General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1416459128 Message started by Swagman on Nov 20th, 2014 at 2:52pm |
Title: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Swagman on Nov 20th, 2014 at 2:52pm
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2014-11-20/ian-macdonald-eddie-obeid-to-be-prosecuted/5905540
Where's John S. I'm sure your comrade at Pricksy Leaks will be right onto this one...... |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Lord Sir BigVic VSD and Bar on Nov 20th, 2014 at 2:55pm Swagman wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 2:52pm:
Good to see! Now let's see Mr Sinodinos and the 10 other NSW Liberal MPs face the same. Bottle of red anyone? |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by SupositoryofWisdom on Nov 20th, 2014 at 2:55pm
He was claiming they would never prosecute him. Like all corrupt pollies I hope they go to town on him.
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Team Froggie on Nov 20th, 2014 at 2:57pm
And so they should be.....
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by longweekend58 on Nov 20th, 2014 at 2:58pm Swagman wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 2:52pm:
another labor pollie going to jail... how (not) unusual. |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Team Froggie on Nov 20th, 2014 at 2:59pm Vic wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 2:55pm:
What say you, swaggie??? ;) |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Phemanderac on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:02pm
What is this "more" bullshit, Obeid and McDonald have been the mainstream media faces for ALP corruption for the main part...
Same old gobble different turkey. Got any others to dredge up, clearly nothing new to offer. |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by SupositoryofWisdom on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:07pm
Whilst it especially sweet when it's your team this is one of those issues that we should unite on and demand a federal investigation into corruption leaving no stone unturned, these pricks are meant to be representing the peoples interests.
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Swagman on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:09pm Lobo wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 2:59pm:
I have no issue with that as long as the punishment fits the crime, O'farrell's bottle of plonk pales into insignificance when compared to Obeid and Macdonald. |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by skippy. on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:10pm Swagman wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:09pm:
Corruption is corruption, that's like saying I didn't rape her because I didn't cum. ::) |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Swagman on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:13pm Phemanderac wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:02pm:
Ask Aunty ABC Phelmo as it was her that slapped it on her website soon enough. Maybe she is getting way too much tax-payer funds if she is wasting it on yesterday's news huh ;D ....or is it her attempt to be unbiased... ;D |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Team Froggie on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:16pm Its time wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:07pm:
[smiley=thumbsup.gif] |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Team Froggie on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:18pm Swagman wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:09pm:
The 'bottle of plonk' wasn't the issue. Misleading thr Parliament was... ;) |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Lord Sir BigVic VSD and Bar on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:22pm Swagman wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:09pm:
Wait till Australian Water Holdings gets fully investigated - some big names are going to fall there! What was Sinodinos getting per annum for how many hours? (cough cough) |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by teddybear on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:23pm Lobo wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:18pm:
!I think you mean the ICAC |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by longweekend58 on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:26pm Its time wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:07pm:
there is a bit of a difference between not declaring a bottle of win on a pecuniary interest register (not a crime) and defrauding the state of $100M |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Swagman on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:27pm
.....shhhh ICAC will get me for Ozpol posting during work time
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Phemanderac on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:27pm Swagman wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:13pm:
They didn't use the title "more alp corrupt bla bla bullshit..." That was all on you mate. I am sure the story itself is news worthy for some, I am also sure that the ABC were not the only possible source of the story. However, truly, it is nothing new at all, or particularly unexpected. The only surprising news will be if either of those two grubs have a get outta gaol free card somehow... The real interesting point made in this thread would be for a bipartisan approach to a federal ICAC.... That would be worth whatever it cost, providing of course that it has far reaching frame work and is not limited. Clearly though, neither team will jump on board that bus eh? Both have far too much at risk on that front. Should we really be arguing Liberal Vs Labor given current outcomes? |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by longweekend58 on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:28pm skippy. wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:10pm:
not even close. it is like saying I didn't rape her because I walked past her in the street and turned to stare. |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Swagman on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:30pm longweekend58 wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:28pm:
......what did Julian Assange say ;D |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Sir Phoney Liebral on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:46pm
I hope a federal ICAC catches all corrupt politicians.
