Member Run Boards >> Sport >> 2015 NRL Grand Final. http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1443270187 Message started by Aussie on Sep 26th, 2015 at 10:23pm |
Title: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Aussie on Sep 26th, 2015 at 10:23pm
Broncos -v- Cowboys. Lovely stuff and ferk you NSW. This is a first and while I'd like Broncos to get up, really, I don't care. A Queensland Team will take it out. Cowboys have been jewed so many times in the Finals, and it's fantastic to see them there again and they are very, very competitive.
But......Broncos will win it. Their forward pack will at least match Cowboys heavy hitter in Scott. They are more mobile but Cowboys Hooker, Grenville is slick, and also green and that was visible tonight against Storm. The big three. Broncos = Boyd, Hunt and Milford. Add their Hooker, Andrew McCullough. A very big four. Cowboys have of course Thurston, the best RL player in the World today. But, he is clearly wounded, and not at his best. Next most lethal weapon is Morgan, and he is fit and deadly. A great weapon, fast and durable. A game winner. But, go further out the back lines and there is Hodges (if he gets through the Judiciary and I think he will) Reed and two very good wingers including Oates. Throw in a couple of State of Origin players like Thaiday, Gillett, Cory Parker and add in Blair.....that is formidable. A tad more.....Alex Glenn. Broncos are very balanced. Cowboys have a great full back, and some tough forwards and they are very well coached. Bennett. That factor cannot be overlooked. He has been there done that, thank you very much, and he has the Team to win. Hunt and Milford are two to watch. Last week, Gould commented that Bennett has them muscle instinctive in the sense that he has allowed them to just go with instinct, and they do, very successfully. The lead up. Bennett has vast experience, as do the players. Green and Cowboys ..... not so. The Dally M. Thurston will win that, and that means he has to travel Townsville - Sydney, as will others.....two/three hours. Brisbane - Sydney.....an hour of easy travel. Sydney crowd will be neutral and neither side have a home crowd advantage. However, more Broncos have had that big game experience there than have the Cowboy fellas. So....for those reasons, Broncos to win, and comfortably. |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Swagman on Sep 29th, 2015 at 1:39pm
...aren't you a Victorian?
Aussie wrote on Sep 26th, 2015 at 10:23pm:
Funny if no-one turns up... ;D I was kind of hoping Melb would be there for that reason. ;D |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Redneck on Sep 29th, 2015 at 2:30pm
Much as the Sydney crowd dont like it being between two Qld teams, I think they will be very pro The Cowboys on the day.
Mainly because they like most of us cant stand Wayne Bennett |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Swagman on Sep 29th, 2015 at 10:48pm Redmond Neck wrote on Sep 29th, 2015 at 2:30pm:
Yes, the lesser of two evils. Bennett's ok, it's the Bonkos they hate. |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Redneck on Oct 3rd, 2015 at 1:59pm
The sort of Catholic priest I like.
Likes touching up a football rather than.... |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Aussie on Oct 4th, 2015 at 8:23pm
What a moment! Thurston to win.
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Aussie on Oct 4th, 2015 at 8:26pm
Blaaaady hell!
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Aussie on Oct 4th, 2015 at 8:27pm
Queensland wins with golden point yet to come.
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Aussie on Oct 4th, 2015 at 8:30pm
We win.
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by greggerypeccary on Oct 4th, 2015 at 8:41pm |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by philperth2010 on Oct 4th, 2015 at 8:42pm
The Bronco's must be spewing after letting that one get away from them....What a great game....Well done Cowboys....Yeeeehaaaa!!!
:) :) :) |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Swagman on Oct 4th, 2015 at 9:04pm
Congrats North Queensland.
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Lisa Jones on Oct 4th, 2015 at 9:30pm greggerypeccary wrote on Oct 4th, 2015 at 8:41pm: Forever the troll aren't you? Congrats to the Cowboys. What a freaking close game that was. Had us all on edge here ...esp the last 15 mins. |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Redneck on Oct 5th, 2015 at 7:50am
What an exciting Grand Final, unbelievable ending.
