General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Forbidden topics in this election:
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1376451642

Message started by bobbythebat1 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 1:40pm

Title: Forbidden topics in this election:
Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 1:40pm
I have noticed that there are many forbidden subjects in this election.

Here are some to get this thread started:

LIST OF FORBIDDEN SUBJECTS

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.
(3) Tax on startup company shares.
(4) Policy on the 12 new proposed subs.
(5) F35 strike fighter purchases to go ahead?

Please feel free to add to the list.

Question: is there a secret agreement between the main parties not to discuss these topics?

Title: Re: Forbidden topics in this election:
Post by thelastnail on Aug 14th, 2013 at 1:43pm
plus Aborts hidden agendas

(6) Work Choices Mk II
(7) Work for the dole rubbish
(8) Selling off the remaining publicly owned assets

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 1:48pm
Hi Nail,
Tony has made  his view clear on some of those issues:

Work_for_the_dole_+_workchoices_014.jpg (140 KB | 63 )

Post by Quantum on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:06pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 1:48pm:
Hi Nail,

That looks bad for you and nail. Any maccas near your rented house?

Post by thelastnail on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:08pm
the number 1 troll strikes again as predicted :(

Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:16pm
I think we need to talk about investment properties or electric cars.

I havent seen enough discussion about these key issues on here.

Post by cods on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:39pm
speedos
cheating
boat people
pollies travel expenses
golden handshakes.
lies

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:47pm
What about tax avoidance by multi-nationals like GOOGLE?

Any policy?

Post by freediver on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:55pm
Obviously bobby if you don't get to dictate the key debating points there must be some conspiracy.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 3:00pm

freediver wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:55pm:
Obviously bobby if you don't get to dictate the key debating points there must be some conspiracy.

True FD,
still strange how both sides avoid certain topics:

Sex appeal of a candidate was all over the news -

just distractions from what we all want to know.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 3:38pm
As raised by PZ547 today:

dental care.

Another forbidden topic.

Post by buzzanddidj on Aug 14th, 2013 at 3:50pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:16pm:

Or extending the GST and ...

a tax on NUTRITION - including baby formula

a tax on KNOWLEDGE - including school text books

a tax on SOUP BONES - pensioners are getting too fat

a tax on LIFE - insulin, blood pressure and heart medication

a tax on CANCER TREATMENTS - if these people can find $1000,000 a year, another $10,000 shouldn't be a problem

Post by PZ547 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 3:56pm
Best thread in the forum

What's it doing tucked away here ?

Needs / deserves more exposure

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 3:56pm
Buzz - I wanted this to be a serious thread on omitted topics.

Post by Deathridesahorse on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:23pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 1:40pm:

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.

Question: is there a secret agreement between the main parties not to discuss these topics?

::) Globalists wishing australia to stay dumb and be forced to remain the worlds quarry- i.e. liberal voters pretending they are all beautiful people!  ::)

Post by Deathridesahorse on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:24pm

BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:23pm:

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.

::) Globalists wishing australia to stay dumb and be forced to remain the worlds quarry- i.e. liberal voters pretending they are all beautiful people!  ::)

... oh wait_ murdochs influence on the cashed up tryhards is being discussed!!  :-* :-* :-* :-* :-*

==> PLEASE FEEL FREE TO CONTINUE  ;D

Post by cods on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:31pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 3:56pm:

gay marriage..who knows bobby you may get an invite..

thats of course if Abbott doesnt insult the poor dears any more..tsk tsk.

Post by Deathridesahorse on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:33pm

cods wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:31pm:

I think sophie mirrabella has wicked sex appeal,...........................NOT!

Will Julie Bishop stop staring at me- i don't find her sexy!!

That other bishop has to go of course- on the gorunds of sex appeal no less of course!

Post by Peter Freedman on Aug 14th, 2013 at 8:10pm
Politics.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 11:14pm

cods wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 4:31pm:

No - all that poof stuff has been decided upon.
Abbott won't have a conscience vote but Rudd will.

Post by The Thinking Mans Grappler on Aug 14th, 2013 at 11:52pm
XX) Final abolition/winding down of affirmative action by any other name....

XXI)  Abolition of the Gut Sucking Tax and its replacement - along with many other taxes - with a tax on purchases applicable to all.

XXII) Genuine restriction on media ownership so as to ensure genuine competition (that'd be a newey!)  ;D

XXIII) Pensioner to receive equivalent of a politician's retirement fund average.... including perks...  I'll happily time-share an office, secretary, car, driver,  gold travel card, cash-up and so forth.....

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 14th, 2013 at 11:58pm

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 11:52pm:
XX) Final abolition/winding down of affirmative action by any other name....

XXI)  .....

What the hell are you talking about?

