General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1426752907 Message started by Aussie on Mar 19th, 2015 at 6:15pm |
Title: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Aussie on Mar 19th, 2015 at 6:15pm
They vote.....and if the Government decides....they get a gun to shoot and be shot at. They are adults. They are their own person.
So, after having a gap year, working, and sustaining themself at every level, they take up the mantra......'earn or learn,' and go to Uni. to get that tertiary education The Arab insists is the key to ensure they are not an ongoing burden to taxpayers. What, Mr Abbott, do you expect them to live on while they are learning? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Swagman on Mar 19th, 2015 at 6:22pm
Yes Tony maybe you should give them a few freebies now because Labor will be making sure they'll be paying double marginal tax rates for the rest of their working lives to pay the interest on Labor's Mount Everest of debt.... :D
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Aussie on Mar 19th, 2015 at 6:52pm
I'm pretty certain that fails to address the point raised. What does Abbott expect these 18/19 year old adults to live on while they do what The Arab urges.....'earn or learn?'
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by miketrees on Mar 19th, 2015 at 8:00pm
It is certainly part of the issue.
I think we need to change our whole concept of education. I would rather hire someone on what they can do, not what they did 20 years ago. If only we would value ongoing learning more people could work earn and learn |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Aussie on Mar 19th, 2015 at 8:22pm miketrees wrote on Mar 19th, 2015 at 8:00pm:
You raise very relevant issues there. But....what I want to know is what Abbott expects these voting adults less than 22 years old (who can be forced into wars) to live on when they choose to 'learn' and not 'earn.' |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by John Smith on Mar 19th, 2015 at 8:24pm Aussie wrote on Mar 19th, 2015 at 6:52pm:
so delete it ... you're the big man with the delete button aren't you? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Aussie on Mar 19th, 2015 at 8:27pm John Smith wrote on Mar 19th, 2015 at 8:24pm:
Gawd....now, your being miffed spills over into Politicians Suck. Really? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by John Smith on Mar 19th, 2015 at 8:28pm Aussie wrote on Mar 19th, 2015 at 8:27pm:
why? are you only a hypocrite when you are on relationships? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Aussie on Mar 19th, 2015 at 8:56pm
This is a very relevant issue for anyone under 22 who seeks to learn. It seems there is absolutely nothing in the way of Government assistance for them to do exactly what Abbott has urged ~ 'learn.'
What are they supposed to live on? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by miketrees on Mar 19th, 2015 at 9:53pm
We need to structure courses that can be done with less time limits while people do sh1t jobs to support themselves, no better incentive to gain qualifications.
The old way the nurses were trained was probably the best system of the lot, work and study on the job. But they abandoned that in favour of uni. The old nurses were brilliant. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by gizmo_2655 on Mar 20th, 2015 at 1:41am Aussie wrote on Mar 19th, 2015 at 8:22pm:
You do know that Australia doesn't actually have conscription, or 'national service', and hasn't had it since 1972.. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Noneofyourbusiness on Mar 20th, 2015 at 5:12am Aussie wrote on Mar 19th, 2015 at 6:15pm:
When did that become a standard practice? I thought serving your country was optional which very few Australians bothered to do. So few in fact not really worth mention in this context |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by St George of the Garden on Mar 20th, 2015 at 6:43am
Yoy don’t think Abbott with his constant talk of death cults, of sending Australian troops here there and everywhere is thinking of introducing National Service? Be a way of shoring up his hard right base.
