General Discussion >> Chat >> Deaf people
http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1443146439

Message started by Sprintcyclist on Sep 25th, 2015 at 12:00pm

Title: Deaf people
Post by Sprintcyclist on Sep 25th, 2015 at 12:00pm

When deaf people are making love, do they sign language to each other ?

Title: Re: Deaf people
Post by Muttley on Sep 25th, 2015 at 12:24pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Sep 25th, 2015 at 12:00pm:

My wife is hearing impaired....so f##k off halfwit!

Post by Sprintcyclist on Sep 25th, 2015 at 12:32pm

Is that a 'yes', a 'no', or a 'I don't know' ?

Post by Muttley on Sep 25th, 2015 at 12:36pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Sep 25th, 2015 at 12:32pm:
Is that a 'yes', a 'no', or a 'I don't know' ?

You're an ignorant pig!

Post by Sprintcyclist on Sep 25th, 2015 at 12:58pm

Well, I feel quite hurt.

Post by The Mechanic on Sep 27th, 2015 at 7:27am
lol

Post by bogarde73 on Sep 27th, 2015 at 11:08am
Please look away if you are offended.

The trouble with deaf people is you can't identify them.
And even if you could, you wouldn't know if shouting was worth while.
I think I might end up deaf actually and I think it might be due to having spent a fair amount of time in front of powerful amplifiers.

Post by cods on Sep 27th, 2015 at 11:17am

bogarde73 wrote on Sep 27th, 2015 at 11:08am:

I think I might end up deaf actually and I think it might be due to having spent a fair amount of time in front of powerful amplifiers.

REALLY...identify???? what the?... it isnt catching you know...

what about warts  now they are catching.. do you think people should be identified having warts????..losing ones hearing like one sight isnt something a person goes looking for,...poo as they say happens...if it happens to you you can maybe come up with something that will identify you  to others..... maybe a hat saying please shout I am deaf.. >:( >:(

Post by bogarde73 on Sep 27th, 2015 at 11:19am
But there are reasons why it may be useful to know.
If you started talking to someone who was deaf? If a deaf person was about to step out into the road it would be handy to know to take extra care?

Post by Muttley on Sep 27th, 2015 at 12:04pm
U

Equally, the same could be said of pig ignorant idiots!

Post by Sprintcyclist on Sep 27th, 2015 at 12:15pm

bogarde73 wrote on Sep 27th, 2015 at 11:19am:
If you started talking to someone who was deaf? If a deaf person was about to step out into the road it would be handy to know to take extra care?

many years ago I was at a pub. There was a table of deaf people there, they were signing.
They were also tapping along in time to the music, I guessed they coul feel the vibrations.

Post by Dame Pansi on Sep 27th, 2015 at 3:37pm

If a deaf person was about to step out into the road it would be handy to know to take extra care?

Deaf people can see.

That would be blind people you'd like to warn.

Post by cods on Sep 27th, 2015 at 4:08pm

bogy deaf doesnt mean STOOPID...they will let you know...for goodness sake...what do you suggest a

HAT THAT says DONT TALK TO ME I AM DEAF..
AND BTW I CANT SEE TRAFFIC COMING....

what do you suggest they wear that tells the insensitive

they think your too stoopid to look both ways.. before stepping out... would you mind wearing this >:( >:( >:(

Post by cods on Sep 27th, 2015 at 4:16pm

Muttley wrote on Sep 27th, 2015 at 12:04pm:
U

Equally, the same could be said of pig ignorant idiots!

well said muttley....well said

its a pity we cant put labels on them isnt it..

and the RUDE people who stare at others because they happen to be different...

I worked with a women who was very loud and rather intimidating...she happened to speak to someone on the phone one day who stuttered rather badly.. she passed him over to me and before I could clamp my hand over the mouthpiece she yells out fancy letting someone like that use the phone..............

it took me all my time to speak to her after that she couldnt see anything wrong with what she said...that person had no right to be on the phone doing business...she was actually a lot worse than I am saying here....some people have  very small  brains and no empathy.

Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 27th, 2015 at 4:45pm
Deafness is worse than blindness—it isolates you more.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Sep 27th, 2015 at 4:51pm

cods wrote on Sep 27th, 2015 at 4:08pm:

bogy deaf doesnt mean STOOPID...they will let you know...for goodness sake...what do you suggest a

HAT THAT says DONT TALK TO ME I AM DEAF..
AND BTW I CANT SEE TRAFFIC COMING....

what do you suggest they wear that tells the insensitive

they think your too stoopid to look both ways.. before stepping out... would you mind wearing this >:( >:( >:(

yes, a printed hat's a good idea.

