General Discussion >> State and Local >> Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1446526179 Message started by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 2:49pm |
Title: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 2:49pm
I just found out -
you can't even carry a little Swiss Army knife on your key ring: You can see one here on their poster - click to open as a .pdf: www.police.vic.gov.au/retrievemedia.asp?media_id=108958&status=active An example of a nice Swiss Army knife http://www.police.vic.gov.au/content.asp?Document_ID=26793 Quote:
Is this a fair law? Just because young drunken hooligans use them for weapons shouldn't deny other people from having one. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Steampipe on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 2:53pm
Banning alcohol would have been a more logical approach.
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Kytro on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 2:54pm
They are not "illegal".
You just need a reason for having one. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 2:55pm
Notice here:
www.police.vic.gov.au/retrievemedia.asp?media_id=108958&status=active that a machete is on there too. I wondered why Bunnings & Masters doesn't stock them. ![]() |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 2:57pm Kytro wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 2:54pm:
Then it's ambiguous - what's a lawful excuse? " I always have one on my key ring " |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 2:59pm Steampipe wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 2:53pm:
Yes - when ever you hear about knife crime it's always some drunken thug who's done it. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 3:01pm
Notice that a fishing knife is on there too.
Therefore you can't go fishing anymore because you'd have to carry a fishing knife - how do you cut the fishing line or cut & scale the fish? Spear guns are out - so forget spear fishing too. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 3:05pm
Kitchen knives are out -
so how do you get one from the supermarket to your kitchen without getting one year's jail & a $14,000 fine? These new laws are ridiculous. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Kytro on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 3:06pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 2:57pm:
A lawful excuse is defined by the legislation. Quote:
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 3:08pm Kytro wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 3:06pm:
So you buy a kitchen knife in the supermarket - how do you get it home without fear of jail? |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Kytro on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 3:13pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 3:08pm:
By taking it home. Cooking is a lawful activity, you are taking the knife home to use for food prep. Lawful |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Muttley on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 4:07pm
I see that multi-tools are not banned yet they are just an American version of a Swiss Army Knife, and even somewhat bigger. Are they banning it because the name has Knife included in it?
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Aussie on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 4:23pm
There is something missing in all this. It makes no sense.
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Kat on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 4:48pm
We've had this idiocy in NSW for years.
My brother worked as a builder's labourer til he retired, and always carried a Stanley knife and a Leatherman tool on hid belt - no problem. A mate who at the time was an out of work builder's labourer, got busted and charged, and forfeited his $100+ Leatherman tool. I regularly carry a (VERY small) Swiss army knife in my bike toolbox - no problems. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Steampipe on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 5:27pm Kat wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 4:48pm:
Its not that crazy Kat, if you are going fishing and have a fishing knife with you then there wont be a problem, if you go down to the pub and take a fishing knife with you then the police have legal means to remove you or the knife from the premises. It is illegal to carry a shotgun around the shopping mall but its legal to take one out to the shooting range, you can legally drive down the road but you cant drive your car around the playground at the park. You just need to understand what the law means. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Aussie on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 5:45pm Steampipe wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 5:27pm:
That's what I mean when I said "Something is missing," on this knife thing. I know of no need to be licensed in Qld to have possession of a knife. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:25pm Aussie wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 5:45pm:
Hi Aussie, I was hoping that you being the resident lawyer could clear this up for us. So - how can you buy a kitchen knife at the supermarket & take it home to your kitchen without going to jail? Maybe if it's in your car then it's ok ? - but what if you were walking past a pub with it inside your supermarket bag on the way home? The penalty is double for being within 20 meters of a pub, therefore 2 years in jail & a $28,000 fine. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Aussie on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:27pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:25pm:
I do not understand it at all Bobby. It makes no sense for all the reasons you have posted. There is something missing. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:38pm
Aussie,
Hi Aussie, Thanks for trying. I just checked my car repair toolbox in the boot of my car. I forgot - it has a cheap imitation Swiss Army knife in it. I wonder if that breaks the law? The tool kit is handy - I've even used some tools from it at work when we didn't have the right spanner etc. cheers Bobby. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Karnal on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:38pm
I blame Islam.
