General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1390895017 Message started by imcrookonit on Jan 28th, 2014 at 5:43pm |
Title: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by imcrookonit on Jan 28th, 2014 at 5:43pm
Green army to be paid $10/hour :(
The West Australian Andrew Tillett Canberra The West Australian January 28, 2014. Members of the Federal Government's green army will be paid as little as $10 an hour as part of Prime Minister Tony Abbott's war on weeds. Draft regulations for plans to mobilise 15,000 young Australians for the new body reveal that most participants can expect to be paid less than the national minimum wage but still earn more than if they stayed on the dole. The details of the green army scheme came as unions and the welfare sector attacked the Government over plans to revive compulsory work for the dole. Assistant Employment Minister Luke Hartsuyker wants local councils and not-for-profit agencies to provide short-term placements for the jobless, such as doing maintenance work at aged-care homes and collecting rubbish. Australian Council of Trade Unions chief Ged Kearney said reviving work for the dole was "cheap populism" at a time when thousands of jobs had been lost. The Australian Council of Social Service said work for the dole was ineffective at getting people into jobs. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Greens_Win on Jan 28th, 2014 at 5:46pm
15,000 into $10
Conservatives are so cheap. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Aussie on Jan 28th, 2014 at 5:46pm |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by woody2013 on Jan 28th, 2014 at 5:51pm wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 5:43pm:
HHMMmm $80.00 a day = $400.00 a WK plus Supa Win win better than $425 a FORTNIGHT ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by imcrookonit on Jan 28th, 2014 at 5:56pm
National minimum wage :-?
The national minimum wage is the minimum wage that applies to employees who aren’t covered by an award or agreement. It covers the whole national workplace relations system. Most employees in the national workplace relations system are covered by an award. See Finding the Right Pay for tools and information to help you find minimum wages under awards. National minimum wage for adults Currently the full-time minimum wage is $16.37 per hour or $622.20 per week. This means that most employees in the national system shouldn't get less than this. Casuals covered by the national minimum wage get an extra 24% ($20.30 per hour). |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by GeorgeH on Jan 28th, 2014 at 5:56pm
A rightarded dribbled:
If they work full time how are they going to look for work? Wasn’t the Green army, irrigating and laying cables of wisdom as they spread over the countryside, supposed to plant trees to fight AGW? All sounding a bit ad hoc, symptomatic of f*cked up thinking? |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by gizmo_2655 on Jan 28th, 2014 at 5:59pm St George of the Garden wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 5:56pm:
If they work fulltime, they won't need to look for work, will they? |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Stratos on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:01pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 5:59pm:
If your lifelong desire is to plant trees for a living as part of a braindead scheme then sure, go nuts |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by John Smith on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:05pm
I can just see all those councils start to lay of their gardeners ....
disgraceful Mr Abbott. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Bam on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:06pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 5:59pm:
If they work full time, they should not be paid less than the minimum wage. Minimum means minimum. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:06pm St George of the Garden wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 5:56pm:
Thats a hilarious bit of f*ckwittery there half abbott / half ape man considering that plenty of people that work 40, 50 or even 60 hours a week seem to find the time to apply for jobs when they feel like a change ;D |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Innocent bystander on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:10pm John Smith wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:05pm:
Are you worried that the work for doleys will start changing the little smelly yellow things in the piss troughs at the public toilets and you'll be out of a job too. ;D |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by imcrookonit on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:15pm
Unemployment can happen to anyone, anytime. Any age, young or old. Those that are working today, could be the ones that are unemployed tomorrow. :(
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by gizmo_2655 on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:22pm Stratos wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:01pm:
So do what everyone else does, work, earn money, and look around for something better. George's idiot comment implies that they'd still need to job hunt for the Centrelink forms. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Stratos on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:24pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:22pm:
And in the meantime, you get to do manual labour for below minimum wage! |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by John Smith on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:25pm Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:10pm:
not at all, was it work for the doleys who replaced the one in your head? |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by gizmo_2655 on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:27pm Stratos wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:24pm:
Better than staying on the dole (earning' cash under the table' as rent-a-crowd) while protesting that 'no-one is doing any thing about the rising Co2 levels'.. When I started work, $400 a week was about twice what I earned. Actually about what I took home in my last job, admittedly that was 30 hours a week. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Stratos on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:29pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:27pm:
If you think direct action is going to do anything about co2 levels, you are very much mistaken. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by GeorgeH on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:30pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 5:59pm:
Bludgers will do f*ckall work, skive off, disrupt, be happy to get $400/week for a while. People who want to work—want to get better paid jobs. Can’t any rightard think? |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by gizmo_2655 on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:31pm Stratos wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:29pm:
It'll do FAR more than marching down the street crying about it will. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by John Smith on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:33pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:31pm:
actually, I doubt DA would even do that much . :D :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Stratos on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:37pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:31pm:
Maybe a bit. Like a little bit It will definitely cost a lot more though. Hell, if you are going to use what would normal be an illegal wage, at least get them doing something USEFUL for Australia instead of this junk of a policy |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by gizmo_2655 on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:50pm St George of the Garden wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:30pm:
LOL George, you remind me of my ex-brother in law. He got retrenched from his job as an advertising executive and sat around waiting for someone to offer him an executive job. He got offered a job at a Yacht Club, $350 in the hand for about 15 hrs a week. I told him to take it (since it was $350 a week more than he was getting) and it gave him a chance to be hired by one of the rich members. He didn't it was 'beneath him' but he was happy to sponge of my sister and help his sister clean houses for $20 every 2 days... |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Grendel on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:56pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 5:59pm:
Oh yes and they will have no future at that wage rate will they. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Grendel on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:57pm St George of the Garden wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 5:56pm:
If you don't know what they will be doing, then best not to comment and by opening your mouth show your mindless bias and stupidity. Stick to facts eh. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Grendel on Jan 28th, 2014 at 7:01pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:27pm:
Well i hate to have to tell you but the cost of living seems to have gone up a lot since then. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by GeorgeH on Jan 28th, 2014 at 7:21pm Grendel wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:57pm:
Actually, roach, Pruneface (Hartsuyker or however the clown’s name is spelled) did say what the Green Army was to be used for, exactly the same as the WftD brainfart. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Grendel on Jan 28th, 2014 at 7:42pm St George of the Garden wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 7:21pm:
Hearsay and Rumour.... much like the lies and propaganda you usually post eh. Stick to facts at least i can back you up on that or have you ignored that? ::) |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by GeorgeH on Jan 28th, 2014 at 7:44pm
Bit of commonsense on this brainfart:
http://theaimn.com/2014/01/27/abbotts-army/ Point number 1 there is the key—increase NewStart by say $75/week and the extra spending will stimulate the economy. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Bam on Jan 28th, 2014 at 7:55pm Innocent bystander wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:06pm:
And of course these hardworking people manage to read thousands of job ads and apply for hundreds of jobs before getting one? Hmm? |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by aquascoot on Jan 28th, 2014 at 8:04pm
It's a start. I'd be keen to see another 100,000 public servants shifted over to this worthwhile initiative. It's important they should be excluded from workers comp though. I could see many RSI type bogus claims from pulling weeds.
