General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Happy Invasion Day http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1390592394 Message started by Greens_Win on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:39am |
Title: Happy Invasion Day Post by Greens_Win on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:39am
Australia Day requires new date, say Greens
Australia Day should be moved to the date a republic is declared, says Greens leader Christine Milne. Senator Milne has reiterated a longstanding Green policy to change the date from January 26. She says Australians want to celebrate the good things about their country without offending Aboriginal people, who have dubbed the day Invasion Day. "We would like to see that change," Senator Milne told reporters in Hobart. "There would an opportunity to do that if Australia was to become a republic. "That would provide an opportunity to change the date and reframe the day." Former Greens leader Bob Brown will be among the speakers when the Tasmanian Aboriginal community rallies in Hobart on Sunday calling for a new date for the national celebration. "Australia is the only nation in the world that celebrates its national day on the date which colonisation occurred," Tasmanian Aboriginal Centre spokeswoman Ruth Langford said. "We hope that Australians will join with us in recognising that January 26 is an inappropriate day to celebrate nationhood and join us to commemorate this as a reflective day of mourning." http://au.news.yahoo.com/a/21008847/australia-day-needs-new-date-say-greens/ |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:47am
Silly comments from a silly party of extremists.
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:49am
Same rubbish from the same irrelevant party every single Australia Day.
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:54am Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:49am:
Still have 9 out of 10 people not voting for them. An irrelevant party of oddballs and society misfits. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:23am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:54am:
Not to mention out of touch. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by cods on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:30am Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:23am:
the sh!t stirrers party you mean... what a thread .. talk about communist they are getting worse. .a bunch of rednecks sprayed this type of filth all over a beach front.. calling it invasion day.. it was condemned by everyone accept the greens of course...they probably did it.. we will never be ONE whilst they keep up the HATE. and its what the greens want a divided country. they thrive on it., |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Stratos on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:36am cods wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:30am:
Clearly their support for reconciliation demonstrates they want a divided country :-? |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by cods on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:41am Stratos wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:36am:
really then why a thread like this????.. its disgusting..you might like to remember greenswhine is a NZ..he has no right to question any bloody thing.. let alone call it invasion day...go back and read what happened when Cook arrived.. he didnt come in with guns blazing.. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by ImSpartacus2 on Jan 25th, 2014 at 8:58am cods wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:30am:
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by BigOl64 on Jan 25th, 2014 at 9:04am ____ wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:39am:
A good of reason as any to never become a republic. Friggen moron. >:( What next get rid of ANZAC day, just in case the german backpackers get offended by us commemorating our war dead. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Honky on Jan 25th, 2014 at 9:08am
Different year, same old rubbish.
Most abos don't know what day it is anyway. Stop trying to force the white mans calendar on them. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by GeorgeH on Jan 25th, 2014 at 9:09am
97% of people don’t vote for the Nationals. Nationals rorted $40Bn in the Regional Partnerships, popularly known as Regional Rorts. All Truss dreams of, the WA Royalties for Regions applied nationally. Untold $billions to rort and waste.
For the good they do, might as well merge the Nats and Libs. It would be better for the environment for the Greens to disappear as a Party. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by skippy. on Jan 25th, 2014 at 9:19am cods wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:41am:
He has as much right as a bloody whinging pom. Go home pom. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by ImSpartacus2 on Jan 25th, 2014 at 9:31am BigOl64 wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 9:04am:
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by BigOl64 on Jan 25th, 2014 at 9:51am ImSpartacus2 wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 9:31am:
Well, not if you're a filthy racist anyway; I have commemorated ANZAC day with german backpackers ('84), and we found them to be much better companions that some sh1t for brains Australians. No-one likes a friggen racist bogan anytime of the year. But they would never demand anything from us, unless it was my shout. :) |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by chicken_lipsforme on Jan 25th, 2014 at 10:58am ... wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 9:08am:
Good point. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by miketrees on Jan 25th, 2014 at 11:01am
I say we go back in time and have the Spanish colonise Australia, then there would be no such complaints from Aboriginals.
