General Discussion >> General Board >> ***K im cold... >:(
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1438331147

Message started by The Mechanic on Jul 31st, 2015 at 6:25pm

Title: ***K im cold... >:(
Post by The Mechanic on Jul 31st, 2015 at 6:25pm
and im bugger*** sick of it...

you lying Global Warming Bastards told me that it was supposed to be getting warmer but its not...

its bloody getting COLDER and COLDER>...  :'(

im sick of it... its the coldest its been in decades.. :(

tell me what I have to burn to make the world warmer...

pleassssssssssse...  :(

Title: Re: ***K im cold... >:(
Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 31st, 2015 at 6:52pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Jul 31st, 2015 at 6:25pm:

you lying Global Warming Bastards told me that it was supposed to be getting warmer but its not...

Yeah.  Good point.

Ummm...try putting a heater on in the mean time. Just a thought  :P

Post by The Grappler on Jul 31st, 2015 at 6:59pm

Post by Unforgiven on Jul 31st, 2015 at 7:03pm

Have you considered wearing clothes? Please consider.

Post by The Mechanic on Jul 31st, 2015 at 7:04pm
i tell you..

Im sick to death of it... :(

while I was at home at lunch time today.. I lit a fire so that the entire living area was warm when I got home tonight :)

I've never done that before... but im sick to death of it...

now, tonight.. I can walk from one end of the house to the other and be toasty warm... :)

good times tonight :)

but bitterly cold out... and there's no end to the filthy cold climate in the foreseeable future.. :(

Post by Lisa Jones on Jul 31st, 2015 at 7:10pm
Our current electricity bill tells the story. It came in at $890.

On a slightly more positive note, our gas bill came in at $765.

Total : $1655

And winter's not over yet  :'(

Post by greggerypeccary on Jul 31st, 2015 at 7:11pm

This would probably be to your liking:

Post by Sprintcyclist on Jul 31st, 2015 at 7:49pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Jul 31st, 2015 at 7:04pm:
i tell you..

Im sick to death of it... :(

while I was at home at lunch time today.. I lit a fire so that the entire living area was warm when I got home tonight :)

I've never done that before... but im sick to death of it...

now, tonight.. I can walk from one end of the house to the other and be toasty warm... :)

good times tonight :)

but bitterly cold out... and there's no end to the filthy cold climate in the foreseeable future.. :(

Good thinking

Post by Aussie on Jul 31st, 2015 at 8:06pm
My only regret when we sold this place was losing 'that' fireplace.

Post by Kat on Jul 31st, 2015 at 8:09pm

Aussie wrote on Jul 31st, 2015 at 8:06pm:

Nice.

But to take full advantage I'd get rid of those bloody archways.

I want to warm ME, not every empty room in the house.

We had an open-plan house once, it literally broke us trying to heat it.

Post by Aussie on Jul 31st, 2015 at 8:13pm

Kat wrote on Jul 31st, 2015 at 8:09pm:

Aussie wrote on Jul 31st, 2015 at 8:06pm:

Nice.

But to take full advantage I'd get rid of those bloody archways.

I want to warm ME, not every empty room in the house.

We had an open-plan house once, it literally broke us trying to heat it.

No longer my problem.  But that fire was a ripper, and while the open plan of that area looks big...well, it was I suppose.....(as was the whole place...which was why we sold it... too big for just two) the fireplace worked so well, it heated the entire ground floor, and some heat even managed to get upstairs.  It was a bewdy.

Post by Kat on Jul 31st, 2015 at 8:17pm
No worries... [smiley=thumbsup.gif] [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Post by Very_Vinnie on Jul 31st, 2015 at 9:20pm

The world IS getting warmer

Contrary to your limited knowledge and education - annual global average temperatures are NOT calculated from average temperatures only taken in your suburb, city and country

Post by UnSubRocky on Jul 31st, 2015 at 10:20pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 31st, 2015 at 6:52pm:
Yeah.  Good point.

Having had one of the mild winters, my solution to the cold was to close the doors and windows, and put jumpers and long jackets on. Being of low income background, I chose to light tea light candles, just to give that bit of warmth through the house. $10 for a packet of 200, just to light 4 (2 x 2) tea lights in the lavatory was enough to boost the warmth of the house by 5 degrees. I mean, a 5 degree night would be 10 to 15 degrees inside with windows and doors closed. The tea lights, helped warm the house nearest the candles another 5 degrees.

Sometimes, it made the house a little stuffy, but I would rather that than to shiver the whole night. You would probably be paying an extra $30 for electricity to power a heater for a month of winter. Whereas, you save the $20, and get the contented glow and warmth of tea lights. Better yet, to use citronella candles during the winter, to help ward off the occasional mosquito.

Post by Kat on Jul 31st, 2015 at 10:40pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Jul 31st, 2015 at 10:20pm:

Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 31st, 2015 at 6:52pm:
Yeah.  Good point.

Having had one of the mild winters, my solution to the cold was to close the doors and windows, and put jumpers and long jackets on. Being of low income background, I chose to light tea light candles, just to give that bit of warmth through the house. $10 for a packet of 200, just to light 4 (2 x 2) tea lights in the lavatory was enough to boost the warmth of the house by 5 degrees. I mean, a 5 degree night would be 10 to 15 degrees inside with windows and doors closed. The tea lights, helped warm the house nearest the candles another 5 degrees.

Sometimes, it made the house a little stuffy, but I would rather that than to shiver the whole night. You would probably be paying an extra $30 for electricity to power a heater for a month of winter. Whereas, you save the $20, and get the contented glow and warmth of tea lights. Better yet, to use citronella candles during the winter, to help ward off the occasional mosquito.

Have you seen this one, Rocky.

I haven't tried it myself, but by all accounts they work well, and cost a pittance to run.
10309346_1044521158899001_156049119172660490_n.jpg (49 KB | 95 )

Post by mortdooley on Jul 31st, 2015 at 11:00pm
Come on up to Texas for the next month. It will be around 100 degrees F today, that is about 37 degrees C to you. By the time you go home it will take you about another month before you feel cold again!

Post by Sir Bobby on Jul 31st, 2015 at 11:09pm

It's been the coldest July in 20 years in Adelaide, Melbourne & Sydney & possibly Brisbane.

So much for global warming.

It's the new ice age & it's going to get colder
as was predicted:

http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1421385253/0#0

Post by Sir Bobby on Jul 31st, 2015 at 11:11pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 16th, 2015 at 3:14pm:
This information is the opposite of Global Warming.

Video – 30 Top Scientists Predict Global Cooling 2015-2050.

http://iceagenow.info/2014/12/video-30-top-scientists-predict-global-cooling-2015-2050/

“You do understand that a 2 degree Celsius drop takes us back to 400-year temperatures when 25 percent of the people on the planet starved to death,” says this  video.”Food prices will begin rising exponentially next year.”

Forecasting a 1 to 2 degrees Celsius drop.

Now headed into a Dalton minimum type cooling
    Perhaps even a Maunder minimum
    A Mini Ice Age
    A long-term solar minimum (aka solar hibernation)

There are a large amount of scientists worldwide that are predicting a new Grand Solar Minimum beginning around 2015, but are never quoted or referenced in the main stream media, says David DuByne. This is a small list of who’s research does not see the light of day because of political agendas surrounding “AGW”.

With a possibility of imminent cooling, it is irresponsible for government agencies to turn a blind eye and continue pushing a warming agenda by purposely silencing, sidelining and dismissing peer reviewed and published research on Sun induced Earth cooling cycles.

