General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Abbott the sexist strikes again http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1376374822 Message started by John Smith on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:20pm |
Title: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by John Smith on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:20pm Once again Abbott shows his sexist attitude http://www.news.com.au/national-news/federal-election/federal-election-2013-tony-abbott-talks-up-the-8216sex-appeal8217-of-lindsay-candidate/story-fnho52ip-1226696004514 |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by dsmithy70 on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:27pm John Smith wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:20pm:
Is he serious? Her head looks concave. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Verge on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:29pm
Its not sexist to say someone has sex appeal.
Move along people, nothing to see here. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by John Smith on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:31pm Dsmithy70 wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:27pm:
that's what I thought too .... each to their own and yes verge it is sexist if someone asks what a candidates traits are, and your response is she has sex appeal. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by FriYAY on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:32pm John Smith wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:20pm:
Coming from someone that needs to bring someone’s mother into the conversation to make a puerile pissy joke. Get back to us when you’re not being a complete and utter valueless hypocrite. >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( >:( |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Grendel on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:32pm
Give it a rest Julias.... ::) ::) ::)
Could be worse... |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by dsmithy70 on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:33pm Verge wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:29pm:
Is it relevant to a political campaign?? |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by John Smith on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:34pm FriYAY wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:32pm:
I'm not running for parliament d1ck ..... |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by dsmithy70 on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:35pm Grendel wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:32pm:
LOL eating & drinking should be off limits for photographers Take a good look, the last PM to actually give a sh!t about you plebs(from either side) |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Verge on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:37pm Dsmithy70 wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:33pm:
No but neither is any other pollies attempt at trying to be funny, amusing or clever. You know what an election campaign would be if ever pollie only ever said things that were relevant - Uptopia. Chuck the comment in the waste paper bin along with Rudd's selfie and lets all move on. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by FriYAY on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:38pm John Smith wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:34pm:
Oh FFS. So as long as you’re not running for parliament, sexism is ok? Is that your point? How utterly dumb of you. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by stryder on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:51pm Quote:
You gotta be kidding me, smithie talk about desperation, just because he mentions a female candidates sex appeal, AND YOU ARE CRYING OUT SEXISM, i mean this is utterly stupid and nonsense. no wonder lefties come across as silly and bizarre with this nonsense. talk about desperation, this thread of yours is utterly nonsense. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by John Smith on Aug 13th, 2013 at 5:32pm FriYAY wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:38pm:
not really my point no, but like most people, I sometimes do things I wouldn't normally do ... as an average Joe citizen, it is acceptable, anyone who says they are perfect all the time is lying ...... as a politician in the modern era of instant news, it is not. Now are you going to continue to make this about me, or do you want to comment on Abbott? DO you not think politicians are held to higher standards? You certainly had no problem holding Gillard to a higher standard .... Are you dumb or something? |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by longweekend58 on Aug 13th, 2013 at 5:38pm John Smith wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:31pm:
you don't understand the meanings of words, do you? try a dictionary and look up 'sexism'. it is not calling someone sexy you uneducated dolt. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by longweekend58 on Aug 13th, 2013 at 5:39pm Dsmithy70 wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:35pm:
you were trying to get a laugh, right? the man-hater???? |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Quantum on Aug 13th, 2013 at 5:45pm
Sex appeal has a much broader meaning than just sexual attraction between people. A car, a house, a book, etc can all have "sex appeal". A person therefore can have sex appeal without necessarily being sexy. It can just mean the ability to excite or grab attention. Even if taken as actual biological sexual attraction, men can have sex appeal as well.
Abbott's comment is a bit stupid has he must know how the media will jump on anything to make a story. Especially if that story has anything to do with him and women. But sexist? no. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by progressiveslol on Aug 13th, 2013 at 5:45pm
Even germain greer yuk, thinks our little johnny smith is a whining uneducated twat
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by longweekend58 on Aug 13th, 2013 at 5:47pm progressiveslol wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 5:45pm:
the slimy house painter does seem to have some significant problems with basic contextual argument as well as the meanings of many basic terms. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by cods on Aug 13th, 2013 at 5:50pm
I know if a real hunk came along.. he would score a vote or three thats for sure.... and judging by some of the comments on here...regarding any women that looks good.. she would win their vote.....doesnt seem to be anything wrong with it..
in this day and age.. who cares.. a bit of lusting doesnt do any harm..I watched Matt Damon being interviewed last night not bad.... ;) ;) |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by chicken_lipsforme on Aug 13th, 2013 at 5:51pm
The stories a dud rubber.
