General Discussion >> General Board >> Changing Beers... OMG!
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1390910391

Message started by True Blue... on Jan 28th, 2014 at 9:59pm

Title: Changing Beers... OMG!
Post by True Blue... on Jan 28th, 2014 at 9:59pm
traditionally I've always drank CUB...

the working mans beers..

Melbourne Bitter (when younger)
Victorian Bitter and
Carlton Draught....

non of this homosexual wine sipping garbage...  ::)

anyways.. my brother said to me a while back that he only drinks European beers because they are not allowed to put preservatives in them... 

and...

that he doesn't wake up with a hang over/headache the following morning after having a few.. he's not a big drinking by any means... myself, I never drink before a work day and he drinks less than me... so you do the math..

so anyways.. I've been browsing the internet and finding similar stories... hang over and headaches after drinking CUB products...

while down in Tasmania I've been drinking a couple of Cascades Pale Ale... and the following morning been waking up as fresh as a daisy ...  :)

Carlton Dry ( a newer beer )  is another good new product whereby you can have a good night on the turps and wake up pretty good the following day... its a new product that is low on carbs... its also low on flavour which I don't mind as other low carb beers are like drinking a bad home brew...  >:(

but Cascade Pale Ale is a great tasting beer... (156 carbs per stubby) you can taste the lightly roasted barley and it lingers on the palate between mouthfuls..  :)

so there you have it.. I'm a changed man.. and am willing to do some more exploring !!!!

;)

Title: Re: Changing Beers... OMG!
Post by Gnads on Jan 28th, 2014 at 10:07pm
I had a gutful of Cascade on tap when I was in Hobart as an 18/19 year old....... worst beer headache I've ever had..... the 4 mates on the trip were the same...

We drank Boags XXX for the rest of the trip.

We had a fair session(2 days) on the VB whilst we stayed in the Dandenong Motel waiting to catch the ferry to Tas.

Didn't get crook on that lolly water  :P

Post by True Blue... on Jan 28th, 2014 at 10:16pm
Cascade have about 10 different brews.. which one?

pale ale is one of the oldest brews in Australia... although im finding it hard to find on the main land... I've got an order in at Dan Murphy's..   

who say its one of their main stream beers but haven't got any...  :-?

anyways.... im moving on from the traditional CUB beers.. it's like losing your first child..  :'( :'( :'(

but anyways.. im open for change... im even willing to try Monkey's Fist...  :o

http://danmurphys.com.au/product/DM_733701/sail-anchor-monkey-s-fist-pale-ale

Post by John Smith on Jan 28th, 2014 at 10:27pm
Surprisingly, one of the best beers I've had was when I was holidaying in Romania ...it's a local drop called Ursus .... it used to go down like water, no bloating at all, and I don't remember any hangovers from it. I was surprised with how good it was.

I haven't been able to find it here though, pity.

Post by Frances on Jan 28th, 2014 at 10:32pm
I don't really like beer much....

Post by John Smith on Jan 28th, 2014 at 10:33pm

Frances wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 10:32pm:

youjust haven't tried the right one!

Post by Lols on Jan 28th, 2014 at 11:28pm
The best drink, on a hot day, especially when up suffering from Queensland's heat...is shandy beer with lemonaide....so refreshing.
When I was 13, and in them olden days, at the outback country pubs, going in with dad in his travels....I had my first taste of shandy stout....and I loved it!
Apparently, mum told me, when she was pregnant with me, she was feeling that morning sickness, and a doctor told her to drink stout which would help...so maybe that's why I love it  ;D

Post by Gnads on Jan 29th, 2014 at 6:50pm

True Blue... wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 10:16pm:

pale ale is one of the oldest brews in Australia... although im finding it hard to find on the main land... I've got an order in at Dan Murphy's..   

anyways.... im moving on from the traditional CUB beers.. it's like losing your first child..  :'( :'( :'(

Where? :o

Post by True Blue... on Jan 29th, 2014 at 7:57pm

Gnads wrote on Jan 29th, 2014 at 6:50pm:

True Blue... wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 10:16pm:

Where? :o

im not sure what I was thinking about there...

maybe something I could recommend for Frances ...

a good monkey's fist...  :P

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Jan 29th, 2014 at 7:57pm
Ye Gods - for a moment there I thought you were going to say they were going to axe XXXX - a Queensland XXXX addict is a fearsome sight when deprived of XXXX!  (I am too but I'm thinking of a different xxxx)......