Or perhaps we could have left Australia isolated until the Japanese turned up in 1931, once again you would not hear any complaints from the Aboriginals. Mind you its not so much Aboriginals complaining now its more your malcontent terminally left wingers whinging. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by The Grappler 2014 on Jan 25th, 2014 at 11:09am |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Phallic Baldwin on Jan 25th, 2014 at 12:13pm
Nobody cares about christine milnes comments.
CLOSE THE THREAD. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Sparky on Jan 25th, 2014 at 12:44pm
Why don't the abbos have their own day and we have ours?
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by woody2013 on Jan 25th, 2014 at 12:51pm Sparky wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 12:44pm:
They do have their own day! It's called sit down money day. ;) ;) |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Sparky on Jan 25th, 2014 at 12:52pm woody2014 wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 12:51pm:
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 25th, 2014 at 1:07pm cods wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:30am:
;D ;D ;D ;D ".. hate". Just write it as "... hate", cods. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by FriYAY on Jan 25th, 2014 at 3:08pm
Fair enough i recon.
It's an affront to them, maybe federation day could be the day, good reason to celebrate new years even harder. Throw in a holiday on the 2nd. Start the Sydney cricket test on the 2nd (for all you cricket loving loops ;)) But yeah, time to take this step and recognise that this day really is a nightmare day for indigenous Australians. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 25th, 2014 at 3:38pm miketrees wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 11:01am:
I had an old Italian landlord who had been a Blackshirt supporter of Mussolini. It was his opinion that the English had been criminally negligent in not wiping out the aborigines during the years following the settlement of Australia. I don't agree with this view, but a hell of a lot of people do ~ and they're not all Anglo-Australians. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by The Heartless Felon on Jan 25th, 2014 at 3:41pm But changing the date would offend the descendants of the First-Fleeters. Oh dear... |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 25th, 2014 at 3:49pm FriYAY wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 3:08pm:
What utter bullshit. We stole their bicycle and gifted them a Rolls-Royce in compensation. If ever our government had the guts to order that the teaching of aboriginal life before the white man came was to be mandatory in every public school in Australia, the Abo kids would get a wake up call like nothing they've ever experienced before. But instead of the ungarnished truth about the miseries and the cruelties of pre-colonial Australia ~ they've been fed a steady diet of romantic nonsense in the mode of the 'Noble Savage' mythology. It's official ... subcontinental aborigines are now only second to the Chinese in numbers migrating to Australia. What should that tell our own aborigines? Is there a message there? |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by John Smith on Jan 25th, 2014 at 3:52pm
Australia Day isn't about Jan. 26th, it's a day to celebrate being Australian and to be grateful for the fact that we are .... who cares what the date it is. If it'll make the native Australians happier to participate, change the f#cken date, whats the big deal.
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by John Smith on Jan 25th, 2014 at 3:52pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 3:49pm:
says the guys constantly whining about being overrun by foreigners ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by adelcrow on Jan 25th, 2014 at 3:55pm
Declare a Republic and use that date ...bugger using NSW Day as the countries national day.
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by FriYAY on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:03pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 3:49pm:
They were happy with their bicycle, dill. If no one ever set foot here they'd still be happy with their bicycle, dill. ::) |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:05pm John Smith wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 3:52pm:
And most of all it's to acknowledge those who came before us who did the hard yards and the heavy lifting under impoverished circumstances so that we today are able to live our comfortable lifestyles that are the envy of the Indonesians and others of the Asia-Pacific region. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by The Heartless Felon on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:09pm FriYAY wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:03pm:
Hang on...they had bicycles? |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:09pm FriYAY wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:03pm:
So are lunatics happy to play with their sh!t, pickle. ;D FriYAY wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:03pm:
You need to do a little reading. Their womenfolk lived lives of cruel misery at the hands of their men. 35,000 years of it. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by John Smith on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:15pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:05pm:
so not very specifit to the 26th January then? didn't think so ... lets make it the 27th Jan, |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by FriYAY on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:18pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:09pm:
Well your Rolls-royce has fixed that problem, hasn't it..... ::) |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by BigOl64 on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:33pm FriYAY wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:18pm:
No-one ever said they looked aftewr that rolls royce now did they? ;D Prolly got on the p1ss, thought they stole it and just thrashed bugger out of it until it sh1t itself. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:47pm Stratos wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:36am:
What did Rudd's apology do? Oh yeah, absolutely nothing! ::) |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by ImSpartacus2 on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:01pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:47pm:
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:17pm ImSpartacus2 wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:01pm:
Okay, good. Then you won't have any trouble listing five real (i.e. not imagined) things his speech did for Aboriginal Australians! |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by woody2013 on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:22pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:17pm:
;D ;D ;D ;D Not going to happen ;) |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:03pm FriYAY wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:18pm:
Yes indeed. Proper housing. Hygiene standards. Healthy food. Education. Jobs. First World lifestyle just like the immigrants come here to make for themselves. If you can't crack it for a comfortable lifestyle in Australia, then you have no one but yourself to blame. Indians are pouring into this country only second to the Chinese. I don't hear them developing a victimhood industry for being black in a predominately white society. Over 70% of urban aborigines are married to white folk. That tells me they no longer want to be a part of the victimhood industry. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:08pm ImSpartacus2 wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:01pm:
Right from the start I agreed with 'The Apology' that was going to be delivered by an Australian Prime Minister. Whether it was reasonable for us to accept 'generational guilt' on behalf of those who came before us was a moot point, but that it meant a huge amount to so many of the aborigines, of that there was no doubt. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:40pm
I am hoping that any white wanker that speaks of "invasion day" will set a good example, pack their bags, and f*ck off out of this country.
I am also hoping that any abbo thats having a whinge will renounce white mans culture, take their spear and boomerang and f*ck off and live out in the bush. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:53pm Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:40pm:
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:58pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:17pm:
I am waiting... |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 25th, 2014 at 8:21pm
France had their Invasion Day on 6th June 1944.
They've never whinged about it, even though the invaders screwed their women and drank their wine. 8-) |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by The Grappler 2014 on Jan 25th, 2014 at 8:33pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 8:21pm:
...Inky, Pinky, Parlez Vous! The Yanks and the Brits they crossed La Fosse Parlez Vous The Yanks and the Brits they crossed La Fosse Parlez Vous The Yanks and the Brits they crossed La Fosse Screwed every sheila they came across Inky, Pinky Parlez Vous. The Frenchies didn't give a toss Parlez Vous The Frenchies didn't give a toss Parlez Vous The Frenchies didn't give a toss They figured the wine was a greater loss Inky Pinky Parlez Vous. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by ImSpartacus2 on Jan 25th, 2014 at 8:35pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 6:58pm:
Just noticed this silly challenge. I don't do 5 questions but I think to see the PM finally saying sorry made a lot of Aboriginal people very happy. I think it gave them a sense of worth and a feeling that even though there were still petty small mined pr!ks, a majority of the community cared for them and about them. I think the speech itself gave people a sense of some of the real and tragic hardship that Aboriginal people went through since Europeans arrived and i think it won them a lot of regard from the bulk of the Aust community and motivated people to want to do more to help them to deal with the particular third world type problems that confront them (that we previously thought didn't exist in this country). And I know in one case it made one person feel terrible shame. Not because he felt personally responsible for what happened but because he had been so petty to have previously opposed such a small gesture that had done so much emotional and inspirational good for so many of our brothers and sisters in Australia. I know you wont understand because I see you here most days agitating for a society where the law of the jungle prevails. And although in the last 20 years your self-centered politics has done our communities considerable harm, you haven't quite managed to totally kill off that communal regard that the rest of us have for each other. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 25th, 2014 at 8:40pm
Australia day should be renamed Centrelink day, this would be something the aborigine would be better able to relate too, I'm sure that the building of the first Centrelink office would equate to the coming of Christ for them.