I even stayed up despite it being two Qld teams. Well done Cowboys, Bennett needed something to have his usual whinge about, now its "golden point". |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Panther on Oct 5th, 2015 at 8:50am
I prefer the AFL, but this year their game was a yawner!
Never usually watch Rugby, but last nights game......GREAT!!!!! Action 'till the very end! Congrats to the winners.....2015 Champions.....The North Queensland Cowboys! That's the way a championship should finish .... with a decisive victory .... with a champion crowned! To those sissy men like Wayne Bennett, hey Wayneo .. only sissies play to a draw, real men play to win! Suck it up Princess, quit whingin', you're past your use by date mate .... move on ... get out of the way! ;D |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Panther on Oct 5th, 2015 at 9:06am
8-)
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Redneck on Oct 5th, 2015 at 9:17am
I havent voted for either in the poll.
I seem to recall the golden point idea was brought in after previous grand final(s?) ended in draw(s?) that required a replay the following week. I cant recall the teams involved in the last one, but seem to remembered the replay was a one sided fizzer! Maybe 15 minutes each way of extra time and then if no result a golden point period would be better? Actually it is a bit similar to drawn soccer games being decided on goal kicks not a very satisfactory way to end a game. |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by skippy. on Oct 5th, 2015 at 9:24am
Great game, I agree with many it was one of the best if not the best I've seen in my life.
Congratulations to the Cowboys, The intensity of that game was amazing. Im no Bronco fan but their defence was first class. While the Cowboys tenacity to keep trying was brilliant. I still can't believe the Cowboys snuck in. I felt just as emotional for them as I do when the dogs win a GF. As a Bulldog supporter the biggest mistake we ever made was letting JT leave ten years ago, I really believe the dogs would have had an extra few premierships had been with them. JT deserves to be included as an Imortal the only players I've seen in his class were Wally Lewis and Andrew Johns. I did see John Rapper player as a boy as well as Fulton and Langlands but I was too young to appreciate their skills. JT is definitely in Imortal class. |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Lisa Jones on Oct 5th, 2015 at 9:33am skippy. wrote on Oct 5th, 2015 at 9:24am:
Ohhhh yeah. Johnathan Thurston and James Graham playing together for the Dogs. Something I wouldn't mind seeing. I gotta ask though...how is it that you're a Bulldogs supporter Skippy? Aren't you a Qld boy? |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by skippy. on Oct 5th, 2015 at 9:43am
D
Lisa Jones wrote on Oct 5th, 2015 at 9:33am:
I live in Northern NSW, but I'm originally from Strathfield/ Concord in Sydney |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by cods on Oct 5th, 2015 at 9:50am Redmond Neck wrote on Oct 5th, 2015 at 9:17am:
there is no real answer to what would please everyone.. would Bennett not take the cup had his team scored by the golden point?????..of course he would...why hasnt he found a better way??? because right now there isnt one....both teams would have fallen over had they had to play a set extra time... is exhaustion a clear winner??????...it would have been pretty hot out there as well.. I went for the Cowboys.. good on em.. they werent expected to win and put up such a fight so I am thinking that also hurt some what......and brissy have had their share of wins havent they? my team the Raiders need all the help they can get...lolol |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Lisa Jones on Oct 5th, 2015 at 9:55am skippy. wrote on Oct 5th, 2015 at 9:43am:
Ahhh gotcha now. We've been Bulldog supporters since the days of Greek Captain Dr George Peponis. Those blue and white colours (reminiscent of the Greek flag no doubt) helped in drawing in heaps of Greeks back then. Anyway.... |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by mitasol on Oct 5th, 2015 at 11:06am cods wrote on Oct 5th, 2015 at 9:50am:
Of course Bennett would have taken the win, he just made himself look like a sore loser. The Cowboys played well, they arrive home in a couple of hours then off to a civic reception at 1300SMILES stadium - it'll be standing room only! |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by John_Taverner on Oct 5th, 2015 at 11:22am
Ouch my head hurts, is it morning already?