Bit like KRudd really. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Grendel on Aug 13th, 2013 at 5:57pm Quote:
Really? Not Kevin... BTW just having a lend of the Progs... this is a really really stupid topic. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by progressiveslol on Aug 13th, 2013 at 6:12pm Grendel wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 5:57pm:
Yeh I dont know. Turtles are cute, just not so much when they get old |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by longweekend58 on Aug 13th, 2013 at 6:13pm Grendel wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 5:57pm:
the way the OP misunderstood the term 'sexist' you'd think this was an SOB thread. but instead, it is just john smith entertaining use with his uninformed, uneducated demonstration of how not to understand the meaning of words... again. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Verge on Aug 13th, 2013 at 6:48pm
The abc panel put it best about two minutes ago
Minor gaff, nothing to worry about, won't have any impact, more than likely his daughter that was there will give him the biggest ribbing. If the abc think it's nothing, it is obviously nothing. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by longweekend58 on Aug 13th, 2013 at 6:51pm Verge wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 6:48pm:
good point. the ABC is not noted for its coalition support! |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by stryder on Aug 13th, 2013 at 6:57pm Quote:
And its absolutely ridiculous that taxpayers who would vote Coalition or who hold conservative views have there tax dollars thrown at these left leaning commentariat at the ABC |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by John Smith on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:00pm longweekend58 wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 5:47pm:
oh well done longstupid one, bravo .. an excellent retort. I swear you get dumber by the day. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by John Smith on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:03pm longweekend58 wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 6:13pm:
the meaning of the word has nothing to do with it .... when was the last time someone asked for a candidates qualities as to why one should vote for her, and the answer is 'sex appeal'? Really? I think it is you who doesn't understand longstupidone. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by True Blue... on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:09pm
bugger me... could you be any more desperate than to post this garbage...
I thought all of this crying sexist was dead and buried along with Gillard... |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by philperth2010 on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:11pm
Another day another Abbott gaffe.....Abbott should not underestimate his own ability to shoot himself down in flames!!!
:) :) :) |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Aussie on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:12pm True Blue... wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:09pm:
Did you really, given Abbott still draws breath? |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Aussie on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:13pm
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by stryder on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:16pm
When lefties are in this politically correct mode over what Tony abbott said or anything else
smell the stupidity |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:16pm
Aussie, you have an unnecessary and irrational dislike of Tony Abbott as a person and it impacts your commentary on anything to do with him.
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Aussie on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:19pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:16pm:
Ya reckon. I mean fair suck of the sauce bottle, fair go mate, gotta zip! |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Peter Freedman on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:21pm
Just another example of Abbott's ability to open his gob and stick his foot in.
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by matty on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:23pm Dsmithy70 wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:35pm:
Gillard only cared about Gillard, and is the most hated politician ever from Australia. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Honky on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:33pm
So if it's 'sexist' to say she's got sex appeal, that must mean the PC thing to do is say she's an ugly pig.
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Aussie on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:37pm ... wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:33pm:
Only in your tortured brain. The 'thing' to do is not comment on physical appearance as being a valid political quality. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Honky on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:39pm Aussie wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:37pm:
Why not? You'd have to be retarded or a liar to say it has no effect in a popularity contest. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Honky on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:40pm
Which are you?
