General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> K Rudd is a sick puppy
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1378719101

Message started by salad in on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:31pm

Title: K Rudd is a sick puppy
Post by salad in on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:31pm

'Grandiose narcissist': The secret diagnosis that helped bring down Kevin Rudd

The Liberal Party had a secret campaign tool in the form of a personality diagnosis of Kevin Rudd which found him suffering from a disorder known as 'grandiose narcissism', writes The Australian Financial Review's Pamela Williams.

The unelectable man walked across the stage of a hotel ballroom. Against a backdrop of iridescent blue with four Australian flags, he claimed the prime ministership with a mandate the likes of which had not been won by Conservatives for 17 years.

Rudd was held together by one key strut: an absolute conviction of intellectual superiority over everyone else. 'Kick out that strut and he will collapse.'

As Tony Abbott’s supporters screamed the room down at Sydney’s Four Season’s Hotel they also buried the last vestige of a terrible three year-experiment on the other side – a saga which had seen a Labor government destroy two of its own prime ministers before flaming out itself.

“Tony, Tony, Tony,” the Liberal crowd shouted. Typically, some wept. “I can inform you that the government of Australia has changed,” Abbott began, with the rest of his words drowned out. A one-time journalist and a man who had won his party’s leadership in 2009 by one vote, Abbott had defied the calculated demonisation by three previous Labor prime ministers – Kevin Rudd, Julia Gillard and then Kevin Rudd again – to march improbably to victory.

In the hours before arriving on stage, Abbott had closeted himself in a suite on the 34th floor of the hotel with the Liberal’s federal director Brian Loughnane, the pollster and strategist Mark Textor, Abbott’s chief of staff and the wife of Loughnane, Peta Credlin, and, for a period, the party’s former leader and prime minister of almost 12 years, John Howard as they counted in the vote.

Abbott had had, for the previous five weeks, a political campaign machine which ran with the unblinking focus of a hungry man on the last mile. They had built a strategy around fighting Gillard, but anticipated always a return to Rudd. They had shifted their sights from one to the next. Liberal campaign experts had sometimes joked to each other that public antipathy to Gillard meant they needed only to hang her photo on walls around the country and then sit back; but when it came to Rudd, they believed his messianic self-belief and micro-managing style would soon emerge to remind voters of why they too had lost faith in him the first time around.

The ruthless manner in which Rudd had been despatched by his own side in 2010 had laid the seeds. His successor Gillard had never explained why Rudd had been destroyed. Had she done so – invoking the tale of dysfunctional management which seeped out in any case – then Gillard might have at least partially headed off the public traction which Rudd was able to invoke later as a victim, and a prime ministerial victim moreover, unjustly dealt with.

The Liberal strategy to turn the focus to Rudd’s dysfunction was supported by a secret tactical tool.

The Financial Review reports that held deep within the top strategy group of the Liberal war room was a document which gave a name and a diagnosis to the personality of Kevin Rudd. It was a document provided to the Liberal’s strategy team on an informal basis by a psychiatrist friendly to the Liberals after Rudd had returned to the Labor leadership on June 26. In a nutshell, this document offered an arm’s-length diagnosis of Rudd as suffering a personality disorder known as “grandiose narcissism”.

The document was not shown to Abbott, but rather remained within the strategy group as an informal check-list, often as a tool for comparison after Rudd had already behaved in ways that the Liberal strategists believed could be leveraged to their advantage. The Liberal war room had reached its own conclusions about Rudd long ago, based on his public behaviour and the damning revelations of his colleagues.

Describing grandiose narcissism as less a psychiatric disease and more a destructive character defect, the document suggested Rudd was held together by one key strut: an absolute conviction of intellectual superiority over everyone else. “Kick out that strut and he will collapse".

