General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Give me the Tarriff money and i will make cars
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1392238481

Message started by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 13th, 2014 at 6:54am

Title: Give me the Tarriff money and i will make cars
Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 13th, 2014 at 6:54am
Fair dinkum, Give me the money from trade tariffs on imported cars and I will build an Aussie made car By Australians, For Australians.

Title: Re: Give me the Tarriff money and i will make cars
Post by Bam on Feb 13th, 2014 at 8:40am
An interesting idea. The tariff on imported cars raised about twice what we spent on subsidies.

The only problem I see with the idea is that it may be expensive to obtain the premises, plant and equipment.

Post by mozzaok on Feb 13th, 2014 at 8:47am
Maybe try Powell Motors, he allowed Homer to design a car for him, it was a real beauty.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hvn9k8dnhjI

Post by The Grappler 2014 on Feb 13th, 2014 at 8:48am
Yup - we'll get the Australian Revolutionary Standard (ARS) - the all-Australian for Australians electric car on the road with all that cash.

Joe is a moron - take away that revenue strand and where is his 'budget'?  And what sense would there be for a politician to fund some industry in Australia?

They are ALL self-interested morons and the sooner we get rid of the lot the better.  Drastic times call for drastic measures - they sure do - and it's way past time to repudiate some of the idiotic ideas like Lima, and get back to running this country for Australia.

Post by cods on Feb 13th, 2014 at 8:49am

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 6:54am:
Fair dinkum, Give me the money from trade tariffs on imported cars and I will build an Aussie made car By Australians, For Australians.

and will they BUY it though????...why do we import so many cars... if we make great ones here already??...

its the consumer that makes the deals..

how many countries build cars these days?

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 13th, 2014 at 9:26am
Its not as bad as you think, I'm in the woodworking machinery and tooling game, family owned company. Our Biggest competitors are German owned Companies, They have tried to screw us out of the industry for most of my life. But we are still here. Half the battle is fining our niche in the market, once found one can survive. The same can be done in to automotive industry.

Australia does not like to fund foreign companies, hence the current lack of support to prop up current automotive companies, besides there is nothing we could of done to save it how it is, remember when Rudd was PM and gave Toyota millions of our money and Toyota didn't know why and that they didn't need it. Once Ford decided to pull out we already knew the rest would follow.

The biggest problem with our car industry is we try to be something we are not. Big production just wont work, This is not the United States, we don't have to population to support it in car sales.

Australia has a lot of Rev heads who took pride in driving an Australian car even people who are not rev heads who also take pride in driving Australian made. With the foreign auto makers pulling out Australia has an opportunity to keep this market share, Think about it, Australian Made and Australian Owned. Tax payers would support it, struth, we are paying a tariff on imported cars anyway, why not put it to building our own car manufacturer.

Post by Greens_Win on Feb 13th, 2014 at 9:37am
We are part of Asia and it's the Asian century. If we can't design and make decent hybrid/electric cars here for export then we might as well pack up and head for a cave.

Post by cods on Feb 13th, 2014 at 9:40am

____ wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 9:37am:
We are part of Asia and it's the Asian century. If we can't design and make decent hybrid/electric cars here for export then we might as well pack up and head for a cave.

which hybrid do you drive greeny?

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 13th, 2014 at 9:45am

Greeny, your a wanker. As I just said, we cant compete with the mass produces, Trying to be big time Charlie will not work. The Asians will just copy and produce for less anything we try and mass produce for the global market.

Post by Greens_Win on Feb 13th, 2014 at 9:50am

cods wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 9:40am:

which hybrid do you drive greeny?

I'm waiting on a saab electric cods.

What do you drive (besides people up the wall)

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 13th, 2014 at 9:51am
Greeny, if your so supportive of the Asians so much and wanting us to get behind the Asian way, then I'm sure would  be more supportive of lower wages and no welfare payment. And on top of all that an end to middle class and a much larger lower standard of living for the rest of Australia.

Post by Greens_Win on Feb 13th, 2014 at 9:54am

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 9:45am:

Greeny, your a wanker. As I just said, we cant compete with the mass produces, Trying to be big time Charlie will not work. The Asians will just copy and produce for less anything we try and mass produce for the global market.

Rubbish, make a quality car for the growing middle classes in India, Indonesia, China … . A car brand people will support.

For example one that will run on hydrogen and at the same time make Australia the largest producer of hydrogen from algae.

Post by Greens_Win on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:00am

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 9:51am:
Greeny, if your so supportive of the Asians so much and wanting us to get behind the Asian way, then I'm sure would  be more supportive of lower wages and no welfare payment. And on top of all that an end to middle class and a much larger lower standard of living for the rest of Australia.

I am supportive of tapping into the wealth of asia and I am also supportive of lifting world wages and conditions via unions without borders taking industrial action without borders.

