General Discussion >> General Board >> Little white Penal day....
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1422046699

Message started by Phemanderac on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:58am

Title: Little white Penal day....
Post by Phemanderac on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:58am
It's almost here folks, I hope all and sundry are ready to celebrate the day the little white penal settlement was started up....

Quite misleading calling it "Australia" day... The place wasn't known as "Australia" on Jan 26. 1788.

In fact for a number of decades it was nothing more than the "Penal settlement of New South Wales"...

I hope you all embrace you little white penal celebrations... I know I will be.

Title: Re: Little white Penal day....
Post by Phemanderac on Jan 24th, 2015 at 9:42am
You won't need the barbie set up by the way for "Little White Penal Day"...

Firstly to reflect the predicament of those who came here firstly to set up the little white penal colony - they had food shortages fairly soon after arrival. Hardly apt to celebrate their predicament with a big cook up.

Secondly, you could, if you so chose to, use the opportunity to protest the cruel treatment of animals under live export. That would be entirely the choice of the individual though, the reality is, those who started the white penal settlement did it awfully tough regarding food, so in their honour a barbie is somewhat inappropriate.

Little White Penal day for the win!

Post by Rocketanski on Jan 24th, 2015 at 9:44am
Must be hard living in a country you have so little respect for.

Post by Phemanderac on Jan 24th, 2015 at 9:57am

Rocketanski wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 9:44am:

I have a great deal of respect and love for the country I live in, a number of the people I share it with though I do not have  the same level of love or respect for.

No worries though, whether I love/respect them or not, the invitation to celebrate little white penal day is joyfully extended to one and all, yourself included.

I hope you are able to embrace your own little white penal day along with the rest of us.

Post by Rocketanski on Jan 24th, 2015 at 10:00am

Phemanderac wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 9:57am:

I have a great deal of respect and love for the country I live in, a number of the people I share it with though I do not have  the same level of love or respect for.

No worries though, whether I love/respect them or not, the invitation to celebrate little white penal day is joyfully extended to one and all, yourself included.

I hope you are able to embrace your own little white penal day along with the rest of us.
Oh yeah, sounds like you love and respect it. ;D ;D ;D ;D calling Australia's national day Little White Penal Day really demonstrates that respect. Do you demonstrate respect for your wife by calling her a big fat bitch?

Post by Swagman on Jan 24th, 2015 at 10:03am

I think there might be a penal settlement on your forehead.... :D ;D

Post by Phemanderac on Jan 24th, 2015 at 10:09am

Rocketanski wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 10:00am:

Oh yeah, sounds like you love and respect it. ;D ;D ;D ;D calling Australia's national day Little White Penal Day really demonstrates that respect. Do you demonstrate respect for your wife by calling her a big fat bitch?

Look mate, history is pretty clear on this, on the 26th of January, 1788 Captain Arthur Phillip claimed this land in the name of King George III as the "Penal Colony of NSW".... Nothing to do with "Australia" at that time....

Hence, it is actually celebrating the set up of the "Penal Settlement" consequently, the term "Little White Penal" day is far more apt a title than Australia day....

You might need to review your history a wee bit more thoroughly.

Further, calling my wife a fat bitch would be;

a) Derrogatory and disrespectful

b) Verbal abuse, at least as I understand it.

c) Involving a family member on the board (clearly without consent by the way)

d) A few breaches of the boards rules as they stand.

It's probably ok though, you will most likely get away with that I am sure. Hell, even if you don't get away with it, none of us will be any the wiser - that of course is not your responsibility or fault though - that's all about transparency.

Finally, I coined the term "Little White Penal Day" specifically because I do love/respect my country, but have nothing but abject disdain for what many people have turned that into.

You don't get it obviously, so to be clear, I have no respect or love for you and those like minded people whose views and perspectives do not enhance what this country has the potential to be.

Little white penal day is apt historically - or do you deny the origins of the colony in NSW was as a Penal Camp? Secondly it is apt because of the exclusive, divisive and arrogant attitudes of those who consider Australia being all about being "white". 

Post by Phemanderac on Jan 24th, 2015 at 10:10am

Swagman wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 10:03am:

I think there might be a penal settlement on your forehead.... :D ;D

I have no doubt there has been at times, just like the scar on your neck is from circumcision...

Post by Rocketanski on Jan 24th, 2015 at 10:14am

Phemanderac wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 10:09am:

Look mate, history is pretty clear on this, on the 26th of January, 1788 Captain Arthur Phillip claimed this land in the name of King George III as the "Penal Colony of NSW".... Nothing to do with "Australia" at that time....

