Member Run Boards >> Sport >> Leapai versus Klitschko
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1391569345

Message started by Deathridesahorse on Feb 5th, 2014 at 1:02pm

Title: Leapai versus Klitschko
Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 5th, 2014 at 1:02pm
Leapai has already won...  :-X

Title: Re: Leapai versus Klitschko
Post by Honky on Feb 5th, 2014 at 1:09pm
heavyweight division must be running low on people willing to get knocked out by klitschko.

lol @ leapai's "glass jaw" comment.  good luck reaching it.

Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 6th, 2014 at 7:42pm
$1.12 for Klitschko v $13 for Leapai... Leapai is overpriced and I would expect that to come down a fair way!

I might put a hundred bucks on Leapai...  ;) ;)

Given most people have paid off their house in a good econoomy I'd say a fair few aussies will be making that price come down  :o

Post by Honky on Feb 6th, 2014 at 8:13pm
Klitshckos parliamentary commitments might work against him, especially given the poo happening in Ukraine at the moment...but that's Leapais only hope.

Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 6th, 2014 at 8:19pm
So I take it if you were a betting man you'd recommend the 100 bucks goes on Klitschko??

Post by Honky on Feb 6th, 2014 at 8:24pm
I'd recommend you put that $100 on the scorchers to win the big bash final tomorrow.

Post by Honky on Feb 12th, 2014 at 5:09pm

Leapai looks like a deer in the headlights.

Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 12th, 2014 at 6:06pm

... wrote on Feb 12th, 2014 at 5:09pm:

Leapai looks like a deer in the headlights.

Don't think so... I haven't seen no blinking from the bloke ever.. Let's forget the fact I didn't even know who he was when I wrote this shall we...  :-? :-?

Nah, purely from a punters perspective: I reckon he'll win by knockout about round 7..

I won't be betting on the round, though! Well, I might put a minor bet on that but basically those bets are too speculative for me but 10 bucks maybe on round 7 might be a bit of fun so I don't get too seriously out of whack!!  ;D

Post by Sprintcyclist on Feb 16th, 2014 at 2:57pm

the Russian is 37 years old. WELL past his best.
8" longer reach, 6" taller

The samoan is 34 - past his best too.

Ruskies are tough and disciplined, samoans  are too ...... unfocussed.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Feb 16th, 2014 at 4:44pm

well, vlads beatable.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OFxi623J73w

big guys tire badly. if alex the lionheart can tire vlad out, by the 6th round alex will be looking goog

Post by Honky on Feb 16th, 2014 at 6:32pm
You might want to look at the ages of other champions rather than writing them off as "well past their best" because they're in their mid 30's. 

Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 17th, 2014 at 3:07am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Feb 16th, 2014 at 2:57pm:
the Russian is 37 years old. WELL past his best.
8" longer reach, 6" taller

The samoan is 34 - past his best too.

Ruskies are tough and disciplined, samoans  are too ...... unfocussed.

Nah bullshite: 34 is perfecto.. 37 aint too old either!

Saying that age probably will be the deciding factor so well spotted!

As for Samoans being too unfocussed I don't agree: we're all the same people learning our tricks from ourselves in the end!

Post by Sprintcyclist on Feb 17th, 2014 at 10:18am

really ?
i thought 28 - 32 yrs was about best

Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 21st, 2014 at 3:12am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Feb 17th, 2014 at 10:18am:
really ?
i thought 28 - 32 yrs was about best

People say all sorts of things but in the end they are all different.

The small guy always needs speed!

It's always a mismatch!! Someone will get knocked out and then everyone goes- the loser NEVER HAD A CHANCE!

SOME WEST AUSTRALIAN GOT KNOCKED OUT BAD ON FOXTEL THE OTHER NIGHT AND( HIS SURNAME WAS 'GREEN' I REMEMBER THAT,.. OH AND IT WAS CRUISER WEIGHT CATEGORY AND THE OPPONENT WHO DID THE KNOCKING OUT HAD COME DOWN FROM SUPER HEAVYWEIGHT... THAT'S WHEN I THOUGHT  'UH-OH' COS I KNEW HE HAD THAT MINDSET AND EXPECTATION OF SIMPLY BEING ABLE TO LAY THE HAMMER DOWN... I CERTAINLY REMEMBER THINKING THAT AND KNOWING THE RESULT ABOUT TO BE PERFORMED AS IN IT WAS A 100% ABSOLUTE CERTAINTY  ;) ;)) ... A DREADFUL FEELING YA KNOW  :-? :-?

