General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Sinodinos Under Scrutiny http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1395024277 Message started by bigvicfella on Mar 17th, 2014 at 12:44pm |
Title: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by bigvicfella on Mar 17th, 2014 at 12:44pm
ASSISTANT Treasurer Arthur Sinodinos stood to gain up to $20 million if a private infrastructure company had succeeded in getting a contract with the publicly-owned Sydney Water, NSW’s Independent Against Corruption Commission has heard.
Counsel assisting the ICAC, Geoffrey Watson SC, said Senator Sinodinos was paid $200,000 as a director of Australian Water Holdings for 100 hours work a year, double what the chairman of Sydney Water, a much bigger corporation, was paid. http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/arthur-sinodinos-under-scrutiny-at-nsw-corruption-inquiry/story-fn59niix-1226856986134# |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by cods on Mar 17th, 2014 at 1:07pm
I cannot access that....but its in ICAC'S hands and that all good as far as I am concerned..
what is they say about a tangled web...it catches them all in the end.. left or right they are all human... and some when it comes to money cannot help themselves... when they place themselves in higher office... I think the penalty should be doubled. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by The Grappler 2014 on Mar 17th, 2014 at 1:08pm cods wrote on Mar 17th, 2014 at 1:07pm:
'Theft As a Servant' - double time... |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by cods on Mar 17th, 2014 at 1:22pm Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Mar 17th, 2014 at 1:08pm:
thats what I said......they set themselves up and they take an oath.. no one twists their arm to do the job.. the least we deserve is honesty... and that seem to be a BIG ask. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by crocodile on Mar 18th, 2014 at 11:40am
Looks like things are getting a worse today. Even if cleared, some mud will stick. A real shame, I rather like Sinodinos. Bit of a light in a very mediocre bunch.
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Bam on Mar 18th, 2014 at 11:51am
McDonald and Obeid were rightly prosecuted for corrupt practices to enrich themselves.
Looks like Sinodinos may soon join them. Allegations about him have been floating around for some time. I do not tolerate corruption from our political representatives no matter what party they represent. All corrupt politicians should be investigated, tried, jailed and stripped of all profits made. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Redmond Neck on Mar 18th, 2014 at 11:53am
As far as I am concerned regardless of party, they are all involved in politics to feather their own nests legally or otherwise!
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Bam on Mar 18th, 2014 at 1:02pm
It is also fair that Sinodinos should face proper due process. We shouldn't presume he is guilty just because allegations have been made.
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 18th, 2014 at 2:18pm
The only people trying to make anything of this again are the rabid LW progs...
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by pansi1951 on Mar 18th, 2014 at 3:28pm Unlikely bed partners? Hardly, same same, but let's pretend we are so divided in front of the ignorant masses. Lib and Labor politicians creating fraudulent deals together? Tony was so angry at Peter Slipper for some cab charges. I wonder what Tony says when one of his own was caught red handed? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by aquascoot on Mar 18th, 2014 at 3:31pm
Nooooo. not guilty, had already surrendered these options voluntarily.
apologies please |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 18th, 2014 at 3:50pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 18th, 2014 at 3:28pm:
Are you inferring Sinidonis is guilty of anything? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by GeorgeH on Mar 18th, 2014 at 4:32pm
The looming ICAC inquiry into AWH and ‘‘unscrupulous businessmen’’ who paid into a slush fund linked to disgraced former NSW minister (gee it’s great to say that) Chris Hartcher will be a worry for the Abbott government. Not only is Uncle Arfur involved, so is Karen McNamara, member for Dobell. one of the Coalition Barbies elected last year. You all know her, she’s the blond in the most prominent noddy seat. Ms McNamara was campaign manager for Chris Hartcher and in charge of fund raising. She knows where all the money came from and where it went and has been accused of cooking the books. Of course, she has said she knows nothing.