Average global atmospheric and oceanic temperatures will drop significantly beginning between 2015 and 2016 and will continue with only temporary reversals until they stabilize during a long cold temperature base lasting most of the 2030’s and 2040’s. The bottom of the next global cold climate caused by a “solar hibernation” (a pronounced reduction in warming energy coming from the Sun) is expected to be reached by the year 2031.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6ocCh5yDaqs

Post by Unforgiven on Aug 1st, 2015 at 12:01am
Cooling will need divine intervention. One of longweekends58's miracles.

Average temperatures are rising and ice is melting and people are saying it's getting colder?

Post by Unforgiven on Aug 1st, 2015 at 12:04am

Mortdooley wrote on Jul 31st, 2015 at 11:00pm:
Come on up to Texas for the next month. It will be around 100 degrees F today, that is about 37 degrees C to you. By the time you go home it will take you about another month before you feel cold again!

The Mechanic couldn't afford the fare. His wealth is going up in smoke with heat leakage from windows, roof and every surface and unsealed openings leaking dollars.

The poor blighter can't even afford warm clothes.

Post by Rider on Aug 1st, 2015 at 4:49am

Very_Vinnie wrote on Jul 31st, 2015 at 9:20pm:

Contrary to your limited knowledge and education - annual global average temperatures are NOT calculated from average temperatures only taken in your suburb, city and country

Yeah....that raw data sure is embarrassing to you gerbil warming fvcktards isn't it?

Rest assured by the time the tax payer funded grant addicted vested interest parties homogenized this embarrassing raw data it will in fact be the warmest winter EVAH!!!

Ahhhhh the power of fraudulent corrupted addicts to billions of our tax dollars...they will warm us all just wait and see.

Post by Dame Pansi on Aug 1st, 2015 at 7:29am

Very_Vinnie wrote on Jul 31st, 2015 at 9:20pm:

Why try educating a brain dead bimbo, you waste your time.

They think if it's snowing somewhere in the world then the earth is cooling.

Even I can work out that it's only cold in that place at that time and it has nothing to do with the BIG picture of climate change and global warming.

Incidentally, there's a nation wide climate change rally in November.

Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 1st, 2015 at 8:03am
I've got an LG 2.75HP Split System air conditioner that I'm not too happy with. Weak as piss if you ask me.

I had a techno guy come in and check it for me, but he said it's running okay - and only the DAIKIN brand handles cold mornings okay. The rest are crap, he said.

He checked the air coming out of the wall unit -- 40C -- which he said was normal.

I'm thinking of getting one of those gas heaters installed - I've got a gas-heater connection coming up through the lounge room floor in the corner.

This air-con is brilliant in summer though. 

Post by Sir Bobby on Aug 1st, 2015 at 8:05am
Melbourne on target for coldest July in 17 years

The facts for all the doubting Thomas's.

Melbourne on target for coldest July in 17 years
Rob Sharpe, Tuesday July 28, 2015 - 14:23 EST

Melbourne is struggling through a July more typical of the mid 1900's.

Weather has been the talk of the town in Melbourne for the last few weeks. For many of our youth it has been the coldest July they have ever experienced. Meanwhile for our elders it has been weather more similar to when they were young.

By the 31st of July, the month's average minimum temperature will be approximately 6.7 degrees, with an average top of 13.3 degrees (combined average of 10.0 degrees). This will bring the month in as the coldest July since 1998. However, this is still slightly warmer than the 160 year averages of 6.0 and 13.5 degrees.

This month has been quite extraordinary by recent standards. Last July had a combined average temperature of 11.5 degrees and the year before set a new record warm July of 12.3 degrees (with min of 8.8 and max of 15.8). Many people will have found this July to be much colder than any other they can remember.

It is therefore quite hard to imagine what July would have been like when the record was set in 1901. In that year the average minimum was 4.7 and the average maximum was 12.2.

If there was a period in history when this year would have sat nicely in the record books, then it would probably be placed in the middle of the 20th century. For those who hate the cold, they probably hope it is at least 17 years until we see a July this cold again

http://www.weatherzone.com.au/news/melbourne-on-target-for-coldest-july-in-17-years/337210

Post by Team Froggie on Aug 1st, 2015 at 8:10am
Blue Mountains bushfire out of control; may affect homes, fire service says

Updated 8 minutes ago

Blue mountains fire
More than 100 firefighters are working to control a bushfire near Wentworth Falls in the Blue Mountains, with the fire expected to affect homes in the next few hours.

The New South Wales Rural Fire Service has issued a watch and act alert for the fire currently burning over 30 hectares in the area of Wentworth Falls.

The RFS have identified the fire is burning in the area of Hordern Road, Coronation Road and Tableland Road.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-08-01/blue-mountains-bushfire-out-of-control/6665018

Hmmmmmmm......

Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 1st, 2015 at 8:11am

Lord Herbert wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 8:03am:
I've got an LG 2.75HP Split System air conditioner that I'm not too happy with. Weak as piss if you ask me.

I had a techno guy come in and check it for me, but he said it's running okay - and only the DAIKIN brand handles cold mornings okay. The rest are crap, he said.

He checked the air coming out of the wall unit -- 40C -- which he said was normal.

I'm thinking of getting one of those gas heaters installed - I've got a gas-heater connection coming up through the lounge room floor in the corner.

Gas heater is definitely the way to go IMO.

Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 1st, 2015 at 8:23am

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 8:11am:

Gas heater is definitely the way to go IMO.

Thanks Lisa. Years ago when I looked at them in the shop they were priced well above my budget at that time.

They're cheap-as-chips nowadays.  ::)

link

Post by Dame Pansi on Aug 1st, 2015 at 9:00am

Lobo wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 8:10am:
Blue Mountains bushfire out of control; may affect homes, fire service says

Updated 8 minutes ago

Blue mountains fire
More than 100 firefighters are working to control a bushfire near Wentworth Falls in the Blue Mountains, with the fire expected to affect homes in the next few hours.

The New South Wales Rural Fire Service has issued a watch and act alert for the fire currently burning over 30 hectares in the area of Wentworth Falls.

The RFS have identified the fire is burning in the area of Hordern Road, Coronation Road and Tableland Road.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-08-01/blue-mountains-bushfire-out-of-control/6665018

Hmmmmmmm......

WOW!.....it was almost snowing up there a couple of weeks ago.

Bush fires in the middle of winter....it must be very dry.

....run red baron run....save that Aussie flag on your way out....

Post by Gnads on Aug 1st, 2015 at 9:30am

Lisa Jones wrote on Jul 31st, 2015 at 7:10pm:

What? ... is that for the quarter?

If it is ....OMG! :o

That's way too much.

Post by Dame Pansi on Aug 1st, 2015 at 9:43am

Gnads wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 9:30am:

That's way too much.

OMA!.......that's far too cheap for the quarter, she means per month.

Post by Very_Vinnie on Aug 1st, 2015 at 9:55am

Come on up to Texas for the next month. It will be around 100 degrees F today, that is about 37 degrees C to you.

Unfortunately, our country (and its environmental and climate policies) is run by a government - and a sad array of radio "shock-jocks", tabloid columnists and the "christian" right - who believe that the world's climate begins in Tasmania and end in Far North Queensland

Why WOULDN'T this esteemed panel of experts be more knowledgeable than the world's leading climate scientists ?   

Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 1st, 2015 at 10:02am
'To most Christians, the Bible is like a software license.
Nobody actually reads it.
They just scroll to the bottom and click 'I agree'

Bill Maher

And you can add the pathetic Bill Shorten.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2nrQ_Sh20Yw

Post by Kat on Aug 1st, 2015 at 10:15am

Lord Herbert wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 10:02am:
'To most Christians, the Bible is like a software license.
Nobody actually reads it.
They just scroll to the bottom and click 'I agree'

Bill Maher

And you can add the pathetic Bill Shorten.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2nrQ_Sh20Yw

I don't like or support him either.

But he's still light-years ahead of anything the neo-fascist LNP can put up.

Post by Gnads on Aug 1st, 2015 at 10:19am
:::

Post by Gnads on Aug 1st, 2015 at 10:26am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 9:43am:

Gnads wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 9:30am:

That's way too much.

OMA!.......that's far too cheap for the quarter, she means per month.

You're having a lend Pansi?

Surely?

If that was monthly then it's proof positive that privatisation of the electricity generation industry
is an abject failure & people are being ripped off/gouged by exorbitant increases in energy pricing.

Post by Redneck on Aug 1st, 2015 at 10:30am
You guys are lucky you dont live in Canberra,

my Aug 2014 bills Gas $1307. Electricity $655 for three months

I am dreading this years as I too agree it has been colder than usual and gas heating has been on more.

Post by innocentbystander. on Aug 1st, 2015 at 10:37am
My elec bill alone for three months last Summer was $1400 ... friggin mcmansion, thats some serious carbon footprint I got there  ;D 

Post by Lord Herbert on Aug 1st, 2015 at 10:50am

Gnads wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 10:26am:
If that was monthly then it's proof positive that privatisation of the electricity generation industry
is an abject failure & people are being ripped off/gouged by exorbitant increases in energy pricing.

Oh hell yes.

Making 'essential services' a private industry concern in which the profit-motive is their top priority is a total betrayal of Australians' civil rights. 

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 1st, 2015 at 12:14pm

Very_Vinnie wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 9:55am:

Come on up to Texas for the next month. It will be around 100 degrees F today, that is about 37 degrees C to you.

Unfortunately, our country (and its environmental and climate policies) is run by a government - and a sad array of radio "shock-jocks", tabloid columnists and the "christian" right - who believe that the world's climate begins in Tasmania and end in Far North Queensland

Why WOULDN'T this esteemed panel of experts be more knowledgeable than the world's leading climate scientists ?   

well a significant majorit of actual climate scientists DONT believe in the anthropogenic catastrophic climate change hysteria. Most in fact say 'they dont know'.

Post by Very_Vinnie on Aug 1st, 2015 at 12:53pm

Redmond Neck wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 10:30am:

I am dreading this years as I too agree it has been colder than usual and gas heating has been on more.

You sound like one of the lucky chosen few who may have the received "$540.00 saving" promised to the "average family" - so well sold by this government, on the abolition of the interim fixed price" emissions trading scheme (incorrectly labelled "carbon tax" by the climate change denying right side of politics) 

* ... energy prices fell by around 9% - which was VASTLY outweighed by the regular increase trend, shortly after

Post by Redneck on Aug 1st, 2015 at 1:18pm

innocentbystander. wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 10:37am:
My elec bill alone for three months last Summer was $1400 ... friggin mcmansion, thats some serious carbon footprint I got there  ;D 

I guess its a sort of goes around comes around no win situation.

Live up north and have high electricity bills in the summer for air conditioning

Live down south and have high gas bills for winter central heating

Post by Redneck on Aug 1st, 2015 at 1:21pm

Very_Vinnie wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 12:53pm:

You sound like one of the lucky chosen few who may have the received "$540.00 saving" promised to the "average family" - so well sold by this government, on the abolition of the interim fixed price" emissions trading scheme (incorrectly labelled "carbon tax" by the climate change denying right side of politics) 

* ... energy prices fell by around 9% - which was VASTLY outweighed by the regular increase trend, shortly after

Lucky ones!

I thought that was flucking  high! LOL  ;D ;D

Post by The Mechanic on Aug 1st, 2015 at 1:32pm

Bobby. wrote on Jul 31st, 2015 at 11:09pm:

It's been the coldest July in 20 years in Adelaide, Melbourne & Sydney & possibly Brisbane.

So much for global warming.

It's the new ice age & it's going to get colder
as was predicted:

http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1421385253/0#0

see if you can explain that to vinnie bobby..

according to him we're in the middle of a heat wave...  :-?

Post by The Mechanic on Aug 1st, 2015 at 1:42pm
struth...

if I had some of the Bills that you guys have I'd be ripping the electricity board off the wall and throwing it in the bin...  :o

one of my biggest Gas bills was $120 ... we use if for cooking, heating and hot water... ( 2 months )

one of our biggest electricity bills  before going Solar was $350 ... (per Quarter) hell I was pissed off about that..  >:(

but thanks to Labor ( idiots ;D ) I don't get a Power Bill at all and they send me $1500 every year... :)

Post by bogarde73 on Aug 1st, 2015 at 1:54pm
Nobody seems to wear wool anymore. Mostly what I see is people in these fashionable synthetic knits, thin little things, that must give no warmth at all.

I know when we were kids it was the thing to go round with just a shirt on in winter, no jumper, no jacket. But that was because you had to be tough.

Nowadays I recommend people go online to Bendigo Woollen Mills for great jumpers etc at good prices.

Post by Unforgiven on Aug 1st, 2015 at 2:01pm

bogarde73 wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 1:54pm:
Nobody seems to wear wool anymore. Mostly what I see is people in these fashionable synthetic knits, thin little things, that must give no warmth at all.

I know when we were kids it was the thing to go round with just a shirt on in winter, no jumper, no jacket. But that was because you had to be tough.

Nowadays I recommend people go online to Bendigo Woollen Mills for great jumpers etc at good prices.

The Mechanic needs a visit from the Salvation Army to get him into warm clothes fast.

Evidently The Mechanic's mother neglected to teach him to rug up when it gets cold.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Aug 1st, 2015 at 2:04pm

I hate plastic clothes and only buy natural materials.
Bamboos good.

A woollen mill would be ideal in a cold climate.

Post by Very_Vinnie on Aug 1st, 2015 at 2:10pm

Redmond Neck wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 1:21pm:

Lucky ones!

I thought that was flucking high ! LOL  ;D ;D

You're CORRECT - it's VERY "flucking high" !

.... but it HAD to be this "flucking high" to gain a $540.00 per annum saving to the "average family" on the abolition of carbon permit trading

An "average family" does NOT create $6000.00 plus, per annum, utility bills

Post by Redneck on Aug 1st, 2015 at 2:17pm

Very_Vinnie wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 2:10pm:

Redmond Neck wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 1:21pm:

Lucky ones!

I thought that was flucking high ! LOL  ;D ;D

You're CORRECT - it's VERY "flucking high" !

.... but it HAD to be this "flucking high" to gain a $540.00 per annum saving to the "average family" on the abolition of carbon permit trading

An "average family" does NOT create $6000.00 plus, per annum, utility bills

I guess it boils down to the fact that I live in Canberra to be near the family so I am stuffed if I am going to freeze to death in winter time. 

Its only money after all

Post by Unforgiven on Aug 1st, 2015 at 2:59pm
Strategic insulation is the answer to The Mechanic's discomfort.

