General Discussion >> General Board >> Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1386629877 Message started by bogarde73 on Dec 10th, 2013 at 8:57am |
Title: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by bogarde73 on Dec 10th, 2013 at 8:57am
The big two have concocted this "code of conduct", carefully crafted to suit their own business plan, and now they are trying to force Aldi into it.
The only reason for that is that they are feeling the heat from Aldi and it may put price pressure on Aldi if it signs up. So now they are making threats about intellectual property, pointing out that Aldi's home brands often have a similar appearance to national brands. Who cares? What they don't have is the extortionate prices of the brands sold by the big two. These guys have got so used to pushing markets, suppliers, consumers and governments around that they have forgotten Aldi is a bigger business than the two of them put together. Pull your heads in barrow boys and start giving your customers a fair deal! |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by bogarde73 on Dec 10th, 2013 at 8:59am
Mexican standoff: Woolworths takes aim at Aldi over packaging
DateDecember 10, 2013 - 8:44AM Woolworths has stepped up pressure on rival Aldi to sign the grocery code of conduct, alleging the discount retailer's private label products may be infringing on the intellectual property of leading national brands, writes The Australian Financial Review. Under the code of conduct signed last month by Woolworths, Coles and the Australian Food & Grocery Council, retailers and suppliers must respect intellectual property rights, including brand names, packaging designs and advertising. Woolworths managing director of supermarkets Tjeerd Jegen has pointed to similarities between some of Aldi's exclusive brands and national brands, including Bundaberg ginger beer, Procter & Gamble's Pantene shampoo, General Mills's Old El Paso taco kits and Kellogg's Special K. Spot the difference: the similarity between the products' packagin has upset Woolworths. Spot the difference: the similarity between the products' packaging has upset Woolworths. Photo: Rob Homer "One of our major competitors has 96 per cent of their range that is own-brand," Mr Jegen told The Australian Financial Review. "If you don't look carefully, you'd think it came from suppliers' brands." Mr Jegen called on Aldi to sign the voluntary code of conduct, echoing comments by Woolworths chief executive Grant O'Brien, Coles managing director Ian McLeod, and Wesfarmers chief executive Richard Goyder. Metcash has said it is reluctant to sign the code because it played no part in the negotiations and the code is irrelevant to its business model as a wholesaler, rather than a retailer, with no control over shelf space or retail prices. Aldi has yet to comment on its position, although managing director Tom Daunt has said in the past that he supports any code that "levels the playing field". Mr Daunt was unavailable for comment on Monday. Mr Jegen turned up the heat on Aldi. "In order to get a level playing field, I can't understand why every retailer is not signing up to the code," he said. "Everyone is asking for a level playing field and we're providing it now." |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by cods on Dec 10th, 2013 at 9:27am
I tend to agree with this... not everyone reads bloody labels...they see something looks familiar..why wouldnt it be what you think it is??
if a bloke went in and bought a set of golfclubs because they looked almost identical to the ones he thought he was buying..only to find it was a generic brand with a good disguise.. do you think he would be ropeable???? I am sure he would... well its the same with us we see a product a shampoo it looks exactly the same as the one we always buy.. only it isnt.. are we going to take the lousy bottle of shampoo back to the shop?????????..its annoying it isnt fair and it isnt right either... its called cheating as far as I am concerned. why copy someone else if you have such a good product? |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by pansi1951 on Dec 10th, 2013 at 9:27am
What's funny is that Aldi shapes and sao biscuits have very similar packaging to Arnotts, but it's Woolworths that have issue with it. Many Aldi products have similar packaging to famous brands. Why are these companies not taking Aldi to court.