Post by The Thinking Mans Grappler on Aug 15th, 2013 at 11:36am
XXXVI) Immediate move to a Republic - Power To the People to Elect Head of Government

XXXVII) Abolish sinecure of governor general

XXXVIII) No Head of Government not Born in Oz

XXXXIV) No dual citizenship in representation.. ye're either Oz or not.  (trawlling for the Redneck vote there)...

MXVI through MMCCVII)  Abolition of affirmative action by any other name and restoration of total equality and not preference.  (you did ask).....

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 15th, 2013 at 11:42am

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Aug 15th, 2013 at 11:36am:
XXXVI) Immediate move to a Republic - Power To the People to Elect Head of Government

XXXVII) Abolish sinecure of governor general

XXXVIII) No Head of Government not Born in Oz

XXXXIV) No dual citizenship in representation.. ye're either Oz or not.  (trawlling for the Redneck vote there)...

MXVI through MMCCVII)  Abolition of affirmative action by any other name and restoration of total equality and not preference.  (you did ask).....

Those are not election issues.

What are you smoking?

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 15th, 2013 at 12:00pm

PZ547 wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 3:56pm:
Best thread in the forum

Thanks PZ547.

We already have quite a list.

This election is high on rhetoric & short on facts.

Post by True Colours on Aug 15th, 2013 at 12:09pm
*FOREIGN OWNERSHIP OF MEDIA (READ NEWSCORP)

*FOREIGN OWNERSHIP OF AGRICULTURAL LAND

*US TROOPS & BASES IN AUSTRALIA

Even though it has already been mentioned, I think it is worth repeating:

*NEGATIVE GEARING

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 15th, 2013 at 12:19pm
Hi True,
Dudd is on TV right now  ABC news 24

He has no details just talk.

Post by True Colours on Aug 15th, 2013 at 1:36pm

...XXXXIV) No dual citizenship in representation.. ye're either Oz or not.  (trawlling for the Redneck vote there)...

Dual citizenship - I can't understand why the government allowed this in the first place. If you are not committed to Australia, then why should you be allowed Australian citizenship?

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 15th, 2013 at 1:41pm

True Colours wrote on Aug 15th, 2013 at 1:36pm:

...XXXXIV) No dual citizenship in representation.. ye're either Oz or not.  (trawlling for the Redneck vote there)...

Dual citizenship - I can't understand why the government allowed this in the first place. If you are not committed to Australia, then why should you be allowed Australian citizenship?

That's not important.

Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 15th, 2013 at 1:43pm

Hi Nail,

What's wrong with the above Bobby??

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 15th, 2013 at 1:46pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 15th, 2013 at 1:43pm:

Hi Nail,

What's wrong with the above Bobby??

Nail got 2 out of 3 wrong.
Those issues were addressed.
This is about topics that are forbidden to talk about.

Post by The Thinking Mans Grappler on Aug 15th, 2013 at 4:14pm
I'm just throwing a few fresh lobsters in the pot to see if they nip anyone.... don't mind me....

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 15th, 2013 at 4:40pm

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.

I think you confuse 'forbidden' with 'no one cares'

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 15th, 2013 at 4:41pm

and their relationship to the Catholic church!

Post by Deathridesahorse on Aug 15th, 2013 at 4:43pm

Peter Freedman wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 8:10pm:
Politics.

Lol, 1950s sexist meandering dribble in front of the press is okeley dookeley of course!!

How embarrasment for the once clever country!!

Go the once proud Liberal party who sold this countrys mineral wealth for a judas price!

Um, go copper internet : Murdoch thinks it'll be plenty good enough so we should be able to keep our childrens heads above asian water!!

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 15th, 2013 at 7:09pm

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 15th, 2013 at 4:40pm:

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.

I think you confuse 'forbidden' with 'no one cares'

So the Govt. destroying startup companies is not important?

Post by hawil on Aug 15th, 2013 at 8:02pm

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.

Tax-free super for the over sixties
Means test of the age pension

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:41am

hawil wrote on Aug 15th, 2013 at 8:02pm:

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.

Tax-free super for the over sixties
Means test of the age pension

you mean the one and only topic you ever discuss... ever?

Post by Kat on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:52am
Nothing about welfare reform, a fair deal for the unemployed, or an end to middle-class wealthfare.

(Don't bother, Longie...)

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:30am
Ok - I've added to the list from ideas of posters:

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.
(6) Which public assets to be sold off.
(7) Tax avoidance by multi-nationals like GOOGLE.
(8) Dental care for those who can't afford it.
(9) Foreign ownership of media.
(10) Foreign ownership of agricultural land
(11) US troops & bases in Australia.
(12) Taxes on superannuation of the over 60s.
(13) Abolition of middle class welfare.

