General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1415304511 Message started by True Blue... on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:08am |
Title: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by True Blue... on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:08am
Australia and China are set to sign off a billion dollar deal on cattle exports.According to the Australian Newspaper - one million beef cattle, valued at more than 1 billion dollars, are set to shipped to China each year, doubling Australia's live cattle trade.The finalised deal is expected to be announced after this weekend's APEC summit in Beijing.It's expected to boost cattle prices across both northern and southern Australia ..Once signed, the export deal would soon see China rival Indonesia as the biggest market for Australia cattle.
- See more at: http://www.skynews.com.au/news/top-stories/2014/11/07/australia-on-brink-of-landmark-cattle-deal.html#sthash.UQocU9DN.dpuf |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by True Blue... on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:10am
once again Congratulations to the Abbott Government..
while the Labor government did its best to destroy the cattle industry of Australia with a huge Legal Compensation to cost Tax Payers, the Abbott Government has secured this massive deal in just over 12 months of Government.. wow!! well done!! |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by SupositoryofWisdom on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:32am
Twiggy must be ecstatic , odd that Harvey beef sold out to Twiggy before a FTA was announced , Twiggy must've had a crystal ball . Gina was a bit slower off the mark but was buying up cattle farms up north , coincidentally right when FTA announced . They contribute to the LNP don't they?
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by True Blue... on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:35am
well durrr...
a smart man would have been buying up farms some time ago when the Abbott government signalled, and then, started signing free trade deals... Milk, Beef, Food... Australians need to scale up and scale up quickly if they want to take advantage of the export boom which we are now seeing since the Liberal Government took charge... mark my words.. and if Australians don't scale up then the chinese will come in and buy Australian farms and scale them up themselves.. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Kat on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:37am The live-animal trade must be STOPPED, not doubled. Totally oppose. # Trust these c$#s to get it wrong though. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by True Blue... on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:39am
there's nothing to say that it's "live cattle export" kat..
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Kat on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:45am True Blue... wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:39am:
Second line... Quote:
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Greens_Win on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:51am
More Than 40% Of China's Arable Land Is Degraded
http://www.businessinsider.com.au/r-more-than-40-percent-of-chinas-arable-land-degraded-xinhua-2014-11 China's over a barrel concerning food and we could have Australians employed in meat works yet unfortunately we have conservative politicians who hate creating jobs for Australians. Conservatives hate value adding. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:58am
This deal builds on what Gillard achieved in her last China trip—direct conversion of the $A into the renmimbi or whatever the Chinese currency is called.
Should NOT be live export—chinese are just as callous regarding animals as any Muslim, any problems creating jobs for Australian workers in new, modern abattoirs FFS? These Lib FTAs just give away Australia’s interests for the sake of a headline. Bet the cattle won’t be allowed in for 20 years or something. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by buzzanddidj on Nov 7th, 2014 at 7:04am True Blue... wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:10am:
Really ? On 18 April 2005, Australia and China agreed to commence negotiations on a Free Trade Agreement (FTA) following consideration of a joint FTA Feasibility Study. The study was completed in March 2005, and concluded that there would be significant economic benefits for both Australia and China through the negotiation of an FTA. The negotiations are complex, covering an array of issues, including agricultural tariffs and quotas, manufactured goods, services, temporary entry of people and foreign investment. http://www.dfat.gov.au/fta/acfta/ |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by SupositoryofWisdom on Nov 7th, 2014 at 7:08am Kat wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:45am:
Go back to sleep true blue ;D |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Armchair_Politician on Nov 7th, 2014 at 8:15am buzzanddidj wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 7:04am:
Started under Howard, Labor couldn't conclude it, but now Abbott looks like he has within 12 months or so. Labor are useless. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by John Smith on Nov 7th, 2014 at 8:17am Armchair_Politician wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 8:15am:
it's easy to conclude negotiations when you just give the other side whatever they want .... :D :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Greens_Win on Nov 7th, 2014 at 8:19am Armchair_Politician wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 8:15am:
Abbott selling the country out to get signature on treaties that disadvantage us ... and you want to celebrate. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by ImSpartacus2 on Nov 7th, 2014 at 8:29am
Australian workers will pay a lot in cut wages and lowering living standards to secure this cushy deal for farmers. Its interesting to watch how both labor and liberal are competing to claim the credit for securing a free trade agreement with that incredibly corrupt slave-wage paying China.