Or maybe one of those high flags that they have on 4WDs when they are going over dunes ?

Post by Dame Pansi on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:11pm

Do you sit at the shopping centre and laugh at the intellectually disabled people, sprint?

Post by mothra on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:26pm

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:11pm:
Do you sit at the shopping centre and laugh at the intellectually disabled people, sprint?

Only after he's identified the poor people for castration.

Post by Phemanderac on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:33pm
Ol' Sprinty just likes presenting evidence repeatedly that the Roman actually had it right with Christians and Lions...

Post by mothra on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:37pm

Phemanderac wrote on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:33pm:
Ol' Sprinty just likes presenting evidence repeatedly that the Roman actually had it right with Christians and Lions...

Maybe after we've castrated all of the poor people, we could make them fight to the death in the arena?

Post by cods on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:40pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 27th, 2015 at 4:45pm:

only having one leg also doesnt help your tapdancing either .. >:( >:(..

what is it about being disabled that makes people think they are looking for sympathy.. >:(no dear they are looking for understanding...

in fact you will probably find disabled people amongst the most understanding people in the world..

they dont want charity or sympathy or comparisons...

as you get older certain things do stop working like they once did... you special people have a lot to look forward too....loss of hearing is on the increase...bewarned

Post by Phemanderac on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:41pm

mothra wrote on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:37pm:

Maybe after we've castrated all of the poor people, we could make them fight to the death in the arena?

I am not a supporter of picking on the poor though. That said, I am far more at ease making people like sprint a little cross...  :D

Post by mothra on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:47pm

cods wrote on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:40pm:

only having one leg also doesnt help your tapdancing either .. >:( >:(..

what is it about being disabled that makes people think they are looking for sympathy.. >:(no dear they are looking for understanding...

in fact you will probably find disabled people amongst the most understanding people in the world..

they dont want charity or sympathy or comparisons...

as you get older certain things do stop working like they once did... you special people have a lot to look forward too....loss of hearing is on the increase...bewarned

Andrew Denton once did a show called "The Year Of the Patronising Bastard" that addressed much of that Cods. It was a brilliant piece of television.

It argued very much that as a society we are generally so uncomfortable around the disabled that we can only relate to them through condescending to them .. then we get uppity that we are being 'made' to feel guilty. Something i have found to be very true.

Post by Rider on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:54pm

You'd have to have at least two university degrees to be this thick.

Post by Sprintcyclist on Sep 27th, 2015 at 6:24pm

Phemanderac wrote on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:41pm:

mothra wrote on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:37pm:

I am not a supporter of picking on the poor though. That said, I am far more at ease making people like sprint a little cross...  :D

they'ld probably fight better if they weren't castrated.
you know how dogs go to fat after they've had the nick.

Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 27th, 2015 at 8:12pm

Rider wrote on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:54pm:

You reckon not being able to hear people doesn’t isolate you?

Post by Rider on Sep 27th, 2015 at 9:54pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 27th, 2015 at 8:12pm:

Rider wrote on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:54pm:

You reckon not being able to hear people doesn’t isolate you?

You reckon being blind is a ticket to social inclusion?

FMD...really...you wanna argue this?

Post by Jovial Monk on Sep 27th, 2015 at 10:03pm
If you are blind you can still talk to people, if you are deaf you can’t.

I suggest you “talk” to some deaf people. Yes, being blind is terrible but being cut off from conversation is worse in terms of isolation.

Post by Aussie on Sep 27th, 2015 at 10:16pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Sep 27th, 2015 at 10:03pm:
If you are blind you can still talk to people, if you are deaf you can’t.

I suggest you “talk” to some deaf people. Yes, being blind is terrible but being cut off from conversation is worse in terms of isolation.

My son ('Donnie Darko' for those who know) is 'deaf.'  Has not stopped him getting a Masters Degree and a very well paid job in Queensland Health.  I cannot communicate with him over the phone (except via text...and he is very annoying at that) and, in person, he reads what I say and maybe hears a very little, but he relies mainly on lip reading.  It is frustrating for him in general conversation with people who are unaware of his issue, but he manages perfectly.

Post by mitasol on Sep 28th, 2015 at 4:15pm
I was on an American cruise last year that had a deaf, or hearing impaired if you prefer, convention on board. There were a bunch of sign language tour guides who travelled with the group on each outing and for the evening shows. Was quite funny at some of the late night comedy shows where we were all watching the person signing to see how some of the jokes would work, especially the more risque ones :) Even the comedian had a good laugh at a few of them.