Post by True Colours on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:45am
You could maybe add foreign food labelling laws, and supermarket/petrol station chain duopolies.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:51am
Updated:

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.
(14) Foreign food labeling laws,
(15) Supermarket/petrol station chain duopolies.

Post by thelastnail on Aug 17th, 2013 at 5:12pm

Yep you are dead right. None of the pollies will talk about electric cars or any car with a mains plug on the end of it. Funny about that. Not enough fuel excise in it for them ;)

16) Electric Cars

Also 

17) Why asbestos is banned for causing lung cancer but cigarettes aren't !!

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 18th, 2013 at 4:52pm
The list grows longer & still not a word from either side of politics.

Post by BigOl64 on Aug 18th, 2013 at 5:01pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:51am:
Updated:

Whilst the both parties could crap on endlessly how there are a couple of thousand US troops in Australia, Im wondering about the subject of US bases in Australia are you talking about the joint communications facilities or the lack of US bases and the desire to actually get some or some other stupid conversation about things that are pretty irrelevant to the election.

The list seems pretty cretinous, but that is to be expected now isin't it.

Post by The Thinking Mans Grappler on Aug 18th, 2013 at 9:54pm
Well.. now that BroToe The Mad Monk has come out with a parental paid leave plan - how about we go for back pay for the SAHDs such as myself - twelve months at the going rate'd do nicely, thank you... I can see quite a few goodies that people are handed gratis now that we didn't get that should be properly reflected in our payroll as pensioners..

Maybe a rise in the pension to compensate for opportunity cost when it wasn't available and the missus and I both worked long hours.... to say - minimum wage level....

I reckon the Guv could handle that..... you know - the dual income family such as mine was at the time.....indexed to today's rates.. yes - I could handle that.

:D

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 19th, 2013 at 9:36am

Bobby. wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:51am:
Updated:

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.
(16) Electric Cars

The list grows & no answers on the horizon.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 19th, 2013 at 3:48pm
Update  ABC 24:

Abbott will not release his figures until 48 hours before the election.

He will not talk about any of the above topics.

Post by thelastnail on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:04pm
(17) Raising the retirement age to 70 and above
(18) Turning a blind eye to the NSA snooping peoples internet activities in Australia
(19) Selling off whole suburbs to the chinese
(20) Allowing chinese to buy up property and outbid locals at auctions
(21) Business migration scams creating no jobs for the locals and targeting the black economy

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:07pm

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.
(16) Electric Cars

(18) Turning a blind eye to the NSA snooping peoples internet activities in Australia
(21) Business migration scams creating no jobs for the locals and adding to the black economy.

Well done Nail,
more forbidden topics.

Post by thelastnail on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:13pm
(22) Continually propping up the foreign owned car industry whilst turning a blind eye to any other industry not associated with car manufacture.

Post by FriYAY on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:40pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:13pm:
(22) Continually propping up the foreign owned car industry whilst turning a blind eye to any other industry not associated with car manufacture.

Bloody oath - you can put our agriculture industry at the top of the list.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:43pm

FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:40pm:

Yes on Today Tonight  this evening:

fruit growers bulldozing & burning their trees.

Post by Chimp_Logic on Aug 19th, 2013 at 8:18pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:43pm:

FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:40pm:

Yes on Today Tonight  this evening:

fruit growers bulldozing & burning their trees.

Its called corporate capitalism - a deranged form of self destructive fascism

Actions should not surprise anyone in this realm

kneel and pray Mr Wayne

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 19th, 2013 at 9:35pm
Treasurer Chris Bowen and Shadow Treasurer Joe Hockey
tonight on Q&A will explain all the forbidden topics.

Post by Chimp_Logic on Aug 19th, 2013 at 9:38pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 9:35pm:

even they will focus of boat people (asylum seekers) and gay marriage.

Since the 1960s the liberal and labour parties have voted together 95% of the time with respect to legislation passing through the Australian senate

Its called democracy.

Never vote for any of the two major parties - NEVER!

Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 19th, 2013 at 9:46pm

Chimp_Logic wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 9:38pm:

Bobby. wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 9:35pm:

even they will focus of boat people (asylum seekers) and gay marriage.

Should gay boat people be allowed to marry?

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 19th, 2013 at 10:42pm
Very funny.

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.
(16) Electric Cars
(21) Business migration scams creating no jobs for the locals and adding to the black economy.

No answers were given to any of the forbidden topics
even though many were about economics.

Just as predicted - slogans.

Post by perceptions_now on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:36pm

PZ547 wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 3:56pm:
Best thread in the forum

Agreed!
Certainly should be in Politics section.