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by gizmo_2655 on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:40pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:38pm:
No it probably doesn't Bobby. You have the swiss army knock-off to use for car repairs, that is a legitimate reason. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:48pm gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:40pm:
That's good - I will take your legal advice & leave it in there - thanks. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:49pm Karnal wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:38pm:
I blame unintended consequences of ill thought out legislation. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:51pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 3:01pm:
fishing is a LAWFUL EXCUSE |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:53pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:38pm:
no, it is not ... emergency tools in a tool box are a lawful excuse |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:56pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:25pm:
Easy, you go to coles, buy the knife and walk home ... cooking is a LAWFUL EXCUSE you can carry one when working (tradesmen), hunting, camping, fishing snorkeling, etc etc etc any ACTIVITY that is lawful ... you just can't be an 18 yr old kid out at Kings Cross (or the Victorian equivalent) at 2 am with a knife in your pocket |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:59pm John Smith wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:53pm:
Thanks - there is also something like this in the toolkit which is very handy: |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:07pm
that is the leatherman tool that Kat mentioned
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Aussie on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:13pm Karnal wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:38pm:
Knife them. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:14pm Aussie wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:13pm:
It's a legal Activity ... or it should be :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Aussie on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:16pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 8:59pm:
That very thing is in the glove box of one of the Cabs. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:17pm John Smith wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:07pm:
Yes - handy to remove bad teeth. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:18pm Aussie wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:16pm:
Aussie - give yourself up to the cops - you'll feel better. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:19pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:17pm:
hahaha ... when I was a kid my old man used to use a pair of long nosed pliers to pull teeth, the same pair he'd been using working construction all day :D :D :D... we learnt quickly not to tell him when our teeth were loose. :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:20pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:18pm:
no need. It's lawful to keep tools for emergency repairs in the car |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by He Man on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:20pm John Smith wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:19pm:
My parents just took me to the dentist. I must live on the other side of the tracks I guess. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:21pm He Man wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:20pm:
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:22pm John Smith wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:19pm:
You poor bugger - that's child abuse. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:24pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:22pm:
nah ... don't be a drama queen. No different to tying a string from your tooth to a door handle and slamming the door. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by mothra on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:24pm He Man wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:20pm:
Why would your parents take you to the dentist for a loose tooth? Didn't they work out that's just what happens or something? |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:25pm mothra wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:24pm:
he told you, he was from the other side of the tracks. ... Pay attention Mothra ;D ;D ;D |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:26pm John Smith wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:24pm:
That's silly - when I was kid I pulled out my loose baby teeth with my thumb & forefinger. They almost used to fall out by themselves. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:28pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:26pm:
and yet you're the one claiming it was child abuse :D :D :D although I do remember one occasion when he grabbed the wrong tooth ... now that hurt. luckily I got away before he got it out. :D :D :D |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by mothra on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:29pm John Smith wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:28pm:
Bloody hell John! :o |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by He Man on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:30pm mothra wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:24pm:
I never suffered child abuse to have a loose tooth taken out if needed granny. Obviously you are from the wrong side of the tracks also. Whats up with you people ? |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:30pm John Smith wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:28pm:
Dear John, you're a victim of child abuse & could be entitled to compensation. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:32pm
What about a Rambo machete - is that legal to buy?
Only $50 http://www.bladesandbows.co.uk/rambo-4-machete-3355-p.asp |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by He Man on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:32pm John Smith wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:28pm:
That would explain you hitting on Lisa all the time in anger, you just want to be part of a happy secure family after all that child abuse. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by He Man on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:32pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:30pm:
Good call my man. Aussie ? |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:33pm mothra wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:29pm:
it was an honest mistake .... I got a bike out of it, I was cheering |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:34pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:30pm:
you're being a drama queen again ..... what did I say about that? |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by mothra on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:34pm John Smith wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:33pm:
Welllllllll ... if you got a bike .... |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by He Man on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:35pm John Smith wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:33pm:
On your bike then. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:35pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:32pm:
buy ? yes, you just can't carry it out unless you're chopping sugar cane :D :D :D (except to and from your home to the shop where you bought it) |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by John Smith on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:36pm He Man wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:35pm:
I wish you'd get on yours with all your continuous dumb comments ... what are you 13 yrs old? |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:37pm John Smith wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:35pm:
It's from the UK. I don't think it would get through customs as it looks like a sword. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by He Man on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:38pm John Smith wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:36pm:
You have been exposed as being into young children, disgusting. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 5:50am Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:37pm:
Bump - would it be allowed through customs? - remember Bunnings & Masters don't sell machetes. They must be illegal ? |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Kytro on Nov 4th, 2015 at 5:57am Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 9:32pm:
Yes, if you have a lawful excuse. Edit: Importing weapons requires the appropriate permits, depending on the weapon |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:02am Kytro wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 5:57am:
Except that it's no more a weapon than a brush cutter. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:14am
Back to Swiss Army knives.
I reckon they look nice on a key ring: |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:15am
A gadget that has just enough tools like LED light, USB flash drive, ball point-pen, scissors, keyring, removable knife and much more is Swiss Flash USB .
