General Discussion >> Chat >> America http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1419719275 Message started by Neferti on Dec 28th, 2014 at 8:27am |
Title: America Post by Neferti on Dec 28th, 2014 at 8:27am
16 people on things they couldn't believe about America until they moved there. Some interesting things on what it is like to live in the USA, some might surprise you.
http://thoughtcatalog.com/michael-koh/2013/11/16-people-on-things-they-couldnt-believe-about-america-until-they-moved-here/ |
Title: Re: America Post by miketrees on Dec 28th, 2014 at 8:40am
Thanks for that, I read it quite quirky
Title: Re: America Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 28th, 2014 at 9:03am Not much different to Australia except for the Thanksgiving and the guns. |
Title: Re: America Post by stryker on Dec 28th, 2014 at 10:01am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 9:03am:
;D ;D ;D And those two nations that your 100% bias against. |
Title: Re: America Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 28th, 2014 at 10:44am stryder wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 10:01am:
America (the Administration, not the people) has been on the nose for decades, and as a fifth generation Australian I would not be doing my duty if I didn't call on the elected governments of my country when they stray from the path of justice, honesty and a fair go for all. It's called keeping the bastards honest and I'll do it until my dying day, it's the least I can do for my descendants. If you cared about your country you would do the same when it goes off the rails. |
Title: Re: America Post by Baronvonrort on Dec 28th, 2014 at 11:09am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 9:03am:
I lived there for 2 years and never saw a gun outside a firing range or outside of someones home, with the exception of law enforcement. Those who have never been to the USA tend to bag it out of ignorance. |
Title: Re: America Post by stryker on Dec 28th, 2014 at 11:47am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 10:44am:
I dont see it as going off the rails as you do, do I have issues with AMERICA ??, god damn I do, but you wanna compare AMERICASs functioning political system in representation to it citizens to nations like NORTH KOREA, IRAN, or ISSISS, in the very notions of JUSTICE, HONEST AND A FAIR GO, I would lean on america more so than those other three in the attempt to do so. |
Title: Re: America Post by greggerypeccary on Dec 28th, 2014 at 12:18pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 9:03am:
Yep, they're a bunch of gun nuts. "That you cannot purchase alcohol unless you are 21 but can purchase a gun if you are 18." |
Title: Re: America Post by Neferti on Dec 28th, 2014 at 3:40pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 9:03am:
Actually, you are wrong, Pansi. Lots of things were commented on that do not apply in Australia. These are quotes from what the 16 people said:- Quote:
I have heard this one before .... chocolate lovers will understand. Plus the Yanks put cheese on just about everything! Quote:
Have you tried to get Planning permission to erect a flag pole on your block? Quote:
Giggled at this one: Quote:
Oh, and there is NOT a gun in EVERY household. ;) |
Title: Re: America Post by Sprintcyclist on Dec 28th, 2014 at 9:32pm stryder wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 11:47am:
yes, the US may not be ideal. But it is one of the better countries of the world to live in. |
Title: Re: America Post by AiA on Dec 29th, 2014 at 3:38am
I have been here for years and years now ... the things that frustrate me are the police who are by and large uneducated bullies and the mess the Americans call health insurance and those that actually defend such an expensive and inefficient system.
