General Discussion >> General Board >> Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1439500500 Message started by imcrookonit on Aug 14th, 2015 at 7:15am |
Title: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by imcrookonit on Aug 14th, 2015 at 7:15am
Coles, Woolworths, IGA to lose market share to Aldi, David Jones, says Moody's
Date August 13, 2015 Coles, Woolworths and Metcash's IGA chain are facing increased competition at both ends of the socio-economic spectrum as discounter Aldi ramps up its Australian presence and department store chain David Jones upgrades its gourmet food offer. :) Ratings agency Moody's says Woolworths, Coles and IGA supermarkets will continue to lose market share over the next 24 months as Aldi expands into new markets and as David Jones skims off wealthier customers by refurbishing its gourmet food halls. David Jones targets higher income consumers who are likely to be less price sensitive, spend more in absolute terms. Moody's report "These factors will shake up the strong duopoly structure of Australia's grocery market," Moody's said in a report on Thursday. "As such, we expect the market share and profit margins of the two incumbents, but Woolworths in particular, to remain under pressure over the next 24 months." Moody's expects same-store sales growth at both Coles and Woolworths to come under pressure as Aldi opens 60 new stores over the next 12 months, increasing its store footprint by 16 per cent. :) Margins squeezed Woolworths' same-store food and liquor sales, which fell in the June quarter for the first time in 12 years, are expected to remain in negative territory over the next two quarters – falling more than 1 percentage point by mid-2016. At the same time, Woolworths' food and liquor margins are expected to fall from 8 per cent in 2014 to around 6.5 per cent by the end of fiscal 2016 as it cut prices on national brands and private label groceries to better compete with Coles and Aldi, Moody's said. :) "Based on the assumption that private-label comprises around 15 per cent of sales at Woolworths, we estimate that a 5 per cent decrease in private label pricing would result in an EBIT (earnings before interest and tax) decline of around $270 million, or 7 per cent on a reported basis," the ratings agency said. Moody's estimate is in line with recent forecasts by brokers such as JP Morgan and Morgan Stanley. Aldi expansion to hurt Moody's expects Coles' same-store sales growth to weaken marginally – falling from around 3.7 per cent in the June quarter 2014 to around 3.4 per cent in 2016 –but remain in positive territory. This should enable Coles to maintain or improve margins slightly to around 5.4 per cent by year-end. Moody's expects the bulk of Aldi's market share gains in South Australia and Western Australia – where the discounter plans to open more than 40 stores over the next 12 months – to come mainly at the expense of IGA supermarkets and other independent retailers. "However, we still expect Woolworths and Coles to lose some market share, with the companies unlikely to benefit from opportunities resulting from IGA's weakness," Moody's said. "Furthermore, we expect Aldi's expansion to boost price competition and reduce comparable-store sales and margins at a time when Woolworths and Coles reported average price deflation of around 1.7 per cent for the January to March quarter," it said. David Jones' gourmet offering Last month, David Jones' new owner, South African food and apparel retailer Woolworths Holdings, confirmed Fairfax Media reports that it planned to revamp its food halls and eventually open stand-alone upmarket food stores . "While we expect that the scale of David Jones food retail, even over the longer term, will be very small in comparison with Woolworths and Coles, it will still lead to further market share losses for the Big Two," Moody's said. "More importantly, it will mean that they will face increased competition at both ends of the socio-economic spectrum." "David Jones targets higher income consumers who are likely to be less price sensitive, spend more in absolute terms, and be more profitable than the customers the discounters are targeting," Moody's said. Read more: http://www.canberratimes.com.au/business/retail/coles-woolworths-iga-to-lose-market-share-to-aldi-david-jones-says-moodys-20150813-giy6x0.html#ixzz3ijPcqRwh |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by imcrookonit on Aug 14th, 2015 at 7:16am
Please open more Aldi supermarkets. [smiley=thumbsup.gif]
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Very_Vinnie on Aug 14th, 2015 at 8:22am Very_Vinnie wrote on Aug 6th, 2015 at 9:54pm:
The Friends of Theo Albrecht Jr lobby group suffered a bit of a strategy blow in recent weeks - with Australia's Woolworths chain of 872 outlets #employing 111,000 Australian workers# cutting the price of its home-branded lines to match - and in many examples, under-cut - prices on Albrecht's home-brand equivalents This is a good move, in the interests of Australian "mums and dads" and large Australian superannuation funds' - as the bulk of Woolworth's shareholders From EVERY angle, this is a POSITIVE for EVERY Australian |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by aquascoot on Aug 14th, 2015 at 8:56am
crook, aldi work on the ruthlessly efficient employment of minimal staff and the fact all staff must be multi tasked and perform all functions.