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:16am |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:26am |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Kytro on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:34am Bobby. wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:02am:
What is a weapon for customs purposes is described by the law. These are not definitions that people get to just make up for themselves. Quote:
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:54am
You're right &:
https://www.border.gov.au/Trav/Ente/Brin/Can-I-bring-it-back/Can-I-Bring-It-Back-Market-Goods-And-Shopping/Can-I-Bring-Multi-Tool-Knives-Back Quote:
So you are allowed to import a Swiss Army knife but not carry one - in Victoria. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Kytro on Nov 4th, 2015 at 7:54am Bobby. wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:54am:
You can carry it, as long as you have a good reason. You can't carry it around "because you want to" or "for protection". That's all. The main reasons that someone would have one are usually allowed. This applies to anything that can be used as a weapon. Carrying a tire iron in your car = ok, carrying it around everywhere you go on your person, not so much. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Bojack Horseman on Nov 4th, 2015 at 8:51am
The issue Sir Bobby seems to have is that hes assuming the police aren't going to exercise decision making. If you're walking home with a shopping bag with a cooking knife in it, the cops will probably assume you've just bought it and therefore assume its lawful.
If you're brandishing it as you're walking down the street, they probably won't. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by mortdooley on Nov 4th, 2015 at 9:16am
No, I do not feel any of you should be allowed to carry a Swiss Army Knife. I have seen episodes of MacGyver and know what mischief one can cause. ;)
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Gnads on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:02pm
Bloody lunacy
No guns no knives or pocket knives For who? Only the law abiding citizens Those who use weapons for criminal acts will still get them Removal of all liberties & control by govt seems to be a heavy agenda |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Kytro on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:09pm Gnads wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:02pm:
It's not supposed to stop criminals getting knives. It is supposed to increase the risk to them carrying them around to use for criminal acts. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:12pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:14am:
When you look at a Swiss army knife you know they are pacifists who have never fought in any wars, the soldiers must look at it and wonder if they are supposed to stab them with the nail file or maybe even the scissors or bottle opener. As the subject is about Swiss army knives the dickheads will probably deflect to other knives to justify banning this one. I think there should be an exemption in the law to allow the Swiss army knife to be carried in public, it's nanny state madness in banning it. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Gnads on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:18pm
D
Kytro wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:09pm:
The only increase in risk is for law abiding citizens ... Crims are risk takers they don't give a toss about laws. That's why they're crims ::) |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:25pm Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:12pm:
Well Baron - we live in a nanny state. I really doubt that a Swiss army knife was ever used to deliberately cut anyone in one of those drunken hooligan street brawls. It was more likely a kitchen knife or a flick knife. The blade on a Swiss army knife doesn't lock in place - so it would be almost useless in a fight & you'd probably end up cutting yourself with it. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:29pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:25pm:
It's more of a general purpose tool than a knife,how many parts of it are meant for cutting? There is no reason to even compare it to kitchen or fishing/hunting knives. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:36pm Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:29pm:
They should change the law to- people over 30 years of age should be allowed to carry a Swiss army knife. I think by 30 people are sensible? |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:37pm |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Kytro on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:44pm Gnads wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:18pm:
Risk is what drives criminal deterrence. They don't care about laws, but they do care about being caught breaking them. The risk to law-abiding citizens is negligible. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:49pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:36pm:
If you were to pick up any knife in your own home for self defence you wouldn't be considering the Swiss army knife as a choice. It exposes what a nanny state we have become by banning this harmless tool. Not allowing them in carry on luggage when flying, making people pack them in suitcases is all they need to restrict with this particular knife. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Ex Dame Pansi on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:59pm Baronvonrort wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:49pm:
I wouldn't travel without one. I did have one confiscated at an Australian airport once, I forgot it was in my cabin bag, they made a fuss too.....like I was going to hijack the plane or something. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Gnads on Nov 4th, 2015 at 5:04pm Kytro wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:44pm:
We'll see.... Bet some innocents get caught out inadvertently. Too many nanny state laws catering to the minority ( yes crims are a minority still/ so far). |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Kytro on Nov 4th, 2015 at 5:45pm Gnads wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 5:04pm:
It's certainty possible that a cop will use the law incorrectly, or for dodgy reasons, but if they are looking to make an arrest, they will almost certainly find a way. I am willing bet there is a very low chance of any successful prosecution unless someone is basically carrying it for no reason at all. Arguing that we shouldn't have laws to prevent crime is a bit odd. It would be like not searching customs because most people don't import things they shouldn't. There are legitimate reasons to be concerned about this type of legislation, but on balance I think it helps more than it hurts. It's not going to restrict people's activities for the most part, and it could help to create a deterrence. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Gnads on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:05pm
Do you know how handy a pocket knife can be for many situations?
