General Discussion >> Chat >> Migraines - any really good cures? http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1395132262 Message started by red baron on Mar 18th, 2014 at 6:44pm |
Title: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by red baron on Mar 18th, 2014 at 6:44pm
My grand daughter suffers badly from migraines, have tried all the usual suspects panadol, nurofen etc.
Any clever ideas? |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by it_is_the_light on Mar 18th, 2014 at 6:48pm
blessings
do not use any drugs from drug dealing chemists drink fresh water , not the tap stuff distilled water is good cleansing eat healthy whole fruits veg smoothies no processed foods no meat use crystals ( christals ) to draw negativity and dis ease too much tv and those frequencies delivered are decimating to your health . throw your television out the window some suggestions for angelic beings in love and divine light namaste - : ) = + ॐ / |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Annie Anthrax on Mar 18th, 2014 at 7:13pm
Has she tried aspirin? It's better for migraines.
If she suffers regularly, there are preventative medications available. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Aussie on Mar 18th, 2014 at 7:27pm
I have no idea. My Mother, in her 30/40s suffered with them, and almost (well....did really) became addicted to Bex/Vincents. Dunno how she did it............but she did get off them, and the migraine issue went away.
I know exactly when I'll get one and why and how to ambush the bastard of a thing. For no apparent reason, I'll get a light 'flicker' in my left eye. Used to ignore it..........and then got a 'migraine.' Learned not to ignore it............so ~ as soon as it happened, threw an aspirin down......no 'migraine.' You know....early morning....not long after Sunrise.......as you drive along roads, if there is a forest to the east of you......you'll get that light flicker effect? That used to trigger it as well. No more. I just cup my eye (which one depends whether I'm driving north or south) with the corresponding hand........and 'Bob's yer Uncle.' |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by it_is_the_light on Mar 18th, 2014 at 7:31pm
many blessings
best not to drug children next thing you know everyones forcefeeding them anti ADHD drugs ... you can hide the symptoms with drugs yes yet the problem remains further the problem may be a result from over stimulation of tv media and wifi look at nature, smell the flowers namaste - : ) = + ॐ / |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Honky on Mar 18th, 2014 at 8:04pm
I don't believe in migraines, but if i did, id cure it by taking something away, rather than adding medication to mask it.
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by John Smith on Mar 18th, 2014 at 8:32pm
after reading some of your posts Red, I'd say the best cure for her would be for you to staple your gums together .... imagine the peace and quite she could then enjoy
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by mantra on Mar 18th, 2014 at 9:10pm
I've had the occasional headache, but never experienced a migraine. Two panadol or one soluble aspro seems to work wonders though.
Dehydration is supposed to be one of the main causes for headaches, but with a migraine - it should be checked out in case it's the start of something sinister. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Karnal on Mar 18th, 2014 at 9:14pm
The Westpac chopper gets me every time. There’s a heliport near where I live. Those bastards bring back the smell of war - smoke, sulphur, dirt.