cry me a river Woolworths Aldi 9,325 stores globally Australia 311 stores since 2001 Karl Albrecht retains ownership of Aldi Süd, and with a personal wealth of €17.2 billion, is the richest man in Germany, while the co-owners of ALDI Nord, Berthold and Theo Albrecht Jr., follow close behind at €16 billion. Geographic distribution[edit] Country Name Aldi group Since Outlets Germany Nord 1946 2,400 Germany Aldi Süd 1946 1,790 Australia 2001 311 Austria 1968 430 Belgium 1973 380 Denmark 1977 244 France 1988 680 Hungary 2008 85 Ireland 1998 105 Luxembourg 1990 12 Netherlands 1975 406 Poland 2008 72 Portugal 2006 36 Slovenia 2005 71 Spain 2002 227 Switzerland 2005 130 United Kingdom 1989 511 United States 1976 1,200 Trader Joe's Nord 1979 399 total number of Aldi Nord stores 4,805 total number of Aldi Süd stores 4,430 combined total of Aldi stores 9,235 Some Aldi facts from Wikipedia |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by pansi1951 on Dec 10th, 2013 at 9:34am cods wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 9:27am:
The thing is cods, Aldi very, very rarely carry 'brand names', so shoppers know that the product is from some other company. They have Nescafe coffee and vegemite, apart from those two, I don't think they have any other brand name products, they could, but harldly any. A person would have to pretty stupid to not know this. Aldi shoppers are well aware of the product lines because they are sensible people, that's why they shop at Aldi :) |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by athos on Dec 10th, 2013 at 9:59am cods wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 9:27am:
Woolworths' bastards are terrible in creating monopoly wherever they can. The corrupted council officials in Perth for years haven't allowed ALDI on the market letting Wolwarths to have higher prices in perth than in the rest of Australia. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Frances on Dec 10th, 2013 at 10:08am
Good to see that someone has finally had a go at Aldi over their misleading labelling practices, even if it had to be their competitors. Copying the design and colours of a well known brand name and changing a few letters is hardly an honest way of doing business, is it?
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by athos on Dec 10th, 2013 at 10:18am Frances wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 10:08am:
What does it have to do with the consumers benefit. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by bogarde73 on Dec 10th, 2013 at 10:51am
misleading labelling practices?
I can't see what's "misleading" about it. You get what you pay for on the label, whether it's a packet of corn flakes or a bottle of sauce. It may look like and taste like the same product you could pay twice or three times the price for. So what? If fact, I actually prefer Aldi home brands because the quality is often better and I don't have to throw a lot of it out. Some people wouldn't know a good deal if it hit them in the face. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Deathridesahorse on Dec 10th, 2013 at 12:37pm cods wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 9:27am:
What you do and don't call cheating would be more than a very interesting story: GO THE COPPER INTERNET FOR THE CLEVER COUNTRY!!! :D |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Deathridesahorse on Dec 10th, 2013 at 12:39pm Frances wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 10:08am:
Honesty, well let's all get high fallutin' about business practises then ;D |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by gizmo_2655 on Dec 10th, 2013 at 12:52pm bogarde73 wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 8:57am:
It's called competition...get used to it |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Frances on Dec 10th, 2013 at 1:35pm
I wandered into Aldi's Parramatta store at lunchtime mainly to get out of the heat. I didn't have my glasses with me and I found it difficult to tell what items were brand names and which ones were Aldi's home brand. I ended up leaving without buying anything.....