Some background - http://australia.isidewith.com/news/article/karen-mcnamara-dragged-into-controversy-about-political-donation http://www.injuredworkerssupport.org.au/ofarrells-looming-nightmare/ |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Bam on Mar 18th, 2014 at 4:49pm aquascoot wrote on Mar 18th, 2014 at 3:31pm:
Shouldn't you wait for the investigation and other due process of law to run its course before passing judgement? Quote:
It is far too soon to be demanding that. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by The Abzi Party on Mar 18th, 2014 at 4:57pm Grendel wrote on Mar 18th, 2014 at 2:18pm:
Your bias is showing! I want every corrupt politician (no matter what party) jailed - can you say the same? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Bam on Mar 18th, 2014 at 6:18pm
Abbott's blatant hypocrisy is exposed by this matter:
Yes, Tony Abbott really said that. How can that possibly be a plausible defence, given that Craig Thomson's indiscretions also happened prior to his entering Parliament? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by GeorgeH on Mar 18th, 2014 at 8:02pm
More crud from Sinodinos, undoing reforms so spivs can once again rip of people taking out super with banks, financial advisors. So crap is the reform they will try and sneak it in the back door as regulations on “repeal day.”
http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/political-news/abbott-government-will-bypass-parliament-to-change-financial-advice-act-20140317-34y4m.html |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 18th, 2014 at 10:37pm
I'm hoping Monkey Boy that when you sober up there will be an apology for your libelous remarks.
Or some proof to back you up. :D ;D :D ;D |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by GeorgeH on Mar 19th, 2014 at 7:24am |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Aussie on Mar 19th, 2014 at 1:01pm
Resigned.
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Bam on Mar 19th, 2014 at 1:15pm |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by cods on Mar 19th, 2014 at 1:31pm
well done... the HONEST thing to do..step down.
if he is charged with wrong doing..then as far as I am concerned its jail.. where they all should go..if found guilty.. if he has done nothing wrong then I am not against him being reinstated.. and that goes for any one of them.. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 19th, 2014 at 3:04pm Aussie wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 1:01pm:
He hasn't resigned - he has stood aside. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by cods on Mar 19th, 2014 at 3:11pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 3:04pm:
resigned his portfolio...and will I presume sit on the back bench... they are dropping like flies arent they? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 19th, 2014 at 3:13pm cods wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 3:11pm:
Yes but if it's not a Labor crook like Thompson it's a Libbo crook. ( assuming he's guilty) |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Aussie on Mar 19th, 2014 at 3:37pm
Anyone see QT today, and notice how Abbott failed to answer (responsively) even one of the questions put to him. It really is a sham, a complete farce ~ let's please just can QT, as a waste of time concerning accountability, and nothing more than an opportunity for Government Ministers to grandstand after the set up Dorothy Dixer.
Ya see, that is one thing the last hung (Gillard/Rudd) Parliament could not get away with because the Independants made sure Ministers actually answered relevant questions, and even Slipper made a positive contribution to that process. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by John Smith on Mar 19th, 2014 at 3:42pm Aussie wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 3:37pm:
I agree ... it's become a joke ... they should either get an independant speaker or axe it altogether. The way it is at the moment it serves no purpose and is a waste of tax dollars. Disgraceful how Abbott refused to answer a simple question . |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by GeorgeH on Mar 19th, 2014 at 3:59pm
Yeah, QT has become a joke with Broomhilda dispensing senile rulings from above that are wrong, biased and nonsensical. Tony Burke is valiantly jousting, trying to get some sense out of the senile idiot.
Labor should either walk out of QT after one of the more outrageous rulings or turn their backs on Broomhilda or stop asking questions, explaining each time the biased nonsense from Broomhilda means Parliament is being turned into a joke. Shouldn’t take long to get rid of Broomhilda. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Aussie on Mar 19th, 2014 at 4:14pm St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 3:59pm:
Well, unless there is some sort of circuit breaker, if I were in charge ~ yeas, the ALP ought make their protest by walking out. They might as well.....because they are being ignored by the PM and Government Ministers. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 19th, 2014 at 4:16pm Aussie wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 4:14pm:
Come on Aussie, name one question the JuLiar ever answered as PM? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by pansi1951 on Mar 19th, 2014 at 4:17pm
Disgraceful how Abbott refused to answer a simple question .
