General Discussion >> Federal Politics >> Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1436833705 Message started by imcrookonit on Jul 14th, 2015 at 10:28am |
Title: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by imcrookonit on Jul 14th, 2015 at 10:28am
Brisbane weather: Fears for homeless as temperatures plummet
Date July 13, 2015 There are concerns for Brisbane's homeless as the city's coldest week of the year coincides with a spike in rough sleepers. :( Homeless organisations are preparing extra blankets, swags and support for the city's destitute as they get ready for temperatures to drop as low as six degrees. Micah Project helps out homeless people throughout Brisbane through programs such as Street To Home and the Brisbane Homelessness Service Centre. . CEO Karyn Walsh said the number of rough sleepers the organisation was helping in the Brisbane CBD alone had risen to 33 in recent months, up from a recent low of just 10. She said the organisation was dealing with about 90 rough sleepers throughout the inner city and estimated there were 100 to 150 people sleeping on the streets within a few kilometres of the CBD at any one time. According to the Australian Bureau of Statistics more than 2000 people slept rough in the greater Brisbane area in 2011. Homeless support organisations are preparing to help keep rough sleepers warm this week. "The biggest issue is the wind and if it rains, cold and wet is worse for people's health," Ms Walsh said. "Generally whatever the weather is, it's not always that comfortable sleeping on the street, the cold just makes it more stressful for some people because of their health conditions. "A lot of people who have been homeless for long periods of time are unwell so obviously cold weather often exacerbates their health conditions." :( South-east Queensland's coldest morning is tipped to be Wednesday, with a low of just four degrees forecast for Brisbane. The bureau is still tipping a low of six degrees on Tuesday. As the mercury plummets, Brisbane-based not-for-profit Swags for Homeless is preparing for an increase in demand from the many services it supports. "For the start of the week it's going to be a horror situation," CEO Tony Clark said. "And we really want to make it clear it's when the public are not prepared, when the homeless are not ready. "Maybe the police have taken away their blanket, maybe they've lost their blanket and they're unprepared, it's those cold snaps that kill." Both providers called for more to be done to encourage affordable housing in Brisbane to ease some of the pressure on people at risk of homelessness. "Overall we'd just like to see the increase of affordable housing so that we can get people off the streets quicker, regardless of the weather," Ms Walsh said. "I mean there's a lot of housing going up in Brisbane for people who can afford to pay higher rents but there's very little going in for people on low incomes." :( Read more: http://www.brisbanetimes.com.au/queensland/brisbane-weather-fears-for-homeless-as-temperatures-plummet-20150713-gi9the.html#ixzz3fovGhRAh |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by imcrookonit on Jul 14th, 2015 at 10:33am
Australian governments (state and federal) should be totally ashamed that we have so many homeless people who need to sleep rough on the streets. There is more than enough money wasted by politicians and pubic service bureaucrats that could be spent to provide these poor people with somewhere to stay every night - anything has to be better for them than sleeping rough in winter.
Come on Governments, solve the problem and stop leaving it to volunteer charity organisations to provide blankets, etc. :( Commenter John Guru Location Brisbane Date and time July 14, 2015, 8:10AM |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by longweekend58 on Jul 14th, 2015 at 11:15am wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 10:33am:
have you ever wondered why homelessness is a GLOBAL problem? Is it really all that credible that every government on the planet doesn't care enough to do something about it or is it also possible that the problem is far more complex than the OP suggests. Between mental illness and drugs problems, many homeless are so for reasons other than they cant find a home. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by stunspore on Jul 14th, 2015 at 1:08pm
No sarcasm intended. It is good to see long not going with the line that "homelessness is a lifestyle choice".
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by double plus good on Jul 14th, 2015 at 3:40pm
And the Labor Party wants to make it COLDER!!!
