Member Run Boards >> Relationships >> Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1391574507 Message started by Aussie on Feb 5th, 2014 at 2:28pm |
Title: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Aussie on Feb 5th, 2014 at 2:28pm
This was being tentatively discussed (off topic) on another Thread.
What makes these blokes pretend to be what they aren't? What's the point? They know that any bonhomie they receive is not earned, and their guts ought to be churning worried that at any moment, they'll be outed. What goes with them? :-? |
Title: Re: Fake military men. Post by Honky on Feb 5th, 2014 at 2:56pm
Why single them out? For example, what about people who pretend to be lawyers?
Title: Re: Fake military men. Post by Aussie on Feb 5th, 2014 at 3:05pm ... wrote on Feb 5th, 2014 at 2:56pm:
Carry on then. :) |
Title: Re: Fake military men. Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 5th, 2014 at 3:22pm
I'd say it's shock leading to irrational behaviour. You don't have to see the main game to feel the effects of war is what I'm saying...
In this context I would say it's almost not that irrational: he feels like thanking the men who really fought and saw their mates die,.. or atleast discussing the issue firsthand with the men who went to simply understand this human political tragedy of actual warfare... what makes the concept of war tick sort of thing!! He basically thought he was going undercover like a detective.. shock: leading to loss of contact with reality basically but It's almost expected that war can lead to strong behviours such as this I would have thought. :-? :-? i dunno... |
Title: Re: Fake military men. Post by Aussie on Feb 5th, 2014 at 3:37pm BatteriesNotIncluded wrote on Feb 5th, 2014 at 3:22pm:
I can relate to some of that. 1968 I think was the year when my ear was glued to the radio for that night's lottery to determine which date of the month of my birth for the year of my birth would be off to War. I was born on the 2nd. Number 1 came up, as did number 3. Next day, it was back to the usual business. Then, I noticed that some of my former classmates simply disappeared, and I later learned they had been conscripted. Dunno how they managed it, but they all survived. I did not feel guilt. I did feel left out, and also relieved, but at no time did I ever even remotely consider a pretence that I had been part of it. Blaaaady hell.....if 'Aussie' ever turned up wearing medals and marching on Anzac Day, there'd be blokes all over me! Just dumb. |
Title: Re: Fake military men. Post by viewpoint on Feb 5th, 2014 at 3:43pm Aussie wrote on Feb 5th, 2014 at 3:05pm:
Or elite athletes? What makes these blokes pretend to be what they aren't? What's the point? They know that any bonhomie they receive is not earned, and their guts ought to be churning worried that at any moment, they'll be outed. Sorry forgot it was a quote......... Wouldn't the thread be better entitled just.....FAKES......or maybe BULLSHITTERS? [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif] |
Title: Re: Fake military men. Post by BigOl64 on Feb 5th, 2014 at 3:46pm ... wrote on Feb 5th, 2014 at 2:56pm:
Both are illegal, but only one actuallly happens on a regular basis. Just sad friggen wanna-bees, |
Title: Re: Fake military men. Post by Aussie on Feb 5th, 2014 at 3:49pm viewpoint wrote on Feb 5th, 2014 at 3:43pm:
Fixed. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Annie Anthrax on Feb 6th, 2014 at 9:54am
People think they can be whoever they want online. The internet is an opportunity for the disillusioned to live out their fantasy lives. I don't understand the process of how being recognised for something that you are not can make people feel better about themselves - it would seem the opposite would be true. Wouldn't each person who was impressed by an untrue projection of one's self be like a magnifying mirror reflecting exactly what you didn't achieve? What you could/could've been, if you'd made different decisions? Sounds pretty torturous.
I wonder how many of us here on Ozpol would be up for an in person gathering. That is not a suggestion, merely a musing. I doubt it would be any. I have met one and can think of a few members I wouldn't mind meeting in person - Emma Peel and Pansi are two who come immediately to mind. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Pastafarian on Feb 6th, 2014 at 9:56am Annie Anthrax wrote on Feb 6th, 2014 at 9:54am:
On the old ABC self science forum, we used to have meetings all the time. Some people are what you expect, others arent. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Doctor Jolly on Feb 6th, 2014 at 10:20am The internet allows people to be fake, but it also allows them to be who they wish they were. Ozpolitics is a classic case. I bet most here wish they were in a position of power to be able to influence policies. I dont see anything wrong with that. Its an outlet to a side of your personality. It doesnt define the whole of you. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by mantra on Feb 6th, 2014 at 11:45am Doctor Jolly wrote on Feb 6th, 2014 at 10:20am:
I'm sure a lot of us do. We hope our message can sink in to people who aren't sure who they want to vote for at the next election. Annie Anthrax wrote on Feb 6th, 2014 at 9:54am:
Maybe it might apply to one or two members, but overall the people here seem pretty genuine and convincing enough to believe that they are being themselves. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Morning Mist on Feb 7th, 2014 at 12:02pm
My discussions with "progressives" offline are close to the ones I have online. The same slogans are used when you disagree with them: bigot, xeneophobe, homophobe, racist, sexist etc. etc. and they're highly emotional about their politics. So in that sense I'd say most of the "progressives" on ozpolitic are genuine.
