General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> good, rightys slap the leeches of society
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1390455878

Message started by Sprintcyclist on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 3:44pm

Title: good, rightys slap the leeches of society
Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 3:44pm

An Abbott government MP has accused dole recipients of trying to "screw the system", saying they are too self-interested to bother attending community meetings.

The attack on welfare recipients by Queensland MP Ken O'Dowd, originally reported in the Central Queensland News, comes as the Abbott government tries to prepare the public for an overhaul of the welfare system.

Mr O'Dowd told a community meeting on Monday night in Capella, north-east Queensland: "You won't get anyone on the dole coming to these sort of meetings, because they don't care about the community, they care about themselves and how they can screw the system".
Advertisement The meeting was attended by about a dozen Capella residents.

In audio of the meeting heard by Fairfax Media, Mr O'Dowd also argued that too many Australians were exploiting the social security system, and that something needed to be done to stop welfare cheats. He recalled a conversation he had had recently with billionaire Gina Rinehart.

"[Rinehart's] biggest whinge to me was, she said, 'Ken, you blokes in Canberra have got to stop the welfare system," Mr O'Dowd told the community meeting.

"There is [sic] 60 per cent of Australians on some sort of welfare payment. [Rinehart] said, 'They can't be all that badly off'."

Mr O'Dowd's comments were not welcomed by Social Services Minister Kevin Andrews, who has begun a review of Australia's welfare system and is trying to reassure Australians that despite cracking down on welfare they believe in maintaining a social safety net.

Mr Andrews said on Thursday afternoon that Mr O'Dowd's comments ''do not reflect the government's position''.

The minister said ''there will always be a minority'' of people taking social security benefits ''who do not want to do the right thing by not actively looking for work... or by not accepting suitable work when it is offered''.

But the Abbott government was ''committed to providing motivation and support for the unemployed'', Mr Andrews added.Mr O'Dowd, Prime Minister Tony Abbott, and Ms Rinehart have also been contacted to respond.

The subject of welfare reform is close to the heart of Mr Abbott. In his 2009 book, Battlelines, he wrote that one of the Howard government's most significant achievements was "slowing the rise in the number of people claiming the disability pension".

But the Prime Minister also understands the dangerous politics surrounding any changes to welfare payments.

Aware of the delicate politics of welfare reform, Mr Andrews has been trying to prepare Australians for a gradual and unthreatening review of the system. He has ruled out touching the age pension, but admits the government has Newstart unemployment benefits and the disability support pension in its cross-hairs.

Chief executive of the Australian Council of Social Service, Cassandra Goldie, said she was "very pleased" to hear that "the minister has confirmed the views expressed by Mr O'Dowd do not represent the views of the government".

Ms Goldie said the minister should go further and urge that the welfare debate "is a respectful and considered one".

"Unemployment can happen to anybody," she said. "Many people have been single parents, and people with a disability are highly valued members of the community."

Maree O'Halloran, President of the National Welfare Rights Network said Mr O'Dowd's comments were "unhelpful and untrue".

"There is no place for ignorance and demeaning stereotypes about people who are unemployed," Ms O'Halloran said.

"It's stereotypes like this that prevent people getting a fair go from employers.

"People who are unemployed are everywhere: they are our children, our neighbours, our partners and parents and grandparents".

http://www.theage.com.au/federal-politics/political-news/government-mp-says-people-on-dole-dont-care-about-the-community-just-themselves-20140123-31ajk.html

Title: Re: good, rightys slap the leeches of society
Post by iceyone on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 4:03pm
Smack them while their down!

I guess people on the dole aren't "people of calibre".

Mean spirited and only care about yourself - join the LNP!

Post by Stratos on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 4:21pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 3:44pm:
"[Rinehart's] biggest whinge to me was, she said, 'Ken, you blokes in Canberra have got to stop the welfare system,"

OK, this is mind blowing.

Gina was lucky enough to inherit BILLIONS of dollars and runs a business that receives subsidised fuel, despite making massive profits.

Let's stop unnecessary welfare sure.  In fact lets start by stopping to subsidise billion dollar companies that are in no need of government assistance from getting cheaper fuel than any person on the dole.

Poor Gina, life must be tough.

Post by Greens_Win on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 4:21pm

First they came for the Socialists, and I did not speak out--
Because I was not a Socialist.