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Greens_Win on Nov 7th, 2014 at 8:41am
Conservative posters?
How do you balance Australia building it's food production to the world while selling coal and undermining action on climate change which will bring about more server and likely more time in droughts for Australia? How can one support longer/deeper droughts so to destroy food production in Australia? Or is this where multitudes of new dry white elephant dam poxing the landscape ... or toxic aquifers destroyed by fracking/csg come into play? |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by aquascoot on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:27am
I think the selling of high quality protein into south east asia is one area where we can earn much needed foreign exchange.
certainly the rapidly growing middle classes in china will have an appetite for our meat, milk and fruit. rather then sell our land to the Asians, its far more sensible to sell them the produce. even gough wanted to "buy back the farm" the green policies on farming are disastrous and are already resulting in many bankruptcies and many farmers leaving the land and the younger generation not willing to stay. we need the greens (most of whom are urban intellectuals) to admit that the farmers are the true custodians of the land. the greens never visit, the aborigines (and I have nothing against aborigines) live in rural communities and aren't looking after the issues that the landscape now requires. so it is up to the farmers to 1 make the export dollars to spend on the urban dwellers (most of whom produce nothing in terms of export dollars) 2 look after and rehabilitate the land from previous bad farming practices. the farmers and the miners are the only hope the urban dwellers have. tell me what a city like Adelaide earns in terms of currency for the country? such cities exist as service centres for their own communities and are (in a way) parasitic on the productive sectors . so I urge the greens not to mess with the farmers and miners (which is about all they've done for the last 20 years) |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Stratos on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:39am
Australia could actually do well with a real agricultural/rural party.
Basically what the Nationals say they stand for, instead of being complete hacks. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Greens_Win on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:39am aquascoot wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:27am:
Adelaide has an international airport and reaps the reward from it via foreign tourists. Adelaide has culture in things like Womadelaide. More tourism dollars. Wine Districts of the Clair, Barossa, and Maclaren. S.A biggest percentage of country's wine exports. Excellent education Hub for foreign students. Excellent Renewable Energy Sector, with a progressive Greens fed government would boom even further. Sports that created more foreign tourism, like the tour down under. Many on the right put the boot into Adelaide via staving it of fresh water, Adelaide has a lot to offer. You can take your urban hatred and stick it. All regions create wealth and all regions deserve respect. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by aquascoot on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:47am ____ wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:39am:
Im not putting the boot in. im asking if it earns enough export dollars to support the import requirements of a million people. I suspect the answer is no, as it would be for every city in Australia. only rural and regional Australia pay their way (and then some) . this is very unjust as they receive sub standard services in areas of health education and infrastructure. the greens worsen this position considerably by making a difficult job more difficult with their "green tape". so even a simple thing like putting a new road across a creek to access a paddock now requires input from a bureaucrat. I note that they always approve such things once they have received their $$$ via some ridiculous 10 page form that needs to be filled out, late at night by some exhausted farmer. enjoy your pine nut and eggplant salad greens, have a moccacino for me (or should that read "on me" ) ;) |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by aquascoot on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:48am Stratos wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:39am:
a truer word was never spoken. Bob Katter understands some of the issues. as for clive. I doubt i'd sit him on a horse for a campdraft. i'd have PETA on my case. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Team Knight Errant Grappler on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:49am
Ah.. embrace the Third World Banana Republic concept with both arms, my children... it is all that will be left you and some will profit mightily while the many beg....
