General Discussion >> General Board >> They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1376600954 Message started by imcrookonit on Aug 16th, 2013 at 7:09am |
Title: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by imcrookonit on Aug 16th, 2013 at 7:09am
Plea for meat donations to feed demand
Date August 16, 2013 Food-rescue charities are calling on all butchers and supermarkets to donate their surplus products to help boost the dismal protein levels of Victorians who are simply too poor to eat meat. :( Groups that cook and redistribute food that would otherwise be wasted report they desperately need more meat to cater for low-income families living on nutritionally deficient diets. FareShare, a food-relief agency that on Thursday revealed its new kitchens in Abbotsford, said a proliferation of ''working poor'' families seeking help this year had increased demand. ''Many of the charities that are at the coalface are reporting that people have low-protein and fibre diets, and what we are trying to do is put as much protein and fibre into our meals as possible,'' chief executive officer Marcus Godinho said. For meat, FareShare depends on the 100 Woolworths supermarkets that regularly donate up to 5000 kilograms of red meat and poultry each month - but it is not enough. ''That sounds like a lot, and it is in absolute terms, but we need more,'' Mr Godinho said. He said the agency relies largely on lentil dishes to help provide protein-rich food when the meat donations are low. Foodbank Victoria boss David McNamara said food agencies had reported a 35 per cent increase in demand for food from the same time last year, fuelled predominantly by low-income families. He said changes to the government's single-parent payments had caused many families to seek help for the first time and that for many, meals involving meat were often the first to be taken off the menu. :( ''The one discernible item in a family budget is food … so if you see lamb chops selling for between $40 and $50 a kilo, a working family on a tight budget can't afford that.'' According to figures from food relief agencies, about 370,000 Victorians will experience food insecurity this year - a term used to describe a lack of readily available, safe and nutritious food. :( Read more: http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/plea-for-meat-donations-to-feed-demand-20130815-2rzk9.html#ixzz2c4dcbecv |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 16th, 2013 at 7:33am
Yet more justification for the $50/week No-Start increase.
As if more justification was actually needed. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:04am
Don't start this again, we will have all these knowlegible people out there telling us that its possible to buy a weeks food for $50 or less than 10%
of the newstart allowance. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by mantra on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:08am Quote:
Even those who aren't on a tight budget would rarely spend $50 a kilo on lamb cutlets if they needed meat. Meat and vegetables generally are quite inexpensive at the moment and you can buy some nice cuts of beef at around $10 a kilo if you look for it. Coles sells beef mince now at $5 a kilo if you're desperate. Chicken wings are always around $2 a kilo and chicken breast is about $8 a kilo at the butcher. Obviously it would be extremely difficult to live on the dole - but it's not necessary to spend much on food if you're careful about how you prepare it. Add lots of vegetables to any sort of meat and it can feed you for a few days. There wouldn't be too many families living just on the dole. They get all sorts of allowances now which props it up considerably. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Andrei.Hicks on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:12am mantra wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:08am:
I agree Wholeheartedly with Mantra here. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Innocent bystander on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:41am
They've got no food cos they've blown their dole checks on cigarettes and pokies ... f#ckem! ;D
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:47am Innocent bystander wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:41am:
My God, you're an offensive little pr1ck, aren't you? Go away, get some facts, then come back. But if all you have are false stereotypes and denigration, pyss off! |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:49am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:12am:
Except for one thing: - Quote:
Families, yes. Singles get the dole, maybe some rent assistance and a half-fare concession pass, and nothing else. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by imcrookonit on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:53am
They've got no food cause they blown their dole on. Rent, electricity, telephone, gas, water. Medicine, cloths, petrol, insurance, registration, maintenance. :(
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:00am
probably only one of the 10 you list.
singles don't get any consessions only pensioners get consessions |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:02am wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:53am:
Don't worry Crook - when Abbott wins - meat will be provided. ;) |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:05am Bobby. wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:02am:
now that's a typical labor party comment. labor won't give crap if people are starving. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by imcrookonit on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:05am
Hi bobby. You mean work for the dole rubbish, will be provided?. :(
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:08am wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:05am:
No Crook, Abbott will be standing outside butcher shops handing out scotch fillet to the unemployed. :) |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:09am wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:53am:
ok list some figures of normal bill prices for these expenses, we'll add them up and see wheather $500 a ft night can cover them, plus be able to buy food. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by cods on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:09am
maybe they should sue the govt like some murderer did in Qld and get $3000....for not supplying Halal meat...
easy peasy..what they waiting for?????? ::) ::) ::) |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by cods on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:12am
you know this labor govt that only works for the working families...has been in for 6 looooooooong years and all crook has done is find miserable people to whinge about.. I have not seen one happy post from this character...all doom and gloom....Vic was in labor hands for years as well..surely something good or happy happened in all that time didnt it??????????????????????????
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by imcrookonit on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:12am
Now that, I would like to see. Do you think he will give out some tips, on how to cook them?. ;D
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by cods on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:17am Bobby. wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:08am:
thats strange I thought he was in favor of the unemployed getting up early and catching a bus to employment.. as some seem to think if it isnt within walking distance its not for them |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:18am
Good thread Crook,
I wonder if we'll see the unemployed riot under Abbott? We'll have food riots. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Innocent bystander on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:20am Kat wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:47am:
Geeez whats up with you?, having a bad run on the pokies. ;D |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by imcrookonit on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:23am
Well bobby, its happened overseas has it not?. I'm not saying it will happen here, but you push people too far, and look what happens. :(
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:32am Innocent bystander wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:20am:
The unemployed can't afford to lose even $10 at the pokies. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Innocent bystander on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:32am
This reminds me of that idiotic a current affair story where the pensioners were so poor they had to eat dog food, yeah great story until someone pointed out dog food is dearer than human food ;D
Anyway the charities are under pressure like never before so what do the so called concerned about the poor do, they import 50 000 bogus reffos all of which put even more pressure on charities so even more people go with out haha f#ckwittery reigns supreme ;D |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Peter Freedman on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:33am Innocent bystander wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:20am:
I doubt that. More likely just getting tired of your prejudices and unfunny smart alec responses |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:33am wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:23am:
Yes - we'll be like Greece & Spain - riots in the streets under Abbott. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:34am Bobby. wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:18am:
All you wealthy pricks would love that won't you, a bit of amusing fun to laugh at. gaoled for being unemployed and struggling to survive. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:37am warrigal wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:34am:
Yes the wealthy will enjoy seeing the unemployed clubbed on the head with police batons. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:41am Bobby. wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:37am:
you like that then |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:44am warrigal wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:41am:
No - I think it's outrageous. It happens all the time when there are peaceful protests. The cops lay into people with batons. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:44am cods wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:17am:
now there's a idea, why doesn't that happen, because ignorant people refuse to allow other people to work. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:47am cods wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:17am:
and wfd is not a job. and not a solution, a job is a solution. why doesn't that happen? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by John Smith on Aug 16th, 2013 at 12:03pm
there are lots of stray cats around ... there is simply no excuse for not having enough meat in your diet.
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 16th, 2013 at 12:20pm
Go Vegan....
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 16th, 2013 at 12:25pm
When kangaroos or camels are culled they should give the meat to the unemployed.
At the moment it's wasted. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 16th, 2013 at 12:27pm
rump is very expensive, and won't keep very long if bought in bulk, won't freeze well.
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 16th, 2013 at 12:29pm warrigal wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 12:27pm:
Buy gravy beef, an onoin a stick of cellery, some juicing carrots and make a stew. Or go Vegan |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 16th, 2013 at 12:35pm
and would you limit yourself to a stew diet friyay, I don't think so.
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 16th, 2013 at 12:43pm warrigal wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 12:35pm:
My stews are awesome man, WTF is wrong with stew? I always make a 1 pot wonder every week. Stew Chicken noodle soup My famous Chow Mein A simple mince with carrots, spuds and peas. Cheap, fills you up, feezes well. I always take my own cereal for morning smoko (my breakfast), make simple rolls for lunch etc. ;) |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by cods on Aug 16th, 2013 at 1:13pm Bobby. wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 12:25pm:
no it isnt it goes into pet food../ thats why animals are wormed to often..lol....not sure how the unemployed will react to worming.. but feral meat is full of worms. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by cods on Aug 16th, 2013 at 1:13pm warrigal wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 12:35pm:
if you had no choice.. whats wrong with it?? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by cods on Aug 16th, 2013 at 1:17pm Bobby. wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:32am:
are you suggesting only those that can AFFORD to play them PLAY bobby???...in which case I think you would be v ery very wrong... there should be a law against anyone announcing they are a winner....its all over the papers if someone wins the biggy even Keno.. it makes us all think we stand a chance...if less advertising went on.. it might stop a lot from think they are in with a chance at the biggy,. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 16th, 2013 at 1:19pm cods wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 1:13pm:
Full of worms? - yuck. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Baronvonrort on Aug 16th, 2013 at 1:40pm warrigal wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 12:27pm:
I buy a whole rump for $7.99 per kilo and freeze it, never had any problems. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Innocent bystander on Aug 16th, 2013 at 1:57pm
In some countries the unemployed have to eat worms, fortunately here they can just play pokies instead. ;)
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 16th, 2013 at 2:43pm Innocent bystander wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:20am:
Nope. I don't gamble. It's a mug's game. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 16th, 2013 at 3:36pm mantra wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:08am:
How true Mantra .. how true. It's sad to see that those who whinge the most, do so because they blow their money needlessly on futile things such as cigarettes, alcohol and fastfood. Little wonder govts are considering addressing this issue by monitoring the expenditure of those receiving social security payments. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by John Smith on Aug 16th, 2013 at 3:39pm
I don't care what you all say, you simply do not understand ...