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Deathridesahorse on Dec 10th, 2013 at 1:39pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 12:52pm:
Its called competition with benefits, get used to it[fixed] |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Deathridesahorse on Dec 10th, 2013 at 1:41pm Frances wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 1:35pm:
Well lets all cheer the questionable women in our lives wasting good oxygen! :-? |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by pansi1951 on Dec 10th, 2013 at 2:19pm Frances wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 1:35pm:
It's Mrs Andrei You might have had the same problem in Woolies or Coles......without the glasses. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Deathridesahorse on Dec 10th, 2013 at 2:24pm
Mrs andrei, lol: no need to be rude 8-)
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by thelastnail on Dec 10th, 2013 at 2:59pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 9:34am:
Cods is pretty stupid though ;) |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by thelastnail on Dec 10th, 2013 at 3:01pm Frances wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 1:35pm:
I wonder how you even knew it was an Aldis store without your glasses ;D |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by thelastnail on Dec 10th, 2013 at 3:04pm bogarde73 wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 8:57am:
That's funny though because I thought that Coles and Woolies got up to the same tricks with their premium homebrand stuff ;) Aldis would be wise not to have anything to do with these two harvey norman equivalent of supermarkets ;) |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by pansi1951 on Dec 10th, 2013 at 3:27pm Sir lastnail wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 3:04pm:
Oh they do, but they're just jealous of Aldi's profits. Aldi know how to grow their customer base. Superior parking, fast service, quality product, good selection and best of all, low prices. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 10th, 2013 at 3:28pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 3:27pm:
I wish they'd hurry up and come to Perth. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by thelastnail on Dec 10th, 2013 at 3:32pm greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 3:28pm:
I heard that Aldis won't come to Perth unless they can open on the weekends. Have things changed ? |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Hobartian on Dec 10th, 2013 at 3:56pm
My only problem with Aldi is that they don't have any stores in Hobart. I wish they would open one to give Woolworths and Coles some competition.
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 10th, 2013 at 4:00pm Hobartian wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 3:56pm:
Yes, Hobart too! Open in Perth and Hobart, Aldi. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 10th, 2013 at 4:01pm Sir lastnail wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 3:32pm:
We have seven day trading in Perth. Come on Aldi! |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Deathridesahorse on Dec 10th, 2013 at 4:03pm Sir lastnail wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 3:32pm:
Nah,.. youll have to wait awhile: having said that i actually don't know 8-) |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Deathridesahorse on Dec 10th, 2013 at 4:05pm greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 4:01pm:
Do we??????????? |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by athos on Dec 10th, 2013 at 4:12pm Frances wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 1:35pm:
People don't give s h i t for brand names. What they want is a quality and chiper price. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by athos on Dec 10th, 2013 at 4:14pm Sir lastnail wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 3:01pm:
:D ;D 8-) |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by athos on Dec 10th, 2013 at 4:19pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 3:27pm:
Aldi applies German work ethics. They have much less staff and unlike in Woollies you can't see them chatting and doing nothing. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Deathridesahorse on Dec 10th, 2013 at 4:22pm
** Go the copper internet in an allegedly clever country and be proud you vote globalist :-?
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Frances on Dec 10th, 2013 at 4:51pm Sir lastnail wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 3:01pm:
I can read signs without my glasses - I just can't read too much on the labels..... |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by cods on Dec 10th, 2013 at 5:06pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 9:34am:
I disagree pansi.. they now carry cadburys Nesafe is another oneand I have seen Kelloggs .I dont think its stupid of customers not to expect to be hoodwinked.. I bet if you had a brand and a style all your own and a little back street store camealong and stole more or less everything except the name you would complain.... and rightly so.. a lot of Aldi products look very similar..and no they are getting more and more into selling brands.. not off of their lines... but enough I have been buying their cheaper tissues..mainly because I felt I am getting ripped off by the brands.. theirs are getting smaller and smaller..anyway for a few weeks I have been really happy.. I wouldnt buy their other paper products as they aint soft enough..anyway this last lot I bought the tissues are horrible..almost crackle they are not the same quality they have been.. I am nit picking if you like.. but their tim tams may look the same but they don taste the same. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by cods on Dec 10th, 2013 at 5:09pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 3:27pm:
this is about all the big guys signing an agreement not to do that |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Deathridesahorse on Dec 10th, 2013 at 5:10pm cods wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 5:06pm:
Go the invisible hand 8-) |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Deathridesahorse on Dec 10th, 2013 at 5:12pm cods wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 5:09pm:
Declaration of false peace ya mean :o |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 10th, 2013 at 5:21pm BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 4:05pm:
Yep. Since August last year. Trading hours for general retail shops in the metropolitan area: 8.00am - 9.00pm, Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday Thursday and Friday 8.00am - 5.00pm, Saturday 11.00am - 5.00pm, Sunday 11.00am - 5.00pm Public holidays New laws have given all general retail shops in the Perth metropolitan area, including major supermarkets and department stores, the right to open their doors on Sunday between 11am and 5pm. http://www.commerce.wa.gov.au/consumerprotection/content/consumers/Retail_Trading_Hours.html |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Lols on Dec 10th, 2013 at 10:04pm
I am not so sure if Woolies can really do that to Aldi, taking them to task over similar packaging, it could be a bluff, and as the outcome in court is not such a sure thing. I say this because of the well known case with Cadbury's trying to do the same against their competitior, with their purple coloured wrapping for their chocolate that was imitated to look similar, as I can't put up links yet, I have to copy and paste this case, for your perusal, below in italics.
