General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Hockey on Q&A
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1400550706

Message started by Karnal on May 20th, 2014 at 11:51am

Title: Hockey on Q&A
Post by Karnal on May 20th, 2014 at 11:51am
A superb performance. I give him 9 out of 10.

Thoughts?

Title: Re: Hockey on Q&A
Post by philperth2010 on May 20th, 2014 at 12:00pm
Yes I thought Hockey did a good job trying to sell a very unpopular budget....What Labor needs to do is explain how they would fix the budget without these measures being introduced.....It is all right to criticise but voters need to know what the alternative would be!!!

:-? :-? :-?

Post by King FriYAY II on May 20th, 2014 at 12:10pm

philperth2010 wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 12:00pm:
Yes I thought Hockey did a good job trying to sell a very unpopular budget....What Labor needs to do is explain how they would fix the budget without these measures being introduced.....It is all right to criticise but voters need to know what the alternative would be!!!

But they never will.

Politics in Oz is finished.

Every party in opposition is now there purely to usurp the incumbent.

Post by Cliff48 on May 20th, 2014 at 12:28pm

Karnal wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 11:51am:

Thoughts?

Yes, Hockey did a great job.

Worst performance ever by TJ.  I usually like Q&A, but this time TJ was totally objectionable.   He is supposed to be the MODERATOR of the show, not a Current  Affairs interviewer.  He rudely cut Hockey off many times, not allowing the answer to be heard to just interject a new question.

Hockey +1
Jones -2

There are now 2 issues to debate:
1)  Is the budget good for Australia?
2)  Are election lies now condoned in Australia.

In both cases, my answer is still NO.   But at least Hockey should have been given my leeway to finish his answers.

Post by rabbitoh08 on May 20th, 2014 at 12:33pm
He got some good questions, and did his best to defend the indefensible.  At least he had the guts to face the music.  Unlike his leader.

Post by PZ547 on May 20th, 2014 at 12:59pm
Are all the 'count on one hand' LNP supporters in the thread yet?

Sounds as if they are -- all five of them

Now go online and listen to what people REALLY thought of Hockey's performance on Q&A

He is getting PANNED

Post by Sparky on May 20th, 2014 at 1:13pm
I totally disagree with slugging the poor to pay for Labor's F ups. But I admire his guts for going in front of a stacked audience and  an obviously biased Tony Jones.

Post by Cliff48 on May 20th, 2014 at 1:20pm

Sparky wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:13pm:
I totally disagree with slugging the poor to pay for Labor's F ups. But I admire his guts for going in front of a stacked audience and  an obviously biased Tony Jones.

Listen to the questions from the audience again   (its available on Iview).  Very fair and reasonable.

As I stated above tho - TJ at his very worst.

Post by rabbitoh08 on May 20th, 2014 at 1:21pm
I did love how one of his answers to a budget question was:  "We stopped the boats!"

Good work Joe.  Stay on message.

Post by PZ547 on May 20th, 2014 at 1:23pm

Well, no-one's going to argue with you about the extent of Hockey's guts

Though equating that to courage is a laugh

Hockey has no choice, has he?

He signed on with the Devil and now must ride it

Anyway, won't matter to Hockey.  He's sitting on $10 million in real estate alone

To me, Hockey gives the impression of a guy who might quit tomorrow

He's weepy

He's looking crook

He's faking every syllable that leaves his lips

He's a guy in torment

and due to his pact with the Devil, he has far greater worries and fears than the survival of LNP

Hockey is damned to hell whichever way he turns

and he knows it

Post by Sparky on May 20th, 2014 at 1:25pm

Cliff48 wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:20pm:

Listen to the questions from the audience again   (its available on Iview).  Very fair and reasonable.

It's time to put TJ out to pasture because he obviously wants to be part of the panel instead of the compere. The ABC are on the nose but I'll give it to them , they are sticking up their  big finger and being more biased than ever. Unwise though.

Post by Sparky on May 20th, 2014 at 1:29pm

PZ547 wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:23pm:

Anyway, won't matter to Hockey.  He's sitting on $10 million in real estate alone

He's weepy

He's looking crook

He's a guy in torment

and due to his pact with the Devil, he has far greater worries and fears than the survival of LNP

and he knows it
You know what guts would be- Chris Bowen going before your average Aussie and explaining how we had no control of our borders under his command. It's time for Labor to show that guts. Garrett and his electricutions would be a start.