Rudd, the document went on, was vulnerable to any challenge to his self-belief that he was more widely-read, smarter and more knowledgeable than anyone else “on the planet”. Such a condition of grandiose narcissism would make Rudd obsessively paranoid, excessively vindictive – “prepared to wait years to get revenge”.

Rudd would be threatened by a rival in any of his fields and would be obsessively paranoid and ready to retaliate to real or perceived threats; he would suffer from excessive suspicion. This could be tactically exploited, the document suggested, by promoting the idea that Rudd was merely a caretaker prime minister, to be terminated by colleagues once the election was won.

Etc, etc, etc.

http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/federal-politics/federal-election-2013/grandiose-narcissist-the-secret-diagnosis-that-helped-bring-down-kevin-rudd-20130909-2tfum.html?google_editors_picks=true

I always knew there was some dark secret that the Rudds hid from the public. I can also reveal that K Rudd owns a Datsun 120Y. How low can you go?

Title: Re: K Rudd is a sick puppy
Post by Greens_Win on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:33pm
K who ?

Post by John Smith on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:34pm
or it could simply be that the writer of this article suffers from grandiose narcissism

what a load of rubbish

Post by PZ547 on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:42pm
'
'

What a fantastic OP   [smiley=dankk2.gif]

Post by aquascoot on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:43pm

____ wrote on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:33pm:
K who ?

your best comment ever. i doubt many pollies arent extreme narcisists. its why we should always go the small government route.

Post by Maqqa on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:45pm

Rudd was held together by one key strut: an absolute conviction of intellectual superiority over everyone else. 'Kick out that strut and he will collapse.'

So true

You saw him being kicked when Abbott said "will this guy ever shut up"

Post by Innocent bystander on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:49pm

Post by Peter Freedman on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:49pm
Would love to see a personality diagnosis of Abbott.

Post by Innocent bystander on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:53pm

Peter Freedman wrote on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:49pm:

Would be a lot better than the sh#t sandwich yours would make.  ;D

Post by longweekend58 on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:55pm

John Smith wrote on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:34pm:
or it could simply be that the writer of this article suffers from grandiose narcissism

what a load of rubbish

so I guess you didn't understand that at all.  The description fits Rudd to a tee and I doubt there would be a single labor caucus member that would not concur.

Post by longweekend58 on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:57pm

You'd be disappointed.  It would be unlikely to come up with much that would surprise you.  Like all pollies, he is extremely driven and perhaps slightly compulsively so.  You might find his empathy factor quite high while I doubt you'd find a trace of empathy in Rudd.

Post by Maqqa on Sep 9th, 2013 at 8:01pm
The secret diagnosis of Abbott

Abbott won the election - Rudd didn't

Enough said!

Post by Rider on Sep 9th, 2013 at 8:45pm
Krudd always made it known he was the smartest rooster in the room - see recent Q&A when he ran off at the mouth quoting bible etc etc - he got it substantially wrong, but in his mind he was cleverest punk in the room.

What he says (mostly) doesn't stand up to any factual criticism, but it doesn't matter to him, he's already moved onto the next room.

Post by John Smith on Sep 9th, 2013 at 8:51pm

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:55pm:

what a load of rubbish

so I guess you didn't understand that at all.  The description fits Rudd to a tee and I doubt there would be a single labor caucus member that would not concur.

name one political leader who that description doesn't apply too? I understood perfectly dopey, but unlike you, I don't swallow.

Post by PZ547 on Sep 9th, 2013 at 8:51pm
That was a great read

Thanks again, Salad in

Post by John Smith on Sep 9th, 2013 at 8:52pm

Rider wrote on Sep 9th, 2013 at 8:45pm:
Krudd always made it known he was the smartest rooster in the room - see recent Q&A when he ran off at the mouth quoting bible etc etc - he got it substantially wrong, but in his mind he was cleverest punk in the room.

What he says (mostly) doesn't stand up to any factual criticism, but it doesn't matter to him, he's already moved onto the next room.

it's a pity everyone who is not a partisan hack disagrees with you and thinks Rudd got it right.