you just cannot buy a bucket of KFC for dinner, McHappy meals for lunch and bacon and egg rolls for breakfast, for the whole family, every day, if you are unemployed or on a pension. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 16th, 2013 at 3:52pm John Smith wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 3:39pm:
Ha! Onya John :P |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 16th, 2013 at 4:19pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 3:36pm:
Why do some people persist with this idea that we should have the right to dictate how they spend their money. I couldn't care less, it's their business, not ours. Despite what some may think. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 16th, 2013 at 4:21pm John Smith wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 3:39pm:
Seen the prices at KFC recently? I doubt they could afford a family feed there once a fortnight... |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Innocent bystander on Aug 16th, 2013 at 4:48pm Kat wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 4:19pm:
Oh OK so if they want to buy drugs instead of feed the kids you're fine with that? ::) |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 16th, 2013 at 4:57pm Innocent bystander wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 4:48pm:
Well, considering the fact that the majority don't, yes. Deal with it on a case-by-case basis, if and when necessary, or not at all. Punishing all unemployed because of a small minority is NOT acceptable. The unemployed are not sub-human, nor are they in ANY way inferior to you or me, or any less deserving. Some of you need to accept that. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 16th, 2013 at 5:01pm John Smith wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 3:39pm:
Anyone who eats that overpriced rubbish needs to get their head checked. The food is of poor quality and very costly when compared to home grown and home cooked meals. If you are truly struggling financially, then keep well away from such revolting overpriced and poor quality foods. You'll be doing your health and wallet huge favours. Fact! |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Quantum on Aug 16th, 2013 at 5:51pm Kat wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 4:19pm:
Money given is different to money earned. An employer can't tell an employee how to spend their money because they have worked for it. A government can put conditions onto money it gives out. All government payments are conditional anyway. You can't get an aged pension if you are 20. You can't get newstart if you have a full time job. Putting a condition of how much money you can receive as spendable cash and how much will come as some form of voucher is in no way wrong or radical. It is just the terms given to anyone wanting something off the government. Considering the government tells people already how to spend their money (as in; this is how much of your money you are going to give to the government in the form of taxes and Levies), then telling people who are given money to live off to actually spend that money on things you need to live with is hardly shocking. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 16th, 2013 at 6:12pm Quantum wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 5:51pm:
Really? And who made this rule? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by longweekend58 on Aug 16th, 2013 at 6:16pm wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 7:09am:
but I will bet they have money for a smartphone... for every member of the family and an xbox, ipad and booze. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by longweekend58 on Aug 16th, 2013 at 6:17pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 6:12pm:
government. and why shouldn't they? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 16th, 2013 at 6:26pm longweekend58 wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 6:17pm:
Did they? Want to show us all? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 16th, 2013 at 6:57pm longweekend58 wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 6:16pm:
You can get a smartphone for under $80. Almost an essential if you are job-hunting. Second-hand X-Boxes are cheap, as are games. An Android tablet (as good as an iPad) is less than $100. A six-pack is what? $15?. $20 for a six-pack of alcopops? None of these are choices you or I should have the right to make for others. Unemployed or not. Do you begrudge the poor EVERYTHING? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by ian on Aug 16th, 2013 at 7:12pm
There are no poor people in Australia, just people who cant manage their money.
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Quantum on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:24pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 6:12pm:
The government gives the money in a form of a voucher, therefore limiting the spending of the payment to only that which the government has designated the payment for. The government already does that right now for a variety of things. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by John Smith on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:30pm Kat wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 4:21pm:
$24 for a 9 piece bucket with 2 serves of chips, a gravy, 6 nuggets and 6 dinner rolls. I actually don't mind some every now and then, my comment was sarcastic ... having said that though, I know many people who complain they cannot afford food, and yet buy take away 5 times a week .... I don't care what it costs, it always costs less if you buy cook it yourself. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:51pm
And it tastes better, especially if you grow a few of your own veges, as I do...
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by John Smith on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:55pm Kat wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:51pm:
I miss the taste of fresh chicken meat .... I can't keep any where I am .... even fresh eggs have much more flavour |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:45pm
I don't think you can grow too much produce for yourself if you live in a 1 bedroom flat, or in your car for that matter.
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Innocent bystander on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:49pm Kat wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:51pm:
You are a veggie mate ;D |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by True Blue... on Aug 16th, 2013 at 10:20pm Kat wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 4:19pm:
because its not THEIR money... its MY money that I gave to them to feed their families... not drink beers, smoke cigarette or put down the poker machines... >:( the unemployed should only get food stamps... as for meat.. so smacking what... Australians are a bunch of fat bastards who need to lose weight... and to lose weight you need to eat less saturated fats that come out of MEAT... go vegetarian and eat meat on special occasions like family BBQ's etc... you'll appreciate and enjoy it more anyways... |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by life_goes_on on Aug 16th, 2013 at 10:41pm True Blue... wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 10:20pm:
Then demand that they all don't spend that twentieth of a cent that you contribute to each of them via your taxes each year on anything but the necessities. I'm sure they'd be only too pleased to comply. As for my twentieth of a cent they get? Go nuts, guys and gals.... |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 16th, 2013 at 10:56pm Life_goes_on wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 10:41pm:
Yep! Their lives are generally miserable enough as it is, how dare some of us sit here thinking of ways to make it even worse. And no, True Blue. once it's in their bank, it IS THEIR MONEY and we should have NO say in how they spend it. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 16th, 2013 at 11:00pm ... wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:45pm:
Well, I have a 1-bedroom unit (not a flat) and I manage to grow sufficient for my needs. Several of my neighbours do likewise, and we share the produce, as we don't all grow the same things. As to a car, I wouldn't know, as I do not, and have not, lived in one. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by True Blue... on Aug 16th, 2013 at 11:15pm Kat wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 10:56pm:
bullshit.. why would their lives be miserable? get off your asses and make something of your lives... low socioeconomic breed this low socioeconomic bullshit excuses that somehow the world owes them a living... not one of the lazy fvckers could or would grow a vegetable like a tomato or potato to help feed their families.. no more excuses.. get off our lazy asses and work some... get onto Tony Abbotts green schemes and be "useful" for once in your pathetic lives... do some "work", do it for someone else and not because you have to... you may just feel good about yourself... feel the "self worth" ... be productive... stop asking for an extra $50 a week like some pathetic beggar... if you want an extra $50 then find a way to work for it and "EARN" it... you may just feel better about yourself... you family may just feel better about you... have some pride.. have some self respect... get off you fat lazy ass and your children may come to even respect ou for doing so.. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by life_goes_on on Aug 16th, 2013 at 11:18pm Quote:
Correct. Dumb c-nts that think one or more of three things. 1. Everybody, or even the majority on government payouts is a bludger, cheat, abuses or is out to exploit the system. 2. That somehow they pay for everybody. 4. That everybody holds the same opinion as them. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 16th, 2013 at 11:42pm True Blue... wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 11:15pm:
I feel fine about myself. I work, both paid and as a volunteer, and I pay tax. I've nothing to be ashamed of. My circumstances have no bearing or relevance to my support for the No-Start rate being increased to something approaching realistic. The current amount they get is anything but. Oh, and as a part of my volunteer job, I get to supervise the odd WfD participant. Funny, but they're nothing like how they're portrayed by the 'antis' on here. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Spot of Borg on Aug 17th, 2013 at 6:46am John Smith wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:30pm:
While in theory that sounds right theres always the cost of electricity to store it in a fridge and cook it and takeaway is usually starchy so will fill ppl up more even if it is supposedly bad. SOB |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 17th, 2013 at 7:21am cods wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 1:13pm:
but the unemployed person shouldn't have No choice, that's the point in a society that can and will provide welfare payments to the poor or non working people. no one should have to live like this. and if they do it means there is a catistropic failure in our society to care about its people. topic. no meat to eat. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 17th, 2013 at 7:28am True Blue... wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 11:15pm:
well true blue you bastard if you don't like your tax payers money being used so a unemployed person can try to survive, well then provide them with a job. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by True Blue... on Aug 17th, 2013 at 8:08am warrigal wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 7:28am:
oh dear lord... ;D ;D ;D ;D listen, you've missed my point...I don't begrudge people on welfare getting a few bucks to live but it pisses me off when I see it being wasted on smokes, alcohol, tattoos, excessive mobile phone usage... what's that got to do with surviving? if you can buy all of those things then you are obviously getting too much money... and you see it all of the time... my daughter is at home raising her daughter but she knits things and sells them for extra money... she has never asked for a raise in welfare like some of the bludgers on here.... for the long term unemployed there are free courses that you can do to improve your chances of getting a job... get off your lazy asses and go do them... I have literally done hundreds of courses throughout my life... some maybe considered worthless as to getting employment but you need to keep your mind active and sharp... if people see that you are willing to participate in courses and you have passed them it shows that you are willing, and can, to learn a new job... if you want to see more employment in Australia then don't vote Labor... immigrants will get your job... don't vote Labor who brought in the Carbon Tax that have made our manufacturing industry uncompetitive and who are now closing down... and this is the thing... even your vote could lead to you getting employed again... but some of the beggars on here who are trying to scrounge an extra $50 welfare vote for parties and polices (stupid greens and labor) that will see millions of Australians out of work... it is beyond belief that they would sabotage themselves in this way... :o |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 17th, 2013 at 8:30am
true blue this topic is not about wasted money on cigarettes, alcohol etc, its about people not being unable to afford to buy meat.