Post by Cliff48 on May 20th, 2014 at 1:30pm

Sparky wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:25pm:

Cliff48 wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:20pm:

It's time to put TJ out to pasture because he obviously wants to be part of the panel instead of the compere. The ABC are on the nose but I'll give it to them , they are sticking up their  big finger and being more biased than ever. Unwise though.

I disagree sparky, but a ABC bias debate is pointless...  been many of those.

I will concede however, that on THIS occasion, tj was hopeless.

Post by sir alevine on May 20th, 2014 at 1:31pm

Thoughts?

He believes in equality of opportunity and so he is increasing university fees and cutting education costs.  For that nonsense, I give him a 0.2 out of 10.

Not to mention that he openly lied about education HECS fees, given the rise from 3% to 6% and the complete ignorance about HECS still being a tax burden that people, on low incomes in comparison to the median, and a tax burden that now increases (on average around $850 a year). And a tax burden for what - studying to become a better participant in the economy and society?

No sorry, Karnal, he did well with the $7 co-payment I give him that. But the rest he has no explanation on and the sweat started to roll.

Post by rabbitoh08 on May 20th, 2014 at 1:31pm

He's weepy

He's looking crook

He's a guy in torment

and he knows it

Same as Greg Hunt, who wrote a thesis on how emissions trading is the best way to reduce emissions - but has to try to sell "Direct Action, and Turnbull trying to peddle an NBN he knows is a dud.

Not a happy camp.  Good job Tony.

Post by rabbitoh08 on May 20th, 2014 at 1:33pm

Sparky wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:29pm:
Garrett and his electricutions would be a start.

Several inquiries and a Royal Commission not good enough for you?!?!  Let me guess - you won't be happy till he goes on Bolty's show.

Post by Cliff48 on May 20th, 2014 at 1:35pm

rabbitoh08 wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:33pm:

Sparky wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:29pm:
Garrett and his electricutions would be a start.

Several inquiries and a Royal Commission not good enough for you?!?!  Let me guess - you won't be happy till he goes on Bolty's show.

Lets keep spending millions on RC's until the libs get the result they want.....   #9 anybody?

Post by Culture Warrior on May 20th, 2014 at 1:49pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:31pm:
He believes in equality of opportunity and so he is increasing university fees and cutting education costs.  For that nonsense, I give him a 0.2 out of 10.

How does increasing fees negate equality of opportunity? The same amount has to be paid back by everyone (depending on the band your degree is in of course).

Post by sir alevine on May 20th, 2014 at 2:12pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:49pm:

How does increasing fees negate equality of opportunity? The same amount has to be paid back by everyone (depending on the band your degree is in of course).

How does it elevate equality of opportunity?

And it negates because the ongoing tax burden is still a factor in determining whether one will or won't go to university.

Post by Culture Warrior on May 20th, 2014 at 2:28pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 2:12pm:

And it negates because the ongoing tax burden is still a factor in determining whether one will or won't go to university.

You've confused your desire for equality of outcome with equality of opportunity.

Post by sir alevine on May 20th, 2014 at 2:35pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 2:28pm:

You've confused your desire for equality of outcome with equality of opportunity.

Show where i Have said that.

Have a nice day, you clearly misunderstand the difference.  As you misunderstand almost everything in life. How's that phd thesis going?

Post by austranger on May 20th, 2014 at 2:37pm
        Actually, I thought TJ was trying to replace the normal group of panelists, asking the questions etc that they normally would, and as such didn't do too bad a job.
        Interrupting Hockey wasn't necessarily a bad thing either, given that he was attempting to pad out each answer to use up as much time as possible, to avoid as many questions as he could.

Post by PZ547 on May 20th, 2014 at 3:12pm

Some people lie as they breathe =  Abbott and Truss

Others have a difficult time sounding committed and convincing = Hockey

It's going to become more difficult for Hockey as time goes on.  Trying to sell something you know is disgusting takes its toll.  Hockey's already showing the strain and has to rely already on his alter ego, 'politician Hockey'

Thing is, it's to be suspected is that Hockey reviles his political self just as he knows that budget deserves to be deep-sixed

Post by Karnal on May 20th, 2014 at 3:56pm

rabbitoh08 wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 12:33pm:
He got some good questions, and did his best to defend the indefensible.  At least he had the guts to face the music.  Unlike his leader.