Some of the funnier moments were when you'd come across a couple having an argument in one of the corridors, you learnt to duck pretty quickly :)

Post by Agnes on Sep 28th, 2015 at 5:22pm
Would rather be deaf than blind- I would hate to lose my sight- I can sign and still communicate.

Post by Neferti on Sep 28th, 2015 at 5:53pm

Agnes wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 5:22pm:
Would rather be deaf than blind- I would hate to lose my sight- I can sign and still communicate.

Be careful what you wish for.  ;)

Post by Dame Pansi on Sep 28th, 2015 at 5:53pm

I'd rather be deaf too, you can still drive and enjoy beautiful sunsets and see the world around you.

I tried to stay blind for a day, I went well, managed to make coffee and get lunch then ventured out to the letterbox and I freaked, eyes wide open.  I'd hate it.

I'd hate not having music if I was deaf, unless I was deaf from birth then what you don't doesn't hurt you......maybe.

Post by Dame Pansi on Sep 28th, 2015 at 5:54pm

Neferti wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 5:53pm:

Be careful what you wish for.  ;)

Did she say she can't wait to go deaf? Duh!

Post by double plus good on Sep 28th, 2015 at 5:56pm
Did you hear about the deaf bogan?

He got a cheese grater for Christmas and it was the worst book he ever read.

Post by double plus good on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:03pm

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Sep 27th, 2015 at 5:11pm:
So you can make fun of Bogans but can't make a joke about deaf people hey? I'm confused.

Post by Phemanderac on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:06pm

double plus good wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 5:56pm:

Epic FAIL!

A nod's as good as a wink to a blind bat.

Post by double plus good on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:07pm

Phemanderac wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:06pm:

Epic FAIL!

I thought you'd love me making fun of a bogan????

Post by Phemanderac on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:08pm

double plus good wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:07pm:

Epic FAIL!

Why would I love that do you think?

Post by double plus good on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:11pm

Phemanderac wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:08pm:

Epic FAIL!

It seems some people on here are allowed to discriminate against some groups of people but not others for some reason. Discrimination is discrimination in my books.

Post by ashlee on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:12pm

You're bad Muriel. ;D

Post by double plus good on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:16pm

ashlee wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:12pm:

You're bad Muriel. ;D
What's sign language for OH OHHHH  YESSSSSSSSS!!! I"M COMMMMMMINNNGGG!!! :o :o :o :o :o :o Fingers and fists would be flying everywhere.

Post by Phemanderac on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:20pm

double plus good wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:11pm:

Epic FAIL!

It seems some people on here are allowed to discriminate against some groups of people but not others for some reason. Discrimination is discrimination in my books.

Funnily enough, I asked you quite directly, why would I love that?

This is the answer I get is it? Some people? Yeah? Best you have is SOME PEOPLE....

Clearly, you do not discriminate with who you discriminate against in my books.

I have given no indication or support for any form of discrimination (although, that said, we have to discriminate to some level or we risk never making a choice... but that's just semantics), particularly against people - yet you intimate that I would somehow love your failed attempt at humour, discriminating against not only a deaf person but a "bogan" (what is a bogan do tell?) as well...

You justify that then by saying "some people"...

Not a very responsible or mature comment to make, particularly from one so demonstrably judgmental of what you perceive as others shortcomings.

I don't see you being penalised in any way, shape or form for your demonstrated discrimination against others. Yet you claim some can and some can't, so you must be from the camp of those who can, obviously.

So, once again, what would make you think that I specifically would "love" you making fun of a bogan (or anyone else for that matter...)?

You don't have to answer of course. I can only respectfully suggest though that a responsible adult would, at the very least, consider what I have said and own their own comment... What you do with that then is up to you obviously.

Post by double plus good on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:24pm

Phemanderac wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:20pm:

double plus good wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:11pm:

Epic FAIL!

Funnily enough, I asked you quite directly, why would I love that?

This is the answer I get is it? Some people? Yeah? Best you have is SOME PEOPLE....

Clearly, you do not discriminate with who you discriminate against in my books.

I have given no indication or support for any form of discrimination (although, that said, we have to discriminate to some level or we risk never making a choice... but that's just semantics), particularly against people - yet you intimate that I would somehow love your failed attempt at humour, discriminating against not only a deaf person but a "bogan" (what is a bogan do tell?) as well...

You justify that then by saying "some people"...

Not a very responsible or mature comment to make, particularly from one so demonstrably judgmental of what you perceive as others shortcomings.