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Bam on Jan 28th, 2014 at 8:26pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:50pm:
This was good advice, IMO. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Bam on Jan 28th, 2014 at 8:41pm aquascoot wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 8:04pm:
Since you're so effusive with your praise for it, we would like to see you transferred to this scheme. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by aquascoot on Jan 28th, 2014 at 9:34pm Bam wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 8:41pm:
Undercover boss ;) |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by gizmo_2655 on Jan 29th, 2014 at 1:14am Grendel wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:56pm:
No, but displaying the work ethic of turning up and the ability to work hard looks a lot better on a resume than does sitting around whinging about the lack of jobs and penalty rates. Given the choice between a person who will do a crappy job in order to earn money and because it's work, and someone who's been waiting for the perfect job to be handed to them..which would you hire?? |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by warrigal on Jan 29th, 2014 at 6:48am John Smith wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 6:25pm:
hilarious one sh''t head on this forum abusing another sh'''t head on this forum. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by warrigal on Jan 29th, 2014 at 6:55am
I'd like too see what this green army does, because wherever I have gone in this country I never seen it in action.
maybe they could retrain them and send them to Indonesia to hunt down boat people or send them to manus island for immigration workers. that would be giving people a real job, not just doing landscaping. slave labor. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by pansi1951 on Jan 29th, 2014 at 6:56am I know three people who have not applied for the dole, they said they certainly will if they can get a $10 an hour job out of it. Where are all these jobs coming from? It will start off as 'green' jobs then expand into other areas....wait and see. Remember what happened with this scheme in the UK?....the reintroduction of slave labour, goodbye award wage jobs, please apply for the dole and come back for a half pay job......go corporate greed!!!! I can't imagine Myers or David Jones paying full wages when they can get an army of $10 workers. Gina won't get her $2 an hour workers, but close enough. The dole queue shrinks Big business wins It's a win win for government and their cronies. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by warrigal on Jan 29th, 2014 at 6:59am gizmo_2655 wrote on Jan 29th, 2014 at 1:14am:
I would hire the person that wants the career working , not just the tosser that would take any job. more value in a person that wants that career. commitment. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by warrigal on Jan 29th, 2014 at 7:02am
Jobs out there Employers screaming for workers and yet our country Australia does nothing to put people to work. in the occupations they need and are trained for.
their just too busy hiring tossers that don't care. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by pansi1951 on Jan 29th, 2014 at 7:46am [url]If they work fulltime, they won't need to look for work, will they?[/url] It won't be fulltime until the govt. tweak the rules and allow all industry to take slave labour. I wonder how long before everyone is working for $10 an hour? Why pay award wages when you can get cut price workers? Go Greed Inc. Wfd is only one day or eight hours per week, I'm pretty sure. This rate of pay won't even affect their rent assistance. I don't think this scheme will get off the ground, there won't be anywhere near enough jobs available for all those hundreds of thousands on the dole plus the new candidates that were not on the dole and not counted as unemployed, even though they were. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by pansi1951 on Jan 29th, 2014 at 7:58am Now I'm confused. It looks like it's only for those who sign up for green corps, which is voluntary, isn't it? and they were always paid a small wage. Is Abbott spruiking an already established system as his own brainwave? All other wfd will be non paid labour. |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Kat on Jan 29th, 2014 at 8:04am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Jan 29th, 2014 at 7:46am:
It varies. Most do between two and three days a week. Over-50s need only do one day, but can do more if the wish to. The miniscule percentage of 'bludgers' as the Right so like to call all unemployed, can be made to do WfD full-time. This is blatantly a punishment plan, and the Right know it, in fact they planned it that way.How full-time WfD helps them, or gives them time to look for work, is beyond me. Andrews is nothing but a smacking incompetent buffoon (a bit like his boss, actually). |
Title: Re: Green Army To Be Paid $10 An Hour. Post by Kat on Jan 29th, 2014 at 8:08am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Jan 29th, 2014 at 7:58am:
If I am performing WfD, and my unemployed neighbour is not, I should be getting at least $100 a fortnight more than he does. As should anyone who volunteers. WfD is not fair, not equitable, and not useful in helping people find work. |