A couple of Dilaudids usually do the trick. Get your grandaughter to wash them down with a Jim Beam and Coke. If the quacks give you grief, get them off the net. Mine’ll write me anything, but I’ve got a thing or two on him. It helps. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Oh_Yeah on Mar 19th, 2014 at 10:22am ... wrote on Mar 18th, 2014 at 8:04pm:
They are real. A lot of people claim to have a maigraine when all they have got is a headache (just like people claim to have the flu when all they have got is the common cold). The symptons of a real maigraine are, blurred vision, nausea, aversion to bright light and also a headache. I always know when I'm coming down with one because I develop a shimmering blind spot in my vision. It then enlarges over time and I develop the other synptoms. Luckily I only rarely get them but there isn't much that can be done about them. Apparantly they are related to a mild epileptic fit. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by FriYAY on Mar 19th, 2014 at 10:59am Karnal wrote on Mar 18th, 2014 at 9:14pm:
Sure it's not the channel 7 chopper? And is night time just a jungle dark and a barking M16? Good one plastic Rambo... ;D ;D OT - sorry can't help. When i get a head ache i bomb it with 4 panadol and a disprin. Light's comment on dehydration/water is good advice (never thought i'd say that!) |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Karnal on Mar 19th, 2014 at 11:47am FriYAY wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 10:59am:
Bloody oath - that one too. Those things give me the cold sweats. You never get over it. Biscuit-licking pussies like you wouldn't have a clue. We had a name for you blokes in Nam: poofters. You can't say that in today's army. Back then, we said it how it was. No biscuit games in Nam, girly. Your punishment would have been a decent rogering by the men. No worries taking a Disprin afterwards if it makes you feel any better. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by FriYAY on Mar 19th, 2014 at 1:04pm Karnal wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 11:47am:
I thought you took solice in gobbies from young grunts, while the gooks were sneaking around your tent. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Karnal on Mar 19th, 2014 at 1:36pm FriYAY wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 1:04pm:
Solice? What are you - religious? |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by FriYAY on Mar 19th, 2014 at 1:47pm Karnal wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 1:36pm:
Solace, what are you a “grammar queen”… Hahahahahahahahahaha |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Karnal on Mar 19th, 2014 at 2:06pm FriYAY wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 1:47pm:
Solace or Solice, you come across like a religious nut. We stayed clear of your type back in Nam. Any problems, they went straight to the chaplain. And he'd take it to the CO. You holy rollers were just too much trouble. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by FriYAY on Mar 19th, 2014 at 2:26pm Karnal wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 2:06pm:
Religious nut, yep that’s me!! I’m at church every Sunday praising the lord and shouting hallelujah!!! ::) :P |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 19th, 2014 at 2:54pm red baron wrote on Mar 18th, 2014 at 6:44pm:
Preventative medication. In particular, beta-blockers. Tell her to ask her doctor about Inderal (propranolol). This drug certainly works for me (and many others). |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by red baron on Mar 19th, 2014 at 5:49pm
Thank you Greggery one of the few posts to help a kid who is doing it tough. :)
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by it_is_the_light on Mar 19th, 2014 at 5:49pm FriYAY wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 10:59am:
so you admit you have a drug problem.. forgiven namaste - : ) = + ॐ / |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by it_is_the_light on Mar 19th, 2014 at 5:51pm greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 2:54pm:
why are these people continuing to drug these children ... ? drugging children is never a good idea fullstop yet this is forgiven as they know not what they do.. any that do know and continue to drug children will feel the karmic repercussions for your treachery unto human kind ... for many are ignorant namaste ॐ / |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by greggerypeccary on Mar 19th, 2014 at 6:02pm red baron wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 5:49pm:
I don't like the idea of taking prescription drugs. However, in some cases they can greatly improve one's life. In my case, Inderal has done just that. Absolutely nothing would relieve the pain and symptoms of my migraines. I finally saw a specialist who suggested taking heart medication - Inderal. WTF? Heart medication? It turns out that these beta-blockers can actually prevent migraines from happening in the first place. They work for me. Everybody is different, and they may not work for your niece. Best thing to do is at least discuss it with a doctor. I take a very small dose, and they cost $16 a bottle. They're also called Deralin. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by red baron on Mar 19th, 2014 at 6:08pm
it is the light, you are full of good intentions but people like you are a real worry. I believe in meditation and much that you stand for.