But Aussie is just pointing out NS could be introduced and our 18/19 year olds would find themselves shooting and being shot at. Are adult enough for that. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Swagman on Mar 20th, 2015 at 9:18am John Smith wrote on Mar 19th, 2015 at 8:24pm:
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by gizmo_2655 on Mar 20th, 2015 at 9:29am St George of the Garden wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 6:43am:
And do you think that NS legislation would pass either House?? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Swagman on Mar 20th, 2015 at 9:52am gizmo_2655 wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 9:29am:
The Senate won't even pass legislation to get people off their bum and get jobs.....NS has absolute 'Buckley's" |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Dnarever on Mar 20th, 2015 at 10:06am Swagman wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 9:52am:
Supporters of the right are making noise to have the senate voting changed so they can get what they want ? The Last Howard government had control of both houses and could have implemented what ever policy they wanted ? You are right today - tomorrow could be very different, especially if the conservative supporters get what they want in terms of a conservatively compliant senate. I somehow think that their views would change in opposition where they would ones again want to hold bad policy to account. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Dnarever on Mar 20th, 2015 at 10:07am Swagman wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 9:52am:
There is no legislation to do that ? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by John Smith on Mar 20th, 2015 at 10:07am Swagman wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 9:18am:
thought police? not at all, Aussie only deletes those he disagrees with |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Dnarever on Mar 20th, 2015 at 10:11am John Smith wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 10:07am:
I somehow can not see Swag having a problem with the thought police though the off topic police would be a different story. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Vuk11 on Mar 20th, 2015 at 11:00am miketrees wrote on Mar 19th, 2015 at 8:00pm:
Good post. As it stands in most cases experience on the job is of far greater value than pieces of paper that only fulfil a legal requirement. My firms owner learnt everything from his licensee and people in the industry and learnt nothing practical for the job going all the way up to bachelor level. When swapping careers my Diploma etc only fulfilled the legal requirement to practice, everything of value was learnt from the boss man who had learnt from others in the industry. We place far too much value on pieces of paper because our elders told us it was the way to success.....a whole generation waking up to find the truth only after the fact. :-/ |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Kat on Mar 20th, 2015 at 11:11am Swagman wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 9:52am:
Just how stupid ARE you? How many times do you need to be shown that THE JOBS AREN'T THERE before the fact finally sinks in? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by John Smith on Mar 20th, 2015 at 11:20am Dnarever wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 10:11am:
now that all depends on who's off topic |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by gizmo_2655 on Mar 20th, 2015 at 11:23am Kat wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 11:11am:
Senate won't even pass legislation to create jobs... |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Swagman on Mar 20th, 2015 at 12:15pm Dnarever wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 10:11am:
Sometimes (like now) it's totally necessary to go off topic to explain a comment in a post or correct errors by other (mostly Lefty) posters.... :D |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Swagman on Mar 20th, 2015 at 12:33pm Dnarever wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 10:11am:
Besides if you are referring to my Debt Mountain post (Reply#1) it has extreme relevancy to the "dilemma of 18/19 year olds" which after all is the actual thread title. :-? 18/19 year olds will indeed have to pay double marginal tax rates to sustain our current level of Welfare State-ness as there will be twice as many tax dependents to tax-payers in 20 years. (Swan's IGR 2010 says this) So to Aussie I would say "what did you do to sustain yourself when you were 18/19"? When I was 18 there was no such thing as a 'gap year'. Ironically after a knock back from the ADFA I went to uni and survived on TEAS (Tertiary Education Assistance) as my mum was a widow. TEAS then, was even less than the dole. Around $36 FN I recall. It was crap, so I left UNI, thumbed my nose at the commie student unionists, got a job, stopped loafing, and started paying tax. That's my advice to 18/19 year olds..... :D |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Swagman on Mar 20th, 2015 at 12:40pm Kat wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 11:11am:
If you seriously want a job there are jobs out there to get. If they aren't local, then move. If your not qualified, get qualified. If your not experienced do some free work experience (if the union will let you) Don't sit on your arse and whinge at politicians or me for your own shortfalls, and then expect the tax-payer to bale you out permanently. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by John Smith on Mar 20th, 2015 at 12:47pm Swagman wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 12:40pm:
no, there are not .. there are currently about 15 000 jobs at any one time, and about 800 000 unemployed. No matter how you twist it, the numbers don't work. By the way, most of those 150 000 jobs will end up being filled by people already employed ... |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Vuk11 on Mar 20th, 2015 at 1:08pm John Smith wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 12:47pm:
Does that take into account the majority of jobs that aren't advertised? (Something like 70% according to job service provider stats) Though I think we need an abundance of unskilled work the current job numbers aren't good enough, we can at least be accurate? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Aussie on Mar 20th, 2015 at 2:17pm Swagman wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 12:33pm:
Whatever it was, that TEAS is ($36 FN...or whatever) is $36 FN ...or whatever more than today's lot get. If you are a University student, it is virtually impossible to obtain employment which fits around lectures, so inevitably kids like my eldest grand-daughter (whose parents have no capacity) are supported by me and 'Grandma.' Earn or learn, ey! As for what I did ...... I was supported 100% by my parents while at University, and then later by employment as an Articled Clerk earning the princely sum of $9.00 per week. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Swagman on Mar 20th, 2015 at 3:17pm Aussie wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 2:17pm:
Mainly due to rigid minimum hours and penalty rates jealously guarded by unions and Labor. Vuk11 wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 1:08pm:
...yeah I've seen that as well. Most job vacancies aren't advertised. One has to be PRO-active instead of 'NO'-active... :D |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Culture Warrior on Mar 20th, 2015 at 7:40pm
Lefties have 5 million excuses for why they shouldn't get a job and not a single one why they should. Pessimists and nihilists.