Title: Re: America Post by cods on Dec 29th, 2014 at 7:35am AiA wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 3:38am:
that sounds about right from what we read......however you didnt mention the gun laws and absolute devotion to guns they all seem to have...one bloke I read bragged about having 50 guns.....he didnt mention only two arms.. ::) ::).. if I had to live with a gun in every corner I couldnt stand it..total fear or paranoia .. either way awful... Neferti wrote on Dec 28th, 2014 at 3:40pm:
sadly pansi can see nothing right about Australia... she is convinced we are worse than the worse on every level...sad really. :( |
Title: Re: America Post by AiA on Dec 29th, 2014 at 8:00am cods wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 7:35am:
Guns ... I have lived in both extremes - Japan, where there are few guns and America where they are everywhere. |
Title: Re: America Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 29th, 2014 at 8:04am cods wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 7:35am:
Not true at all, just because I call the pollies to task about their policies in no way reflects my opinion on Australia as a nation. At the moment, Medicare is great, uni for everyone is great, unemployment benefits are appalling and needs to be increased by $100 a week.....good and bad, no? We have both good and bad points, like most countries, but I will continue to rally against any government that wishes to destroy our freedoms and democracy. We are not the worst of the worst although we could do better on health, education, employment, infrastructure, affordable housing and social services. There's always room for improvement. I would never compare Australia to NORTH KOREA, IRAN, or ISSISS........that's insane. Where do people get off on those comparisons? |
Title: Re: America Post by cods on Dec 29th, 2014 at 8:11am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 8:04am:
sorry pansi but thats how you come across...very resentful of anything here... and you lord Putin...as if he is doing everything right....sorry but thats how I see most of your posts...very anti Western.. you go into bat for Bikies who have a worst record than Kim Jong un... you claim Putin is innocent and America is guilty over the mh 17.. you believe Pravda.. of course America is always guilty ::) ::) |
Title: Re: America Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 29th, 2014 at 8:59am I look at ALL the evidence at hand and draw on history rather than blindly follow just one avenue of media, if by doing that I conclude that America is at fault.......so be it. You must have missed the posts where I have said I'm NOT a Putin fan, but I will certainly stick up for anyone or any nation that looks like it's being set up by western powers. I've also said I'm not a fan of bikies, but again, I will bat for any group that is being singled out and persecuted because next they will come for you and I, no? As for the west, well! they've had their hour in the sun, it's time for change, as we are now seeing. I don't really care if the west falls, it's their own fault for continuing with their colonialism and greed , they've had it coming. |
Title: Re: America Post by cods on Dec 29th, 2014 at 9:13am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 8:59am:
this is it in a nut shell pansi... you do hate the west.. mostly AMerica...yet I am sure you have never lived there... yes you do read... but sorry it seems you read a lot of ANTI WEST and we can all do that....as you accuse those who appear to only read one form of media... its no different.. you sound so bitter and yet for the life of me.. I doubt your life is any worse than anyone elses....at least you can look forward to a pension.. I bet they dont have them in Russia...you can look forward to almost free meds...you are encouraged to keep your car and home for as long as possible.. what more can you want.???.. we have sunshine and rain beaches galore...food in abundance.... what more do you want?????>. oh thats right you wan the West to FAIL |
Title: Re: America Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 29th, 2014 at 9:44am cods wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 9:13am:
That's all well and dandy.........but it aint politics. |
Title: Re: America Post by it_is_the_light on Dec 29th, 2014 at 1:42pm cods wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 9:13am:
many blessings many people have been programmed into believing you must be pro west or pro east this is laughable for all are one ... yet further the US and the ' west ' has bombed more than 250 countries since WWII and so if anyone wishes to support ' the west ' you are headed for a great tumble along with the rest of the satanic cabal so be it namaste - : ) = |
Title: Re: America Post by cods on Dec 29th, 2014 at 2:46pm it_is_the_light wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 1:42pm:
only 250..... where di you get that number from???...not space surely... yes you and pansi make a great couple...living in the land of the free.. yet blaming it for everything... not bad.. I think even satan would be saying a big fat NO to you Mr light. |
Title: Re: America Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 29th, 2014 at 2:54pm Many blessings enlightened one. Cods doesn't understand about the cabal or the Bush Doctrine or the NSA or any of the other evil arms of the global cabal associated with the New World Order, so it's a bit difficult trying to explain. Do you, cods? I wouldn't know where to start explaining it to you besides you'd resist all the way to the cool aid queue where Mr Abbott would be handing out your medicine......drink it up, it will be better for you. Eyes wide open and be prepared. |
Title: Re: America Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 29th, 2014 at 3:01pm cods wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 2:46pm:
The US have effectively bombed one third of the world's population since WWII, but you don't want to know that, do you cods? But....but they're white people just like us, surely they wouldn't. Blinkers on tight, eyes wide shut. |
Title: Re: America Post by life_goes_on on Dec 29th, 2014 at 3:01pm
I for one, welcome this New World Order thingy and offer my services to our new overlords whether they be human or reptilian.
