General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Why doesn't the government do something about thes
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1389313069

Message started by the wise one on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:17am

Title: Why doesn't the government do something about thes
Post by the wise one on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:17am
There are 13 times more illegal immigrants than there are asylum seekers in detention who have arrived by boat.
Figures obtained by The Advertiser from the Immigration Department and under the Freedom of Information Act show plane arrivals from the United States (5080) and Britain (3610) are near the top of the list of those in the country without a valid visa. China (8070), and Malaysia (4200) round out the top four.

There are 4446 detained boat people, the largest national grouping of which are Afghans (1422).

Three in four of the 58,400 visa overstayers came on tourist or holiday-working visas; one in seven arrived as students and one in 15 disappeared after being granted temporary residency.

Last year, only 6720 visa overstayers were sent home, most voluntarily, after applications to stay longer were rejected.

The US Government refused to answer questions about how it tried to stop visa overstayers but British Deputy High Commissioner Jolyon Welsh was critical of those who broke the rules.

Mr Welsh said only limited help was given to visa overstayers who were deported and had travel restrictions imposed. "My strong advice to British nationals is that they make sure they have the right visa for what they want to do and stay within the terms of that visa," Mr Welsh said.

Other details provided by the Immigration Department include:

MORE than half of the overstayers have called Australia home for five or more years.

ABOUT 20,000 have lived here a decade or more.

TWO in three have evaded immigration authorities for more than two years.

The figures do not include thousands of visitors who overstay their visas by up to a fortnight.

Refugee Council of Australia chief executive officer Paul Power said the figures helped put boat arrivals into context.

"The impact of boat arrivals on Australia's migration program is very small," he said.

"Political leaders continue to add to public fears about people arriving by boat but they make little or no effort to put the small number of asylum seekers entering Australia into any global context. Little attention is paid to the fact that so many asylum seekers who arrive by boat are found to have well-founded fears of persecution."

But Ethnic Communities' Council chairman Sam Afra said more should be done to round up visa overstayers and send them home. "It's shocking - to have one in three who have been here more than 10 years (suggests) something's wrong with the system," he said.

Mr Afra said illegal overstayers hurt everyone, including legitimate migrants and refugees, by taking jobs and housing, using public services and not paying tax.

Monash University migration expert Bob Birrell said tens of thousands of foreign students, who had expected to get residency here once their course was finished, were now scrambling to find ways to stay after immigration laws were tightened last year. "A surge in the number of students who have overstayed without any form of bridging visa is a reflection of their desire to extend their stay by hook or by crook," he said.

There were 10,600 more visa overstayers at June 30 last year than in 2005.

A spokesman for Immigration Minister Chris Bowen said less than 0.1 percent of visitors overstayed visas and many only for short times before leaving without immigration's involvement.

The 58,000 represents only around one fifth of those who overstay their visas, most being found and sent home within the first two weeks after the document expires.

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/illegal-immigrants-arrive-by-plane/story-e6frea6u-1226200568050

Title: Re: Why doesn't the government do something about thes
Post by adelcrow on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:19am
ssshhhhh...dont talk about it...it only encourages them to come here  :D

Post by John Smith on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:19am
Why doesn't the government do something about these?

several reasons

1. no votes in it.
2. visa overstayers aren't muslim
3. visa overstayers aren't dark skinned
4. no votes in it.

Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:21am

John Smith wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:19am:

several reasons

1. no votes in it. We know who they are. We know where they are. We know where they are from.
2. visa overstayers aren't muslim We know who they are. We know where they are. We know where they are from.
3. visa overstayers aren't dark skinned We know who they are. We know where they are. We know where they are from.
4. no votes in it. We know who they are. We know where they are. We know where they are from.

Post by John Smith on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:23am

Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:21am:

several reasons

1. no votes in it. We know who they are. We know where they are. We know where they are from.
2. visa overstayers aren't muslim We know who they are. We know where they are. We know where they are from.
3. visa overstayers aren't dark skinned We know who they are. We know where they are. We know where they are from.
4. no votes in it. We know who they are. We know where they are. We know where they are from.

so that makes it OK armpit? anyone can come in and stay as long as they leave their name on the way through customs?  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

idiot

Post by FriYAY on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:25am

several reasons

1. no votes in it.
4. no votes in it.