No more half starved hunting and gathering in the hot sun for them, nothing but endless R and R from now on ;D |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by skippy. on Jan 25th, 2014 at 9:07pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:09pm:
Yea bro their women folk are entitled to have the sh it beat out of them as a result of the alcohol problems that only came about due to white men bribing the indigenous population with it. It's their f..king right . |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by John Smith on Jan 25th, 2014 at 9:09pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 4:47pm:
None so blind as those that do not wish to see.... (something like that) |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 26th, 2014 at 7:06am ImSpartacus2 wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 8:35pm:
So to summarise that long-winded apologist rant, the apology did nothing for Aboriginal Australians. Typical of Rudd - all talk and grand gestures, no action. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 26th, 2014 at 7:07am John Smith wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 9:09pm:
So then if your eyes are open, you'll have no trouble posting five examples of tangible benefits the apology brought to Aboriginal Australians, right? |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by ImSpartacus2 on Jan 26th, 2014 at 7:29am Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 7:06am:
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 26th, 2014 at 7:50am ImSpartacus2 wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 7:29am:
Well, what WAS happening under my eyes? Oh yeah, Rudd was grandstanding in parliament, making an empty gesture that has little meaning to the vast majority of Australians today (white and black) that has done absolutely nothing whatsoever to improve the lot in life for Aboriginal Australians. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 26th, 2014 at 8:46am skippy. wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 9:07pm:
That's a sore point. But let's be fair here. The Conservatives banned alcohol being available to the country abos ... but then the Leftwing luvvies in Canberra made a huge fuss about this not being fair, and that it was patronising and discriminatory towards them. And so the law was changed at the behest and the insistence of the Labor luvvies ~ and the rest is a very sorry-ass history of alcoholic abuse, violence, murder, and aboriginal community mayhem. Every dysfunction and misery found in our aboriginal communities is the result of liberal-progressive Labor ideology at work. Political correctness is precisely why the abos were given a free hand to conduct themselves just as they liked, without controls, restraints, and limits placed upon them by Canberra. Result: Chaos. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by John Smith on Jan 26th, 2014 at 8:53am Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 7:07am:
why 5? It only needs one thing to be beneficial ... did you just pluck the number 5 from your arse? It recognised that the aborigines were mistreated ... it may not mean much to you, it wasn't supposed too, but it means a lot to them .. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by John Smith on Jan 26th, 2014 at 8:54am Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 8:46am:
after giving them 200yrs to get addicted to it ... :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jan 26th, 2014 at 8:56am
Blaming people generations ago for your own alcoholism and spousal abuse is one of the most p1ss poor weak excuses around.
People are alcoholics and wife beaters - and they are fricken to blame. Not ancestors. Cop out. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by John Smith on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:00am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 8:56am:
not really ... its been proven that aboriginals are not as able to absorb alcohol as white man ..,. we've had thousands of years to get used to it and evolve, they haven't. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:03am Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 7:50am:
The Australian prime minister's 'Sorry Day' apology went to the very soul of so many of our aborigines. It was very deeply felt, and many of them must have been thinking of mothers and fathers and grandparents who were no longer alive to hear this declaration of empathy and understanding with the aboriginal people. It's to Howard's everlasting shame that he couldn't find it within him to rise to the occasion with an apology during his term in office. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Andrei.Hicks on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:04am John Smith wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:00am:
How about they not fking drink it? Anyone - black, white or yellow - that drinks booze and then beats a woman is to blame and should be in jail. Nobody else to blame but themselves. I have zero tolerance on this subject. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:11am
I believe it was the ancient Italians who introduced the world to fermented beverages using the wild grapes that grew everywhere.
