General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> ICAC Starting to bite the Libs http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1398663837 Message started by Lord Sir BigVic VSD and Bar on Apr 28th, 2014 at 3:43pm |
Title: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Lord Sir BigVic VSD and Bar on Apr 28th, 2014 at 3:43pm
My! My! Better shut this ICAC thingo down Libs - some very interesting things came out today!
http://www.news.com.au/national/nsw-act/icac-more-than-400000-in-hidden-donations-funnelled-through-liberal-party-slush-fund-run-by-former-minister-chris-hartcher/story-fnii5s3x-1226898341297 |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Bam on Apr 28th, 2014 at 3:59pm
The Liberals have a lot of explaining to do!
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on Apr 28th, 2014 at 4:12pm
the chickens are coming home to roost. .... ;D ;D ;D ;D
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Dame Pansi on Apr 28th, 2014 at 4:30pm LOL!!!! Tony Abbott Verified account @TonyAbbottMHR ICAC #ThisIsLabor |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by St George of the Holy Copper on Apr 28th, 2014 at 4:34pm |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on Apr 28th, 2014 at 5:31pm
totally shameful...I am disgusted...
slush funds where have I heard that before????.. so do you lefties agree that anyone found by either ICAC or a ROYAL to be corrupt /breaking their own rules/stealing/lying/cheating..you name it?.. needs to be hung out to dry.. or are you only after Lin scalps...which is a shame. but not entirely unexpected..as I do not recall any lefties being sickened by the Obeid corruptions in fact they didnt like any righty talking about it.. ::) ::) just would like to know thats all..no need to abuse. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on Apr 28th, 2014 at 5:32pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 4:30pm:
fair enough.. BUT WHO BROUGHT IN ICAC OR THE ROYALS>>???? sorry mate but not LABOR> |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Knight Errant Sir Grappler on Apr 28th, 2014 at 5:33pm
As long as they establish the rules for cheating and fraud and theft and insider trading and 'jobs for the cronies' etc - and end up catching the lot - I'll be content. Party has no relevance when they are criminals and cheats of the public purse.
At Water's End! |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Dame Pansi on Apr 28th, 2014 at 5:56pm cods wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 5:32pm:
Just laughing because Tony was so smug thinking he was only going to catch little labor fishies but ended up catching more lib fishies. I know it's not over yet, we'll tally up on the last day. I just hope it teaches them a lesson but I doubt it, they'll just cover their tracks better from now on. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Bam on Apr 28th, 2014 at 6:11pm cods wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 5:31pm:
I think you're suffering from the same disease as Sinodinos and others - selective amnesia. There's been loads of condemnation from across the political spectrum denouncing corrupt behaviour in general without regard for political affiliation. You won't find many left-leaning posters defending Obeid. It is good that ICAC exists to kick over the political rocks to see what hides beneath. Like most posters, I want political corruption brought forth and punished without regard to political affiliation. We cannot, however, look at the outcome of the latest ICAC hearings without some sense of irony. This is why Abbott's ill-judged tweet gets reposted a bit. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by St George of the Holy Copper on Apr 28th, 2014 at 6:22pm Quote:
http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/liberal-mp-marie-ficarra-asked-to-step-aside-over-corruption-inquiry-20140428-zr0np.html |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Aussie on Apr 28th, 2014 at 6:26pm St George of the Garden wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 6:22pm:
$5000 seems to be a recurring theme within the LNP. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on Apr 28th, 2014 at 6:32pm Bam wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 6:11pm:
really perhaps you can post some up.. as you seem to have such a good memory you wont have a bit of trouble finding them will you? I DIDNT SAY DEFEND>>. read the content.. I SAID SICKENED BY HIS DISHONESTY... and no I didnt see any of that....but would like to read what I missed.. Abbott I am sure would be up front and say well so be it.. if they are crooked weed them out dont care who they are..its sad to think this goes on... but no one claimed GILLARD OR RUDD knew about what went on in NSW Labor.. so I assume no one expects Abbott to be aware of what goes on in NSW LIBS. when will questions be asked about the BIGGEST DONATION IN AUST HISTORY WOTIF? |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on Apr 28th, 2014 at 6:33pm Aussie wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 6:26pm:
twice,.. WOW well its not like $100 million is it???..... ::) ::) $5000 that would have been someones lunch money from what I have read.. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by St George of the Holy Copper on Apr 28th, 2014 at 6:46pm |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by St George of the Holy Copper on Apr 28th, 2014 at 7:14pm So true. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by austranger on Apr 28th, 2014 at 7:22pm
Both sides of politics must be icacking themselves tonight! ;D
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Bam on Apr 28th, 2014 at 7:40pm cods wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 6:32pm:
Use the search function and look for "Obeid" and "corrupt" Quote:
Don't move the goalposts by pretending to be speaking in any other manner than metaphorically. Quote:
You were posting in those threads. You should be well aware that very few people (if any) were defending Obeid, even among the left-leaning posters. Quote:
Of course not. Gillard - Victorian Labor MP originally from South Australia. Rudd - Queensland Labor MP. No NSW there. Quote:
Abbott - NSW Liberal MP. Oh look. NSW. Abbott is more likely to know what is going on in his own branch of his party than Rudd or Gillard knew what went on in other branches. I'm not claiming he knew, but he is on record as wanting to crack down on lobbyists within his own party several months ago. Why is this? |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Knight Errant Sir Grappler on Apr 28th, 2014 at 8:22pm cods wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 6:33pm:
Maybe so, but it's the thought that counts....... I say ten years each or hang 'em high! |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by froggie on Apr 28th, 2014 at 8:32pm Bam wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 7:40pm:
I think he may have had a slight inkling of what was going on..... Quote:
http://www.news.com.au/national/tony-nutt-set-to-be-confirmed-as-the-new-state-director-of-the-nsw-liberal-party/story-fncynjr2-1226897663740 :D :D |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by froggie on Apr 28th, 2014 at 8:35pm
I feel that there could be some re-structuring of ICAC before years end...