“A spokesman for Immigration Minister Chris Bowen said less than 0.1 percent of visitors overstayed visas and many only for short times before leaving without immigration's involvement”

Are you saying the ALP hate Muslims and brown people?

;D ;D ;D

Post by Stratos on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:28am

several reasons

This is a joke right?  So are you seriously saying that if a boat person turned up on our shores and we were able to identify who they are and where they came from you would have no problem? 

Pull the other one.

Post by adelcrow on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:28am
Its simple...we dont want uneducated darkies coming here unannounced..Asians, Poms and Yankee ilegals are ok  :D

Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:28am

John Smith wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:23am:

several reasons

so that makes it OK armpit? anyone can come in and stay as long as they leave their name on the way through customs?  ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

idiot

You're the idiot. Show me where I said it was okay for them to overstay their Visa. It doesn't make it okay and I never said it does. All I'm saying is that they just aren't as high a risk to our security as those who throw their passports overboard when they board those people smuggling boats. We have no idea who those people are. They could be escaped prisoners for all we know. You DO recall numerous prisons being attacked in Afghanistan and prisoners released by AQ, don't you? As we have seen in the media, some of these men have no problem assaulting our women, so who knows what else they got up to back home? Gawd, you make it so easy to make you look stupid sometimes.  ::)

Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:31am

Stratos wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:28am:

several reasons

This is a joke right?  So are you seriously saying that if a boat person turned up on our shores and we were able to identify who they are and where they came from you would have no problem? 

Pull the other one.

Nope, I never said that. Not even close. I would still expect them to be placed in detention while their claim for asylum is assessed even if they came holding their passport and drivers licence. I don't want them living in the community, collecting taxpayer-funded welfare while their claim is assessed. If they're genuine refugees, then great. Welcome to Australia. If not, they should be sent back immediately.

Post by adelcrow on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:37am
We need taxpayers money to pay for Coalition pollies to attend overseas weddings and to pursue their hobbies...we cant afford to spend it on asylum seekers  :D

Post by Stratos on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:38am

Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:31am:
If they're genuine refugees, then great. Welcome to Australia. If not, they should be sent back immediately.

Well you should be very unhappy with the current situation, as nobody gets sent to Australia in that case, genuine or otherwise.

Post by dsmithy70 on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:56am

Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:28am:
All I'm saying is that they just aren't as high a risk to our security

You still believe a terrorist is going to risk a boat ride instead of posing as a well dressed, educated tourist & coming in by plane?

If his a suicide bomber he won't give a stuff about leaving his identity, in fact he'd probably want his name known & reported so his martyrdom is recognized.

A terrorist organization is going to invest all that time training, trust that his not a snitch & then cross their fingures & hope the boat doesn't sink & he gets out of detention sometime in the next decade?

Seriously get off the 2GB & Tele, they rot your brain worse than heroin.

Post by Spot of Borg on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:57am

several reasons

1. no votes in it.
4. no votes in it.

Really? None of them are muslim or dark skinned? How do you know this?

Post by FriYAY on Jan 10th, 2014 at 11:00am

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:10pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:56am:

You still believe a terrorist is going to risk a boat ride instead of posing as a well dressed, educated tourist & coming in by plane?

Terrorists on leaky boats    ;D

Cracks me up every time.

No more 'reds under the bed': now they're frightened of 'bombs in the boat'.

Too funny.

Post by Sparky on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:19pm
Australians don't want their country swamped by incompatible people. That's the truth. The left minority want Australia swamped by incompatible people. Pick a side.

Title: The government should rid us of the catholic churc
Post by Spot of Borg on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:24pm

Sparky wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:19pm:
Australians don't want their country swamped by incompatible people. That's the truth. The left minority want Australia swamped by incompatible people. Pick a side.

Incompatible? How exactly are they incompatible and who are they incompatible with? You?

Post by aquascoot on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:30pm

adelcrow wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:28am:
Its simple...we dont want uneducated darkies coming here unannounced..Asians, Poms and Yankee ilegals are ok  :D

its taken a while but at last we have a post that shows some common sense.

if a quality stallion jumped the fence onto my property and got in amongst my broodmares, i would  be a bit annoyed, but if a diseased mutant runt of a brumbie stallion jumped the fence and got in with my mares i'd blow its head off ;) ;)

Title: Re: The government should rid us of the catholic churc
Post by Sparky on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:32pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:24pm:

Incompatible? How exactly are they incompatible and who are they incompatible with? You?