Post by thelastnail on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:43pm
A question was asked about housing affordability on Q&A tonight and you guessed it !! Not one mention about the negative gearing tax rorts for property hoarders and speculators :(

Just more bullshit about a shortage of housing stock and nothing about how hoarders and speculators are using the tax system to cause the shortage in the first place. Go figure !!

Post by RightSadFred on Aug 20th, 2013 at 8:22am
bobbythebat1

(1) Negative gearing.

This is now a sacred middle class (aspirational) investment mechanism, Keating tried to fix it and rents sky rocketed

(2) GST on online sales.

The only ones complaining are our big retailers, also its only a small % of the markup that our local retailers apply .....its barely worth discussing

You need to be specific here, shares are not taxed only profits or earnings

Given how much the first 6 clunkers cost I hope they don't go ahead

Given how much the ALP have screwed up I doubt it will happen in my life time

None of these are significant to the average punter, if you talked about them you would hear the crickets chirping.

Try walking down the road and ask someone what they think about making ebay international purchases 10% more expensive and see what response you get.

Post by RightSadFred on Aug 20th, 2013 at 8:35am

Bobby. wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 3:00pm:

freediver wrote on Aug 14th, 2013 at 2:55pm:

True FD,
still strange how both sides avoid certain topics:

Sex appeal of a candidate was all over the news -

just distractions from what we all want to know.

bobbythebat1

No one is avoiding these topics, that would take effort.

The media is more Kardashian especially about Rudd the selfie grub / razor cut tweeter

They just have no traction ...... what your missing is the millions that goes into focus groups by all parties (even unions) about what is important ..... guess what ? ...... they generally get it right.

FYI I really don't see what the issue is about saying someone has sex appeal ??

Some people do, some of my female friends are absolute stunners. When I was playing rugby I was at a pub at an after match function when one of my friends from High School walked up to me and said hello.

Just about all the guys were asking me who she was and can you give me her number.

Is it a crime to have sex appeal ?

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 20th, 2013 at 9:01am

Bobby. wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 10:42pm:
Very funny.

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.
(16) Electric Cars

No answers were given to any of the forbidden topics
even though many were about economics.

Just as predicted - slogans.

Fred,
We will never get any answers about the policies relating to the above.

Both sides are playing the small target game.
This is an abuse of democracy.

Post by BigOl64 on Aug 20th, 2013 at 9:12am

Bobby. wrote on Aug 20th, 2013 at 9:01am:
Fred,

Have you actually contacted your local candidates and asked them to comment on these subjects or have you gone down the same path as nails and just reacted like a petulant child?

The last time I had an issue, capital gains tax on private homes over 5 acres, I contacted both parties to give me their policies on this matter. I didn't complain that it was forbidden topic, I just contatced them and friggen asked, like any adult would.  >:(

Post by RightSadFred on Aug 20th, 2013 at 9:16am
bobbythebat1

They are not forbidden and most don't care just about all of your points.

If the public doesn't care then you can almost guarantee a political party won't care unless there is something in it for them.

What do you suggest ?

We reprogram everyone ?

Even for me most of them are complete non-issues not worth discussing and the vast majority of people I know are far less interested then I am in politics.

The ALP can't play big politics as its the main reason they are in deep trouble, while Abbott has been far more strategic while the ALP self imploded. The reason the political debate is rock bottom is the fault of the ALP. Gillard ran a very negative agenda attacking everyone and every group she could identify. All Abbott had to do is sit back and occasionally lay the boot in.

In fact the topics of interest right now are mostly about fixing the mess the ALP created.

Maybe much of what you pointed out may be relevant once we get a stable government with a strong purpose we can start looking into these issues and others, say like real tax reform ...... or the tax welfare mix.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 20th, 2013 at 9:18am

BigOl64 wrote on Aug 20th, 2013 at 9:12am:

Fred,

Have you actually contacted your local candidates and asked them to comment on these subjects or have you gone down the same path as nails and just reacted like a petulant child?

The last time I had an issue, capital gains tax on private homes over 5 acres, I contacted both parties to give me their policies on this matter. I didn't complain that it was forbidden topic, I just contatced them and friggen asked, like any adult would.  >:(

As an example:

That was in the news for one day but then got lost.

see the thread here:

http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1369972320/7

In the eyes of the tax man, your income is $150,000, even though you only earned a $50,000 salary.

After the tax office has taken its share of $43,447, you are left with just $6,553.

Post by BigOl64 on Aug 20th, 2013 at 9:24am

Bobby. wrote on Aug 20th, 2013 at 9:18am:

Fred,

As an example:

That was in the news for one day but then got lost.

see the thread here:

http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1369972320/7

In the eyes of the tax man, your income is $150,000, even though you only earned a $50,000 salary.

After the tax office has taken its share of $43,447, you are left with just $6,553.