Cadbury can’t stake claim on purple packaging By Packaging Buzz Staff October 17, 2013 Share on facebookShare on twitterShare on linkedinShare on google_plusone_shareShare on email Cadbury’s purple reign is over. Nestle S.A. recently won a court appeal against Cadbury Enterprises, which overturned a decision from October 2012 that said Cadbury could trademark its particular shade of purple packaging, according to Reuters. The company had established a decades-long marketing campaign, in which the British chocolate maker sought to make purple synonymous with its products. In 2004, it even won a trademark on the color, winning the exclusive right to use it on candy bars and drinking chocolate in the United Kingdom The decision allows Nestle and other chocolate makers to package chocolate products with the same colored wrapping. Three judges at the Court of Appeal in London ruled that the trademark Cadbury applied for “lacks the required clarity, precision, self-containment, durability and objectivity to qualify for registration.” Cadbury is studying the ruling and will consider whether to appeal, it said in an e-mailed statement to Bloomberg. Cadbury History “Our color purple has been linked with Cadbury for a century and the British public has grown up understanding its link with our chocolate,” Cadbury said. Mondelez, which also makes Oreo cookies, was created in a split of Kraft Foods Group Inc. (KRFT) last year. The Deerfield, Illinois-based Mondelez had a 20.5 percent share of the western European chocolate confectionery market in 2012, according to Bloomberg Industries data. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Lols on Dec 10th, 2013 at 10:10pm
I think Aldi's prices are amazing, and some of their products that are similar to the other supermarkets, I think are similar, in quality, but better in price, for instance, gluten free flour in a supermarket other than Aldi, is nearly $6, yet Aldi has it for under $3. I consider that Aldi are scrupulous with their products, and would not sell us crap, in fact, this computer I am on at present, I bought nearly 3 years ago, an all in one 22inch touch screen, and it's been brilliant! (Medion brand). It was $1100 at the time, when similar HP brands were $1800. Thank you Aldi :)
Anyway, I do my shopping at 3 or 4 different supermarkets, I don't just go to the same one all the time. Too boring, I like to change course and go to different wilds of the supermarket aisles coz I can 8-) |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Kat on Dec 10th, 2013 at 10:45pm Sophia wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 10:04pm:
Nestle are a pack of amoral grubs. I wouldn't give them the time of day, and certainly won't buy their products. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Chimp_Logic on Dec 10th, 2013 at 10:58pm Sophia wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 10:10pm:
So how long have you been working at ALDI? |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Kat on Dec 10th, 2013 at 11:14pm Chimp_Logic wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 10:58pm:
You're not a fan then, I take it? |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by gizmo_2655 on Dec 10th, 2013 at 11:24pm athos wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 4:12pm:
Sorry athos..but bullshit..Speaking as a price orientated shopper. I'm quite prepared to pay a little extra for a quality brand name product...I don't really look for chiper (or even CHEAPER, learn to spell dude) prices if the quality is significantly less. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Torpedo on Dec 10th, 2013 at 11:31pm Sophia wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 10:10pm:
I like Aldi's products. Bread, dairy, raspberries! Eggs, cat food (my cat eats only silvester :)) ), soaps, baby nappies, hygiene products. You name it. Both quality and price - unbeatable. Not sure about shampoo, I can only use the one from pharmacy anyway, so who cares |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by gizmo_2655 on Dec 10th, 2013 at 11:37pm Torpedo wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 11:31pm:
Yeah, my cat likes silvester too, of ci\ourse he 'prefers' whiskas which is basically the same stuff, just a different label. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Torpedo on Dec 10th, 2013 at 11:38pm
Just as a comparison, woolies's home brand sour cream contains flour, I am sure of it, it just tastes "cloggy", this dry taste, horrible, yet it's still little more expensive than the one at aldi.