If it takes down the whole parliament then so be it. |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Team Froggie on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:53pm teddybear wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:23pm:
Both, actually...... Thanx for bringing that up. :) |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Team Froggie on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:55pm Fit of Absent Mindeness wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:46pm:
Agree.... If we ever get a Federal unit. ;) |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by longweekend58 on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:57pm Swagman wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:30pm:
Sweden has some rather odd rape laws not the least of which is that a woman can change her mind AFTER THE EVENT and not wearing a condom when the other person wants you to is also rape. |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by salad in on Nov 20th, 2014 at 4:07pm
More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted
It's like I keep saying: Australian politicians have been turned away from the Mafia recruiting office. As soon as our politicians turned up hoping to join the Mafia a foul smell was evident. The source of the smell was traced to the filth known as Australian politicians. |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by cods on Nov 20th, 2014 at 4:27pm Fit of Absent Mindeness wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:46pm:
I am alone I know! but I still believe in our system.. and I still believe for the most part they are honest and there for the benefit of the country... like any industry its not perfect and will always attract those who think they can milk a good thing.. which is what OBEID and Mcdonald did.. they lined their own pockets...and the union guy wasnt far behind... and dont forget this wasnt a one off like a bottle of plonk. |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by cods on Nov 20th, 2014 at 4:33pm Lobo wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 3:16pm:
I agree its a bloody shame we have been brought down to this level....at this rate we could end up with more ex pollies IN jail than OUT of it.. anyone found guilty by the courts.. nothing short of 10 years............ they go on and on about paying them well... and they are being paid well..... well the consequences for abusing their position must be harsh...especially when it comes to personal benefit... |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by John Smith on Nov 20th, 2014 at 4:37pm Swagman wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 2:52pm:
Lock him up and throw away the keys .... just make sure the 11 or so libs also found wanting, are in the cell with him |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by longweekend58 on Nov 20th, 2014 at 4:38pm cods wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 4:33pm:
there you go again with your silliness regarding 'scale of offence'. you would send that Lib ex-senator to jail for 10 years for shoplifting??? |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Team Froggie on Nov 20th, 2014 at 4:39pm cods wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 4:27pm:
Not really alone, cods. All corruption should be punished. I allowed a fair amount of leeway with my people , when it came to "foreign orders", ie. making something for themselves, or family using company materials, etc. In 40-odd years I only had to sack one person for lying/theft. As I said elsewhere today, it wasn't just 'a bottle of plonk'. It was the lies associated with said bottle.... :) |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Bam on Nov 20th, 2014 at 4:39pm
Corrupt politicians being tried in court? Good. The more the better.
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by longweekend58 on Nov 20th, 2014 at 5:02pm Lobo wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 4:39pm:
there is still a huge difference between the Grange Scandal which remains NOT a criminal offence and that of stealing $100B from the taxpayer. |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by longweekend58 on Nov 20th, 2014 at 5:03pm Bam wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 4:39pm:
there is a labor MP from SA in court now.... child porn. |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by cods on Nov 20th, 2014 at 5:04pm longweekend58 wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 5:03pm:
one wonders when there never has been a Labor MP in court...... |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by DifferentFrequency on Nov 20th, 2014 at 5:08pm
Vell, I zink in zees times it iz quite rational to prosequte anyvone inwolwed in zee political.
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Team Froggie on Nov 20th, 2014 at 5:10pm longweekend58 wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 5:02pm:
You lot seem to want to see this 'Bottle' as a stand alone. Forget about lying to the people... Fair enough. |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by cods on Nov 20th, 2014 at 5:10pm Lobo wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 4:39pm:
of course.... but he didnt lie in parliament..like some claim..I agree with you wouldnt it be nice to be asked by an employee if he can borrow or use work equipment...maybe have that policy...would they like it if you walked into their home and helped themselves to something without permission..... to me thats what its all about... dont abuse or take anything for granted... but everything has a line drawn under it.. and I can see a big difference in a bottle of plonk and $millions of dollars made due to dodgy back scratching... |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Team Froggie on Nov 20th, 2014 at 5:10pm
And that's only 1 out of 12.
Ripper!!! |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by cods on Nov 20th, 2014 at 5:16pm Lobo wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 5:10pm:
no but even you would have to agree...he didnt steal land from anyone to make millions for himself.... OFarrell fell on his sword more than Obeid ever did..he still claims he did nuffink wrong....they have nothing on him.... will we ever know how much this one man has cost us??????.....well I guess we should say family.....HOW MUCH....... come on TF even you must be able to see a slight difference.. |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by Team Froggie on Nov 20th, 2014 at 5:17pm cods wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 5:10pm:
I'm not sure that he didn't and can't be bothered chasing it up as we all been through all this before. I do believe it was mentioned in parliament so I presume he gave an answer. As he denied it for some time there is the possibility he did. And then there is the fact it was not declared. An untruth in itself. ;) |
Title: Re: More ALP corrupt politicians to be prosecuted Post by longweekend58 on Nov 20th, 2014 at 7:05pm Lobo wrote on Nov 20th, 2014 at 5:10pm:
I'm not defending it as an action, rather I am making the rather obvious statement that it is NOTHING compared to the theft of $100M |