General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Tony Abbott Thumbing His Nose At Voters.
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1383717376

Message started by imcrookonit on Nov 6th, 2013 at 3:56pm

Title: Tony Abbott Thumbing His Nose At Voters.
Post by imcrookonit on Nov 6th, 2013 at 3:56pm
Tony Abbott 'thumbing his nose' at voters, says Laurie Oakes

Date
    November 6, 2013

Canberra press gallery veteran Laurie Oakes says the Abbott government is "thumbing its nose at voters" through a lack of transparency and communication.

You can’t thumb your nose at the voters’ right to know and you can’t arrogantly say ‘we’ll let the voters be misinformed and we won’t help journalists get it right'. That’s just a disgusting attitude.      :(

The respected Channel Nine reporter and political commentator told Fairfax Media that Prime Minister Tony Abbott and senior ministers were breaking their election promise of greater accountability for voters.

"They’re busily trying to avoid the media as much as possible and to control the media and so far they’re getting away with it but I don’t think they will get away with it for too long," he said ahead of the release of his new book Remarkable Times: Australian Politics 2010-13.

"You can see the way the story of the expenses rorts is gathering speed, and that horse bolted because Tony Abbott and his Special Minister of State Michael Ronaldson didn’t move to nip it in the bud.

The criticism follows disquiet from journalists and commentators at the lack of access to Mr Abbott and senior ministers including Attorney-General George Brandis and Treasurer Joe Hockey.      :(

Mr Oakes said the government should learn from the experience of British Prime Minister David Cameron, who sought to control media reporting more tightly after his 2010 election, but was ultimately unsuccessful.

Mr Abbott has held just eight formal press conferences since his September 7 election win and requests for information from minister's offices are frequently left unanswered. 

A spokesman for the Prime Minister said Mr Abbott had held an additional nine doorstop interviews.

Mr Oakes said, "David Cameron was determined to tame the news cycle but he went before the Leveson inquiry two years after he won office and had to admit it hadn’t succeeded.

"Basically it is too hard letting damaging stories go past without dealing with them."

Singling out Immigration Minister Scott Morrison, Mr Oakes said arrogance and disregard for truth would ultimately backfire.

Since implementing the Operation Sovereign Borders policy, Mr Morrison has moved to hold just weekly briefings in Sydney for journalists and frequently declines to answer questions.    

The former government allowed Immigration Department staff to provide information on boat arrivals in real time.

"What’s particularly not acceptable is Scott Morrison’s arrogant attitude. He sees it as getting at the press but it’s not. It’s getting at the voters and eventually I think the voters will wake up.      :(    

"[Mr Morrison's] last effort was as bad as any. It even looked like the Prime Minister might have said ‘Good on you Scott’. If that’s the attitude then I think Tony Abbott’s got a bit to learn.

"You can’t thumb your nose at the voters’ right to know and you can’t arrogantly say ‘we’ll let the voters be misinformed and we won’t help journalists get it right'. That’s just a disgusting attitude."      >:(

Mr Oakes, who has reported from Canberra since the 1960s, said the current crop of press gallery reporters were faced with fewer resources and constant demand for news.

He highlighted Assistant Infrastructure Minister Jamie Briggs and NSW Labor MP Ed Husic as potential leaders of their respective parties.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/political-news/tony-abbott-thumbing-his-nose-at-voters-says-laurie-oakes-20131106-2x0p8.html#ixzz2jqEg2dRx

Title: Re: Tony Abbott Thumbing His Nose At Voters.
Post by imcrookonit on Nov 6th, 2013 at 3:59pm
comments so far

You are completely right Laurie. I can’t believe how silent the Government is on everything. Just wait till Parliament sits again and the Abbott has to face scrutiny from the Labor opposition and Clive Palmer. Fun times ahead I think.      :(

Commenter
        MR
    Date and time
        November 06, 2013, 1:13PM

Yep abbott want to be a small target , keep quiet, no one will know they are there. But we have been conditioned to have real time news and information now. This will not fly with the public for long. THese jokers will last 2 terms tops .Expect them to lose a lot of seats in the next election if theyt keep up with the invisible act.      :(    

Commenter
            Pinky
            November 06, 2013, 1:50PM

Abbott government - the opaque government. Let's get elected. Now what? Umm...err..      :(

Commenter
            Interesting
            November 06, 2013, 1:50PM

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/political-news/tony-abbott-thumbing-his-nose-at-voters-says-laurie-oakes-20131106-2x0p8.html#ixzz2jqHpSH1Y

Post by Aussie on Nov 6th, 2013 at 4:00pm
Yes....we (well some of us) have been saying the same thing here.  Often enough in the lead up to the last election, the conga line cited Oakes as their Guru.  I do hope they are consistent.