Not everything is quality comparison, in fact many things aren't |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Torpedo on Dec 10th, 2013 at 11:40pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 11:37pm:
See, my cat is very fussy, he will never ever consume anything low quality. And whiskas, not just little, double the price |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by pansi1951 on Dec 11th, 2013 at 5:52am I've never given my dog Aldi food because I prepare home cooked meals for him. One time when he was constipated, the vet said to buy a can of Pal, it worked.......straight up. What the heck is in that can? Next time I will try Aldi canned dog food as a comparison. Aldi shampoo and conditioner is A1.......it's got a Pantene look alike container, half the price and just as good. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Frances on Dec 11th, 2013 at 6:09am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 5:52am:
I wouldn't give Aldi food to a dog either..... |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by pansi1951 on Dec 11th, 2013 at 6:43am Frances wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 6:09am:
Of course not Mrs Andrei, not a bleck dog anyway. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by aquascoot on Dec 11th, 2013 at 7:16am
no, i wont shop at woolworths. i know 2 dairy farmers who have suicided over impending bankruptcy. they are an evil corporation.
my daughter managed an ALDI for 12 months. awesome company, extra good to their staff. she was on $26 an hour compared to $18 at woolies. i will not set foot in a woolies or coles again. i will not buy fuel off them, play their pokies or drink their alcohol. i urge all australians to think hard about $2 milk. bad karma |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by aquascoot on Dec 11th, 2013 at 7:41am
i usually pick up a road kill roo and cut it up for my fellow. he's as strong as an ox. same as tinned food but not all those hydroxysulphates
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by cods on Dec 11th, 2013 at 8:05am aquascoot wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 7:41am:
full of worms though |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by cods on Dec 11th, 2013 at 8:12am aquascoot wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 7:16am:
well we cant all do that but dont forget Aldi is still an overseas company??.. so what do Australians really want??.. we talk on the one hand buy aussie made...and then we have someone saying dont support aussie business I cant say as I know what farmers are going through but I do watch landline..and the farmer that is surviving is the one that makes the changes..if dairy is n ot the answer for them what about chickens.. or even sheep I can only assume sheep are dwindling when I see the price of lamb..its ridiculous... I would say if you hang everything you have on one source you are begging for a fall....they pay people huge sums to get the cheapest prices..its called competition..and its tough.. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by athos on Dec 11th, 2013 at 9:00am cods wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 8:12am:
This myth and argument that Woolworths is an Australian company is ridiculous and misleading. Neither Woolworths nor Aldi are manufacturing industries that produce goods in Australia and export oversees. They both sell variety of products that are produced in Australia and oversees Only difference is that Aldi sells more quality products from Europe instead cheep crap from British colonies. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by imcrookonit on Dec 11th, 2013 at 9:21am
Thank you Aldi for the good fair prices. Please open more Aldi supermarkets. [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by bogarde73 on Dec 11th, 2013 at 9:23am
Regardless of the likelihood of success, as someone has mentioned, I can see Woolworths pressuring one or two of its suppliers to launch cases against Aldi on the basis of similarity of packaging.