John Smith has a lot to answer for due to Generational Guilt. Will we hear an Apology from him? Of course we will. Watch this space. Any moment now ... :) Quote:
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by skippy. on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:12am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:04am:
It would be best if a lot of them did not drink, unfortunately white fellas have got them addicted to it. This point came about as a result of Herbert saying indigenous people have assaulted and repressed their wives for centuries while the facts are so did white men. The current mobs abuse is a result of one thing, the introduction do alcohol, thanks to dem white fellas. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:18am skippy. wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:12am:
How do you explain the petrol sniffing.... |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:19am skippy. wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:12am:
;D Dem white fellas have introduced laws forbidding wife-bashing for the first time in 35,000 years ... Wife-bashing among aborigines was noted from the time of the earliest settlements, and was all about the brutal patriarchal structure of the aboriginal culture. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Datalife on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:21am John Smith wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:00am:
Hilarious, normally luvvies are squealing everyone is eeeqqquuuuaaaaalll, everyone is the same and there are no differences between races then suddenly when it comes to aboriginals maggoting themselves suddenly its, yup, whiteys fault again cos aboriginals are special and not eeeeqqqqquuuaaallllll. ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:29am BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:18am:
Exactly. And the bicycle-seat sniffing? ::) |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by woody2013 on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:36am Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:19am:
Not unlike present day parts of INDIA >:( |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by skippy. on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:36am Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:19am:
Yes, and white men kept their wives under control via old bible passages, some still do. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by skippy. on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:37am BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:18am:
They must have had good sticks to dig up petrol before dem white fella come along. Of course going by your reasoning every teenage boy is on steroids, right? |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Morning Mist on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:55am skippy. wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:12am:
So Aboriginals have no autonomy, no self-control, no responsibility? |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by GeorgeH on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:58am
Bicycle seat sniffing. Isn’t that done by French aboriginals? ;)
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Morning Mist on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:58am Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:19am:
True. Aboriginal life before European settlement was brutal. The women were treated like garbage. If the feminists and "progressives" had any integrity they'd deconstruct Aboriginal life before settlement and expose it for the brutal life it was. Instead, they do a complete 180 degree turn and project it as some kind of Romantic lifestyle (which was a view inherited from Rousseau's "noble savage"). |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by GeorgeH on Jan 26th, 2014 at 10:14am Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:03am:
Little Johnny couldn’t even bring himself to attend the House for the apology. Whitlam made the effort, I remember footage of him standing there, one hand on Malcolm Frazer’s shoulder for support—something symbolic in that. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 26th, 2014 at 10:33am St George of the Garden wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 10:14am:
What? "Whitlam made the effort"? You've been snorting too much airborne sawdust in that Man Shed of yours. Whitlam didn't make an apology. It was Rudd who made the apology. As for 'domestic' violence among the aborigines being primarily the fault of whitey and his bottle-shops ... and not due to their patriarchal culture of Might-is-Right ... Quote:
link |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by GeorgeH on Jan 26th, 2014 at 10:44am
Geez, Herb, you are not normally so dense. I said that, unlike Little Johnny, Whitlam dragged himself, frail as he already was then, to Parliament House to be in the chamber while Rudd made the Apology.
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by adelcrow on Jan 26th, 2014 at 10:55am St George of the Garden wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 10:44am:
Was Howard at the Libs reply to the apology where they said that the black fella should be grateful and that every misfortune that has befallen the race since white settlement was their own fault. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 26th, 2014 at 11:07am St George of the Garden wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 10:44am:
Whitlam would rise from the dead if it would give him a 'photo opportunity'. His hand on Fraser's shoulder was a Pope-like gesture similar to offering Fraser to kiss his ring. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by adelcrow on Jan 26th, 2014 at 11:10am Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 11:07am:
Given how much Frasers Treasurer Howard f@cked up the economy after Whitlams govt was sacked Im not surprised that Gough feels sorry for Mal. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 26th, 2014 at 11:22am John Smith wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 8:53am:
So far you're yet to list even one! ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by John Smith on Jan 26th, 2014 at 12:03pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:04am:
they get addicted to it a lot easier than we would do .... it's easy to say don't drink, but most of them grow up in small camps where everyone around them is drinking .... they have nothing else to do and by the time they realise how easy it is to get hooked, it's too late. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by John Smith on Jan 26th, 2014 at 12:04pm Datalife wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:21am:
f#ck me, reading that I could have sworn the auther was COds ..... wake up to yourself dipsh1t. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by John Smith on Jan 26th, 2014 at 12:05pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:11am:
in your case Herb, you can't blame the drink .... |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by John Smith on Jan 26th, 2014 at 12:07pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 11:22am:
I gave you one, I've even highlighted it to make it easier for you ... |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by stryder on Jan 26th, 2014 at 12:12pm John Smith wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 12:07pm:
So Johnny smith you see this as invasion day , should it be a day of extreme white guilt ?, do you subscribe to all that philosphy preached in part by the white guilt ridden left, ?? |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 26th, 2014 at 12:51pm John Smith wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 12:07pm:
How does recognising something like that - which everyone already did recognise, except obviously Rudd - improve the lives of Aborigines? It doesn't, nor does anything in the apology from Rudd. So, still waiting for one tangible benefit the apology brought to Aborigines... ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by GeorgeH on Jan 26th, 2014 at 12:58pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 11:07am:
Geez! Whitlam was over 90 even then, out of office, out of Parliament for decades. Not sure he cared greatly about photo opportunity. He had to hold onto Frazer’s shoulder because he was frail, couldn’t stand for long unassisted. These two former enemies had found common cause after their career in Parliament was over in combating poverty and racism—that hand on Frazer’s shoulder showed the wounds of Nov ’75 had healed. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by bogarde73 on Jan 26th, 2014 at 1:28pm
Greens_win rejoices in comments & topics that enable him/her/it to denigrate everything that is good about Australia.