Lifting the rest of the world rather than the gutless conservative way of driving Australian wages & conditions down.

The otherside of globalisation … free movement of labor and the basic human rights including a decent income even for the people who are unable to work.

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:00am

____ wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 9:54am:

Rubbish, make a quality car for the growing middle classes in India, Indonesia, China … . A car brand people will support.

For example one that will run on hydrogen and at the same time make Australia the largest producer of hydrogen from algae.

Why in hell would China buy from us when they can just produce it for less them self. you make no sense, China only buys what China doesn't have.

Post by Greens_Win on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:06am

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:00am:

Why in hell would China buy from us when they can just produce it for less them self. you make no sense, China only buys what China doesn't have.

What an attitude, no wonder companies are dumping Australia if this is common.

Saab are about to build electric cars in europe for the chinese market …

If the world builds hydrogen cars and Australia is the largest producer of eco hydrogen … do the maths.

Post by Pastafarian on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:07am

So in other words a piece of junk no one wants. Because Australians buy all sorts of cars.

Post by John Smith on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:14am
good idea ... there will always be a niche market if someone develops the right car ... no one says they have to build 1 million cars a year .... how many does Ferraro build a year? Toyota pumps out in one week what Ferrari puts out in a year, and still Ferrari is making a profit.

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:16am

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:07am:

So in other words a piece of junk no one wants. Because Australians buy all sorts of cars.

Your missing the point, I'm talking about a quality car, A well built car. A problem our car industry faced was cost, producing as many cars as possible for a very low cost. Competing head on with cheap Asians imports. Its not possible. Building a quality car is a totally different kettle of fish.

Post by Pastafarian on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:17am

John Smith wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:14am:
good idea ... there will always be a niche market if someone develops the right car ... no one says they have to build 1 million cars a year .... how many does Ferraro build a year? Toyota pumps out in one week what Ferrari puts out in a year, and still Ferrari is making a profit.

By building on brand image which Bloody Rippers car will not have, plus access to Fiats technology and resources. Not exactly the same situation.

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:18am

Another one is Lotus, I watched a doco once of their factory and its a small operation. But it works.

Post by Pastafarian on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:19am

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:16am:

Your missing the point, I'm talking about a quality car, A well built car. A problem our car industry faced was cost, producing as many cars as possible for a very low cost. Competing head on with cheap Asians imports. Its not possible. Building a quality car is a totally different kettle of fish.

Strange, I thought the Commodore and the Falcon were quality cars. Its a nice idea but its a pipe dream and doesnt actually go to the crux of the matter of whats wrong with our car industry.

Post by Pastafarian on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:20am

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:18am:

Another one is Lotus, I watched a doco once of their factory and its a small operation. But it works.

Apart from the fact Lotus went broke and had to be bought out by Proton.

Post by Bam on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:28am

The global market is more than just Asia. Otherwise the idea of exporting some of the vehicles is sound.

Post by John Smith on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:31am

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:17am:

By building on brand image which Bloody Rippers car will not have, plus access to Fiats technology and resources. Not exactly the same situation.

Ferrari didn't start with brand image or Fiats technology, and its its quality and reputation have nothing to do with Fiat .. they were well developed long before fiat got there ....

build a good product and the reputation will take care of itself ... as for technology, there's no shortage of available technology out there .. it's not like Fiat exclusive rights to anything

Post by Bam on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:32am

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:19am:

Strange, I thought the Commodore and the Falcon were quality cars. Its a nice idea but its a pipe dream and doesnt actually go to the crux of the matter of whats wrong with our car industry.

One million cars sold a year. Maybe 100 different models. On average 10,000 of each model sold. Commodore and Falcon sold about this many.

The Australian market is too fragmented. If there was less choice in the Australian market, the sales for each model would have been higher.  No country in the world has more models available. That can be a good thing or a bad thing. The good thing is a wide range of choice. The bad thing is the cost of parts for each model will be higher.

Post by John Smith on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:35am

Bam wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:32am:

One million cars sold a year. Maybe 100 different models. On average 10,000 of each model sold. Commodore and Falcon sold about this many.

The Australian market is too fragmented. If there was less choice in the Australian market, the sales for each model would have been higher.  No country in the world has more models available. That can be a good thing or a bad thing. The good thing is a wide range of choice. The bad thing is the cost of parts for each model will be higher.

agree ... there should one or two models, with maybe two option packs to each model ... anymore and its not cost effective.

if the customer wants anything else they can get it customised after market

Post by Pastafarian on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:35am

John Smith wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:31am:

Ferrari didn't start with brand image or Fiats technology, and its its quality and reputation have nothing to do with Fiat .. they were well developed long before fiat got there ....

build a good product and the reputation will take care of itself ... as for technology, there's no shortage of available technology out there .. it's not like Fiat exclusive rights to anything

Italian cars had build quality? When?