All those Victorian beers.. well, no wonder they call Victoria Bitter.... (ptooey)...

Tooheys New or The Nectar Itself - Guinness from the tap!

Post by True Blue... on Jan 29th, 2014 at 7:58pm

Sophia wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 11:28pm:
The best drink, on a hot day, especially when up suffering from Queensland's heat...is shandy beer with lemonaide....so refreshing.
When I was 13, and in them olden days, at the outback country pubs, going in with dad in his travels....I had my first taste of shandy stout....and I loved it!
Apparently, mum told me, when she was pregnant with me, she was feeling that morning sickness, and a doctor told her to drink stout which would help...so maybe that's why I love it  ;D

struth... stout...

I had one once....

yes.. once...  :(

Post by True Blue... on Jan 29th, 2014 at 8:00pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Jan 29th, 2014 at 7:57pm:
Ye Gods - for a moment there I thought you were going to say they were going to axe XXXX - a Queensland XXXX addict is a fearsome sight when deprived of XXXX!  (I am too but I'm thinking of a different xxxx)......

All those Victorian beers.. well, no wonder they call Victoria Bitter.... (ptooey)...

I work with a South Australian...

he says that VB stands for Vaginal Backwash...

real funny guy...  ::)

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Jan 29th, 2014 at 8:04pm

Chardonnay Latte` perhaps? I'll buy....  umm, perhaps a little of that rough Italian red - now that's not bad! Maltese home-made Port.. those Maltese know how to tramp a vintage....

Or a cocktail?  Drambuie in a bucket?

Ah - for Madame - as befits a lady - a little Benedictine - not the cheap brandy watered down stuff - the good drop from the Monk's mouth! Lightly chilled in the refrigerator until it is ... yummm - thick to the tongue and slides down like a fine oil....

Perhaps a small Guinness as a chaser?  Or does Madame prefer Irish whiskey - I am, humbly, something of a connoissieur of this drop..... I would....... share with you......

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Jan 29th, 2014 at 8:06pm

Sophia wrote on Jan 28th, 2014 at 11:28pm:

Hmm -  a Guinness one day then.... my nephews all credit me with leading them astray into the drinking of Guinness...

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 29th, 2014 at 8:07pm

True Blue... wrote on Jan 29th, 2014 at 8:00pm:

It doesn't taste that good.

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Jan 29th, 2014 at 8:11pm
Genuine Malayan Tiger? Vietnamese Bah Me Bah (I will not translate but it's like the words for cheap Russian Vodka)?

Ah - the Guinnesss noh - I've me T-shirts for St James Gate and a free pint on entry - and a pleasure it is to discuss something politically meaningful here for a change.....

D'ye think they'd recognise me two days in a row in the same T-shirt.....????  Or if I went around and came in again and again on the same day????

Night all - the ex wants to go to bed and I'm using her computer at the farm.....

Post by True Blue... on Jan 29th, 2014 at 8:16pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 29th, 2014 at 8:07pm:

you only say that because you've never met Rhonda Rotten Box...  :P

Post by Swagman on Jan 29th, 2014 at 9:29pm
I drink Tooheys New.

If you don't wake up with the dry horrors and a smashing head ache the  day after the night before you've wasted your money..... :D

Post by Dnarever on Jan 29th, 2014 at 9:39pm

I thought it stood for Very Bad.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 29th, 2014 at 11:18pm

Swagman wrote on Jan 29th, 2014 at 9:29pm:
I drink Tooheys New.

If you don't wake up with the dry horrors and a smashing head ache the  day after the night before you've wasted your money..... :D

I love beer, but prefer wine these days.

A bottle or two a day will do me.

Can't remember the last time I woke up with a hangover though (maybe when I was 17).

Post by WorldSacred on Jan 30th, 2014 at 3:44pm

I went from being a once a week 6-pack of boubon and colas drinker when I was 22, to a once a fortnight beer drinker as a 34 year old. The change was pretty quick for me to get a liking for beer. After that, I hated the taste of bourbon and colas. My last 6-pack of pre-mixers were at the start of January, and I just couldn't drink it all in one night. Beer is pretty easy to drink, and I don't get the hangovers that I would get from pre-mixers.

Post by Doctor Jolly on Jan 30th, 2014 at 4:10pm
How adventurous you all are.

I buy..... whatever is on special at the bottle-o.

Sometimes, even XXXX !