For instance, Sanatorium"s Weetbix looks almost the same as Aldi's Wheat Biscuits. Of course, Woollies won't fund the cases or in any way get involved. It will all be a nod & a wink and an understanding that shelf space might be difficult to find if they don't play along. These people are ruthless. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by thelastnail on Dec 11th, 2013 at 9:46am bogarde73 wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 9:23am:
What rubbish !! Aldis doesn't even sell Sanatorium branded stuff. Unless it's a direct copy of the artwork they have no case against Aldis. People go to Aldis to buy Aldis branded stuff at a good price and not some branded stuff at a ripoff price. Coles and Woolies need to learn that its all about value for money !! Like crook always says drop your prices !! |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Gnads on Dec 11th, 2013 at 10:03am
F*@K WOOLWORTHS!
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 11th, 2013 at 10:03am Gnads wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 10:03am:
And Coles. Don't forget Coles. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by athos on Dec 11th, 2013 at 10:32am wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 9:21am:
THANK YOU ALDI FOR TREATING PEOPLE WITH RESPECT. LONG LIVE ALDI. PISS OFF WOOLWORTHS AND COLES. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by athos on Dec 11th, 2013 at 10:45am greggerypeccary wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 10:03am:
200 GRAMS OF SMOKED WILD SALMON FROM PRISTINE SEA WATERS OF SCANDINAVIA COSTS IN ALDI $6.99. 200 GRAMS OF SMOKED SALMON, ARTIFICIALLY GROWN, FULL OF ANTIBIOTICS AND HORMONES COSTS $10.00 IN WOOLWORTHS AND COLES. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Torpedo on Dec 11th, 2013 at 11:21am cods wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 8:12am:
Well, it's not like Asian market, where they buy, employ and benefit purely Asians. Aldi is not biased, and they employ aussies, and they buy from Aussies. And woollies aren't exactly playing the game in anyone's benefit, just profit making, monopolizing. I still buy from Woollies, but it seems as though they try to rid of all the good products I used to buy, lately the fill the shelves with the worst at the most ridiculous cost. For example "Ansell" gloves Silk Touch isn't available anymore, and the available stock is just not that great, so what's the point buying from Woollies? May as well buy the same crap, only cheaper, elsewhere... :-/ |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by aquascoot on Dec 11th, 2013 at 12:41pm bogarde73 wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 9:23am:
steve jobs should sue woolies for stealing his logo |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Kat on Dec 11th, 2013 at 2:58pm Torpedo wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 11:21am:
Yes, I'd noticed the same thing. But at this stage, WW is still better than Coles, who carry very few brand-name lines (at least in my town). |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by red baron on Dec 11th, 2013 at 6:15pm
Aldi are going from strength to strength, their range is increasing, literally by the week.
I spoke with a cashier who said as long as you're not afraid of hard work, they are great to work for. Incidentally Aldi pays its cashiers well, 35K to start with, not bad for a walk up start. Their chocolates genuine German fare, exquisite and cheap. Did my Christmas stuff today, ham, chocolates, chicken, all the fancy stuff. Full trolley, cost, $262. Same one at Coles up the road try doubling it, Coles and Woolies are truly f....d |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 11th, 2013 at 6:19pm red baron wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 6:15pm:
And they're all allowed to sit down at the checkout. Coles and Woolworths won't even allow pregnant or injured workers to sit down at the checkout. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 11th, 2013 at 6:25pm red baron wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 6:15pm:
Actually, that's a little low. WW pays around $37,000 to start with. Coles pays even more. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 11th, 2013 at 6:33pm I just checked. Aldi pay around $45,000 to start. Well above Coles and WW. However, WW and Coles have allowances on top of the base rate. Aldi's rates are inclusive of all allowances. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Lols on Dec 11th, 2013 at 7:08pm
:P No I don't work for Aldi's, just appreciative of some products that have worked that I took a punt on, when I actually wasn't sure at the time (me thinking of brand names being better like HP etc)...so that is why, I said thank you to Aldi's for that.