If he doesn't answer us, the people of Australia, why should he answer the opposition? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 19th, 2014 at 4:19pm Aussie wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 3:37pm:
Do you recall over the 6 years of labor them ever answering a question properly? Did you complain then monkey boy? :D ;D :D ;D :D |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 19th, 2014 at 4:21pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 4:17pm:
Is that the one he's already answered? Several times... Is that the one they keep asking even though it's been answered? Is that the crap that was pushed in both houses by the ALP today and yesterday... ad nauseam. :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 19th, 2014 at 4:25pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 4:16pm:
Come on Aussie, name one question the JuLiar ever answered as PM? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Aussie on Mar 19th, 2014 at 4:38pm Bobby. wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 4:25pm:
That's a tad hard to respond to given I do not have a Library of QTs readily at hand, but it is not only since the 7th September 2013 that I have been watching QT.....and in not one QT in the six years Grendel is referring to, did I get to experience that gut cringe feeling. All I'm saying is simply....let's do away with it as a total waste of time, and our money. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by GeorgeH on Mar 19th, 2014 at 4:42pm
No, lets not do away with QT, let us move to the UK system, PM’s questions.
Should be entertaining anyway. But Labor need to do something about Broomhilda. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:03pm
Hope you are preparing your sniveling apology re Sinodinos Geooooorge... after all so far you've failed dismally to back up your libelous slurs with any facts. :D ;D :D ;D :D ;D :D
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by philperth2010 on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:43pm
Now Sinodinos and Abbott do not have to answer any more questions in Parliament!!!
:-? :-? :-? Actions lie louder than words. Carolyn Wells |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by bludger on Mar 20th, 2014 at 7:39am
Reminds me of that old song.....
Oh sinner dinos Where you gonna run to Oh sinner dinos where you gonna run to.... 'Caesar is an honourable man' -Anthony |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by GeorgeH on Mar 20th, 2014 at 10:08pm
QT is a sad joke. Labor need to stage walkouts a few times to get rid of Broomhilda, walkout or turn their backs to her.
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by miketrees on Mar 20th, 2014 at 10:37pm
Sidodinos has stood down, thats the right thing to do. ( he should not even be in parliament)
If he turns out to be on the take I will be happy to commence a public stoning. Forget the politics of this, it should be good people vs bad people. The whole labor movement should have got Thomson to stand down as well. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Bam on Mar 20th, 2014 at 10:59pm miketrees wrote on Mar 20th, 2014 at 10:37pm:
I'm sure they would have, if the numbers in the last Parliament had permitted some breathing space. The funny thing is, the Victorian government is suffering as badly as Gillard, and for the same reasons. One-seat majority. [x] Government member found to be rorting entitlements for personal gain. [x] That member resigns from the party to sit as an independent. [x] Member holds a marginal seat. [x] Government is behind in the polls. [x] Government changes leaders mid term. [x] Funny how history repeats. Like Thomson, Sinodinos will be investigated. He has clammed up, making "no further comment", and the Prime Minister is also reticent. Sinodinos has an uncertain future. He may be OK, but he may also end up facing charges. Even if he does end up being charged, he is entitled to the presumption of innocence. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Phemanderac on Mar 20th, 2014 at 11:07pm
Well if there are suspicions and, presumably some form of evidence, then he should come under scrutiny. Actually, parliament generally should be more consistently under scrutiny, however, our current system does not cater to that. As we currently see, quite the opposite.
Just like anyone else though, and regardless of their station, he deserves to be afforded his "day in court" as it were without pre judgement. Of course, as we have seen in recent history, people just can't help themselves though and so it begins... |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by GeorgeH on Mar 21st, 2014 at 7:23am Quote:
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2014-03-20/sinodinos27s-24200k-salary-kept-secret-from-investors2c-icac/5334650 |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 21st, 2014 at 7:29am
The Obeid family stinks right up to the head...
