General Discussion >> General Board >> August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1438555775 Message started by imcrookonit on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 8:49am |
Title: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week Post by imcrookonit on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 8:49am
About Homelessness Prevention Week
The Salvation Army Homelessness Prevention Week (HPW) is an annual themed week coordinated by Homelessness Australia. It is used to raise awareness of people experiencing homelessness and the surrounding issues. It is held in the first full week of August each year. It aims to: Raise public awareness of homelessness and the factors that cause it; Celebrate the resilience of young people and convey the message that young people experiencing homelessness are homeless but not helpless; Provide information to the general public about how they can help end homelessness. Why does Youth Homelessness matter? Young people aged 12 to 25 make up a fifth of our population yet they are over represented in homelessness statistics. Nationally 42% of those experiencing homelessness are young people. What does this mean, there are 26,000 young homeless Australians aged 12 -25. Without appropriate support a young person who is experiencing homelessness is likely to experience a lifetime of disadvantage. :( Youth homelessness is not about young people that simply don't want to live at home. Two of the main causes are domestic violence (abuse) and relationship or family breakdown. No one chooses this for themselves. :( Accommodation services for young people can only help 50% of the young people that visit them. If a young person goes and stays with a friend this is just a temporary solution. |
Title: Re: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 8:57am
12 to 25?
Look, I can fully understand and appreciate the need to help and support homeless youth. However my empathy stops when youths turn 18. They are adults at law after that age. Priority needs to be directed to those aged under 18 because they are the most vulnerable. My God, at age 25, I was married with 2 kids on board and I was working my butt off full time. |
Title: Re: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week Post by Lisa Jones on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 9:06am Quote:
Of course it is. And during this temporary time, such people will have the opportunity to attend a local Centrelink Office where they will be given social worker and case management support. These advocates will also organise one off remedial as well as long term income support and other referral options. Make no mistake, Australia is a very lucky country. |
Title: Re: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week Post by cods on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 9:19am
I am sure crook is having open house at his place....he is so generous or is he the one that is always whining and expecting the govt to do everything....???>..
whats your address crook.. I am sure the young homeless will be thrilled to know you are doing more than talking about it. ::) |
Title: Re: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week Post by imcrookonit on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 9:32am
I was wondering what your champions the liberal government, are doing about it. :(
Title: Re: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week Post by Sprintcyclist on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 9:35am
casterate stupid poor people.
Title: Re: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week Post by Unforgiven on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 10:27am Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 9:35am:
Castrate the uneducated who can't spell. On your bike bonehead. |
Title: Re: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week Post by bogarde73 on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 10:29am
Correction: it will be Homelessness Prevention TalkFest Week.
Title: Re: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week Post by Stratos on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 10:30am Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 9:35am:
Eugenics is the answer - something someone actually said in the year 2015 |
Title: Re: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week Post by Sprintcyclist on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 12:54pm Stratos wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 10:30am:
Title: Re: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week Post by Sprintcyclist on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 12:58pm “Two imbecile parents, whether related or not, have only imbecile offspring.” ― Charles Benedict Davenport |
Title: Re: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week Post by Sprintcyclist on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:02pm "In order to stabilize world population, we must eliminate 350,000 people per day. It is a horrible thing to say, but it is just as bad not to say it." - Jacques Cousteau, 1991 UNESCO courier |
Title: Re: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week Post by Sprintcyclist on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:03pm
"I wish very much that the wrong people could be prevented entirely from breeding; and when the evil nature of these people is sufficiently flagrant, this should be done. Criminals should be sterilized and feebleminded persons forbidden to leave offspring behind them... The emphasis should be laid on getting desirable people to breed..."
Roosevelt, “Twisted Eugenics,” in The Works of Theodore Roosevelt, op. cit., National Edition, XII, p. 201. |
Title: Re: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week Post by Sprintcyclist on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:07pm
"Eugenic sterilization is an urgent need ... We must prevent multiplication of this bad stock."
- Margaret Sanger, April 1933 Birth Control Review. |
Title: Re: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week Post by Unforgiven on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:16pm Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:07pm:
How did your parents evade that? |
Title: Re: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week Post by The Grappler on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 11:06pm Unforgiven wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 10:27am:
'casterate' is a legitimate word in this context - just put 'em on wheels and roll 'em outta town. |