The Mechanic needs to buy some appropriate fashion which will prevent it's scrotum tightening and causing the tiny mind to malfunction causing squealing, bleating and blathering.

Here is your Peter Heater.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ItXqbhNc6p4

Post by bogarde73 on Aug 1st, 2015 at 3:04pm
How long does it take you to knit an average size one of those Mr Bean?

Post by Unforgiven on Aug 1st, 2015 at 3:06pm

bogarde73 wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 3:04pm:
How long does it take you to knit an average size one of those Mr Bean?

For The Mechanic's dimensions I estimate about 10 seconds.

Post by Neferti on Aug 1st, 2015 at 3:24pm

I had a techno guy come in and check it for me, but he said it's running okay - and only the DAIKIN brand handles cold mornings okay.  

I have a DAIKIN that I had installed in October, 2006, can't remember the HP but think it is much higher than yours is.  I use it mostly in Winter but it was an extremely hot Summer (2005) that prompted me to get "air conditioning".   I get it serviced annually.  Personally, I wouldn't buy anything LG.  :P

Post by Redneck on Aug 1st, 2015 at 3:48pm

Neferti wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 3:24pm:

I had a techno guy come in and check it for me, but he said it's running okay - and only the DAIKIN brand handles cold mornings okay.  

I have a DAIKIN that I had installed in October, 2006, can't remember the HP but think it is much higher than yours is.  I use it mostly in Winter but it was an extremely hot Summer (2005) that prompted me to get "air conditioning".   I get it serviced annually.  Personally, I wouldn't buy anything LG.  :P

I have actually wondered whether I should  install a split system to mainly use to heat the large family room kitchen area of my house during the day time in winter, rather than run the gas central heating to heat the whole house, an added advantage I could also use it on the half a dozen really hot days of summer in the ACT for cooling.

Post by The Grappler on Aug 1st, 2015 at 4:07pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 2:04pm:

I hate plastic clothes and only buy natural materials.
Bamboos good.

A woollen mill would be ideal in a cold climate.

I'm allergic to wool as I found out when I wore my woolen jacket or my lovely woollen Aran jumper..... sneezing all the time...

Post by Unforgiven on Aug 1st, 2015 at 5:27pm
The Crash Shack. Exactly what The Mechanic needs to complement his Peter Heater.

Post by Redneck on Aug 1st, 2015 at 5:46pm
An interesting topic Mechanic, nice to see something from you that doesnt involve insulting people.

Well done!

Despite that weirdo unforgiven trying to fkkkk it up!  :)

Post by Gnads on Aug 1st, 2015 at 6:28pm

Very_Vinnie wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 9:55am:

Who are on the take (govt grants) to come up with the relevant required findings.

History has proven in a lot of instances that "science" can be bought.

Post by Lady Lols on Aug 1st, 2015 at 9:24pm
It has been coldest I remember, and then I find out we had some very cold July days in Melbourne since 1990!
The folk around here are saying, that this is a 'real winter', something we had forgotten what it was like from decades ago.

I think a fireplace has warmth that is unmatched by any other form of heating. Cosy and nice, yes, but, I am actually sick of it, constantly having to lug in the wood, and feed the fireplace to keep it from going out, and then the smokiness and dust in the house.....it's not the cleanest form of heating, not when one relies solely on it.
It's great once the weather warms up and I don't have to tend to it and can turn off the fan.

As for electricity bills, some may remember, we had solar panels put in last year, 20 of them, and it irked me, the electricity bill wasn't a whole lot cheaper, finally had them come to check it at the risk it could cost $200 if nothing was found to be wrong, but lo and behold, they discovered 7 panels were not connected!

Idiots. One whole year not uitilizing 35% solar savings, when the sun shone. I can't keep up with it all....do I have to tell everyone how to do their job as well as pay them?  ::)

Post by Neferti on Aug 2nd, 2015 at 9:19am

Redmond Neck wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 3:48pm:

I have actually wondered whether I should  install a split system to mainly use to heat the large family room kitchen area of my house during the day time in winter, rather than run the gas central heating to heat the whole house, an added advantage I could also use it on the half a dozen really hot days of summer in the ACT for cooling.

Red,

I got my DAIKIN from Delta Air Conditioning in Fyshwick.  Before I got it I asked for a quote, the guy came and measured the area to be cooled/heated with a little device to get the correct HP needed, so no guess work.  Delta rings me each October to make an appointment for an Annual Service, that costs about $150 but worth it since I use it a lot.

I use it most in Winter but turn it on to cool on those really hot Canberran days ... maybe 3 times in Summer.

Post by The Grappler on Aug 2nd, 2015 at 2:18pm

Sophia wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 9:24pm:
It has been coldest I remember, and then I find out we had some very cold July days in Melbourne since 1990!
The folk around here are saying, that this is a 'real winter', something we had forgotten what it was like from decades ago.

I think a fireplace has warmth that is unmatched by any other form of heating. Cosy and nice, yes, but, I am actually sick of it, constantly having to lug in the wood, and feed the fireplace to keep it from going out, and then the smokiness and dust in the house.....it's not the cleanest form of heating, not when one relies solely on it.
It's great once the weather warms up and I don't have to tend to it and can turn off the fan.

As for electricity bills, some may remember, we had solar panels put in last year, 20 of them, and it irked me, the electricity bill wasn't a whole lot cheaper, finally had them come to check it at the risk it could cost $200 if nothing was found to be wrong, but lo and behold, they discovered 7 panels were not connected!

Idiots. One whole year not uitilizing 35% solar savings, when the sun shone. I can't keep up with it all....do I have to tell everyone how to do their job as well as pay them?  ::)

You do, Lols.. you do - they hate it when you 'tell them how to do their job' - but unless you are very clear they'll forget or not do something.  While away the plumber failed to put IN pipes in the slab floor... only waste pipes in by then solid concrete.... and for an island bench....  leccy trian didn't put protectors on the power pole or the inlet to the house - mandatory... concretor set some verandah posts out of line.. now I'm digging holes and setting more posts in - at my age.

Jayzuz!

Post by The Mechanic on Aug 2nd, 2015 at 3:19pm

hi Lols...

that is absolutely deplorable.... I would be seeking some sort of compensation from the company you dealt with..

when Labor was throwing tax payers money everywhere to get Australians to install Solar Systems they sent out inspectors to every installation to make sure it was done right..

this was due to them stuffing all their other programs up like Pink Batts etc...

our inspector found a few "small" things that they had to come back and readjust.. like junctions boxes with the screws facing up.. they'd fill full of water on the screw head and rust... etc...

your inverter should have a readout on it and it pays to know what you should be getting on a nice sunny day...

for our 3kw system here in Victoria - during summer - we'll pull around 20KWs a day give or take... we've had as high as 24kw in one day :)

a mate of mine has a 5kw and during summer he'll pull over 30kw a day...

so it pays to keep an eye on that...

with all of these non stop cloudy days for months on end now we may end up with a small winter bill for the first time in around 5 years... but we'll see

we have over 7kw for the day so far.. had some nice sun this morning but now... its back to all doom and gloom again.. cold, wet...  :(

so have the wood heater on again... I was able to get blue gum @ $65 a square meter this year... this is what I use on the weekends to keep warm during winter :)

Post by Lady Lols on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 11:10am

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Aug 2nd, 2015 at 2:18pm:

You do, Lols.. you do - they hate it when you 'tell them how to do their job' - but unless you are very clear they'll forget or not do something.  While away the plumber failed to put IN pipes in the slab floor... only waste pipes in by then solid concrete.... and for an island bench....  leccy trian didn't put protectors on the power pole or the inlet to the house - mandatory... concretor set some verandah posts out of line.. now I'm digging holes and setting more posts in - at my age.