;) |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Knight Errant Sir Grappler on Apr 28th, 2014 at 8:40pm
Corby Standard of Guilt - if it's in his boogie board bag - it's his!
This reminds me of John Howard and the distance between him and Tony Abbott and Peter Costello when they had a slush fund to do down Pauline Hanson. When it all came out in public, Wee Johnnie was 'shocked' and threw his hands in the air, saying like The Good Sergeant Schultz:- "I know NU-THING! I see NU-THING!". It was in his boogie board bag, though..... |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Peter Freedman on Apr 28th, 2014 at 8:44pm
Where's our mate labourarecorrupt?
Bet he won't show his face around this thread. Cods, corruption should be ferreted out wherever it exists. Liberal supporters like your good self need to recognise their party is far from clean. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by john_g on Apr 28th, 2014 at 9:08pm
Labor, Liberal, Liberal, Labor, they're all as crook as one another.
You have to wonder if there are ANY decent politicians left in this country?? Maybe Xenophon and Madigan? What gets me is how anyone could support either of the major two parties, whilst criticising the other side for doing something that their favourrd side has done as well - hypocrites, all of you, and from both sides. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on Apr 28th, 2014 at 9:29pm Peter Freedman wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 8:44pm:
now now Peter when have I ever said they were??????????, fair go you lefties never stop do you, I am one of the few that never stands up for my own side if they do the wrong thing.. since when have you condemned OBEID I have yet to see it?... in fact the Obeid threads were avoided by every lefty on here..and if their name him and THOMO were brought up just to remind you guys how bad some of your people have been .. didnt they yelp... at least give me a bit of credit once in a while .. O'Farrell where did I make excuses for him??>. yet THOMO all we got were excuse and C&P from the Independent telling us how honest he was and everyone else was guilty bar him.. thats right even his name was spelt wrong.so he must be innocent.... but no mention of him calling himself Jeff Thompson.. ::) ::) what do you think should happen to OBEID and Mcdonald.??? throw in tripodi whilst you are thinking about it.... I would like to know what the left think should happen to them.. their crime was a lot worse than the Premiers and it cost him his job.. those guys have no job to lose do they? so what punishment would you give them? |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on Apr 28th, 2014 at 9:37pm john_g wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 9:08pm:
you do have a point of course..and its terrible really that we are witnessing this in this day and age.. its not as if they dont get enough is it??.. anyway I personally am a liberal thinker..I dont buy the everyone is equal no matter what... that is unless we are all rich with huge bank accounts.. ::) ::) the unions guys pay themselves pretty hefty salaries.. more than any of their members would earn anyway.. what was it Williamson was getting.. MICHAEL Williamson defrauded millions from the union protecting some of the state’s lowest paid workers to ensure his private school educated children did not suffer from “financial hardship”, despite his $500,000 salary. plus perks.. and it wasnt enough.. I dont tar all pollies with the same brush but its good to see them being sorted out and the penalty should be high because of the position of trust that they have had.. thats if they ever want us to trust them again.. we are not hypocrites at all. we just dont give up because of a few rotten apples.. strewth if we did that at every turn... the country would be in a right old state.. get over it sunshine..this way at least we know someone is watching the bastards. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Sir Phoney Liebral on Apr 28th, 2014 at 9:54pm
It seems both sides are as corrupt as each other.
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on Apr 28th, 2014 at 10:00pm Lobo wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 8:35pm:
is it because of that damn budget emergency again???? bloody labor, wasted all that money now we can't even afford ICAC ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on Apr 28th, 2014 at 10:06pm cods wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 9:29pm:
when the topic is about liberal corruption, why is it that you invest 5 words on the libs, and another 50 on labor or lefties? you can pretend you condemn libs, and strictly speaking you do, but your constant attempts to deflect to labor and attacking 'lefties' show you for the true hypocrite you are. All you try to do is deflect deflect deflect how about just condemning the people mentioned in the OP without mentioning labor, just once? I'm betting you can't do it you're so rusted on. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by froggie on Apr 28th, 2014 at 10:08pm Quote:
That'll more than likely be the reason given...... :D |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on Apr 28th, 2014 at 10:12pm Lobo wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 10:08pm:
I'd bet $100 thats the reason given ;D ;D ;D ;D ;) |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by froggie on Apr 28th, 2014 at 10:13pm
Will also be very interesting to see what unexpected surprises Abbott's RC throws up....
The shredders in high places will be going into overdrive. ;D ;D |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on Apr 28th, 2014 at 10:15pm Lobo wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 10:13pm:
I have a sneaking suspicion that the RC will also come back to bite him on the budgie smugglers ...... it couldn't happen to a nicer guy ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Bam on Apr 28th, 2014 at 10:29pm Lobo wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 10:08pm:
I doubt they will try this. The best way of dealing with an infection is to lance it and let the pus flow free, rather than covering it up and letting it fester. So too would corruption be best dealt with by breaking it open and drawing it out rather than hiding it. If the Liberals try to cover it up, they might win an election or two, but when it eventually comes out it will come out hard and the Liberals could suffer an election loss as devastating as the one that NSW Labor suffered for similar reasons. Even if they did try it, too much has already come out for the public to be convinced. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Peter Freedman on Apr 29th, 2014 at 6:17am cods wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 9:29pm:
I will condemn Obeid and co when they are tried and convicted. As for sentencing, that is up to the judge. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by philperth2010 on Apr 29th, 2014 at 7:09am
What I do not understand is how the Liberal party and senior members did not know, or remember where the money was coming from.....Surely someone within the party must have had some idea???