Then they came for the Trade Unionists, and I did not speak out--
Because I was not a Trade Unionist.

Then they came for the Jews, and I did not speak out--
Because I was not a Jew.

Then they came for me--and there was no one left to speak for me.

Niemöller

Refugees
Unemployed
Will you be next ?

Post by GeorgeH on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 4:22pm
All of 12 people there, all old idiots voting National I suppose, even tho Nats do nothing for farmers.

Maybe that stupid prick should spend some time with a family where the main breadwinner has been “made redundant?”

There is a core element in the unemployed who want to be unemployed. Most unemployed would love to work, put food on the table for his/her family.

Sprint is an idiot.

Post by adelcrow on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 4:33pm
With Abbott pushing up the unemployment figures the right wingers will have plenty of new people to blame for their own misfortune

Post by GeorgeH on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 4:37pm
Coca Cola making 28 people redundant, bringing processing of fruit juice to Adelaide. 28 people facing a grim future.

Post by adelcrow on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 4:40pm
Inflation, debt and unemployment rising..Abbott has taken us back to Malcolm Frasers Australia..

wow...i wonder why he neglected to tell us this before the election?  ;D

Post by Kat on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 5:52pm

adelcrow wrote on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 4:40pm:
Inflation, debt and unemployment rising..Abbott has taken us back to Malcolm Frasers Australia..

We did try to warn people... but they wouldn't listen.

Fraser mightn't have been our greatest PM, hamstrung as he was by the World's Worst Treasurer.

But at least he wasn't a gormless neo-fascist like Missed A Rabbitt.

Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 6:00pm

Kat wrote on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 5:52pm:

Fraser mightn't have been our greatest PM, hamstrung as he was by the World's Worst Treasurer.

You try to come across as the intellectual elite which is easy to do on a message board but I'm betting you spent your whole working life attaching nuts to bolts or some such inane sh*t on an assembly line somewhere and after thirty years of still not working out how to do that properly you got made redundant and went on disability claiming mental retardation which was proved beyond a reasonable doubt to the assessor just by you turning up to the interview in the first place.   

Post by Cliff48 on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 6:05pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 6:00pm:

You try to come across as the intellectual elite which is easy to do on a message board but I'm betting you spent your whole working life attaching nuts to bolts or some such inane sh*t on an assembly line somewhere and after thirty years of still not working out how to do that properly you got made redundant and went on disability claiming mental retardation which was proved beyond a reasonable doubt to the assessor just by you turning up to the interview in the first place.   

First hand experience IB?   It worked for you?

Post by woody2013 on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 6:05pm

;D ;D   It's employed at a shelter workshop fixing old bikes..   The funny part is he thinks it's a MEN SHED

;) ;)

Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 6:14pm

Cliff48 wrote on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 6:05pm:

Come on cliff lets not stoop to kats idiotic level, if you haven't even got a slightly humorous retort then better off just shutting the f*ck up  ;) 

Post by Kat on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 6:15pm

Don't get a job as a clairvoyant, will you?

Because you could not be wider of the mark if you'd tried.

Post by Kat on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 6:17pm

woody2014 wrote on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 6:05pm:

;D ;D   It's employed at a shelter workshop fixing old bikes..   The funny part is he thinks it's a MEN SHED

;) ;)

I don't recommend you apply for that clairvoyant position either.

Post by Cliff48 on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 6:22pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 6:14pm:

Come on cliff lets not stoop to kats idiotic level, if you haven't even got a slightly humorous retort then better off just shutting the f*ck up  ;) 

Just resorting to your level IB (so you could understand it:)

Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 6:36pm

Cliff48 wrote on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 6:22pm:

F*ckin lightweight, go to bed and stop embarrassing yourself.  ;D

Post by progressiveslol on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 7:09pm

Fit of Absent Mindeness wrote on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 4:03pm:
Smack them while their down!

I guess people on the dole aren't "people of calibre".

Mean spirited and only care about yourself - join the LNP!

I second that

If you are mean spirited and only cared about yourself(dole bludging for all its worth) and not the community as a working whole, then you should ditch labor and join the LNP and make something of your life, make something of the Australian community and get out of that self centred rut you are in.