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by John Smith on Mar 20th, 2015 at 8:57pm Vuk11 wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 1:08pm:
the numbers for jobs available aren't obtained by looking at advertising, they're obtained by surveys (the number read was 5000 businesses from around the country) and then the numbers are extrapolated across the whole country SURVEY METHODOLOGY AND DESIGN 7 The JVS uses a sample survey methodology and collects information via online forms and/or telephone interviews. Approximately 5,000 employers, selected from the ABS Business Register (ABSBR), are included in the survey. 8 The statistical unit for the survey comprises all the activities of an employer in a particular state or territory based on the Australian Business Number (ABN) unit or Type of Activity Unit (TAU). Each statistical unit is classified to an industry which reflects the predominant activity of the business. The statistical units are stratified by state, industry division and employment size, and within each stratum, statistical units are selected with equal probability. 9 The sample for JVS, like most ABS business surveys, is selected from the ABSBR which is primarily based on registrations to the Australian Taxation Office's (ATO) Pay-As-You-Go Withholding (PAYGW) scheme. The population is updated quarterly to take account of new businesses, businesses that have ceased employing, changes in industry and employment levels and other general business changes. http://www.abs.gov.au/AUSSTATS/abs@.nsf/Lookup/6354.0Explanatory%20Notes1Nov%202014?OpenDocument |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Culture Warrior on Mar 20th, 2015 at 10:10pm
So let me get this straight: the number of job seekers outnumber the jobs available and this is cause to stop looking for work?! Lefty logic. :D
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by gizmo_2655 on Mar 20th, 2015 at 10:46pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 10:10pm:
No, no....it's very altruistic, actually. See, if the lefties don't go after jobs, then that leaves more vacancies available for other job-seekers. So your average lefty is sacrificing him/her self on the altar of newstart, for others... |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by John Smith on Mar 21st, 2015 at 7:08am Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 10:10pm:
who says they stop looking? is this how you teach your students? you make it up as you go? no wonder today's kids have no idea..... |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by The Heartless Felon on Mar 21st, 2015 at 9:49am Aussie wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 2:17pm:
And that's your real whinge... |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Honky on Mar 21st, 2015 at 9:54am Aussie wrote on Mar 19th, 2015 at 6:52pm:
Austudy and/or wages. Where's the mystery? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by The Grappler on Mar 21st, 2015 at 10:39am Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Mar 20th, 2015 at 7:40pm:
I'll put you down for a dozen jobs for the homeless young men then? That'll be a good start on the problem.... |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Aussie on Mar 21st, 2015 at 1:52pm ... wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 9:54am:
The mystery is why you are ignorant of the fact that one of the qualifications you must have to get Austudy is that you be aged 25 years. What employment is available to a full-time student, even assuming they have freetime to earn and not study/research or attend to assignments? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Honky on Mar 21st, 2015 at 2:07pm Aussie wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 1:52pm:
*groooooaaaan* "youth allowance" then. It's the same bleedin' thing. Why act like this is some new challenge? Guess how I lived while studying 15 years ago, and presumably most other people did 15 years before that? Thaaaat's right folks - |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Aussie on Mar 21st, 2015 at 2:18pm ... wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 2:07pm:
Things have changed. These are the hoops one must jump through to get this 'youth allowance.' Link. Why? My Grand-daughter 'supported' herself (with top up from me and Grandma) for 12 months before enrolling this year for Uni full time. She graduated well from High School at the end of 2013. She has been in our 'care' for the last two years of her secondary education for various reasons, mainly because her parents are separated, and their lives moved on and away from her years ago. Every obstacle Morrison's Mob can put in her way is being put in her way. It ought be as simple as 'earn or learn' but it is not. Far from it. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Honky on Mar 21st, 2015 at 2:21pm
Yeah I had to fill out some forms too. It was a pain in the arse, but then, it only took an hour or 2 and granted me 4 or 5 hundred bucks a fortnight for a few years, so I didn't really have cause for complaint.