Go and check out SW Sydney. It a crime ridden mess that's too unsafe for anglo/celtic Australians and they built it all. People like you are always last to know.

Post by John Smith on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:32pm

FriYAY wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:25am:

several reasons

1. no votes in it.
4. no votes in it.

“A spokesman for Immigration Minister Chris Bowen said less than 0.1 percent of visitors overstayed visas and many only for short times before leaving without immigration's involvement”

;D ;D ;D

how in the world did you draw that conclusion from that comment? :D :D :D

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:37pm

Australians don't want their country swamped by incompatible people.

"swamped"    ;D

Nice one.  Cheers.

Post by John Smith on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:38pm

You're the idiot

nope, pretty sure thats still you! I bet you prove it with your next few comments too  ;D ;D

Show me where I said it was okay for them to overstay their Visa

see, you did prove it, with the very next line ;D ;D ... I didn't say you said anything, I asked you a question ... do you know the difference?

All I'm saying is that they just aren't as high a risk

I think you'll find the stats say differently ... more tourists break the law than asylum seekers .... but don't let facts get in the way of a good rant, keep going

They could be escaped prisoners for all we know

they could also be Jesus Christ ... you want to at least pretend you know what you are on about?

As we have seen in the media, some of these men have no problem assaulting our women,

I also saw in the media that Abbott doesn't have a problem assaulting women .... do we send him to PNG too?

Gawd, you make it so easy to make you look stupid sometimes

you really should try to engage your brain before opening your mouth ...  ;D ;D ;D ;D

Post by Sparky on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:39pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:37pm:

"swamped"    ;D

Nice one.  Cheers.

Yeah "swamped". I don't want my country full of Muslims. What a smacking mess that would be.

Post by aquascoot on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:48pm

Sparky wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:39pm:

"swamped"    ;D

Nice one.  Cheers.

Yeah "swamped". I don't want my country full of Muslims. What a smacking mess that would be.

quite right sparky,  greg knows full well that labor and liberal polling tell them about 75 % of australians (maybe 15 million people) agree with you.  why else would labor have"pretended"' to be tough on these boat people.

so greg needs to face up to the fact that we live in a democracy and the majority think his ideas suck and he will need to adjust to our (the majority) opinion.  sorry greg, theres nothing you can do. we are a democracy (thank god the intellectual elite have to get smacked down every 4 years by good old fashioned suburban people with common sense) ;) ;)

Post by John Smith on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:48pm

"swamped"    ;D

Nice one.  Cheers.

so any asylum seekers that aren't muslim are fine?  :D :D :D

Post by the wise one on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:51pm

several reasons

So if we know where they are why don't we deport them instead of them bludging on the Australia taxpayers

Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:53pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:56am:

If his a suicide bomber he won't give a stuff about leaving his identity, in fact he'd probably want his name known & reported so his martyrdom is recognized.

A terrorist organization is going to invest all that time training, trust that his not a snitch & then cross their fingures & hope the boat doesn't sink & he gets out of detention sometime in the next decade?

Seriously get off the 2GB & Tele, they rot your brain worse than heroin.

Where did I mention terrorists? I didn't, so I'll be waiting for your apology. I said that some of them could be a security risk, i.e. prison escapees, rapists, etc. There was more than one prison break conducted by AQ in Afghanistan where they would raid a prison and free the prisoners. How do we know some have not ended up on one of these boats? I never mentioned terrorists.

But since we're on the topic of terrorists, your sheer stupidity and ignorance is clear to all with a brain. You don't think terrorists would plan ahead for an event in the next decade? You're delusional. Evidence collected by law enforcement and intelligence agencies in the aftermath of the 9/11 attacks showed that AQ's planning for that event began well over a decade prior, with terrorists who had clean records being inserted in the US as sleepers while learning how to fly plane at flying schools so that they could confidently fly the aircraft once they took control of them. They also received weapons training and so on. The events of that day were timed and pre-planned to perfection.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:54pm

"swamped"    ;D

Nice one.  Cheers.

So you're OK with refugees, as long as they aren't Muslims?