nothing there casts any criminality on Sinodinos. Did he take a pay cut to enter parliament? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Phemanderac on Mar 21st, 2014 at 7:36am Grendel wrote on Mar 21st, 2014 at 7:29am:
Dunno mate, I read the link and this kinda stood out as a point of some concern; "Current and former AWH directors including Senator Sinodinos, Mr Di Girolamo and former NSW Labor treasurer Michael Costa are being sued for deceptive conduct." That was stated quite clearly in the story. Now there is no final finding, but, based on historical responses to our politicians facing enquiry, something stinks. As I maintain, no point really talking about this until final findings. Admittedly, final findings are not always accurate, humans being flawed and all that. However, to carry on too much about this whilst enquiry is still underway is basically an ill informed discussion... |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 21st, 2014 at 8:11am Phemanderac wrote on Mar 21st, 2014 at 7:36am:
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Bam on Mar 21st, 2014 at 10:03am Grendel wrote on Mar 21st, 2014 at 8:11am:
Did I criticise? No. I simply stated a fact that he wasn't saying much. If it's wrong to point out the simple fact that he wasn't offering comments, what then of every conservative commentator who had Thomson tried, convicted and jailed even before any charges were laid? The double standards by conservatives on this forum are unbelievable. Sure, Thomson did eventually get tried and convicted, but everyone is entitled to the presumption of innocence, even politicians. I have already reminded everyone of this regarding Sinodinos more than once. You will be very hard pressed to find a single comment by a conservative commentator who said the same of Thomson. So far, the facts are - Sinodinos has been called to give evidence. He has not been charged with anything. He has resigned his portfolio. He is offering no further comment on the matter for the time being. In short, clear facts are a little in short supply at the moment. We should wait as events unfold to see what else comes to light. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by GeorgeH on Mar 21st, 2014 at 1:04pm Quote:
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Doctor Jolly on Mar 21st, 2014 at 1:08pm
Sinodinos is a crocked as a bent stick.
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 21st, 2014 at 4:29pm Bam wrote on Mar 18th, 2014 at 11:51am:
Well no they haven't that is a lie. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 21st, 2014 at 4:30pm Bam wrote on Mar 18th, 2014 at 4:49pm:
Yet previously YOU inferred what? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 21st, 2014 at 4:35pm Bam wrote on Mar 20th, 2014 at 10:59pm:
"Clammed up" and "reticent" are they? Your inference is negative yet you deny it... no mention of matters before ICAC and proper behaviour, oh no they are clamming up and reticent. ::) ::) ::) |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 21st, 2014 at 4:36pm Doctor Jolly wrote on Mar 21st, 2014 at 1:08pm:
Yet you have no proof, only libel. Join the Monkey boy parade. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by GeorgeH on Mar 21st, 2014 at 4:36pm Grendel wrote on Mar 21st, 2014 at 4:29pm:
Well, yeah they have, since Obeid went before ICAC at least. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 21st, 2014 at 4:59pm St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 21st, 2014 at 4:36pm:
Uh huh... Obeid and his criminality and corruption has been floating around for some time... at least a decade... not a couple of weeks monkey boy... stop drinking and your ability to judge time will improve brew meister. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by cods on Mar 21st, 2014 at 5:05pm Doctor Jolly wrote on Mar 21st, 2014 at 1:08pm:
I trust you have proof of what you claim... |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by GeorgeH on Mar 21st, 2014 at 7:13pm Grendel wrote on Mar 21st, 2014 at 4:59pm:
Open the other eye, troll. I was talking about Arfur not Obeid. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by GeorgeH on Mar 22nd, 2014 at 3:16pm Quote:
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by GeorgeH on Mar 23rd, 2014 at 11:22pm
Couple other links:
Heard a bit of this while driving this morning—Asst Treasurer eplays a pretty key role getting data from Departments etc—Expenditure Committee. Arfur the most experienced at this. Quote:
Arfur is not coming back. This years Budget is going to be a mess. Wonder if the Simian is regretting sacking Martin Parkinson? A boneheaded action! |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by philperth2010 on Mar 23rd, 2014 at 11:52pm
ICAC will not play their hand against Sinodinos until he fronts the commission.....The fact Sinodinos stood down although he had the full support of the Liberal party means he knows there is something to be worried about.....Sinodinos deserves the same presumption of innocence every other politician who has been implemented in corruption has received???
[smiley=thumbdown.gif] [smiley=thumbdown.gif] [smiley=thumbdown.gif] |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by cods on Mar 24th, 2014 at 8:32am philperth2010 wrote on Mar 23rd, 2014 at 11:52pm:
didnt they charge Tripodi after he was called as a witness?? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Doctor Jolly on Mar 24th, 2014 at 9:45am Grendel wrote on Mar 21st, 2014 at 4:36pm:
The allegations against Sinodinos are far more serious than those against Thomson. Thomson blew union funds on hookers. Its damage was only limited to the union members who had to pay the bill. Sinodinos's case is corruption at is core, and effects every tax payer. The sums of money in Sinodinos' case are orders of magnitude larger as well. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by GeorgeH on Mar 24th, 2014 at 9:50am
I have not said Arfur is crooked, have posted articles from the MSM. And said he will not be back which is a safe assumption to make.