Hence, it is actually celebrating the set up of the "Penal Settlement" consequently, the term "Little White Penal" day is far more apt a title than Australia day....

It's probably ok though, you will most likely get away with that I am sure. Hell, even if you don't get away with it, none of us will be any the wiser - that of course is not your responsibility or fault though - that's all about transparency.

Finally, I coined the term "Little White Penal Day" specifically because I do love/respect my country, but have nothing but abject disdain for what many people have turned that into.

You don't get it obviously, so to be clear, I have no respect or love for you and those like minded people whose views and perspectives do not enhance what this country has the potential to be.

Little white penal day is apt historically - or do you deny the origins of the colony in NSW was as a Penal Camp? Secondly it is apt because of the exclusive, divisive and arrogant attitudes of those who consider Australia being all about being "white". 
Funny how you are banging on about me starting crap when you put a post on like that. So you are one of those people that start a fight down the pub and sit back while other people get arrested? If you want to see our national day as a white jail day then that's your business. I on the other hand see it as the day that this great country and place to live was founded. Think about that when you sitting down to your beautiful dinner and suck back your next beer you ungrateful moron.

Post by Phemanderac on Jan 24th, 2015 at 10:33am

Rocketanski wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 10:14am:

Phemanderac wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 10:09am:

Funny how you are banging on about me starting crap when you put a post on like that. So you are one of those people that start a fight down the pub and sit back while other people get arrested? If you want to see our national day as a white jail day then that's your business. I on the other hand see it as the day that this great country and place to live was founded. Think about that when you sitting down to your beautiful dinner and suck back your next beer you ungrateful nice person.

Nah, I don't start fights at pubs...

Further, I did not attack members of your family, either directly or by way of example...

Penal Settlement of NSW established 26th January 1788 - that is a historical fact and naught to do with "the way I chose to see it..."

Post by red baron on Jan 24th, 2015 at 1:51pm
Eat it!

IAH_media_flag_001.jpg (70 KB | 70 )

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 24th, 2015 at 3:07pm

red baron wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 1:51pm:
Eat it!

Need to cook it first.

Post by Happy Lucky on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:43pm
I brought a roll of aboriginal flag toilet paper. Brown out the sun I say. ;)

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:48pm

Happy Lucky wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:43pm:

Where did you bring it?

Post by Happy Lucky on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:50pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:48pm:

Where did you bring it?
I bring it when I go to the toilet.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:50pm

Happy Lucky wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:50pm:

Where did you bring it?

Did you buy it?

Post by Happy Lucky on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:53pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:50pm:

Where did you bring it?

Did you buy it?
Yep. I BOUGHT it online. You can be all sorts of anti aboriginal fun things over the internet.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:54pm

Happy Lucky wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:53pm:

Where did you bring it?

Did you buy it?
Yep. I BOUGHT it online. You can be all sorts of anti aboriginal fun things over the internet.

Link?

Post by Happy Lucky on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:57pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:54pm:

Where did you bring it?

Did you buy it?

Link?
You can get aboriginal mobiles over the internet with little cardboard aborigines hanging from pieces of string. It all sits in a little cardboard jail cell. For an extra 20 cents you can get an add on weeping do-gooder. ;)

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:58pm

Happy Lucky wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:57pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 6:54pm:

Where did you bring it?

Did you buy it?

Link?
You can get aboriginal mobiles over the internet with little cardboard aborigines hanging from pieces of string. It all sits in a little cardboard jail cell. For an extra 20 cents you can get an add on weeping do-gooder. ;)

Link?

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 24th, 2015 at 7:35pm

red baron wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 1:51pm:
Eat it!

Cook it first.

Post by Postmodern Trendoid II on Jan 24th, 2015 at 11:31pm

Phemanderac wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 9:42am:

Firstly to reflect the predicament of those who came here firstly to set up the little white penal colony - they had food shortages fairly soon after arrival. Hardly apt to celebrate their predicament with a big cook up.

Secondly, you could, if you so chose to, use the opportunity to protest the cruel treatment of animals under live export. That would be entirely the choice of the individual though, the reality is, those who started the white penal settlement did it awfully tough regarding food, so in their honour a barbie is somewhat inappropriate.

Good propaganda, Comrade. We "progressives" will win the culture war by making everyone feel really bad about the country's origins. Once everyone is a pessimist and self-hating nihilist then the country will be at total harmony with itself.

Post by Phemanderac on Jan 25th, 2015 at 12:19am

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Jan 24th, 2015 at 11:31pm:

Good propaganda, Comrade. We "progressives" will win the culture war by making everyone feel really bad about the country's origins. Once everyone is a pessimist and self-hating nihilist then the country will be at total harmony with itself.