The most annoying thing about a touch screen computer, friends, family, come along, I show them something online, and they point to something on the screen, and touch the screen, then it all disappears and they wondered what happened...and I say..yep, just don't touch the screen, it's a touch screen.....and they give me this amazed look, and yep, believe it or not, from Aldi's...more amazed looks ;D you see, I am up with the latest mod con there amidst my friends ;D It was the first computer I had bought brand new, as up to that point in time, I always had 2nd hand ones, that always needed the computer tech to fix stuff up. So since buying this new one, not one cent spent on fixing or upgrading. Thank goodness! |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Lols on Dec 11th, 2013 at 7:13pm
Oh and not to exclude say, Woolworths, thanks to them, I bought their most amazing coffee machine for $69 that take them coffee pods, and I tell you, amidst all them other expensive machines, the coffee on this machine is amazing and well worth it! Now, Coles is next.....lately, they have included in their line, amidst all the roast chickens, roast beef...and it was delish! And then, IGA.....too many good things to say, but they have the best cordial we love, 90% fruit juice! Can't find it in other supermarkets, so that is why I said earlier, I shop at 3 or 4 different supermarkets over the course of a couple of weeks.
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Kat on Dec 11th, 2013 at 7:31pm Sophia wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 7:08pm:
Touch-screens on computers SUCK! BIG-time. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by athos on Dec 11th, 2013 at 7:52pm red baron wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 6:15pm:
100% agree. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by True Blue... on Dec 11th, 2013 at 8:17pm
aldi 24V battery drills are excellent...
I purchased one for work 4 years ago, then another one 2 years ago for another depot... I also purchased one for myself because the first one was working so well after the first two years... out of the three of the they are all still working like rippa's... the batteries don't go flat from just sitting around like some of the big brand name ones do and they last a long time... I think the brand is Taurus.. I think.. the newer ones even have LED lights on them if you are working in a dark corner or under a vehicle.. $40 each I think they were... a few months back I purchased a five inch grinder for work ... it has adjustable speed and works a treat so far... it feels good and strong.. I think that was around $50 or something.. if they were to stuff up after 12 months then who cares... but they are all still going strong.. I also purchased a 45lt three way camping fridge... it also ran great but have sold it off now and got top dollar for it as there's nothing else around in that price range... about $230 I think it was... :) but the quality is incredible... wollies have the freshest fruit I have to admit... coles are ok and IGA are just terrible.. they ought to be ashamed of themselves for the garbage they put on display.. >:( |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Frances on Dec 11th, 2013 at 8:25pm True Blue... wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 8:17pm:
Terrible? Maybe more like variable - the one on the Bobbin Head Road at North Turramurra is really good - and it's one of the cleanest supermarkets I've seen. The one at Parramatta Westfields is dreadful - and badly organised and scruffy. SupaBarn at Five Dock is pretty good too..... |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by True Blue... on Dec 11th, 2013 at 8:33pm Frances wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 8:25pm:
variable? agreed.. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by gizmo_2655 on Dec 11th, 2013 at 8:45pm True Blue... wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 8:33pm:
But you have to remember, with IGA, each shop is individually owned, usually by the manager. There's no real hierarchy of regional/state senior managers above the store level, to set a standard. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Lols on Dec 11th, 2013 at 10:49pm