Post by Grendel on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 9:11pm
many unemployed, especially the older, cannot get a job, but hey, let's not call it ageism, that's not allowed.  If you are over 50 and applying for jobs year after year and getting nowhere how many assets can you sell to stay afloat before you run out?  How can you live on $250 a week...  and make it to retirement age at 67?

Ok lets just call them all lazy bludgers as we watch them spiral into the gutter, homelessness and ill-health.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 9:20pm

Grendel wrote on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 9:11pm:
many unemployed, especially the older, cannot get a job, but hey, let's not call it ageism, that's not allowed.  If you are over 50 and applying for jobs year after year and getting nowhere how many assets can you sell to stay afloat before you run out?  How can you live on $250 a week...  and make it to retirement age at 67?

Ok lts just call them all lazy bludgers as we watch them spiral into the gutter, homelessness and ill-health.

Post by GeorgeH on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 9:59pm
Maybe sprint prefers to be mugged by someone desperate to feed his family?

I think sprint really is just too immature to comment knowledgeably on this subject.

Post by John Smith on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 11:09pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 6:36pm:

Cliff48 wrote on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 6:22pm:

what makes you think bed will make a difference? after all, you manage to go to bed and embarress yourself all the time!

Post by Spot of Borg on Jan 24th, 2014 at 6:14am
And again a problem is trivialised by idiots coming in here and abusing ppl to distract from the topic.

Seriously who is going to give a 65 year old woman a job? No matter how fit she is - it isnt going to happen.

Post by Kat on Jan 24th, 2014 at 6:22am

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jan 24th, 2014 at 6:14am:
And again a problem is trivialised by idiots coming in here and abusing ppl to distract from the topic.

Seriously who is going to give a 65 year old woman a job? No matter how fit she is - it isnt going to happen.

It is impossible to discuss this topic without being abused by ignorant Rightards.

There are one or two on the right with whom you can discuss the topic, and they do
(and have) make valid and useful contributions.

But they are few and far between.

The abusive ones seem to despise the idea of anyone but themselves getting
anything from the govt, and have no idea what it's actually like to be unemployed.

But they all 'know someone who rorts the dole', and will tell you they
can pick an unemployed person by sight alone.... (yeah sure they do... not!).

Frankly, they're up 'emselves.

Post by Dnarever on Jan 24th, 2014 at 6:29am
Gotta love the way that the caring sharing conservatives repeatedly give themselves away.

Yep just keep on thinking that the unemployed are the reason for all our problems.

Post by Dnarever on Jan 24th, 2014 at 6:33am
There is nobody less depressed in an unemployment queue than an x Liberal supporter when they find out first hand that they had believed a lie all their life.

Post by iceyone on Jan 24th, 2014 at 11:23am

Dnarever wrote on Jan 24th, 2014 at 6:33am:
There is nobody less depressed in an unemployment queue than an x Liberal supporter when they find out first hand that they had believed a lie all their life.

So true  - having worked in the industry, it always amazes me how people's thinking can change from "those dole bludgers" when their employed to "thank god there is some assistance" when not employed.

If it came down to it, I would rather have any job compared with the hell that is centrelink.

Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 24th, 2014 at 11:50am

My Grandmother used to lie about her age so she could keep working after retirement age, she worked until she was 80, she used to tell me that she worked for old people but they were actually younger than her  ;D
I think she was old school workaholic, like the krauts used to say, work will set you free, now its gimmie gimme gimme, the govt. owes me waaaaahhh I want my free money now, waaaaah, tragic really.  :(

Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 24th, 2014 at 11:53am

Kat wrote on Jan 24th, 2014 at 6:22am:

It is impossible to discuss this topic without being abused by ignorant Rightards.

There are one or two on the right with whom you can discuss the topic, and they do

anything from the govt, and have no idea what it's actually like to be unemployed.

Newsflash Gumby, your are the rudest, most obnoxious abusive poster here, I hope you are proud of yourself.

Post by Spot of Borg on Jan 24th, 2014 at 12:10pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 24th, 2014 at 11:50am:

My Grandmother used to lie about her age so she could keep working after retirement age, she worked until she was 80, she used to tell me that she worked for old people but they were actually younger than her  ;D
I think she was old school workaholic, like the krauts used to say, work will set you free, now its gimmie gimme gimme, the govt. owes me waaaaahhh I want my free money now, waaaaah, tragic really.  :(

So what? So did my mother but most 65 year old ppl are not that healthy. Its not "free money"either - they paid into it all their lives.