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Karnal on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:45pm matty wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:23pm:
Yes, Matty, but you were always fair to her. You always gave her the benefit of the doubt. Unlike the leftards and Mr Abbott. SHAME LEFTARDS SHAME. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Karnal on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:47pm ... wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:39pm:
True, Honky. Only yesterday Cods was saying what a hunk Mr Abbott is, and Matty has always admired his strapping physique. Thoughts? |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Peter Freedman on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:52pm matty wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:23pm:
Somehow I think Sir Joh would rate lower. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Honky on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:52pm Karnal wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:47pm:
He's in good shape for a politician, but that'd only be of interest to homos. Shielas would lust after the elephant man if he had the power of a Prime Minister. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by alevine on Aug 13th, 2013 at 9:46pm Verge wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:29pm:
He was lost in trying to find virtues and comes up with sex appeal. Ask yourself, would he say that of a man? And if not, why not? Young...errrr...errrt...uhhhhhh *tongue lick* error fiesty error errrr hahaha and sex appeal hahahaha. What an imbecile. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Sprintcyclist on Aug 13th, 2013 at 9:58pm I thought it was a phrase of 'poor judgment'. he should have avoided any comment on her appearance at all. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by freediver on Aug 13th, 2013 at 10:02pm
This is going to be an interesting campaign. Abbott is like a thinner and dumber version of Beasley. All he has to do to win is not stuff it up completely. It's going to be close.
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by progressiveslol on Aug 13th, 2013 at 10:12pm freediver wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 10:02pm:
I suppose if I supported the people you do, I'de be saying that every day too. You got to have hope and delusion.......... |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by alevine on Aug 13th, 2013 at 10:17pm progressiveslol wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 10:12pm:
how the communists under the bed going, progs? Any new videos to share for us? :) I miss it. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by progressiveslol on Aug 13th, 2013 at 10:19pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 10:17pm:
Yeh I miss your grand leader gillard too. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by alevine on Aug 13th, 2013 at 10:22pm progressiveslol wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 10:19pm:
I'll take that as no new videos :( :( Oh well. I hope your absence has been the result of a well deserved holiday :) welcome back my dear comrade :) |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Postmodern Trendoid on Aug 13th, 2013 at 10:36pm John Smith wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:31pm:
Good work, comrade. This is exactly the kind of subversion tactics we progressives require to smash the bourgeois. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by progressiveslol on Aug 13th, 2013 at 10:42pm sir prince duke alevine wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 10:22pm:
Well just because you are soo nice. Thought I would give you a video for old time (and new what evv kev) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cCNYb3XWVTE |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 13th, 2013 at 11:48pm
It's quite a compliment for a girl to be called sexy.
At our workplace in Cali, I am pretty sure the HR team are hired with some aesthetic factors in play. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Sprintcyclist on Aug 13th, 2013 at 11:56pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 11:48pm:
in a workplace here, calling someone sexy is not really the done thing. yes, attractiveness is a factor in some jobs. But it is not said openly. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Emma Peel on Aug 14th, 2013 at 1:35am Dsmithy70 wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:35pm:
Damn truth... pity no-one understands true labor.......... working - class values anymore. The media has sucked out your brains.... rue the day the milky bar kid was dug up for another go. Vale Julia... I remember. We actually DESERVE ABBOTT..!! :( |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Emma Peel on Aug 14th, 2013 at 1:39am sir prince duke alevine wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 9:46pm:
OH YES it's a sad day for Australia when the presumptive PM - apparent... can actually say such utter crap about one of his hopefuls.!!. Sexy = political skills??? What a complete and utter dhead. He doesn't UNDERSTAND the words he spews out. Yesterday ..?? he channelled Hockey... and is THAT a PM ??? NO WAY BABY. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by John Smith on Aug 14th, 2013 at 8:31am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 11:48pm:
why not give her a wolf whistle while your at it? And if there was nothing wrong, why did Abbott feel the need to apologise? |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by longweekend58 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 8:35am John Smith wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:03pm:
that pretty much sums up your problem with written communication. the meaning oif so many words and phrases simply eludes you. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by longweekend58 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 8:36am Peter Freedman wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:21pm:
yeah, that whole 'honesty' think is pretty unappealing. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by John Smith on Aug 14th, 2013 at 8:37am longweekend58 wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 8:35am:
you really are an idiot of the highest magnitude ..... |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by longweekend58 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 8:38am Peter Freedman wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:52pm:
Actually, I don't think he would. He should, but there are still people in QLD with (literally) pewter status of him on the mantelpeices. He was an absolute disgrace. Gilalrd however was pretty much loathed by almost all men and most women. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by longweekend58 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 8:41am John Smith wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 8:37am:
But now I have to assume that you are not really familiar with any of those words you just used. This entire thread is testament to your inability to understand the meaning of the word 'sexist' just as so many of your other posts show you really don't understand the written word very well at all. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by freediver on Aug 14th, 2013 at 8:48am
Longy do you think Abbott has sex appeal?