None of which are of criminal intent. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Kat on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:14pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:16am: That's the one I keep in my bike-toolbox. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by it_is_the_light on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:17pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 3rd, 2015 at 3:08pm:
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by it_is_the_light on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:22pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:36pm:
many blessings sir bobby .. you crave to have a master and as such , true mastery elludes you this is ok and cool , and as such forgiven namaste |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Kat on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:30pm
The other SAK, which I usually don't carry unless I know I'll need it.
![]() |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:32pm
master Light,
Dear master Light, I have asked unto thee for guidance & yet none has been forthcoming. I have yet to find a King worthy of my sword and remember - as a true knight - I am sworn to the quest. you are forgiven namaste |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:34pm
Ex Dame Pansi,
How cool is that - a chick with a Swiss army knife! |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Black Orchid on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:42pm
I have a Swiss Army Knife but I usually only use it as a can opener.
I used to carry a Leatherman in my bag. It came in handy for all sorts of things but it was confiscated at the airport a few years ago. I had forgotten it was there. I was a bit annoyed that I couldn't get it back. :( |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:55pm Black Orchid wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:42pm:
I had a Swiss army knife confiscated at Brisbane Airport a long time ago. It was so small that the blade was half the length of my little finger - it was the smallest one you could buy & it had been on my key ring for 15 years or more. Anyway - they took it & luckily didn't charge me with terrorism. They even said that I could have it mailed back to me if I paid $15. I said it was an old knife & the side plastic was broken so I would rather put the $15 towards a new one. When I finally got another one it cost just $5 - a cheap Chinese copy which I have never put on my key ring again owing to the silly new laws. It's a pain in the arse not having one. Things would happen like I would split my finger nail & I could use the scissors & file on that knife to make a repair to stop it splitting more. Now I can't do that. It was also good at work to open plastic bags & cardboard boxes. oh well - it's all over now. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:56pm
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Black Orchid on Nov 4th, 2015 at 7:03pm
I probably would have elected to pay $15 to get my Leatherman posted back but I was not given that option.
It was a really good quality one and I have tried replacing it with cheaper ones since then but they are all rubbish and I won't spend a couple of hundred dollars on a similar replacement. Oh well :( |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 7:08pm Black Orchid wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 7:03pm:
Wow - they've got tougher - no post it back to you option! I heard they have 10,000 or more of them at Melbourne Airport in a container. They look on your key ring as they go through the X-Ray & they find a dozen or more every day - people have them on their key ring & forget they are there. Imagine how much that container load is worth? |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Black Orchid on Nov 4th, 2015 at 7:19pm
They should, at least, have given me the option to put it in checked luggage.
Apparently you can't even have tweezers in your hand luggage. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 8:02pm Black Orchid wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 7:19pm:
My late Aunty had her lipstick & makeup cream confiscated at an Airport in the USA. How could a 74 year old - old lady be a threat? |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Lionel Edriess on Nov 4th, 2015 at 8:06pm Swiss Cards are another item that can land you in trouble with the nanny-state laws. A handy little item that you can keep in your wallet or purse, they draw the attention of airline security and you can miss a flight if you don't bin it. There could even be charges laid, even if you DO bin it: http://mypolice.qld.gov.au/mackay/2014/11/26/notice-appear-court-knife-possession-airport-mackay/ There are a number of types of these cards, but the Victorinox I used to carry all the time does possess a (VERY) small, sharp blade. When one considers that the blade, plus handle, fits into a small, thin card - well, you just know that it has lethal capability. ::) I, myself, need to buy another cane knife, a Spear & Jackson SJ-2100615: https://www.toolmart.com.au/sj-2100615.html For $35 it's a very handy tool around the yard. It'll drop a foot-thick banana tree in one one swipe, which is a pretty good effort if you've ever attempted to drop a banana tree. Funnily enough, Brisbane City Council issues (or used to) their workers with a stainless steel lock-back single-edge knife with a 75mm blade. I've got one I carry at work (and to and from home). Are these items then considered legal because one is used in a profession and the other used as a garden utensil? Obviously you don't carry a cane knife down the street, but what about the pocket knife? I also used to carry a Leatherman on my belt when motorcycle riding, albeit a 30 yo motorcycle. is that considered a tool or a weapon? One remembers the old aluminium combs with the sharp handle. Just sayin'. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by it_is_the_light on Nov 4th, 2015 at 8:41pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:55pm:
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 8:48pm
I split my finger nail - ohhhhhhhhhhhhhh
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Wz2_d6zWDhg |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir lastnail on Nov 4th, 2015 at 8:53pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 7:08pm:
They probably sell them on ebay ;) |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by it_is_the_light on Nov 4th, 2015 at 9:01pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 8:48pm:
![]() |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 9:03pm
Come on Master Light,
tell us all your Swiss army knife story. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Baronvonrort on Nov 4th, 2015 at 9:09pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 4:59pm:
Political correctness is why old and middle aged non muslim women are put through this when they fly, anyone who has watched the news since the 70's knows who hijacks planes. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 9:38pm
Baron,
The terrorist have won because we all have to suffer ridiculous security checks when it's obvious we aren't terrorists - e.g. hassling old ladies at the airport - come on - gimme a break - Grandma is gunna hijack the plane & fly into the WTC. ;D |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 10:54pm
A Swiss army knife is not a knife -
this is a knife: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dNrHj82gZqg http://www.chefdepot.com/kasumi2.htm Quote:
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by The Grappler on Nov 4th, 2015 at 11:02pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 9:38pm:
Gotta watch out for GOLF - Golden Oldies Liberation Front.... no old lady can be trusted... when I was securing your airports and your Olympics site for you I had to explain that to the staff..... Greeks etc never believe Oldies can be bad news.... trust nobody is the watchword..... or you could end up dogmeat.... and nobody wants to scrape and clean you off the walls... |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by The Grappler on Nov 4th, 2015 at 11:05pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 10:54pm:
Wa-karimsuka! Ceremonial beheading Samurai Dai Ichi.. many apple die for Emperor! Now gai-jin watch while perfect balance throwing is made to strike coconut tree in half!! HAI! Honourable knife gut eight metre shark one sweep! |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 11:08pm Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 11:02pm:
You are joking of course? It's about political correctness - if they just pulled over 18 to 30 year old Muzzies for a good check up they would be told off for discrimination. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 4th, 2015 at 11:10pm Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 11:05pm:
Like this? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RyO46RQhYkQ |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Ex Dame Pansi on Nov 5th, 2015 at 7:27am Bobby. wrote on Nov 4th, 2015 at 6:34pm:
That's not cool Bobby, I also carry my laser light with me when I'm out and about. I'm so glad Customs didn't find that in my luggage.....they took my knife, I kept the prohibited item, we're even now. |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 5th, 2015 at 4:05pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Nov 5th, 2015 at 7:27am:
Dear ex Dame Pansi, give yourself up - confess & get this off your chest. namaste |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Ex Dame Pansi on Nov 5th, 2015 at 4:26pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 5th, 2015 at 4:05pm:
Master Sir Bobby forgive me for I have sinned I knew not what I dideth I was under the spell of the She Devil she raindeth down bad thoughts unto my heart and soul I will forever be at the mercy of the gods and I shall spend my last days in the house of the lepers forever and ever so be it |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 5th, 2015 at 4:28pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Nov 5th, 2015 at 4:26pm:
Dear ex Dame Pansi, If any are in confusion , one such as I am exposes the darkness without permission or approval yes this work is not for the faint hearted beloved ones ... and this is why and from the energy in which I emanate in whom I am as a humble servant in the divine and sacred LIGHT as we continue to monitor all thoughts word and deed ,and so it is namaste |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Ex Dame Pansi on Nov 5th, 2015 at 4:48pm
Master Bobby
humble servant of the light workers and of the light one such as you are shall remain in the realm of the worthy to be loved as all are loved and so it is *Namaste |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 5th, 2015 at 6:15pm Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Nov 5th, 2015 at 4:48pm:
Thanks - at least someone loves me. :'( |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by it_is_the_light on Nov 5th, 2015 at 6:44pm Bobby. wrote on Nov 5th, 2015 at 4:28pm:
many blessings sir bobby you may have the care to think and write in your own style there is a difference between flattery and plagiarism ye are guilty of the later ye may consider self bann for 5 minutes yet ye are forgiven and so be it namaste |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by miketrees on Nov 5th, 2015 at 6:57pm |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by Sir Bobby on Nov 5th, 2015 at 7:18pm
master Light,
Dear master Light, I have completed my self ban & I'm back. Yes - I am guilty of plagiarism of the one and only master on Ozpolitic. Now - you owe us all your Swiss army knife story! namaste |
Title: Re: Swiss Army knife illegal in Victoria. Post by greggerypeccary on Nov 5th, 2015 at 7:20pm miketrees wrote on Nov 5th, 2015 at 6:57pm: That's genuinely funny. Does that make me a bigot? |