:-? :-? :-? |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by True Blue... on Apr 29th, 2014 at 7:15am
doesn't matter who they are or what party they are in if they are found out then they need to go....
everybody should be welcoming this no matter what... at least most of them are so ashamed of themselves that they have "resigned" ... this is a good message too... we've seen some hang around for years living off the tax payer until they are finally dumped or thrown out by the people at the next election... this will bring in a new wave of honest (cough) politician who isn't making decisions based on who is filling their pockets the most... |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by philperth2010 on Apr 29th, 2014 at 7:24am True Blue... wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 7:15am:
The sacrificial Lamb.....The party must have known where the money was coming from yet senior members remained silent.....Just because someone jumps on their sword does not mean they acted alone!!! >:( >:( >:( |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by True Blue... on Apr 29th, 2014 at 7:29am
I think there have been four people that have stood down now...
there will be more to come and charges laid... people want to see justice and feel that in the past we've never seen it... just recently we are starting to see a change where these crooks will be weeded out and taken down... we just need a national standard of ICAC as some other states seem a bit weak... |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on Apr 29th, 2014 at 8:11am philperth2010 wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 7:24am:
true..its hard to believe that no one knew about it..??? come on we didnt come down with yesterdays shower... its like the obeids corruption he was doing it for years.... yet no one noticed....I dont believe it. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on Apr 29th, 2014 at 8:20am Peter Freedman wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 6:17am:
oh thats a cop out Pete...you are condemning righties and they havent even been accused... |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on Apr 29th, 2014 at 8:25am Fit of Absent Mindeness wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 9:54pm:
the country was born on corruption.. THE RUM REBELLION.. not a lot has changed its just more sophisticated and the prizes are bigger..and the cheats/thieves more arrogant.. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Lord Sir BigVic VSD and Bar on Apr 29th, 2014 at 8:26am
What began two years ago as a referral to authorities of a suspicious $5000 political donation from a central coast builder has grown into a full-blown inquiry that threatens to expose the entire election funding structure of the NSW Liberal Party.
As it does so, the latest Independent Commission Against Corruption investigation is also threatening the careers of a serving minister, a former minister and three government backbenchers, while raising serious questions about the actions of some of the NSW party's most senior officials. http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/icac-inquiry-opening-up-a-can-of-liberal-worms-20140428-zr0sy.html Wow - it certainly is expanding |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Lord Herbert on Apr 29th, 2014 at 8:51am
Where's Bobby and his gallows? Hang 'em, and hang 'em HIGH!
And yes, the Usual (ethnic) Suspects have been found to be the initiators of these corrupt shenanigans. It really is time the internal investigation units began 'ethnic profiling' of our politicians for corrupt practices. Habits from the Old Countries die hard. Nabil Gazal ~ Lebanese. The main player who initiated the corruption and got it snowballing among his venal dupes. Eddie Obeid ~ Lebanese. Ditto the above. And now we've got more of the Usual Suspects being unearthed from their hiding places: Marie Ficarra Paul Nicolaou Ethnic blood is thicker than water. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Pastafarian on Apr 29th, 2014 at 8:52am Lord Herbert wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 8:51am:
Lol, right. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on Apr 29th, 2014 at 9:00am Lord Herbert wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 8:51am:
its interesting but most of the gangs are also of the same..........well.. you know what??? |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on Apr 29th, 2014 at 11:16am Lord Herbert wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 8:51am:
how convenient of you to leave the names with an anglo background !!!! ;D ;D ;D ;D Chris Hartcher ,Anthony Roberts, Darren Webber, Chris Spence ...I'm sure theres more but I've gotta run idiot, In a country where a large portion of the population has an ethnic background, its not hard to find ethnics in any large groupings ..... |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Lord Herbert on Apr 29th, 2014 at 11:39am Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 8:52am:
There's definitely a hang-over here from the Old Country. We've got about 95% Anglos in Federal and State governments ~ with about 0.001% of them being found corrupt ... and then we've got about 5% ethnics in Federal and State government ~ with damn-near half of them floating to the surface as buoyant faeces in any of the corruption inquiries. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by St George of the Holy Copper on Apr 29th, 2014 at 12:03pm
And all this from ONE day at this ICAC hearing! What a stinking mess.