I don't see you being penalised in any way, shape or form for your demonstrated discrimination against others. Yet you claim some can and some can't, so you must be from the camp of those who can, obviously.

So, once again, what would make you think that I specifically would "love" you making fun of a bogan (or anyone else for that matter...)?

You don't have to answer of course. I can only respectfully suggest though that a responsible adult would, at the very least, consider what I have said and own their own comment... What you do with that then is up to you obviously.
I wasn't saying you. I was saying some people. I do discriminate but I've never taken a moral high ground that many of the hypocrites on here do. I'm just trying to work out why bogans are fair game and deaf people aren't. You are proving my point by your little tantrum though.

Post by Phemanderac on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:32pm

Epic FAIL!

You never said me?

Try again.

Post by double plus good on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:34pm

Phemanderac wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:32pm:

Epic FAIL!

You never said me?

Try again.
Why didn't you like my joke then? Do you like bogans?

Post by Phemanderac on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:35pm

double plus good wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:24pm:
You are proving my point by your little tantrum though.

Really how so?

By "tantrum" you mean hold you to account for indicating that you "thought" I would like you little attempt at humour?

I wasn't saying you.

You very clearly were...

Like I said, a responsible mature person at this point might acknowledge their error, or at the very least, skulk away quietly rather than compound their error with a blatant lie...

What point was it you think I am proving for you?

Post by Phemanderac on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:36pm

double plus good wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:34pm:
Why didn't you like my joke then?

It was a crap joke...

Post by double plus good on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:38pm

Phemanderac wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:35pm:

You are proving my point by your little tantrum though.

Really how so?

By "tantrum" you mean hold you to account for indicating that you "thought" I would like you little attempt at humour?

I wasn't saying you.

You very clearly were...

Like I said, a responsible mature person at this point might acknowledge their error, or at the very least, skulk away quietly rather than compound their error with a blatant lie...

What point was it you think I am proving for you?
I wasn't referring to you numpty when I said "some people'. I was referring to Dame Pansi. Get over yourself. I was asking why you didn't like the joke. 

Post by double plus good on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:39pm

Phemanderac wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:36pm:

double plus good wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:34pm:
Why didn't you like my joke then?

It was a crap joke...
I couldn't care less if you like or not. I was just wondering.

Post by double plus good on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:44pm
You are obviously neurotic though. What an over reaction!!! I hope you don't own a firearm.

Post by Phemanderac on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:47pm

double plus good wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:38pm:
I wasn't referring to you when I said "some people'.

I know that. You only changed it to "some people" after I called you...

You very clearly, referred to me earlier though. Very clearly. that is exactly why you had to turn tail and change it to "some people" you hero.

I was referring to Dame Pansi

No you weren't, you were referring to "SOME PEOPLE" after having referred directly to me, here I will put YOUR comment back up for clarity sake....

That was in response to me, you even quoted me before responding...

Get over yourself.

Good advice for yourself to follow here...

Tell me, is lying your default position? Or have you simply made an error that you are incapable of owning up to, or, have you not yet realised your error? You have a few options there to pick from...

Post by double plus good on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:49pm

Phemanderac wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:47pm:

I wasn't referring to you when I said "some people'.

I know that. You only changed it to "some people" after I called you...

You very clearly, referred to me earlier though. Very clearly. that is exactly why you had to turn tail and change it to "some people" you hero.

I was referring to Dame Pansi

No you weren't, you were referring to "SOME PEOPLE" after having referred directly to me, here I will put YOUR comment back up for clarity sake....

That was in response to me, you even quoted me before responding...

Get over yourself.

Good advice for yourself to follow here...

Tell me, is lying your default position? Or have you simply made an error that you are incapable of owning up to, or, have you not yet realised your error? You have a few options there to pick from...
Why are you doing multiple posts over an off the cuff comment. Do you have a few mental issues??

Post by Phemanderac on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:49pm

double plus good wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:44pm:
You are obviously neurotic though. What an over reaction!!! I hope you don't own a firearm.

Mate, I don't appreciate it when someone behaves like an obnoxious prick and wants to cast their stupidity in my direction...

Apparently that's an over reaction to you.

Good thing for you then you are not behaving like an obnoxious prick in close proximity then eh!

Post by Phemanderac on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:50pm
OK, I get it, you have nothing to run with. No worries.

Post by double plus good on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:53pm

Phemanderac wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:49pm:

double plus good wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:44pm:

Mate, I don't appreciate it when someone behaves like an obnoxious prick and wants to cast their stupidity in my direction...

Apparently that's an over reaction to you.