Wayne Bennett is a great coach. On the field, he did congratulate most of the Cowboys. It could have gone either way, but finally the Cowboys won, after becoming tantalisingly close against the Tigers. Johnathon Thurston showed great leadership, and he spoke to the young Broncos player who dropped the ball, saying " Don't worry about it too much". Anybody who could lip read could see what he was shouting after he missed the kick 8-) Despite that blow, he made an incredible comeback in extra time. I've been waiting 20 years for this. :) |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Johnsmith on Oct 5th, 2015 at 3:19pm Redmond Neck wrote on Oct 5th, 2015 at 7:50am:
To be fair, Bennett has been whinging about the golden point rule for years .... it's a pet hate of his. |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by skippy. on Oct 5th, 2015 at 3:35pm
I voted in this poll for golden point but do we really need golden point or a replay? Particularly in club games why can't we just have a draw? And even in a GF why can't we have joint Premiers for the year if the score is locked at full time? Would it be so bad to have two teams defined as even? Sometimes I think this there has to be a winner mentality is not healthy. I don't like the Broncos but my heart sunk for Ben Hunt last night when he knocked on in goal, he knew it we all knew it that was the game gone.
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Baronvonrort on Oct 5th, 2015 at 4:05pm Redmond Neck wrote on Oct 5th, 2015 at 9:17am:
It was a state of origin draw when they brought in golden point. I went to a replay of a Manly-Cronulla grand final at the SCG in the late 70's. Good win by the Cowboys |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by cods on Oct 5th, 2015 at 5:24pm skippy. wrote on Oct 5th, 2015 at 3:35pm:
I have to admit I have wondered that...when no one deserves to lose its tough.. and how often does a draw happen?? hardly ever... remember the year they replayed the G.F it just wasnt the same.. it was flat...this is being pipped at the post the Broncos led all the way...so it wasnt as if they were the catch up team....I am happy to see the Cowboys win...they have waited long enough so good on them.. but really it doesnt seem fair.. |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by skippy. on Oct 5th, 2015 at 7:13pm cods wrote on Oct 5th, 2015 at 5:24pm:
I agree cods, given the quality of the game and the closeness I can't see why a draw would not have been fitting. |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Aussie on Oct 5th, 2015 at 7:21pm
This bloke is a drug cheating grub of a drunk and should have been shunted from the game years ago. 'Immortal' my arse.
Link. |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by davo on Oct 5th, 2015 at 7:41pm Aussie wrote on Oct 5th, 2015 at 7:21pm:
Aussie the guy is a dropkick and had there been drug testing when he played he would have served a suspension, but he was lucky to play when he did and he truly deserves immortal status the guy was a freak. |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by skippy. on Oct 5th, 2015 at 8:05pm
Ff
Aussie wrote on Oct 5th, 2015 at 7:21pm:
Did he take performance enhancing drugs? Nup, so he's not a drug cheat. If every footballer that got drunk was dumped from the game we would have none. Chook Raper, a womanising drunk. Langlands, a womanising drunk. Lewis a womanising pisshead. ::) |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Aussie on Oct 5th, 2015 at 8:27pm skippy. wrote on Oct 5th, 2015 at 8:05pm:
Johns has been a notorious public drunk for many years. I've seen him myself at the Treasury Casino in Brisbane. Totally legless, dribbling, pant-shitting drunk ~ literally. Johns use of drugs was so controversial that they were forced to change the rules relevant to who can be an Immortal - based on ability alone. I was never a fan of his in that regard either. I have never heard of any stories indicating that Wally Lewis was such as you describe. |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by skippy. on Oct 6th, 2015 at 9:17am Aussie wrote on Oct 5th, 2015 at 8:27pm:
Langlands is notorious for bad behaviour so is Rapper. As for Lewis I've seen him in action after a State of Origin match in Sydney, he was hitting on my mates girlfriend with my mate standing there. |
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by BachToTheFuture on Oct 6th, 2015 at 11:01pm
Watching that last try, I was like...
Title: Re: 2015 NRL Grand Final. Post by Lisa Jones on Oct 7th, 2015 at 8:45am MumboJumbo wrote on Oct 6th, 2015 at 11:01pm:
Nahhhh....the last 15 minutes of the game was like that. What an awesome Grand Final hey :) |