However, anyone who doesn't use modern medicine is a fool. How many times have I seen people put their kid's lives at risk because they won't immunise them. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Alinta on Mar 19th, 2014 at 6:19pm red baron wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 5:49pm:
Don't know the age of your granddaughter Baron....but my experience may be helpful. I started getting migraines at 13.......flashing white dots, purple and green zigzaggy lines.......within around 30 minutes the nausea and vomiting started and continued every 15 minutes or so for around 6 hours. It was hell on earth. Think I had 4 of these episodes before mum took me off to the doctor.....nothing she had tried had worked. I was put on preventative medication for a year and I have not had a migraine since............I've sometimes wondered whether it was a puberty thing I would have grown out of anyway, but if I were in your position, I'd be seeking professional medical advice with your granddaughter and take it from there. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Honky on Mar 19th, 2014 at 6:37pm red baron wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 6:08pm:
I don't know. How many times have you seen it? |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by it_is_the_light on Mar 19th, 2014 at 6:43pm red baron wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 6:08pm:
many blessings , your ignorant comments in regards to drugs and vaccines is noted ... human beings do not need drugs and vaccines if not for all the rubbish being consumed fast foods junk foods coke and pepsie drink dispensers v and mother rubbish .. ones such as I am eats natural foods no meats raw fruits and veg and I do not need your drugs or vaccines ... so rather than your forgiven accusation of one such as I am a fool for this reflects volumes upon your level of ignorance upon such matters and as such because you are hooked on drugs there is no need to infect children with your affliction . carry on regardless for all are loved regardless namaste - : ) = + ॐ / |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Honky on Mar 19th, 2014 at 7:10pm
Did you know that the average life expectancy of a 60 year old has increased by only 4 months in the last 100 years?
That's right - when we unpack the misleading averages, skewed by infant mortality and war - all of the "wonders of modern medicine" have only extended our lives by 4 miserable, bed ridden months. Funnily enough, they reckon that quitting smoking adds not mere months, but years to your life. So when you take the far, far lower rates of today into account, "the wonders of modern medicine" may have actually considerably shortened our lives, and undoubtedly lowered the quality of life. But yeah, only a fool would doubt them. It's not like they've got an agenda or anything. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Herbert on Mar 19th, 2014 at 7:51pm The_Barnacle wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 10:22am:
****** That sounds like my type of migraine that I get almost every day. 'Acephalgic migraine'. Visual changes Bright lights and blobs Zigzag lines Distortions in the size or shape of objects Vibrating visual field Scintillating scotoma Shimmering, pulsating patches, often curved Tunnel vision Scotoma Blind or dark spots in the field of vision Curtain-like effect over one eye Slowly spreading spots Kaleidoscope effects on visual field Temporary blindness in one or both eyes[5][6] Heightened sensitivity to light Auditory changes Hearing voices or sounds that do not exist: true auditory hallucinations Modification of voices or sounds in the environment: buzzing, tremolo, amplitude modulation or other modulations Heightened sensitivity to hearing Someone speaking at a level and normal tone sounds like they are shouting loudly Other sensations Strange smells (Phantosmia) or tastes (Gustatory hallucinations) Heightened sensitivity to smell Déjà vu or Jamais vu Cephalic aura, a perception of movement of the head or inside the head Abdominal aura such as an epigastric rising sensation Nausea[6] A sudden feeling of anxiety, fear or foreboding Numbness or tingling sensation (Paresthesia)[6] etcetera. I used to have this about twice a year, but ever since I've been put on aspirin and Ramipril every day it's almost a daily event. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Honky on Mar 19th, 2014 at 7:54pm Lord Herbert wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 7:51pm:
So don't take them. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by it_is_the_light on Mar 19th, 2014 at 7:54pm ... wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 7:10pm:
yes and by this stage in life your ready for the chemo machine that will empty your bank account quick smart so carry on regardless in divine light namaste - : ) = + ॐ / |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Herbert on Mar 19th, 2014 at 7:59pm ... wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 7:54pm:
;D ;D ;D They're keeping my heart ticking over. If I stop taking them my blood will get sticky and my artificial aortic valve might become all gummed up. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Honky on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:01pm Lord Herbert wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 7:59pm:
Yep, that's what they'll tell you. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by it_is_the_light on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:07pm Lord Herbert wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 7:59pm:
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Cliff48 on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:09pm The_Barnacle wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 10:22am:
migraines come in many forms, anything from a 'painless' aura (shimmering light) in the vision to a brain splitting pain that can put me out of action for 2 days. My doctor explained to me that migraines are usually stress related - coming after the stress has passed and the body 'over' relaxes. Often the stress may have been days before and its not immediately obvious to be the cause.. The 'aura' style I might get every day for a week, and then not suffer again for weeks or months. The important thing for me is to immediately take a 'break' and relax for 5 minutes. It will go away very quickly. Attempting to continue working will always make things worse and possibly result in one of the extremely painful varieties. Anyone who calls a bad headache a migraine has never had a real migraine. They are so excruciating that you want to chop your head off. If you can remember the worst hangover you ever had, that doesn't even come close to a migraine. My cure is to take a pill that is a mix of Ibuprofen and codeine. Its available over the counter but must be requested - its not just on the shelves. I take one of these the moment the aura starts and usually all is ok after about 10 minutes. Since these have been available I haven't had one of those painful migraines for about 10 years. But I must stress, migraines come in many forms and the remedy wont work for all. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Herbert on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:09pm ... wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:01pm:
Drug-pushers? Okay ... I'll stop taking them, starting from tomorrow. 8-) |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Cliff48 on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:19pm it_is_the_light wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 6:43pm:
Clearly you have never experienced a migraine in-the-light or you wouldn't be talking such rot! |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by it_is_the_light on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:23pm
if you eat rubbish
or absorb hatred yes there will be disease one such as I am suffers no such affliction and this is no consequence . those that do will endure that which they create this is ok cool and was predicted in the divine light all is well enough namaste - : ) = + ॐ / |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Cliff48 on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:26pm it_is_the_light wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:23pm:
ffs get a life. Sure some ppl bring on ill-health via their diet, but that is not the be all and end all. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by it_is_the_light on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:32pm
Sure some ppl bring on ill-health via their diet
__________ this is the first thing that must be addressed if one pursues the highest expression of themself . fullstop . namaste - : ) = + ॐ / |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by muso on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:32pm
Migraine - could be high blood pressure or even sinusitis. Sinusitis is likely at this time of year.
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Cliff48 on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:38pm muso wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:32pm:
Yep, and this is where Ibuprofen comes in - it helps relieve inflammation. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Cliff48 on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:41pm it_is_the_light wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:32pm:
So in your warped 'perfect' mind they should suffer all and any pain until they find the correct diet for their metabolism? |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by it_is_the_light on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:52pm Cliff48 wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:38pm:
so it figures no wonder you advocate drugs . you are hooked on pharmaceuticals this is forgiven yet do not push your drugs onto my innocent children healthy or otherwise namaste ॐ / |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Cliff48 on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:59pm it_is_the_light wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:52pm:
And do NOT push you 'pure' ideas on others. You want them to suffer the pain of a migraine rather than finding relief! Just because you don't have migraines, don't put it down to your 'pure' living - its just luck. Now i will accept that your advice might work for some in the long term, but I think this thread was about some IMMEDIATE relief. You offered nothing. You have made you point, now crawl back into that purified piece of shite you live in. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by it_is_the_light on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:01pm
many blessings
are you on drugs right now ? why do wish to send these negative frequencies dear one ? you may wish to go cold turkey and get off your drugs that you appear to be addicted to.. one such as I am sends ViBrAtIoNs of forgiveness and compassion for your drug addled state you remain a divine being in any case namaste ॐ / |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by GeorgeH on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:02pm
Yup—get old, then migraines are pretty much a thing of the past.
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by muso on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:03pm Cliff48 wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:38pm:
Well, I'd see a doctor. Ibuprofen increases the chance of asthma in people who are prone to it. It's a really good analgesic apart from that. People who have seasonal hay fever, sinusitis and other such allergic reactions could be affected by ibuprofen. Headaches in children are not to be taken lightly. There are sinuses in the forehead. Many people have mistaken sinusitis for migraine. It can be really severe. If it is sinusitis, a doctor will give her something mild to dry it up. If there is infection (usually indicated by a fever), antibiotics might be needed to clear it up. Finally, a nasal decongestant like rhinocort (budenoside) can give relief. It has very few contraindications. Paracetemol elixir might be the best choice for the pain. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by it_is_the_light on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:05pm
nd do NOT push you 'pure' ideas on others. You want them to suffer the pain of a migraine rather than finding relief! Just because you don't have migraines, don't put it down to your 'pure' living - its just luck.