http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/the-exminister-the-tycoons-the-super-yacht-and-the-corrupt-political-system-20140428-zr0ss.html More on the matter from the indefatigable Kate McClymont – and Geoffrey Watson’s magnificent quip about The Parrot. here is The Guardian’s take on ICAC. http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/apr/28/icac-shadowy-political-fundraisers-dragged-into-the-light-of-day Sean Nichols on the can of worms that is the NSW Liberal Party. http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/icac-inquiry-opening-up-a-can-of-liberal-worms-20140428-zr0sy.html Christian Brothers in crime. What a disgusting quagmire of depraved, tolerated behaviour. My they rot in their Hell. http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/apr/28/child-abuse-west-australian-victims-of-christian-brothers-to-tell-their-stories Are the Christian Brothers all Lebanese too, Herbie? |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Lord Herbert on Apr 29th, 2014 at 12:48pm John Smith wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 11:16am:
As a percentage of the total Anglos in government, it's a decimal fraction, but not so with the Middle Eastern, Greek and Italian names. All I'm saying is that 'multiculturalism' is not all about exotic foods and recipes. Ethnic 'networking' is not always for the good of this country. John Smith wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 11:16am:
Don't tell me ICAC's after you too ... ? ;Di |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on Apr 29th, 2014 at 1:01pm Lord Herbert wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 12:48pm:
you're full of crap Herb ... you cherry pick Greek Italian and Lebanese names and leave out all the others otherwise they'd make your claims look like the racist crap it is ... Racism is never good for the country :D :D :D |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Lord Herbert on Apr 29th, 2014 at 1:03pm St George of the Garden wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 12:03pm:
Totally different issue. ICAC is investigating the subject of systemic corruption amongst ministers of the crown for the purposes of financial gain at the expence of turning federal and State governments into Mafia organisations. Check up how many governments Italy's had since the war. They simply don't know how to play an honest game without reverting to the stereotype of the mafia gangster. I'll let the rest of you ignore this elephant-in-the-room. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on Apr 29th, 2014 at 1:04pm Lord Herbert wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 1:03pm:
now you want to drag the Italian Mafia into it? ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D getting desperate there Herb. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Lord Herbert on Apr 29th, 2014 at 1:11pm John Smith wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 1:01pm:
It's not me cherry-picking them ~ it's ICAC. John Smith wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 1:01pm:
This is not 'racism' ~ it's 'ethnic culturalism'. Australia is said to be 'multicultural'. I've been referring to national 'cultures' ~ not race. But HANG ON, John! You were running from ICAC a moment ago, and now you're back! Did you give the guys at the door with their shades and ear-pieces a bottle of expensive wine ... ? 8-) |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Knight Errant Sir Grappler on Apr 29th, 2014 at 1:12pm
https://au.news.yahoo.com/a/23058784/icac-nsw-builder-tells-inquiry-into-party-donations-something-stunk-about-payments-to-eightbyfive/
A funny thing happened on the way to the ICAC... For those who say 'only $5000' - the total amount was hundreds of thousands. Looks like the suggestion of publicly funded election campaigns could be a starter. Would certainly open up the field for the new independent or party...... |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Peter Freedman on Apr 29th, 2014 at 3:21pm cods wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 8:20am:
Hang on. Which "righties" have I condemned? Apart from this laborarecorrupt idiot who is strangely absent from this discussion. What a surprise. Maybe you could send him an invitation? |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on Apr 29th, 2014 at 6:30pm Lord Herbert wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 1:11pm:
it's no wonder you suffer from migranes .... anyone who had to listen to you all day would have a migrane |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on Apr 29th, 2014 at 6:32pm Peter Freedman wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 3:21pm:
you besmirched a righty but daring to include the name of one in a thread about corruption ... that is a cardinal sin in Cods books |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Peter Freedman on Apr 29th, 2014 at 6:34pm Grappler Truth Teller wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 1:12pm:
I've always supported public funding. You need to work out a formula. But it would be open, transparent. Do away with all the corruption, brown envelopes under the table. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by OldnCrusty on Apr 29th, 2014 at 7:12pm Grappler Truth Teller wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 1:12pm:
I haven't seen all of the for and against arguments but I think it could be a good outcome, especially if they have moderate funds to avoid mind numbing repetitive ads. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by OldnCrusty on Apr 29th, 2014 at 7:17pm Peter Freedman wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 6:34pm:
It will do away with SOME of the corruption. There's still the issue of paid holidays and $3500 bottles of wine. And as sure as eggs, as soon as you cut off one options others will be exploded and exploited >:(. The price of reduced corruption is continual vigilance ;). Long live the ICAC :). |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on Apr 29th, 2014 at 7:24pm Peter Freedman wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 3:21pm:
sorry pete it was a generic YOU.. meaning lefties. in general.. calling someone an idiot is not demeaning oh well.. ::) why should I send anyone a message do it yourself.. lazy thing. dont be surprised pete! when the boot was on the other foot we were flat out getting any response on the topic it was usually personal attacks only.. its a shame the boards are now going down same path again...personal insults.. doesnt matter what the topic is..I find it hard to believe that people cannot ignore those they dislike...or just cannot find some way to agree to disagree without being unpleasant.. never mind pete I am sure your love of laborarecorrupt...will inspire him to come back.. maybe on holidays who knows.. I have noticed kat is missing havent seen him in a while or adelcrow....you must miss them as well. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on Apr 29th, 2014 at 7:28pm OldnCrusty wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 7:17pm:
a slush fund is one thing... but lining your own pockets is something else again.. I am so waiting to see what jail time they get.. if its anything like what was given to THOMO.. we must ask ourselves.. whats the POINT>. really what is the POINT>.. 3 months is hardly a life sentence in todays society they can go on and on and on look at ALan Bond..he came out just the same as he went in.. RICH>< |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Lord Sir BigVic VSD and Bar on Apr 29th, 2014 at 7:32pm
Looks like things are getting worse for the NSW Libs. . Can someone please come in and scream thommo and obeid in capital letters? That makes it all so much better
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Lord Herbert on Apr 29th, 2014 at 8:20pm OldnCrusty wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 7:17pm:
Well said. As long as people are short of cash for what they need or want, there will always be people who are open to corruption. It's never going to go away. The most that can be done is to keep it to a minimum, and part of this should be to give very heavy sentences to those who are caught, so this acts as a deterrent ... which, needless to say, doesn't happen. And so the war on corruption through instrumentalities such as ICAC is mostly pantomime and window-dressing, with the worst of the culprits getting very lenient sentences that justify the risks they took to reap a fortune through dishonest means. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Lord Herbert on Apr 29th, 2014 at 8:29pm cods wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 7:28pm:
It's a slap-on-the-wrist that let's others know that it's worth taking the risk to commit these sort of crimes that can reap a small fortune. Every lenient sentence is a gold-framed "Better Luck Next Time!" goodwill message to these sort of rorters. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Knight Errant Sir Grappler on Apr 30th, 2014 at 12:07am Peter Freedman wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 6:34pm:
Joh.. JOH - don't you worry about that - just leave that, you know, leave that paper bag under the table, you mark my words, not one word will pass out of this room! Yes - a cast iron formula would need to be in place and wherever there is a system some rat will find a way to get around it. Cost of enforcement would be huge, and thus we could only rely on the 'halo effect' of shooting only one in ten.... You have to understand these things - one reason for public servant corruption in taking cash is a conspiracy in which a form/application will be 'hand carried' through the system - since only one in ten AT MOST will be checked. Look at your Tax people and so forth.. your government handout people for education and so forth.... welfare.. health system in Queensland in recent memory...how many times has a public servant gotten off with millions... Enforcement and control are very difficult issues in such an environment.... |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Knight Errant Sir Grappler on Apr 30th, 2014 at 12:11am Lord Herbert wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 8:20pm:
Deterrent/halo effect as above.... an issue that itself can engender corruption of another sort - you need only to look at 'traffic infringements' to see that - a cop at night on a highway will just grab people at random under the assumption that they will be speeding anyway at some time at night so why not get them - and when the rest see the flashing blue and red (bleed) of the victim's lifeblood on the road - they slow down. Helps but does not cure, but creates another generation of victims..... perhaps a lengthy stay in a gulag would help.... on proof positive.... |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Knight Errant Sir Grappler on Apr 30th, 2014 at 12:16am Lord Herbert wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 8:29pm:
I knew some guys once who robbed a pizza boy and got fifteen months or so... an Aboriginal guy worked out they got a month for each ten dollars or so... DUM.... Bondie got away with a MINIMUM of $50m - got two years and a drool at the next round... Hmm - $25m a year... In my first book (part two) I cite the case of an 'Asian' (you guess which group) drug dealer who got two years for dealing - his response? "I do this two years - I here, my girlfriend in my house already paid and look after.. I am look after here.. I own one house, paying for one more! If I caught again - maybe get five year - nothing for what I get!" His children will one day be doctors, lawyers and politicians and will run this country - the rest will be struggling to stay alive. TRUTH! |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Knight Errant Sir Grappler on Apr 30th, 2014 at 12:21am cods wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 7:28pm:
... and a slush fund that benefits you and allows you to be elected and THEN line your pockets is?? Stand back and do some solid thinking, Grasshopper... |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Dame Pansi on May 2nd, 2014 at 2:34pm Another one bites the dust..... Police minister Michael Gallacher accused of colluding in corrupt political donations scheme NSW Premier Mike Baird concedes the corruption allegations against his police minister are serious. “I’m aware of the allegations,” Mr Baird told reporters in Canberra. “They are serious.” He says he will comment further later on Friday Mr Gallacher was accused this morning of hatching a corrupt scheme to solicit illegal donations from mining magnate Nathan Tinkler. Mr Watson SC accused Buildev boss Darren Williams of colluding with Mr Gallacher over a corrupt political donation scheme. Buildev is Mr Tinkler’s property developing company. http://www.news.com.au/national/nsw-act/police-minister-michael-gallacher-accused-of-colluding-in-corrupt-political-donations-scheme/story-fnii5s3x-1229603166316 |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Peter Freedman on May 2nd, 2014 at 2:40pm cods wrote on Apr 29th, 2014 at 7:24pm:
When I go on holiday at Xmas, I'll take my IPad. Why not? I don't miss any of the people you mentioned. But if you left, I'd miss you......so hang on it there. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by PZ547 on May 2nd, 2014 at 2:50pm
I want to see LNP very publicly exposed as being as dirty as their alleged 'opposition' (they're actually all buddies in it together, but you know, we have to pretend we have a choice between two fake, Israeli-controlled packs of liars and thieves)
But the fact is, ICAC itself is a joke First, question the 'Independent' claim Independent? When ICAC is paid by the same government it's paid to investigate ICAC is performance-art for the benefit of the taxpayer ICAC is as corrupt as the crooks it claims to investigate, in my opinion and my opinion is based on personal experience Plus, I still have the documentation which damns ICAC What a joke |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by perceptions_now on May 2nd, 2014 at 2:58pm
Now, how does it go again?
Oh yes - "Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely. I'm sure there are "Rules & Exceptions", But the standard rule is tending more & more, towards those in power thinking that they are the Exceptions & they can simply do what they want, to further their short term interests and to hell with the best, long term interests of all of the OZ Public. Well, it's time, time to deliver a message, to all incumbents, in all levels of OZ Government - SACK THE INCUMBENT! |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on May 2nd, 2014 at 5:11pm Peter Freedman wrote on May 2nd, 2014 at 2:40pm:
me too pete so dont you go anywhere either.. we have to have different perspectives otherwise life would be one big bore wouldnt it.. I trust all is well in your world.. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on May 2nd, 2014 at 5:14pm perceptions_now wrote on May 2nd, 2014 at 2:58pm:
well the libs are sacking themselves.. left right and centre..cant complain about them/./ they are not complaining they dun nuffink wrong or someone set them up....well so far.. its sad its embarrassing its very very undignified... so far all I can say in the libs favor is none of the bribes seem to have ended up in their own pockets..... lets hope it remains that way... it doesnt take anything away from the fact they broke the law....and should step down.and hide in shame. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by PZ547 on May 2nd, 2014 at 5:17pm
The entire gang should be called Lib-Labor R Us
Sure, there has to be a pretence of a choice between two parties but to differentiate between the two gangs of crooks is tantamount to trying to split a hair and not worth the bother |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on May 2nd, 2014 at 7:12pm PZ547 wrote on May 2nd, 2014 at 5:17pm:
so do you think calling two other parties by a different name.. it will stop the rot???>.... the thing is.. what will the end result be.. will anyone go to jail???... will anyone have to give anything back??? will anyone lose their magnificent pension.?? probably not.. so why not take the risk.. this has been going on for a long time. god only knows what they have got away with in the past... |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on May 2nd, 2014 at 7:50pm
And another one bites the dust ... although this one wasn't due to ICAC .... he was busted by other means
https://au.news.yahoo.com/a/23160766/qld-mp-david-gibson-to-quit-politics/ |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Lord Herbert on May 2nd, 2014 at 8:06pm John Smith wrote on May 2nd, 2014 at 7:50pm:
'Mistakes' ~ don't you love it? He made 'mistakes'. Left something out on his shopping list. Put different coloured socks on. Forgot to recharge his mobile phone. Sent a Christmas card to the wrong address. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on May 2nd, 2014 at 9:17pm Lord Herbert wrote on May 2nd, 2014 at 8:06pm:
no,, I think he accidently stole $7000 from the army ..... |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by philperth2010 on May 2nd, 2014 at 9:24pm
Both the ALP and Coalition are corrupt and self serving.....Will there be any politicians left after this is over???