Post by Greens_Win on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:36am

Bam wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:28am:

The global market is more than just Asia. Otherwise the idea of exporting some of the vehicles is sound.

Focus on our local area and the rest of the world will happen.

Post by Pastafarian on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:37am

Bam wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:32am:

Thats my point, 30 years ago, it was either a Falcon or a Commodore. Now its Falcon, Commodore, Camry, a variety of SUVs or wagons if you have a family, corollas, mazdas if you dont, etc etc.

Post by John Smith on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:37am

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:35am:

you should refrain from commenting on things you obviously have no idea about

Post by Pastafarian on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:38am

John Smith wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:37am:

Interiors they may well have had it, but Italian cars are notorious for failing e.g Alfas

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:52am
I think the key is to remain small, low numbers, high quality, low overheads.

Post by John Smith on Feb 13th, 2014 at 11:35am

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:38am:

Interiors they may well have had it, but Italian cars are notorious for failing e.g Alfas

so you pick the one car with the worst record and set that as your benchmark? hahaha

what about Fiats, Ferrari, Lamborghini, Lancia, Masarati, Bertone and many more

Post by John Smith on Feb 13th, 2014 at 11:35am

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:52am:

agreed ... we can't compete with Asia so don't try ... develop your own market

Post by Bam on Feb 13th, 2014 at 11:37am

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 10:52am:

Morgan Motor Company

The Morgan Motor Company is a British motor car manufacturer. The family-owned company was founded in 1910 by Henry Frederick Stanley Morgan, generally known as "HFS" and was run by him until he died at age 77 in 1959.[1] Peter Morgan, son of H.F.S., ran the company until a few years before his death in 2003. He was replaced as Chairman by Alan Garnett, a non family director, from 2003 to 2006. On his departure, a 4-man management team was set up consisting of Matthew Parkin, Tim Whitworth, Steve Morris and Charles Morgan, (Peter Morgan's son). In 2010, Mr. Parkin left the Company and Charles Morgan was named Managing Director. In October 2013, Mr. Morgan was removed and Steve Morris assumed his title. The shareholders also appointed the first Chairman of the Board since 2006 in naming Andrew Duncan, a local solicitor and friend of the Late Peter Morgan.

Since 2011, the Morgan Motor Company and its related companies, (Aero Racing Limited and Morgan 3 Wheeler Ltd) have been wholly owned divisions of Morgan Technologies, a company incorporated in late 2010.

Morgan is based in Malvern Link, an area of Malvern, Worcestershire and employs 163 people. Morgan produced 640 cars in 2007. All the cars are assembled by hand. The waiting list for a car is approximately one to two years, although it has been as high as ten years in the past.

1974 Morgan 4/4

Post by Baronvonrort on Feb 13th, 2014 at 11:59am

The hydrogen fuel cell cars don't really run on hydrogen, they strip the electron from the hydrogen atom for electricity to recharge the batteries.

So where can you refuel one of these hydrogen cell cars, do they have any infrastructure in place for it?

Post by Bam on Feb 13th, 2014 at 12:08pm
The main problem with hydrogen is that it is not a fuel source.

I think biodiesel is the fuel of the future. It can be grown using unproductive land or even the open ocean, both of which are plentiful in Australia. We can grow enough biodiesel from kelp in the ocean and algae in desert ponds to become a major fuel exporter.

If we are not going to make many cars anymore, we can at least develop a local industry to keep the cars of the world fuelled.

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 13th, 2014 at 12:42pm
Well I just had to pop out of the office for a bit and I heard some bloke on the radio ( I didn't catch his Company name ) is looking to take over Holden's SA plant and continue to produce Australian cars and it will be by and Australian owned company. Apparently the SA Government has been giving them a good rim job to entice them to take it on.

Post by alevine on Feb 13th, 2014 at 12:51pm

Bam wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 12:08pm:

I think biodiesel is the fuel of the future. It can be grown using unproductive land or even the open ocean, both of which are plentiful in Australia. We can grow enough biodiesel from kelp in the ocean and algae in desert ponds to become a major fuel exporter.

If we are not going to make many cars anymore, we can at least develop a local industry to keep the cars of the world fuelled.

Nah too hard.

;)

Post by Pastafarian on Feb 13th, 2014 at 12:53pm

John Smith wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 11:35am:

so you pick the one car with the worst record and set that as your benchmark? hahaha

All renowned for breaking down at the earliest and silliest opportunity

Post by John Smith on Feb 13th, 2014 at 1:06pm

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 12:53pm:

says who? your friends? sure they are ... and I'll bet you've never been in a single one of them either

Post by Greens_Win on Feb 13th, 2014 at 1:12pm

Baronvonrort wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 11:59am:

The hydrogen fuel cell cars don't really run on hydrogen, they strip the electron from the hydrogen atom for electricity to recharge the batteries.