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Greens_Win on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:54am aquascoot wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:47am:
Protecting the environment, protecting the land, and in so protecting Australians is not Green Tape. Attacking Australians by degrading our natural assets and so reducing the quality of life, and health of the people results in higher cost of living pressures on all households. The gnats should be strung up for the long term damage they are causing just so foreign multinationals can shite on everyone, their toxins. The gnats are a pack of gutless loonies pretending to serve a purpose outside of being the dags on the rear end of the libs. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Team Knight Errant Grappler on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:56am aquascoot wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:47am:
I think you unfairly blame 'greens' for this kind of red tape, Scoot - the simple fact is it is governments of all stamps who wrongly assume that Big Brother - i.e. themselves - knows best for you. It is simply not the Greens who set all this stuff in place - indeed - how could they when they've never held power? |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Team Knight Errant Grappler on Nov 7th, 2014 at 10:01am
Meanwhile, in breaking news here on KRUD News Network:-
The price of steak to the ordinary Australian household is set to zoom to new heights. Industry spokesman Iva Kowatu says the dire shortage of cattle for the beef market is the main driver of this enormous price rise, and says that the submission of Australian cattle producers to the 'global economy' has nothing to do with it.... He predicts confidently that Australians will be able to buy discounted beef for only $40-$50 a steak, and says there is no need for concern. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by bogarde73 on Nov 7th, 2014 at 10:04am
And as I have been telling you for a long time now, The Australian Agricultural Co, with its strategic land acquisitions and new abattoir just coming on-stream, is poised to reap a nice part of the benefits of this trade.
PS it's no coincidence that Twiggy Forrest and other entrepreneurs have been getting ginto the cattle business. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by aquascoot on Nov 7th, 2014 at 10:04am ____ wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:54am:
If I offer to put on a buffet of vegan foods and Perrier mineral water and soy latee's , can I get a few green voters to come help me clear some lantana this weekend. ;) By the way, you'd be amazed how many of the people who muster are vegetarian. you'd be amazed how much our animals love us. heres one that follows me round trying to lick my Suzuki, also note that this paddock was solid lanatan when I bought it ;) ![]() |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by aquascoot on Nov 7th, 2014 at 10:09am Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:56am:
good point grapples, pollies of all persuasions are only interested in votes and their simply aren't enough people on the land any more to be bothered with. this will result in large multinationals achieving economies of scale with feedlots, GM crops to feed the feedlots and a foul landscape. greens should be right behind aussie farmers instaed of that nasty rant from greens wins. We (the family farmer) are much better for the landscape and for rural cohesion than these multi nationals will be . I think the whole of rural austrlaia will be de populated multinational owned wasteland eventually. how sad |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Team Knight Errant Grappler on Nov 7th, 2014 at 10:10am aquascoot wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:47am:
Neither will this support a million people etc... it will support a few handsomely........ all that will happen is that the cost will go up to cover all the tax concessions and dodges, including a near lack of income tax from workers involved - who will be minimal - and Australia will sink further into the economic mire created by its 'leaders' for the past thirty odd years of no real work, no real revenue from taxes and spending, and an esclating Black Hole in every Budget. I await breathlessly the next Labor government and the sudden realisation they have, on entering office - that some enormous Black Hole of Budget exists. NO incoming government EVER finds the house in order - according to THEIR control of the books.... just goes to show how much corporations are also allowed to fudge the books.... |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Sprintcyclist on Nov 7th, 2014 at 10:12am A Billion $ deal is good news. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Greens_Win on Nov 7th, 2014 at 10:15am aquascoot wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 10:04am:
So you complain about environment protection laws (green tape to the hard right). You complain about them yet you have the consequences of lax environmental protection of the past via weeds like lantana. You don't see the hypocrisy? Next I suppose you will say you support GM weeds. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by King FriYAY II on Nov 7th, 2014 at 10:15am Kat wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:37am:
Unless you are vegan you have no say and need to shut TFU you vile little creature. ::) |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Greens_Win on Nov 7th, 2014 at 10:18am Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 10:12am:
Unless the negotiations were not all so rosy and abbott sold off Australia's rear end. What did abbott give up? China can now buy all our agriculture? |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by King FriYAY II on Nov 7th, 2014 at 10:51am ____ wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:51am:
There is a huge new abattoir opened up north that will means less transport costs etc. One track mind = dumb!!! ::) |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by John Smith on Nov 7th, 2014 at 11:01am True Blue... wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:10am:
so we'll be able to blame Abbott when a 200g piece of fillet ends up costing Australians $50 each? :D :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by John Smith on Nov 7th, 2014 at 11:26am
ahh, another story where the 'facts' magically just write themselves
"The million head figure is inaccurate. That number's been plucked out of somewhere and who knows where it's from," he said .... The million head has been pulled out of the air from somewhere and we need to put it into some context. .... Australia only passed one million head of live cattle exports for the first time this year, so producing another million head would be impossible in the short term. "If the million head go to China they've got to be at the discount of other markets," Mr Warriner said. https://au.news.yahoo.com/a/25455903/china-cattle-deal-story-out-of-context-nt-cattlemens-association-president-says/ |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Greens_Win on Nov 7th, 2014 at 11:33am
i.e the local market ... as john has already stated. Extreme local prices.