You feel bad about the truth comrade?

That's a terrible state of affairs, I hope you have some support for this. That would be progress...

Post by Postmodern Trendoid II on Jan 25th, 2015 at 12:33am

Phemanderac wrote on Jan 25th, 2015 at 12:19am:

That's a terrible state of affairs, I hope you have some support for this. That would be progress...

It was good propaganda to link the lack of food back in early colonial times with bbqs on Australia day. It's these deaths by a thousand paper cuts that will help bring down Western civilisation and bring world peace to the fore.

Post by Phemanderac on Jan 25th, 2015 at 12:38am

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Jan 25th, 2015 at 12:33am:

Phemanderac wrote on Jan 25th, 2015 at 12:19am:

It was good propaganda to link the lack of food back in early colonial times with bbqs on Australia day. It's these deaths by a thousand paper cuts that will help bring down Western civilisation and bring world peace to the fore.

don't you go tripping over that bottom lip, there's a good lad.

Post by HooYAY its FriYAY on Jan 25th, 2015 at 9:19am
Must be hard to survive with your head stuck in 1788 and up your arse.

;D ;D

All these whinging tools have every other day to piss and moan, plenty of poor abo days, you reckon they could just leave poor old YT one day to celebrate?

Oi Oi Oi

Post by Phemanderac on Jan 25th, 2015 at 3:15pm

HooYAY its FriYAY wrote on Jan 25th, 2015 at 9:19am:
Must be hard to survive with your head stuck in 1788 and up your arse.

;D ;D

All these whinging tools have every other day to piss and moan, plenty of poor abo days, you reckon they could just leave poor old YT one day to celebrate?

Oi Oi Oi

Stop pissing and moaning...

Post by red baron on Jan 25th, 2015 at 3:21pm
The black bastards  burning the Australian flag would be screaming their tits off if it were whites burning the Aboriginal flag.

I would gladly give them  the wrong end of a baseball bat if I came across  them or anyone else doing that to our national flag.

Post by ian on Jan 25th, 2015 at 3:33pm

red baron wrote on Jan 25th, 2015 at 3:21pm:
The black bastards  burning the Australian flag would be screaming their tits off if it were whites burning the Aboriginal flag.

I would gladly give them  the wrong end of a baseball bat if I came across  them or anyone else doing that to our national flag.

Its just symbolic, the abos have better things to do with lighter fluid

Post by Dame Pansi on Jan 25th, 2015 at 4:00pm

There seems to be far less bogans with Aussie flags hanging out their windows this year.

I saw this huge one nailed to the fence (flag not bogan) it made me think of you red baron, fond thoughts of course.

Post by Aussie on Jan 25th, 2015 at 4:11pm
I reckon Phemanderac is quite right.  If there is to be an Australia Day it ought be the 1st January.

Post by Happy Lucky on Jan 25th, 2015 at 4:15pm
Phem is just a spineless whinger; imagine being stuck in the trenches with him.

Post by Lionel Edriess on Jan 25th, 2015 at 4:15pm

I reckon those Abos are lucky to be allowed to burn the national flag. There's lots of other nations where such an action would see their arses in jail - or worse. Such freedom has been hard earned, by all Australians.

They should also thank their lucky stars that it was the British that established a colony in the first place. Their history could have been significantly different if the French or the Dutch had colonised. La Perouse was only days behind Cook.

Early immigration and its assimilation into this harshest of environments is what has shaped the Australian psyche, one that is now recognised in most parts of the world. The Australia of the 20th century had earned its laurels and its worldwide recognition.

Anyone that is critical of the old British Empire doesn't know their history and is ignorant of the treatment of its own people. Where would India be today without the early influence of the Raj? Where would Australia be now if the convict hulks in the Thames had not become overloaded because of war with what is now America (who has its own history with slaves and treatment of its indigenous people)? The French were involved in that one, too.

While I admit that some of the early treatment of our Aboriginal people was not up to today's standards, and even today their treatment is somewhat substandard, it could have been a whole lot worse.

There's plenty of other disadvantaged in today's world, including Australians (of whom the Aboriginal people are part of). Of course, sometimes these people are their own worst enemy.

To be critical of tomorrow's celebration is an acknowledgement of one's own ignorance.

Post by Lionel Edriess on Jan 25th, 2015 at 4:19pm

Happy Lucky wrote on Jan 25th, 2015 at 4:15pm:
Phem is just a spineless whinger; imagine being stuck in the trenches with him.

Ever dug a trench, Lucky? One that you had to hide in?

Ever fired a shot in anger or duty?