Post by Innocent bystander on Nov 6th, 2013 at 4:02pm
Haha Laurie Oaks, forgot all about that irrelevant donut addict, is he still around?, another one that should be shipped off to Greece to bask in leftist glory  ;D

Post by Armchair_Politician on Nov 6th, 2013 at 4:11pm
So, Laurie, you'd rather have the PM regurgitate old announcements/policies just for the sake of having some time in front of the press gallery, as was the case with the previous Labor government? Is that what it takes to get the press on-side? I doubt Abbott cares what the media thinks of him - he'll let his actions be judged by the people, not the media.

Post by imcrookonit on Nov 6th, 2013 at 4:19pm
Is it not the people that judge a government, by what they find out from the media?.  Of course though, if Mr Abbott wants to keep people in the dark.  Well lets just say, there could be a price to pay for that.      :(

Post by progressiveslol on Nov 6th, 2013 at 4:43pm
Poor old laury oaks is feeling a bit irrelevant now the adults are in charge. No more labor crack addict media frenzies.

Post by Rider on Nov 6th, 2013 at 5:41pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Nov 6th, 2013 at 4:02pm:
Haha Laurie Oaks, forgot all about that irrelevant donut addict, is he still around?, another one that should be shipped off to Greece to bask in leftist glory  ;D

Poor old Laurie, him and a hell of a lot of other lazy 'journalists' (they wouldn't survive in a pink fit in any other country) just don't know how to survive without the pile of 'press releases' being foisted upon them every hour on the hour.

Fancy a government getting on with the job of governing rather than feeding the chooks all day every bloody day.

The lard might just have to work for his money now. Good, the fat turd could do with a bit of a starve, wouldn't be too bad and would probably be advisable if he missed a few long lunches.

Post by John Smith on Nov 6th, 2013 at 5:44pm

Armchair_Politician wrote on Nov 6th, 2013 at 4:11pm:
So, Laurie, you'd rather have the PM regurgitate old announcements/policies just for the sake of having some time in front of the press gallery

no, he wants the government to answer questions about todays issues/policies . What is Abbott hiding from?

Post by Innocent bystander on Nov 6th, 2013 at 5:49pm

Rider wrote on Nov 6th, 2013 at 5:41pm:

Innocent bystander wrote on Nov 6th, 2013 at 4:02pm:

Poor old Laurie, him and a hell of a lot of other lazy 'journalists' (they wouldn't survive in a pink fit in any other country) just don't know how to survive without the pile of 'press releases' being foisted upon them every hour on the hour.

Fancy a government getting on with the job of governing rather than feeding the chooks all day every bloody day.

The lard might just have to work for his money now. Good, the fat turd could do with a bit of a starve, wouldn't be too bad and would probably be advisable if he missed a few long lunches.

Too right, the quiet achievers are running the show now, representing the silent majority, the ALP pollies that think they are movie stars in some sort of a Hollywood production are gone and gone for a very long time  ;D

Post by Innocent bystander on Nov 6th, 2013 at 5:53pm

John Smith wrote on Nov 6th, 2013 at 5:44pm:

So, Laurie, you'd rather have the PM regurgitate old announcements/policies just for the sake of having some time in front of the press gallery

no, he wants the government to answer questions about todays issues/policies . What is Abbott hiding from?

What are you hiding from?, your mental health nurse.  ;D

Post by Armchair_Politician on Nov 6th, 2013 at 5:55pm

John Smith wrote on Nov 6th, 2013 at 5:44pm:

He's hiding from journalists like Oakes who want the PM to talk for the sake of talking, as Rudd & Gillard and so many of their MP's did.