oh and we are not just asking for an extra $50 in the dole payment, we are asking for something a bit more valuable to us, respect. it means a lot. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by True Blue... on Aug 17th, 2013 at 8:32am warrigal wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 8:30am:
I know that... give up the fags and booze and you will be able to buy more food.. it's not rocket surgery... :o and who says you have to eat a stack of meat anyways... ? in the past week the only meat that I've had is half a chicken parma.. and wow... I miraculously survived the week without dying ... :o |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 17th, 2013 at 8:33am warrigal wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 8:30am:
All topics move on and evolve as posts generate. Just have a quick look at all the "off topic" nonsense posted in this one .. you'll note that some of it has been posted by yourself. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 17th, 2013 at 8:38am True Blue... wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 8:32am:
I don't smoke or drink alcohol, neither do the people talked about in this post. they still can't afford to buy meat. fact. after a facts needs to come a solution. and just telling them they are mis mangering there money isn't a solution. your comments about employment and political partys, polical partys don't make employment available , people do, people get other people jobs. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by The Heartless Felon on Aug 17th, 2013 at 8:44am Soylent Green...yum! |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 17th, 2013 at 9:22am Quantum wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:24pm:
Vouchers are not money. They have monetary value, however, they are not money. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 17th, 2013 at 9:32am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 9:22am:
Same diff. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 17th, 2013 at 9:37am Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 9:32am:
In that case, you would have no problem at all if your employer paid you in vouchers? "Same diff", right? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Quantum on Aug 17th, 2013 at 9:50am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 9:37am:
No, because the employer has no right to dictate what their employees buy with their wage. They earned the money, end of story. If the government is going to financially help people it has ever right to specify how those finances will be used. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 17th, 2013 at 9:54am Quantum wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 9:50am:
Yes, they earned the "money". Vouchers aren't money. Quantum wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 9:50am:
Why? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:07am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 9:54am:
The only 'justification' for vouchers or food-stamps is to visibly separate, denigrate and discriminate against the unemployed for NO valid reason but that they are unemployed. It helps no-one, and is punitive, vindictive and discriminatory. The suggestion should be categorically rejected whenever it rears its ugly head. Becoming unemployed does not mean you automatically lose the ability to manage your money, and it is patronising and offensive in the extreme to claim such as fact. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:19am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 9:37am:
I WORKED, PAID TAX and EARNED my money. If someone GIVES ME A HANDOUT .. then they also have the right to tell me how they want it used. 2 very different scenarios. It's quite sad that you can't grasp this .. or is it that you just don't want to? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:22am Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:19am:
Yes, 2 very different scenarios: vouchers are not money. Glad you finally agree. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:23am Kat wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:07am:
Nice answer, Kat. Still waiting for one from Quantum ... |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:33am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:22am:
Ahh right, so it's denial AND poor comprehension on YOUR part. By all means .. do carry on. I'll check back later (to see just how severe your condition is). |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by cods on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:41am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 9:22am:
yes they are money...and yes people do sell them for cash..at less value of course...but a voucher cannot be used for anything like smokes or grog.. but once they have sold a $50 voucher for $40 .. then they can then buy the ciggies and grog. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:44am Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:33am:
Are you still trying to argue that vouchers and money are, as you so wonderfully described it, "same diff"? Are you really, Lisa? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by muso on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:45am
You don't need meat to increase your protein intake. Nuts, chick peas, soya beans, eggs and lentils are all excellent sources of protein. I've been a vegetarian for many years and my protein intake is fine.
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:51am muso wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:45am:
Correct. Humans do not need meat in order to obtain optimum protein levels. Moreover, the alternatives are cheaper. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:54am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:51am:
.. and healthier. Goodo, we all agree! |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:57am Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:54am:
Absolutely! |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Quantum on Aug 17th, 2013 at 11:53am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:44am:
This is why no one bothers to discuss anything with you Greggery, because there is nothing to actually discuss. All you do is try to grab one word and then make an issue out of it. This time it is the case of what is actually money. Governments help people financially in one of three ways. 1: They give a service at a massively reduced cost or even for free. 2: They put money directly into someone's bank account (or give cash, but I believe this has now stopped for everything now.) 3: They give some form of voucher or cheque that can only be used at certain locations or for certain items/services. Your entire argument for several pages now is that the third one is not actually money but only something that has monetary value. How is that technicality got anything to do with whether governments can control the financial assistance that they give? Of course no government can control how someone spends their money. To do so would require hiring someone to follow around the welfare receiver to monitor and control ever cent they spend. It is an impossibility which defies common sense. Of course the control on how people spend their money would have to be in the form of vouchers or through some form of card that has restrictions on it. Whether a government can do that or should do that in regards to the dole has nothing to do with what technically constitutes as "money". Whenever the discussion about some form of food voucher has been discussed as a way to avoid people on welfare spending their money on things that are not helpful, people such as Kat have argued that the government has no right to tell people how to spend their money. In fact my first post was in reply to this; "Why do some people persist with this idea that we should have the right to dictate how they spend their money." see the highlighted word? "Money". So why didn't you run in and say; "Actually Kat, if the government was to control what people spend by changing how they financially assist people it would not technically be money any more. Therefore the government would not actually be telling people how they spend their money, they would just be giving them a different form financial assistance. After all, if they gave them for example food vouchers instead, they would not be controlling how they spend their money. That is because as we all know, a voucher isn't actually money". But of course you would never do that. It is only when people respond to that position that you have this need to pull the conversation off to avoid actually dealing with the heart of the discussion. There are some people on this forum that drag conversations off topic because they are idiots. You're not an idiot. You look down at others and treat them like idiots, but you self are clearly not like some of the morons on here who can't understand the simplest of points. Why do you therefore drag topics off over stupid little things that have nothing to do with the point being made? What joy do you get in just smacking up discussions without any goal to achieve? No one but you and a couple of dribbling feet clapping fools ever finds this from of discussion impressive. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 18th, 2013 at 7:36am
remarkable how this topic have charged from availability to buy meat to what welfare recipents receive and how they use it.
someone posted here that a employer has no right to tell a employee how to spend the money they get in wages. so why then should a tax payer have any right to tell a welfare recipient who to spend there money. its seems thats ok for one but not the others. No don't provide a food voucher, provide a food supply to the welfare recipient on top of there welfare payments, but this would only ever to able to be done by welfare charities, because our governments at federal, state and local and their workers would be too busy sitting on there arse with the I don't care about people principle to be able too do anything to help anyone out. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Bam on Aug 18th, 2013 at 12:57pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:51am:
The trouble is, being forced to embrace a vegetarian lifestyle because income support is manifestly inadequate is not something that a free society should tolerate. That's the whole point. However, that doesn't mean that steaks should remain on the menu if money is tight. There's been quite good suggestions here already. Eggs can be purchased 30 for $4 if one knows where to go. Chicken wings can be had for $2 a kilo. Beans can substitute for meat in pasta sauce. Do not buy pre-packaged supermarket meat of any kind (even if you're on a good income) because that's far too expensive. Stick to a budget and never go food shopping with more than $20. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by True Blue... on Aug 18th, 2013 at 1:21pm Life_goes_on wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 10:41pm:
twentieth of one cent? well f**k me dead... i'd better call the tax office and ask for my well over $10,000 back then... I just knew they had been ripping me off all these years.. >:( ::) ::) ::) |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 18th, 2013 at 2:32pm warrigal wrote on Aug 18th, 2013 at 7:36am:
They don't seem to have an answer to that particular question. Still waiting though ... |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 18th, 2013 at 2:36pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 9:37am:
Oh yes peccer, very similar..... ::) Ease up on those semantics dude, they make you look silly when an arguement breaks out. ;D ;D |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 18th, 2013 at 2:46pm Quantum wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 9:50am:
Why is that? I asked you this before, but you didn't answer. Perhaps you didn't see my post. So, what's the rationale behind this belief of yours? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 18th, 2013 at 2:57pm
I'd restrict what the vouchers can be exchanged for as well.
And no Tatts when your on welfare. I'd also like to some regimented drug testing, no drugs when your on welfare. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 18th, 2013 at 3:00pm FriYAY wrote on Aug 18th, 2013 at 2:57pm:
So, do you agree with Quantum's statement then? "If the government is going to financially help people it has ever right to specify how those finances will be used." If so, what's the rationale behind your view? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by muso on Aug 18th, 2013 at 3:10pm
You know what a lot of this comes down to? Attitude. Sure, you can say that you are helpless and expect other people to help you out all the time, or you can start thinking "What can I do to help myself?"
Attitude. Watch this video and then dare to feel sorry for yourself. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gc4HGQHgeFE&list=PL5D54479884B09C70 |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 18th, 2013 at 3:23pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 18th, 2013 at 3:00pm:
There are some lifestyle choices that welfare should not fund. Especially the use of illicit drugs. I'm not advocating total control of funds, but i agree that everything should be done to ensure $$ are spent of welfare, not selfish lifestyle choices. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by muso on Aug 18th, 2013 at 3:33pm
I don't have a problem with applying the idea of vouchers to the long term unemployed, but where would you draw the line? If a person has been working and paying taxes for say 30 years without missing a beat and they found themselves temporarily out of work, would you then impose stringent conditions on them? They could make the argument that their own temporary welfare was self-financed.