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by cods on Mar 24th, 2014 at 10:30am Doctor Jolly wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 9:45am:
what ALLEGATION would they be? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Bam on Mar 24th, 2014 at 10:31am Grendel wrote on Mar 21st, 2014 at 4:29pm:
Well yes they have you are wrong. Don’t throw Arthur Sinodinos out with the Obeid bath-water (March 1, 2013) Quote:
Sinodinos has close business links to Obeid, and it is difficult to assert that Sinodinos' business dealings with Obeid must have remained completely clean despite this close association. Any allegations about Sinodinos are little more than rumours at this stage, but it is not tenable to assert that they do not exist and haven't for some time. Nevertheless, I'll repeat my previous point here - Sinodinos has not been charged with anything, and even if he is, he is entitled to the presumption of innocence. This is much better than the treatment that Obeid has received in the media. Quote:
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Bam on Mar 24th, 2014 at 10:36am
Has Sinodinos actually been charged with anything? We shouldn't be framing the discussion as if he has been.
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by GeorgeH on Mar 24th, 2014 at 10:45am
Not yet but will be, I would say.
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by cods on Mar 24th, 2014 at 10:49am
is this another WITCH HUNT?...lol just asking..
Arthur has been called as a witness...his connections to Syd Water are being played out in the media not ICAC....yet!.. it looks dodgy thats for sure...and if he is dodgy then get him Rex....I have no time for corruption that why I believe the penalties should be harsher.. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by GeorgeH on Mar 24th, 2014 at 11:01am cods wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 10:49am:
That is a very fair attitude cods. It does appear he will be investigated. I think how he wants to reward the spivs and shonks in the financial advice/wealth management industry is also despiccable, trailing commissions that he wants to bring back under the guise of Repeal Day can rob up to $50K from a superannuant’s final payout—money for doing nothing! |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by The Grappler 2014 on Mar 24th, 2014 at 11:20am
Is Big Tony going to apply the same standard to Arfur under his scheme to punish Unions the same as corporate criminals?
Or will this be another white shoe wash? "Docket # 7941 - Part B Yer 'Onner - Tony Toecutter v Union Mouthpiece...." "Guilty - six years in Super Max for advocating a fair negotiation of a building contract!" "Docket # 7942 - Part A, Yer 'Onner - Tony Toecutter v Arfur Sinodial...." "Guilty - six weeks in Club Fed and in counselling on home confinement for ripping off government contracts, public funds, and stealing billions from hungry orphan's mouths!" ...... "Oh, Mr Sinodias! Before you go!! That will also be a fine of $250!" |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Doctor Jolly on Mar 24th, 2014 at 12:10pm
So, he's been investigated for corruption, and he's the architect of many changes to remove regulation in "repeal day".
If that is not setting off alarm bells in your head for "repeal day", then you must be rusted-on. Should rename "repeal day" to be "pro-corruption day". How best we can remove checks and balances to make it easier to dip into the cash drawer. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by GeorgeH on Mar 24th, 2014 at 12:19pm
Ross Gittins today—Repeal Day a lot of padding to sneak through rotten legislation like protecting spivs.
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 24th, 2014 at 1:58pm St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 12:19pm:
re your pic.... much better than the one you had BTW... but it actually it looks like an american I saw on the net years ago.... it'll come to me eventually. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by philperth2010 on Mar 24th, 2014 at 2:28pm Bam wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 10:36am:
Julia Gillard??? :-? :-? :-? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by The Grappler 2014 on Mar 24th, 2014 at 4:14pm philperth2010 wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 2:28pm:
;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by cods on Mar 24th, 2014 at 4:20pm philperth2010 wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 2:28pm:
was sinodinos asked questions in parliament but claimed he had already answered those questions?? ::) ::) like it or not phil.. gillard was the PM...she had every right to answer any question.... for all we know. this might go back a way with Arthur... if its corrupt I dont care who they are... expose them charge them and penalise them, thomo was given more than 12 months of full support before he finally took the hint..and he was being investigated on more than one level.. as far as I know Arthur isnt being investigated...YET. in which case nothing to compare as far as I am concerned. if they start an investigation then he should be suspended.. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Winston Smith on Mar 24th, 2014 at 4:29pm
So this thread isn't about a faulty product related to Chinese dinosaurs? :-?