Post by LaQuinn on Nov 6th, 2013 at 6:03pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Nov 6th, 2013 at 5:53pm:

Have you ever considered leaving this forum? It is actually depressing knowing that we voted for the same government considering how stupid you are. Either that or you're a terrible troll.

As I've always said, wait until the 100 day mark for them to show us what they're all about, my opinion so far is mixed in some areas, I'm usually always am disappointed with what happens in government regardless of who is leading.

Post by longweekend58 on Nov 6th, 2013 at 6:13pm
Oakes is just having to work hsu uber-fat ass more to get stories now.  Of course he could just make them up.  Or perhaps his mate - Kevin Rudd - is no longer in the know so he is no longer being as well informed/leaked to.

Im still trying to work out what the problem is with a weekly boat arrivals conference than an every-boat press conference?  It is hardly 'hiding' the truth.

Post by Peter Freedman on Nov 7th, 2013 at 3:13am

Aussie wrote on Nov 6th, 2013 at 4:00pm:
Yes....we (well some of us) have been saying the same thing here.  Often enough in the lead up to the last election, the conga line cited Oakes as their Guru.  I do hope they are consistent.

As we can see, there is nothing consistent in the approach of the congas.

When he criticised Labor, Laurie was king. Now he has turned his guns on to the Libs, he has suddenly transformed himself into a slimy turd.

If Abbott thinks he can govern by keeping the voters in the dark then he is a bigger fool than I thought he was.

Making enemies of the media is a very stupid move.

Post by Kat on Nov 7th, 2013 at 5:29am

Peter Freedman wrote on Nov 7th, 2013 at 3:13am:

When he criticised Labor, Laurie was king. Now he has turned his guns on to the Libs, he has suddenly transformed himself into a slimy turd.

If Abbott thinks he can govern by keeping the voters in the dark then he is a bigger fool than I thought he was.

Double post - removed.

Post by Kat on Nov 7th, 2013 at 5:31am

Peter Freedman wrote on Nov 7th, 2013 at 3:13am:

Liberals are slimy turds.

Always have been, always will be.

They should all be in jail or psychiatric institutions, NEVER in positions of power.

Post by mantra on Nov 7th, 2013 at 5:52am

longweekend58 wrote on Nov 6th, 2013 at 6:13pm:
Oakes is just having to work hsu uber-fat ass more to get stories now.  Of course he could just make them up.  Or perhaps his mate - Kevin Rudd - is no longer in the know so he is no longer being as well informed/leaked to.

Im still trying to work out what the problem is with a weekly boat arrivals conference than an every-boat press conference?  It is hardly 'hiding' the truth.

You might think this story is made up, although the proof is in the live clip, but it's only the start. If people don't get access to the truth and this government refuses to be transparent - it's going to backfire and speculation will run rife.

You can't have a PM who runs from the paparazzi like a disgruntled celebrity. How hard is it for him to stop for a minute and answer a few simple questions?

Post by John Smith on Nov 7th, 2013 at 9:43am

LaQuinn wrote on Nov 6th, 2013 at 6:03pm:

Innocent bystander wrote on Nov 6th, 2013 at 5:53pm:

Have you ever considered leaving this forum? It is actually depressing knowing that we voted for the same government considering how stupid you are. Either that or you're a terrible troll.

As I've always said, wait until the 100 day mark for them to show us what they're all about, my opinion so far is mixed in some areas, I'm usually always am disappointed with what happens in government regardless of who is leading.

well said  ;D ;D ;D

Post by John Smith on Nov 7th, 2013 at 9:46am
I noticed Abbott wasn't too busy for his photo opp with the guys trekking to the south pole yesterday .... funny that, he hasnt had time to say boo to the media in weeks, but give the man a photo opp and he comes a running.

Of course when the media started asking questions about other topics he started his own trek, stright into the nearest hiding place  .... 