Post by Karnal on Jan 30th, 2014 at 4:14pm

Dnarever wrote on Jan 29th, 2014 at 9:39pm:

I thought it stood for Very Bad.

It's bloody awful. Australian beer must be the worst in the world - I mean this. I can't figure out the huge foreign sales of tasteless CUB beers like Fosters and Crown lager.

The worst beer I've tried is XXXX.

The best clear beer I've tried, without a doubt, is Beer Lao.

It comes from one of the poorest, least industrialized countries in the world. It beats all those big selling Asian beers like Tiger and San Miguel, and it definitely beats the big selling world beers like Heineken and Stella - which aren't all that bad, but not as good as Lao.

Cambodian beer isn't too bad either - maybe it has something to do with the French influence.

Mind you, I haven't yet tried a Vietnamese beer I'd drink more of.

Vietnam - and China - has some of the cheapest beer in the world, but it's flat and metallic.

Beer Lao - I'd love to think of a good marketing campaign and import the stuff. The problem is, the only beer that seems to take off is crap beer like Crown lager.

And if it is just marketing (and nothing to do with taste), how come the biggest selling beers come in such plain packaging?

Look at VB. It might as well be Home Brand.

Post by Redneck on Jan 30th, 2014 at 5:25pm
Worst Beer was KB

Great for beer batter thats all!

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Jan 30th, 2014 at 7:32pm

Redmond Neck wrote on Jan 30th, 2014 at 5:25pm:
Worst Beer was KB

Great for beer batter thats all!

Uuurrrgh!  Resch's Dinner Ale we used to pinch from the old man when we were kids.. now that takes some beating for the worst...

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Jan 30th, 2014 at 7:33pm
Cooper's Ale now - with the nifty little floaty bits from the tap in Adelaide...

Post by Gnads on Jan 31st, 2014 at 9:40am
Worst beers were Sth Australian

Southwick aka Green Death
West End
Coopers.... with the dregs like home brew

then

the shyte they put in Darwin Stubbies(Carlton)
Carlton Draught
Crown Lager
VB .... = Vomit Bomb

more CARLTON crap was
Gold Top
NQ Lager
Cairns Draught

they made another horse piss in Rockhampton years ago
called Macs beer.

Corona is over rated mule piss only drinkable with a wedge of lemon

I like ...

XXXX Gold(used to drink XXXX Heavy Bitter Ale many moons ago)

Tooheys New
Tooheys Old

& a meal & baby in every mouth full

a pint of keg Guiness :)

Post by WorldSacred on Feb 2nd, 2014 at 2:21pm

Doctor Jolly wrote on Jan 30th, 2014 at 4:10pm:
How adventurous you all are.

I buy..... whatever is on special at the bottle-o.

Sometimes, even XXXX !

My last 6 pack of beer was XXXX Bitter, and I found that quite nice. You probably go for those girly beers from overseas.

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Feb 2nd, 2014 at 4:01pm
Ah - to the RSL for a Tooheys New and a bet on a horse... and I don't mean the ex with whom I'll be sharing a table....  hard when you remain friends and still need some pussy... they all assume that the ex and I are still an item.

Post by Gnads on Feb 2nd, 2014 at 7:36pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Feb 2nd, 2014 at 4:01pm:
Ah - to the RSL for a Tooheys New and a bet on a horse... and I don't mean the ex with whom I'll be sharing a table....  hard when you remain friends and still need some pussy... they all assume that the ex and I are still an item.

;D Now now Grappler that can be a dicey path to travel .... sometimes as far as ex's go you're better off incommunicado ;)

Post by Cofgod on Feb 3rd, 2014 at 1:07am
I love going into a British supermarket and looking at all the varieties of British beer there are.  There are so many varieties of British beer (some of them centuries old) that it's difficult to choose which one to try out.

I love Spitfire cask conditioned Kentish ale.  It was first brewed by Kent brewer Shepherd Neame (founded in 1698) in 1990 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Battle of Britain (the beer is nicknamed "The Bottle of Britain") .  The brand is promoted by award-winning World War II-themed advertising such as the one below, featuring comedy duo Armstrong (also known to millions in Britain as the presenter of popular BBC gameshow Pointless) and Miller.