Getting rid of individual national governments has got to be a good thing and a way of ending evil nationalism and bring a way for humankind to live under everlasting peace and happiness. |
Title: Re: America Post by cods on Dec 29th, 2014 at 3:05pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 2:54pm:
really if it turns me into a Australian hating person then sure as hell I dont want to understand; thanks pan si. I love what I have got I have through work and nothing else....no hand outs not a thing from any govt.... and guess what we never whinged either... not like this lot today and yourself... all you guys do is whinge... yep some things need to be stopped.. like massive spending on the back of borrowing.. perhaps thats how you have lead you life I dont know.. but we went without to get what we wanted we saved for it...we didnt rob Peter to pay Paul like they do today with multi credit cards... hideous...and then blame the govt of the day... and thats how I prefer our govt to work.. pay your BILLS...unless you want China to rule the roost...Russia is now going backwards....it comes to all of them that think the good life will go on forever... your new world order sounds painful full of hatred and bitterness no thanks its all yours....my friend.. I love this country and what its given me....if taking a step back helps it get back on its feet... then I can do that...I owe this country that much... you would rather see us sink into the sinkhole of despair....just to pay back ABbott for winning an election... not me.... |
Title: Re: America Post by it_is_the_light on Dec 29th, 2014 at 3:07pm cods wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 2:46pm:
many blessings List of countries the USA has bombed since the end of World War II By Global Research Global Research, May 04, 2011 China 1945-46 Korea 1950-53 China 1950-53 Guatemala 1954 Indonesia 1958 Cuba 1959-60 Guatemala 1960 Belgian Congo 1964 Guatemala 1964 Dominican Republic 1965-66 Peru 1965 Laos 1964-73 Vietnam 1961-73 Cambodia 1969-70 Guatemala 1967-69 Lebanon 1982-84 Grenada 1983-84 Libya 1986 El Salvador 1981-92 Nicaragua 1981-90 Iran 1987-88 Libya 1989 Panama 1989-90 Iraq 1991 Kuwait 1991 Somalia 1992-94 Bosnia 1995 Iran 1998 Sudan 1998 Afghanistan 1998 Yugoslavia – Serbia 1999 Afghanistan 2001 Libya 2011 add a few more from the past 3 years as well ... be at peace namaste - : ) = |
Title: Re: America Post by it_is_the_light on Dec 29th, 2014 at 3:09pm
http://academic.evergreen.edu/g/grossmaz/interventions.html
FROM WOUNDED KNEE TO SYRIA: A CENTURY OF U.S. MILITARY INTERVENTIONS by Dr. Zoltan Grossman The following is a partial list of U.S. military interventions from 1890 to 2014. Below the list is a Briefing on the History of U.S. Military Interventions. The list and briefing are also available as a powerpoint presentation. This guide does not include: mobilizations of the National Guard offshore shows of naval strength reinforcements of embassy personnel the use of non-Defense Department personnel (such as the Drug Enforcement Administration) military exercises non-combat mobilizations (such as replacing postal strikers) the permanent stationing of armed forces covert actions where the U.S. did not play a command and control role the use of small hostage rescue units most uses of proxy troops U.S. piloting of foreign warplanes foreign or domestic disaster assistance military training and advisory programs not involving direct combat civic action programs and many other military activities. Among sources used, beside news reports, are the Congressional Record (23 June 1969), 180 Landings by the U.S. Marine Corp History Division, Ege & Makhijani in Counterspy (July-Aug, 1982), "Instances of Use of United States Forces Abroad, 1798-1993" by Ellen C. Collier of the Library of Congress Congressional Research Service, and Ellsberg in Protest & Survive. Versions of this list have been published on Zmag.org, Neravt.com, and numerous other websites. Translations of list: Spanish French Turkish Italian Chinese Greek Russian Czech Tamil Portuguese Quotes in Christian Science Monitor and The Independent Turkish newspaper urges that the United States be listed in Guinness Book of World Records as the Country with the Most Foreign Interventions. COUNTRY OR STATE Dates of intervention Forces Comments read on .. you are forgiven dear cods namaste - : ) = |