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Karnal on Feb 7th, 2014 at 7:42pm
At ease, Mist. This thread’s about choccos. You work at the uni.
You ever want to research real men, just ask. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 7th, 2014 at 8:37pm
Quite apt you comment on a thread about military fakes.
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Aussie on Feb 7th, 2014 at 8:42pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 7th, 2014 at 8:37pm:
Concerning fakes. Andrei, why did you lock that Thread in Feedback. FD has posted in it, as have you..............yet tonight, you strike with a lock-out. Why? It's almost as though you reckon that the only person whose views are worth anything are yours. Very confusing. I'm sure you did not not intend that. :'( |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 7th, 2014 at 9:01pm Aussie wrote on Feb 7th, 2014 at 8:42pm:
Yes - FD did post in it. If you read his view, then you will see it is that bans for posters are for they themselves to dispute and we should not discuss people's bans on the threads. The rest of it became rubbish - so nothing more to discuss, If the member concerned has an issue - then he can raise it privately. Done. Dusted. The only ban you should be concerned about at any time is your own. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Karnal on Feb 7th, 2014 at 9:46pm
Better watch out, Aussie. You’ve got the Boer Army on your case now.
Andrei was in the school cadets, you know. It’s where he learned his leadership skills. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 7th, 2014 at 10:54pm Karnal wrote on Feb 7th, 2014 at 9:46pm:
Karnal was in Vietnam.....honest! ::) |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Karnal on Feb 8th, 2014 at 12:00am Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 7th, 2014 at 10:54pm:
I’ve killed men with harder cocks than you’ll ever get. I’ve drunk softcocks like you face first into hospital. And I’ve fvkked more mamasans in more holes than you’ve had wanks over Maggie Thatcher. Damn right I was in Vietnam. And I’ve been to plenty of other places, hell included. I’ll tell you one thing - I can spot a fake from the real deal any day, and I’ll challenge any punter here to put a hundred down on the genuine article. I get my pussy from a tin, son. I don’t need some Boer bullshit artist greasing up, trying to rub my cock for luck, got it? |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by BigOl64 on Feb 8th, 2014 at 5:30am Karnal wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 12:00am:
And the rest of us who spent sime time in the ADF, we can also spot a loud mounthed bullsh1t aartist wanna be trying to impress civvies with tall tales and exloits. See if you can work out how I know the bigger the story the lesser the man. http://www.anzmi.net/ |
Title: Re: Fake military men. Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 8th, 2014 at 6:01am Aussie wrote on Feb 5th, 2014 at 3:37pm:
Being born in 1976 I just don't know what to say.. that scared me just those words! :P |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Deathridesahorse on Feb 8th, 2014 at 6:09am Annie Anthrax wrote on Feb 6th, 2014 at 9:54am:
Some forums have a get together but never me... does that mean I have trust issues? Nah: I'm just smart! ;) ;) Can't think of too many people I know that have ever caught up with people from over the net.. Hang on,... I'm going to some 'intuition thing' at Kings Park in a few hours... but that was my mate put me onto that but still I am proving myself a complete liar: swear, I've never done this before but ;D |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Karnal on Feb 8th, 2014 at 11:17am BigOl64 wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 5:30am:
ADF, eh? What were you, boy - lollypop waver out at Richmond Air Base? I’ve never known a man to crow about being in the "ADF". Land based naval officers maybe. Powder puffs. Public servants. Caterers. If you weren’t on the ground, son, best not to comment. There’s blokes in the room. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by viewpoint on Feb 8th, 2014 at 11:35am Karnal wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 11:17am:
Harping on with your Braker Morant vernacular really does nothing for your credibility old boy, just makes you sound like a sad old tool.....really! |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by BigOl64 on Feb 8th, 2014 at 12:19pm viewpoint wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 11:35am:
Yeah, karnal has watched a lot of war movies and remembers most of the lines from the 'good' ones. Met a lot of servicemen over the years a lot of them served in every conflict Australia has been in, including WWI, WWII, Korean, Viet Nam, Iraq and Afghanistan; not one of them ever spoke like karnal; regaling evryone with how they 'bravely' killed the enemy like it was some bad movie line. Because no-one likes a wanker, especially a loud mouthed lying ones >:( |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Datalife on Feb 8th, 2014 at 12:39pm
Hmmmm, Karnal in the military and at the sharp end eh?