Post by Spot of Borg on Jan 24th, 2014 at 12:11pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 24th, 2014 at 11:53am:

Newsflash Gumby, your are the rudest, most obnoxious abusive poster here, I hope you are proud of yourself.

Really? Where has he abused someone?

Post by Bam on Jan 24th, 2014 at 12:27pm

like the krauts used to say, work will set you free

I hope you realise the context in which that saying was used.

Auschwitz concentration camp

Dachau concentration camp

Sachsenhausen concentration camp

Theresienstadt concentration camp

Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 24th, 2014 at 1:12pm

Bam wrote on Jan 24th, 2014 at 12:27pm:

Yes, the left want to gas the workers and steal their money  ;D

Post by Bam on Jan 24th, 2014 at 1:51pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 24th, 2014 at 1:12pm:

Bam wrote on Jan 24th, 2014 at 12:27pm:

You can sure spew crap. No, it's what the Reich right wants to do. Why else do we find endless mounds of drivel from right-leaning posters demonising the poor?

Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 24th, 2014 at 1:55pm

Bam wrote on Jan 24th, 2014 at 1:51pm:
Why else do we find endless mounds of drivel from right-leaning posters demonising the poor?

We are just trying to help  ;)

Post by Peter Freedman on Jan 24th, 2014 at 2:12pm

Spot on, Kat.

These people refer to 'hand outs', meaning govt payments other people receive. Any payments THEY get are 'entitlements',

As for Rinehart, WTF would she know about unemployment?

Post by Sprintcyclist on Jan 24th, 2014 at 2:17pm

Thanks kat, it's good to be recognised.

Not me, I pick the unemployed by their smell. They smell like a dogs armpit on a hot day

yes

Post by Peter Freedman on Jan 24th, 2014 at 7:27pm

[quote author=Spot_of_Borg link=1390455878/22#22 date=1390508047]And again a problem is trivialised by idiots coming in here and abusing ppl to distract from the topic.

Frankly, they're up '

Post by Grendel on Jan 24th, 2014 at 7:43pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 9:20pm:

Grendel wrote on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 9:11pm:

Ok lts just call them all lazy bludgers as we watch them spiral into the gutter, homelessness and ill-health.

You be an idiot then Sprint...  I hope one day you learn first hand the hard way about which I just spoke.

Post by Grendel on Jan 24th, 2014 at 7:46pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 24th, 2014 at 1:55pm:

Why else do we find endless mounds of drivel from right-leaning posters demonising the poor?

believe me you are NOT helping.
neither major party are helping.

Post by Baronvonrort on Jan 24th, 2014 at 7:50pm

Peter Freedman wrote on Jan 24th, 2014 at 7:27pm:

Are you still on welfare?

Post by Bam on Jan 24th, 2014 at 7:52pm

Grendel wrote on Jan 24th, 2014 at 7:46pm:

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 24th, 2014 at 1:55pm:

believe me you are NOT helping.
neither major party are helping.

Yes, it's just a matter of degrees between the two. For example, both major parties support the idea that "full employment" means 4% to 5% of people out of work (official statistics), around 10% (reality). Neither supports a 35-hour work week.

Post by Grendel on Jan 24th, 2014 at 7:56pm
Both have fostered casualisation of the work force, allowed industries to go overseas through globalisation and FT policies.

Both ignore the real unemployment figures which are much higher than 10% BTW.

Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 24th, 2014 at 8:34pm
Wait till Tony f*cks everyone off disability, unemployment stats will go through the roof  ;D

Post by John Smith on Jan 24th, 2014 at 8:36pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 24th, 2014 at 8:34pm:
Wait till Tony f*cks everyone off disability, unemployment stats will go through the roof  ;D

wait until all the unemployed and those on disability f#ck Abbott off, the rightards crapometer will go through the roof

Post by Kat on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:06am

I'm just waiting for Tony to f*ck off, along with the stupid, selfish fools who support him.

The sooner, the better.

He's a dangerous fool, and they are merely idiots.

Post by Spot of Borg on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:46am

Do you really think disabled ppl should be homeless and starving or are you just trolling?

Post by Kat on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:00am

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:46am:

Do you really think disabled ppl should be homeless and starving or are you just trolling?

Both, I reckon.