Other Shepherd Neame beers are:

Bishop's Finger: a cask-conditioned ale brewed to a traditional Kentish recipe, it is also exported in bottles to more than 30 countries worldwide;

Master Brew: the brewery's bestselling cask ale in Kent. It is brewed using only Kentish barley and hops, and is a distinctive, mid-brown bitter ale best known in the brewery's Kentish heartland;

Early Bird Spring Hop: brewed with the Early Bird single hop variety. This light-gold beer is full-bodied, distinctive, with a malty undertone. It is seasonally available, from February to May, inclusive;

Goldings Summer Hop Ale: a light flavoured bitter made with Kentish malt and fresh Goldings hops harvested within five miles of the brewery. The beer is almost floral-scented, with a biscuity taste. It is seasonally available, from June to August;

Late Red Autumn Hop Ale: a complex, richly flavoured autumn hop ale. With an autumnal auburn hue, this premium beer achieves a balance between rich, dark malt flavours, and a strong, robust hoppiness. The brew is seasonally available, from September to November;

Original Porter: a dark London-style Porter brewed in the winter and available from November to February;

Whitstable Bay: Organic Ale which has an elegant, light flavour and is backed by the traditionally farmed, English malted barley and organic hops from New Zealand, which fuse to produce a bittersweet flavour with floral overtones and a dry finish. Its label states it is approved by the Soil Association and the Vegetarian Society.

Another good set of English beers are those brewed at the Wychwood Brewery in David Cameron's constituency of Witney in Oxfordshire.

Wychwood Brewery produces around 50,000 barrels (8,200,000 litres) of cask ale each year, and is the United Kingdom's largest brewer of organic ales. Wychwood filtered and bottled beers are exported all over the world, including the United States, Canada, Sweden, France, Australia, Russia, Japan, Israel and Singapore.

The brewery is noted for its intricate, fantasy-based label artwork, inspired by the myths and legends surrounding the ancient mediaeval Wych Wood Forest.

The Wychwood beer I like the best is Hobgoblin - "full bodied and well balanced with a chocolate toffee malt flavour, moderate bitterness and a distinctive fruity character with a ruby red glow". It was the first bottled beer in the UK to feature an illustrated label, as opposed to a simple text-based one, and it is currently the 5th best-selling bottled ale in the UK.

Their other beers King Goblin ("only brewed on a full moon"), Scarecrow, Goliath and Wychcraft. 

Post by Cofgod on Feb 3rd, 2014 at 1:24am
Double post.

I haven't been drinking by the way.  Not yet anyway.

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Feb 3rd, 2014 at 1:37pm
Speight's Dark from the South Island of NZ..... fine drop.

The ad they had was good - farmer dad and son sitting, son saying he might move to the city to be with his long-legged lovely etc... finally decides he'd better stay where the Speight's is brewed... wise move.

Post by True Blue... on Feb 3rd, 2014 at 7:36pm

Cofgod wrote on Feb 3rd, 2014 at 1:07am:
I love going into a British supermarket and looking at all the varieties of British beer there are.  There are so many varieties of British beer (some of them centuries old) that it's difficult to choose which one to try out.

I love Spitfire cask conditioned Kentish ale.  It was first brewed by Kent brewer Shepherd Neame (founded in 1698) in 1990 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Battle of Britain (the beer is nicknamed "The Bottle of Britain") .  The brand is promoted by award-winning World War II-themed advertising such as the one below, featuring comedy duo Armstrong (also known to millions in Britain as the presenter of popular BBC gameshow Pointless) and Miller.

Other Shepherd Neame beers are:

Bishop's Finger: a cask-conditioned ale brewed to a traditional Kentish recipe, it is also exported in bottles to more than 30 countries worldwide;

Master Brew: the brewery's bestselling cask ale in Kent. It is brewed using only Kentish barley and hops, and is a distinctive, mid-brown bitter ale best known in the brewery's Kentish heartland;

Early Bird Spring Hop: brewed with the Early Bird single hop variety. This light-gold beer is full-bodied, distinctive, with a malty undertone. It is seasonally available, from February to May, inclusive;

Goldings Summer Hop Ale: a light flavoured bitter made with Kentish malt and fresh Goldings hops harvested within five miles of the brewery. The beer is almost floral-scented, with a biscuity taste. It is seasonally available, from June to August;

Late Red Autumn Hop Ale: a complex, richly flavoured autumn hop ale. With an autumnal auburn hue, this premium beer achieves a balance between rich, dark malt flavours, and a strong, robust hoppiness. The brew is seasonally available, from September to November;

Original Porter: a dark London-style Porter brewed in the winter and available from November to February;

Whitstable Bay: Organic Ale which has an elegant, light flavour and is backed by the traditionally farmed, English malted barley and organic hops from New Zealand, which fuse to produce a bittersweet flavour with floral overtones and a dry finish. Its label states it is approved by the Soil Association and the Vegetarian Society.