We have 3 IGA stores within 10 kms approx of each other. One is terrible, I do not like going in there at all. The other two, are much better, but the best one is the one that has upgraded and expanded in Seville, and lo and behold, they will be up against so stiff comp, because, I think it's Woolworths, is building a giant supermarket, concrete prefab falls are up, and quite frankly, I don't think we needed another supermarket, not in a country town like Seville. This will be interesting to see what happens now. But it ruins the look of the village type township it was. Now, as far as Coles goes, in Lilydale, they upgraded something unbelievable, but at the same time, the old Lilydale Marke place shopping centre truly did upgrade amazingly, with underground parking, Dick Smith store, cafes, food court, Aldis, Woolies, fresh fish (all Australian), expensive as all hell, but absolutely beautiful fish, Millers, Sanity, cake shops, donut king, ANZ bank just shifted there last week, new Bank of Melbourne just opened up today by the looks of it, Spec savers, Big W, reject, so you get the drift of some of these shops how amazing this place has become, well, this Coles supermarket that upgraded is struggling, it is the best priced supermarket with markdowns you would not believe. I took my friend there, and she was amazed, I said, "It's one of my best kept secrets about Lilydale and where to shop cheaply, coz they are struggling".....she said she saved at least $60 from shopping there compared to Woolies (or is it Safeways) in Monbulk. Now their prices are a bit horrendous. So it's not all Coles that are expensive, this one is doing me huge favours by being so cheap. I am so happy about it, for a change! (pardon the pun ;D )
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by buzzanddidj on Dec 11th, 2013 at 11:55pm Quote:
Aldi in Australia ( ... so far, at least) is a DUMPING GROUND It targets the same market demographic as Not Quite Right (NQR) And in COMMON with NQR - it is rare to find the same item in two visits - a month apart ( ... this has always been MY experience, at least) I doubt Aldi and NQR feel threatened by Coles and Woolworths - and vice-versa - being quite different markets |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by bogarde73 on Dec 12th, 2013 at 9:40am
I'm surprised to hear buzz, given your vociferous condemnation of Aldi over a long period, that you have visited it twice & only a month apart.
Hope you saved a motza. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Gnads on Dec 12th, 2013 at 9:41am True Blue... wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 8:17pm:
Yeah you can say that again ..... the IGA here.. their fruit & veg is all 2nds or 3rds or worse. But I have to admit when my daughter was living in Brisbane the Supa IGA down the road was brilliant all round.... even their friut & veg .... although it was a tad expensive. |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by athos on Dec 12th, 2013 at 9:45am
IGA is so expensive and disgusting.
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by bogarde73 on Dec 12th, 2013 at 9:58am
I doubt Aldi and NQR feel threatened by Coles and Woolworths - and vice-versa - being quite different markets
I have no idea what NQR is, but yes, I doubt Aldi would feel threatened by the big two. As already pointed out, it could have them for breakfast. But I get the feeling they are coming under distinctly unwelcome pressure from Aldi, which can only be a good thing. Nobody else, certainly not the ACCC, seems able or willing to have an impact on their unfair and misused level of market power. But |
Title: Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi Post by Lols on Dec 12th, 2013 at 10:03am
Obviously, IGA stores are owned individually, depending on the owner, the frame of mind, reflects the store's appearance and quality. The best one for me is in Seville, absolutely upmarket and classy with a variety of gourmet stuff that is locally made, a little pricey, but fresh and so unique, the others are either dingy, or just average.
It is probably much the same with McDonalds, as we travelled a lot, driving between Victoria and Queensland, we always stopped at Maccas for a coffee, and I can tell you, the difference is noticeable there too, depending on whom is managing it. One I can't remember where it was now, somewhere in NSW, was the pits, dirty floors, and the toilet looked as if it wasn't cleaned in a month! I just could not get over it. And their drink had black things floating in it, I had to go up and ask what it was, they said it was bits of oreo that must have accidentally gone in there. Really? Never had it happened before in a Maccas store, ever! When we stopped at another one along the way a few hours later, the difference was so noticeable, I had to say to the manager, how beautifully clean it was and commendable. Fancy that, me noticing the different McDonalds for their cleanliness. One thing I truly dislike about some of them, their toilet doors are in line with the coffee area, and if you walk in a straight line, could almost land in the kitchen part. Bad design idea me thinks. Toilets too close to a kichen area. |
Australian Politics Forum » Powered by YaBB 2.5.2! YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved. |