Post by PZ547 on Sep 9th, 2013 at 8:56pm

John Smith wrote on Sep 9th, 2013 at 8:52pm:

it's a pity everyone who is not a partisan hack disagrees with you and thinks Rudd got it right.

Your loyalty's touching

but I think you've been missing the points

Post by Rider on Sep 9th, 2013 at 8:59pm

Actually, its pretty much the case for anyone who has met and or worked with him...not just partisan hacks (which i'll happily accept as a badge of honour coming from you  :) )

He has a pretty indefensible personality, and yes, I have met him, a few years ago now, down on the corner of Norman Park and Camp Hill with his little 'mobile office' ute set up  ;)

Post by John Smith on Sep 9th, 2013 at 9:23pm

Rider wrote on Sep 9th, 2013 at 8:59pm:

Actually, its pretty much the case for anyone who has met and or worked with him...not just partisan hacks (which i'll happily accept as a badge of honour coming from you  :) )

He has a pretty indefensible personality, and yes, I have met him, a few years ago now, down on the corner of Norman Park and Camp Hill with his little 'mobile office' ute set up  ;)

my comment was about your comment regarding what he said about the bible ... Rudd got that right ...  as to everything else, is Rudd arrogant? absobuggerenlutely, is he an egomanic?  bugger yeah .,.. but so is anyone who runs for the job of PM ... you have to be.

Post by life_goes_on on Sep 9th, 2013 at 9:29pm

as to everything else, is Rudd arrogant? absobuggerenlutely, is he an egomanic?  bugger yeah .,.. but so is anyone who runs for the job of PM ... you have to be.

Quite correct. Anybody entering politics is rather self centred to begin with. Those who aspire to be PM... well... they all think they're god's gift to not just the nation, but the world.

Politicians... odd characters... very odd.

Post by MOTR on Sep 9th, 2013 at 10:07pm
Not so secret is Tony's diagnosis as a self indulgent prick.

Post by longweekend58 on Sep 9th, 2013 at 10:28pm

John Smith wrote on Sep 9th, 2013 at 8:51pm:

what a load of rubbish

name one political leader who that description doesn't apply too? I understood perfectly dopey, but unlike you, I don't swallow.

plenty.  al politicians are driven and a tad egotistical.   Not even keating measured up to this mans arrogance and belief he was better than everyone.  he first the diagnosis well and it WAS made by a professional - ie not you.

Post by longweekend58 on Sep 9th, 2013 at 10:30pm
every body who has worked with Rudd hates him.  EVERYONE.  there might be a clue in there for those of you on the left who still possess the ability of independent thought.

Post by ian on Sep 9th, 2013 at 11:31pm

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:57pm:
  You might find his empathy factor quite high while I doubt you'd find a trace of empathy in Rudd.

And yet, I would surmise the opposite. Abbott has already stated he is going to axe 12000 jobs, where is the empathy in that decision?

Post by John Smith on Sep 9th, 2013 at 11:45pm

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 9th, 2013 at 10:28pm:

John Smith wrote on Sep 9th, 2013 at 8:51pm:

what a load of rubbish

plenty.  al politicians are driven and a tad egotistical.   Not even keating measured up to this mans arrogance and belief he was better than everyone.  he first the diagnosis well and it WAS made by a professional - ie not you.

plenty? that's your answer?  ;D ;D ;D

And how do you measure Keatings arrogance as compared to Rudd? What scale of measurement are you using? a longstupidmeter? rather subjective don't you think !!!!! :D :D

Post by dsmithy70 on Sep 10th, 2013 at 12:10am
Say what you like about Keating but deep down you know he was the best thing to ever happen to this country.