:-? :-? :-? Crime does not pay ... as well as politics. Alfred E. Newman |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Bam on May 2nd, 2014 at 9:55pm cods wrote on May 2nd, 2014 at 5:14pm:
We can complain about them because they are still in the Parliament. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Knight Errant Sir Grappler on May 2nd, 2014 at 11:25pm John Smith wrote on May 2nd, 2014 at 9:17pm:
Hmm - mate of mine, now deceased, was a WO in Provosts after being a WO in the SAS.. he would have accidentally shot him. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Lord Herbert on May 3rd, 2014 at 7:43am John Smith wrote on May 2nd, 2014 at 9:17pm:
He mistakenly thought it was his backpay from his long service leave ... |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Knight Errant Sir Grappler on May 3rd, 2014 at 8:17am Lord Herbert wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 7:43am:
**face palm! Of course - never thought of that! |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Lord Herbert on May 3rd, 2014 at 8:44am Grappler Truth Teller wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 8:17am:
I think it's grossly unfair that our jails are filled with morally innocent people who simply made a mistake and were then caught by the Mistake Police. The ordinary police had nothing to arrest them for, because they didn't commit crimes. It was only when their mistakes were discovered that someone phoned the Mistake Police to arrest them and bring them before the Mistake Courts ~ not the normal Criminal Courts. Next time the checkout chick at your local supermarket gets the price on something wrong ~ contact the Mistake Police. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Bam on May 3rd, 2014 at 9:09am
This is why the Liberals need to drop their silly objection to lowering the disclosure threshold for political donations. They consistently increase the thresholds and block any moves to lower it to more sensible levels. As long as the Liberals demand high thresholds, they cannot be trusted. What are they hiding? ICAC is revealing what the Liberals prefer to keep hidden.
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on May 3rd, 2014 at 9:13am Lord Herbert wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 7:43am:
so what? he went to the nearest cash box and helped himself? ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D and people voted for this twat? |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on May 3rd, 2014 at 9:15am Bam wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 9:09am:
its time every bloody dollar was accounted for.. ITS TIME> its like the banks having to tell when someone moves more than $10.000...so what happens they start moving it in $.9.750.00.lots.. its the same with this... as long a s its a few dollars under turn a blind eye.. pathetic. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Lord Herbert on May 3rd, 2014 at 10:33am John Smith wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 9:13am:
He made a mistake. Haven't YOU ever made a mistake? Didn't you ever drive down a One Way street by accident? Or phone up the wrong number? Or put your jocks on back-to-front in a darkened bedroom? Or use your partner's toothbrush by accident? Glass houses, Bucko. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by PZ547 on May 3rd, 2014 at 10:36am Grappler Truth Teller wrote on May 2nd, 2014 at 11:25pm:
;D Apt |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by OldnCrusty on May 3rd, 2014 at 11:12am Lord Herbert wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 10:33am:
No. Never. Lord Herbert wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 10:33am:
Gees, it been a long time 10-15 years ago. And then maybe once or twice. Lord Herbert wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 10:33am:
No. Never Lord Herbert wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 10:33am:
No. Never. But I've been in the military and know you never get anything without signing in triplicate. And cash is never left just lying around, never. Not in the barracks and not in an office, never. You can lose 20,000 in battlke but if you lose your pistol, a marked map or cash you will be courtmarshalled - peace time or war time. Mr Gibson is lying through his teeth. No court nor investigating officer would believe the BS. If no conviction was recorded it would only have been for a reason other than his innocence or lack of evidence. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Bam on May 3rd, 2014 at 11:50am Lord Herbert wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 10:33am:
What is your evidence for this? Or is this just your unfounded opinion? |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Grendel on May 3rd, 2014 at 11:53am
Personally I don't care what party they belong to, the sooner we put a broom through the lot of them and boot the corrupt and unscrupulous out the better.