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by longweekend58 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 9:05am freediver wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 8:48am:
I cant half tell you are a greenie. Irrelevancies abound. How's that rebuttal for my position on 3rd parties going?? Still running away from that or are you just going to say "LW is a loser" like a 4yo and run away again? |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by John Smith on Aug 14th, 2013 at 9:08am longweekend58 wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 9:05am:
no longy, that's what you do, on almost every debate .. you call people stupid or say they don't understand and then run away ..... keep up the good work. :D :D |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by FriYAY on Aug 14th, 2013 at 9:11am
It was an unnecessary comment, you only had to see the cringe from the daughter (oh dad WTF did you say that for?).
The dumbest thing was he actually thought about it “I think I can say this”….. Idiot. That said, who cares…. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by buzzanddidj on Aug 14th, 2013 at 9:31am Verge wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:29pm:
But would he have said it about the member for Sturt - or a MAN, for that matter ? |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 14th, 2013 at 9:31am John Smith wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 8:31am:
Why not? What a load of nonsense. Sex appeal is something good for women. I will admit to being in a situation where a guy and girl are dead level of skills and performance in the interview, picking the good looking girl. It's just how it is. Storm in a teacup. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by John Smith on Aug 14th, 2013 at 9:34am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 9:31am:
I bet you wouldn't say that if it was Rudd !!!!! ;) ;) |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 14th, 2013 at 9:35am
If Rudd said one of his candidates had sex appeal, then its fine by me.
As long as they did. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Innocent bystander on Aug 14th, 2013 at 9:55am
I bet margie gave tonys testes a twist when he got home that night, sex appeal indeed, I can guarantee he won't say that again :D
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by longweekend58 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 10:03am buzzanddidj wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 9:31am:
he straight and therefore like most men wouldn't KNOW if a particular man was sexy or not. I hear women rave about Brad Pitt or George Clooney and I just don't get it. This pleases me no end! |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by freediver on Aug 14th, 2013 at 10:22am longweekend58 wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 9:05am:
It is hardly irrelevant, or Abbott wouldn't be telling reporters about the sex appeal of his candidate selections. If it was irrelevant you wouldn't be all over this thread like a rash. Do you think Abbott has sex appeal? Or for that matter, do you think this woman he is plugging has sex appeal? You don't think Abbott was lying do you? If we elect her and it turns out she doesn't have sex appeal, can we accuse Abbott of cheating? |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by longweekend58 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 10:27am freediver wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 10:22am:
your logic and argument is degrading to the Greens_lose standard. Before long you will be posting a comment saying the Greens vote is SURGING!! :D ;D :D ;D |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by longweekend58 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 10:28am
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by freediver on Aug 14th, 2013 at 10:29am
Was Abbott telling the truth Longy?
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by longweekend58 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 10:33am freediver wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 10:29am:
would you agree that 'sexy' is in the eye of the beholder? If not then you are dumb; if so, then the question is unanswerable by its very definition. try again. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by chicken_lipsforme on Aug 14th, 2013 at 10:34am philperth2010 wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:11pm:
Why's that? It seems to me that the hand wringers that are squealing like porked piggies over this were never going to vote for the Coalition anyway. This is 2013 remember. Abbott paid the woman a complement, and it's a sad world where a male is not allowed to pay a complement to a woman. The story is a dud rubber, and if anything it clearly demonstrates the desperation of the Labor party. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by True Colours on Aug 14th, 2013 at 11:33am Why is sex appeal relevant? Is Abbott saying that women should be judged according to their appearance? Abbot assumes the Australian people are too stupid to vote according to the policies. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Verge on Aug 14th, 2013 at 12:02pm
Is this crap still being talked about?
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Honky on Aug 14th, 2013 at 12:09pm True Colours wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 11:33am:
No he didn't take a position on whether they should be. But the reality is that they are. All else being equal, men will prefer the more physically attractive choice. Human nature, innit. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Peter Freedman on Aug 14th, 2013 at 12:36pm
Abbott says he was "exuberant" and having "a daggy dad moment."