Jayzuz!

Grappler, this is the very reason it frightens me to build our own place, ever, not saying there were never any problems with bought homes ::), but even a few short years ago, went to have a concrete driveway put in at a house in Hervey Bay for access to the rear block we had sub-divided, and it was supposed to  be simple and straight, but nope, a comedy of errors, and my faith plummets.
Not even that could be done right.
We were there, having to instruct them, and it was so darn painful.

Next door to us here, wasn't so accommodating, he had a house built, and he was the fussiest person, at one stage, we thought over fussy, but, he had the brickwork pulled down 5 times so it was all a good pattern, the veranda was out by a few centimetres, and he made them pull it down, and they were going to use the same wood, but he said "Can't use that now, it's 2nd hand, so just leave it there.".....and it went on....he has been a lawyer, cop, works in the court system, so he bloody well knows what his rights are, and has the confidence to not have to tolerate shonky work not in accordance to the contract, where most of us seem to just put up with.
The hubby said to him, if we ever get a house built, he will employ him to be the supervisor!  ;D

Post by Lady Lols on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 11:28am

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Aug 2nd, 2015 at 3:19pm:

hi Lols...

that is absolutely deplorable.... I would be seeking some sort of compensation from the company you dealt with..

when Labor was throwing tax payers money everywhere to get Australians to install Solar Systems they sent out inspectors to every installation to make sure it was done right..

this was due to them stuffing all their other programs up like Pink Batts etc...

our inspector found a few "small" things that they had to come back and readjust.. like junctions boxes with the screws facing up.. they'd fill full of water on the screw head and rust... etc...

your inverter should have a readout on it and it pays to know what you should be getting on a nice sunny day...

for our 3kw system here in Victoria - during summer - we'll pull around 20KWs a day give or take... we've had as high as 24kw in one day :)

a mate of mine has a 5kw and during summer he'll pull over 30kw a day...

so it pays to keep an eye on that...

with all of these non stop cloudy days for months on end now we may end up with a small winter bill for the first time in around 5 years... but we'll see

we have over 7kw for the day so far.. had some nice sun this morning but now... its back to all doom and gloom again.. cold, wet...  :(

so have the wood heater on again... I was able to get blue gum @ $65 a square meter this year... this is what I use on the weekends to keep warm during winter :)

Yes, thinking of letting them know I want some compensation for the job not being correctly done or checked upon completion. I found out, that these solar systems require a 2 year service/tune at the cost of $200....did anyone know about that?
Well, they can do that service/tune up for free IMO.
I haven't finished with them yet  >:(The only compensating feeling I have, is that I bargained with this mob (advertises on tv a lot, and phoned us all the time) and got it for $500 less. :) but that goes out the window when we don't utilize 35% of power on sunny days eh! sigh....

As we had the solar installed just before last winter, it was difficult to work out what the reading should be on a weak sunny winter day, but when summer came around, it was evident, and with a 5-6 day check of the 'e total' found out something was amiss.

As for wood, $65 a metre is good value, normally you can pay approx $90- 100 and redgum is more. As we have an abundance of trees, wattle, gum, and another (I forgot).....the trees die, or keel over such as last week, we had a huge double gum tree come down in the high winds we had, so there is some more wood for next year (need a year before the wood is good for firewood). Never had to buy wood, some trees die standing, so we leave it upright as it stays dry and ages, until the right time to cut it all down, and store it for the following winter.
We like to replace trees that die or keel over, I like trees, and just wish they wouldn't keel over the way they do of late. It worries me.

I will try and see if I can locate the photobucket to upload a pic.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 12:43pm

...........that I bargained with this mob (advertises on tv a lot, and phoned us all the time) and got it for $500 less. but that goes out the window when we don't utilize 35% of power on sunny days eh! sigh.............

sounds like karma to me.

Post by Lady Lols on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 12:57pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 12:43pm:

...........that I bargained with this mob (advertises on tv a lot, and phoned us all the time) and got it for $500 less. but that goes out the window when we don't utilize 35% of power on sunny days eh! sigh.............

sounds like karma to me.

Yeah, makes me wonder.......as they say, there's no free cheese in a mousetrap!
But the bottom line is, the price vary should not constitute as an excuse for bad workmanship.....their reputation is worth more than that little price reduction!

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:01pm

sounds like karma to me.

although I dont know the details, I have heard countless stories of people who got 'great deals' and found out later they bought a dog.  Long-lasting companies with good reputations  are such because they offer good product and good service, not cheep prices.

Post by Unforgiven on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:13pm

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:01pm:

sounds like karma to me.

although I dont know the details, I have heard countless stories of people who got 'great deals' and found out later they bought a dog.  Long-lasting companies with good reputations  are such because they offer good product and good service, not cheep prices.

That is absolute blather worthy of a blithering loser like longweekend58.

Post by The Mechanic on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:42pm

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:01pm:

sounds like karma to me.

my policy is...

is not to pay full price for anything... I've saved thousands...

I went through a solar broker to get my Solar System...

I saved $2000 on the price anyone else was selling them for...

sound too good to be true???

and while other companies were wanted payment before installation.. this company was $100 deposit and payment on installation.. so who could you lose with a deal like that??  :)

the system is all top quality although they did bring an inverter that was smaller than what I had ordered which took about 6 months to get changed over... and even then... I had to change it over myself...  :o

but im pretty handy like that... the weight of an inverter is incredible... so the hardest part was two of us lifting it up onto the wall...

I've never heard of getting a solar system "tuned"  :-?

I've had mine for 5 years or more now ( I think) and its till going like a rippa... :)

Post by The Mechanic on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:49pm
meanwhile in Hobart this morning...

they copped a large dose of Global Warming...

temperature at 2pm?

7*  :o

Post by Unforgiven on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 2:15pm
Snow is not an uncommon occurrence in Hobart in July-August.

The Mechanic's Peter Heater should work just fine.

Post by bogarde73 on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 2:34pm
I love the winter with my wood stove. Not only does it warm the whole house, I can boil water on it, put a saucepan on and cook something, dry wet clothes near it.

I don't mind the dust or the cleaning or the chopping and fetching wood. In fact it does me good.

Post by Redneck on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 3:04pm

Neferti wrote on Aug 2nd, 2015 at 9:19am:

Redmond Neck wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 3:48pm:

Red,

I got my DAIKIN from Delta Air Conditioning in Fyshwick.  Before I got it I asked for a quote, the guy came and measured the area to be cooled/heated with a little device to get the correct HP needed, so no guess work.  Delta rings me each October to make an appointment for an Annual Service, that costs about $150 but worth it since I use it a lot.

I use it most in Winter but turn it on to cool on those really hot Canberran days ... maybe 3 times in Summer.

Thanks Nef,

I have added that to my spreadsheet of Tradies, Brands etc to use

Post by Sprintcyclist on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 3:28pm
We got 2 * mitsubishi Electric split systems in.
I did soem research, either daikyns or mistubishis are the best.

1 big one for the main part of the house, one smaller one for our bedroom.
In QLD they are very effective.
These two get the 10/10 rating from me.