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Bam on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:11pm Grendel wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 11:53am:
Agreed. And put in place fundamental reforms to ensure it doesn't happen again - or, at least, is made a lot harder. A few ideas:
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Peter Freedman on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:15pm cods wrote on May 2nd, 2014 at 5:11pm:
Yep, all is fine. May be moving quite soon, but will remain in the valley. This place is my home and I'm staying put. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Peter Freedman on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:20pm Bam wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:11pm:
I see some problems. Under your rules, anyone wanting to give, say, $20,000 to a party could easily give it in $500 lots and avoid any publicity. I support banning ALL private funding. The parties would receive public funding based on their membership numbers. The more members, the more dosh. May sound extreme, but would be totally open. We would all know who got what and where it came from. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:22pm Lord Herbert wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 10:33am:
mistake my arse ... no one takes $7000 by mistake . Gullible fools like you are the reaso we have so much corruption ... they count on it. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:26pm Grendel wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 11:53am:
I agree with that ... sack them all and start again, anyone who is a member of any of the parties cannot run |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:28pm Bam wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:11pm:
an even easier way, publicly fund election campaigns. Do not allow private funds into campaigns at all. Everyone gets the same amount, and given what the taxpayers spend to uncover all this corruption, it will probably save us a small fortune as well. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:30pm Peter Freedman wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:20pm:
what happens the next time Murdoch runs a front page with 'time to kick this mob out'.... isn't that also a private donation to the liberal party? |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Bam on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:31pm Peter Freedman wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:20pm:
My understanding of existing rules was that it was assessed on the totals, not the size of the individual donations. Quote:
It would be problematic to do it this way. It is better to allocate funding based on the number of primary votes. Quote:
We do need better accountability and transparency. The wall of concealment that parties erect around their financial backers - the Liberals in particular - should be torn down so we can see what is going on. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by DaS Energy on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:35pm John Smith wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:22pm:
It was his other self not him who wrote out the dogdy invoices, it was his other self who spent the criminal obtained money, it was his other self who faced non specific criminal charges, it was his other self who was found guilty of specific criminal charges, it was his other self placed on a good behaviour for his other selfs criminal behaviour, but its himself doing a sickie till next election, apparently a bit woozy in the tum tum. Never mind all better soon, a good old paid rest and pension and all will fade away. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Grendel on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:35pm Bam wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:11pm:
Let's not complicate life. Let's not give anyone an excuse. No political donations. Every political party should have access to TV and Radio and have equal time on each. It should be part of the license deal for those media at election times. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Bam on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:37pm John Smith wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:26pm:
We shouldn't tar them all with the same brush. There's a few decent people in politics. It's why I like Xenophon a lot. I would vote for him if he lived in my state. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Knight Errant Sir Grappler on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:37pm
If you retrospectively pay on primary votes, you are continuing to entrench the current two parties anyway - and thus are working against democracy. Same with paying based on party members.
ALL parties and independents should receive equal funding and thus be permitted to mount an equal campaign. Donations need to include volunteer work too - and ensure that equal treatment is given fairly. Some of the best-paid volunteers in the world sit at polling booths.... and you only get the volunteer party workers you pay for..... |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:37pm Grendel wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:35pm:
that'll work .... ;) |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by philperth2010 on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:38pm Lord Herbert wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 10:33am:
You sound like Troy Buswell......And no I have never done what Troy has done!!! ::) ::) ::) http://www.abc.net.au/news/2014-04-30/police-release-audio-of-emergency-call-about-troy-buswell27s-n/5422192 |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:39pm Bam wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:37pm:
you can name one out of the hundreds ... doesn't that concern you? poli's make decisions that adversly affect innocent bystanders all the time ... its time they got the same medicine. Xenophon (and I agree he seems pretty decent) and a few other innocents parties will just have to cop it. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by St George of the Holy Copper on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:42pm
Mr X is a media junkie who in all his years in Parliament has not been able to reduce the number of pokies by even one machine. So now he is changing his branding so people won’t ask him why he hasn’t stopped a single pokie machine. Blah!
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Lord Herbert on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:43pm John Smith wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:22pm:
Since the luvvies took over the judiciary ~ no one is guilty of 'crimes'. The people in jail are there because they all made 'a mistake'. Talk to any social worker who deals with prisoners and they'll tell you the inmates are in jail only because they made 'a mistake'. It's considered vulgar and 'insensitive' to even 'think' that prisoners are guilty of crimes. It's THEY who are the victims, stupid. 8-) |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:45pm Lord Herbert wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:43pm:
did you overdose on your meds this morning? I don't care about you and your issues with your social worker .... stick to topic. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Bam on May 3rd, 2014 at 2:29pm John Smith wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 12:39pm:
It does, a bit ... I can name one or two more, but the party political system would conceal the good people within the major parties. I set the bar a bit lower. If a politician prefers to discuss differences of policies and not make personal attacks, I consider them acceptable. Quote:
Xenophon won't have much to worry about. He made quota comfortably at the last election and he will be in the Senate for the rest of the decade. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Sir Phoney Liebral on May 5th, 2014 at 3:45pm