Post by Dnarever on Jan 25th, 2014 at 7:40am

Wait till Tony f*cks everyone off disability, unemployment stats will go through the roof 

You obviously remember when Howard moved the long term unemployed onto disability allowance in order to reduce the unemployment numbers?

Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 25th, 2014 at 7:03pm
Thickheads!, all I said was chucking everyone off disability will raise unemployment stats, do you welfare dregs disagree with that?  ::)

Post by Cliff48 on Jan 25th, 2014 at 7:30pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 7:03pm:
Thickheads!, all I said was chucking everyone off disability will raise unemployment stats, do you welfare dregs disagree with that?  ::)

Let's see ... anyone trying to converse with you is a 'Thickhead' and a 'welfare dreg'?

Thank you for your useless input.

Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 25th, 2014 at 7:32pm

Cliff48 wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 7:30pm:

Let's see ... anyone trying to converse with you is a 'Thickhead' and a 'welfare dreg'?

Thickhead!  ;D

Post by Cliff48 on Jan 25th, 2014 at 7:45pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 7:32pm:

Thickhead!  ;D

Quick as a flash, without hardly thinking, he rejoined with "Thickhead!".  What an intellectual marvel!

Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 25th, 2014 at 8:04pm

Cliff48 wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 7:45pm:

Thickhead!  ;D

Quick as a flash, without hardly thinking, he rejoined with "Thickhead!".  What an intellectual marvel!

Well why don't you stop being a thickhead and tell me what your thoughts are regarding the Abbott governments move to raise unemployment statistics by kicking everyone off disability, this should be gold to you numpties, you should be encouraging the Libs to do it, throwing all those able bodied workers off disability while displaying pictures of the real disabled in wheelchairs and stuff is propaganda gold.    ;D

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Jan 25th, 2014 at 8:29pm
Oh, fer Chrissake - I'm sure he was being sarcastic - Jesus - nobody with any brain would want to throw the disabled on the street - unless you are some right wing idiot.

March on Cambra and bring the hanging ropes.....

Post by Dnarever on Jan 25th, 2014 at 10:23pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 8:04pm:

Thickhead!  ;D

Well why don't you stop being a thickhead and tell me what your thoughts are regarding the Abbott governments move to raise unemployment statistics by kicking everyone off disability, this should be gold to you numpties, you should be encouraging the Libs to do it, throwing all those able bodied workers off disability while displaying pictures of the real disabled in wheelchairs and stuff is propaganda gold.    ;D

Well why don't you stop being a thickhead and tell me what your thoughts are regarding the Abbott governments move to raise unemployment statistics by kicking everyone off disability

I thought that you made it up - nobody is really that stupid, not even Abbott.

throwing all those able bodied workers off disability

Right that's believable.

Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 25th, 2014 at 10:30pm

Dnarever wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 10:23pm:

Thickhead!  ;D

Well why don't you stop being a thickhead and tell me what your thoughts are regarding the Abbott governments move to raise unemployment statistics by kicking everyone off disability

Right that's believable.

Christ all f*kin mighty will someone please make an intelligent reply to one of my posts here, it can't be that hard surely.   

Post by Dnarever on Jan 26th, 2014 at 6:32am

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 10:30pm:

Thickhead!  ;D

Right that's believable.

Christ all f*kin mighty will someone please make an intelligent reply to one of my posts here, it can't be that hard surely.   

kacked myself laughing

When did you ever make an intelligent reply?

Post by Dnarever on Jan 26th, 2014 at 6:39am
Surely Abbott will not break his election promise to not change pensions will he ???

Post by Kat on Jan 26th, 2014 at 6:57am

Dnarever wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 6:39am:
Surely Abbott will not break his election promise to not change pensions will he ???

Why not?

He's broken or lied about most of the others.

Post by Cliff48 on Jan 26th, 2014 at 12:54pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 10:30pm:

Thickhead!  ;D

Right that's believable.

Which post would you like an intelligent response to?

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 23rd, 2014 at 6:36pm:

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 24th, 2014 at 11:53am:

Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 24th, 2014 at 1:12pm:

Thickhead!  ;D

Which pearl of wisdom do you want a response to?   Which childish abuse do you wish us to ignore?

Post by Cliff48 on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:18pm
still waiting IB - afterall.. it was you that was demanding responses

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.