You are not worthy SCUMBAGS ;D

Post by sherri on Sep 10th, 2013 at 6:39am
He does have a big dose of ego, I suppose most top politicians have, but his is larger than most. I wouldn't say that made him a sick puppy though. :)
Let's be honest here. How belittling must it have felt, to be PM and then get ousted by your own party. In front of the whole nation. There's no one who would like that sort of public humiliation.
I will tell you one thing. Kev will go to his grave a happy man, whether the election was won or not. Because his party brought him back in. He will feel they acknowledged their big mistake.  :)
And with the added bonus that it was too late in the game for him to have to take the blame for a lost election. In fact he doesn't, he feels he managed to claw back some votes, and maybe he is right.

I don't really think Labor won or lost because of Rudd though, it was more about policies and the sense the whole party was at loggerheads.

Post by red baron on Sep 10th, 2013 at 7:09am
In the end it was Rudd's ego that brought him down. No surprises there. :)

Post by laborarecorrupt on Sep 10th, 2013 at 7:22am
Rudd is a lunatic.

Should be locked up.

Post by True Blue... on Sep 10th, 2013 at 7:28am

Maqqa wrote on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:45pm:

So true

You saw him being kicked when Abbott said "will this guy ever shut up"

absolutely nailed him with that line...

when you were young, did you ever have a mate reach across and pull the handbrake on your car???

well this is what Abbott did to Rudd... reached into his brain and pulled the handbrake on...

he stopped mid sentence trying to unlock the brake but it was too late... the damage was done...

everyone started talking about what a Waffling baboon Rudd was.. and rightly so too...

but the following week Rudd comes out and starts crapping on about abbott being a Waffler.. waffle waffle waffle he said.. 

like what?

its like when you were a kid you'd say to your brother - gee your a dickhead.. and he says back.. gee your a dickhead x 2 ...  :o

hopefully he will quit politics all together.. biggest wanka in the history of Australian Politics ever.. x infinity..  >:(

Post by cods on Sep 10th, 2013 at 8:00am

NICE....at least we think so.... krudd was NEVER NICE.

Post by cods on Sep 10th, 2013 at 8:05am
its interesting Abbott didnt lampoon rudd with his disabilities....personality disorder... ::)

he left the voters to draw their own conclusions...

can we imagine what the krudd machine would have done with a diagnosis like that of ABbott????

boy I shudder to think...

even his own side  say nothing is beneath rudd.. >:(

Post by RightSadFred on Sep 10th, 2013 at 8:06am

cods wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 8:00am:

NICE....at least we think so.... krudd was NEVER NICE.

How surprising a red herring from a grub ?

:D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

Post by John Smith on Sep 10th, 2013 at 8:08am
RSF .... not very nice, you shouldn't call Cods a grub.

Post by RightSadFred on Sep 10th, 2013 at 8:08am

cods wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 8:05am:
its interesting Abbott didnt lampoon rudd with his disabilities....personality disorder... ::)

can we imagine what the krudd machine would have done with a diagnosis like that of ABbott????

Yes Abbott played the ball while the ALP played the man ..... in fact they massively over played that in their lets ignore everyone but Abbott in their new speak non-negative negative campaign.

Post by RightSadFred on Sep 10th, 2013 at 8:09am

John Smith wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 8:08am:

No that is you snippy dysfunctional brain making inaccurate pithy one liners, get back to your lemonade stand.

Post by John Smith on Sep 10th, 2013 at 8:11am

RightSadFred wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 8:09am:

John Smith wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 8:08am:

No that is you snippy dysfunctional brain making inaccurate pithy one liners, get back to your lemonade stand.

not my fault you are to stupid to 'quote' properly ....