Look on the bright side, you can all eat cake. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Team Knight Errant Grappler on Nov 7th, 2014 at 11:38am aquascoot wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 10:09am:
Many good points right there... including the lack of good people on the land now and the corporatisation of everything in sight. I have to wonder if a bunch of investors is less costly to run for the end consumer than a farmer family on its own.... I suspect the farmer family is cheaper by a country mile... Just another dollar grab by those in the front seat of unearned cash. When is enough enough for these vultures and when will they be giving something back? My time here has moved me massively to the Left..... which is about as far removed from Labor as it is from LNC (Liberal National Coalition). |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Team Knight Errant Grappler on Nov 7th, 2014 at 11:41am
Oh - and I saw that program on the devastation and terrible conditions for stock wrought in the US by many operators there under their massively corporatised and de facto licensed system of cattle, sheep and chook production. De facto licensing since to get a contract to supply, the operator needs to abide by corporation rules - which are often of the nastiest variety for stock and environment.
Damn - and I copped a sting an hour ago from trying to get a bee outside.... silly buggar.... |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Sprintcyclist on Nov 7th, 2014 at 11:53am aquascoot wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 9:27am:
It's amazing how 'holistically' minded people are when their livelihood relies on something. If you want to know how a climate/soil is, ask a farmer. They'll know. The food on their table next year is dependant on them knowing. If you want to know what's good for that area, ask a farmer. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by True Blue... on Nov 7th, 2014 at 1:29pm ____ wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 6:51am:
the greens and labor had 8 long years to do something about it and failed to create one job without the use of a tax payer funded pretend job like putting in Pink Batts they failed on every front internationally and were always cause for major embarrassment.. especially when the greens open that hole in their heads.. :-[ |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by True Blue... on Nov 7th, 2014 at 1:35pm John Smith wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 11:01am:
you can always grow your own john.. get productive with your life instead of hanging around here 24/7 with the other drones of the forum.. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Greens_Win on Nov 7th, 2014 at 1:52pm True Blue... wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 1:29pm:
the greens and labor had 8 long years to do something about it and failed to create one job without the use of a tax payer funded pretend job like putting in Pink Batts they failed on every front internationally and were always cause for major embarrassment.. especially when the greens open that hole in their heads.. :-[/quote] How many Greens were in this 8 year Green government you speak of? Yet another poster off with the fairies? |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Kat on Nov 7th, 2014 at 2:32pm King FriYAY II wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 10:15am:
Please feel free to go and get knotted, with my compliments. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by bogarde73 on Nov 7th, 2014 at 2:52pm
I am not opposed to the live export trade per se, but I am violently opposed to live export to muslim countries, especially the middle east.
I trust the Chinese to deploy humane killing. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by adelcrow on Nov 7th, 2014 at 3:30pm
The Cattlemens Association has said that there is no way that they can supply that amount of live cattle. Lets remember that this isn't prime beef they are sending over but tough stringy rubbish that struggles to survive in our far north.