Post by adelcrow on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:56pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:54pm:

"swamped"    ;D

Nice one.  Cheers.

Arabs in general...Joe Hockey is a good example of the damage Arabs can do to their adoptive country.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:56pm

aquascoot wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:48pm:

"swamped"    ;D

Nice one.  Cheers.

quite right sparky,  greg knows full well that labor and liberal polling tell them about 75 % of australians (maybe 15 million people) agree with you. 

Link?

Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:57pm

John Smith wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:38pm:

You're the idiot

nope, pretty sure thats still you! I bet you prove it with your next few comments too  ;D ;D

Now you're just embarrassing yourself...

see, you did prove it, with the very next line ;D ;D ... I didn't say you said anything, I asked you a question ... do you know the difference?

Still no proof, eh?

I think you'll find the stats say differently ... more tourists break the law than asylum seekers .... but don't let facts get in the way of a good rant, keep going

I doubt the government is incredibly worried about petty thieves and the like, compared to those male illegals who have assaulted our women.

they could also be Jesus Christ ... you want to at least pretend you know what you are on about?

I doubt very much they are Jesus Christ coming from Muslim countries. But surely you have seen news reports of AQ attacks on Afghan prisons in which some of the worst prisoners were released and are still free? They could very well have been on one of those boats. They destroy their passports, so how are we to know?

As we have seen in the media, some of these men have no problem assaulting our women,

I also saw in the media that Abbott doesn't have a problem assaulting women .... do we send him to PNG too?

Yeah, I'll take that as a white flag of surrender on that point.

you really should try to engage your brain before opening your mouth ...  ;D ;D ;D ;D

You're not helping your case at all. School's out for you.

Post by Sparky on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:57pm

John Smith wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:48pm:

"swamped"    ;D

Nice one.  Cheers.

I live in multicultural Australia and from my observations and by talking to many people   I'd by very careful importing too many of these people. I was talking to a Christian Lebanese bloke about it today and he shakes his head that Australia has brought Lebanese  Muslims to Australia. "They're mad" is what he always says. I know it's not PC but it's a hot topic in Sydney and people have loads of stories. They don't like us dude. Get it.

Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:58pm

adelcrow wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:56pm:

"swamped"    ;D

Nice one.  Cheers.

Arabs in general...Joe Hockey is a good example of the damage Arabs can do to their adoptive country.

HE WAS BORN IN NORTH SYDNEY, HALFWIT! ;D

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:59pm

Sparky wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:57pm:

"swamped"    ;D

Nice one.  Cheers.

I live in multicultural Australia and from my observations and by talking to many people   I'd by very careful importing too many of these people. I was talking to a Christian Lebanese bloke about it today and he shakes his head that Australia has brought Lebanese  Muslims to Australia. "They're mad" is what he always says. I know it's not PC but it's a hot topic in Sydney and people have loads of stories. They don't like us dude. Get it.

So, refugees are OK as long as they aren't Muslims?

You have no problem with Hindu, Christian, atheist, or Buddhist refugees coming to Australia?

It's just the religion of Islam that concerns you?

Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:00pm

"swamped"    ;D

Nice one.  Cheers.

One needs only to look at what is happening in France under the banner of multiculturalism to see what can go wrong when influxes of foreigners aren't handled appropriately. It'd be like building a new town in Northern Ireland and putting Protestants and Catholics in the same apartment complexes.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:06pm

"swamped"    ;D

Nice one.  Cheers.

To be fair though, Joe Hokeidonian is an idiot first and an Arab second.

Post by Sparky on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:06pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:59pm:

"swamped"    ;D

Nice one.  Cheers.

So, refugees are OK as long as they aren't Muslims?

You have no problem with Hindu, Christian, atheist, or Buddhist refugees coming to Australia?
This is my opinion and many people agree with it. Be careful importing Africans. The Australian government has cut African immigration because of the problems. I have no problem with East Asians. They couldn't give a bugger about Australia but they are peaceful. I'd have no muslims except maybe Turkish. I'd limit Indians. They set up dirty stinking ghettos like the mess that Harris Park Sydney is. And I'd deport all the intelligentsia who farked Sydney up to PNG.

Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:08pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:06pm:

"swamped"    ;D

Nice one.  Cheers.

To be fair though, Joe Hokeidonian is an idiot first and an Arab Australian second.