Post by ImSpartacus2 on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 3:43pm

The science has explained that in the same way the science has explained how bees are being killed by pesticides.  You irresponsibly (and many would say criminally) reject the first even though you have absolutely no skills expertise or knowledge in the area and emphatically accept the second even though you have absolutely no skills, expertise or knowledge in the area (you keep bees so what) and even though the consensus of the science in Global warming is vastly far greater.  I don't think the scientists are lying.  Its you!!!!! Because its ideologically motivated and nothing to do with the truth of the matter because in this case the truth does not matter to you regardless of the consequences that are at stake if you (who know sh!t about the subject) turn out to be wrong. 

Post by innocentbystander. on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 3:57pm

ImSpartacus2 wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 3:43pm:

The science has explained that in the same way the science has explained how bees are being killed by pesticides.  You irresponsibly (and many would say criminally) reject the first even though you have absolutely no skills expertise or knowledge in the area and emphatically accept the second even though you have absolutely no skills, expertise or knowledge in the area (you keep bees so what) and even though the consensus of the science in Global warming is vastly far greater.  I don't think the scientists are lying.  Its you!!!!! Because its ideologically motivated and nothing to do with the truth of the matter because in this case the truth does not matter to you regardless of the consequences that are at stake if you (who know sh!t about the subject) turn out to be wrong. 

For that analogy to work you would have to say that the bees are dying and then produce no evidence that the bees are dying, also while looking for bees that are dying you would instead find yet more evidence that they are not.  ;D

Post by ImSpartacus2 on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 3:59pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:49pm:

temperature at 2pm?

And meanwhile you can ignore the record fires devastating California at the moment; and the record fires we have seen for successive years here in Australia, Russia, the US.

The climate experts have consistently said that we would be getting more and more extreme weather events.  The cold your complaining about in Hobart is entirely consistent with that But you don't want to see that because this is all ideological with you and you couldn't give a sh!t about the truth or otherwise of it???

Post by ImSpartacus2 on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 4:02pm

innocentbystander. wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 3:57pm:

For that analogy to work you would have to say that the bees are dying and then produce no evidence that the bees are dying, also while looking for bees that are dying you would instead find yet more evidence that they are not.  ;D
Typical muddle headed sh!t you produce. 

Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 4:15pm

ImSpartacus2 wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 3:59pm:

temperature at 2pm?

And meanwhile you can ignore the record fires devastating California at the moment; and the record fires we have seen for successive years here in Australia, Russia, the US.

The climate experts have consistently said that we would be getting more and more extreme weather events.  The cold your complaining about in Hobart is entirely consistent with that But you don't want to see that because this is all ideological with you and you couldn't give a sh!t about the truth or otherwise of it???

And that is an example of 'possibly' extreme summer WEATHER (and NOT, under any circumstances, 'climate')

Post by ImSpartacus2 on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 4:21pm

gizmo_2655 wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 4:15pm:

temperature at 2pm?

And that is an example of 'possibly' extreme summer WEATHER (and NOT, under any circumstances, 'climate')

Indeed.  But I'm not the one trying to BS to everyone that those bush fires prove climate change like Mechanic is arguing that snow in Hobart means climate change is not real.  And more importantly I did't see you make that very point to Mechanic. 

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 5:11pm

then if they arent lying why do you ONLY listen to the pro-ACC scientists?  you completely debunk the anti-ACC scientists and worse, ignore the VAST MAJORITY which say they have no idea if ACC even exists.

you pick and choose.

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 5:12pm

temperature at 2pm?

hmmm... california has always been one of the worst places on earth for bushfires and at the moment that are in mid summer AND with a severe drought.

you dont' get it, do you?

Post by Redneck on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 5:19pm

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 5:12pm:

temperature at 2pm?

hmmm... california has always been one of the worst places on earth for bushfires and at the moment that are in mid summer AND with a severe drought.

No you are the one who doesnt get it!

Try following the majority of climate scientists!

Post by innocentbystander. on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 5:45pm

Redmond Neck wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 5:19pm:
Try following the majority of climate scientists![/b]

He probably would if they didn't talk sh!t , maybe he would even listen to the hockey stick guy ... if the hockey stick guy wasn't in court defending bad science that is  ;D

Post by longweekend58 on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 6:07pm

Redmond Neck wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 5:19pm:

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 5:12pm:

temperature at 2pm?

No you are the one who doesnt get it!

Try following the majority of climate scientists!

I am.  the MAJORITY of actual climate scientists say they dont know if ACC is even real, never mind the effects. But of course you don't like that kind of news - which comes from a peer-reviewed extensive survey.

Post by Team Froggie on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 7:30pm
The evidence is, shall we say, Evident???

Proof.jpg (27 KB | 23 )

Post by ImSpartacus2 on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 11:27pm

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 5:11pm:

then if they arent lying why do you ONLY listen to the pro-ACC scientists?  you completely debunk the anti-ACC scientists and worse, ignore the VAST MAJORITY which say they have no idea if ACC even exists.

you pick and choose.
I don't listen to people like you who don't know sh!t about the climate and form their opinion on the basis of what they want to believe regardless of the truth of the matter. 

Post by Sir Bobby on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 11:38pm
Snow on the beach in Hobart.

Snow at Clifton Beach Hobart August 3rd 2015

http://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/snowbart-weird-weather-hits-tasmania/story-e6frflp0-1227467405656

IT’S snowing on the beach in Tasmania, and yes, that’s as rare as it sounds.

Snow has begun to fall at sea level in the Hobart area as a major pool of cold air slams the state.

It’s the first time snow has hit the state at sea level and the capital itself since 2006.

This footage captured early this morning shows snow falling at Bellerive Beach, about 7km from the city.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-08-03/snow-across-tasmania-forces-many-key-road-closures/6666838

"As opposed to [snow at] sea level that we saw with this event, widespread across the state, we are looking at the snow line dropping down again tomorrow night into Wednesday morning as showers extend once again state-wide."

Snow reached sea level for the first time since 2005, with Hobart's beaches and central business district receiving a dusting.

Launceston in the state's north saw snow despite its clear and sunny forecast, as did Burnie in the north west.

Bureau of Meteorology spokesman Tristan Oakley said the state's west, where snow had also reached sea level, "could be quite bad for most of the day, into the evening".

Snowfalls in Hobart are rare — the last time the CBD experienced a "dump of snow" was on July 25, 1986 when the Tasman Bridge was closed.

What more proof of this ice age do dupes like Chimp & DRAH need?

Post by ImSpartacus2 on Aug 4th, 2015 at 12:30am

Bobby. wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 11:38pm:
Snow on the beach in Hobart.

Snow at Clifton Beach Hobart August 3rd 2015

http://www.news.com.au/technology/environment/snowbart-weird-weather-hits-tasmania/story-e6frflp0-1227467405656

IT’S snowing on the beach in Tasmania, and yes, that’s as rare as it sounds.

Snow has begun to fall at sea level in the Hobart area as a major pool of cold air slams the state.

It’s the first time snow has hit the state at sea level and the capital itself since 2006.

This footage captured early this morning shows snow falling at Bellerive Beach, about 7km from the city.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2015-08-03/snow-across-tasmania-forces-many-key-road-closures/6666838

[quote]"As opposed to [snow at] sea level that we saw with this event, widespread across the state, we are looking at the snow line dropping down again tomorrow night into Wednesday morning as showers extend once again state-wide."