________ as luck would have it there is in fact no luck ... luck is another codename for lucifer ... lucky aye ? there is no luck ... your supposition is illogical and a product of your drug addled affliction and repeatisms of a retarded curriculum from some school ontop of a hill . this is of and in due course forgiven namaste ॐ / |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Cliff48 on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:05pm it_is_the_light wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:01pm:
what a wanker!!!!! |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by it_is_the_light on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:08pm
what a wanker!!!!!
_____________ many blessings I do not abuse my body as such again , I do not suffer your dilemma . I am just representing reality here drugs are not the answer dear ones ... it would seem some are upset , and so I will leave you to your thread .. be at peace as I leave with grace namaste ॐ / |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Cliff48 on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:09pm muso wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:03pm:
I agree about the doctor muso. I was just explaining what worked for me. As I also said, migraines come in many forms, (in_the_light is another form that there is no medication for :) |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Honky on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:25pm Cliff48 wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 8:38pm:
Inflammation is the bodies natural reaction to an irritant. Is it really "relief" to stop your body healing itself? |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Cliff48 on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:29pm ... wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:25pm:
if healing itself is causing a migraine .... i would say yes. of course, you would have to know what a migraine is. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Honky on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:33pm Cliff48 wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:29pm:
You get some relief from scratching scabs off cuts too, but it still interferes with the healing process. What is a migraine by the way? |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by muso on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:55pm ... wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:25pm:
Ask an Asthmatic or somebody suffering from anaphylaxis. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Honky on Mar 19th, 2014 at 10:37pm muso wrote on Mar 19th, 2014 at 9:55pm:
I'm sure they'd tell me that the cost of interfering with it (uncertain) is less than that of not, (death) or words to that effect. But migraines, aka a softcocks headache, are not even close to fatal. The choices we make... |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Herbert on Mar 20th, 2014 at 5:39am
Blood vessels in the brain dilate and exert pressure on surrounding nerve cells ~ hence one experiences pain.
I never did quite understand that. The brain has no pain receptors I've read somewhere, and so ... |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Winston Smith on Mar 20th, 2014 at 7:23am red baron wrote on Mar 18th, 2014 at 6:44pm:
... wrote on Mar 18th, 2014 at 8:04pm:
Decapitation? :-? |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Honky on Mar 20th, 2014 at 8:05am
If inflammation is a response to an irritant, it makes more sense to remove the irritant than to mask the bodies response to it by adding another substance.
It's like applying a band aid to a stab wound - with the knife still in it. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by tickleandrose on Mar 20th, 2014 at 9:02am
There are heaps of ways they can treat migraines. And migraines can be caused by many things. In addition to the other trigger factors that others have listed here, women can have migraine trigger by even menstrual period - I heard its something about variation in oestrogen levels.
At the first instance, she probably need to go and see a neurologist if problem is chronic and recurrent to establish the correct diagnosis (I have heard of people who have long term brain bleed or tumour been misdiagnosed as migraines) . And then, she can have access to better meds like nasal sprays or preventitive medications. Hope she finds relief soon. |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by bobbythebat1 on Mar 20th, 2014 at 9:11am
My aunty used to get shocking migraines & the only thing that
would stop them was an injection of pethidine given to her by her doctor. (this was back in the 60s & 70's ) There was a bad side effect: It sometimes resulted in her leaving the doctor's surgery & vomiting in the gutter but at least it stopped the migraine. I hope this helps? |
Title: Re: Migraines - any really good cures? Post by Winston Smith on Mar 20th, 2014 at 7:03pm
After a lifetime of dealing with headaches of one variety or other, I have found that a little Paracetamol, a little Aspirin and a little Caffeine, at the first signs of a headache, to be effective. Having an orgasm also helps, but it can be hard to get past the pain. ;)