True. Unfortunately he could have such a moment in front of the world's press and make Australia a laughing stock. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by True Colours on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:10pm Peter Freedman wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 12:36pm:
Would that defence hold water in a sexual harassment case? Imagine the boss of a corporation explaining that a woman should get the job because she has sex appeal. We don't accept it for business, why should we accept it for a potential future Prime Minister? |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Postmodern Trendoid on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:15pm True Colours wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:10pm:
Good work, comrade. We progressives need to make mountains out of molehills in regards to gender issues. Elevating women into important and powerful positions based on their anatomy is paramount. It is so wrong that men get into positions of power through their own hard work. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:18pm
In my opinion, if the job is not massively important - (eg AP clerk or something like that) -
Then get a fit bird in. We did it in London and you should have seen all of a sudden how many Vice Presidents all of a sudden had business on level 3. VP's on $400k per annum tripping over themselves to tell jokes to a couple of 20 year old girls who input invoices as a job... ;D |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by cods on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:32pm True Colours wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 11:33am:
I THINK HE IS SAYING MEN ARE MORE STUPID TO VOTE ACCORDING TO POLICIES... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by cods on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:34pm Postmodern Trendoid wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:15pm:
I think quite a few MEN have SEX APPEAL... I have a whole list. I dont think saying SEX APPEAL is a female thing so whats the problem?? ...oh thats right a Lib said it..LOL.. what am I thinking..duh!! |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by froggie on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:39pm Verge wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 12:02pm:
Exactly.... About as relevant as Rudd's son puffing on a cigar. ;) |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Verge on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:58pm Lobo wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:39pm:
Which is just as boring. I dont think we have had so many Groan moments as we have of late. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Postmodern Trendoid on Aug 14th, 2013 at 3:00pm cods wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:34pm:
According to our progressive ideology, it is wrong, just wrong, that a man can say that about a woman. But it's okay for women to say it to a man. This is progress. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 3:04pm
This is all a distraction from what we want to know.
see my new thread: http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1376451641/0#9 |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by buzzanddidj on Aug 14th, 2013 at 3:34pm longweekend58 wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 10:03am:
Pick any two with sex appeal Quote:
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by freediver on Aug 14th, 2013 at 3:40pm longweekend58 wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 10:33am:
Some people say truth is in the eye of the beholder also Longy. Do you agree with Abbott's comment? |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by FriYAY on Aug 14th, 2013 at 3:59pm Peter Freedman wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 12:36pm:
LOL Who’d forget Kevin “I’m the most popular leader in the world” Rudd. In front of Obama and the rest – dam cringeworthy crap that was. ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by cods on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:00pm Postmodern Trendoid wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 3:00pm:
I do believe the REAL MAIN POINT IS>. WHO IN THE HELL WOULD BE OFFENDED IF SOMEONE SAID THEY HAD .........................SEX APPEAL..??????.. ISNT IT A COMPLIMENT? I AM SURE BRAD PITT OR JOHN HOWARD WOULDNT BE.. SO WHY SHOULD THIS YOUNG WOMEN.?? WE JUST HAV E A BIT OF POLITICAL CORRECTNESS GONE MAD THATS ALL. or has this election got that boring anything for a headline? |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:03pm
cods,
Both sides are playing small target strategy. They distract us with nonsense from the real issues. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by thelastnail on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:07pm Bobby. wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:03pm:
no mention about building electric cars no matter how much money is doled out to these foreign car companies :( |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by cods on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:13pm FriYAY wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 3:59pm:
Kevin Rudd is counting on the love of the people, not his colleagues, if he is to emerge victorious from Monday's leadership ballot. It is plain weird that the western democracy that survived the global financial crisis and has the most stable economy has the most unstable politics. As this now extraordinary and hostile spectacle plays out in full public glare, Rudd will contest the leadership when he comes home, despite his humbug about not having made up his mind. Rudd told reporters in Washington DC this morning that Julia Gillard cannot win the next election and he can. Advertisement This is the paradox. Gillard is well liked by the majority of her colleagues but disliked by the majority of the voters. Rudd is loathed, indeed hated, by the majority of his colleagues, but is vastly more popular than Gillard among the public. So rather than rely solely on direct lobbying of colleagues for support, Rudd has enlisted people power. Ultimately, every MP wants to keep their seat and Rudd knows the survival instinct eventually overrides personal loyalty. Thus his appeal today to the general public from which he claimed he had received overwhelming support, is to ring their local MP and tell them to choose Kevin. Rudd's wife, Therese Rein, made the same appeal at her own press conference in Brisbane this morning. Gillard's pitch this morning was also extraordinary. She finally expanded on what she meant in June 2010 when she said the Rudd government had ''lost its way''. Rudd was a chaotic, difficult and dysfunctional leader obsessed by opinion polls and headlines, she said. What he lacked was the courage and the temperament to keep his head when those polls and the headlines with it went south. She went on to say that government was about more than just being a great campaigner and a populist, it was about the ability to keep going no matter how adverse the circumstances. And the most serious charge of all: that Rudd was behind the leaks that destroyed Labor's 2010 election campaign. Everyone in Labor believes it, the post-election review implied it and now everyone is saying it. It s considered in the ALP as one of the most treacherous acts in the party's history, up there with Billy Hughes and the Latham Diaries. Gillard's appeal today was principally to the caucus but she also had a message to those members of the public who want Rudd back - don't be fooled. She urged them to consider why he did not even contest the ballot in 2010. ''The people who know him best and know the most about the prime ministership had determined he no longer had their support,'' she said. Whoever wins on Monday, it is hard to see this ending. If Rudd wins, Gillard has promised to move to the backbench and renounce further claims to the leadership. That is, she will let Rudd govern and will not destabilise him. But joining her on the backbench will be almost half the current cabinet, including its most senior people. After unloading on Rudd, it is inconceivable that Wayne Swan, Simon Crean, Stephen Conroy, Tony Burke, Nicola Roxon, Craig Emerson, Stephen Smith and Brendan O'Connor, who is a junior minister, could serve in any Rudd executive. Conversely, this prospect enables Rudd to promise his backers plum jobs but it makes for a much weakened line-up and government. If Gillard wins, Rudd will not give her the same promise of loyalty that she gave him this morning. This may settle for a while but, as Roxon said two weeks ago, Rudd will keep coming and coming. Yet to be thrashed out is the damage to the nation's reputation that this is causing. Firstly, it is plain weird that the western democracy that survived the global financial crisis and has the most stable economy has the most unstable politics. And for Rudd to resign in Washington and hold two press conferences denouncing the nation's prime minster, makes this country a laughing stock on the world's biggest stage. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by John Smith on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:17pm
Good to see Cods is up to date ....
we've moved on from the leadership debate Cods ..... if all you can do is rehash old stories that are no longer relevant, maybe you would do well not to comment on this particular thread .... |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by skippy. on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:18pm
Dont know why cods didnt just say she wasn't bright enough to write a piece herself rather than c& p a piece without a link, no body would have queried her.
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by John Smith on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:20pm skippy. wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:18pm:
you mean Cods didn't write that??? Shock Horror ... I should have guessed ... not enough vile & bitterness in it for it to be Cods' own work., |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by FriYAY on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:21pm John Smith wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:17pm:
Freedman made it relevant.... "Unfortunately he could have such a moment in front of the world's press and make Australia a laughing stock" |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by buzzanddidj on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:22pm cods wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:00pm:
NO NOT in the workplace - where the statement was made It is a contravention of universal HR workplace regulations "obviously, these shelias didn't get where they are on their LOOKS" |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by buzzanddidj on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:30pm John Smith wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:20pm:
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by John Smith on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:32pm buzzanddidj wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:30pm:
thanks...... my bad |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by stryder on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:42pm
I guess john smith believes in political correctness, :D
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by stryder on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:44pm
I think the choice is pretty clear
If you want this level of political correctness that tony abbott has been exposed too, then vote labor. They appear to be champions of insidious and insane political correctness. |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Emma Peel on Aug 14th, 2013 at 7:59pm
I agree fully with buzzanddidj..Abbott is a throwback.... he'd make a good village idiot.
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by True Colours on Aug 15th, 2013 at 7:39pm Emma wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 7:59pm:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DG5LvGuSOEw |
Title: Re: Abbott the sexist strikes again Post by Emma Peel on Aug 15th, 2013 at 7:51pm
well yeah... a very good edit of Tony Abbott ;D