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Setanta on Mar 21st, 2015 at 3:17pm ... wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 2:21pm:
Youth Allowance != Austudy. My son gets $270@fn, half of what you got a few years ago and yes he's at uni studying full-time. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Culture Warrior on Mar 21st, 2015 at 3:37pm Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 10:39am:
I am not looking for work. And I wouldn't be on here whinging about it if I was. How about we tax "progressives" at a higher rate to pay for extra public service jobs? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by John Smith on Mar 21st, 2015 at 4:12pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 3:37pm:
so you're homeless are you? No wonder these threads confuse you :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Culture Warrior on Mar 21st, 2015 at 4:26pm
Smithyboy, would you be willing to pay more tax to fund more public service jobs for the homeless? I am sure a real estate worker who screws over people by charging extortionist rents and sales can spare a few dollars a week. Or, how about you let some homeless sleep on your couch for a few weeks/months until they can find work?
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Honky on Mar 21st, 2015 at 5:29pm Setanta wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 3:17pm:
Payment rates are the same, his circumstances are obviously different to mine. Quote:
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by longweekend58 on Mar 21st, 2015 at 5:34pm Aussie wrote on Mar 19th, 2015 at 6:15pm:
the same thing I did and every generation before me. WORK part-time. STAY AT HOME. go without. live pov. we all did it and so did you. How does that suddenly change now? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Aussie on Mar 21st, 2015 at 5:39pm Quote:
That's the bit which gives me the sh1ts. If you are 18.....old enough to vote.....old enough to be treated like every other adult under the Law (Rule of Law)....old enough to be vulnerable to having a gun bunged in your hand and told.."Go shoot, or be shot," why is it not, as Abbott claims, 'earn or learn?' My Grand-daughter is in the same bind as many thousands of others who are doing the 'learning,' but are made jump through endless red tape hoops to get Government assistance to do so. Or.....is it my personal obligation to pay for her to learn no matter what my resources are. She is an adult. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by longweekend58 on Mar 21st, 2015 at 5:41pm Aussie wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 1:52pm:
If ever we needed proof you are not a lawyer and never studied at uni then this post is it. university contact hours are specifically designed AROUND PART-TIME JOBs since virtually every student works part-time. It is part of the process. I put three kids thru 4 degrees. They ALL WORKED PART-TIME. it isn't that hard. so after 3 years working in Coles for a pittance they graduate and get $80K jobs. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by longweekend58 on Mar 21st, 2015 at 5:43pm Aussie wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 5:39pm:
yes it is. the rest of us did it with NOTHING. we worked. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Aussie on Mar 21st, 2015 at 5:45pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 5:34pm:
Why ought an adult be obliged to continue 'staying at home,' when the Government says.....'you earn or learn.' I do not know of any employer (outside a brothel) who would employ my Grand-Daughter for the few hours she may have while not at Uni or doing 'Uni homework.' 'Earn or learn.' Rubbish. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Aussie on Mar 21st, 2015 at 5:48pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 5:41pm:
Oh ~ spare me the melodrama! I'm happy to pay the way for my kids.....and I did. All four of them. But.....do I have to do it for all my Grand-Kids as well? 'Earn or learn.' |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by longweekend58 on Mar 21st, 2015 at 6:13pm Aussie wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 5:45pm:
Maccas. Hungry Jacks, Coles, Woolies, a thousand other similar stores. you don't know much about part-time employment, do you? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by longweekend58 on Mar 21st, 2015 at 6:14pm Aussie wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 5:48pm:
then where are her parents then? Why aren't THEY supporting her and why isn't she working part-time like virtually every other uni student? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by John Smith on Mar 21st, 2015 at 6:33pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 4:26pm:
sure .... I've always said I'd be happy to pay more tax. What about you, when will you start paying tax? Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 4:26pm:
What about those greedy |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Aussie on Mar 21st, 2015 at 7:00pm longweekend58 wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 6:14pm:
If only it was as simple as that. If it was, do you reckon I would have bothered with this Thread? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by John Smith on Mar 21st, 2015 at 7:41pm Aussie wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 7:00pm:
for the retards everything is black and white, you either working or a bludger ... no middle ground (go on Aussie, delete this comment to :-* :-*) |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Setanta on Mar 21st, 2015 at 9:13pm ... wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 5:29pm:
[/quote] Yes, you see the difference then. He must move more than something like 50km away from home to get the payment rate you are talking about, not just move out. He must move to a different town as the UNI is 5 minutes from here. Because he lives at home he gets half as much. Now we have to clothe, feed him, pay for car repairs etc. He's an adult, he's 19. I lost my job on the 25th of Dec last year after 18 years, so now I am on the dole but I still have to support him and I can't claim him as a dependent. We rent and my dole does not come anywhere near paying that, the excess is payed from my redundancy but that only lasts till June. So were you living at home? It wasn't that long ago that if you studied at uni, you got full Austudy no matter where you lived and that was more than likely the case when you went to uni. He could move to a friends place in Casino but then the travel would eat the extra he was paid. The alternative is that we, his parents move 50k away. edit: Put up the rates of YA for living with your parents please. edit2: Doesn't matter your link has it: single, with no children, 18 years or more, and living at parental home $281.00 Funny thing is, if we were his grand parents he would be paid the full amount as long as his parents moved away or beat the shyte out of him so he could not live with us. If he had his GF move in with us and they were a couple he could get 426.80 as there is no "living with parents" clause for that one, now there's a thought. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Culture Warrior on Mar 21st, 2015 at 10:41pm John Smith wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 6:33pm:
Why? Since when have I claimed to be an egalitarian? You keep trying to use the same approach toward me as I have been using toward you. But I think you haven't really understood what I am exposing. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Culture Warrior on Mar 21st, 2015 at 10:43pm ... wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 5:29pm:
[/quote] Austudy has risen over $100 a fortnight since I received it. It was $150 a week then rose to $160 a week. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Setanta on Mar 21st, 2015 at 11:08pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 10:43pm:
Austudy has risen over $100 a fortnight since I received it. It was $150 a week then rose to $160 a week. [/quote] It seems your math is as good a longy's. Glad you're not the math professor. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Culture Warrior on Mar 21st, 2015 at 11:20pm
Payment rate today per fortnight: $426.80
Payment rate yesteryear per fortnight: $300-320 Now, I admit, I am not a mathematical genius, but there appears to be a gap of over $100 dollars between today's and yesteryear's payments. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Setanta on Mar 21st, 2015 at 11:33pm Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 11:20pm:
May I suggest you reread what you wrote? It may not be what you meant but... Look. Quote:
So it's risen by 100 a fortnight? It was 150 and rose to 160 a week. That's 10 dollars a week or 20 a fortnight in my reading not 100. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by longweekend58 on Mar 22nd, 2015 at 7:41am Aussie wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 7:00pm:
then why are your domestic problems Abbott's fault? The girl can work part-time just as everyone else does. That hasn't changed. Or ask Palmer for help since he is so interested in the needs of others? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Honky on Mar 22nd, 2015 at 10:50am Aussie wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 5:39pm:
Family usually looks after each other, but if you don't want to, you could always remind her that ultimately it's her life and therefore, her responsibility. It's really hard to see what your problem is - is it that you don't think individual circumstances should be considered? The full rate would be a pretty sweet earner for someone living in their parents home with no rent, utilities or food bills. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by John Smith on Mar 22nd, 2015 at 11:47am Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 10:41pm:
When did I claim to be egalitarian? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by John Smith on Mar 22nd, 2015 at 11:52am Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 10:41pm:
that you'd rather deal with your misguided stereotypes rather than reality? Sure, I understand ... I just don't agree with it. Just because I care about the plight of asylum seekers or the unemployed, that doesn't mean I have to live a life of poverty and dedicate my whole life to the 'cause'. We are quite capable of doing both ... you should try it sometime, it's good for your soul. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Kat on Mar 22nd, 2015 at 11:57am Setanta wrote on Mar 21st, 2015 at 11:33pm:
My understanding is that it was $150 when he got onto it, but rose to $160 while he was still on it. But that it has increased by $100 a week SINCE he was on it. |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Happy Lucky on Mar 22nd, 2015 at 11:59am John Smith wrote on Mar 22nd, 2015 at 11:52am:
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by John Smith on Mar 22nd, 2015 at 12:04pm Happy Lucky wrote on Mar 22nd, 2015 at 11:59am:
What has my views on asylum seekers got to do with my job? ... I owe a legal duty to my clients to ensure that anybody I place into their property is able to meet the rent repayments. I imagine that asylum seekers don't meet that requirement. Keep in mind that I haven't had any apply so I reserve the right to change my position once I've viewed and assessed an application. WHat about you? your a liberal fanboy, why don't you charge your kids rent? |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by Swagman on Mar 22nd, 2015 at 1:33pm John Smith wrote on Mar 22nd, 2015 at 11:47am:
....Smithy is more of an Egotarian :D |
Title: Re: Dilemma of 18/19 year olds. Post by John Smith on Mar 22nd, 2015 at 2:41pm Swagman wrote on Mar 22nd, 2015 at 1:33pm:
actually, if he'd said that he'd have a better chance of getting something right .. :D :D :D ;) |