Post by cods on Sep 10th, 2013 at 8:19am

RightSadFred wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 8:08am:

cods wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 8:05am:

Yes Abbott played the ball while the ALP played the man ..... in fact they massively over played that in their lets ignore everyone but Abbott in their new speak non-negative negative campaign.

to right and havent I said it all along.. gillard should have been watching rudd instead of Abbott for 3 years... she may have been there till the end...she played right into his hands......

so much is coming out about rudd and his tactics....

and what we have been saying about him all along has proved beyond a doubt to be true...

you dont have to know this man to realise what sort of person you are dealing with...his EGO is massive I can only believe Therese massages it constantly... the way she hangs off him is kind of pitiful really... she is a women in her own right.. but she is always a step behind the messiah...   its that EGO getting in the way

Post by Verge on Sep 10th, 2013 at 9:08am
I give no creedence to hack reports about peoples mental conditions.

I seen the same crap about Abbott being bi-polar and give it the same amount of attention - zero.

What we do know is to be PM you need an ego the size of a bus.

To claim our leaders have a raft of underlying mental conditions does nothing to true mental health sufferers and I think it belittles and stigmatises people who suffer from it.

Have a good think about people that do suffer from mental illness and what they fight with every day before using a mental illness to throw a bit of mud around for pathetic political gain.

Post by salad in on Sep 10th, 2013 at 9:18am

John Smith wrote on Sep 9th, 2013 at 9:23pm:
is Rudd arrogant? absobuggerenlutely, is he an egomanic?  bugger yeah .,..

Tidy up that language please Mr Smith.

Post by salad in on Sep 10th, 2013 at 9:19am

Dsmithy70 wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 12:10am:
Say what you like about Keating but deep down you know he was the best thing to ever happen to this country.

Get that phuking creep out of here.

Post by John Smith on Sep 10th, 2013 at 9:20am

salad in wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 9:19am:

Don't fvcken swear! 8-)

Post by longweekend58 on Sep 10th, 2013 at 10:33am

Verge wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 9:08am:
I give no creedence to hack reports about peoples mental conditions.

I seen the same crap about Abbott being bi-polar and give it the same amount of attention - zero.

What we do know is to be PM you need an ego the size of a bus.

To claim our leaders have a raft of underlying mental conditions does nothing to true mental health sufferers and I think it belittles and stigmatises people who suffer from it.

Have a good think about people that do suffer from mental illness and what they fight with every day before using a mental illness to throw a bit of mud around for pathetic political gain.

It was hardly a 'hack' making the assessment and the character description fits Rudd to a tee.  Haven't you ever wondered how a man could be so arrogant, so egotistical and so determined to destroy his enemies over the course of many years?

Post by PZ547 on Sep 10th, 2013 at 10:41am
If Rudd stubbornly refuses to go away, he poses a danger for all Australians via his potential to disrupt government and the opposition

It's said that the only way to 'deal with' narcissists is to get as far away from them as possible.  There's no 'cure'

We cannot get away from Rudd, therefore he will have to be removed from our midst

Post by Sprintcyclist on Sep 10th, 2013 at 10:45am

salad in wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 9:19am:

keating was very good

Post by Sprintcyclist on Sep 10th, 2013 at 10:46am

PZ547 wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 10:41am:
If Rudd stubbornly refuses to go away, he poses a danger for all Australians via his potential to disrupt government and the opposition

It's said that the only way to 'deal with' narcissists is to get as far away from them as possible.  There's no 'cure'

We cannot get away from Rudd, therefore he will have to be removed from our midst

rudd can only damage the alp, not the libs

Post by Innocent bystander on Sep 10th, 2013 at 10:58am
If I had their money I'd be buggered if I'd be wasting my time in parliament.

Post by dsmithy70 on Sep 10th, 2013 at 1:49pm

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 10:33am:
Haven't you ever wondered how a man could be so arrogant, so egotistical and so determined to destroy his enemies over the course of many years?

Read that alone, & try & tell me who it is between Rudd & Abbott.

Post by PZ547 on Sep 10th, 2013 at 1:51pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 1:49pm:

Haven't you ever wondered how a man could be so arrogant, so egotistical and so determined to destroy his enemies over the course of many years?