Usually their Superannuation would be locked up until they are a certain age, so that's not normally an option. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 18th, 2013 at 4:07pm muso wrote on Aug 18th, 2013 at 3:33pm:
Individual cases might need adjustments. When i was forced on to the dole for a short period i self regulated...."luxuries" came a distant last on the shopping list.....some people might need help prioritising ;) |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 18th, 2013 at 7:28pm muso wrote on Aug 18th, 2013 at 3:33pm:
Why? Being long-term u/e doesn't mean you're an idiot, nor does it turn you into one. You don't lose 20 or 30 years worth of being able to manage your finances simply because you can't get a job. Controlling the income/benefits of the long-term unemployed, simply because they ARE, is not reasonable or acceptable. On the contrary, it's counter-productive and discriminatory in the extreme. As I've stated previously, deal with the issue on a case-by-case basis, based on referrals from child welfare agencies and/or the police. Otherwise, butt out. And leave their cash payments alone... |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by John Smith on Aug 18th, 2013 at 7:33pm Kat wrote on Aug 18th, 2013 at 7:28pm:
Because of the many that abuse the system .... why do we have gun control? Not everyone is going to shoot someone. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 18th, 2013 at 7:34pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 18th, 2013 at 2:46pm:
I trust that principle also works in reverse - If I'm going to financially help the government, I have every right to specify how those finances will be used. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:10am John Smith wrote on Aug 18th, 2013 at 7:33pm:
But there are NOT 'many' who abuse the system. They are a very small minority. But this is the lie the conservatives continue to push because the gullible gobble it up. And I fail to see how you can equate the dole with gun-control. The unemployed don't kill people, any more than workers do. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by muso on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:33am Kat wrote on Aug 18th, 2013 at 7:28pm:
I'm not implying anything about your personal situation. I don't know and it's not relevant. It's all about pulling your weight. Maybe it is a small minority, but the rationale is that if I've been working all my life and paying tax, I'd take exception to bludgers, young or old drawing the dole and for example spending their life surfing at Broome. There are examples where they pool their dole, share a house for next to nothing per person, smoke drugs and drink alcohol. In that post, I gave the example of a person who found themselves out of work after having contributed to the system, so I agree that some kind of assessment is necessary and it should be managed on a case by case basis. I presume that Centerlink would assess cases individually anyway, but for the more extreme cases, enough is enough. It all comes down to attitude. Anybody could find a gainful employment if they just apply themselves. If they can't find paying employment, there is the option of becoming a volunteer. Any kind of work is a stepping stone to full time employment. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:39am muso wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:33am:
You sure we're not talking about envy here? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:43am muso wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:33am:
OK, Muso, I misunderstood your comment, and I do agree with your last comment, by and large. In fact, I'm actually one of the under-employed, I have paid work but it isn't constant, and I do perform volunteer work the rest of the time. Can't abide just sitting around doing nothing, and, perhaps naturally, tend to assume others are like-minded. Most are, but I don't deny the existence of a minority who aren't. Which is why I suggested case-by-case handling of the matter. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 19th, 2013 at 9:34am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:39am:
Do you think the government should try and stop people spending welfare on illicit drugs? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 19th, 2013 at 9:36am FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 9:34am:
Through education? Most certainly. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 19th, 2013 at 10:26am
kjnknjkknkjn
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 19th, 2013 at 10:32am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 9:36am:
Exactly. Educate them that if they fail drugs testing they lose their welfare. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Spot of Borg on Aug 19th, 2013 at 10:45am FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 10:32am:
And so the 95% of honest ppl should have to front up for the indignity of drug testing? And the expense too. they brought it in an america and only caught a handful of ppl and it cost them a packet to do the testing. Of course thats why its even being thought of here anyway - the yanks did it. SOB |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 19th, 2013 at 10:57am Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 10:45am:
I don't care what the yanks did. Do you think we should give people welfare and let them spend it on drugs? Where do your statistics come from? Indignity!!! People have drug tests at work all the time, even in your car. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:03am FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 10:32am:
No, I certainly couldn't condone a draconian policy like that. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:16am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:03am:
Oh how draconian - stopping people from using welfare payments to break the law. ::) just terrible.... |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:16am FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 10:57am:
What are your policy parameters? Do you just want to stop them spending the money on illicit drugs, and that's all? Would alcohol and cigarettes be OK? What about entertainment? Can they go to the cinema? If so, are they allowed to see violent films, or just G-rated Disney flicks? Would you allow them to spend their money on tickets to a Nickelback concert, or just Michael Buble? Can they spend their money on junk food? What about ice creams: can they buy their kids an ice cream? Coke? What about bottled water? :-/ |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:18am FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:16am:
Would you also stop people who are not on welfare from using their money to break the law? If not, why not? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:25am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:16am:
Spending welfare payment breaking the law would be top of my list. I'd gradually rule out cigarettes as well. Alcohol could be looked at in future. And a facial metal detector test as well - people on unemployment should be made look employable. You rock up looking like a half dead vombie with a face full of matal - you're just not having as go. If you buy bottled water you're a dam drop kick... ;D ;D |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:29am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:18am:
It's not legal for anyone to buy and use certain drugs - you do know that.....don't you? The laws are already in place. :o |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:39am FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:29am:
So, you're telling me that nobody breaks the law? Really? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:42am FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:25am:
Unless, of course, you want a job at JB HiFi. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:57am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:39am:
Where on earth did i say that? Welfare payments should not be used to purchse and use illegal drugs. And every means should be used to ensure it does not happen, including drug testing. Do drugs = no welfare - simple. Do you have a point to make, at all.... :-? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by ian on Aug 19th, 2013 at 1:16pm
I beleive some US states are already drug testing welfare recipients. If we did that here we would cut our dole bill by 2 thirds.
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 19th, 2013 at 2:05pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:03am:
No, and those who do deserve to be removed from the gene-pool. By whatever means necessary... >:( |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Spot of Borg on Aug 19th, 2013 at 2:35pm FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:57am:
Here in australia we are supposed to be presumed innocent. Subjecting so many ppl to drug tests when the majority are not using drugs is ridiculous and a violation of their rights. Should we test EVERYONE for drugs regardless if they are on the dole? SOB |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Postmodern Trendoid on Aug 19th, 2013 at 2:38pm
The unemployed should be able to spend tax payer's money how ever they want. This is progress.
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 19th, 2013 at 2:53pm Kat wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 2:05pm:
You want to kill me, because i think welfare should be spent on welfare and not ICE. How utterly pathetic of you. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 19th, 2013 at 2:54pm
This thread almost seems like a competition to see who can concoct the dumbest scheme to punish the unemployed.
I can't pick a clear winner yet, but keep it up, you're all still in the hunt for the coveted title. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Innocent bystander on Aug 19th, 2013 at 3:00pm ... wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 2:54pm:
Having to go into centrelink and sit with all the bogans is punishment enough, if that doesn't make you want to get a job nothing will. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 19th, 2013 at 3:01pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 2:35pm:
Presumption of innocence has nothing to do with it FFS. Back up your statistics - AGAIN? Ridiculous comment, try and stay on topic. So you think it's ok for people to be out buying and using ICE when they are on the dole. Unreal..... |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 19th, 2013 at 3:02pm ... wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 2:54pm:
So you think it's Ok to buy ICE with your dole cheque as well. Unreal..... |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by life_goes_on on Aug 19th, 2013 at 3:20pm
Lets say random testing - 6 times a year on average with some being less and some being more.
That's about $30mil for the testing kits alone assuming it's just for the 350,000 Newstart recipients. Throw in another $30mil for the actual administration and training etc. Actually, that's quite reasonable. Very Big Brother-ish, but as far as costs go, it's reasonable. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Spot of Borg on Aug 19th, 2013 at 4:09pm FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 3:01pm:
A dole check wouldn't buy any "ice". Criminals should be in jail but leave the unemployed alone. Just because a lot of drug users are on the dole doesnt mean unemployed ppl are drug users. Thats faulty logic. There are 400k more ppl looking for work than there are jobs. I have posted the stats on that several times. Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Apr 9th, 2013 at 9:31am:
SOB |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 19th, 2013 at 5:18pm ... wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 2:54pm:
They're very good at that, but have yet to come up with one single thing which actually benefits the unemployed. Not one. In the three-four years I've been a member, not one idea that would help the unemployed, beyond the old, tired 'Get a job' and 'bludgers'. It's all abuse and denigration, but notice how petulant they get when I give some back, it's then me who's the worst in the world. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 19th, 2013 at 5:28pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 4:09pm:
Street deals of ICE are cheap, it's rampant in our community and is now taking hold in the local indigenous communities as well. You don't know what you are talking about. So the unemployed should be above the law, are you freaking serious!! Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 4:09pm:
Who are you even responding to here? You're the epitome faulty logic. Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 4:09pm:
So, who dares? You said 95% of welfare recipiants where not on drugs - i asked to see that stats to back it up. ::) ::)........ ffs |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 19th, 2013 at 5:33pm Kat wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 5:18pm:
Poor Kat, always crying for your self... ::) So what part of not taking illegal drugs, not smoking, not drinking alcohol and eating the correct foods do you think will be harmful to the unemployed? Their health would suffer maybe? Their budget, huh? Their extended family, they'd suffer i guess? The trees are blocking your view of the woods man. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:11pm FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 5:33pm:
Well, what sort of reaction did you expect, when you try to tar all unemployed as drug addicts, hey? I'd bet that the percentage of unemployed who do drugs would be actually lower than the general populace. If for no other reason than that they simply couldn't afford it. As long as you (and others) keep trying to drag all the unemployed down to fit your (incorrect) stereotype, you'll get neither sympathy nor agreement from me. No, I don't begrudge an unemployed person the odd foil of pot, and never will. Their lives are miserable enough, they are entitled to their relaxation too, I do not, however, support the use of 'hard' drugs by anyone, employed or not (so don't even go there). And no, I'm not going away... |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by John Smith on Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:24pm Kat wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:10am:
Actually Kat, there are many many many that abuse the system ... I spent 15yrs working in department of housing properties, and I saw it all the time. One house I remember in particular .... I was working on a house whilst at the same time the local radio station decided to hold a fundraiser to help this family with 4 kids under 10. They needed help because a fire in the house a few weeks prior had destroyed most of the kids furniture, clothes and toys. . ... what the radio station failed to mention is that the fire started because mum and dad decided to lock 4 kids (under 10) in one bedroom so they could shoot up with heroin,. The parents passed out cold and after a few hours the kids got bored and found a box of matches to play with. Do you want to bet on where most of that money raised was spent? On the kids new furniture, clothes toys, or on drugs? I'm betting most of it went on more drugs. I'm also betting it wouldn't have taken long before any new furniture was hocked to buy drugs too. My example of the gun control was not because I think unemployed kill people. Most gun owners are good responsible people .... a very small minority abuse gun ownership and yet all gun owners must face tough restrictions. The same with vouchers ... whilst most people spend their money properly, the vouchers protect the families of those that don't. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by John Smith on Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:27pm Kat wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 2:05pm:
because that's less draconian, right? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by John Smith on Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:28pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 2:35pm:
why do they stop for to test for drink driving? Or driving under the influence of drugs? This is no different. You want the benefits that come with driving, you accept the conditions ... you want the benefits that come with the dole, you accept the conditions. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:42pm Kat wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:11pm:
I expected you to address the points i made to you. I never tarred anyone, that's just a lie. You bet the % - just like SOB - facts will do. I'm not stereo typing anyone - more hysterics. The highlighted bit was the only thing on topic......and you agree with me....ffs. As for going away!! No one asked you to - it's not about you Kat, crikey. ::) |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:44pm John Smith wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:28pm:
Don't do it Joan, it only hurts your brain trying to converse with SOB ;) |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 20th, 2013 at 4:00pm Innocent bystander wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 3:00pm:
Unfortunately most unemployed people don't get to go and sit a centrelink, they are just ignored by centrelink in the hope that they will just disappear of the face of the earth. this attitude doesn't solve the problem either. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 21st, 2013 at 10:04am
Figures......