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Nov 7th, 2014 at 3:35pm bogarde73 wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 2:52pm:
That last line is 100% wrong. Chinese have no regard for animals. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by adelcrow on Nov 7th, 2014 at 3:40pm St George of the Garden wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 3:35pm:
The Chinese govt has an appalling human and animal rights record..crikey they tortured and murdered over 2400 of their own people in the last 12 months for crimes such as political dissidence. And go to any food market anywhere in China if you want evidence of how badly they treat animals. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by John Smith on Nov 7th, 2014 at 3:53pm True Blue... wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 1:35pm:
no I can't ... friggen liberal council in my area won't let me :D :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Aussie on Nov 7th, 2014 at 4:02pm
Very premature in the gloating folks ~ 'the ink is not dry ~ well that's what Joyce said later today trying to hose down the false expectation of early this morning. And.....we don't have a million units of cattle loitering around the place ready to leap on a ship to travel to non-existent Chinese receiving logistics.
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by adelcrow on Nov 7th, 2014 at 4:14pm Aussie wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 4:02pm:
Thats a million a year from our drought stricken north...yep..and all to open the floodgates for even more cheap and nasty Chinese rubbish to put the remaining aussie manufacturers out of business. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by DaS Energy on Nov 7th, 2014 at 4:31pm
Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal..
Australia on the brink of Free Trade Agreement with China.. Australia on the brink of having the LNP not lie to it.. Australia on the brink thanks to the LNP.. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by True Blue... on Nov 7th, 2014 at 5:10pm Aussie wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 4:02pm:
no one is gloating aussie but we are all excited after years of being the world joke in export terms due to Labors laziness and frequent habit of insulting our trading partners... >:( look at all the lefties in this thread... its like they hate success and are trying to howl it down.. looking at labors 8 years in office they made sure that there was no success as they know that their supporters just hate it as much as they do... spend up big, throw away money like drunken sailors and destroy business by banging stupid taxes on them like the "carbon tax"... and put Australia in massive debt.. then when their useless leaders die some years later they hail them as hero's... ::) |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by SupositoryofWisdom on Nov 7th, 2014 at 5:22pm True Blue... wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 5:10pm:
You don't put a deadline on a FTA when there is powerful constituencies with their own self interests influencing Chinese government, and you certainly don't line up a FTA with a deadline while publicly kissing Japans arse, in case you missed it , they don't get along very well of late. I would put my left nut on it this team of dimwits would've sold us out and given the Chinese the better end of the stick. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by DaS Energy on Nov 7th, 2014 at 5:52pm Its time wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 5:22pm:
All was going well until the Minister Greg Hunt stepped in and said the LNP don't care what the rules of Free Trade are you not bringing your green energy in Australia, you burn Coal like the rest of us. China said well we don't want your coal, that we do buy will cost you a 6% tariff and you can shove your coal seam gas up your arse, we're buying Russian gas. Now its LNP so wonderfully on the brink of Free Trade Agreement with Asia, millions of cattle to China, next week will be North Korea and so on, so on! |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Team Knight Errant Grappler on Nov 7th, 2014 at 11:28pm St George of the Garden wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 3:35pm:
Yes they do! They treat them better than Tianenmen dissidents!! So there!! |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by ian on Nov 7th, 2014 at 11:31pm
I dont trust the Chinese to be humane, whoever thinks that is in cloud cuckoo land. Never mind the extreme cruelty of the travel conditions. We need to ban this abhorrent live export trade completely, yesterday.
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by True Blue... on Nov 8th, 2014 at 12:01am St George of the Garden wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 3:35pm:
is that right? link? |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by True Blue... on Nov 8th, 2014 at 12:02am ian wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 11:31pm:
everyone is pretty sure you don't know what you are talking about.. durr ian wrote on Nov 4th, 2014 at 1:41pm:
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Team Knight Errant Grappler on Nov 8th, 2014 at 12:23am ian wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 11:31pm:
I agree. If the animals were processed into beef (shudders at the thought though I love my steak - ah - the curious dichotomy that is Human) - here - it would be more humane than that terrible transportation for the term of their natural short life as arbitrarily decided by some gook - and at the least the economic activity would remain largely in this country. You guys are pushing me to becoming a vegan.... we ordinary folk don't like to think about where our steak and lamb and pork comes from.... and I happen to love animals. If we had some fattening cattle in our back paddock - they would end up very old and very fat pets.... I should stop being a hypocrite..... |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by ian on Nov 8th, 2014 at 12:27am
The Chinese have zero regard for animal rights and minor regard for human rights. Those who think we should sell our soul to the Chinese betray their own culture and our history of human rights. This should be non negotiable, anything else is un Australian.