Snow reached sea level for the first time since 2005, with Hobart's beaches and central business district receiving a dusting.

Launceston in the state's north saw snow despite its clear and sunny forecast, as did Burnie in the north west.

Bureau of Meteorology spokesman Tristan Oakley said the state's west, where snow had also reached sea level, "could be quite bad for most of the day, into the evening".

Snowfalls in Hobart are rare — the last time the CBD experienced a "dump of snow" was on July 25, 1986 when the Tasman Bridge was closed.

What more proof of this ice age do dupes like Chimp & DRAH need?[/quote]And bush fires in the middle of winter in the Blue Mountains must mean global warming. Is that right Bobbie. After all you would know. You're an engineer which means you're a kinda scientist right?

Post by The Mechanic on Aug 4th, 2015 at 7:14am
sparks... trying to compare basic chemistry to the theory of "climate change" just shows your basic lack of understanding of Science...

you should bow out from such conversations to save you further embarrassment to your Henny Penny hair brained theories...  ::)

Post by ImSpartacus2 on Aug 4th, 2015 at 9:59am

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Aug 4th, 2015 at 7:14am:
sparks... trying to compare basic chemistry to the theory of "climate change" just shows your basic lack of understanding of Science...

you should bow out from such conversations to save you further embarrassment to your Henny Penny hair brained theories...  ::)

Or you should stop being a hypocrite more like.  If its "basic chemistry" as you say, why are scientists so divided as to whether pesticides are the cause of the bees dying.  But they aren't divided on global warming (97% say its defiantly happening) and yet you accept the first but not the second.  And even if it were "just basic chemistry" makes no difference since you still don't know sh!t about either subject to decide for yourself and yet you accept the word of "some scientists" on one and ridicule the 97% expert scientists on the other.  Mechanic, your a fraud and a hypocrite.   

Post by innocentbystander. on Aug 4th, 2015 at 10:07am

ImSpartacus2 wrote on Aug 4th, 2015 at 9:59am:
But they aren't divided on global warming (97% say its defiantly happening)    

Only 97% reckon the planet is warming, surprised its not 100%, who are the other 3% idiots?   ;D

Post by Bojack Horseman on Aug 4th, 2015 at 10:08am

innocentbystander. wrote on Aug 4th, 2015 at 10:07am:

Only 97% reckon the planet is warming, surprised its not 100%, who are the other 3% idiots?   ;D

You said it.

Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 4th, 2015 at 10:24am

innocentbystander. wrote on Aug 4th, 2015 at 10:07am:

I don't think anyone really knows what the planet is doing.

I DO know this : We've abused the $hit out of it from top to bottom for so long that our planet is now having some kind of spaz attack.

I think of it in terms of a person who's not well. They go all hot and cold with fever because their body is unable to regulate its proper temperature. As such, they need to be cared for and nursed back to good health.

Our planet is just like a sick person who's not been looked after properly. It's got a fever and needs TLC.

I believe it's up to US to do something NOW to help it get better. For the sake of our children and their children etc....we need to bite the bullet and do the right thing here. Let's nurse it back to good health  :)

Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 4th, 2015 at 10:36am
I know what you're all thinking now...

She's such a mother and gardener.

And you'd be right. Both roles involve nurturing. As far as I'm concerned, this world, from plants to animals right through to people need nurturing.

However, the awful reality is this : we can't really begin to do any of that if our planet is sick.

Post by ImSpartacus2 on Aug 4th, 2015 at 10:40am

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 4th, 2015 at 10:36am:

And you'd be right. Both roles involve nurturing. As far as I'm concerned, this world, from plants to animals right through to people need nurturing.

However, the awful reality is this : we can't really begin to do any of that if our planet is sick.
Agree with you totally Lisa!!! (on this subject)

Post by Lady Lols on Aug 4th, 2015 at 10:55am

And we wonder, why they call it our 'mother' planet, and refers therein to what sustains us as 'mother nature'...etc etc

Yet, has it been males that have dominated for eons and got us into this predicament of not knowing what the planet is going to do now?

I was reading, that earth has only so much oxygen left for a certain amount of time, imagine, in the future, if humans that evolve from us, survive, will have to find quality air from somewhere, or is this planet going to go through a change where no humans can survive, thus, mother nature wins in the end....a planet with toxic air, as some futuristic space explorer may come here, and say, it is a hostile planet, with no breathable air, no living plants or life, and lots of electrical activity in the air.

Well, it all starts from somewhere, a chain of events leading to some sort of consequence, so realistically, we need to hear what we are doing that we know is wrong, dirtying the waterways, polluting the air, cutting down too many trees etc etc.....it's only common sense...but tell that to the greedy corporations! >:(

Post by innocentbystander. on Aug 4th, 2015 at 11:11am
If our planet is sick what are the symptoms?

Post by Unforgiven on Aug 4th, 2015 at 12:39pm

innocentbystander. wrote on Aug 4th, 2015 at 11:11am:

Deforestation
Increasing bush fires
Temperature rise
Ice decline arctic and antarctic
Sea level rise
Extinction of animal species
Loss of bee and butterfly and other insect populations
Bird population decline
Increasing frequency of extreme weather events
Unending war and armed conflict
Race hate an intolerance growing

Post by innocentbystander. on Aug 4th, 2015 at 1:29pm

Unforgiven wrote on Aug 4th, 2015 at 12:39pm:

Deforestation
Increasing bush fires
Temperature rise
Ice decline arctic and antarctic
Sea level rise
Extinction of animal species
Loss of bee and butterfly and other insect populations
Bird population decline
Increasing frequency of extreme weather events
Unending war and armed conflict
Race hate an intolerance growing

So its business as usual then  ;D

Post by The Mechanic on Aug 4th, 2015 at 1:39pm

Or you should stop being a hypocrite more like.  If its "basic chemistry" as you say, why are scientists so divided as to whether pesticides are the cause of the bees dying.  But they aren't divided on global warming (97% say its defiantly happening) and yet you accept the first but not the second.  And even if it were "just basic chemistry" makes no difference since you still don't know sh!t about either subject to decide for yourself and yet you accept the word of "some scientists" on one and ridicule the 97% expert scientists on the other.  Mechanic, your a fraud and a hypocrite.   

for a start.. that 97% bullshit is just that... BULLSHIT

2 - Poisons that are made to kill insects, will kill Bees...

you know why??? because bees are insects you numbskull...

people who use the term "climate change" to explain their pathetic case are just pure "stupid"

what caused that fire - climate change
what caused that snow - climate change
what caused that draught - climate change
what caused that flood - climate change
what caused that hurricane - climate change
what caused that man to commit suicide - climate change...
what caused that woman to get fat - climate change

and you can't even see the idiocy to your dumb arguments...
you don't know how or why anything is happening in this world because you are mentally retarded so you "blanket" all causes to "Climate Change"... durrr  :D

and you don't even know what "IT" is...

Post by innocentbystander. on Aug 4th, 2015 at 1:42pm
No its the end of the world because a bush fire happened in Winter for the first time in 80 million years  :D

Post by greggerypeccary on Aug 4th, 2015 at 1:44pm

If its "basic chemistry" as you say, why are scientists so divided as to whether pesticides are the cause of the bees dying. 
But they aren't divided on global warming (97% say its defiantly happening) ...

Care to elaborate on that?