Another good set of English beers are those brewed at the Wychwood Brewery in David Cameron's constituency of Witney in Oxfordshire.

Wychwood Brewery produces around 50,000 barrels (8,200,000 litres) of cask ale each year, and is the United Kingdom's largest brewer of organic ales. Wychwood filtered and bottled beers are exported all over the world, including the United States, Canada, Sweden, France, Australia, Russia, Japan, Israel and Singapore.

The brewery is noted for its intricate, fantasy-based label artwork, inspired by the myths and legends surrounding the ancient mediaeval Wych Wood Forest.

The Wychwood beer I like the best is Hobgoblin - "full bodied and well balanced with a chocolate toffee malt flavour, moderate bitterness and a distinctive fruity character with a ruby red glow". It was the first bottled beer in the UK to feature an illustrated label, as opposed to a simple text-based one, and it is currently the 5th best-selling bottled ale in the UK.

Their other beers King Goblin ("only brewed on a full moon"), Scarecrow, Goliath and Wychcraft. 

excellent post... I wouldn't mind a Bishops Finger myself...

Post by True Blue... on Feb 3rd, 2014 at 7:39pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Feb 3rd, 2014 at 1:37pm:

The ad they had was good - farmer dad and son sitting, son saying he might move to the city to be with his long-legged lovely etc... finally decides he'd better stay where the Speight's is brewed... wise move.

I didn't mind a Lion Red when I was over in NZ some years back...

while in Brazil I didn't mind the beer in the Red and Yellow labelled bottles... not the green one... wasn't so good... don't know what it said on the bottles either  :P

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Feb 3rd, 2014 at 7:54pm

True Blue... wrote on Feb 3rd, 2014 at 7:39pm:

while in Brazil I didn't mind the beer in the Red and Yellow labelled bottles... not the green one... wasn't so good... don't know what it said on the bottles either  :P

The kid's mother - a Kiwi - said Lion was Maori's beer... didn't like it much.  Had some Maori guys buying me beer during a Bledisloe Cup match - I was the only Aussie in the bar and they thought I was a great pet... I picked first try scorer at about 23:1... they thought I knew the game, but only ever played one international... that was a kid's game, too...

Post by greggerypeccary on Feb 3rd, 2014 at 8:09pm

Cofgod wrote on Feb 3rd, 2014 at 1:07am:
...  comedy duo Armstrong and Miller.

Very funny guys.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lwNQf08Kxsw

Post by True Blue... on Feb 3rd, 2014 at 8:18pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Feb 3rd, 2014 at 7:54pm:

The kid's mother - a Kiwi - said Lion was Maori's beer... didn't like it much.  Had some Maori guys buying me beer during a Bledisloe Cup match - I was the only Aussie in the bar and they thought I was a great pet... I picked first try scorer at about 23:1... they thought I knew the game, but only ever played one international... that was a kid's game, too...

in 1978 you could drink Lion Red and if lucky enough win a Toyota Corona...

that was like winning a Rolls Royce in NZ

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Feb 4th, 2014 at 6:35pm

Sure was!  I had a five year old Hiace van, 1984, and it was considered a great machine for NZ....

Post by Gnads on Feb 4th, 2014 at 6:44pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Feb 3rd, 2014 at 7:54pm:

That's right... heard Lion Red draught beer was bloody awful........ don't have kegs of it......... it comes round in a tanker truck & is pumped into underground tanks at the pub ...... just like fuel at a servo. Might explain the taste ;D

Want to have a back yard booze up .... it comes round in a mini tanker with temp-rite.

Post by GeorgeH on Feb 4th, 2014 at 6:57pm
Don’t like the Hobgoblin—way too much crystal malt. By the time the ale hits our shore the crystal malt has gone from toffee to a nasty edge. I never use crystal malt in my brews at all.

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Feb 4th, 2014 at 7:44pm
When my series of hostels is organised - a cellar with Guinness kegs - for the genuine illuminati , and some wine for the sheilas.... might do a little home brewing again... bookings in from the US and England already....

Post by DPW on Feb 5th, 2014 at 12:56am
My favourite beer at the moment: 4 Pines Kolsch - no artificial flavours, additives or preservatives (or hangovers, for me...yet). And great for a summer arvo!