Labor-loss bitterness obviously has a deleterious affect on Labor Losers' intelligence

which is scary, considering how low their IQ was to begin with (as evidenced by the fact they're Labor supporters)

Post by viewpoint on Sep 10th, 2013 at 2:01pm
KRUDD sitting at the back of the class stirring the sh1t, will continue to disrupt the Labor mob. His vengefulness is still not complete.....Shorten and one or two others are still in his sights.........you go for it Kevvy, the more sh1t you stir, the better it will be for the new government! ;D ;D :D

Post by PZ547 on Sep 10th, 2013 at 2:11pm

viewpoint wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 2:01pm:
KRUDD sitting at the back of the class stirring the sh1t, will continue to disrupt the Labor mob. His vengefulness is still not complete.....Shorten and one or two others are still in his sights.........you go for it Kevvy, the more sh1t you stir, the better it will be for the new government! ;D ;D :D

That's what I was referring to in my earlier post above

Rudd's disruptive

We don't want or need him within a thousand miles of this country or its government

We want a stable government free to fix up the mess left by Labor's intentional destructiveness

Rudd will fester in the background as always

Deport him !

Or commit him

Post by longweekend58 on Sep 10th, 2013 at 4:59pm

that limited description could apply to half the parliament or more.  the point is that the shrinks assessment clearly hits the target.  Does anyone seriously believe that Rudd isn the absolute gold standard in arrogance and narcissism?  he makes Keating look tame.

Post by Innocent bystander on Sep 10th, 2013 at 5:04pm
I've said it before and I'll say it again, Rudd was the greatest asset Abbott could ever have in his quest to become PM   ;D ;D ;D

Post by dsmithy70 on Sep 10th, 2013 at 5:10pm

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 4:59pm:

that limited description could apply to half the parliament or more.  the point is that the shrinks assessment clearly hits the target.  Does anyone seriously believe that Rudd isn the absolute gold standard in arrogance and narcissism?  he makes Keating look tame.

I'll ask nicely once more, please DO NOT put those 2 names in the one sentence.
1 is a God
the other is a despicable traitor

Post by muso on Sep 10th, 2013 at 5:12pm
Rudd has had a fair shake of the sauce bottle. Time to zip. Time to look to the future.

Post by longweekend58 on Sep 10th, 2013 at 5:25pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 5:10pm:

longweekend58 wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 4:59pm:

I'll ask nicely once more, please DO NOT put those 2 names in the one sentence.
1 is a God
the other is a despicable traitor

LOL!!!  I am no fan of keating but I will grant him competence and vision while with Rudd he is the complete opposite.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Sep 10th, 2013 at 5:42pm

muso wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 5:12pm:
Rudd has had a fair shake of the sauce bottle. Time to zip. Time to look to the future.

Post by cods on Sep 10th, 2013 at 5:49pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 5:42pm:

muso wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 5:12pm:

THAT CARTOON IS SO SPOT ON... THE LABOR PARTY WOULD DO THEMSELVES A GREAT BIG FAVOR IF THEY READ THE BOARDS.... ;D ;D..

why bring idiots in from overseas at huge cost when they have got us for free..

Post by Innocent bystander on Sep 10th, 2013 at 5:51pm

cods wrote on Sep 10th, 2013 at 5:49pm:
why bring idiots in from overseas at huge cost when they have got us for free..

Why? ... because they can't handle the truth thats why  ;D

Post by Peter Freedman on Sep 10th, 2013 at 5:52pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Sep 9th, 2013 at 7:53pm:

Would be a lot better than the sh#t sandwich yours would make.  ;D

There are few people more vain than those who laugh at their own "jokes".

Post by muso on Sep 10th, 2013 at 5:54pm
He'll stick around in parliament until he can get a senior diplomatic post.

Post by red baron on Sep 10th, 2013 at 5:59pm
Sprintcyclist your cartoon was tooooo funny!!

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.