to embarrass. What about Utegate? Should Rudd have stood down? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 30th, 2013 at 2:31pm
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Verge on Jul 30th, 2013 at 2:36pm Aussie wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 2:31pm:
I made it quite clear people should stand down once charged. I dont think people like Thommo can represent their electorate while once charged anyway, as proven with Thommo. By continuing to show up day after day all it does it further agrivate the situation and go to further poison the public and allow people like abbott to continue to throw mud. I dont think they can be active representatives while things like this are going on, and by allowing a pair it places the oppositions at no advantage anyway. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 30th, 2013 at 2:48pm Quote:
I can easliy see your point, but it fails to take into account that politicians like Abbott will do anything to be in Government. Windsor will attest to that. What if Gretch had not been found out early as an idiot, Rudd would have been charged, and your concept has him stand down. Yes, I know you want a pair in that circumstance, but that hardly compensates for the damage done against Rudd (by stepping down) politically, even though he was 100% innocent of any wrong doing. Nah, we'll have to go with what we've got (the Constitution) in an imperfect world where power at any cost is the name of the game. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Verge on Jul 30th, 2013 at 2:53pm Aussie wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 2:48pm:
I think we will need to agree to disagree. There is one way we could remove these sorts of actions of accusations at any cost without consequences. Remove parlimentary priviledge. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 30th, 2013 at 3:48pm cods wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 1:31pm:
Pot replying to Black kettles |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 30th, 2013 at 4:08pm cods wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 1:20pm:
That was the point the 10,000 was a one off with several different one off components but the cycle events etc were obviously different one off's of his personal costs put on the public account. http://www.finance.gov.au/publications/parliamentarians-reporting/docs/T28/ABBOTT_Tony.pdf Cycling from Gold Coast to Sydney Allowances. $345 a day. 01 Apr 11 01 Apr 11 Gold Coast Office Holder - Official Business 1 $345.00 $345.00 02 Apr 11 02 Apr 11 Kyogle Office Holder - Official Business 1 $345.00 $345.00 03 Apr 11 03 Apr 11 Grafton Office Holder - Official Business 1 $115.00 $115.00 04 Apr 11 04 Apr 11 Dorrigo Office Holder - Official Business 1 $345.00 $345.00 05 Apr 11 05 Apr 11 Armidale Office Holder - Official Business 1 $345.00 $345.00 06 Apr 11 06 Apr 11 Walcha Office Holder - Official Business 1 $345.00 $345.00 07 Apr 11 07 Apr 11 Gloucester Office Holder - Official Business 1 $345.00 $345.00 08 Apr 11 08 Apr 11 Cessnock Office Holder - Official Business 1 $345.00 $345.00 09 Apr 11 09 Apr 11 Ettalong Beach Office Holder - Official Business 1 $345.00 $345.00 |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 30th, 2013 at 4:10pm Verge wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 2:53pm:
We have seen a mountain of vexacious attacks and attempts to have people charged as it is, Wonder if something like this would only make it worse? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 30th, 2013 at 4:15pm Quote:
That takes it up to Strike 4, just on his 'Pollie Pedal', Cods, and it is only one of the matters referred to in that link I gave you. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:00pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 10:10am:
presumptuous little turd. I don't watch TV news at all and have never watched Bolt. I know it confuses you left-wingers but there are people who form their opinions based on a variety of information and are capable of disagreeing with you. if you want to debate on facts and figures etc =go right ahead. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:02pm Aussie wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 10:12am:
and you think that a mere referral by labor to the AFP would result in abbott being charged?? if it were that bleeding easy, do you not think it would have happened? you must have been a pretty lousy lawyer based on your understanding on here. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:06pm Verge wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 10:12am:
you are a different person than before you left. now you seem to adopts positions that re either black or white - a bit like a well written greens-lose. Politics is never going to be a gentlemans game any more than courts area going to be so. they are adversarial in DESIGN - not simply nature. An opposition leader that does not oppose and criticise will merely fail and let the govt get away with anything and everything. how am I supposed to debate to any value with you when you simply change your opinions to suit the argument? are you Rudd? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:08pm buzzanddidj wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 11:56am:
Labor were informed PRIOR to 2007 to dump him because of the allegations. but they declined. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:09pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:02pm:
Yeah, I was lousy....for 33 years. When I retired, I was an expert on lousy. And guess what? I agree with you that the explanation given to distinguish between Slipper charged and Abbott not charged makes no logical sense......but it is what happened. Both allegedly rorted (with intent) their entitlements, yet only one is charged. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:12pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 12:46pm:
are you stupid or something? the 'intent' is to get a legitimate expense reimbursed. just as in most companies and every parliament, these expenses are sometimes rejected. Not Crimes. Slipper however was a different situation where as the court has bene told he repeatedly and deliberately used items which he KNEW he was not entitled to. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:14pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 1:01pm:
accused. read and understand. not even a prima facie case made for them |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:15pm
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Verge on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:16pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:06pm:
My opinions have changed as Ive become tired of our political system being reduced to a rabble by people with no sense of decency, honor and respect. I find it embarrassing to watch the going-ons of the house, the type of drama driven language and the finger pointing going on by all and think they are leaders? I dont accept from my daughter that she hit her sister because she hit her first, I dont accept poor behaviour from my staff who justify it by saying that someone else did it too and I sure as hell am not going to accept it from those who are elected to represent us. What ever happened to a bit of common decency and respect? What happened to integrity & honesty? Sooner or later you have to say enough is enough. Why do you think we ended up with a hung parliament in the first place? People are sick to death of the carrying on's in Canberra. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:16pm Lobo wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 1:58pm:
I understand it perfectly. it is you laborites and your endless accusations against abbott that fail that test. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:18pm Dnarever wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 4:08pm:
thats very interesting I didnt know we could perve on their expenses.. what a wonderful idea.. it says OFficial business...I guess it wasnt?? is that what they are saying?....anyway its good to know we can check them out isnt it???. boy you are sneaky? ;D |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:19pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:00pm:
Fact: Thompson has not been convicted of any of the 173 fraud-related charges. Your opinion is not sufficient to deem him a "criminal". Sorry. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:22pm Quote:
Excellent post. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:24pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:16pm:
fancy you arguing with our resident bush lawyer longy he knows everything I thought you would have known that..not only that if he says dont talk about anyone that isnt mentioned in the OP.. then he means it... so no mention of Abbott on a THOMO thread... get it? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:24pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:12pm:
are you stupid or something? Ditto - unbelievable You really think that Abbott is so stupid that he does not realise that a book tour and cycling are not legitimate government costs, You really think it is an accident ???? the court has bene told he repeatedly and deliberately used items which he KNEW he was not entitled to Look at Abbotts record on this - it is the same. He repeatedly and deliberately made claims which he KNEW he was not entitled to. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:36pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:16pm:
moron ... you're not just making accusations, you've even found him guilty. All rise for his honour, Longstupidone |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:30pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:14pm:
You went feral demanding that Slipper stand down over allowance rorts now we find that Abbott had been doing the same thing and you defend him. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 31st, 2013 at 9:40am Verge wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 2:22pm:
I agree with you. The trouble is that this 'stepping aside' is voluntary and therefore requires integrity int he person charged to act accordingly. unfortunately, this integrity is usually being demanded of people who don't have that integrity. Even Thommo didn't resign from his parliamentary positions but has to be sacked, |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 31st, 2013 at 9:44am Aussie wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 2:48pm:
you miss the concept of integrity. if Rudd has actually been charged then yes, he should step down but it never got anywhere near that and never was going to. nevile Wran stepped down when he was accused of serious wrong-doing and once cleared, came back. it was an act of integrity. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 31st, 2013 at 9:48am Aussie wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:09pm:
you were really a lousy lawyer if you think 'intent' is as trivial as you make it out to be. Just as lying doesn't means saying things that are false but you believe them to be true, 'defrauding' doesn't mean claiming an entitlement you believe you are entitled to but subsequently shown not to be. it would be trivial to torpedo that argument you make. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 31st, 2013 at 9:50am Dnarever wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:30pm:
deliberate, repeated defrauding versus mistaken claims (as dne by half the MPs int he house) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 31st, 2013 at 9:58am Quote:
I have not made an 'argument' at all. I have stated some facts. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 31st, 2013 at 10:06am longweekend58 wrote on Jul 31st, 2013 at 9:50am:
are you saying Abbott didn't deliberately claim expenses repeatedly? How do you accidently claim money? I've heard of accidently spending money, easy, hit a wrong digit or opt in on something by mistake, but to say he accidently claimed money is ridiculous, claiming money usually requires forms to fill out. Unlikely. And for arguments sake, lets pretend he 'accidently 'did claim the money, do you really want someone that stupid as your PM? As for your excuse about it being done by half the MP's, I agree, and it has to stop ... lets start with Abbott. I think it's been shown beyond a shadow of a doubt that Abbotts claims were repeatedly, and not just a one off, so there goes that part of your EXCUSES. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by philperth2010 on Jul 31st, 2013 at 10:19am John Smith wrote on Jul 31st, 2013 at 10:06am:
To be fair John, do you really think any politician would risk their career over a few thousand dollars.....My guess is they have so many perks and trying to claim them all leads to mistakes.....It is simple greed that dictates take what ever is offered and make sure you screw every penny from the taxpayer!!! >:( >:( >:( |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 31st, 2013 at 10:32am Dnarever wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 9:30pm:
I thought it was the ashby case.. .. oh well I can only guess you would rather he was still speaker even though he has more than one issue with the courts. Abbott did repay the money dna.. for someone who claims over and over not guilty until the judge says so.... you sure want to hang Abbott over something so many of them have done.... Mr Abbott never denied it he repaid it.. its done and dusted... Mr THOMO denies doing anything wrong.. not once but over and over, and he has offered to repay NUFFINK...not even =his brothel visits. in fact he is flat out trying to put the blame on everyone else........rings sort of familier as thats what they do on here.. ::) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Verge on Jul 31st, 2013 at 10:40am cods wrote on Jul 31st, 2013 at 10:32am:
Considering the Ashby case was a Civil one and not a Criminal one, one needs to be careful in throwing stones Cods. Mr Abbott himself will find he to will be a defendant in a civil case and when that happens, will you be holding him to the same standard. There is a massive difference between civil and criminal cases. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Sprintcyclist on Jul 31st, 2013 at 10:48am Hookers would support Thommo for the cash. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by longweekend58 on Jul 31st, 2013 at 6:30pm John Smith wrote on Jul 31st, 2013 at 10:06am:
you don't seem to have the foggiest idea what claiming work expenses etc in a high profile job such as this is about, do you? Why do you think the ALP aren't demanding he be charged?? HmMM??? Ever thought that out??? could it be that unlike you, they also know the difference between expensises claimed honestly but later found to be excluded? you are a stupid person. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Jul 31st, 2013 at 6:58pm Verge wrote on Jul 31st, 2013 at 10:40am:
nmot sure what you are referring too... of course I know the difference.. I also know the difference between an elected member of the govt and a private citizen... which both ashby and etteridge.. are. THOMO and SLIPPER are members of parliament with all the privileges that go with the job.including full pay... what standards are you referring too please??? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 31st, 2013 at 7:26pm philperth2010 wrote on Jul 31st, 2013 at 10:19am:
I don't disagree Phil, I think most of them rely on their staff .... even though that is a cop out ... they are responsible, they should check the details before signing. My problem is with longy screaming for blood when its not a liberal, and then making up as many excuses as possible when its a lib. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by John Smith on Jul 31st, 2013 at 7:31pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 31st, 2013 at 6:30pm:
long's default argument whenever he has nothing ... claim the other person doesn't know anything Labor isn't making demands because they don't want to open that can of worms.... there are probably as many of them as there are libs falsely claiming expenses, to many benefits for them to want to place it at risk, they are all pigs eating out of the same trough ... that does not excuse your baying for blood when one does it, and then making every excuse under the sun when Abbott is caught. hmmmmm ! have you ever had tried to not be so hypocritical? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Dnarever on Jul 31st, 2013 at 7:33pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 31st, 2013 at 6:30pm:
Yes it is so easy to confuse working in Parliament house with cycling from the Gold Coast to Sydney - its almost the same thing. difference between expensises claimed honestly but later found to be excluded? you are a stupid person You are so funny. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 31st, 2013 at 7:35pm Quote:
My Wife has had the use of a Government car, and she was allowed to drive it to and from work, but for no private purpose. I reckon she would know she would be unlawfully using that vehicle to go on trips, over many occasions over many kilometers, to promote the sale of some cook book she was flogging. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 31st, 2013 at 7:44pm Aussie wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:22pm:
Agree!! I can remember when verge could blister the paint off a wall from 100 paces. My eyebrows are still growing out.... ;) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 31st, 2013 at 7:45pm John Smith wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:36pm:
My thoughts exactly.... :) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 31st, 2013 at 7:47pm cods wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:24pm:
????? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 31st, 2013 at 7:49pm cods wrote on Jul 30th, 2013 at 5:18pm:
Along with 1, or, 2 other things...... :) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 31st, 2013 at 7:51pm
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Jul 31st, 2013 at 8:39pm Aussie wrote on Jul 31st, 2013 at 7:51pm:
? |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Jul 31st, 2013 at 9:03pm Lobo wrote on Jul 31st, 2013 at 8:39pm:
&^%^%$$#%*& Page flip post. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by RightSadFred on Aug 2nd, 2013 at 10:15am Quote:
And the answer is 42 ....... I mean 30. 50,000 ???? might of cost that much to host the night. Maybe I live in another world, the fund raisers I attend usually get hundreds to thousands showing up but I guess they are not to support a well known incompetent grub. I am actually impressed he found 30 .... I wonder how many were family ? all 30. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Aug 2nd, 2013 at 1:31pm RightSadFred wrote on Aug 2nd, 2013 at 10:15am:
I think aussie and his pet clown smith and dna might have been there.. serving the tea. shame it didnt tell us how much he raised.. at least the other lefties facing criminal charges Obeid and Macdonald wont have the need to have fund raisers.. 8-) 8-) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Aug 2nd, 2013 at 2:37pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 31st, 2013 at 9:50am:
Rubbish.... They all know the rules...Or should. Either they are ALL rorting, or they are ALL innocent of any wrong-doing. Trying to have $1 each-way doesn't cut it..... :) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Aug 2nd, 2013 at 2:40pm Aussie wrote on Jul 31st, 2013 at 9:03pm:
Wash your mouth out with soap..... :D |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Aug 2nd, 2013 at 2:42pm Quote:
No charges have been laid against either, but that won't prevent cods from lying about it. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by Aussie on Aug 2nd, 2013 at 2:43pm Lobo wrote on Aug 2nd, 2013 at 2:40pm:
Yeas....lucky there is no vision of me available for those occasions when the )($%^&$#@** page won't flip! |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Aug 2nd, 2013 at 2:48pm Aussie wrote on Aug 2nd, 2013 at 2:43pm:
I mainly have that problem when longy is logged on.... Just wondering if he is an expert hacker as well as everything else..... ;) |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by cods on Aug 2nd, 2013 at 4:11pm Aussie wrote on Aug 2nd, 2013 at 2:42pm:
well of course not! the habit of lying is catching..the bush lawyers does his share..lol.. and since gillard and now kev the con Mr Integrity its now ok for the poor people to tell lies... mind you I cant wait for them to be charged.. hilarious.. THOMO SLIPPER OBEID MACDONALD. gotta be some kind of record.. ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D hey one of them might call on you for your expurt advice. |
Title: Re: Why would anyone support Thommo? Post by froggie on Aug 2nd, 2013 at 4:45pm Lobo wrote on Aug 2nd, 2013 at 2:48pm:
Didn't log-on in the last 10 min, did he. Lost half-a-dozen posts and had trouble logging back in about 20 min ago. ;) |