chirp chirp... |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 4:03am warrigal wrote on Aug 20th, 2013 at 4:00pm:
So it comes down to weather a unemployed person can afford to buy their accommodation, and then not be able to afford to buy food, or be able to afford to buy food , but not accommodation, and be forced to live off the generousity of other family members. sad |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by aquascoot on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 5:11am Innocent bystander wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:41am:
:D :D |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by aquascoot on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 5:12am Innocent bystander wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:20am:
;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by aquascoot on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 5:17am Quantum wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 5:51pm:
sounds sensible quantum, the fact pecker disagrees with you means its almost certainly correct :) |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by aquascoot on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 5:19am FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 10:32am:
;) ;) ;) good response, |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by aquascoot on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 5:22am FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:25am:
;) ;) too true, i know one bludger who got F*CK OFF tattooed on his forehead, sort of rules out retail work |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Spot of Borg on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 5:29am John Smith wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:28pm:
Yes it is different. Drink driving kills ppl. Also everyone doesnt have to submit to get their license. SOB |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Spot of Borg on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 5:30am FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:44pm:
Just goes to show I prolly made a point you didnt agree with SOB |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by True Blue... on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 7:05am Innocent bystander wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 3:00pm:
not unless you are a bogan like the rest of them... maybe you haven't realised this yet... :-/ |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 12:45pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 5:30am:
No….you talked crap and never backed it up. As usual….. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Sappho on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 4:41pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 17th, 2013 at 10:54am:
Looks like morons agreeing with morons. Vegetation is neither more or less healthy than meat. It is very difficult to have a consistently healthy diet without animal protein in that diet, although I acknowledge that with the right level of knowledge on food nutrition, it can be done. It is also true that most people lack the nutritional knowledge to live healthily without animal protein. Even the vegetarian quoted here acknowledges that they include animal protein in their diet. We must have protein to survive and the easiest source of protein is derived from animals and their by products. Protein is expensive whether it is it meat or an animal by product. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Sappho on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 4:46pm Sappho wrote on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 4:41pm:
The real tragedy which you seem to have missed is that highly processed products with meat, such as a home brand pie is cheaper than 100 gms of cheap meat, yet both will provide the required protein intake... although the cheap option includes excess fat and fillers that are contributing to obesity. Processed foods must be more expensive than primary produce if we are to have a real impact in reducing obesity. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Winston Smith on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 4:49pm Sappho wrote on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 4:41pm:
Arguably it was our increasing access to meat which fuelled our latest evolutionary escapades, such as having a large and complex brain. I think Humans have decent immune systems too, as orgainisms go. Having meat (richest food source) in our diet has fuelled much of what we are today. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:06am Sappho wrote on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 4:41pm:
Incorrect. Not only is is not "very difficult", it is not even "difficult". It seems the meat industry's protein propaganda has worked very well on you. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:23am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:06am:
Heh. I seem to recall you using a paid-up soy propaganda site to back yourself up on this previously. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:31am ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:23am:
I get my information (and protein) from a variety of sources. I pay most attention to the doctors I visit from time to time. You're free to believe whatever propaganda takes your fancy though. http://goodfoodproject.net/home/resources/what-the-experts-say/protein-what-the-experts-say/ |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by muso on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:49am Sappho wrote on Aug 22nd, 2013 at 4:41pm:
I eat fish and seafood roughly once a week so I could be described better as a Pescetarian, but I could easily go on a strictly vegetarian diet if I wanted to (I don't). You're right. Most people probably do lack the knowledge to live on a vegetarian diet, but the information is readily available. Ignorance is not a huge stumbling block. My motivation was to lower my cholesterol and eat less saturated fats. In the process I learned a great deal about nutrition. I feel much better as a result. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 9:47am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:31am:
There's your problem - diet is an extremely small component of a doctors training. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:06am ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 9:47am:
I don't have a problem. through. "It is very difficult to have a consistently healthy diet without animal protein in that diet " is incorrect. Simple. No problem. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:14am
Health is relative. If youre happy being a skinnyfat weed, then yes vegetarianism is ample.
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:29am ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:14am:
You seem to have a very limited understanding of vegetarianism (and probably veganism). http://www.greatveganathletes.com/bodybuilders http://vegetarianbodybuilder.com/160/178.html Meat industry protein propaganda has a lot to answer for (they make money selling meat, you know). |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 11:16am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:29am:
OZ cricket great Greg Chappell is a vegan. Current OZ opening bowler Peter Siddle is vegetarian. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 11:57am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:29am:
Mmm. And yet, if it was ideal all the top sportspeople would be doing it. They don't because it's very difficult to get high performance without meat, wouldn't you agree? I keep hearing about this "meat propaganda", but I don't recall seeing any, unless you mean those lame "eat lamb on australia day" ads. I guess the best propaganda is that which you don't recognise - Could you help a brutha out and provide some examples of this insdious scourge of propaganda? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by John Smith on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 12:07pm FriYAY wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 11:16am:
maybe if he ate some meat it would put more umph in his bowling ... The way the Aussies are playing at the moment, I wouldn't choose cricketers as an example for vegetarianism. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 12:28pm John Smith wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 12:07pm:
I’ll choose any example I dam want to thanks Joan. Siddle has 167 wickets @ 28.5 at an economy of 2.98 and a strike rate of 57.5 all of which are excellent test cricket statistics. Chappell, regarded as one of our best, made 7000 test runs @ 53.8 and 24000 1st class runs at 52. So that makes my examples pretty pertinent and your reply somewhat maroonic, but true to form….perhaps you need a good steak? Or better still some “brain food”. It’s been fun owning you again, cheers. ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 12:58pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 11:57am:
I'm not saying it's "ideal". I'm saying this statement is incorrect: "It is very difficult to have a consistently healthy diet without animal protein in that diet ". Propaganda examples: - those lame "eat lamb on Australia day" ads. - those lame Sam Neill ads. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 2:43pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 12:58pm:
And I'm saying you're incorrect that the statement is incorrect. If you define 'healthy' as 'healthier than the shittiest, scabbiest, fattest slob' then yes, but I've got more exacting standards. If you can't pull or push your own body weight = not healthy. If you can't run a mile in under 5 minutes = not healthy. And so on, and so forth. Even your own "vegatrain bodybuilder" link endorses animal protein, in the form of eggs. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 2:55pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 2:43pm:
I'm correct. There's nothing I can do about other people's ignorance. Believe what you want to believe. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by John Smith on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 2:58pm FriYAY wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 12:28pm:
seems like you'd had to much cabbage lately ..... the expansion of the gases created in your body seem to be putting pressure on what little brains you have. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 2:59pm
In Australia, those on the dole are complaining that they can't afford to buy/eat meat.
In other countries, the dole doesn't exist and people don't have anything to eat .. let alone meat. Food for thought ( pun intended ). |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 3:10pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 2:43pm:
Do you understand what a vegan is? http://www.greatveganathletes.com/ http://www.livestrong.com/article/367822-is-it-necessary-for-humans-to-eat-animal-protein-to-be-healthy/ Myth: "It is very difficult to have a consistently healthy diet without animal protein in that diet ". |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by imcrookonit on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 3:18pm
In Australia, those on the dole are complaining that they can't afford to buy/eat meat. This is why the people on Newstart ( no start ) need a $50 a week increase. ;)
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 3:19pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 3:10pm:
Do you know what very difficult means? Hint: it doesnt mean impossible. Did you know I was referencing your earlier link, which you have now replaced with another? I'm sure that was becasue you misplaced the link, not becasue you realised too late that it undermined your own argument, so here it is, for you: http://vegetarianbodybuilder.com/160/178.html |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 3:25pm John Smith wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 2:58pm:
LOL I know, I’ll make a pissy little comeback, that will gloss over the fact that FirYAY has owned my poor dumb arse again.. Oh my goodness Joan, it just won’t do. You know the saying – when you find yourself in a hole “STOP DIGGING” ;D ::) ;D ::) ;D |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 3:44pm
Oh my, people are apparently being "owned" in here.