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by longweekend58 on Jul 14th, 2015 at 4:05pm stunspore wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 1:08pm:
so in your narrow little world NO ONE chooses to live on the streets? how wrong you are. And that is part of the reason govts around the world have failed to eliminate homelessness. Some actually do choose to live this way. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Dsmithy70 on Jul 14th, 2015 at 4:21pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 4:05pm:
Exactly what % of homeless people do you think CHOOSE to be so? |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by longweekend58 on Jul 14th, 2015 at 4:46pm Dsmithy70 wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 4:21pm:
not sure. but feel free to say it doesnt happen. then explain why people with enough welfare to NOT be on the streets are still there. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by hawil on Jul 14th, 2015 at 5:45pm Dsmithy70 wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 4:21pm:
LW will always find a way to put the blame on the victim. What the governments should do, is built refuges of last resort, like the hostels, I and many other migrants lived in in the 50,s and 60,s, nothing flash, but at least not on the street. I wonder if LW is one of those landlords, having housing empty. If one does choses to live on the street, and accommodation is provided by the government, then he/she has no grounds to complain, and LW should not use them as an excuse. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by longweekend58 on Jul 14th, 2015 at 5:58pm hawil wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 5:45pm:
think what you wil. you will anyhow. Just explain why people live on the streets for many years with no attempt whatsoever to live anywhere else. you wont of course. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 14th, 2015 at 6:20pm
No need to be afraid, of course.
These people who don't want to rent a room in a lodging house or a boarding house are ALL volunteer al fresco life-stylists. But damn right the churches and the charities want to spread a 'moral panic' about these Outdoor pioneer types getting a chill - it's all good for business. It increases the amount of sucker donations rolling into their coffers. ... dear o dear o dear ... when will people ever learn? |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by innocentbystander. on Jul 14th, 2015 at 6:27pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 6:20pm:
Haha I think you are onto them, its the same reason the ALP and Greens created an unemployed drug f$cked underclass, its good for business. ;D |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by The Grappler on Jul 14th, 2015 at 7:22pm stunspore wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 1:08pm:
.. and a cheap way to pick up DSP and pay no net tax etc, without getting a real job and putting in a day's work..... ;) |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by The Grappler on Jul 14th, 2015 at 7:23pm double plus good wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 3:40pm:
.. the militant Unions are trucking in the ice by the trainload with the help of the outlaw bikie gangs..... :D ::) |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by The Grappler on Jul 14th, 2015 at 7:25pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 4:46pm:
Lack of affordable and available accommodation? |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 14th, 2015 at 7:56pm innocentbystander. wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 6:27pm:
The British have just had a major crack-down on the charities rackets over there. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 14th, 2015 at 8:01pm Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 7:25pm:
I myself spent years in the inner-suburban bedsitter lodging houses of Sydney. There are hundreds of residences in Sydney being paid off by married couples who want to rent one of their spare rooms to help with the expences. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Kat on Jul 14th, 2015 at 8:38pm
The only fear the right have for the homeless is that they might be expected
to actually pony-up a few tax-dollars to help fix the problem. And, they should. The answers are obvious (the most important ones, at least) - build more public and community housing projects. And raise social-security payments for sole par- ents and the unemployed by $100 a week, effective immediately. It gives them a chance to afford at least somewhere basic while the homes are being built. And, as a bonus, it creates jobs for the life of the program. Almost all homeless people I've known have been homeless either because no- where was available, or their paltry and parsimonious 'benefit' wouldn't cover rent. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 14th, 2015 at 9:24pm Kat wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 8:38pm:
;D ;D ;D Good post, but ... I still say the vast majority of them are either mentally ill, drunkards, or Outdoor life-stylists who don't like to be penned-in by 4 walls - and don't want to work. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Karnal on Jul 14th, 2015 at 9:29pm Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 8:01pm:
Alas, Herbie, not for less than $300 a week in the inner city of Sydney. They could always move to the inner city of Dubbo or Wagga Wagga, eh? |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Aussie on Jul 14th, 2015 at 10:02pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 4:46pm:
Well......well.............well. I agree with Long Wind. Ive been out of Law and into the retired days of the Cab Business for a tad over ten years. Among the highlights of my first day at the Cabbie thing was to meet Max, a homeless bloke who 'lived' at the Nambour Post Office.....that's (the foyer area) where he slept at nights then, and it is where he sleeps now as I type. He does that because it has security cameras covering him, and that gives him some security. This Bloke is terrific, would never harm a fly and is as cunning in a street smart sense as you can get. Every day I drive, early morning at the Rail Rank, there will be Max to greet not only me but also the other Drivers in the Nambour area. Some shun him, and miss out on learning something about humanity. That is just petty non malicious bigotted snobbery on their part, and I don't go out of my way to condemn them. Max has much to offer if you allow him to explain it to you. He has it all under control. He is clean. He washes, and yeas, that will sometimes involve some pretty cold water if the people at the Nambour Showgrounds have discovered how he gets into what they reckon are their secure showers. He has the cunning lever which opens the Council water taps, so that is never a problem. Yeas, he is an alcoholic. Not a drunk. But, he is able to control and manage that. He has no refrigerator, yet he will be at the Rail Rank drinking VB cans nicely cold. The cunning bugger has an arrangement with one of the local butchers who allow him to keep his cans and his perishable food in their fridges, and they are always 'open' well before dawn. He cooks his own food on an electric frypan. The bugger has discovered that at ground level on some light poles in the Nambour CBD there are power points which he accesses. So there you have it. He is safe, he is clean, and he eats.........at small expense. All his income goes into buying booze and playing pokies. My tax dollars were supporting him and his lifestyle until about three years ago. He then inherited almost $M1 in cash. He now lives on the income from that cash, and notwithstanding the best endeavours of myself and others, Max wants to stay the way it has always been. He is a free bird, and he loves it. Yeas, he is 'homeless' by choice, but he will be the rare exception. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Sir Bobby on Jul 14th, 2015 at 11:58pm
The Govt. needs to supply military tents to set up
tent cities in public parks & portable toilets & shower facilities. Gas barbeques to cook food too. We can't leave these people on the streets. People in overseas refugee camps are better off. Shame on all Australian Govt.s SHAME |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by mothra on Jul 15th, 2015 at 12:03am
We need more support workers to advocate for the homeless. A great many of them simply don't have the skills to navigate the housing sector.
That and more accessible and affordable housing. How many buildings are sitting empty? And it is not easy to find even cheap rental properties anymore. There is a housing shortage and if yo don't have excellent references, you can forget it. The waiting list for public housing, even as a priority 1 client, is about 12 years in my state. I imagine it's much more in Sydney or Melbourne. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by mothra on Jul 15th, 2015 at 12:07am
And it doesn't help that this government keeps slashing the social welfare sector.
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 15th, 2015 at 7:25am Karnal wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 9:29pm:
No ... I'm not talking about units. I'm referring to those spare bedrooms with a bed, a table, and a rickety chair. No carpet, no heating or cooling facilities. No food. No cooking facilities. I was in that situation for years - with usually Greek landlords living in the same terraced house with me. And then .... there's nothing stopping three 'Homeless People' (sic) sharing the rent of a house. I've got one of those places right opposite me here. $100 each per week - with Rental assistance paying $35 of that. That's how our urban aborigines survive very nicely in their Redfern ghetto ... with the local pubs crowded with them. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 15th, 2015 at 7:35am mothra wrote on Jul 15th, 2015 at 12:07am:
I was happy to read that the Abbott government (or was it in Britain?) have put a stop to the serial racket in which women and their 'partners' pop a new baby year after year as a cash-cow to milk the government of more welfare subsidies. Two's the limit now. I personally knew a Yugoslav here who had been on a DSP rort for years while banging his wife to the tune of 12 offspring by the time I moved away. He built a luxurious two-storey mansion all while on Compo, and 'Benefits', and Child Endowment, and a score of other Centrelink rip-offs. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by longweekend58 on Jul 15th, 2015 at 8:49am Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 7:25pm:
simplistic. two or three of them together could easily afford to rent a house. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by longweekend58 on Jul 15th, 2015 at 8:53am mothra wrote on Jul 15th, 2015 at 12:07am:
oh really? care to identify a single 'cut' nevermind a slash? |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Dame Pansi on Jul 15th, 2015 at 9:23am longweekend58 wrote on Jul 15th, 2015 at 8:49am:
Could afford to perhaps, but not allowed to. Imagine this scenario agent......please fill in the rental application last address....under the Story bridge reference....have none employer....none length of employment....unemployed weekly income....$230 agent....smack off! |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Armchair_Politician on Jul 15th, 2015 at 9:30am
Damn this global warming!