dont get me wrong, i like aldi and think it is a good bsuiness model, but i would bet that the retail workers union would be horrified to see you singing aldi's praises as there will be a lot more unemployed retail workers if aldi continue to take market share |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by cods on Aug 14th, 2015 at 9:28am aquascoot wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 8:56am:
its never fails to amaze me that an australian champions foreigners killing Australian business....but crook does it all the time..he cheered when the book companies went under.... then he has the hide to whinge about penalty rates....what a hypocrite.sad very sad indeed. I am not even sure if Aldi allow the union.. to be honest I know they pay above award rates...so there must be some catch to it..but like you say.. you never see a staff member stopping even for a second...and its a luxury to have two check outs working. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Swagman on Aug 14th, 2015 at 10:23am Quote:
Well Crook. By that 'smiley' :) I assume that you are all for extra competition in the grocery market? :-? Why then are you so crook on more competition in the Labour market? :-? Isn't that a mite hypocritical? :-/ |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by bogarde73 on Aug 14th, 2015 at 10:29am aquascoot wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 8:56am:
That's certainly true. But what price does the economy pay in terms of the dividends of market competition by the continued dominance of Wesfarmers & Woolworths across a whole range of retail sectors? Of course they are not the only companies wielding too high a level of monopolistic competition but they are the standouts. A shakeout is coming and the result will be better for the consumer & the economy. This I believe. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Unforgiven on Aug 14th, 2015 at 10:39am
Aldi is probably just a smart player in the market. Eliminating less profitable goods and loss leaders to 'cherry pick' the highest selling most profitable lines of goods and those with lower volumes and weights.
This process just mimics a large convenience store with lower prices. Aldi customers have to go elsewhere to buy needed goods that Aldi does not stock to complete their shopping. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by cods on Aug 14th, 2015 at 11:37am Unforgiven wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 10:39am:
our local Aldi is now almost like a mini Bunnings.. food is right up in the far corners..... the middle of the shop is full of mostly junk items....last week even washing machines and fridges its chaotic.. I bought bananas and I think they were fridge burnt... lets put it this way after a week they were still not ripe...threw them away...I do agree a lot of their food prices are cheaper.. but to me cheaper isnt always the best... and the shopping experience isnt pleasant.. not for me anyway. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by imcrookonit on Aug 14th, 2015 at 1:25pm
I wonder if its the fact, that Aldi are always cheaper than the other supermarkets. Is it not good to see, that finally the main players, now have some serious competition. I don't know about some people, but I think that some of main players, have had it too good for too long. :(
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Sir lastnail on Aug 14th, 2015 at 1:31pm cods wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 9:28am:
So which supermarket is bringing in self serve check outs ? It's certainly not Aldis who employ locals to man their own checkouts ;) |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Sir lastnail on Aug 14th, 2015 at 1:32pm wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 1:25pm:
The libbos love monopolies in business and hate real competition that's why they hate renewable energy. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by bogarde73 on Aug 14th, 2015 at 1:37pm
That's absolute rubbish rusty.