What sad and tragic times some of us must live in. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by muso on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 4:16pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:14am:
This guy is a vegan. To me, vegans are just plain weird, but he seems to survive ok as a "skinnyfat weed" Quote:
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 4:28pm muso wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 4:16pm:
The guy pictured in that link is a closet meat eater. Fact! |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by FriYAY on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 4:48pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 3:44pm:
You mean to make a lame post like yours? I do agree. Get a life LJ…….. :o |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Sappho on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:09pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:06am:
It is correct moron. And if you bothered to keep it in context, you wouldn't be looking so stupid now! As I said... although I acknowledge that with the right level of knowledge on food nutrition, it can be done. It is also true that most people lack the nutritional knowledge to live healthily without animal protein. Now f off and find a preppy to play with. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Sappho on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:26pm muso wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:49am:
Actually I would argue that ignorance is a huge stumbling block. Just thinking back to my V.C.E studies in Human Development and Nutrition gives me an appreciation of how complex it is to ensure that a human body is receiving all the nutrients required where it is that animal protein is not being consumed. The depth of knowledge required on Nutrition alone is quite significant... then you need to know from which plants to get what nutrients and in what quantities... After doing that subject formally in year twelve, all I learnt is that a healthy vegan diet is complex and should be created in consultation with a Nutritionist. That a comprehensive book on Nutrition is required. That a background in Nutrition is required (equivalent to year 12 so you can know what you are talking about) Then there is the matter of motivation or the lack thereof... really, it this 'get what you want when you want' world, the idea of striving in knowledge on Nutrition and spending hours in the kitchen creating nutritional food is a low priority for most people. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Sappho on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:31pm
double post
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Sappho on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:39pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 2:59pm:
Sharpen your pencil next time you want to make a point... You'll have more success. Otherwise, this topic is not about other nations... it's about Australia... so your point is blunt... as per usual. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Deathridesahorse on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:45pm mantra wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:08am:
Exactly: only liberal voters buy the french cutlets! I don't even think they're 50 bucks a kilo are they? The only thing I can think of that is 50 bucks a kilo is dhu-fish! 8-) 8-) |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:50pm muso wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 4:16pm:
You got 1 guy - I got everyone else. :) Perhaps the huge imbalance is because it's very difficult to obtain high performance without animal protein...or perhaps it's because theres no money in sport, or people just aren't interested in gaining an edge. I think you know which one is correct. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:55pm
bump
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by John Smith on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:55pm FriYAY wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 3:25pm:
I'll leave the pissy comeback to you .... do you always get so excited about imaginary things? You haven't owned anything apart from a defective brain. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by John Smith on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:57pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 3:44pm:
as tragic as you may think his life is, it's worse. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:59pm Sappho wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:39pm:
I don't use pencils... so you can bugger off and give your useless advice to someone else who may be desperate and stupid enough to want it. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 6:01pm John Smith wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:57pm:
Well after reading Friyay's lame comeback .. I quickly realised that fact lol ;) |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Sappho on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 6:09pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:59pm:
Which explains why you never do make a valid point. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 6:13pm Sappho wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 6:09pm:
My Mum always did say that I should never argue with the insane. Right now is the time to take that advice. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by muso on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 6:15pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:50pm:
Actually there are quite a few Olympic athletes who are vegetarian or vegan, so if it was that difficult you'd think that they'd take the easier way out. In fact there is a disproportionate number of Olympic athletes in that category. http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/wordofmouth/2012/jul/30/lizzie-armitstead-vegetarian-athletes-olympics-2012 Also from the Australian Institute for Sport: http://www.ausport.gov.au/ais/nutrition/factsheets/special_diets/vegetarian_eating Quote:
Read the section on protein too. It states that all protein needs can be met from vegetable sources. Now maybe you want to take your Don Quixote act a bit further, but the Australian Institute of Sport is a formidable force to tilt at. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Sappho on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 6:16pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 6:13pm:
What ever it takes dumb dumb... The less you engage me, the happier I am. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Deathridesahorse on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 6:18pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:59pm:
Nasty lib voters don't understand that our countries ability to ward off the perils of big city violence depends on a welfare system that provides for market cycles! Actually, they do and pretend they don't :o :o Why would they pretend?? To divide and conquer: separating the country/ governed state into two factions, those opposed to unions and those not opposed to unions, makes it easier to ensure government on the stratagem that groupthink will deliver the ample opportunity to get their hooks into the laws that govern legitimate money making ventures and ACCESS TO TAXPAYER DOLLARS! Economics is a dark art indeed!! THE FAILURE TO ACCOUNT FOR EXTERNALITIES MAKES PEOPLE EAT DIRT AND WAGE ETERNAL WAR==> WAR IS CONDUCTED IN THE ECONOMIC SPHERE!! ::) :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ ::) YEH: GO BEAN COUNTERS- NOTHING GROWS EXPONENTIALLY AND ANTHRAX HAS RENDERED NUCLEAR WEAPONS IMPOTENT? SO, WHERE DO WE GO FROM HERE????? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 6:21pm
Speaking of insanity ....
It must be a full moon tonight. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Deathridesahorse on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 6:22pm
MILITARY COMPLEX SAYS , "...UH OH!!"
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Deathridesahorse on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 6:26pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 6:21pm:
LISA: NOTHING GROWS EXPONENTIALLY! (The rate of a change of an exponential graph is itself exponential! Nuclear Weapons have been proven impotent and greed can no longer hide behind it! This is all fact!) ==> So, what are you going to hide your greedy attitude behind this century?? You can pretend you don't understand what I'm saying all you want: that is why buildings come down to get your dumb baby boomer attention!! :D :D :D :D :D SO- to put it bluntly- it doesn' matter if you avoid me or not because IT'S EVOLUTION BABY! :-* |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 6:33pm
Umm .. I'm Gen X but meh whatever lol.
Dinner time here .. so have a great Friday night everyone! May your fav Rugby League team win! Go the Bunnies!!!! |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Deathridesahorse on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 6:40pm Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 6:33pm:
Lol, have fun being gen x with no nuclear weapons to hide your try-hard greed behind! :D :D Nothing grows exponentially: the game is up and you have run out of stones. Have you heard the one about the American population that stopped travelling the world telling everyone they got da bomb???? :D :D |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 7:24pm muso wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 6:15pm:
I'm not disputing that. I know very well it can. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 7:27pm Quote:
What part of the fact sheet do you think is relevant, or contradictory to my assertions? Perhaps this: Quote:
Several dietary challenges eh? That's sounds like another way of saying it is very difficult. ;) Or this: Quote:
Or even: Quote:
Thanks for digging up that link - you did more to prove my point than I could be bothered doing. Good show. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 7:29pm
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Sappho on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 7:45pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 7:27pm:
Several dietary challenges eh? That's sounds like another way of saying it is very difficult. ;) Or this: Quote:
Or even: Quote:
Thanks for digging up that link - you did more to prove my point than I could be bothered doing. Good show.[/quote] Giggles... I enjoyed that. Nice work Honky. 8-) |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by muso on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:17pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 7:27pm:
The skinnyfat weed part. You were implying that you wouldn't reach peak efficiency on a vegan diet. That was the crux of your argument. You didn't say anything about it being "difficult". The site is stating that there are challenges. Even I have said that it's not entirely a simple matter. Look back my posts. I already stated that most people would not know how to optimise their nutritional regime under a vegetarian or a vegan diet. This site confirms that there are challenges, but certainly supports the view that it's possible. Quote:
The advice they gave in that sheet didn't seem unduly difficult to me. When I started, I used to keep a spreadsheet that showed my dietary inputs, calculated VO2 max etc. Or this: Quote:
You've got to eat a bit more (10%) . Yes. Not difficult. Or even: Quote:
Yep. It can all be done on a spreadsheet. Not difficult. Quote:
What it did among other things was to confirm my argument by illustrating that vegetarian and vegan diets are becoming very popular among athletes - so popular in fact that the AIS is providing advice on how to maximise the benefits. Eating excessive red meat loaded with saturated fats actually dulls the senses. A lot of the benefits are mental rather than physical. Does this mean that a vegetarian diet is automatically healthier? Of course not. You could max out on fried chips, chocolate and even get high cholesterol from coconut fat. The key factor is control. Let's face it - Skinnyfat weed has been blown out of the water. By the way, how do you keep your magnesium levels up if you eat too much meat? I guess you'd have to take supplements. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:27pm muso wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:17pm:
I don't need to imply that - I'll say that outright. Anything you can achieve on a vegan diet can be bettered without restrictions. muso wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:17pm:
Actually, I've used that exact phrase at least 3 times. It's based on this: Quote:
Greggery seems to think it's an incorrect statement, whereas I say it is true and correct. That's the argument. The fact I italicised those words each time should have given you some idea that it was an important phrase. Never mind, substitute my argument for one of your own to save face, if you must. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Kat on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:33pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 3:10pm:
Who did the sig, Greg? Nice! I did this one, but can't actually use it... unfortunately. EDIT: Ah, I see the link. Cool. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by muso on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:50pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:27pm:
Yes. I noticed that you changed your skinnyfat weed argument and used the word "difficult" later in the piece after several posters provided examples of elite athletes who were vegan. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:56pm muso wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:50pm:
No, skinnyfat weed is an apt description for the vast majority of vegetarian/vegans. The fact you have to scrape so deep to find so few should give you some inkling of a rule. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by muso on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:56pm Sappho wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:26pm:
Ignorance can be overcome by personal research. How confident are you that most omnivorous Australians have a perfectly balanced diet to the standard of an athlete? From my experience, in my "eat anything" days, I ended up with high cholesterol. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by muso on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 9:00pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:56pm:
Vegans maybe, but they're weird. Vegos are very rarely that skinny. Most eat too much cheese. So you prefer the beerbelly look to the skinnyfat look ? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 9:00pm muso wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:56pm:
I'll let you in a little secret. Do you know why dieticians endorse vegetarian diets? It's not because they're ideal, it's because most people who see a dietician are too dumb to differentiate between a double quarter pounder meal and a serve of lean meat and 3 veg. But even these cretins can differentiate between meat (contained in almost every processed/takeaway meal) and plant products. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by muso on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 9:04pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 9:00pm:
- or maybe they just don't see nutrition as a high enough priority in a hectic lifestyle. That was me. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 9:38pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 3:19pm:
I'm not presenting an argument, I'm just presenting the facts. This statement is incorrect: "It is very difficult to have a consistently healthy diet without animal protein in that diet ". Not sure why you're struggling so much with this. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 9:42pm Sappho wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 5:09pm:
No, it's not actually. You have absolutely no idea what you're talking about. Moreover, calling people morons does nothing to persuade people that your ignorant statements are worthy of any attention. Sorry. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 9:50pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 8:27pm:
No, not "thinks". It's actually an incorrect statement. Your inability to accept this fact is quite alarming. Do you believe the earth is flat? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 9:52pm
You're wrong greg. the statement in question is not.