Don't agree with the first part of your post, but I've taken the liberty of correcting the second part of it since you're wrong as usual about his nationality.

Post by Stratos on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:11pm

Sparky wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:06pm:
I have no problem with East Asians.

I'd have no muslims except maybe Turkish

i wonder if you even realise the majority of the worlds Muslims are Asian.....

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:20pm

Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:08pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:06pm:

"swamped"    ;D

Nice one.  Cheers.

To be fair though, Joe Hokeidonian is an idiot first and an Arab Australian second.

Don't agree with the first part of your post, .

So, you think Joe Hokeidonian is an Arab first?

Hmmm, you may be right.

"In the morning my “Sitty” (grandmother), my aunty and my Australian mum would make kibbe, tabouli and hummus.

"Over lunch – on countless occasions – when my Uncle Eddie said that he hoped one day to grow his menswear business everybody would say “insh’Allah”.

"When Uncle Jack would say he hoped to be able to go on a family holiday everyone would say “insh’Allah”.

"And when my father would say he hoped, one day, his children would do well at school everyone would say “insh’Allah”
  (Joe Hokeidonian, 2012).

Post by Sparky on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:21pm

Stratos wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:11pm:

I never said they weren't. By East Asians I mean Vietnamese, Chinese Phillos etc. I like Vietnamese the most. Many of the ones I've met are really tops people. I've met many nice Turkish people too. I've met many nice muslim people too and smacking hell they are overrepresented with knobheads. I just want the best for my family and our childrens future. Many friends are leaving Sydney because it's too dangerous and turning ghetto like. It's entirely because of a poorly thought out immigration program over many decades.

Post by FriYAY on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:48pm

John Smith wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:32pm:

FriYAY wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 10:25am:

several reasons

1. no votes in it.
4. no votes in it.

;D ;D ;D

how in the world did you draw that conclusion from that comment? :D :D :D

Well it was Bowens comment in the article, that's how old it was, it wasn’t about the Libs, so i thought you must have been addressing the ALP...

:D

;)

Post by Spot of Borg on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:53pm

Sparky wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:21pm:

I never said they weren't. By East Asians I mean Vietnamese, Chinese Phillos etc. I like Vietnamese the most. Many of the ones I've met are really tops people. I've met many nice Turkish people too. I've met many nice muslim people too and smacking hell they are overrepresented with knobheads. I just want the best for my family and our childrens future. Many friends are leaving Sydney because it's too dangerous and turning ghetto like. It's entirely because of a poorly thought out immigration program over many decades.

Oh? Better not let freediver and yadda hear you say that. They think every single muslim is a commie terrorist.

Post by John Smith on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:57pm

Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:57pm:

John Smith wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 12:38pm:

You're the idiot

Now you're just embarrassing yourself...

I pale in comparisson to your efforts  ;D ;D ;D

Still no proof, eh? silly of me, I expected you to be able to read  ... obviously I was wrong

I doubt the government is incredibly worried about petty thieves and the like, compared to those male illegals who have assaulted our women.
your doubts are your concern ...  how many escaped prisoners have come by boat???? 

I doubt very much they are Jesus Christ coming from Muslim countries. But surely you have seen news reports of AQ attacks on Afghan prisons in which some of the worst prisoners were released and are still free? They could very well have been on one of those boats. They destroy their passports, so how are we to know? again, your doubts are your concern .. you were giving hypotheticals, I gave you an alternative

Yeah, I'll take that as a white flag of surrender on that point. take that flag and shove it up your sphincter ... you made the claim, not me

You're not helping your case at all. School's out for you. and you obviously never attended school

Post by adelcrow on Jan 10th, 2014 at 2:21pm

Sparky wrote on Jan 10th, 2014 at 1:21pm:

One problem Sydney has is the lack of integration of the various ethnic and religious groups. Everyone seems to be in  Korean, Japanese, Italian, Greek, Muslim etc etc neighbourhoods. It is less like that in Adelaide, Perth, Darwin, Brisbane and Hobart and obviously in Sydney it creates a lot of problems.
Allowing people to set up ghettos has been a problem since the post WW2 migrants first landed here so if we fix that and encourage integration from day one a lot of the problems will simply disappear without having to wait for third generation migrants to move out from these ghettos.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.