If you haven't -  :D

Post by Happy Lucky on Jan 25th, 2015 at 4:24pm
Have you, Lionel?

Post by red baron on Jan 25th, 2015 at 4:33pm
Go Australia on it's day 26th January 2015! ;D ;D ;D ;D

IAH_media_flag_002.jpg (70 KB | 55 )

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 25th, 2015 at 4:38pm

You criticise the "black bastards", for screaming their tits off, and in the very next breath you are promoting senseless violence if someone was to burn the Australian flag.

Not only are you a complete hypocrite, you're also a very troubled individual.

A beating with a baseball bat, for burning one's own property?  You should seek help, red.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 25th, 2015 at 4:40pm

Post by Phemanderac on Jan 25th, 2015 at 11:27pm

Lionel Edriess wrote on Jan 25th, 2015 at 4:15pm:
They should also thank their lucky stars that it was the British that established a colony in the first place. Their history could have been significantly different if the French or the Dutch had colonised. La Perouse was only days behind Cook.

Phillip actually, though it is an easy error to make.

La Perouse arrived on Jan 26, 1788 - about a week after Phillip anchored. Also, La Perouse was not set here to settle or claim that place. He was on a scientific expedition.

Post by Phemanderac on Jan 26th, 2015 at 7:53am
I hope one and all have a wonderful day celebrating our white penal settlement.

Reflect for a time the privations endured by Convict and Establishment alike. Consider the drive, enthusiasm, moral fibre and dedication of men like Arthur Phillip.

Embrace and enjoy the beauty of this wide and ever changing land (it's not just brown you know) and revel in the climate that is so encouraging for outdoor activity, fun and sharing.

Reconnect once more with the irreverence that we, the eventual decedents of these apparent criminals and their (more often than not) criminal guardians, developed or grew into as a distinct part of our national Character (you know, after Australia became a nation in 1901).

To really revel in the "Little White Penal day" celebration is to be truly Australian with a solid grasp on our actual history and our demonstrated tendency to self deprecating humour.

Let's be honest here, if we take ourselves too seriously we have immediately become un-Australian.

So embrace and enjoy. Oh, and if you really need to do the barbie, then bloodywell enjoy that too.

Post by Kat on Jan 26th, 2015 at 8:14am
I do not and will not buy the BS about invasion and genocide.

Neither are true, nor were they ever.

Both are a result of the politically-correct attempting to re-write history.

Spruiking that sort of crap will get NO sympathy from me.

Post by Phemanderac on Jan 26th, 2015 at 8:21am

Kat wrote on Jan 26th, 2015 at 8:14am:

Whilst "Invasion and Genocide" were not the driving forces behind setting up the Penal Settlement (establishing the Penal Colony was the driving motivator) it is quite easy to see;

a) How indigenous people's would frame the arrival of white colonists as an invasion - rightly or wrongly. In a sense, that perception needs to be addressed thoughtfully for it to be put to rest once and for all.

b) The Genocide bit, well, there have certainly been some aspects of genocidal behaviour throughout the history of this land since the Little White Penal settlement was first set up. Once again, it is mostly to do with perception most likely, however, people get quite attached to their perceptions, attached enough to fight over them in fact.

As far as an "invasion" goes, I have put this to a group of Aboriginal men previously - if the establishment of a Penal Settlement consisting of about 1500 people was an invasion, how is it your land (the indigenous people) was taken over by a mere 1500 people, most of whom were malnourished convicts...?

Not really an invasion, but a mightily emotive slogan.

It does not remove the reality that people (regardless of colour, religion or social grouping) are imminently capable of being really nasty, aggressive and mindlessly violent towards other people...

Post by Phemanderac on Jan 26th, 2015 at 8:22am

Kat wrote on Jan 26th, 2015 at 8:14am:

Oh, and I don't think that "crap" was spruiked here...

Post by Gnads on Jan 26th, 2015 at 9:09am
Must be because of all the softc0ck PC moaners  like
Peemandik  ::)

Post by Phemanderac on Jan 26th, 2015 at 9:50am

Gnads wrote on Jan 26th, 2015 at 9:09am:

Not sure what you are trying to say here, but, regardless I sincerely hope you enjoy embracing little white penal day with all of the other celebrants...

Post by HooYAY its FriYAY on Jan 26th, 2015 at 10:08am

Phemanderac wrote on Jan 26th, 2015 at 9:50am:

Gnads wrote on Jan 26th, 2015 at 9:09am:

Not sure what you are trying to say here, but, regardless I sincerely hope you enjoy embracing little white penal day with all of the other celebrants...

All the other celebrants?

That would be millions more than are pissing and moaning about it.