Right. He started with a hostile, jeering audience, and by the end, he had them eating out of his hand. The applause at the end was warm and genuine.

Hockey has guts, and he gave a great pitch. His leader will never go on Q&A.

Post by Phemanderac on May 20th, 2014 at 4:50pm
I give Hockey 10 out of 10 for making an appearance, however, that score was not maintained.

I thought he started fairly strongly/confidently, this even though I did not buy some of what he said or agree with other aspects. However, at a mid point in the program, Hockey point blank responded to an audience members comment (I don't recall the specifics) with an old standard "I reject that..." He did attempt to clarify his "rejection" as though realisation of its implications hit him just after the comment left his mouth, but too little too late.

That lost me at that point - he is not the only politician to have "rejected out of hand" comments, views or queries over the years, as such, I am quite consistent in that it would not matter what brand the politician is, "rejecting out of hand" is an ignorant, disrespectful and arrogant response. It basically means the speaker has no good answer.

From that point on, Hockey was on his back foot and his "score" became irrelevant.

As to the show host.

His job is to facilitate questions and answers. Not just answers.

He is not there to bow down to whoever sits there, he is there to guide the show along and to ensure as many questions are asked as is feasible in the allotted time. Further, he has cut people off when there is a full panel in the past in order to allow more questions.

That is what facilitating is. The show is not a policy delivery, reframe or justify platform - it is about questions and answers, something that Joe Hockey is most certainly not alone in apparently overlooking.

Personally, I don't think the single panel version is the best Q and A has to offer to be honest.

To my mind the ABC, particularly Q and A presents mixed views generally speaking so, when K. Rudd, J. Gillard or, in this case J. Hockey have the floor to themselves, then it is not particularly mixed or balanced. I think there should always be a second person on the panel to counter, challenge and, where appropriate, correct a speaker.

Post by Grand Duke Imam Gandalf on May 20th, 2014 at 4:58pm

Thoughts?

To be honest, Hockey was only asked a whole heap of Dorothy Dixers. Not the traditional direct "please, Mr Hockey, explain to us why you are so wonderful" type (although there was one of those), but more along the lines of "My Hockey, I'm an ignorant selfish pensioner who just wants to whinge. Now Please allow me to present a whole heap of misinformed crap so that you can correct me and make you sound clever and wise".

Thats pretty much all it was. Hockey showed up a whole heap of ignorant bogans from Penrith, which gave him a free pass to peddle his "we have to fix labor's mess by hook or crook" crap unchallenged.

Not one question on:

- why aren't super rorts looked at
- why is the levy on the rich so pathetic - and has the government looked into reports that it will only raise about half of what they say it will raise?
- why is the government so determined to axe the mining tax just as it is about to reap in billions in the coming months?
- how much hacking and slashing could the government have avoided if it abandoned its hugely expensive PPL?

Post by Grand Duke Imam Gandalf on May 20th, 2014 at 5:04pm

Cliff48 wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 12:28pm:

Worst performance ever by TJ.  I usually like Q&A, but this time TJ was totally objectionable.   He is supposed to be the MODERATOR of the show, not a Current  Affairs interviewer.  He rudely cut Hockey off many times, not allowing the answer to be heard to just interject a new question.

I disagree that TJ is just a moderator - it would be a waste to put such an experienced and good interviewer on that show to have him act as a mere moderator. Especially when its one on one like last night.

Also about his interjecting - I was relieved that there was at least someone trying to test Hockey with the right sort of questions - since the ignorant audience did nothing but serve up Dorothy Dixers for Hockey.

Post by Annie Anthrax on May 20th, 2014 at 5:04pm

He's weepy

He's looking crook

He's a guy in torment

and he knows it

Really? I get a completely different vibe from Hockey. I think he's loving this. Even negative attention is good for those who are desperate for any kind at all.

Post by Knight Errant Sir Grappler on May 20th, 2014 at 5:06pm
https://au.news.yahoo.com/a/23664781/hockey-flags-first-term-changes-to-super/

"Treasurer Joe Hockey has been forced to admit that the new $7 Medicare payment introduced in last week’s budget is a new form of taxation - but stopped short of conceding that Tony Abbott’s government had misled voters by previously saying that new taxes would not be introduced.

Hockey was heckled as he appeared on ABC’s Q&A program last night before being cornered into accepting that the new medical payment was, in fact, a tax.