Post by ImSpartacus2 on Aug 4th, 2015 at 2:00pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Aug 4th, 2015 at 1:39pm:

for a start.. that 97% bullshit is just that... BULLSHIT

2 - Poisons that are made to kill insects, will kill Bees...

you know why??? because bees are insects you numbskull...

people who use the term "climate change" to explain their pathetic case are just pure "stupid"

what caused that fire - climate change
what caused that snow - climate change
what caused that draught - climate change
what caused that flood - climate change
what caused that hurricane - climate change
what caused that man to commit suicide - climate change...
what caused that woman to get fat - climate change

and you can't even see the idiocy to your dumb arguments...
you don't know how or why anything is happening in this world because you are mentally retarded so you "blanket" all causes to "Climate Change"... durrr  :D

and you don't even know what "IT" is...

No, again, what's BULLSHIT is you!!!! The 97% consensus of climate scientists is accepted by anyone who hasn't got an ideological agenda.

(2) As always because you know sh!t about these things you conclude in your redneck yokel way that pesticides must kill bees because they're insects.  Scientists who actually know about these things know that the issue isn't that simple (thats why their divided on the matter) and that different kinds of chemicals used in different amounts will kill some insects and not effect others. Indeed, the people who design pesticides spend billions to make sure their chemicals don't kill bees.  But you knew that. You were just trying to cloudy the waters.  Which gets us right back to why you're such a fraud. Because even though you know sh!t about either subject you accept the divided opinion of some scientist when it immediately effects you and deny the overwhelming consensus of scientists when you don't like their conclusions for ideological reasons.  And all your exaggerated straw man arguments wont change the fact that you are deliberately denying climate change for no other reason then ideology and that means you're a class A C@#T when you consider the damage you and your deliberate misinformation is doing to the world and to our children.    

Post by ImSpartacus2 on Aug 4th, 2015 at 2:12pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 4th, 2015 at 1:44pm:

If its "basic chemistry" as you say, why are scientists so divided as to whether pesticides are the cause of the bees dying. 
But they aren't divided on global warming (97% say its defiantly happening) ...

Care to elaborate on that?
Why, because you want to reproduce strained arguments that the consensus is not really a consensus, cut and pasted from denialist sites sponsored and paid for by people who have trillions to lose as the world reduces its dependency on burning fossil fuels.  We've seen it all before. The arguments are BS in my opinion. 

But I am confused about one thing Greg. Why you would take the position you do, especially having a connection with the law, where lawyers have accepted for centuries the importance of accepting expert opinion where they have no knowledge or skill in the subject themselves. To substitute your opinion in such circumstances is not only stupid, in the context of this debate its down right criminal.   

Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 4th, 2015 at 6:23pm

Sophia wrote on Aug 4th, 2015 at 10:55am:

And we wonder, why they call it our 'mother' planet, and refers therein to what sustains us as 'mother nature'...etc etc

Yet, has it been males that have dominated for eons and got us into this predicament of not knowing what the planet is going to do now?

I was reading, that earth has only so much oxygen left for a certain amount of time, imagine, in the future, if humans that evolve from us, survive, will have to find quality air from somewhere, or is this planet going to go through a change where no humans can survive, thus, mother nature wins in the end....a planet with toxic air, as some futuristic space explorer may come here, and say, it is a hostile planet, with no breathable air, no living plants or life, and lots of electrical activity in the air.

Well, it all starts from somewhere, a chain of events leading to some sort of consequence, so realistically, we need to hear what we are doing that we know is wrong, dirtying the waterways, polluting the air, cutting down too many trees etc etc.....it's only common sense...but tell that to the greedy corporations! >:(

If only we could all be honest about how we feel and communicate our concerns regarding planet Earth.

I confess that sometimes..especially when I'm out gardening, I kneel down and appreciate  the good, healthy soil which has been nurtured and protected from chemicals. To me, it's like the Earth's blood...it needs to flow free from obstructions and toxins in order to bring forth  abundant plant life to sustain us.

Perhaps my uneducated rural born and bred grandparents were right about the importance of respecting nature. Here in Australia,  the traditional Aborigines thought the same way.

Anyway...

Post by The Mechanic on Aug 4th, 2015 at 6:41pm

Unforgiven wrote on Aug 4th, 2015 at 12:39pm:

Deforestation - Man Made

Increasing bush fires - Myth

Temperature rise - Myth

Ice decline arctic and Antarctic - half right, half wrong - no meaning

Sea level rise - Myth

Extinction of animal species - Man Made

Loss of bee and butterfly and other insect populations - Man Made

Bird population decline - Man Made

Increasing frequency of extreme weather events - Myth

Unending war and armed conflict - Man Made - USA

Race hate an intolerance growing - Myth - Unless Muslims are trying to invade your country..and in this case you have every right to protect your borders

no need to thank me...  ;)

Post by The Mechanic on Aug 4th, 2015 at 6:49pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 4th, 2015 at 6:23pm:

If only we could all be honest about how we feel and communicate our concerns regarding planet Earth.

I confess that sometimes..especially when I'm out gardening, I kneel down and appreciate  the good, healthy soil which has been nurtured and protected from chemicals. To me, it's like the Earth's blood...it needs to flow free from obstructions and toxins in order to bring forth  abundant plant life to sustain us.

Perhaps my uneducated rural born and bred grandparents were right about the importance of respecting nature. Here in Australia,  the traditional Aborigines thought the same way.

Anyway...

100% right by all...

this has nothing to do with climate change.. it has everything to do with Man poisoning the world we live in...

the smart people are going organic because they know if they eat out of the super market that they are eating multiple chemicals within the foods..

bugs don't know this.. bees don't know this.. they eat the chemical laden crops and die..  :(

being big humans we can tolerate some chemicals.. it doesn't kill us..

or does it??

why do you think cancer is on the rise and more prevalent than ever before???

more chemicals.. more cancers..

its not rocket surgery..

or you can believe the smoke screens, shims and mirrors like Spartacus..

ITS CLIMATE CHANGE THATS DOING ALL THIS..
DURRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!!!  :D

Post by mothra on Aug 4th, 2015 at 6:51pm
Rocket surgery?

Post by The Mechanic on Aug 4th, 2015 at 6:59pm

mothra wrote on Aug 4th, 2015 at 6:51pm:
Rocket surgery?

that's right..

you have a problem with that.. ??  >:( >:( >:( >:(

Post by Gnads on Aug 5th, 2015 at 9:42pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Aug 4th, 2015 at 6:49pm:

Anyway...

100% right by all...

this has nothing to do with climate change.. it has everything to do with Man poisoning the world we live in...

the smart people are going organic because they know if they eat out of the super market that they are eating multiple chemicals within the foods..

bugs don't know this.. bees don't know this.. they eat the chemical laden crops and die..  :(

or does it??

its not rocket surgery..

Only one person I know uses that phrase ... ey Bluey?
;D ;D

Post by The Mechanic on Aug 6th, 2015 at 3:22pm

Gnads wrote on Aug 5th, 2015 at 9:42pm:

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Aug 4th, 2015 at 6:49pm:

Anyway...

100% right by all...

or does it??

its not rocket surgery..

Only one person I know uses that phrase ... ey Bluey?
;D ;D

yes... I have copyright on it...  ;)

Post by The Grappler on Aug 6th, 2015 at 5:54pm
Had a bee land on front of my jumper today... all pollened up too... had a rest and then flew off... still some around and they are gearing up for Spring...

We keep plants that flower all year so there is something for them even in the darkest winter months...

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2025. All Rights Reserved.