But did YOU contact your local candidates and demand they answer your questions about thier policies?

If you didn't then you are just full of sh1t like your mate, nails.

Nothing is forbidden, if you haven't bothered to even ask the fvcken question.

Post by RightSadFred on Aug 20th, 2013 at 9:25am

Fred,

BigOl64

I occasionally have contacted my local state member for various things and they provide adequate answers.

The problem in politics is that for an issue to get traction you do need to often push it.

Also bobbythebat1 is just listing topics that bobbythebat1 wants discussed, I can not even see what issues are associated with many of them ?

Defence spending is down ???? so what ?
They want to waste more money on Subs ? So what ?
Negative gearing and ????

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 20th, 2013 at 9:33am

RightSadFred wrote on Aug 20th, 2013 at 9:25am:

Fred,

BigOl64

I occasionally have contacted my local state member for various things and they provide adequate answers.

The problem in politics is that for an issue to get traction you do need to often push it.

Also bobbythebat1 is just listing topics that bobbythebat1 wants discussed, I can not even see what issues are associated with many of them ?

Defence spending is down ???? so what ?
They want to waste more money on Subs ? So what ?
Negative gearing and ????

false:
I have allowed other's to add their questions.

Military spending will be huge if we go ahead with the 12 new subs & the over 100 JSFs  F35s.

Post by RightSadFred on Aug 20th, 2013 at 9:46am
bobbythebat1

If your listing them you must want them discussed.

Don't get me wrong, I would like to see more detailed discussed on many topics.

On insiders they discussed this issue and with the modern media we are getting more intense low volume snippets on every topic. In the past discussions were far more detailed and longer ......... these days all you get in the media is just snippets or sound bites. Insiders is about the only show that tries to detail topics but is suffering the left disease more so these days.

Its kind of counter intuitive. 30 years ago there was far less news coverage but of better quality...... these days you barely see an MP discuss a topic in detail, mostly is some MP putting on a safety vest/helmet and pretending to dig a whole with a quick sound grab.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 20th, 2013 at 10:00am

RightSadFred wrote on Aug 20th, 2013 at 9:46am:
bobbythebat1

If your listing them you must want them discussed.

Don't get me wrong, I would like to see more detailed discussed on many topics.

On insiders they discussed this issue and with the modern media we are getting more intense low volume snippets on every topic. In the past discussions were far more detailed and longer ......... these days all you get in the media is just snippets or sound bites. Insiders is about the only show that tries to detail topics but is suffering the left disease more so these days.

Its kind of counter intuitive. 30 years ago there was far less news coverage but of better quality...... these days you barely see an MP discuss a topic in detail, mostly is some MP putting on a safety vest/helmet and pretending to dig a hole with a quick sound grab.

The coverage is for pin heads.

Please add any questions you may have to the list.

Post by Bam on Aug 20th, 2013 at 10:15am
More topics that won't be covered:

Capital gains tax. Should it be reviewed?
Waiting lists for public housing.
Homelessness.
Housing costs.
Should the top effective tax rate of 67.6 cents in the dollar be reduced?
Compliance costs for PAYE taxpayers, including the length of time that tax records need to be kept.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 20th, 2013 at 10:19am

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.
(16) Electric Cars

Added:

(22) Capital gains tax. Should it be reviewed?
(23) Waiting lists for public housing.
(24) Homelessness.
(25) Housing costs.
(26) Should the top effective tax rate of 67.6 cents in the dollar be reduced?   ( I thought it was 48 cents? )
(27) Compliance costs for PAYE taxpayers, including the length of time that tax records need to be kept.

Post by Bam on Aug 20th, 2013 at 10:55am

Bobby. wrote on Aug 20th, 2013 at 10:19am:
(26) Should the top effective tax rate of 67.6 cents in the dollar be reduced?   ( I thought it was 48 cents? )

If you're trying to get off welfare, the top effective rate of tax is 67.6 cents for the worst-case scenario: Earn $1. Income reduction = 60 cents in the dollar leaves 40 cents. That 40 cents is taxed at 19 cents = 7.6 cents. Total 67.6 cents.

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 20th, 2013 at 1:22pm

Bam wrote on Aug 20th, 2013 at 10:55am:

If you're trying to get off welfare, the top effective rate of tax is 67.6 cents for the worst-case scenario: Earn $1. Income reduction = 60 cents in the dollar leaves 40 cents. That 40 cents is taxed at 19 cents = 7.6 cents. Total 67.6 cents.

ah welcome to OUR playground, dipweed.  nice to see that you managed to destroy dailywire.  Well, over here we don't penalise people whose opinions they don't like.  I laughed and laughed when I saw dailywire was gone along with the 6 fellow wankers you allowed to post.