The most outspoken people in opposition to the duopoly have come from conservative ranks. By contrast, it was only last week that the economic genius, Bowen, blasted the idea of improving the competition law by inserting the "effects test". |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Swagman on Aug 14th, 2015 at 3:39pm Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 1:32pm:
...renewable energy isn't competing very well otherwise RETs wouldn't be needed :-/ |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by red baron on Aug 14th, 2015 at 3:40pm
Eat your collective hearts out Coles, Woolies and IGA, Aldi is pulling your pants down you robber barons.
You deserve every single thing you get. You have been reaming the Australians for decades, finally a hero comes to destroy the monopoly you have had to yourselves for far too long. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Unforgiven on Aug 14th, 2015 at 3:47pm red baron wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 3:40pm:
Red Baron's credo = Rejoice when a Kraut sticks the boots into Aussies. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by red baron on Aug 14th, 2015 at 4:09pm
Fact Aldi source 80% of their goods from Australia.
Fact Coles and Woolies won't release how much they import, basically because its most of it. They love suckers like you Unforgiven. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by davo on Aug 14th, 2015 at 4:23pm
I was shopping in my local Woolworths today, my favourite brand of biscuits which I had purchased a week before had risen %100.The big 2 are ripping consumers off and people are voting with their wallets.
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Unforgiven on Aug 14th, 2015 at 4:26pm red baron wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 4:09pm:
You are a total dupe Mr. Baron. 'Source' is a vague term which means that they may get it from an Australian distributor who may import in bulk and may or may not package in Australia. It does not necessarily mean grown or manufactured in Australia unless it say so on the label. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 14th, 2015 at 4:42pm Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 1:32pm:
Why would any 'intelligent' group like 'renewable energy'...since it (renewable energy) is the least efficient, and the most expensive choice)?? |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 14th, 2015 at 4:45pm Unforgiven wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 4:26pm:
LOL, so you think 'red baron' is a "dupe", even though he has actually agreed with you???...can you spell 'imbecile"?? |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Unforgiven on Aug 14th, 2015 at 4:54pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 4:45pm:
Imbecile = Gizmo = zero comprehension skills = total failure |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by cods on Aug 14th, 2015 at 4:57pm Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 1:31pm:
they will it all started overseas..... they will only use self serve if stupid customers queue up to use them.. I refuse to use them...they are not cheaper so why should I put more money into the CEOs pocket.. not interested I will always us e a checkout.. if they dont have a service counter then I will go where they do... if you use the DIY then you are your own worst enemy.. its like the packing you want to do it yourself good luck to you...my experience over the years has been once they win they end up charging the same anyway...what annoys me with Aldi is they copy the brands an awful lot of people would be fooled by that its wrong and if your products are so wonderful.. why the need to make them look like the brands..check out the coffee its just about all identical..accept for the name..I disagree with that... |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by John Smith on Aug 14th, 2015 at 5:42pm bogarde73 wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 1:37pm:
yes, but the conservatives are notorious at hypocrisy ... they love to talk the talk, but when push comes to shove, they're busy shoving their heads up their arse Coles and Woolies swallowed up most of their competition while Howard was at the helm .. they sat back and let it happen. Now the libs want to pretend they care :D :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by cods on Aug 14th, 2015 at 5:49pm John Smith wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 5:42pm:
they were at least aussies eating up aussies.. now its foreigners ..doing it.. Jewels [aussie]was taken over by Davids who owned IGA..[aussie] who in turn was taken over by metcash. [ Sth African.].. now we have Aldi [German]and COSCO.[American].. all dipping into the pot... and dont forget it isnt just groceries with the foreigners... wont be long and they will be selling cars.....and or houses. maybe a dentist out the back. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Neferti on Aug 14th, 2015 at 5:52pm wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 7:16am:
Why? Do you do the meal planning for the week AND the shopping? I can never find any of my favourite items in Aldis. Maybe it saves money if you have a 4-5 person family but I only shop for me so Woollies is my choice. ;) |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by gizmo_2655 on Aug 14th, 2015 at 5:56pm Unforgiven wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 4:54pm:
Yep..you are a fool, |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by John Smith on Aug 14th, 2015 at 5:57pm cods wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 5:49pm:
aussies my arse ... you have any idea how many of both coles and woolies shares are owned by foreigners? try reading this if you want more information https://independentaustralia.net/business/business-display/who-owns-corporate-australia,5033 At least Aldi has an 80% commitment to source locally ... coles and woolies would try to import EVERYTHING if they could get away with it |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Unforgiven on Aug 14th, 2015 at 7:13pm John Smith wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 5:57pm:
They are giving the customer what it wants. Cheaper goods than those made in Australia. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Very_Vinnie on Aug 14th, 2015 at 7:57pm red baron wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 4:09pm:
The NETT number of lines declared "goods from Australia" - stocked by Coles or Woolworths - FAR exceeds the NETT number of lines declared "goods from Australia" stocked by the Albrecht (Aldi) group This is due to a very limited range offered by Albrecht's (Aldi) - compared to the extensive "product of Australia" range selection available from Coles and Woolworths - plus a good selection of imported specialty product I'll challenge ANYONE to choose a food type, at random - and NOT able to find a "product of Australia" version in either of the Australian owned chains Don't try this at Albrecht's/Aldi ((particularly in confectionary) Both the big Australian owned chains employ around 120 Australian workers to every retail outlet How do Albrecht's (Aldi) stack up against that ratio ? |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by bogarde73 on Aug 15th, 2015 at 8:00am
You eat a lot of chocolate do you Vinnie?
I wonder you dont see how much better German stuff is than the junk from Cadbury say. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by red baron on Aug 15th, 2015 at 8:38am
Very Vinnie - Product of Australia is a misleading label. Often goods are produced here then they go overseas where they smashed and bashed then return in a can back to here, after most of the goodness in the original product is a memory.
Your stats are misleading. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by bogarde73 on Aug 15th, 2015 at 10:49am
These defenders of the duopoly have never done a price comparison.
All too hard. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by cods on Aug 15th, 2015 at 10:56am John Smith wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 5:57pm:
do you think your bank or superfund doesnt have any foreign share holders....... ::) ::) you go by what ALDI tells you of course.. or have you studied their shelves.. >:( |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by cods on Aug 15th, 2015 at 10:58am bogarde73 wrote on Aug 15th, 2015 at 8:00am:
\\ oh thats sad....I didnt know Germany was good at choc.. Belgium maybe.. ::) ::)... really sad to see so many knocking aussies ... and then they get all hairey when foreigners want to buy our farms..; funny that :(.. at least it would be local grown by foreigners... and you would all be happy then. >:( |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by John Smith on Aug 15th, 2015 at 11:00am cods wrote on Aug 15th, 2015 at 10:56am:
I don't care where my bank has shares .... I'm not crying that they are Aussie cods wrote on Aug 15th, 2015 at 10:56am:
I often shop at Aldi , there is nothing to study. Aldi's not 'telling' anyone anything ... you're the one doing all the talking |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by cods on Aug 15th, 2015 at 11:13am John Smith wrote on Aug 15th, 2015 at 11:00am:
you just said they source 80% goods from australia.. so who said that??.... not Aldi apparently?. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Unforgiven on Aug 15th, 2015 at 12:41pm
Correct Cods. Aldi doesn't make the claim that 80% of goods are 'made' in Australia.
The usual easy things: meat, milk eggs, fruit, vegetables, donuts. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Very_Vinnie on Aug 15th, 2015 at 1:44pm red baron wrote on Aug 15th, 2015 at 8:38am:
That's QUITE a declaration - given "80% of lines are 'goods from Australia'" is the same spin you use in promoting Albrecht's (Aldi) PS - I had ALREADY pointed out the very misleading "Product of Australia" percentages - from ANY supermarket chains operating within Australia (Australian owned - OR 100% foreign owned) |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Unforgiven on Aug 15th, 2015 at 1:51pm Very_Vinnie wrote on Aug 15th, 2015 at 1:44pm:
Red Baron believes the most recent advertising claim on TV. Red Baron can be bribed or lured with a box of donuts. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by bogarde73 on Aug 15th, 2015 at 1:55pm
It never ceases to amaze me that the consumer is so dumb that he will go into one of the majors and pay twice the price for groceries when he can have the same thing, with a different label, at Aldi.