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 24th, 2014 at 4:41pm Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 4:14pm:
Sinodinos has been called as a witness. Gillard is under investigation. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Bam on Mar 24th, 2014 at 4:49pm Grendel wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 4:41pm:
Sinodinos was director of a company that was earning no income while paying out large salaries. Why didn't he wind up the company or call in administrators? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Karnal on Mar 24th, 2014 at 4:49pm cods wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 10:30am:
1. His company paid donations to the NSW Liberal Party, of which Sinodinos was state boss. 2. His employment contract was to award him 20 million big ones if he won the water tender from the NSW government. 3. He was employed solely to use his Liberal Party connections to get a water contract, and screw the taxpayer over in the process. All of this is, most likely, legal. If he had succeeded in getting the contract, however, it may well be illegal. What it is, at its best, is unethical. State contracts should be given out to the best company. This company did not even have employees. It was set up solely to milk taxpayers’ money, get water contracts, pay others to do the work, and give everyone a nice drink in the process. It was a rort with the Obeid family at its centre. When NSW Labor lost the last election, Obeid merely employed Libs to do the job of milking the taxpayer teat. All Sinodinos needs to do is plead ignorance. He’ll be back in the ministry in no time. Thank heavens the grown-ups are back in charge. But aren’t they always? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 24th, 2014 at 4:51pm Bam wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 4:49pm:
Sinodinos has been called as a witness. Gillard is under investigation. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by The Grappler 2014 on Mar 24th, 2014 at 5:36pm
Let us return to another issue - the selling off of Australia and of infrastructure such as water.
Our Arfur, as a good buddy of the past PM etc - should have recused himself from any appointment as CEO of a sold off utility such as water provision, instead of looking forward - for a bare minimum of work - to a healthy handout of $20 million. How many times must we view the spectacle of a government buddy or family member being the recipient of the massive largesse that just happens to fall out of the sky when the government sells of OUR resources, infrastructure, and so forth? Just a business opportunity that just happened to drop out of the sky, eh? Sure it was - and no insider trading etc. On that basis alone all those who have benefited in this way should be sent to prison. Come on, Tony - ante up! Let's treat white collar crime by your mates the same as you are muttering darkly about treating alleged Union 'crime' such as holding an opposing view over negotiation of a contract. You can all visit each other in prison! |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Bam on Mar 24th, 2014 at 6:00pm Grendel wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 4:51pm:
Given the dubious activities of AWH, it would be surprising if he wasn't subject to more scrutiny at some point. Unless he tries the Colonel Schultz defence ... I know nossink! Quote:
First the Liberals call her a witch, now they're indulging in a witch hunt. Poor taste, Liberals, very poor. If Labor was playing by the same playbook as the Liberals, they would be starting a Royal Commission into AWH as soon as they get back into power (it can even be sold as Labor cleaning up its own mess), and another one into Sovereign Borders (shine a spotlight of scrutiny into the dark corners of Coalition secrecy). |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Rider on Mar 24th, 2014 at 6:08pm Bam wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 4:49pm:
well if that was the yardstick the NBN would have been shut down years ago ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by philperth2010 on Mar 24th, 2014 at 6:11pm Grendel wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 4:41pm:
The response was to charges not allegations......What charges have been laid against Julia Gillard whom at this stage is still a witness.....By the way ICAC is an investigation into corruption is it not....Your double standards are showing again??? :-? :-? :-? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 24th, 2014 at 6:18pm Bam wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 6:00pm:
I suggest you look at last Sunday's Insiders... before they measure you for a tin-hat. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by philperth2010 on Mar 24th, 2014 at 6:23pm cods wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 4:20pm:
Poor Arthur is being called to appear at ICAC to answer questions over his conduct which the conga line tell us is all innocent and poor Arthur is only a witness.....Yet Julia Gillard who did answer every question thrown at her both in Parliament and a press conference is not given the same presumption of innocence by people like you.....You have nothing to be proud of with your double standards and political bias!!! By the way I have never claimed Arthur is guilty of anything!!! [smiley=thumbdown.gif] [smiley=thumbdown.gif] [smiley=thumbdown.gif] |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by cods on Mar 24th, 2014 at 6:26pm Karnal wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 4:49pm:
where did you read about those allegations karnal??. dont tell me the newspapers???.. :o you see not a soul from the left believed any of the reports in the newspapers even when THOMO took one the SMH to court..and then called it off...claiming he had done nothing wrong.... so we cannot believe whats written in the newspapers can we??? unless you have seen documents that the rest of us havent of course.. just saying. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by cods on Mar 24th, 2014 at 6:40pm philperth2010 wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 6:23pm:
MY BIAS HAS ALREADY SAID.. IF HE IS CHARGED HE SHOULD BE SUSPENDED..THOMO WAS GIVEN OVER 12 MONTHS GRACE AFTER HE WAS FIRST INVESTIGATED FOR STEALING.. I DO NOT BELIEVE IN THAT THEY SHOULD GO UNTIL ITS BEEN THROUGH THE COURTS... AND I DARE YOU TO CLAIM OTHERWISE.. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by philperth2010 on Mar 24th, 2014 at 7:07pm cods wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 6:40pm:
YOU CLAIMED THOMSON SHOULD STAND DOWN NOW WHAT ARE YOU GOING TO DO ABOUT IT??? I never mentioned Thomson, you did to try and justify your rant.....My comments have been specifically aimed at the double standards shown towards Julia Gillard.....You never fail to miss the point completely do you??? :-? :-? :-? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by cods on Mar 24th, 2014 at 8:51pm philperth2010 wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 7:07pm:
THE DOUBLE STANDARDS YOU TALK ABOUT MAY BE FOR SOMEONE ELSE... I HAVE ALREADY SAID THAT YES HE GETS SUSPENDED IF THEY START INVESTIGATING HIM/.. IF THATS TOO HARD FOR YOU TO UNDERSTAND PERHAPS WE SHOULD LEAVE IT THERE.. AS FOR GILLARD.. SHE WAS PM FOR GODS SAKE.. THAT PUTS HER IN A COMPLETELY DIFFERENT CATEGORY... PM COME IN FOR SPECIAL ATTENTION,...OR IS IT ONLY LIB PM.? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by The Grappler 2014 on Mar 24th, 2014 at 9:27pm
What double standard did Julia endure?
She copped the same sort of rubbishing as every other politician - and it mattered not one whit to her pension fund. You cannot be serious. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Karnal on Mar 24th, 2014 at 9:51pm cods wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 6:26pm:
Keep saying, dear. You’ll always have a tongue. Even after you’re long gone, that tongue of yours will continue rattling in your false clackers. Are you saying the media is lying? That’s strange. They’re all saying the same thing. Funny how poor Mr Sinonidos doesn’t disagree with any of it. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Karnal on Mar 24th, 2014 at 9:52pm cods wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 6:26pm:
Keep saying, dear. You’ll always have a tongue. Even after you’re long gone, that tongue of yours will continue rattling in your false clackers. Are you saying the media is lying? That’s strange. They’re all saying the same thing. Funny how poor Mr Sinonidos doesn’t disagree with any of it. Keep clacking, dear. It doesn’t mean anything. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Sir George of the Mash Tun on Mar 26th, 2014 at 11:36am
Arfur just hired $7000/day lawyers. Who will pay for them? After yesterday’s revelations and confirmations Arfur will need the silk.
http://www.smh.com.au/national/arthur-sinodinos-hires-silk-to-represent-him-at-icac-inquiry-20140324-35eaf.html |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Bam on Mar 26th, 2014 at 3:28pm St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 26th, 2014 at 11:36am:
(Edit: fixed link) There's some damning stuff coming out. No wonder Sinodinos is turning up with three expensive legal representatives. He's going to need them. Quote:
Trading while insolvent is bad, mmkay? And it seems the Liberals are involved: Quote:
Embezzling money from an insolvent company to give to the Liberals? Really? Looks like Sinodinos is more than just a witness here! |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 26th, 2014 at 3:53pm
Talk is cheap and often what is quoted here is wrong.