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by The Grappler on Jul 15th, 2015 at 9:48am longweekend58 wrote on Jul 15th, 2015 at 8:53am:
simplistic - two or three freezes and changes in goal posts for receiving a benefit could create a slash.... Just discussing elsewhere the current startling revelation that with seriously moved - and even removed - goal posts - a significant portion of DSP applicants are no longer eligible. Told you many times - all changes are just a stroke of the pen away - we could do away with politician rorts immediately, chop out unwarranted tax deductions, get a fair return of tax from the rich... all with a focus on the right moves and a single stroke of the pen..... Dead Farken Easy!! Word for Today:- eligibile - (n) - suited to receiving bile Grappler Revamped Dictionary, 2015 Edition |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by The Grappler on Jul 15th, 2015 at 9:49am
kick dat page...
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by hawil on Jul 15th, 2015 at 11:03am longweekend58 wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 5:58pm:
Of course I won't, because I,am not all-knowing like you, and cannot understand why someone want to sleep in the freezing cold, if he/she has a chance of a warm bed. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by The Grappler on Jul 15th, 2015 at 11:06am
Page Turner - draw your pay and hit the road.. lazy sod...
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Armchair_Politician on Jul 15th, 2015 at 11:41am Kat wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 8:38pm:
Kat won't be happy until we end up like the Greeks. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Swagman on Jul 15th, 2015 at 11:45am Quote:
.......but the climate is warming? There should be no fear? :-/ |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Kat on Jul 15th, 2015 at 12:17pm Armchair_Politician wrote on Jul 15th, 2015 at 11:41am:
Dropkick. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Karnal on Jul 15th, 2015 at 12:22pm longweekend58 wrote on Jul 15th, 2015 at 8:53am:
Yes, Longy, the impending multi-billion dollar cuts to the states who fund homeless services. It may not happen overnight, but it will happen. And thank heavens for that. |
Title: Re: Fears For Homeless As Temperatures Plummet Post by Lord Herbert on Jul 15th, 2015 at 1:02pm Kat wrote on Jul 14th, 2015 at 8:38pm:
NO WAY! I'm sick of the 'Sole Parents' industry. It's an insult to all those genuine 'Sole Parents' who were rendered spouseless during WWII, Vietnam and the Middle Eastern wars. I'm sick of hearing about these 'Sole Parent' women who made absolutely no effort to discover the character and the personality of the men they married - before then divorcing them only MONTHS later as their very young children are testimony to. The notorious 'Single Mothers' mob should be punished - NOT rewarded for their idiotic irresponsibility. Their bludging Benefits should be reduced to help pay for an increase in the Unemployment benefits. 'Single Mothers' - Jesus Christ! Bitches on heat who let the first person wearing trousers screw the arse off them. If they want to supplement their government benefits for having dropped unwanted brats like sows on Farmer Brown's farm - then they should prostitute themselves through the Classified and at brothels like 'A Touch of Class'. I'm mad as Hell and I'm not going to take this 'Sole Parents' bullshit any more! |