Post by True Blue... on Feb 5th, 2014 at 7:11pm
Well,

im so angry I could spit...  >:(

trying to find Cascade Pale Ale on the main land can be a bit of a chore...

but when you find out that they have just dropped the number of stubbies in a Carton, back to 16 stubby carton of beer, but retained the same price as a 24 stubby pack, its all I can do not to fly back down to Tasmania Cascade Brewery and punch one of those CEO's square in the face...  >:(

same price less 8 stubbies... fricken thieves..  >:(

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Feb 5th, 2014 at 7:59pm

True Blue... wrote on Feb 5th, 2014 at 7:11pm:
Well,

but when you find out that they have just dropped the number of stubbies in a Carton, back to 16 stubby carton of beer, but retained the same price as a 24 stubby pack, its all I can do not to fly back down to Tasmania Cascade Brewery and punch one of those CEO's square in the face...  >:(

WHAT?  That's cause for war on Tasmania!  There's no such thing as a 'slab' of sixteen!

Bloody Tasmanian convict stock - steal the froth of yer beer they would....

Steal the hangover off the top of yer head while ye're sleeping it off?  Bloody pirates!

Pirates Of The Tasman - Thirsty Man's Half Chest.

Oh - the secret of whiskey is aging it in oak casks..... not in the bottle - doesn't age in the bottle - metho.

Post by True Blue... on Feb 5th, 2014 at 8:16pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Feb 5th, 2014 at 7:59pm:

True Blue... wrote on Feb 5th, 2014 at 7:11pm:
Well,

WHAT?  That's cause for war on Tasmania!  There's no such thing as a 'slab' of sixteen!

Bloody Tasmanian convict stock - steal the froth of yer beer they would....

Steal the hangover off the top of yer head while ye're sleeping it off?  Bloody pirates!

Pirates Of The Tasman - Thirsty Man's Half Chest.

Oh - the secret of whiskey is aging it in oak casks..... not in the bottle - doesn't age in the bottle - metho.

Oh I've given them a piece of my mind, don't you worry about that!!

I think I called for the CEOs sacking, or something like that... i'll have to reread my notes  ;D

Post by True Blue... on Feb 5th, 2014 at 8:16pm
;)

Post by Gnads on Feb 6th, 2014 at 3:51pm
Yeah go straight to the top ;D

But that's what all these product makers are doing

downsizing the quantity ... litres/grams/ number per pack

& maintaining or raising the price

Yet we have to listen to all these right wing Tory bastards telling us we aren't being ripped off it's all the fault of workers & their high wages. ::) :P

Post by ian on Feb 6th, 2014 at 3:54pm
2 words. emu bitter. Everything else is lolly water for girls.

Post by Gnads on Feb 6th, 2014 at 4:12pm
I wouldn't eat Emu .... what makes you think I'd drink their sour p1ss? ;D

Post by True Blue... on Feb 6th, 2014 at 4:24pm

Gnads wrote on Feb 6th, 2014 at 3:51pm:
Yeah go straight to the top ;D

But that's what all these product makers are doing

downsizing the quantity ... litres/grams/ number per pack

& maintaining or raising the price

Yet we have to listen to all these right wing Tory bastards telling us we aren't being ripped off it's all the fault of workers & their high wages. ::) :P

im not sure what they are paid in the Brewery but they deservedly so should be on above award wages...

when the terrible fires came through tassie back in the ummm, 60s? i think it was.. maybe 50s  :-? :-? :-? the workers rushed to their homes and upon finding them already burnt to the ground rushed back to the Brewery to save it... unfortunately it too was alight and and burnt down... the workers then rebuilt the place and started making beer as usual..

these days people would just walk away and go on the dole.... bugger the company...

so the workers would have free beers for smoko, for lunch, and afternoon smoko... as many as they could drink in the allotted time... people would run from one end of the plant to the other at smoko's  ;D

today, now with OH&S laws etc.. those days are gone  :'( ...but.. the Brewery workers still get a carton of beer with every pay packet...  :)

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Feb 6th, 2014 at 9:32pm

The pyramid workers/builders went on strike when the Egyptians didn't supply beer at the end of the day.... with a life span of 23 they had to drink fast....