Yesterday a "witness" who stated that she told Sinodinos something specific about the state of affairs of the company recanted... Don't count your chickens before they hatch and let those actually in the inquiry make the decisions and judgements. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Sir George of the Mash Tun on Mar 26th, 2014 at 4:45pm
Defending a spiv, roach, just because he is right wing?
Said spiv tried to undo sensible financial advice regulations that would see another Storm Financial type scandal? Really? Still trying to pretend to be leftwing or will you finally give that charade up? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by King Bam The Mystic on Mar 26th, 2014 at 7:11pm
ICAC commissioner says conduct finding unlikely against Senator Arthur Sinodinos (ABC Online)
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Sir George of the Mash Tun on Mar 26th, 2014 at 8:46pm
If he hasn’t done anything wrong why is he lawyered up at $7K/day?
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Grendel on Mar 27th, 2014 at 7:29am St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 26th, 2014 at 4:45pm:
Personally I don't like Sinodinos but unlike you I won't lie and libel people on a forum. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by cods on Mar 27th, 2014 at 9:34am Karnal wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 9:52pm:
oh dear.. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by cods on Mar 27th, 2014 at 9:38am Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Mar 24th, 2014 at 9:27pm:
they only see it with blinkers on...look at what they tried to do to Abbott.. even had a 4 man digthedirt on him... and he was only in opposition 5 min... when they started...they forget that bit though... we will see what gillard has to answer too I hope with the royal.. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Sir George of the Mash Tun on Mar 27th, 2014 at 9:41am
You have a lot of hope in these politically expedient RCs, cods.
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by cods on Mar 27th, 2014 at 9:49am St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 27th, 2014 at 9:41am:
I would have thought you would as well.. only in them finding they did nuffink wrong... they work both ways you know.. it will clear the air..if they are found not to have anything to answer too.. then so be it.. you cant change the way people think... b ut you can say,...the court/RC found they had nothing to answer for.. either way one of us has to suck it up.. I believe where theres smoke theres fire..for it to come to a RC means something not right went on...and we shouldnt sweep it under the carpet like it has been. if Sinodinos has something to answer for.. lets do it before he goes any further...its got nothing to do which party is joined...... just what he is capable of doing..and if its corrupt I dont want a bar of it. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Rider on Mar 27th, 2014 at 9:49am St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 26th, 2014 at 8:46pm:
For the same reason any sane person would seek professional help in any like matter of course. |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Sir George of the Mash Tun on Mar 27th, 2014 at 9:50am
A Royal Commission is the ultimate investigative inquiry. They should be used for major issues not political witch hunts.
WHY does the simian always look to the past? |
Title: Re: Sinodinos Under Scrutiny Post by Retired Regent Grappler on Mar 28th, 2014 at 11:04am
As before - the crying need here is for a truly independent body to look deeply into the process of the handouts of CEO jobs etc to party faithful hacks as rewards for their years of loyalty to the party (alone) - and in areas of where there is a clear conflict of interest since these areas are sold-off public utilities such as water etc.
Put simply - no friend, family member, or employee of a party or politician may obtain such reward without extreme mitigating circumstances and remuneration should be on a contracted basis with no bonus - the same applies to a paper trail company owned by any of the above in 'purchasing' a share of the spoils of the sell-off. The same thing happens with 'privatising roads' - the franchises are bought up by politicians, their friends and their families, and they then impose a toll on what used to be public roads bought and paid for, and laugh all the way to the banks with a shipload of new tax money straight into their own pockets. This whole thing is a blatant rip-off and would be justly condemned as the most blatant corruption in any other country - yet it is commonplace and goes uncommented on in mainstream media here. The entire process for determining who gets these CEO jobs, infrastructure buy-ups etc, including the amazing concept that some 'CEO' should cop a $20m windfall for his/her good work in setting this up when it could be done by a board at 5% of that cost, should be determined by a truly independent body of the people - and not by the very government which seeks to hand out the goodies. I hold no faith in ICAC etc - they come from the same 'social group' and are not going to bite the hand that feeds them. To The End Of Public Ownership |