No one will treat you the disgraceful way you treated others.  We wont ask for citations for the bleeding obvious or get offended by opinions we don't like.

It is one of lifes little joys to see you come here skulking with your tail between your legs.

Post by Karnal on Aug 20th, 2013 at 2:16pm
The Ryde and Hornsby Greens have been flying under the radar lately.

Thoughts?

Post by bigvicfella on Aug 20th, 2013 at 2:25pm

Karnal wrote on Aug 20th, 2013 at 2:16pm:
The Ryde and Hornsby Greens have been flying under the radar lately.

Thoughts?

Since the local council covered the glory hole with sheet metal, Alan hasn't been seen.  Perhaps this has turned so many male members away from the meeting?

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 20th, 2013 at 6:03pm

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.
(16) Electric Cars

Added:

(24) Homelessness.
(25) Housing costs.
(27) Compliance costs for PAYE taxpayers, including the length of time that tax records need to be kept.

The list remains unrebutted.

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 20th, 2013 at 6:05pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 20th, 2013 at 6:03pm:

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.
(16) Electric Cars

Added:

(24) Homelessness.
(25) Housing costs.

The list remains unrebutted.

what exactly were you expecting?

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 20th, 2013 at 6:09pm
Dear Longy,
as a paid up Libbo member I thought you could answer some of
these questions for us?

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 20th, 2013 at 6:26pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 20th, 2013 at 6:09pm:
Dear Longy,
these questions for us?

I have. you just don't like the answers so you stick your fingers in your ears.

eg

NO GST on online sales
Strike Fighter project to go ahead

etc

Post by BigOl64 on Aug 20th, 2013 at 6:29pm

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 20th, 2013 at 6:26pm:

Dear Longy,
these questions for us?

eg

NO GST on online sales

etc

Ive also answered his stupid list as well, but since I didn't agree with his moronic stance on these subjects, it also wasn't good enough.

Like a petulant child.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 20th, 2013 at 6:32pm

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 20th, 2013 at 6:26pm:

Dear Longy,
these questions for us?

eg

NO GST on online sales

etc

I'd like answers to all the questions:

just consult your copy of Real Solutions!

Post by Bam on Aug 20th, 2013 at 9:29pm
Another issue that appears to be forbidden: removing bracket creep in the PAYE tax system by indexing the tax brackets.

Without indexation, bracket creep slowly causes PAYE taxpayers to pay a greater percentage of their income in tax over time. For average incomes, this adds up to a couple of hundred dollars of extra tax every time there's a pay rise.

Example: Someone earning $60,000 pays $11,047 tax (18.4%). A 3% pay rise gives $61,800, with tax of $11,632 (18.8%). Note the higher percentage: this is bracket creep. If the tax brackets were indexed, the percentage of tax at the new pay level would be the same 18.4% - the tax would then be $11,378 - $254 less. This extra $254 tax is the extra tax that is paid due to bracket creep.

Same example, $150,000: tax = $43,447 (29.0%). 3% pay rise: $154,500, tax = $45,112 (29.2%). Tax on $154,500 at 29.0% = $44,750 ($362 less).

This is why most "tax cuts" are actually not real; they are just returning the proceeds of bracket creep. Both major parties do this because tax cuts are popular and few people know enough about bracket creep to know the truth. Thus, we will not see tax indexation discussed by either major party.

Post by Bam on Aug 20th, 2013 at 10:43pm

If you're thinking of the top tax rate for PAYE taxpayers, it's 47%. There are other taxes that increase this:
* Medicare levy (1.5%) - unless exempt.
* Medicare levy surcharge (1.5%) - if applicable.
* HECS or FEE-HELP repayments (8%) - if applicable.

Total: 58%.
In practice, the Medicare levy surcharge is easy to avoid and the amount of the HECS repayments on this level of income will clear any HECS debt in a few years, so it is unusual to see anyone paying this top rate. The most commonly seen top rate of tax would be 48.5%.

This does not include the forthcoming increase to the Medicare levy to fund the NDIS.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 21st, 2013 at 8:34am
Good posts Bam,

most of the questions are about tax.
We must have the most complicated tax structure in the world.

The Pollys certainly don't want to talk about it in this election.

Post by aquascoot on Aug 21st, 2013 at 11:01am

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 15th, 2013 at 4:41pm:

and their relationship to the Catholic church!

;) ;) IS THE POPE MOBILE ELECTRIC?
IS THE VATICAN AN INVESTMENT PROPERTY?

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 21st, 2013 at 12:29pm
Tonight's debate will allow both leaders a chance to answer some of the forbidden questions.

I can't wait.

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 21st, 2013 at 12:35pm

Bam wrote on Aug 20th, 2013 at 9:29pm:
Another issue that appears to be forbidden: removing bracket creep in the PAYE tax system by indexing the tax brackets.