“It's a payment. You can call it a tax," he said. "It comes out of a pocket. It comes out of someone's pocket. A taxpayer's pocket. You want to call it a tax, you can call it anything you want, you can call it a rabbit.""

Post by Neferti on May 20th, 2014 at 5:12pm
YAWN if that's all you have.  ;D ;D

Post by cods on May 20th, 2014 at 5:36pm

hear hear phil.. too right...

the trouble for shorty is.. someone might be cluey enough to ask.. why wasnt that done two years ago??..or more..

as we know it doesnt take much to get into DEBT..its like a runaway train..all it does is gather speed..

to stop a runaway anything take balls.. excuse me..but it does...not wimp along in the hope it all goes away and by some miracle we can all have pay increases and prosperity..and live happily ever after...

take retirement at 70..eventually??????..

we are told every day we are living longer... in another 20 years or so.. that will of course have increased ev en more so..

medicine is going to go a long way to seeing people live longer and happier..not in beds forgotten for the most part..

why shouldnt they work longer if thats the case..

I am sure someone in ill health will not be expected to work that long... but if medicine has anything to do with it...we could be the super race who knows..

Post by cods on May 20th, 2014 at 5:38pm

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 5:06pm:
https://au.news.yahoo.com/a/23664781/hockey-flags-first-term-changes-to-super/

"Treasurer Joe Hockey has been forced to admit that the new $7 Medicare payment introduced in last week’s budget is a new form of taxation - but stopped short of conceding that Tony Abbott’s government had misled voters by previously saying that new taxes would not be introduced.

Hockey was heckled as he appeared on ABC’s Q&A program last night before being cornered into accepting that the new medical payment was, in fact, a tax.

“It's a payment. You can call it a tax," he said. "It comes out of a pocket. It comes out of someone's pocket. A taxpayer's pocket. You want to call it a tax, you can call it anything you want, you can call it a rabbit.""

lets call it a PRICE isnt that what the CARBON TAX was a price.... ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D.
.. $7 pitiful...we must be the laughing stock of the world..marching in the streets OMG..

Post by adelcrow on May 20th, 2014 at 5:38pm
Lies, Weasel words and Surprises..thats all we get from this ham actor of a Treasurer.

Post by Lord Sir BigVic VSD and Bar on May 20th, 2014 at 5:40pm

adelcrow wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 5:38pm:
Lies, Weasel words and Surprises..thats all we get from this ham actor of a Treasurer.

But isn't it good to see the righties returning to the forum today!   Not one to be seen yesterday - I think they were still in shock - bless em!

Post by Dnarever on May 20th, 2014 at 6:11pm
Of the $7 $2 go to the doctor = a pay rise for Doc.

Post by Grendel on May 20th, 2014 at 6:27pm
Thought Hockey did a good job on Q&A considering.

Post by PZ547 on May 20th, 2014 at 6:32pm

Grendel wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 6:27pm:

' Considering he doesn't believe a word he's saying

Considering he knows the budget's a crock of poo

Considering he's lying through his teeth and finding it increasingly difficult to swallow these days because all the poo he's spouting isn't going down very well and is clogging up his lying throat

Considering he knows what a monumental stuff up he's made of his career

and he was so proud of his career.  He thought he was tipped for the Number One spot.  Now he knows he's history

Considering he knows he was stitched up

Considering what sounds plausible late at night over cigars and brandy doesn't sound too convincing in the light of day when face to face with the intended victims

Sure -- he managed to stay in the room during Q&A, which is 'not too bad', considering all he wanted to do was run for his life back to a year ago

Post by chicken_lipsforme on May 20th, 2014 at 6:42pm

Why would Labor explain how they would fix the budget for?
Going by the idiot Shorten's comments lately about a "confected budget emergency", they simply don't accept there is an budgetary issue at all.

Post by froggie on May 20th, 2014 at 6:51pm

Dnarever wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 6:11pm:
Of the $7 $2 go to the doctor = a pay rise for Doc.

And $5 to future medical research fund.
How does this impact on budget's bottom line?

;)

Post by froggie on May 20th, 2014 at 6:58pm
Joe had a bit of a rattle on about the $5 and the proposed research fund and finding a cure for cancer....

Newsflash, Joe!!!

Why not increase funding to this mob?

The Peter MacCallum Cancer Centre is Australia’s only public hospital solely dedicated to cancer treatment, research and education.

At Peter Mac we treat more cancer patients each year than any other hospital in Australia and our highly skilled medical, nursing and allied health team is backed by the largest cancer research group in the country.