Title: Re: America Post by it_is_the_light on Dec 29th, 2014 at 3:11pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 2:54pm:
many blessings divine feminine and sister being all dupes are waking up and wiping sleep from the eyes so be it fear not for it is good it is very good for we are here and we are love and so it is namaste - : ) = |
Title: Re: America Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 29th, 2014 at 3:18pm Most American's would have no idea of the carnage caused by the US military complex since WWII. The US war machine in full swing. If only they'd listed to Eisenhower. Who are the losers? The ordinary men and women that lose their lives for no other reason than to prop up the war industry. ....................................................................................... In January 1961, US President Dwight D Eisenhower used his farewell address to warn the nation of what he viewed as one of its greatest threats: the military-industrial complex composed of military contractors and lobbyists perpetuating war. Investment in homeland security companies is expected to yield a 12 percent annual growth through 2013 - an astronomical return when compared to other parts of the tanking economy. http://www.aljazeera.com/indepth/opinion/2014/01/big-money-behind-war-military-industrial-complex-20141473026736533.html |
Title: Re: America Post by cods on Dec 29th, 2014 at 4:29pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 3:18pm:
I like the way you quote Al Jazeera yet I didnt see you guy on my thread wishing Peter Greste all the best with his appeal...maybe hes Australian I dont know.. ::) as it is .. I am still waiting for the 250 countries.... btw HOW MANY OF THOSE YOU DID COME UP WITH ASKED...NAY.... BEGGED THE YANKS TO COME AND HELP SAVE THEM??...just askin. what about RUSSIA... how many countries have they taken over and or bombed the sh!t out of.. [url][http://nypost.com/2014/03/17/russian-news-agency-head-we-can-bomb-the-us-into-radioactive-ash//url] there is a BOX out there how about looking outside of it.. |
Title: Re: America Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 29th, 2014 at 5:27pm cods wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 4:29pm:
One small conflict with Georgia, but that was also due to American intervention. The people of Crimea voted to stay with Russia, that was not a takeover. That huge list of countries bombed by America and you still can't see that they're in the wrong. I give up. |
Title: Re: America Post by stryker on Dec 29th, 2014 at 5:41pm cods wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 9:13am:
Aint that beautiful Cods, Dame pansi cant hide his true colours with this, and you can feel the scorn he has about america, australia and every other western democratic nation in the world, that he would start a thread against. Oh they are guilty for pushing the progress of western civilisation, through empires and colonialism. You know some country has to be No 1, or on the top of the heap, IT WORKS IN NATURE THROUGH THE CONCEPT OF THE FOOD CHAIN, But maybe Dame pansi WOULD LIKE TO SEE A COLLECTION OF AUTOCRATIC TYRANICAL NATIONS RISE UP OVER THE DEMOCRATIC ONES. :D :D :D If dame pansi ever get caught up with radical muslims and is a prisoner of them, PLEASE I HOPE THEY DONT RESCUE HIM, he wouldn't wanna be rescued, he would feel at home with any anti western scum. ;D ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: America Post by Neferti on Dec 29th, 2014 at 6:11pm
I didn't intend this to go off track into American politics but seems that is has.