Without indexation, bracket creep slowly causes PAYE taxpayers to pay a greater percentage of their income in tax over time. For average incomes, this adds up to a couple of hundred dollars of extra tax every time there's a pay rise.

Example: Someone earning $60,000 pays $11,047 tax (18.4%). A 3% pay rise gives $61,800, with tax of $11,632 (18.8%). Note the higher percentage: this is bracket creep. If the tax brackets were indexed, the percentage of tax at the new pay level would be the same 18.4% - the tax would then be $11,378 - $254 less. This extra $254 tax is the extra tax that is paid due to bracket creep.

Same example, $150,000: tax = $43,447 (29.0%). 3% pay rise: $154,500, tax = $45,112 (29.2%). Tax on $154,500 at 29.0% = $44,750 ($362 less).

This is why most "tax cuts" are actually not real; they are just returning the proceeds of bracket creep. Both major parties do this because tax cuts are popular and few people know enough about bracket creep to know the truth. Thus, we will not see tax indexation discussed by either major party.

tax scale indexation is merely maintaining the status quo and while I agree with it, I understand why it is not automatic.  It allows a govt to claim it is giving you a tax cut when in reality it isn't.

What I therefore find amusing is the oft-repeated and rather humorous claim by lefties that Howards tax cuts were evil and rewarding high-earners etc,  They were largely nothing more than indexation cuts and therefore not really cuts at all.

Labor will never support indexation as it would automatically give tax cuts to the evil, oppressive high income earners which they hate with a passion.

The last govt to have indexation was a liberal one.

Post by BigOl64 on Aug 21st, 2013 at 1:24pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 21st, 2013 at 12:29pm:
Tonight's debate will allow both leaders a chance to answer some of the forbidden questions.

I can't wait.

For a person who has not even brought your concerns to his local candidates, it would be foolish in the extreme to expect anyone else, including the party leaders to even be aware of your stupid list.

These topis are not forbidden, they have not even been brought to the attention of any political party.

Ya friggen genius.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 21st, 2013 at 1:34pm

BigOl64 wrote on Aug 21st, 2013 at 1:24pm:

I can't wait.

For a person who has not even brought your concerns to his local candidates, it would be foolish in the extreme to expect anyone else, including the party leaders to even be aware of your stupid list.

These topis are not forbidden, they have not even been brought to the attention of any political party.

Ya friggen genius.

Listen here BigOl,
we have received zero detail from both sides about all the above issues.
It's not democratic - vote for a party where you don't have a clue about what their policies are.

I've read through Real Solutions & there is  hardly anything there except for this:

Work_for_the_dole_+_workchoices_017.jpg (140 KB | 33 )

Post by BigOl64 on Aug 21st, 2013 at 1:44pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 21st, 2013 at 1:34pm:

I can't wait.

Ya friggen genius.

Listen here BigOl,
It's not democratic - vote for a party where you don't have a clue about what their policies are.

I've read through Real Solutions & there is  hardly anything there except for this:

You got zero detail because you asked for zero detail. You have not sent any correspondance to your cadidates to the parties involved; what the bugger did you expect?

I  and thousands of other Australians write or email our local members to have policies clarified or to voice our concerns about different issues and always recieve a reply; you have done nothing and expect your 'message' to be recieved through osmosis or some other phychic method.

bugger, pick up a pen and write a letter or send a fvcken email and stop whinging about something that is your fault.

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 21st, 2013 at 3:02pm

BigOl64 wrote on Aug 21st, 2013 at 1:44pm:

Bobby. wrote on Aug 21st, 2013 at 1:34pm:

I can't wait.

Ya friggen genius.

Listen here BigOl,

You got zero detail because you asked for zero detail. You have not sent any correspondance to your cadidates to the parties involved; what the bugger did you expect?

I  and thousands of other Australians write or email our local members to have policies clarified or to voice our concerns about different issues and always recieve a reply; you have done nothing and expect your 'message' to be recieved through osmosis or some other phychic method.

bugger, pick up a pen and write a letter or send a fvcken email and stop whinging about something that is your fault.

another thought obviously not occurring to booby is that parties tend not to discuss topics where they both agree.  both parties support negative gearing ergo they don't campaign on it.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 21st, 2013 at 7:41pm
I watched the debate..

Out of the:

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.
(16) Electric Cars
(24) Homelessness.
(25) Housing costs.

Rudd  touched on (24) homelessness.
He has been trying his hardest.....
That's all we got.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 30th, 2013 at 6:01pm
The debates did touch on a number of the forbidden topics which I have highlighted.
I added (28) as we still don't know.