It's incomprehensible. It's mind-blowing. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by red baron on Aug 15th, 2015 at 2:31pm
Like I said Unforgiven my profile of you is that you are a Fatty. Going to deny this are we as we dip our chubby little digits into the chocolate biscuit box? ;)
PS I hope you enjoy your $300 odd dollars price tag as you work your way through the Coles checkout line. My was half that heh! heh! heh! |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Unforgiven on Aug 15th, 2015 at 3:06pm red baron wrote on Aug 15th, 2015 at 2:31pm:
As with everything else Red Baron is wrong again. My body mass index is 21.6, right on the midpoint and ideal. Weight 66 kg. Over the years I have acted 3 times to get my body weight under control and usually achieve it in 6 months max to get down from 90 kg to 66 kg. The last time was after returning USA from a 3.5 year stay where my weight peaked at around 89 kg. My weight steady at around 66 kg since 2012. I rarely pig out on chocolate biscuits. I don't spend as much as Red Baron on weekly groceries because that would imply a case of gluttony. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Very_Vinnie on Aug 15th, 2015 at 8:56pm bogarde73 wrote on Aug 15th, 2015 at 1:55pm:
Very_Vinnie wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 8:22am:
Regrettably there STILL remains a sector of the population - calling themselves "Australian" - campaigning for the obliteration of two great Australian icons - and replacing them with a foreign owned "duopoly" of Albrecht's and Walmart |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by red baron on Aug 16th, 2015 at 7:59am
Ahhh Unforgiven that $300 represents my FORTNIGHTLY grocery bill.
So you are a yo yo dieter. Unfortunately in the long run, that will end in tears before bedtime. Every yo yo dieter I have ever met ended up a fat sack in the long haul. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Very_Vinnie on Aug 16th, 2015 at 8:00am bogarde73 wrote on Aug 15th, 2015 at 8:00am:
Very_Vinnie_LITTLE Just the occasional square of Lindt 85% - purchased from Coles - and Raw Food Factory 100% Organic Peruvian Cacao, used for cooking and beverages - purchased from the local deli The retail profit from BOTH stays in Australia |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by bogarde73 on Aug 16th, 2015 at 8:11am
Have you done that research I set for you yet?
The bit where you start from Wesfarmers' Annual Report & its top 20 shareholders, then trace through till you come upwith an approximation of its foreign ownership? Truth is good for the soul. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by athos on Aug 16th, 2015 at 8:17am
LONG LIVE ALDI
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Very_Vinnie on Aug 16th, 2015 at 8:52am athos wrote on Aug 16th, 2015 at 8:17am: |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Very_Vinnie on Aug 16th, 2015 at 10:55am bogarde73 wrote on Aug 16th, 2015 at 8:11am:
Do your OWN "research" As you claim to already HAVE the percentage of foreign investment in Coles and Woolworths (retail) as opposed to foreign investment in Westfarrmers, as Woolworths major shareholder - POST THE DETAILS, with verification, of course Then do the SAME, with Aldi |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by red baron on Aug 16th, 2015 at 3:34pm
Who cares how much Albrecht is worth? If you go into Aldi you will get serious bang for your buck.
Unlike Coles and Woolies where your cart is half empty but the bill is through the ceiling. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by Unforgiven on Aug 16th, 2015 at 4:12pm red baron wrote on Aug 16th, 2015 at 3:34pm:
Red, I presume you are going to gobble up that full cartload in a week or less. That is absolute gluttony. Aldi store's lard inventory doubles when Red Baron waddles in. |
Title: Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share Post by red baron on Aug 16th, 2015 at 5:33pm
This a pissing contest is it Unforgiven?
When you can get near my daily workout, 200 pushups and 300 situps included with a martial arts routine come and see me. Your nickname soft serve per chance? :) |