So! BACK ON TRACK! OK? An American-Texas-born friend sent that link to me and I thought it might be useful for Aussies to understand how various migrants from different parts of the World, who are now living and working in the USA, thought Americans were and how they found them once they had moved, lived and worked there for several years. Unless you have lived there for several years, you really do NOT know what the Country is actually like ... just what you see on TV and read in the Media. Americans are just as bad with their ideas about Australians .... in some instances "Australia is America back in the 60's" ........ ::) I have had many "strong" discussions with my many American pals. They will learn how to be an Aussie, eventually. ;D |
Title: Re: America Post by cods on Dec 29th, 2014 at 6:33pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 5:27pm:
::) ::) me too... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_wars_involving_Russia you have been reading Pravda again havent you.... ;D ;D have a look from 1991 onwards...btw no mention of America... I counted 10 hostilities....with at least two still on going... ::) ::) |
Title: Re: America Post by Neferti on Dec 29th, 2014 at 6:41pm
THIS IS NOT ABOUT AMERICAN POLITICS .... PLEASE KEEP ON TOPIC.
Title: Re: America Post by cods on Dec 29th, 2014 at 6:47pm Neferti wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 6:41pm:
why its boring...who cares what anyone thinks about living in America unless one is planning to do just that..... pansi would only go to Russia no way would she go West..and Light well who knows where he would end up.. me I prefer Oz...nope never been to America....and have no desire....their gun culture is one big turn off for me. |
Title: Re: America Post by stryker on Dec 29th, 2014 at 6:51pm Neferti wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 6:11pm:
And what ideas are those ??? |
Title: Re: America Post by stryker on Dec 29th, 2014 at 7:00pm Neferti wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 6:41pm:
Hey there sport, Its about AMERICA, its people, culture, society, enviroment OR POLITICS. It cant be not ?? |
Title: Re: America Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 30th, 2014 at 5:52am cods wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 6:47pm:
No, no, no cods.....I have said many times that it would be the pits to live in Russia, cold, a diet of borscht, black bread and vodka ((((chucks up)))) depressive and utterly horrid, not my cup of tea at all. I would only go east, beautiful culture, yummy food and happy faces. |
Title: Re: America Post by AiA on Dec 30th, 2014 at 6:15am cods wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 6:47pm:
please stay out of america cods no one wants you and besides they shoot the useless instead go to mexico and take that burrito between your legs with you |
Title: Re: America Post by issuevoter on Dec 30th, 2014 at 6:48am
Doncha love how Australians who have never lived in the US know all about it? They must trust what they see on TV. I saw the Cronulla riots on US TV, You'd think Australia was Northern Ireland from the reports.
Title: Re: America Post by cods on Dec 30th, 2014 at 6:53am AiA wrote on Dec 30th, 2014 at 6:15am:
well heres hoping that one gets you a LOOOOOOOOOOONG BAN.. we dont want your filthy language on here... and you are one of the main reasons I would never set foot in America....I consider Oz lucky you are over there.... enjoy your break....I hope.. >:( |
Title: Re: America Post by cods on Dec 30th, 2014 at 6:54am issuevoter wrote on Dec 30th, 2014 at 6:48am:
they couldnt believe it happened in Austria thats all... it is such an American thing after all.....at least no guns involved.. ::) ::) ::) |
Title: Re: America Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 30th, 2014 at 7:48am
well heres hoping that one gets you a LOOOOOOOOOOONG BAN..