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.
(16) Electric Cars
(19) Selling off whole suburbs to the Chinese.
(24) Homelessness.
(25) Housing costs.
(28) Abbott's cuts.

Looks like people will be heading to the polling booths blind.

What an indictment of our sick democracy.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 1st, 2013 at 12:51pm
The highlighted topics above where the ones touched on.

Post by longweekend58 on Sep 1st, 2013 at 4:08pm
Why aren't you complaining that Labor aren't planning to get rid of negative gearing?

Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 1st, 2013 at 4:22pm

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 1st, 2013 at 4:08pm:
Why aren't you complaining that Labor aren't planning to get rid of negative gearing?

A reader questions my intentions.

From the opening post - is there a secret agreement between
the parties not to discuss these topics?

Post by Uncle John on Sep 1st, 2013 at 4:34pm
Any topic that involves telling the truth must surely be forbidden by every party.  :-X

Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 1st, 2013 at 4:44pm

wrote on Sep 1st, 2013 at 4:34pm:
Any topic that involves telling the truth must surely be forbidden by every party.  :-X

Yes - qualification for a politician:

you must be a professional bare faced liar.

Post by longweekend58 on Sep 1st, 2013 at 8:42pm

Bobby. wrote on Sep 1st, 2013 at 4:22pm:

and you wonder why people say you are paranoid....

Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 2nd, 2013 at 6:54am

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 1st, 2013 at 8:42pm:

That's the first time anyone has said that.

Longy - you are such a terrible fibber that you won't go to heaven.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 4th, 2013 at 6:12pm

Bobby. wrote on Aug 30th, 2013 at 6:01pm:
The debates did touch on a number of the forbidden topics which I have highlighted.
I added (28) as we still don't know.

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.
(16) Electric Cars
(24) Homelessness.
(25) Housing costs.
(28) Abbott's cuts.

Looks like people will be heading to the polling booths blind.

What an indictment of our sick democracy.

Less than  3 days to go & Abbott still hasn't released his costings.

Abbotts costings  must be the greatest forbidden topic -
at least by the Libbos.
How can anyone vote for him if he avoids any scrutiny?

Post by longweekend58 on Sep 4th, 2013 at 6:14pm

Bobby. wrote on Sep 2nd, 2013 at 6:54am:

a LOT of people say you are paranoid.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 4th, 2013 at 6:16pm

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 4th, 2013 at 6:14pm:

Who says that?

Don't make up stories Longy.

Everyone has a right to be paranoid of a man who won't tell you his costings
but wants you to vote for him.

What is Abbott hiding?

Post by longweekend58 on Sep 4th, 2013 at 6:23pm

Bobby. wrote on Sep 4th, 2013 at 6:16pm:

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 4th, 2013 at 6:14pm:

Who says that?

Don't make up stories Longy.

Everyone has a right to be paranoid of a man who won't tell you his costings
but wants you to vote for him.

What is Abbott hiding?

no one gives their costings before Friday before the election. it is standard practice now and exactly what labor has done for the past few elections.  so tell me again why Abbott should do any different?

Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 4th, 2013 at 6:27pm
Abbott should be better than Labor -

he should take the moral high ground

& not get down into the gutter with Labor ideas.

Post by longweekend58 on Sep 4th, 2013 at 7:08pm

Bobby. wrote on Sep 4th, 2013 at 6:27pm:

he needs to win and to do that he need to get past the shallow, dumb morons like you.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 4th, 2013 at 8:47pm

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 4th, 2013 at 7:08pm:

Bobby. wrote on Sep 4th, 2013 at 6:27pm:

he needs to win and to do that he need to get past the shallow, dumb morons like you.

Abbott needs to win in an honest way or he won't have a mandate.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 5th, 2013 at 8:34am
(note: topics highlighted have been touched on)

(1) Negative gearing.
(2) GST on online sales.
(16) Electric Cars
(24) Homelessness.
(25) Housing costs.
(28) Abbott's cuts.

Latest news - Abbott should show his costings today -
less than 48 hours before the election.

Shame on Abbott.

Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 7th, 2013 at 8:24am
The Sydney morning Herald has a similar news item today:

http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/federal-election-2013/lost-in-hype-five-burning-issues-forgotten-in-the-campaign-20130906-2tali.html

And while there is an announcement or policy on almost everything that opens and shuts, the chosen campaign topics mean other worthy issues get barely any attention. Here are five topics that have barely rated a mention in this campaign.

Lost in hype: five burning issues forgotten in the campaign:

TAX REFORM

The Big Picture has struggled to make an appearance, none more so when it comes to tax reform, an issue that will determine the nation's prosperity and how Australians will live. In what has been a scrappy and often negative campaign, a debate over fundamental tax reform never had a chance.

etc  etc

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.