General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> 12,000 natural attrition http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1378374697 Message started by Maqqa on Sep 5th, 2013 at 7:51pm |
Title: 12,000 natural attrition Post by Maqqa on Sep 5th, 2013 at 7:51pm
Anyone one the left care to make an educated guess what this means?
Then match it up with what Labor says about this Does it match up seamlessly? |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by Aussie on Sep 5th, 2013 at 7:56pm
I'll tell you what it means when the LNP use it, taking the Campbell Newman model as the exemplar.
It means targetted Public Servants will be sent a letter giving them an option of pissing off (with a redundancy package) or not pissing off, risking the wrath of Khan and have to apply to hold the job they presently have. They choose to piss off....and that is called 'natural attrition.' |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by Maqqa on Sep 5th, 2013 at 8:02pm Aussie wrote on Sep 5th, 2013 at 7:56pm:
"Campbell Newman exemplar" Then should we use the NSW ALP corruption exemplar to condemn Rudd? "They choose to piss off" It's a choice to piss off. So how can Labor truthfully say that LIBs will "slash" jobs |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by Aussie on Sep 5th, 2013 at 8:09pm
Sure, it's a choice. What will you have?
(a) The desert island with a gallon of water, or (b) The desert island with zero water. |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by life_goes_on on Sep 5th, 2013 at 8:13pm Quote:
Because they're speaking from experience. That's exactly what they've been doing for the past 12 months or so with 8,000 gone already - or roughly 6% of the total head count. 12,000 is about 10% if you remove those in the armed forces from the headcount. |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by adelcrow on Sep 5th, 2013 at 8:16pm
12,000 public servants in Canberra and 16,000 from the closing of GMH in SA..and thats just the beginning of Abbotts job losses.
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by Maqqa on Sep 5th, 2013 at 8:22pm Aussie wrote on Sep 5th, 2013 at 8:09pm:
So it's not slashing as per Rudd's lies |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by aquascoot on Sep 5th, 2013 at 8:49pm
i would never count public service job losses as real job losses as they dont exist in the real economy.
they are a win for the real economy , and as such, should be counted as a bonus. we (the private sector) dont want to employ any of those public servants though, as they are tarnished goods. it would take years to retrain them in efficient work practices. personally, they should all be parked in extensive 'work for the dole ' projects, and be made available to the private sector to do menial tasks like washing our cars, cleaning our toilets, maybe fetching the mail. tony is aiming way too low with these numbers. i'd close canberra down and operate the country from kirribilli |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by cods on Sep 5th, 2013 at 9:32pm Aussie wrote on Sep 5th, 2013 at 8:09pm:
No BUCKETS of MONEY that those who work in the private sector do not get....they get whats laughingly called packages.... and they even ask if any packages are being offered...yes they do..... ooooooo if you only knew........ ::) |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by Peter Freedman on Sep 5th, 2013 at 9:33pm Maqqa wrote on Sep 5th, 2013 at 7:51pm:
Can someone translate please? I don't speak Maqqa. |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by John Smith on Sep 5th, 2013 at 9:35pm aquascoot wrote on Sep 5th, 2013 at 8:49pm:
and there is the reason why you'll never be put in charge of anything bigger than your vege patch. |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by John Smith on Sep 5th, 2013 at 9:35pm Peter Freedman wrote on Sep 5th, 2013 at 9:33pm:
Sorry, neither does he ... he can't tell you what he means either |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by # on Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:10am
In a nutshell, "natural attrition" means that nobody loses their job (some may be forced or bullied out of their jobs, but none "lose" their job). Instead, people who might otherwise have been employed don't get a job. They stay on benefits.
Win-win, hey? |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by Rider on Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:18am aquascoot wrote on Sep 5th, 2013 at 8:49pm:
Correct on all counts :) |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by imcrookonit on Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:20am
Maybe they will be able to join the other 14,000 plus, that went before. Thanks to Campbell ( the job wreaker ) Newman. :(
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by bobbythebat1 on Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:23am wrote on Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:20am:
But Crook - wouldn't you agree that a lot of public servants are overpaid bludgers? |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by imcrookonit on Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:34am
Well if you want to look at it that way, the same could be said about any company. Are there not good and bad everywhere?. Is it not the same as bosses?. Are there not overpaid employers?. CEOs that get paid more than a division one lotto ticket. :(
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by # on Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:39am Bobby. wrote on Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:23am:
Having worked in both private and public spheres, I reckon there's no substantial difference. The pay's generally a bit better in public service, but not substantially. Sorry to rain on your onanistic parade. |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by aquascoot on Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:41am John Smith wrote on Sep 5th, 2013 at 9:35pm:
you are indeed correct john. the extensive intrusive and largely useless bureacracy is unlikely to fall upon its sword, even though this would undoubtedly be in the national interest. still if tony can put them on a diet, whittle away some of the waste, make their lives uncomfortable , well, its a step in the right direction. the smart business person (ie me) just looks at the system. plays the hand canberra deals us. and gets on with flying as low under the radar as possible. i spoke to some of my millionaire chinese neighbours about the election. they have 0 interest in it. theyre too busy chasing $$$$ to worry about such trivialities ;) ;) |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by Ahovking on Sep 6th, 2013 at 9:29am Rider wrote on Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:18am:
I second that.. |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by Maqqa on Sep 6th, 2013 at 9:20pm wrote on Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:34am:
Companies operates to generate profits - so the analogy is incorrect |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by Maqqa on Sep 6th, 2013 at 9:22pm
I don't mind if Rudd have a go at the LIBs with facts
But there are so many instances where he's outright lied Natural attrition is not slashing yet Rudd continues with this line There are no $70B blackhole and he continues with this line While I admire Rudd's electioneering in 2007 - in 2013 he is a dog |
Title: Re: 12,000 natural attrition Post by life_goes_on on Sep 6th, 2013 at 9:31pm # wrote on Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:39am:
I've worked in both and I'd say private enterprise pays way better than the PS. I did the whole grade system - levels 1 to 12 and left as a SES grade 1 to go to private enterprise purely for the bucks. The first job I went to paid about 70% more for about half the responsibility and a decreased workload. Granted, there's a lot better balance now, but the public service still has a big problem with people leaving to go chasing the bigger $$$ outside the PS - i.e. "natural attrition". |
Australian Politics Forum » Powered by YaBB 2.5.2! YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved. |