Permanent would be nice. |
Title: Re: America Post by cods on Dec 30th, 2014 at 8:11am Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 30th, 2014 at 7:48am:
couldnt agree more......some visitors we have from other.."planets" seem so rude...what is it with them???...I mean personal rude... I dread to think what happens on their own planet to be honest....makes me glad I am not a member.. one would get very tired of reporting them I would think. ::) ::) |
Title: Re: America Post by Neferti on Dec 30th, 2014 at 2:27pm stryder wrote on Dec 29th, 2014 at 7:00pm:
Who are you? I started this thread so can smack you over the knuckles if I want to, Mate. |
Title: Re: America Post by Neferti on Dec 30th, 2014 at 2:35pm cods wrote on Dec 30th, 2014 at 8:11am:
Cods/Pansi Please stop discussing Freediver's other Forum in this topic. Thanks! If you haven't been to the USA you have no idea. This thread was to EDUCATE you, so that you will get an IDEA! We do have several Aussies who live in the States on this Forum. Instead of acting like Aussie Bogans (dating us back into the 1960s) think of how embarrassed they would feel about you? Aussies aren't all that classy when they travel overseas ...... mostly they act badly, even the old ones, so don't start putting it all on the Yanks. OK? |
Title: Re: America Post by Dame Pansi on Dec 30th, 2014 at 3:03pm
FYI.....the thread named America is on the Ozpolitic Chat forum and I will discuss it how I please. If Freediver has a problem I'm sure he will contact me. thank you :) |
Title: Re: America Post by Neferti on Dec 30th, 2014 at 3:09pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 30th, 2014 at 3:03pm:
pls gt nkrs unktd. Tx. It was the discussion that Cods introduced (Political Animal) and you continued with that I was objecting to. Can't we all have a conversation without dragging in another Forum that neither you nor Cods know anything about? ' Carry on! |
Title: Re: America Post by ian on Dec 30th, 2014 at 4:14pm
I have travelled to the US and I love these people and their culture. Never saw a firearm and found the vast majority unfailingly polite and helpful. They have enormous social issues, so do we. One thing I noticed was the manners on the people, I was out on the street at night on one of thier biggest holidays of the year, full of young people drinking, having a good time, no fights, no aggression, some young males drunk out of thier brains bumped me by mistake, immediately apologised. Sorry sir they all said and were on their way, friends said to me, have a nice evening. You wouldnt get that here, it would have been on. Im an ugly looking character, still quite a big social difference in my opinion.
Title: Re: America Post by Neferti on Dec 30th, 2014 at 4:24pm ian wrote on Dec 30th, 2014 at 4:14pm:
Americans, I have found, are really overly apologetic by Aussie standards. I presume it is the Religious upbringing that doesn't occur in Australia. NOBODY in Australia calls anyone "sir" (not even to an aboriginal with a gun ... Joke Joyce). Americans are awfully patriotic too ... we Aussies are as well but just not so much into flying the flag. |
Title: Re: America Post by Black Orchid on Dec 30th, 2014 at 7:37pm
I grew up and went to school with a lot of Americans. My parents spent a lot of time over there and their friends spent quite a bit of time here as well. Same for me and my friends. I visit there and they visit here.
None of them are religious and only 2 have guns. I have never been to the mid western states though. I have been to many countries around the world and find the Americans to be amongst the most hospitable and friendly people I have encountered. A little bit of patriotism doesn't go astray and most Australians could do with a small dose of it. |
Title: Re: America Post by Steampipe on Dec 31st, 2014 at 5:48pm
I was in Alaska last year and at one point on a boat in a lake watching bears with a very nice American lady and we were chatting about the differences between Australia and America when I mentioned guns. She told me that she had a weapon in her handbag, and I replied that I didn't feel safe when people carry guns. Her response was she didn't feel safe unless she carried a gun. That was the difference right there, she didn't feel safe without a gun and I didn't feel safe because she had a gun.
On a lighter note the American NRA are lobbying for people to carry two guns because the lady that was shot in Walmart by her toddler could have shot the baby in self defence if she had another gun. |
Title: Re: America Post by cods on Dec 31st, 2014 at 6:12pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 30th, 2014 at 3:03pm:
its interesting pansi but on another thread when tose from another planet were all bitching and sniping at someone from ozpol.. calling him terrible names which had not a THING to do with ozpol...I asked them to take their nasty little fight back where it belonged.. guess who called me a busybody and told me it had nothing to do with me.. even though it had not a thing to to with the topic either... BLOODY HILARIOUS... since when did fd give neferti special powers to call the shots on who say what and when?? news to me.. I dont think even fd is that mad.or desperate :P |
Title: Re: America Post by stryker on Jan 1st, 2015 at 11:25am
America is not a bad country, it does look mostly like australia, but withs exceptions like driving from the left side, different accents, and a different flag.
Even with its gun culture Ill choose the USA over nations like those in the the middle east, north korea or even china any day. |