So where can you refuel one of these hydrogen cell cars, do they have any infrastructure in place for it?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydrogen_highway

They can, they are and they will be built.

Post by froggie on Feb 13th, 2014 at 1:20pm

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 12:42pm:
Well I just had to pop out of the office for a bit and I heard some bloke on the radio ( I didn't catch his Company name ) is looking to take over Holden's SA plant and continue to produce Australian cars and it will be by and Australian owned company. Apparently the SA Government has been giving them a good rim job to entice them to take it on.

This could be the one, BR...

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/private-consortium-mounts-bid-to-take-over-holdens-elizabeth-plant-in-south-australia/story-fni6uo1m-1226821061430

AN AUSTRALIAN-based consortium is mounting a bid to take over Holden's soon-to-be-vacated Elizabeth plant and continue making cars beyond 2017.

Ethan managing director Ashley Fenn said he and a group of fellow businessmen were in talks with General Motors about buying the plant.

He said the talks also involved the possibility of possibly gaining access to the company's brand and intellectual property.

:)

Personally, I think the Govt of the day should have the balls to say to these companies that if THEY don't want it, we will have it; lock, stock and barrel.

And no, I don't want any BS about communism.

;)

Post by Pastafarian on Feb 13th, 2014 at 1:29pm

John Smith wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 1:06pm:

says who? your friends? sure they are ... and I'll bet you've never been in a single one of them either

Apart from an Alfa, a Lancia, a Fiat, no I havent been in any of them,.

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 13th, 2014 at 2:06pm

Lobo wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 1:20pm:

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 12:42pm:

This could be the one, BR...

http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/news/south-australia/private-consortium-mounts-bid-to-take-over-holdens-elizabeth-plant-in-south-australia/story-fni6uo1m-1226821061430

AN AUSTRALIAN-based consortium is mounting a bid to take over Holden's soon-to-be-vacated Elizabeth plant and continue making cars beyond 2017.

Ethan managing director Ashley Fenn said he and a group of fellow businessmen were in talks with General Motors about buying the plant.

He said the talks also involved the possibility of possibly gaining access to the company's brand and intellectual property.

:)

Personally, I think the Govt of the day should have the balls to say to these companies that if THEY don't want it, we will have it; lock, stock and barrel.

And no, I don't want any BS about communism.

;)

There is a big difference between communism and Nationalism, I have no problem with the Government using its muscle against General Motors. Its in our National interests to have a locally produced motor car

Post by John Smith on Feb 13th, 2014 at 2:08pm

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 1:29pm:

you do realise your matchbox cars don't count don't you?

Post by Pastafarian on Feb 13th, 2014 at 2:12pm

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 2:06pm:
There is a big difference between communism and Nationalism, I have no problem with the Government using its muscle against General Motors. Its in our National interests to have a locally produced motor car

Is it? Why?

Post by Pastafarian on Feb 13th, 2014 at 2:13pm

John Smith wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 2:08pm:

Yes. The answer still stands

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 13th, 2014 at 2:42pm

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 2:12pm:

Is it? Why?

To start with so we can never be dictated to by a foreign market.
If there was ever aggression along any of our trade roots restricting our trade
Retaining skills
And also the fact we have passed the peak of our mining boom and will once again have to rely on other trades.

Post by Pastafarian on Feb 13th, 2014 at 2:48pm

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 2:42pm:

Is it? Why?

Retaining skills
And also the fact we have passed the peak of our mining boom and will once again have to rely on other trades.

Well considering how many different markets we have cars coming from I doubt that will be an issue. And as for manufacturing why don't we identify something we're good at but that hardly anyone else does.

Post by John Smith on Feb 13th, 2014 at 2:51pm

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 2:13pm:

John Smith wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 2:08pm:

Yes. The answer still stands

good for you .........  my answer still stand too. You'll just have to accept that I disagree with you
'
think you can live with that?

Post by Bam on Feb 13th, 2014 at 2:58pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 12:51pm:

Bam wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 12:08pm:

Nah too hard.

;)

Why?

Post by BlOoDy RiPpEr on Feb 13th, 2014 at 4:24pm

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 2:48pm:

BlOoDy RiPpEr wrote on Feb 13th, 2014 at 2:42pm:

Is it? Why?

Retaining skills

Well considering how many different markets we have cars coming from I doubt that will be an issue. And as for manufacturing why don't we identify something we're good at but that hardly anyone else does.

But we are good at making cars, while people buy Asian Cars and keep them for 5 years, people buy Aussie cars and keep them for 10.  The Current car makers in Australia do not have Australian interests hence them all closing shop.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.