But we are used to it and we live with it. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by bogarde73 on Jan 26th, 2014 at 1:46pm
Today, at community breakfasts and BBQs, flag raisings and citizenship ceremonies, in backyards and on beaches, millions of our citizens will celebrate one of the greatest gifts imaginable – to be an Australian.
While Australia Day formally marks the anniversary of the arrival of the First Fleet, today we celebrate something richer and deeper. We celebrate the nation and people we have become. We are the grateful inheritors of two strands of history: a British heritage and an Aboriginal one. We honour both today. Along with the millions of settlers from around the world who have made their home in Australia since 1788, we have become one people sharing the one land. We are fulfilling the aspiration put forward in the opening of the Australian Constitution: ‘that the people….have agreed to unite in one indissoluble Federal Commonwealth’. Twenty three million of us have found unity in our diversity, respect in our differences and have built a modern nation on the idea that anyone can get ahead provided they are prepared to “have a go”. Today, almost 18,000 men and women will take the Citizenship Pledge and “join our team”. It is a fitting day to celebrate our new citizens as it was on 26 January 1788 when Australia’s first modern migrants arrived. We have always been an immigrant country. Since 1949, more than 4.5 million people from across the globe have chosen to make Australia their home. I am proud to say that one of those families was my own. On 7 September 1960, my father, mother, oldest sister and I left Tilbury for Australia. My parents had a deep sense that there was no better place to raise a family. In a co-incidence that reminds me how much I will always owe our country, fifty three years to the day after embarking on that journey with my parents, I was elected Prime Minister of Australia. Australia has been a place for people to realise their dreams - if not all of them, at least many of them. Australia didn't disappoint my parents when they left Britain and it hasn't disappointed my wife Margie since she travelled ‘across the ditch’ from New Zealand. My hope is that our country will always live up to the faith that its people place in it. Today we celebrate the history that has made us who we are; the country that we love and the values and institutions that underpin it. It is a great day to be Australian - Happy Australia Day! Regards, Tony Abbott Prime Minister |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 26th, 2014 at 1:53pm adelcrow wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 11:10am:
Maybe Howard should have kissed Whitlam's ring too. 8-) |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 26th, 2014 at 2:02pm St George of the Garden wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 12:58pm:
"healed" ~ my arse! Whitlam laid a paternal hand on Malcolm's should in recognition of him having reinvented himself from being a born-to-rule political elitist to becoming a grovelling small-'l' liberal 'progressive' way to the left of even the Greens. (The Greens advocate for a stop to any further population growth ~ ie a carefully calibrated immigration quota that is just enough to keep the population static. On the other hand, Fraser wants open-slather immigration until the pop reaches 40 million or so). |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by ImSpartacus2 on Jan 26th, 2014 at 2:47pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 7:50am:
See!!!! You missed it all. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by ImSpartacus2 on Jan 26th, 2014 at 2:47pm
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by ImSpartacus2 on Jan 26th, 2014 at 2:54pm
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by ImSpartacus2 on Jan 26th, 2014 at 2:55pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:04am:
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 26th, 2014 at 2:59pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 2:02pm:
Just a little dab'll do ya! |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by olde.sault on Jan 26th, 2014 at 3:06pm ____ wrote on Jan 25th, 2014 at 5:39am:
If you are so distressed about the "Invasion" why don't you find a country that hadn't been invaded at some time or other and settle there? |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Honky on Jan 26th, 2014 at 3:15pm |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 26th, 2014 at 3:17pm greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 2:59pm:
;D You've got WAY too much time on your hands. Why don't you ask George to make you a butt-plug at his Man Shed with the wood-lathe they have there? Economy size. Unvarnished. Rough-sanded. :P |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 26th, 2014 at 8:12pm ImSpartacus2 wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 2:47pm:
I gave you idiots all day to come up with one simple piece of proof and you couldn't do it. So, there you go everyone - the apology by Rudd did SFA for Aborigines besides warm their hearts for about 5 minutes. ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Soren on Jan 26th, 2014 at 8:20pm
Aborigines should thank god every day that they were lucky enough to be introduced to the rest of the world by the British. Lucky, lucky, lucky.