Enjoy your piss and moan day. ::)

>>>

Great to see all the people at the various Aussie Day breakfasts on the way to work today, and the 1000's along the river.

Aussie flags everywhere.

Magnificant.

8-) :) 8-) :)

Post by Phemanderac on Jan 26th, 2015 at 6:10pm
Ahhh, what an excellent day it has been.

I hope you all got a buzz out of Little White Penal day, although, everyday is one to celebrate to be honest.

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 26th, 2015 at 6:15pm

Phemanderac wrote on Jan 26th, 2015 at 6:10pm:

I hope you all got a buzz out of Little White Penal day, although, everyday is one to celebrate to be honest.

Just 4:15pm, here.

Have half a dozen friends out in the courtyard, enjoying a wine, some music, and some nibblies.

It's been a good day so far.

Post by cods on Jan 26th, 2015 at 10:02pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 26th, 2015 at 6:15pm:

Have half a dozen friends out in the courtyard, enjoying a wine, some music, and some nibblies.

how do you spend time on the computer instead of with your friends....thats so weird??.. I have spent the day alone with my sewing machine..lol..

one day is pretty much the same as another for me..

at least I can please myself..and thats a plus.

now have the tennis on..

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 26th, 2015 at 10:19pm

cods wrote on Jan 26th, 2015 at 10:02pm:

how do you spend time on the computer instead of with your friends.....

The laptop is set-up in the kitchen.

When I come in for a beer/wine run, I post messages.

Takes a minute, at the most.

Post by cods on Jan 26th, 2015 at 10:22pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 26th, 2015 at 10:19pm:

haha so know we know.. get away from the guests and into the stock of hidden beer... wink wink we get it.....

so you take this to bed as well???>..

no dont tell me it will break my illusion.. ;D ;D

Post by greggerypeccary on Jan 26th, 2015 at 10:27pm

cods wrote on Jan 26th, 2015 at 10:22pm:

greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 26th, 2015 at 10:19pm:

haha so know we know.. get away from the guests and into the stock of hidden beer... wink wink we get it.....

so you take this to bed as well???>..

no dont tell me it will break my illusion.. ;D ;D

It's only 8:25 here.

The fireworks are just finishing.

All of the guests are in the courtyard (watching the fireworks) and I'm back in the kitchen grabbing another bottle of wine.

It's been a good day (with many wines).

Post by rabbitoh08 on Jan 26th, 2015 at 11:51pm

Must be hard being so clueless about history.

Post by rabbitoh08 on Jan 26th, 2015 at 11:54pm

Shouldn't you be giving them the wrong end of a cricket bat - you un-Australian foreigner-loving piece of crap?

Post by rabbitoh08 on Jan 26th, 2015 at 11:57pm

Aussie wrote on Jan 25th, 2015 at 4:11pm:
I reckon Phemanderac is quite right.  If there is to be an Australia Day it ought be the 1st January.

Like.

Jan 26th is the dumbest national day ever.  It has nothing to do with "Australia".  It is Invasion Day.  Jan 1 makes far more sense.  That is when we became "Australia".  Let's celebrate that - not the day that genocide started.

Post by UnSubRocky on Jan 27th, 2015 at 12:17am

Use cricket bats, you unpatriotic yank.

And, yes, we are a restrained bunch of people when we see images like that.

Post by Dame Pansi on Jan 27th, 2015 at 8:08am

how do you spend time on the computer instead of with your friends....thats so weird??.. I have spent the day alone with my sewing machine..lol..

one day is pretty much the same as another for me..

at least I can please myself..and thats a plus.

now have the tennis on..

I was invited to an Indigenous bbq lunch (alcohol free) no, not free alcohol, just soft drinks and water.

I said thanks for letting me in.

They said we didn't *^#* let you in.....all in fun though lol!

Post by Phemanderac on Jan 27th, 2015 at 8:16pm
It seems some people have suggested that the PM really got hold of the Little White Penal day idea....

Post by Postmodern Trendoid II on Jan 27th, 2015 at 10:03pm

rabbitoh08 wrote on Jan 26th, 2015 at 11:57pm:

Aussie wrote on Jan 25th, 2015 at 4:11pm:

Like.

Jan 26th is the dumbest national day ever.  It has nothing to do with "Australia".  It is Invasion Day.  Jan 1 makes far more sense.  That is when we became "Australia".  Let's celebrate that - not the day that genocide started.

Good propaganda, Comrade. Just don't let anyone know you've kept all you've made from the invasion - money, material possessions, good medical, good housing, good food, good clothing, good jobs, etc. etc. We "progressives" must live the lie without letting the conservatives know. This is progress.

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.