...and lay the hammer down he did- it was so bad I actually have reservations about watching boxing and or UFC ever again because it's just waiting for some poor fellow to make a mistake and  ::)

Post by Sprintcyclist on Feb 22nd, 2014 at 11:24pm

leapai won his last fight despite starting off with a torn muscle in his calf.

in the past he has had no time/money for training.
he could win this

has to be careful he does not leave his best work in the training ring.

Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 22nd, 2014 at 11:45pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Feb 22nd, 2014 at 11:24pm:

he could win this

You'd put your 100 bucks on Leapai then??

Post by Honky on Feb 23rd, 2014 at 8:57am
I hope you put that hunnit on the big bash final like I told you.  If you did, you'd be $75 richer, which you could then throw away on Leapai...or use it to start a fire....or use it as toilet paper.   

Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 23rd, 2014 at 9:04am

... wrote on Feb 23rd, 2014 at 8:57am:
I hope you put that hunnit on the big bash final like I told you.  If you did, you'd be $75 richer, which you could then throw away on Leapai...or use it to start a fire....or use it as toilet paper.   

D'oh!

.. i'm pretty careful about not placing bets these days! A few bucks on a big fight maybe but all that insanity with waterhouse incorporated is just too much.... i hope many people took the hint!

Post by Sprintcyclist on Feb 23rd, 2014 at 8:21pm

BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Feb 22nd, 2014 at 11:45pm:

he could win this

yes I would. I would never back anyone to beat an aussie.

Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 23rd, 2014 at 8:25pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Feb 23rd, 2014 at 8:21pm:

he could win this

Sweet.. I might just check the odds about now then!

Head to Head 
“All bets stand unless fight does not take place in 2014”
Wladimir Klitschko 1.05      Alex Leapai 9.00

Method of Victory 
Wladimir Klitschko Points or Decision 11.00      Draw 45.00      Alex Leapai KO/TKO 13.00
Wladimir Klitschko KO/TKO 1.12            Alex Leapai Points or Decision 19.00

source: http://www.sportsbet.com.au/betting/boxing/boxing-matches/Wladimir-Klitschko-V-Alex-Leapai-1119849.html

Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 25th, 2014 at 4:05pm
Wladimir Klitschko V Alex Leapai
Boxing Matches
07:00 | Sunday 27/04/2014
Open All | Close All
Markets  Markets (2)
Head to Head 
Wladimir Klitschko 1.08      Alex Leapai 6.50
Method of Victory 
Wladimir Klitschko Points or Decision 11.00      Draw 45.00      Alex Leapai KO/TKO 10.00
Wladimir Klitschko KO/TKO 1.12            Alex Leapai Points or Decision 19.00

Post by Honky on Feb 25th, 2014 at 7:24pm

he could win this

Bookies loooove people like you.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Feb 28th, 2014 at 10:01pm
the russky lost in 1998, 2003 and 2004.
He has not lost in a decade.

Leapai's last win was over an unbeaten russky.
Leapai started off with a migraine that morning and tore a calf muscle 3 rounds before the end. And won.

Phew. Big fight coming.
It'll be hard to win in Russia. The contender has to take the crown off the champ.

I won't bet against an Aussie. I  might not bet at all.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Mar 1st, 2014 at 8:00pm

Have utubed a fight or 2 of alexs and one of wladimars.

Alex is my pick to win.

He can get inside big men and had a knockout uppercut.
wlatimar is old and tiring.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Mar 1st, 2014 at 8:14pm

This is the Samoan hug Alex will give to wladdie

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K9EjUmuA7TQ

Post by Deathridesahorse on Mar 3rd, 2014 at 4:47am

... wrote on Feb 25th, 2014 at 7:24pm:

he could win this

Bookies loooove people like you.

In the end: they know bugger all more than a pro bettor!  ;) ;)

Post by Deathridesahorse on Mar 3rd, 2014 at 4:49am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Mar 1st, 2014 at 8:14pm:

Exactly... he's got the foot-skills to find the angle and the ko punch is not the problem that needs to be solved!

Post by Sprintcyclist on Apr 14th, 2014 at 3:28pm

This is the writing of emerging legends ..........