Good thing for you then you are not behaving like an obnoxious prick in close proximity then eh!

Now you are threatening me. You need to calm down or get on a regime of anti psychotics. So you lose your head over a comment on a forum. You must get yourself into trouble alot.  :o :o :o :o :o :o

Post by The Grappler on Sep 28th, 2015 at 10:01pm
I'm deaf-ish - mortars, artillery and gunfire.... I have great conversations with an ex-copper lady who works where I work - we both turn our left ear to hear...

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EjAGUWxoY-Q

I should write a book about it.... it's fascinating the things you hear......

"God just spewed upper phone!"  (so... phone is.. the top end of some street... never heard of it... and there's a church there?  T' f^ck has that got to do with the fridge?)

= "Dog just chewed up a bone"...

"I'm going shopping - do you want some ice cream?" -

becomes -

"Time Boeing dropping - do you want a nice dream?"  **confused look)...

Post by The Grappler on Sep 28th, 2015 at 11:20pm
**shuts ears to the argument**

Post by mitasol on Sep 29th, 2015 at 5:56am

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 11:20pm:
**shuts ears to the argument**

Quite

Love the God and the phone one :)

Post by Phemanderac on Sep 29th, 2015 at 7:46am

double plus good wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:53pm:
Now you are threatening me.

Wow, I am awfully sorry if a few words on a screen made you feel scared of me.

Not sure where the threat is, just making an observation, if you thought a few other words on the screen were a "tantrum" then in close proximity you would go to water if confronted about what you say...

Really sorry you felt threatened by that.

Of course, you are still no closer to owning your crap though are you. All of this is a nice deflection from you making a statement directly at me and now you dance a jig to avoid owning it. It was for "some" people then it was for Pansi.... All the while it was directed at me.

So, what we have is you being a somewhat scared, weird little guy who demonstrates no ticker, integrity, honesty or wit.

I won't write scary words at you anymore though son, now I have you pegged.

Post by Lisa Jones on Sep 29th, 2015 at 9:05am
Well ... reading through this topic was a complete waste of time.

My last words in here....

Deaf people.

Disabled.

Poor buggers.

Wish I could give them all a hug.

Post by Phemanderac on Sep 29th, 2015 at 1:43pm
@%_&$

Post by The Grappler on Sep 29th, 2015 at 11:56pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Sep 29th, 2015 at 9:05am:

Deaf people.

Disabled.

Poor buggers.

Well!  Thank you!  I was just trying to be mirthful and enlightening, but behind the mirth is a very serious issue of how deaf people find it hard in some ways to function and can be isolated socially as a result.

If it helps, I also have next to no sense of smell, which is a lot like being blind.

Post by The Grappler on Sep 29th, 2015 at 11:57pm

Phemanderac wrote on Sep 29th, 2015 at 1:43pm:
@%_&$

Aardvaaaaark

Post by The Grappler on Sep 29th, 2015 at 11:59pm

Phemanderac wrote on Sep 29th, 2015 at 7:46am:

double plus good wrote on Sep 28th, 2015 at 6:53pm:
Now you are threatening me.

Wow, I am awfully sorry if a few words on a screen made you feel scared of me.

Not sure where the threat is, just making an observation, if you thought a few other words on the screen were a "tantrum" then in close proximity you would go to water if confronted about what you say...

Really sorry you felt threatened by that.

Of course, you are still no closer to owning your crap though are you. All of this is a nice deflection from you making a statement directly at me and now you dance a jig to avoid owning it. It was for "some" people then it was for Pansi.... All the while it was directed at me.

So, what we have is you being a somewhat scared, weird little guy who demonstrates no ticker, integrity, honesty or wit.

I won't write scary words at you anymore though son, now I have you pegged.

Post by The Grappler on Sep 30th, 2015 at 12:01am
Where's that page turner?

Post by The Heartless Felon on Sep 30th, 2015 at 5:41am

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Sep 29th, 2015 at 11:56pm:

Lisa Jones wrote on Sep 29th, 2015 at 9:05am:

Deaf people.

Disabled.

Poor buggers.

Well!  Thank you!  I was just trying to be mirthful and enlightening, but behind the mirth is a very serious issue of how deaf people find it hard in some ways to function and can be isolated socially as a result.

If it helps, I also have next to no sense of smell, which is a lot like being blind.

Somebody's gonna jump on that one.

But it reminds me of Andreii's famous post in another place. He reckoned his grandfather failed a driving test because he was tone deaf...

YaBB Forum Software © 2000-2024. All Rights Reserved.