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by ian on Nov 8th, 2014 at 12:30am True Blue... wrote on Nov 8th, 2014 at 12:02am:
http://www.health.gov.au/mentalhealth |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Nov 8th, 2014 at 4:30am True Blue... wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 5:10pm:
Abbot is the one been insulting our trading partners! Deals like this (tho not 1m cattle obviously) probably feasible due to Gillard negotiating for the $A to be the third currency that can be directly traded for the Chinese currency. The stimulus protected us from the GFC, no recession here and we were the 12th largest economy at the time of the election, having surpassed Spain. 12th largest! The Carbon Price was working well, very many businesses adapted when the price signal hit and reduced costs overall as well as reducing emissions. What put us in debt was Costello’s structural Budget deficit and Howard’s irresponsible spending which is STILL causing the Budget to bleed red ink to negative gearers, to the super rich using super to avoid tax and the like. The highly indebted household sector is also holding back the recovery—this debt due to the real estate boom 2001–7 that Howard & Costello fed with tax cuts, pork and irresponsible spending. This present shambles increased spending, wound back action to tighten FBT and reduce the super rort. Their incompetent Budget is still not through the Parliament and much will be just abandoned. I would wait till the MEYFO is out before slamming the previous Labor govt! |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Armchair_Politician on Nov 8th, 2014 at 5:44am John Smith wrote on Nov 7th, 2014 at 8:17am:
What makes you think that's what happened? Maybe the Chinese saw the state of Labor in federal politics and used it as leverage to push for more for their side, given Rudd and Gillards' weak positions and lack of popularity with the public? Along comes Abbott, showing some spine and integrity and gets us what we need. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by Armchair_Politician on Nov 8th, 2014 at 5:46am St George of the Garden wrote on Nov 8th, 2014 at 4:30am:
Did you forget what Gillard did to the cattle industry over Indonesia? Did you forget what Rudd called the Chinese, our biggest trading partner? Yeah, of course you did! |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Nov 8th, 2014 at 8:09am
Monkey putting a date on when the FTA is to be signed is the biggest of his many huge blunders—it just gives too much power to the Chinese who just have to sit tight and the Australian negotiators will have to cave to get the stupid thing signed!
Monkey would have been wiser to work to a deadline known only to him and Robb of mid–2016. A propaganda coup when needed and no need to concede on everything. |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by St George of the Puissant HLT on Nov 8th, 2014 at 8:12am
Armpit shrieked:
Cattle industry must be in good shape despite the needed temporary ban—hardly any cattle available to china! Rudd called the chinese ratf*ckers? Did they recall their Ambassador? Or just ignore this? |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by John Smith on Nov 8th, 2014 at 12:41pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Nov 8th, 2014 at 5:44am:
and maybe they were so impressed when they saw Abbott riding Rudolph the red nosed reindeer, that they just gave in to his demands? :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by True Blue... on Nov 8th, 2014 at 12:58pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Nov 8th, 2014 at 5:46am:
just to remind the Labor/Green coalition supporters, as they seem to have memories of a gold fish (3 seconds) he called them slimly little Rat bugger*** ... I wonder why the useless party couldn't get a trade deal across the line.. even from a country starved of Beef? ::) |
Title: Re: Australia on brink of landmark cattle deal.. Post by SupositoryofWisdom on Nov 8th, 2014 at 5:24pm True Blue... wrote on Nov 8th, 2014 at 12:58pm:
I would be asking why the Chinese couldn't wait to sign on the dotted line. Amateur mistake LNP amateur mistake. |