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Stratos on Jan 26th, 2014 at 8:25pm Soren wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 8:20pm:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_massacres_of_Indigenous_Australians Lucky? |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 26th, 2014 at 8:26pm Soren wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 8:20pm:
Ah, that good old traditional Australian song, sung by our little Kylie. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Grendel on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:42pm
40, 60 thousand years ago... take your PC LW pick... Aborigines invaded Australia.
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Grendel on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:44pm
Ever ask yourself what happened to the pygmy Australian tribes in the North or Mungo-man?
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Honky on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:54pm Stratos wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 8:25pm:
Lucky that they had 40,000 years of relative peace. Relative to every other population on Earth. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 27th, 2014 at 4:17am Grendel wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:44pm:
Lots of ancient aboriginal remains show many signs of trauma and battle wounds, even the women folk had fractured skulls and stuff from abuse, of course this is all too inconvenient for the leftoid mindset to handle so instead they try to rewrite history to show that aboriginal man spent most of his time showering affections on his lovely wife, playing patty cake with the kids and having daisy chain making competitions with the adjoining tribes then along came evil white man that taught violence to a race of peaceful hippy like natives that had never before known the emotion of anger :D |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 27th, 2014 at 6:57am Soren wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 8:20pm:
Hopefully, some day a school curriculum will become mandatory that will teach the abo kids and the general population of school children the uncensored, non-PC, uneditted version of a few Home Truths about the miserable circumstances in which the aborigines lived before Salvation Day when the Brits arrived. It says something that escaped convicts who joined aboriginal clans out in the bush would return to the garrisons of their own accord after only a few months, knowing they would be severely flogged and possibly executed. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 27th, 2014 at 7:01am Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 27th, 2014 at 4:17am:
Let's cut to the chase, shall we? They were eaten. The evidence is on record. They were nulla-nulla-ed and tossed onto cooking fires like kangaroos and wallabies. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by skippy. on Jan 27th, 2014 at 7:16am Grendel wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 9:42pm:
Not possible, according to the loony fringe bible bashers the world is only five thousand years old. :P |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by John Smith on Jan 27th, 2014 at 9:58am stryder wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 12:12pm:
Invasion day? Not at all .... we aren't discussing how I see it, we are discussing how Aborigines might see it .... I have no problem with Australia day falling on the 26th Jan, likewise, if the Abo's prefer to change the day, I also have no problem with that either. As far as I'm concerned, it's a day to celebrate being Australian ... I don't care which day we do it. |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Morning Mist on Jan 27th, 2014 at 9:58am
A more honest history of Aboriginal life before 1788 won't happen until the academe has been purified of the current lot of academics. Writing a course, journal article, or Ph.D on Aboriginal violence pre-1788 is academic suicide. But writing about "oppression", "slavery", colonialism, imperialism, white supremacy, the "patriarchy" (white males only of course) will get you funding and promotion.
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Armchair_Politician on Jan 27th, 2014 at 10:12am Armchair_Politician wrote on Jan 26th, 2014 at 8:12pm:
Still got nothing, have you, leftards??? :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Happy Invasion Day Post by Herbert on Jan 27th, 2014 at 10:25am Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Jan 27th, 2014 at 9:58am:
The awful thing is that this is not a fiction, and this deceitful culture of sculpting the historic truth to suit the requirements of political correctness has the blessing of our academic elite and our political representatives. It's nothing less than Hitlerian book-burning by another method. |
Australian Politics Forum » Powered by YaBB 2.5.2! YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved. |