............... tells him: ``Mate you rip this big bloke up the guts with some body shots and you’ll cut him down to size. Don’t matter how big they are, you’ve got the power to bowl him over.’’

The ``big bloke’’ is the 198cm Klitschko, who has a 15cm height advantage over Leapai, has been unbeaten for 10 years and has loomed over world boxing like a colossus since winning the 1996 Olympic super-heavyweight gold medal.

Klitschko is the son of a Soviet air force general and the brother of former boxing champ Vitali Klitschko, now one of Ukraine’s major political leaders.

While Leapai has until recently boxed in anonymous penury, Klitschko has made $100 million and divides his time between luxury homes in Europe and America.

While the champion finishes his fight preparations at a plush ski resort in the Austrian Alps and says victory is crucial for the morale of all Ukrainians facing a fight with Russia, Leapai is out here in the bush in a place synonymous with hard times................

..............Thornberry first laid eyes on him. It was 10 years ago at the Mansfield Tavern and Leapai, training occasionally in Brisbane on a diet of hamburgers and pies, lumbered to a points loss against Russian journeyman Yan Kulkov.

``Alex lost but I but I saw raw power in him that I knew could be developed,’’ Thornberry says. ``I knew that deep down he was a good person. Dedicated. With the right training and a proper diet I thought he could be a world champion.’’

After he was finally released from jail, Leapai would drive two hours to Gatton and two hours back, three times a week, up what was to become Darren Lockyer Way and down boxing’s long and wounding road. It was always a struggle. When he got to the shed he would train like a man possessed, refining his explosive power as he waited year after year for the opportunity to unload on the world stage.

Thornberry promoted most of his fights and almost always lost money..........

.............. Even though he was losing money hand over fist, Thornberry spent most nights and early mornings at the farmhouse in Gatton, on the phone and in battles with overseas promoters in New York and Berlin trying to jag one big opportunity.

It finally came when Leapai was matched with Russian Denis Boytsov, who like Klitschko, hadn’t lost in 10 years.Leapai was supposed to be the patsy in the Denis Boytsov story but last November in Germany the hulking truck driver defied a torn calf muscle to drop the Russian twice. As he was declared the winner Leapai cried like he had done that first night in jail,...............

http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/boxing-mma/alex-leapai-puts-a-trouble-past-behind-him-on-path-to-sporting-glory/story-fnii0bqi-1226883423255

Sports - Where the fairytale comes true at times.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Apr 16th, 2014 at 8:20pm

............‘‘But to be honest this is not going to go the distance.

‘‘I am going to knock this guy out.

‘‘On April 27 Australia is going to have a new heavyweight champion.’’................

Yep, that's the way to take the title off someone.
Very rare to get a pts decision against the title holder, you have to go in there and take it from him.

Old weak vodka guts klitshkco

Post by Sprintcyclist on Apr 20th, 2014 at 12:02am

My prediction, Alex KO's klitchko by a liver punch

Post by Deathridesahorse on Apr 20th, 2014 at 12:27pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Apr 20th, 2014 at 12:02am:

To de-liver!!

Post by Aussie on Apr 20th, 2014 at 1:57pm
Is this fight televised?

Post by Deathridesahorse on Apr 20th, 2014 at 7:17pm

Aussie wrote on Apr 20th, 2014 at 1:57pm:
Is this fight televised?

I go down the casino and watch em: the only thing it's good for!  :D

Post by Sprintcyclist on Apr 20th, 2014 at 7:35pm

It'll be on pay tv.
I don't now the time. 9 pm GMT april 26th ??
makes it 7 am the 27th maybe

Most likely I'll be going for a bike ride with my wife :-)

Post by Sprintcyclist on Apr 25th, 2014 at 12:21am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Apr 20th, 2014 at 12:02am:

In the 4th round.

klitcho will lean all over Alex. Rather than try to escape, Alex can stay there, rip short fast jabs into klitchkos ribs.

Post by ian on Apr 25th, 2014 at 12:30am

Orlov was out of condition and in my opinion so was Leapai in that bout, Klitchko wont be so easy. Klitchos reach and cardio will prove difficult for Leapai to counter. i would love Leapai to win but I cant see it.

Post by Deathridesahorse on Apr 25th, 2014 at 12:34pm

ian wrote on Apr 25th, 2014 at 12:30am:

Orlov was out of condition and in my opinion so was Leapai in that bout, Klitchko wont be so easy. Klitchos reach and cardio will prove difficult for Leapai to counter. i would love Leapai to win but I cant see it.