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Feb 6th, 2014 at 9:35pm

Post by John Smith on Feb 6th, 2014 at 10:27pm

True Blue... wrote on Feb 6th, 2014 at 4:24pm:
when the terrible fires came through tassie back in the ummm, 60s? i think it was.. maybe 50s     the workers rushed to their homes and upon finding them already burnt to the ground rushed back to the Brewery to save it... unfortunately it too was alight and and burnt down... the workers then rebuilt the place and started making beer as usual.. these days people would just walk away and go on the dole.... bugger the company...

in the 50's and 60's the workers once employed had a job for life ..... these days the first thing the company does when trying to increase profits is say 'bugger the workers'...   ;D ;D ;D

Post by Peter Freedman on Feb 7th, 2014 at 12:07am
Does anyone know what happened to Red Stripe?

Jamaican beer, smooth as silk, but can't find it anywhere.

Post by True Blue... on Feb 7th, 2014 at 6:19am

John Smith wrote on Feb 6th, 2014 at 10:27pm:

True Blue... wrote on Feb 6th, 2014 at 4:24pm:
when the terrible fires came through tassie back in the ummm, 60s? i think it was.. maybe 50s     the workers rushed to their homes and upon finding them already burnt to the ground rushed back to the Brewery to save it... unfortunately it too was alight and and burnt down... the workers then rebuilt the place and started making beer as usual.. these days people would just walk away and go on the dole.... bugger the company...

in the 50's and 60's the workers once employed had a job for life ..... these days the first thing the company does when trying to increase profits is say 'bugger the workers'...   ;D ;D ;D

fair point John..

Post by True Blue... on Mar 12th, 2014 at 8:22pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Jan 30th, 2014 at 7:33pm:
Cooper's Ale now - with the nifty little floaty bits from the tap in Adelaide...

would that be Coopers Sparkling Ale?

I tried some of this recently while out to dinner at one of our local fine restaurants... :)

they didn't have the cascade pale ale so the waitress suggested Coopers Sparkling..

I wasn't going to have it but after looking through the list decided to give it a go...

I was about half way through the drink when I noticed the floaty bits throughout the drink...

it was like a Christmas Snow Globe but better...  :)

i have since purchased a few stubbies and have really enjoyed them...  :)

they use no preservative or chemicals in making it using the "Top Fermentation" method with the secondary fermentation happening inside the bottle...

an excellent drop from 1862  ;)

Post by Pastafarian on Mar 12th, 2014 at 8:24pm
Seriously you're only on Coopers Sparkling? Welcome to 2003.

Post by freediver on Mar 12th, 2014 at 9:03pm
In my experience the preservative free, good quality stuff does give you slightly less of a hangover. Eating decent food, keeping hydrated and getting sleep is probably more important. If I miss out on too much sleep it can feel just like a hangover. But if you drink too much, there is no avoiding it.

Post by True Blue... on Mar 13th, 2014 at 6:14am

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Mar 12th, 2014 at 8:24pm:

1862 even... ;)

Post by True Blue... on Mar 13th, 2014 at 6:24am

freediver wrote on Mar 12th, 2014 at 9:03pm:
In my experience the preservative free, good quality stuff does give you slightly less of a hangover. Eating decent food, keeping hydrated and getting sleep is probably more important. If I miss out on too much sleep it can feel just like a hangover. But if you drink too much, there is no avoiding it.

my brother talked to me about this a year or two back I guess... he found that after two or three CUB products he'd always get a hangover and headache... even if he only had two or three...

I didn't really think much of what he said at the time until I purchased a carton of Tasmanian cascade pale ale... I feel 100% better the morning after a few of these ...

properly brewed beers without the additives and preservatives... that's what i'll be looking for...

Post by True Blue... on Mar 13th, 2014 at 6:25am

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Mar 13th, 2014 at 7:40am
Just spent three days in Victoria - land of the Philistines who have no idea what good beer is.. still got a headache...

Post by Pastafarian on Mar 13th, 2014 at 8:50am

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Mar 13th, 2014 at 7:40am:
Just spent three days in Victoria - land of the Philistines who have no idea what good beer is.. still got a headache...

Then you didnt go to the right places. Victoria has some excellent microbreweries and microbrewery style pubs in Melbourne.

Post by Pastafarian on Mar 13th, 2014 at 8:51am

True Blue... wrote on Mar 13th, 2014 at 6:14am:

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Mar 12th, 2014 at 8:24pm:

1862 even... ;)

I was more referring to the fact, that the popularity of Sparkling hit a peak around 2003.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.