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 9:56pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 9:52pm:
Incorrect. The evidence overwhelmingly says otherwise. Sorry. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 9:58pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 9:56pm:
Then why haven't you posted any of this evidence? Muso has posted some good stuff from the AIS - you should check it out. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:00pm Quote:
Those challenges can be quite challenging. One might even say they are...difficult. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:01pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 9:58pm:
I have. Scroll back (don't ask me again, just do it. Not the bodybuilders either ... before that). The statement is 100% incorrect. Not only is it incorrect, it's extremely naive. Hard to believe that someone in 2013 could actually believe that. Sorry. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:03pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:01pm:
All those links (possibly) proved was that it's possible. the fact they are such isolated cases lends considerable support to the assertion that it is however, difficult. Your inability to differentiate between the difficult and the impossible is quite alarming. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:06pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:03pm:
Read it one more time, and see if you can spot what it is that you're missing (over and over again). "It is very difficult to have a consistently healthy diet without animal protein in that diet ". OK, I'm going to make it easier for you this time: "It is very difficult to have a consistently healthy diet without animal protein in that diet ". That better? ::) |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:08pm
Oh I note another link.
http://goodfoodproject.net/home/resources/what-the-experts-say/protein-what-the-... All I can see on the this one is that protein needs can be met without meat. However, the problem is, that wasn't in dispute. Your inability to understand that health consists of more than simply protein intake is alarming, to say the least. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:11pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:06pm:
So how difficult will you accept? Somewhat difficult? Quite difficult? Moderately difficult? Moderate-high-difficulty? Quiet the hole you've dug for yourself - You should have stuck to the illegal boat people threads. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:12pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:08pm:
Putting words in my mouth now? ;D White flag accepted my boy. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:13pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:12pm:
You posted the link, so why are you disowning it? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:13pm ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:11pm:
No hole. This statement is incorrect: "It is very difficult to have a consistently healthy diet without animal protein in that diet ". Fact. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:16pm Nuh uh. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 24th, 2013 at 6:35am
the topic is they are simply too poor to eat meat members, not how to have a nuiticiuos diet.
if they are too poor to eat meat they are also too poor to eat vegetarian either. solution needed that doesn't mean they starve to death. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 8:32am warrigal wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 6:35am:
Shoot them? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by muso on Aug 24th, 2013 at 8:56am ... wrote on Aug 23rd, 2013 at 10:00pm:
Yes. There are challenges for athletes. They are by no means insurmountable and not even very difficult as evidenced by the increased popularity of vegetarianism among athletes. So you're saying that because there are challenges for athletes, it's therefore "very difficult" for the rest of us who are not athletes? I don't follow your reasoning. Can you help me understand why it's not an obvious non-sequitur? Many people who eat meat find it difficult to have a balanced diet and a large number end up with cardiovascular disease as a result. Tell me this. Does it increase or decrease that risk if you go on a vegetarian diet? The information I have is that it reduces the risk by 30%. If you're obsessed by things being difficult, try Googling difficult and sustainable weight loss. People actually find it difficult to keep the weight off once they've lost it. A lot of things are difficult. It's all a question of attitude. ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 8:32am:
I agree. Let's vote on it. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 9:13am muso wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 8:56am:
OK, I'ma lay out my assertions for you. 1. An optimal diet for humans includes some meat. A vegetarian diet is better than an "anything goes" diet, but because it almost eliminates processed/takeaway food, not meat on the whole. 2. Those foregoing this food group will find it difficult to consistently have a healthy (see point 3) diet. 3. Health consists of more than just a reduced risk of certain ailments - to be healthy, you also need to meet a minimum standard of performance in strength and endurance. 4. What is lost from meat can be made up from other sources, but these each carry their own problems. Interestingly, I see far more propaganda regarding grains than I ever have for meat. We've all seen the 'healthy food pyramid' and even been taught it in school. What is less widely known is that it was devised by kelloggs. Nup, no ulterior motive there. The 'meat propaganda' greggery continually bangs on about is limited to tongue-in-cheek TV ads, taken seriously by noone. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 9:29am ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 9:13am:
No, they won't. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 9:51am
says who?
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 9:54am ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 9:51am:
Those foregoing that food group. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 9:56am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 9:54am:
What would they know? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by bobbythebat1 on Aug 24th, 2013 at 9:58am
My idea was the best so far:
supply meat from feral camels & kangaroos for the poor. The camels are wrecking our outback & the roos are eating grass meant for stock. Camels & roos are in plague proportions while the poor go hungry. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 9:58am ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 9:51am:
Athletes, for example. http://www.nomeatathlete.com/about/ |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:02am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 9:58am:
Dieticians say otherwise, and it's their business to know. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:02am ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 9:51am:
Vegetarians and vegans at University, for example. "It’s not hard to be a healthy vegetarian or vegan." http://www.indiana.edu/~vegiu/getting-started.html |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:05am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:02am:
See my previous "it's fine if you're happy being a skinnyfat weed" comment. But your protests suggest you're not happy with it - so change. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:09am ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:05am:
I'm not: a) a weed b) a vegetarian c) unhappy |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:11am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:09am:
Well if you're not a vego, how do you if they find it difficult or not? You were speaking for them a few minutes ago: greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 9:54am:
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:13am ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:11am:
Because I: a) talk to vegetarians b) listen to vegetarians c) was a vegetarian for 18 years |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:17am ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:11am:
They can speak for themselves: "It’s not hard to be a healthy vegetarian or vegan." [url]http://www.indiana.edu/~vegiu/getting-started.html[/url] |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:18am
roughly 75% of people who quit eating meat eventually change their minds and return to a diet that includes animal flesh. It seems that for most people, vegetarianism is a phase rather than a permanent change in lifestyle. Why?
Answer: because they found it too difficult to consistently eat a healthy diet Quote:
It must be very difficult to overcome those irresistible urges. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:22am ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:18am:
It must be very difficult to overcome those irresistible urges. [/quote] " ... seventy-seven former vegetarians took our survey." ::) |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:38am greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:22am:
It must be very difficult to overcome those irresistible urges. [/quote] " ... seventy-seven former vegetarians took our survey." ::) [/quote] thats 75 more than wrote your link :) |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:49am ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:38am:
It must be very difficult to overcome those irresistible urges. [/quote] " ... seventy-seven former vegetarians took our survey." ::) [/quote] thats 75 more than wrote your link :)[/quote] Yes, but I posted several links. Scroll back and take a look, Here's 9 more to keep you going: http://www.mnn.com/food/healthy-eating/photos/9-superstar-athletes-who-dont-eat-meat/fueled-by-vegetables |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:52am And it just goes on, and on ... " ... more current and former professional athletes than you would think have given up animal proteins and turned to a variety of alternative veggie-based diets instead." http://www.huffingtonpost.com/the-daily-meal/10-vegetarian-athletes_b_862738.html#s279688title=Ricky_Williams_Running |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:58am And on ... " ... yet again, vegetarians continue to rise to the very top of their sports. She follows a long line of Olympians who have managed to excel without "eating corpses", as she herself puts it." http://www.theguardian.com/lifeandstyle/wordofmouth/2012/jul/30/lizzie-armitstead-vegetarian-athletes-olympics-2012 |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by muso on Aug 24th, 2013 at 11:39am ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:02am:
Do they? Really? http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/12826028 Quote:
Dietitians Association of Australia http://daa.asn.au/for-the-public/smart-eating-for-you/nutrition-a-z/vegetarian-diets/ Quote:
Nothing different to what I've been saying all along. More dietitians, this time on those weird Vegans: http://www.todaysdietitian.com/newarchives/082510p20.shtml Quote:
Blown out of the water? Just a tad. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Spot of Borg on Aug 24th, 2013 at 11:55am
Some ppl just cant handle other ppl being different to themselves.they especially cant handle it if they have an idea in the back of their mind that the other ppl are right.