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/national/2013/11/06/13/14/pm-tells-s-pole-trekkers-don-t-tempt-me

Post by aquascoot on Nov 7th, 2013 at 10:14am
OAKES, being a political journo, probably loved the hourly media tarting of rudd and co.
it made him front and centre at channel 9.

now tony recognises the australian public are sick to death of seeing politicians on the media every second of every day.

wise move tony, you have your finger on the pulse.

if OAKES loses his job, its not like he'll starve. i reckon the prick could last 6 months without going grocery shopping.
if he wants to get on tv , he could go down with the sea sheppard crew and they could film him being harpooned by the japs ;)

Post by Grendel on Nov 7th, 2013 at 10:18am
Laurie is finding it difficult to maintain, due to there being slow news weeks.... 

When parliament resumes things will pick up and he won't be so eager to create beat-ups to justify his existence.

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Nov 7th, 2013 at 10:25am
What a sad time it is for lefties and Laurie Oakes.
They all miss having a PM and a government who are collective media tarts.
I think they secretly miss the stupid selfies, inane twitter posts and they also miss the illegal boats too.
Poor Laurie now has to work for a living now as he is no longer been spoon fed his articles.
They all forget that Abbott stated quite clearly prior to the election that his government would be one that gets on quietly doing the job of governance.
And this is precisely what is happening.
Don't fret though.
The dithering blithering Labor / Greens Keystone Kops will have their chance to hold Abbott to account in Parliament if they can ever find the long lost packet of 'Competence' medication.
Otherwise Abbott may well chew them up and spit them out in Parliament as he did at the election.

Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 7th, 2013 at 10:29am

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Nov 7th, 2013 at 10:25am:
They all miss having a competent PM and government.

Indeed.

Post by chicken_lipsforme on Nov 7th, 2013 at 10:33am

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 7th, 2013 at 10:29am:

Indeed.

I didn't post that.
Don't change my posts!!!

Post by mozzaok on Nov 7th, 2013 at 10:38am

John Smith wrote on Nov 7th, 2013 at 9:46am:
I noticed Abbott wasn't too busy for his photo opp with the guys trekking to the south pole yesterday .... funny that, he hasnt had time to say boo to the media in weeks, but give the man a photo opp and he comes a running.

Of course when the media started asking questions about other topics he started his own trek, stright into the nearest hiding place  .... 

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/national/2013/11/06/13/14/pm-tells-s-pole-trekkers-don-t-tempt-me

Yeah, the right wing nutter would appear at the opening of an envelope, when he was pushing his idiotic one liners for the brain dead dross that voted for the prick, but now he has the top job, we are seeing stasi like silence, where only those who need to know, will be spoken to, on the assumption that only positive spin is allowed.

Post by aquascoot on Nov 7th, 2013 at 10:58am

Indeed.

come on greg, changing posts is illegal, just like seeking assylum is

Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 7th, 2013 at 11:02am

aquascoot wrote on Nov 7th, 2013 at 10:58am:

Indeed.

come on greg, changing posts is illegal, just like seeking ass

Seeking ass isn't illegal.

Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 7th, 2013 at 11:04am

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Nov 7th, 2013 at 10:33am:

Indeed.

I didn't post that.
Don't change my posts!!!

I can only change my own posts.

Yours is still exactly as you left it.

Here, see for yourself:

http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1383717376/22#22

Post by Grendel on Nov 7th, 2013 at 1:26pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Nov 7th, 2013 at 11:04am:

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Nov 7th, 2013 at 10:33am:

They all miss having an incompetent PM and government.

Indeed.

I did post that.
Don't change my posts!!! Not nice, not honest.

I can only change my own nappies.

Yours isn't full like mine... yes I'm still full of it.

Here, see for yourself

Ah no thanks  :D :D :D

Post by iceyone on Nov 7th, 2013 at 1:51pm
Interesting times ahead.

Get the media offside and it isn't pretty.

Post by FriYAY on Nov 7th, 2013 at 2:36pm

John Smith wrote on Nov 7th, 2013 at 9:46am:
, he hasnt had time to say boo to the media in weeks

What a load of dam made up crap.

He’s in the media all the time. Just because he isn’t talking about the crap the dam loops want him too, they are all upset about it.

How to turn a group of people into a bunch of squealing little girls? – VOTE 1 T Abbott.

:D :D :D ::)

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.