It was a bit weak of Leapai not to strut his stuff in the shopping centre but I still reckon he'll get the knockout. He seemed a touch emotional so I think it makes sense he played coy but it could be a bad sign, potentially!

Have the odds changed I wonder...

Post by Honky on Apr 27th, 2014 at 9:26am
OBERHAUSEN, Germany (Reuters) - World heavyweight champion Vladimir Klitschko easily retained his WBO crown when he knocked out Alex Leapai of Australia in the fifth round on Saturday in an overwhelmingly one-sided bout.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Apr 27th, 2014 at 9:57am

drat.

Good try Alex, you got further than I ever have.

Post by philperth2010 on Apr 27th, 2014 at 1:43pm
Leapai was never a match for Klitschko.....He literally had the snot smacked out of him!!!

::) ::) ::)

Post by ian on Apr 27th, 2014 at 1:46pm
went 5 rounds, not  bad.

Post by ian on Apr 27th, 2014 at 1:47pm

BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Apr 20th, 2014 at 7:17pm:

Is this fight televised?

That and picking up chicks.

Post by philperth2010 on Apr 27th, 2014 at 1:48pm
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RwQpUn1NPwE

Post by ian on Apr 27th, 2014 at 2:07pm
couldnt get under his reach, couple of good chances for an uppercut but Klitscho did not underestimate Leapai.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Apr 27th, 2014 at 2:27pm

philperth2010 wrote on Apr 27th, 2014 at 1:48pm:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RwQpUn1NPwE

Thanks for posting the clip.

Watched only 1/2 way through the 2nd round.
Terribly coached/executed. Was Alex overawed at the occasion ?
Alex was standing at exactly the wrong distance from Klitchko. Could not be worse.
Whenever he got in close he did nothing.

A pity

Post by Aussie on Apr 27th, 2014 at 3:15pm
How embarrassing!  What a mis-match!  I thought the most basic principle in boxing was ~ don't get hit more often that the other guy.  Blaaaady hell.  Leapai looked like amateur target practice on a lazy nothing else to do Sunday afternoon.  He had no idea and I don't reckon he laid a decent glove on that Klitschko even once!

And he got over a $1M for being jab practice!

Post by King FriYAY II on Apr 28th, 2014 at 10:18am

Aussie wrote on Apr 27th, 2014 at 3:15pm:
How embarrassing!  What a mis-match!  I thought the most basic principle in boxing was ~ don't get hit more often that the other guy.  Blaaaady hell.  Leapai looked like amateur target practice on a lazy nothing else to do Sunday afternoon.  He had no idea and I don't reckon he laid a decent glove on that Klitschko even once!

It's never embarrassing to gain a shot at the heavy weight title.

Flogs like you mouthing off about it, from a smacking keyboard!!! Now that's embarrassing.

Post by ian on Apr 28th, 2014 at 11:40am
well at least we know Leapai can take a punch. 142 of them apparently, he landed 10 in comparison.

Post by Aussie on Apr 28th, 2014 at 2:54pm

King FriYAY II wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 10:18am:

Flogs like you mouthing off about it, from a smacking keyboard!!! Now that's embarrassing.

How about you get that forrest off your shoulder FriYAY?

Post by Sprintcyclist on Apr 29th, 2014 at 11:23pm

King FriYAY II wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 10:18am:

I agree friyay. a reach advantage of over 1 foot might just be too far.

Alex contended the Heavyweight belt.
I never have.

Post by Mx Horse on May 24th, 2014 at 3:27am

ian wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 11:40am:
well at least we know Leapai can take a punch. 142 of them apparently, he landed 10 in comparison.

f that for a joke... he tried hard but  :D

Post by Mx Horse on May 24th, 2014 at 3:28am

ian wrote on Apr 27th, 2014 at 2:07pm:
couldnt get under his reach, couple of good chances for an uppercut but Klitscho did not underestimate Leapai.

Yeh: a good big man!

Post by Mx Horse on May 24th, 2014 at 3:29am

ian wrote on Apr 27th, 2014 at 1:47pm:

BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Apr 20th, 2014 at 7:17pm:

Is this fight televised?

That and picking up chicks.

Aslong as you're careful..  :o

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.