SOB |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 11:59am muso wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 11:39am:
Nothing different to what I've been saying all along. More dietitians, this time on those weird Vegans: http://www.todaysdietitian.com/newarchives/082510p20.shtml Quote:
Blown out of the water? Just a tad.[/quote] Could you point me to the part where they talk about the difficulty involved? that's probably the reason why they say 'appropriately planned' whaddya reckon? Sooo uh...was there some other point you wanted to make? If not, I'll just once again remind you of the difference between the impossible and the difficult. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:03pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 10:52am:
Well no, it doesn't go on and on. That's why these links use the same handful of examples over and over again. Indeed, the very fact that they need to provide lists confirms their status as outliers. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:22pm And on ... "A well-planned vegetarian diet is a healthy way to meet your nutritional needs." http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/vegetarian-diet/HQ01596 |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:29pm ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 11:59am:
Planning isn't "very difficult". "It is very difficult to have a consistently healthy diet without animal protein in that diet ". :-/ No. No it is not. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:33pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:29pm:
It is if you don't have the expertise to plan correctly....which nearly everyone thinks they do, but really don't. Some people even think doctors are a good source of dietary advice - canya believe it? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:36pm ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:33pm:
Oh dear ;D |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Spot of Borg on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:38pm ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:33pm:
Ppl that eat only meat and no vegetables arent healthy. Anyone can be a poor planner no matter what they eat. SOB |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:41pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:36pm:
You do know there's degrees dedicated to nutrition and dietetics don't you? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:41pm ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:33pm:
Crazy, innit? If you want dietary advice you go to a mechanic. Everyone knows that. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:42pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:38pm:
While I wouldn't recommend it, it's not necessarily true: The Inuit Paradox How can people who gorge on fat and rarely see a vegetable be healthier than we are? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:44pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:41pm:
No, you'd see a dietician. But you'd be just as well served at a mechanic as a doctor - they have the same "heard it through the grapevine" understanding as anyone else. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:47pm ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:41pm:
Those crazy vegans: "It is very easy for a vegan diet to meet the recommendations for protein as long as calorie intake is adequate. Strict protein planning or combining is not necessary. The key is to eat a varied diet." http://www.vrg.org/nutshell/vegan.htm They don't seem to be struggling. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:50pm
You're right - they don't seem to be struggling to meet recommended protein requirements. But then, nobody said they would.
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:51pm The vegetarians don't seem to find it "very difficult". "Vegetarians easily meet their protein needs by eating a varied diet, as long as they consume enough calories to maintain their weight." "It is not necessary to plan combinations of foods. A mixture of proteins throughout the day will provide enough "essential amino acids." "(See "Position of the American Dietetic Association: Vegetarian Diets," JADA, July 2009; Simply Vegan, 2006; and nutrition information on VRG's website, www.vrg.org.)" http://www.vrg.org/nutshell/nutshell.htm#nut |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:54pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:51pm:
Once again, meeting recommended protein requirements =/= a healthy diet. Greenhorns always make this mistake. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:54pm ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:50pm:
I know. That's what I've been telling you all along. Myth: "It is very difficult to have a consistently healthy diet without animal protein in that diet ". |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:57pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:54pm:
Just when you think he couldn't get any pettier... |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:58pm "Vegetarians have lower rates of heart disease and some forms of cancer than non-vegetarians." Hmmm, that sounds so unhealthy. http://brown.edu/Student_Services/Health_Services/Health_Education/nutrition_&_eating_concerns/being_a_vegetarian.php |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:02pm "Among a group of 70,000 participants, researchers determined that vegetarians had a 12% lower risk of death compared with nonvegetarians." http://healthland.time.com/2013/06/04/vegetarians-may-live-longer/ "Lower risk of death"? Being alive sounds a lot healthier than being dead. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:03pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:58pm:
Yep, I bet they do. Refer to points 1 & 3 of my assertions on reply #247. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:03pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:02pm:
refer point 1 on reply #247. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:10pm ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:03pm:
Exactly. Merely your assertions. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:13pm ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:03pm:
"1. An optimal diet for humans includes some meat. " Nope. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:21pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:13pm:
'Fraid so. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:29pm ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:21pm:
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Spot of Borg on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:39pm ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 12:42pm:
Well the 2 ppl i knew that only ate meat and no veggies werent healthy. They have vitamin deficiencies. SOB |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:46pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:29pm:
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:47pm Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:39pm:
No doubt. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:49pm ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:46pm:
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by muso on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:50pm ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 11:59am:
Clutching at straws there. To plan something appropriately does not imply "very difficult" or even difficult. Once again: Quote:
That statement (from an association of dieticians) doesn't gel with your remark: Quote:
You could argue that a vegetarian diet can include certain animal proteins, but they say exactly the same about a vegan diet. You could say the same thing about people who eat meat. Too much meat can lead to an increased risk of cardiovascular disease. This is well documented. So you could equally state that an appropriately planned diet including moderate amounts of lean meat can reduce the risk of heart disease. Here "appropriately planned" does not mean difficult. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:58pm muso wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:50pm:
there is no contradiction or connection between your quotes and my assertions. But if you disagree, please state the number of the assertion that it contradicts. I think you'll find it's in full agreeance with #4. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 2:00pm greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:49pm:
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 2:12pm muso wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 1:50pm:
Let alone very difficult. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 2:14pm ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 2:00pm:
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 2:15pm |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 24th, 2013 at 2:16pm ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 2:15pm: |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 7:37pm |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 24th, 2013 at 7:40pm
Full stop.
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 25th, 2013 at 7:00am
21 pages of crap and images of head nodding, you all have way too much time on your hands,
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 25th, 2013 at 7:49am ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 7:37pm: |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Honky on Aug 25th, 2013 at 10:11am |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 25th, 2013 at 10:14am |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by ian on Aug 25th, 2013 at 10:55am warrigal wrote on Aug 25th, 2013 at 7:00am:
Greggary always resorts to juvenile gifs when he loses the argument. Thats why he does it so often. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 25th, 2013 at 10:57am ian wrote on Aug 25th, 2013 at 10:55am:
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Postmodern Trendoid on Aug 25th, 2013 at 11:22am ian wrote on Aug 25th, 2013 at 10:55am:
Greggerypeccary's picture posting skills will help lead the socialist revolution. We progressives need propagandists who can post pictures to woo the masses. We just don't want him to talk though. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by ian on Aug 25th, 2013 at 11:24am
A psychologist friend of mine refers to to as internet masturbation. Many posters on this forum umwittingly reveal thier real life character types, characteristic human behaviour doesnt change, it adapts to environment. In this case the poster craves attention and reinforcement, when this doesnt occurr to thier satisfaction they seek self reinforcement and self love. The odds are that this behaviour is a parallel of their real life behaviour.
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 25th, 2013 at 11:27am Postmodern Trendoid wrote on Aug 25th, 2013 at 11:22am:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Mif6WnBiTQM Back to the mop, Misty. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 25th, 2013 at 11:29am ian wrote on Aug 25th, 2013 at 11:24am:
We all find that a little hard to believe, ian. You have a "friend"? :-/ |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 26th, 2013 at 6:51am
back on topic fck heads
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 28th, 2013 at 12:35am
Poll
Question: They are simply too poor to eat meat. Should we shoot them? Yes/No Muso! ^^^ That's the most ridiculous poll I've ever seen on Oz Pol! |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 28th, 2013 at 12:39am
Good grief!
Yes 3 (33.3%) No 6 (66.7%) Your vote was on: Today at 12:38am Your vote choice was: No Total votes: 9 WTF voted YES???? |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 28th, 2013 at 6:23am
all the sh@t heads that think a unemployed person can buy food for a week for under $50
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by Quantum on Aug 28th, 2013 at 10:02am warrigal wrote on Aug 28th, 2013 at 6:23am:
Well if the unemployed person got a job, then the unemployed person won't have to worry about getting shot. Simple really. This is an approved message from all the "sh@t heads" that think a unemployed person like Warrigal could buy food for a week for under $50 if he stopped wasting it all on ice cream and coke. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 30th, 2013 at 9:51am Quantum wrote on Aug 28th, 2013 at 10:02am:
well provide a job ignorant I am a Qualified Disability care worker Community services industry. newstart allowance $532.30 less accommodation first week $300 less accommodation 2nd week $300 WHERES THE MONEY TO BE ABLE TO AFFORD TO BUY FOOD. can't be done with $50 per week but then there is no spare $50 for the week. its been taken by a greedy landlord (property owner). |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by muso on Aug 30th, 2013 at 10:48am Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 28th, 2013 at 12:35am:
It was a joke, prompted by a comment by Honky. OK, for those with no sense of humour, it's gone. ... wrote on Aug 24th, 2013 at 8:32am:
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by imcrookonit on Aug 30th, 2013 at 10:57am
Here is a question. How much would most people spend in a week, just on milk and bread alone?. ;)
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Aug 30th, 2013 at 12:50pm wrote on Aug 30th, 2013 at 10:57am:
so now were expected to live on milk and bread alone. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by sherri on Aug 31st, 2013 at 9:03am warrigal wrote on Aug 30th, 2013 at 9:51am:
Where are you living, warrigul? $300 a week is a lot for you to pay in rent, but I know it is often around that in the suburbs of the big cities. Do you have friends who could rent you a room in their homes for a while, and get the furniture put into storage. It's not ideal but it could tide you over till you can pick up work and get back on your feet. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by imcrookonit on Aug 31st, 2013 at 9:39am
Of course we are not expected, to live on milk and bread alone. I was asking how much most people would spend on it though?. I am sure it would be a fair bit. Another reason why, the unemployed need a $50 a week increase in benefits. ;)
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by warrigal on Sep 1st, 2013 at 6:51am wrote on Aug 31st, 2013 at 9:39am:
take the $50 per week increase and multiply it by 10, only then will it ever be enough money to live on or the equivalent of what a wage earner gets.. |
Title: Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. Post by ian on Sep 1st, 2013 at 6:23pm
warrigal, do you drink or smoke?