Doesn't smell right to me, and unless some form of proof is going to be provided I will file it along with many other claims I have heard on the net as unsubstantiated and probably bullshit. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by greggerypeccary on Feb 8th, 2014 at 12:47pm BigOl64 wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 5:30am:
Stlll pretending you were in the ADF, huh? [smiley=happy.gif] |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Karnal on Feb 8th, 2014 at 12:55pm viewpoint wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 11:35am:
You want to try that one again in English, son? It’s why we send you blokes ESL teachers. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Karnal on Feb 8th, 2014 at 1:06pm BigOl64 wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 12:19pm:
Who said I killed the enemy? I’ve known a few men in my time too, boy, and not one of them calls himself a "serviceman". I’m a pretty simple bloke. I like to call things what they are. Soldier, sailor, lollypop lady, whatever. If you ever serviced me, I’d want a second opinion. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by BigOl64 on Feb 8th, 2014 at 1:08pm greggerypeccary wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 12:47pm:
If you have any evidence feel free to inform the Federal coppers, as it is highly ilegal to impersonate an serviceman. Or you can just go bugger yourself. Personally Im suggesting you repeatedly do the later as it is the most appropriate course of action for a loud mouthed deadsh1t. ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by BigOl64 on Feb 8th, 2014 at 1:13pm Karnal wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 1:06pm:
Karnal wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 12:00am:
Yeah, Im fine with using the technical term of servicemen or women, I have no need to embelish myself or those who have actually spent time in the ADF. So as a simple bloke you won't mind me calling you a liar, now will you. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by greggerypeccary on Feb 8th, 2014 at 1:22pm BigOl64 wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 1:08pm:
I think they'll let you get away with it on an internet forum, old boy. You'll be OK. http://www.adf.org.au/ |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by BigOl64 on Feb 8th, 2014 at 1:28pm greggerypeccary wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 1:22pm:
Actually it is ilegal everywhere, so like I said, feel free to report me, frig Ill even give you my real name if you want or as I said alternatively feel free to go bugger yourself. So what will it be, ya loud mouthed little bitch? ;D |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Aussie on Feb 8th, 2014 at 1:30pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 7th, 2014 at 9:01pm:
Is that some sort of school yard bully Threat, Andrei? |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by greggerypeccary on Feb 8th, 2014 at 1:34pm BigOl64 wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 1:28pm:
Let's go with the first option. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Karnal on Feb 8th, 2014 at 1:36pm BigOl64 wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 1:13pm:
No problem at all once you’ve educated us all on my lies. Go right ahead. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 8th, 2014 at 10:20pm
Nothing worse than a guy who pretends he was a veteran.
It insults all the guys who actually did fight. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Andrei.Hicks on Feb 8th, 2014 at 10:55pm Karnal wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 12:55pm:
John Rambo. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by ian on Feb 8th, 2014 at 11:19pm
There are a lot of fakes marching in Anzac day parades. A lot. People like Fatold64 who simply turned up for work at his glorified service station job wearing a uniform now thereby entitling him to say he "served". Now regale all those around with endless tales of how he "served". They love the uniform these people, the only thing of any significance they can cling to in their sad boring little lives.
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Karnal on Feb 8th, 2014 at 11:34pm Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 10:20pm:
I don’t know, I’m not too precious about it. There’s pretenders wherever you go. If all you’ve got holding up your pride is a few pieces of nickel and brass, you need to throw in the towel. Look, I’m a straight kvnt, and I know plenty of powder puffs who try to pull it off. Wives, kids, porno mags full of slits, the lot. I couldn’t give a sh!t - some of these blokes have deeper throats than a Bangkok ladyboy, so I’m not complaining. |
Title: Re: Fakes (including military, legal and whatever.) Post by Karnal on Feb 8th, 2014 at 11:48pm ian wrote on Feb 8th, 2014 at 11:19pm:
Yeah. Problem is, once the old blokes died off, they needed saps in uniforms to carry all the regimental flags and keep the show going. It started off with attendants like Fatold on double-time pushing them along in their wheelchairs. Now they’re the main act. It says a lot about this country, I reckon. If chumps like Andrei can make a buck out of something and drain the life out of it, they will. Every time. |
Australian Politics Forum » Powered by YaBB 2.5.2! YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved. |