http://www.theguardian.com/world/2014/may/05/icac-turns-its-spotlight-on-nsw-nationals-party
The New South Wales Nationals party has been dragged into a corruption inquiry investigating the trading of illegal donations for political influence. The Independent Commission Against Corruption (Icac) heard that in February 2011, the Nationals’ state director, Ben Franklin, emailed an executive at the Nathan Tinkler-owned property developer, Buildev, seeking political donations. Darren Williams, the Buildev executive, received the email from Franklin saying the Nationals “would be delighted to accept support for our state election campaign as long as it is not from prohibited donors". At the time, political donations from developers such as Buildev were illegal in NSW. Williams passed the email on to Troy Palmer, an executive with a Tinkler-owned thoroughbred stud, Patinack Farms, writing: “can you help him with 3 lots of $5[000] please mate”. In another email between the two, Williams said: “mate need $20[000] in here to help these guys nats will be running ports”. Counsel assisting the inquiry, Geoffrey Watson, SC, told Williams that he was arranging donations to the Nationals “because you knew in effect you had to buy their favour”. “No,” Williams replied. It was alleged last week that donations amounting to $66,000 from Buildev were funnelled through Patinack Farms to Eightbyfive, a sham company run by Tim Koelma, a former staffer of the sacked Liberal energy minister, Chris Hartcher. The commission is investigating allegations that Hartcher and other MPs on the central coast solicited donations from illegal donors, which they channelled into slush funds and used to bankroll their 2011 election campaigns. The money was allegedly traded for political influence on planning decisions. At the beginning of the inquiry’s second week, Watson also suggested that payments had been made “under the table” to the campaign of the current Liberal member for Newcastle, Tim Owen. Further evidence was also presented of contact between Williams, Hartcher and the former police minister Mike Gallacher. Gallacher resigned from the NSW ministry on Friday after being accused of “hatching a corrupt scheme” to hide prohibited donations from property developers to the Liberal party. Days after the Liberals won the 2011 state election, Williams texted Gallacher and Hartcher with virtually identical messages warning that a rival organisation was meeting the then-treasurer, Mike Baird, to push for a container terminal at Mayfield, Newcastle. At the time Tinkler’s group was lobbying for a coal loader to be built on the site. “Why were you informing Mr Gallacher of that? What could he do with that information?” Watson asked Williams. “I was just informing him,” Williams replied, adding that he thought Gallacher might help put the Tinkler group’s case forward. “Why would Mr Gallacher be putting your case forward?” Watson pressed. “I don’t know,” Williams replied. Tired of answers in this vein, Watson at one stage labelled the Tinkler associate an “inveterate liar”. He also accused the witness of conspiring to “make up a story to fool Icac” after the investigation into Eightbyfive had begun. In an email Tinkler sent in April 2013, Williams said: “Spoke to Michael from Icac today they are reviewing a marketing company in central coast that we have used in the past. I have copies of all our invoices. All Patinack has done has engaged them to do some marketing that's it.” Later that day Williams texted a Tinkler staffer explaining the “NT [Nathan Tinkler] message was to protect him in case any poo goes down”. The inquiry continues. #icacthisislnp Another one |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on May 5th, 2014 at 4:19pm
its all pretty sad.. to do this underhand is pretty shocking... I am beginning to wonder how they will ever win back faith....I am so turned off by all this.
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by rabbitoh08 on May 5th, 2014 at 4:59pm cods wrote on May 5th, 2014 at 4:19pm:
If you've got a lazy five and a half grand lying about - you could 'donate' it to Joe Hockey and buy a bit of time to discuss the problem with him http://www.northsydneyforum.com.au/media-files/standard-pages/content-pieces/29/download.pdf God bless free enterprise! |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on May 5th, 2014 at 5:13pm
somone should give a few pensioners $5000 so that they can go and talk to him too, explain to him the realities of being a pensioner .... same applies to unemployed or single mums
thats why the libs continuously ignore them, not enough bribe money ..... |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by rabbitoh08 on May 5th, 2014 at 5:16pm John Smith wrote on May 5th, 2014 at 5:13pm:
A few pensioners could go in together for corporate membership of the "Friends of Joe" club at the very reasonable price of $11,000. Then they would also get a "Private VIP Boardroom Function". http://www.northsydneyforum.com.au/media-files/standard-pages/content-pieces/29/download.pdf |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on May 5th, 2014 at 5:17pm rabbitoh08 wrote on May 5th, 2014 at 5:16pm:
Does Joe expect them to provide dinner for him to? thats a years worth of pension just there. .... |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by rabbitoh08 on May 5th, 2014 at 5:18pm John Smith wrote on May 5th, 2014 at 5:17pm:
"Abdul the kebab maker in Parramatta mall" would probably step up with some take-away. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by John Smith on May 5th, 2014 at 5:24pm rabbitoh08 wrote on May 5th, 2014 at 5:18pm:
I hope abdul has an extra sheep handy ;D ;D |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on May 5th, 2014 at 5:35pm rabbitoh08 wrote on May 5th, 2014 at 4:59pm:
guess thats the difference between you and me.. for me this is about CORRUPTION at the HIGHEST LEVEL.. I dont see it as a joke or a tit for tat. I see it as something EVIL that has been allowed to creep in..oh well "they are doing it " so lets all do it.. to think we have to employ people to snoop if thats the word...on politicians because .....well as has been proved, they cannot be trusted... we are n o better than 3rd world despots who are in it for themselves.. an utter utter disgrace.. its got nothing to do with pensioners.. I as a pensioner am not whingeing about anything...I consider myself pretty lucky.. BUT there was a time when I had a lot of respect for Australian govt... I dont suppose anyone really gives a damn what I think..... but I personally would like to give them all A BIT MORE "THAN A PIECE OF MY MIND".... I can promise you. |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by Knight Errant Sir Grappler on May 5th, 2014 at 5:42pm
Agreed, cods - it's not tit-for-tat and 'his/her dog is smellier than mine!" and so forth.
It's all about the betrayal of trust of the Australian people and the personal self-interest before the good of the nation. I hope they catch every corrupt politician and sidekick and give them ten years...... and not in Club Fed, either. GAIA Gulag the lot - fair wage for work, solid performance evaluation, 're-education' in the evils of their past ways through self-criticism groups, return to the community when fully rehabilitated etc... sounds familiar... |
Title: Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs Post by cods on May 5th, 2014 at 6:22pm Grappler Truth Teller wrote on May 5th, 2014 at 5:42pm:
most of them walk away with full entitlements and move on to bigger and better things.. thats what is even more shameful.. look at Alan Bond was he shunned by the A listers? no he wasnt... didnt matter about all those people he ruined...... he really was a good guy deep down.. >:( .. didnt he also have amazing lapses of memory??? |