At the heart of everything we do are our patients, their families and carers. Every day at Peter Mac, teams of researchers investigate cancer at the laboratory bench, in the clinic and at the patient bedside: our perpetual research cycle is unique in cancer in Australia.

Probably save more than setting up a whole new shebang......

At the same time stop your funding cuts to the CSIRO

;)

Post by froggie on May 20th, 2014 at 7:04pm
This bloke also does a great job, Joe.

Australian researchers have discovered a range of new treatments for melanoma which could save up to 1500 lives a year. The Sydney Melanoma Unit at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital is conducting a clinical trial in which individual tumours are injected with a red dye called rose bengal.

Unit director John Thompson said within seven days the tumours become necrotic and die, and within 14 days they simply lift off the skin. Professor Thompson said an earlier trial of 20 patients showed between 60 and 80 per cent of tumours were successfully treated with one injection.

http://www.smh.com.au/lifestyle/diet-and-fitness/melanomas-gone-in-just-seven-days-20090407-9xsy.html#ixzz32FEmf83K

How long before YOUR centre is up and running, Joe???

Post by PZ547 on May 20th, 2014 at 7:14pm

Lobo wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 7:04pm:
This bloke also does a great job, Joe.

Australian researchers have discovered a range of new treatments for melanoma which could save up to 1500 lives a year. The Sydney Melanoma Unit at Royal Prince Alfred Hospital is conducting a clinical trial in which individual tumours are injected with a red dye called rose bengal.

Unit director John Thompson said within seven days the tumours become necrotic and die, and within 14 days they simply lift off the skin. Professor Thompson said an earlier trial of 20 patients showed between 60 and 80 per cent of tumours were successfully treated with one injection.

http://www.smh.com.au/lifestyle/diet-and-fitness/melanomas-gone-in-just-seven-days-20090407-9xsy.html#ixzz32FEmf83K

How long before YOUR centre is up and running, Joe???

Thanks for that info, Froggie

Post by Culture Warrior on May 21st, 2014 at 9:00am

sir prince duke alevine wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 2:35pm:

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 2:28pm:

Show where i Have said that.

Have a nice day, you clearly misunderstand the difference.  As you misunderstand almost everything in life. How's that phd thesis going?

Russia boy, increased fees mean that after completing your degree you will have a higher bill than before. This is the outcome of taking on a degree, and has nothing to do with equal opportunities in applying to undertake a degree. 

Post by Grendel on May 22nd, 2014 at 5:50pm

PZ547 wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 6:32pm:

Considering he's lying through his teeth and finding it increasingly difficult to swallow these days because all the poo he's spouting isn't going down very well and is clogging up his lying throat

and he was so proud of his career.  He thought he was tipped for the Number One spot.  Now he knows he's history

Considering what sounds plausible late at night over cigars and brandy doesn't sound too convincing in the light of day when face to face with the intended victims

Sure -- he managed to stay in the room during Q&A, which is 'not too bad', considering all he wanted to do was run for his life back to a year ago

Considering the choice of venue, audience and the constant interjecting of the LW Prog running the event.

If you guys have got nothing don't waste everyone's time...  say nothing.  ::)

Post by John Smith on May 22nd, 2014 at 5:53pm

Grendel wrote on May 22nd, 2014 at 5:50pm:

PZ547 wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 6:32pm:

Considering the choice of venue, audience and the constant interjecting of the LW Prog running the event.

Choice of venue? Wasn't Abbott a fan of Western Sydney just a few short months ago? Western Sydney was the be all and end all wasn't it?

and the left didn't interject, in fact he was treated quite well considering all the cuts the libs annouced.

Post by adelcrow on May 22nd, 2014 at 6:08pm
Crikey...The Liar King is to gutless to front a few students so he's not likely to venture into Western Sydney any decade soon  ;D
Abbotts bogans must be feeling pretty foolish after The Liar King showed his true colours  :D

Post by Karnal on May 22nd, 2014 at 7:58pm

adelcrow wrote on May 22nd, 2014 at 6:08pm:
Crikey...The Liar King is to gutless to front a few students so he's not likely to venture into Western Sydney any decade soon  ;D
Abbotts bogans must be feeling pretty foolish after The Liar King showed his true colours  :D

They’re not too happy. There’s blood in Red and Herbie’s stool.

Maybe they should visit a doctor.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.